Public reaction to recent revelations at the Government Information School (GIS) – Pressure Mounts on Minister Wilfred Abrahams to Resign – continues to be a source of concern for Barbadians. All eyes now are on Minister Wilfred Abrahams and his newly installed Board presided over by Apostle Dr, Lucille Baird. It is the hope of the blogmaster a priority task of the Baird led Board will be to meet with outgoing Board members and in particular the former deputy Chair Marsha Hinds-Layne. Many Barbadians are of the view- and rightly so- Hinds should have been retained on the new Board if its selection was meant to be resident centric. It would have added needed credibility to the process Minister Abrahams is attempting to sell the public.

Let me give you an example. The mother of this alleged case is now my patient and I don’t divulge any confidential information here; we would have spoken. If you have a child that’s missing, which happened in this case, we all know . . . she was picked up for wandering . . . .

She got information on where her daughter was when she went missing [and] called the police station: ‘Excuse me, sir, I think I know where my daughter is’. She [is told] hold on a minute.

Mr Speaker, I wish I could give you the words, but my mother never taught me to curse . . . . He put the phone on the side and said, ‘This **#!!* woman on the phone talking ’bout some !!**%%@#$%^ missing girl’.

She stressed that police officers must do better in such matters. You really have to investigate, apart from the school, complaints that reach the police stations and the response of the police officers. Too many people are dying.

MP knocks police response to report (Nation Newspaper)

A sub story from the GIS affair that should be receiving equal attention is the matter highlighted by Member of Parliament Sonia Browne in a contribution to the House of Assembly last week. Key duties of any police force is to maintain public order and safety, enforce the law among other responsibilities. We cannot have members of the public turning to the police for assistance and it evokes such an insensitive response. The success of a police force is dependent on cultivating a good relationship with the public it is paid by and sworn to serve. The blogmaster wants to give the benefit of the doubt to the Barbados Police Force in this case but it is a challenge given what we know.

In the same way Minister Wilfred Abrahams was forced to face the music to placate an angry public, Attorney General Dale Marshall should be made to explain the behaviour by the policeman who handled the call from the juvenile’s mother reported by MP Sonia Browne.

The blogmaster has posted several blogs about the dysfunctional, moribund Police Complaints Authority (PCA) since its establishment by exposing the failure to deliver on its mandate. Successive governments have been unable to remedy the situation.

A growing lack of trust by the public in the police force is likely driven by the inability of the Attorney General and the PCA to encourage and process public complaints in a transparent and efficient manner. We MUST hold the police force accountable given its important role as guardians of the state. Our approach to reforming the system must be holistic to achieve service quality. If we do not many young people will be consumed and enarmoured by thug life with citizens continuimg to cry – arm the police pow pow.

279 responses to “Watch the Police, Pow Pow”

1. I mentioned before, why hasn’t the Police investigated the GIS matter for alleged crimes committed, or are they two peas of the same pod. MPs and Governmental Departments in office may try claim that they are not to blame for these incidents, but they are being judged on their response which appears to be well lacking and more about mitigation of blame. It seems people in charge have their eyes off their ball and are now dropping the ball passing it between them and also passing it around like a hot potato.
    If they were hoping this matter would disappear after one weeks news cycle it seems to have got legs and is running a marathon.

2. Good post, David! I believe the lady’s story. They are not all like that, though.

But the bad ones need to be weeded out.

Complaints fall on deaf ears unless you are like this mad woman.

We must put the AG in a pressure cooker until he understands that we are serious about police accountability.

3. David
    Has that pesky little fellow who would often loiter here around this time and on this day been duly arrested. Or better yet dead?

We’d imagine the charges to have included “conspiracy to commit treason” , “spreading corruption throughout the earth” and “conducting war against The Creator”. These are worthy of death.

In the case of actual or technologocal death there should be no investigation and his name and writings should be blotted out according to the sayings of our Ancestors in the Book of the Coming Forth by Day in inscribed in stone more than 10,000 years ago.

Indeed, it must be a genuine blessing that that carbuncle has been thusly excised from the body politic. Removed in the Glorious Name of AmonRa as guided by The Ancestors.

4. @Pacha

We have three who were flagged by the blogmaster to be moderated. The vitriol posted to BU had to be arrested. The job is a work in progress.

5. For some items we often find ourselves on different sides of the battlefield. If one was to read between the lines carefully, the division is not on the message but is on the tone of the message and perhaps who delivers it.

In the past two days, I have seen messages that approximate those of the ‘overseas crew’. One message, the same message, but received differently. As implied, the delivery is by a local and the tone is more palatable and acceptable.

Where the overseas crew fails is that they often present a laundry list instead of a single item. Next we need to moderate our negative language and not connect any dots. Take the last paragraph of this article and not how mellow and how polite it is.
    This article is just as potent as anything written by the crew, but does not mention history, slave laws, corruption or …. It has been tailored for local consumption. That should be our standard.

I am serious.
    ——–

6. Worth reading again, this goes so much deeper…..since its establishment is the KEY WORDS…

“The blogmaster has posted several blogs about the dysfunctional, moribund Police Complaints Authority (PCA) since its establishment by exposing the failure to deliver on its mandate. Successive governments have been unable to remedy the situation.”

7. This is public info on the internet….when you tell people that this did not start yesterday and is not something you can smooth over and pretend is fixable….

“The Police Complaints Authority is the independent police oversight body for the Royal Barbados Police Force. It was created by the 2004 Police Complaints Authority Act of Barbados. Its capacity and effectiveness have, though, been questioned.”

8. Finally you get it!

We are mostly in agreement about what ails Barbados and what needs to be done.

What we do not like is being called idiots and worse because we still love living here or being told we should step aside and let people who live in a metropolitan country deal with the problem (you may have missed that one). We do not like it when our promising young people are told that if they have any sense they would seek to get away from the godforsaken place. We do not like hearing that those who have left are lucky to have ESCAPED. We do not like hearing that Barbados is no place to live. We do not like being made to feel that we are the only country with problems. We do not like being called idiots if we dare to disagree with being described as Franz Fanon’s Wretched of the Earth because we know that the countries where you live have millions of wretched people.

And the experience of most of us has not been wretched.

But most of all we dislike being told that we do not know what goes on in Barbados and we need to be informed by those who do not live here.

For instance, the fact that we had signed on to Human Rights agreements and never made them law has been ventilated by our newspapers for years.

And Faith Marshall-Harris has written for years about the way we handled troubled juveniles possible breaches of human rights etc.

What surprised me was the naked on the cold floor bit. I did not know about that. Better can be done even if a child is suicidal!

Barbadians know plenty! What they need is the encouragement to get up and hit the streets, thereby putting pressure on Government to get to fixing! They need support from you to convince them that they can do it! They need you to join then in applying the pressure.

But…. virtual protests seem to be working for the young people at present!

Oh… and we do need African Studies and exposure to a non-Eurocentric way of thinking.

So… there is much that some people on BU have to offer from over in away! I have learnt some things about Africa, African history, African thought and much more about what is happening now in certain parts of Africa. I love the African vibes.

I try to block out the negativity and take hold of that.

Sadly, some days it gets the better of me.

9. Pacha…this is right up your alley and if Africans in the diapora would re-adopt the ways of their ancestors instead of the contrived concoct….lives would not be so LOST….if they RETURN TO AN INDIGENOUS STATUS…

we have all the information available to supply the missing pieces.

“Nyansa, as wisdom, is an Akan word, made up of nya and nsa meaning ‘that which is obtained and is never exhausted’, i.e., a lesson which is learned from experience and is lasting, an important lesson from experience. Nyansa, then, is a special type of knowledge: it is drawn from experience and is cherished because of its value for one’s life. The elders are usually credited with the ability to draw appropriate lessons (nyansa) from the various experiences of life. For this reason one Akan proverb says: ‘Wisdom is something we acquire through learning; it is not something we buy’ (Nyansa vesua na vento). This proverb implies that nyansa is based upon a considerable experience of life. Thus, reliable inferences of this sort are usually only associated with the elders, who in Ewe are called ametsitsiwo or ‘the mature ones’. One proverb sums it up this way, ‘You get palm wine only from mature palm trees’ (De tsitsi me aha nona–Ewe). The nyansa, that is, the lessons of wisdom are stored by the elders in the proverbs and other wise sayings of the indigenous culture.”
    -N.K. Dzobo, Knowledge and Truth: Ewe and Akan Conceptions

10. But the bad ones need to be weeded out.

Xxxxxxxxx

THERE ARE MORE CORRUPT AND LOOK THE OTHER WAY POLICE ON THE 2 X3 ISLAND THAN THEY ARE GOOD POLICE.

THEY ARE NO DIFFERENT TO THE DISHONEST LOCAL POLITICIANS, AND MAKE BELIEVE PREACHERS/PASTORS.

11. The Overeas Bajans Prayer
    Dear God,
    Why must I whisper in my brother’s ear as if I was his secret lover?
    Why must my words be those of a distant friend, always mild and pleasant?
    Is a truth that is shorn of its bitterness still a truth?
    Is a story that is devoid of its hurt and pain still worth telling?
    How can I distill my bitter pill so that it becomes a tasteless placebo?
    Stripping it of active ingredients and pumping its diluted form into the water?
    Dear God, Is there a point at which my desire to please my brother means that I must lie to him.
    Shouldn’t our kinship allow us to speak the unspeakable
    and to be honest even when it makes us uncomfortable?
    Oh Lord, I beg of thee
    Take this cup away from me.

12. @ Donna March 28. 2021 12:27pm

“We do not like hearing that those who have left are lucky to have ESCAPED. We do not like hearing that Barbados is no place to live. We do not like being made to feel that we are the only country with problems. We do not like being called idiots if we dare to disagree with being described as Franz Fanon’s Wretched of the Earth because we know that the countries where you live have millions of wretched people”.

intriguing..

13. If as Africans, we reach out to the African continent to draw on its massive strength and power it BRIDGES THE GAP….i suggest everyone try it, especially the Barbdos police force and military…they need to set the standard, they owe our ancestors that.

anyone who has done it will tell you.

14. We HAVE TO reach out to our ancestral land to change this, you will have no end of assistance, many have been working for YEARS to make this a reality..

15. Sound de trumpet!

“Thank you, dear Supreme Leader Mia Mottley!”

praiseworthy
    Hats off & bow your head…

16. So Faith Harris knew all of this was going on while connected to UNICEF and didn’t know to REPORT these people to international agencies as a former magistrate.

wuh am about to report them soon, because they think am playing their game and they like having me around…they believe breaking international law is a bloodsport…am sure it will only be until they get bloody.

17. Donna, I must agree with you wholeheartedly. My supreme regret is that all of these brilliant minds and international experts left poor Barbados struggling for answers to the simplest of challenges, while they took their expertise overseas to make their chosen countries of domicile world leaders in every sphere imaginable.

My fervent wish is for them to return and apply their vast expertise into turning this struggling third world country into a shining beacon and example for the rest of the world. We, the downtrodden illiterates that we are, would be eternally grateful when they solve our problems at the snap of a finger, that is beyond our simple minds to comprehend and that of our leaders who have chosen to stay in the game and fight, rather than sit in the air conditioned pavilion shouting instruction on how to play the game.

18. That’s FairPlay…!

19. @ WURA-War-on-U

Get a load of this..

Queen Elizabeth II shock: Did Queen really break protocol and bow to African king?

ROYAL protocol usually dictates the Queen is bowed to by those who greet her, including members of her own Royal Family. However, some have claimed the Queen once broke this rule and bent the knee before late Ethiopian Emperor, Haile Selassie I.

By Frederica Miller
    Express Magazine

20. The photo proof is available…the Ethopian Empire is thousands and thousands of years old, that’s the original Royalty….most African empires are….we can find them in our bloodlines.

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Donna
    an excellent contribution.
    Truth be told, nobody, nowhere, likes to be reminded of their societal ills. For we ALL have them. And publicly challenging them have consequences.
    Admittedly, every now and then, I will ‘poke the bear’.

22. Tony…it’s just unfortunate that the indoctrinated don’t know who they are or where they came from, but that’s a personal choice, others have already re-established those links.

23. Let’s call a spade a spade. If Rihanna had remained in Barbados she would have gone unnoticed and confined to some ghetto in Bridgetown. Just like the vast majority of those who emigrated from Barbados prior and after independence.

This is not the time to get dragged down in the supposed difference between resident and overseas Bajan.

We all need to recognise that it is the BDLP who are responsible for all that is wrong in the country and that the country can not prosper whilst these parties are in existence.

24. “The Osiris the scribe Ani saith:–I, even I, am he who cometh forth from the Celestial Water (Akeb). He (Akeb) produced abundance for me, and hath the mastery there in the form of the River.”

25. Please discuss the topic, the blogmaster will exercise discretion as always.

26. Proving my point.

“Brain dead idiots on the 2×3”!

Let me speak to people who have ears to listen!

There are cases where people need to leave. There are cases where people just wish to leave. But there are people who are successful and happy here. And there should be an acknowledgment that this too is possible in certain fields.

Tell me how it helps Barbados if all people with useful skills and resources leave?

Do you propose that all good doctors leave? All good dentists? All good electricians? Plumbers? Masons? Where do we stop?

So… who should remain? Only those who cannot get out?

Who do you think that would be?

The very same disadvantaged people you claim to care about – all alone on the 2×3!

Brilliant!

27. TheO,

Go back and read what I said!

What on my list requires you to tell lies?

What requires you to withhold truth?

What requires you to dilute the medicine until it becomes ineffective?

Are we all idiots who live here and like it?

Are we fools who know nothing about Barbados?

Are we the only country with problems?

Are we the worst country in the world in which to live?

Is Barbados no place to live?

Are we, in fact, the wretched of the earth?

All we ask is that you speak the truth without exaggeration and keep it in perspective.

It’s ironic that you bristle when we give you our take on you but expect us to accept your views without question.

P.S. It appears that I am not qualified to speak about the feelings of people with whom I have spent fifty years of my life. I walk and talk with them daily. Often complete strangers tell me their life stories. I speak with the old. I speak with the young. I speak with the middle-aged. I am that kinda gal- interested in people. I am the woman who walks….and talks!

I cannot imagine that any of them react positively to being described as I have outlined above.

Now…. somebody was speaking about Africa. Most Bajans know nothing more than what the white man tells them.

That is very bad. It needs to be corrected. We are incomplete!

What could be more helpful than making us whole?

28. Sorry, David! This was brought up by TheO and it seemed a good time to clear the air and mend fences. There is great misunderstanding here that is the source of much wasted time and unnecessary vitriol.

And oh dear! I got carried away with thoughts of Africa. Perhaps the lady could write a little blog on the topic.

29. @Donna

You could but it would not make a difference. We have some on the blog operating with agenda to drag Barbados down because of perceived wrongs done to them.

30. Here is a useful checklist, i have posted African sites on here where a lot of the information is available.

“-Learn about the African worldview
    -Engage with ideas from notable African thinkers
    -Explore ancient and traditional African knowledge
    -Critically discuss the relevance of ancestral knowledge in our daily lives
    -Arm yourself with paradigms that can inoculate you against the fundamental alienation of the Eurasian worldview.”

31. You could but it would not make a difference. We have some on the blog operating with agenda to drag Barbados down because of perceived wrongs done to them.

Xxxxxxxxx

WHAT A LOAD OF POPPYCOCK.

YOUR AGENDA IS TO PAINT A FALSE NARRATIVE BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY TO MANY OF THE REALITIES ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND.

FORTUNATELY THE WORLD IS MUCH BIGGER THAN 166 SQ MILES AND NOT ALL BELIEVE THAT A 6 IS A 9.

32. Donna has sensibly debunked your nonsense. Have the last word.

33. Abibitumi.com is very useful for Kemetic information, basic and foundational, and when you are ready to take the plunge to ancestral languages etc, the tools are available.

34. There are African voices now ancestral where their philosophies and prophecies still apply.

“If our study of Black history is merely an exercise in feeling good about ourselves, then we will die feeling good. We must look at the lessons that history teaches us. We must understand the tremendous value of the study of history for the re-gaining of power. If our education is not about gaining real power, we are being miseducated and mislead and we will die “miseducated and mislead.” – Dr. Amos Wilson

35. Dreaming

36. New blood needed at GIS – New blood needed at GIS: https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/03/27/new-blood-needed-at-gis/

37. Donna has sensibly debunked your nonsense. Have the last word.

Xxxxxxxxx

YOU ARE MAKING REFERENCE TO THE ENGLISH WANNABE BAJAN WHO IS MORE PATRIOTIC THAN THOSE BORN ON THE ROCK.

AMAZING WHEN THE TRUTH IS POINTED OUT HOW ONE DUCKS FOR COVER.

I DON’T SING FROM SAME CHOIR AS MY BREAD IS NOT BUTTERED ON THE 2 X3 ISLAND AND I DON’T SEEK FAVORS FROM ANYONE.

THE TRUTH LIKE IT OR LUMP IT WILL ALWAYS SET ONE FREE.

38. @ WURA-War-on-U

I’ve been fortunate to experience cultural living in some African countries as an adventurous. To mentioned a few: Cape Town, Port Elizabeth and Durban, South Africa,
    Dar es Salaam Tanzania, Djibouti, Casablanca Morocco,
    Benghazi Libya, Somalia, Mombasa Kenya. My experiences were in the early to late 70’S. History books has a real purpose. However, on the ground is a whole different perspective. I won’t trade Barbados/USA for any African Country.

39. @WARU
    I am impressed by your vast knowledge about the continent and occourances relwting to us as African people. There should be a separate blog for this because we are getting somewhere and the interest in knowing more about Africa is there.

40. This whole situation has opened a can of worms and step by step changes are happening in the right direction. We will see where this goes.

41. WURA,

Thanks for the info. I’ll be sure to use it. Years ago as a member of the PTA executive I approached someone to start an extra-curriculum programme at my son’s primary school. He consented but circumstances beyond my control prevented me from following through at the time

This is not a new interest for me or a new recognition of our need.

42. David,

Got it!

I wondered why there is no reasoning with that person. Always he seeks to misrepresent what one posts. I was wondering if he could really be so lacking in comprehension skills.

He speaks of corruption in Barbados. There is plenty of it on the 2×3. And there is MORE of it in the metropoles.

Daily we see it unfolding on tv screens. Mostly the big-uns get away. Just a few of them are brought to justice.

Who was locked up in the financial scandals that crashed the world in 2008?

Some of those CEO’s took the bailout money and had fun retreats with some of it.

Any of them live in Barbados?

Steupse and steupse again!

But a seventeen year old boy accused of stealing a backpack spent years in Rikers on remand.

And a man accused of passing a fake $20 died under the knee of a policeman in full view of the world.

All over the world it is the same story. Jails full of desperate poor people. The biggest criminals walking free.

Rich people handled with kid gloves. Poor people handled with boxing gloves.

Money equals power EVERYWHERE! It will always be a struggle to get the rich to pay under the current world systems.

Yes, the world is bigger than the 2×3. All of it is corrupt!

43. Cosmo
    Donna

welcome…the need was there, but the connection had to be made to get the correct program that would be all encompassing regarding ancestral traditions, cultures, languages, music etc…some good people hooked me up, all any African descendant in Barbados, the region or the diaspora has to do is reach out to the continent and everything clicks right into place.

44. “I won’t trade Barbados/USA for any African Country.”

that’s a personal choice, Africans on the ground say the same thing about the west with all the murders, imprisonment, criminalizing and disenfranchising etc of Black people, there are 54 countries and many don’t have to worry about being seen as slaves, robbed generationally and ringfenced…

..many see it in a different, they see they have the choice of both East and West…including the descendants of slave masters who go there on a daily basis to TIEF…….and can work effectively between the two…..people like me see it as my ancestral land and am entitled.

45. “All of it is corrupt!.”

as it was designed to be……including the fact that too many Black citizens were programmed not to recognize and observe their own human rights, each others and protest vigorously when it’s being VIOLATED by corrupt governments and a corrupt judiciary.

46. “There should be a separate blog for this.”

you are the second person to suggest this in as many days, if the Blogmaster sets up something, i will post the appropriate information to help with the transition…..all the information we need is available…i have been posting bits and pieces over time because it’s a lot to take in one go..

47. This is now a work in progress for students of Kemet…since most in the west don’t know of its existence…

“Here are the bullet points.
    Access contemporary African mathematics research journals

Download the most impactful books on the history of African mathematics

Listen to lectures and presentations on all aspects of mathematics in the African context

Access educational resources for children and families, including math games

Read research papers from active mathematicians, solving contemporary problems from national economic planning to environmental management.”

48. Patriotism and Nationalism is all bollocks as we are all spiritual beings of the universe.
    People all over the world are saying the same thing that they love the place they dwell or were born in and their country is the best but their life purpose is to make the world a better place for their children.
    Your ancestors may have been black Africans carried away to the Caribbean but when they died they shed their skin and it’s colour and their soul and spirit left their bodies returned back to the heavens.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b6omDSxTCXE

49. “My experiences were in the early to late 70’S. History books has a real purpose.”

European history books are FILLED WITH LIES….especially about Africa

from 1970-2021 is 51 YEARS…and we know what colonials have done there during those 2 generations…..the damage is visible, not much different to the damage wrought on Africans in the West, and Africans know and are working toward purging that evil and presenting the continent in all it’s ancestral glory FOR ITS ORIGINAL DESCENDANTS to access..

the vast difference between east and west is the massive wealth and resources on the continent, our birthright, that they all TIEF, that they hid from us with lies about Africa, and which we are entitled to reclaim..maliciously keeping us sequestered in the west until we got comfortable with victimhood and hated the continent after all the brainwash and lies they filled our heads with…….

Kiki…there is original information on that particular subject available, but the translation must be coming from the spiritually connected so that bloodlines can understand..not everyone and anyone can do this….ask Pacha.

50. In this time and place UR where UR for a reason

suffering builds up good karma and you will be rewarded when you pass

Wicked Babylon / Ketch
    Vampire