The unemployment situation in St George North is dreadful. Disappointing voters with false promises is not an option in this by-election. Candidates must offer workable plans, to effectively address the mass unemployment problems in St George North.
There are six candidates seeking to work for the people of St George North, for the next 30 months. It is important that none of us follow the bad examples of those who have gone before us.
Candidates who plan to use the desperate unemployed people of St George North as pawns, just to secure a seat in the House of Assembly for their party, are doing the unconscionable. They are ensuring that the people continue to suffer, during these exceptionally difficult times. The present suffering is compounded by an unnecessary IMF austerity program, and a global COVID-19 pandemic.
Candidates who make promises that they know they cannot keep, are deceiving voters’ families. Candidates who know that they have no capacity to implement their party’s plans, push that deceit beyond tolerable levels.
Career politicians have repeatedly broken their promises to previous generations of voters. Those voters had the patience to tolerate and forgive those, who repeatedly deceived them with empty promises.
The current generation of young voters are different – they will not forgive that type of deceit. Candidates without any workable economic plans for the families of St George North, are playing with fire.
Oh shirt! I just really read that Johnnie’s statements. Looks like he thinks Baje and I are the same person.
Wuhlaus!
So…. I guess I have multiple personalities. The Donna personality thinks that she is in the top 10% of the world’s richest people. And the Baje personality thought she was delusional. Don’t know if he did the math after PLT’s intervention cause he dropped the delusional bit. But he does still cuss the Donna personality on Hal Austin’s behalf. I think the last time the Donna personality was a bullshitter or is that the time before last. Probably just a jackass now.
Murdah! This week has been hilarious so far! I’ve have been investigated by two Johnnies.
And the results are in – I am both a mannish woman named Baje and a weak woman named Donna.
Which personality will dominate tomorrow?
Stay tuned!
If you are presenting voters by party and non-voters, then presenting them so that there are three percentages would be interesting.
As an example,
In 2013, Clarke = 3,508 (55.12%); Jepter Ince = 2,391 (40.43%). Of the 9,041 registered voters, 5,920 (65.48%) voted, while 3,121 did not vote
becomes
In 2013, Clarke = 3,508 (37%.3), Jepter Ince = 2,391 (25.4%) and 3,121 (34%),did not vote.
A strong third party could probably pull a few from all three groups. What was seen as a run-away win could be a close race.
(Using a cell phone and wrong denominator)
The magnitude of the 30-0 win is more mythical than real.
However, the SGN 2018 win was impressive.
TheO. 715pm
????
Ok. Got it
I agree with you. What you have to realise is, although ‘the numbers tell a story,’ rather than being comfortable given the statistics, the BLP appeared to be complacent in the initial days of the campaign, but subsequently went on the defensive. It seems as though Mottley is ‘be all, end all’ of their campaign strategy, which also appears to be disorganized, as evidenced by many of their speakers’ lackluster performances and Delisle Bradshaw’s injudicious comments regarding Reifer.
Their campaign was also ‘dealt a serious blow’ by former BLP member and their 2018 general elections deputy campaign manager, Anthony Wood, who publicly ‘threw his support’ behind Reifer and spoke on his platform. This is indicative of the ease with which disgruntled BEES and DEES can cross and immediately settle within the opposing party.
The suggestion Reifer is not a politically effective orator is perhaps true, because I’ve heard him struggle to read from the script. But, I have some difficulty trying to understand Edmund Hinkson……… and he’s the parliamentary representative for St. James North. However, Reifer offers a level of ‘freshness and innocence’ that Colin Spencer, Jepter Ince or any other former DLP candidate are unable to offer, as a result of the ‘baggage’ they would ‘bring forward’ from the previous administration’s tenure.
@Artax
Interesting comment and analysis. As stated in an earlier comment, the people yearn for a stronger Opposition and this is what the DLP must try to exploit i.e. the protest vote. Bradshaw’s Lammie Craig manner on the platform is old school. He got carried away, was not coached or all the above. In any case it was an indiscretion Reifer needed to deflect and tru to push Moore on the defensive. So far she has tried to stay above the fray but it will be raised in the debate if it comes off.
Regarding Wood, he was an Arthur disciple and may have decided to continue with Arthurâs Mottley fire rage?
Donna
Go back to 1119am. Baje
Why he jumped on me in Defence of u?
I wont put anything pass you or him
Does anyone know what caused the fracture between Wood and Weir? Whatever it is Wood has now distanced himself from the BLP which is surprising considering it is still holding the reins of power and anything that an (ex)politician wants still has to go through the PM.
Don’t blame me the PM said so and she was backed by the so- called expert on the Constitution.
BTW where is Lucille Moe?
TO ALL THE DISHONEST BAJAN JOHNNIES THAT WOULD SELL THEIR OWN LOCAL BLACK PEOPLE FOR 30 PIECES OF SILVER THAT THEY CAN’T TAKE TO THE GRAVE.
DISHONESTY CAN ONLY STAY IN THE DARK UNTIL LIGHT CATCHES IT UP.
BELOW YOU HAVE THE TRUTH OF A BLP MAN FOR 30 YEARS OPERATING AT THE TOP LEVEL.
THE EMPRESS HAS ON NO CLOTHES
BUNCH OF BLP JACKASSES.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Wood speaks at DLP meeting, but says he has not joined the party
Former Barbados Labour Party (BLP) stalwart, Anthony Wood, is calling on constituents of St George North to send a strong message to the Mia Amor Mottley administration that the “elitist governance” shown thus far will not be tolerated.
In a highly-anticipated address on Sunday night in Newbury, St George, from the platform of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), Wood painted a picture of a BLP membership cowering in fear of reprisal from the top.
Wood was speaking leading up to the November 11 by-election for the St George North seat left vacant by former BLP member of Parliament Gline Clarke.
“There are some who tell me that all roads lead to Mottley. So they are like sheep, they are being dominated . . . ,” said Wood.
The former BLP member made it clear that while he has not joined the DLP, he “has come too far to be a boy in the yard under Mottley”.
Wood, who was the deputy campaign manager for the BLP during the 2018 General Election, argued that under Mottley there has been a high-handed approach to governance, which has been evident in policy decisions such as the Barbados Optional Savings Scheme (BOSS), which originally was pitched as a forced savings plan. He also questioned the manner in which the domestic debt restructuring was handled. He warned that if left unchecked, Barbadians will be sorry down the road.
“I am concerned . . . . When I first heard the term forced savings plan, I said to myself that I did the right thing in leaving the Barbados Labour Party because I cannot understand how a woman could be so forward . . . to think that she could determine better than the civil servants how to save their money,” said Wood,
He also argued that the “unilateral approach” to the domestic debt restructuring, during which people holding Government paper took a haircut, was another glaring example of autocratic rule by the current administration. He acknowledged that he was a proponent of the debt re-profiling plan while on the 2018 campaign trail, but he understood it to mean a lengthening of the repayment time rather than deny investors a significant portion of what was owed.
“A clown like me believing that was what debt reprofiling meant, I went and sell that to all sorts of Barbadians on platform after platform . . . ,” he said.
Wood also questioned the haste behind a by-election in the middle of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.
“Gline Clarke resigned abruptly, it surprised me and Gline Clarke is my friend with whom I talk very often. He resigned after telling Barbadians on August 16, 2020 that he intends to contest the next election under the BLP banner. What has changed since August 16? He repeatedly said that he entered politics to represent the St George North constituents and not be a minister. The people of St George North took Gline Clarke at his word and they reposed confidence in him,” he said.
Wood also urged Barbadians to pay close attention to what he described as elitism on display on the BLP’s platform, noting the recent pronouncement by Delisle Bradshaw, who stated that “any idiot can play cricket”.
“When Mottley is telling you that you can’t have big works without talking to me, that is an elitist comment coming from Mia Mottley, whose socialism was different from mine. She is saying that Floyd Reifer is incapable of conceptualising anything that could be considered part of a big works programme, so he got to talk to Mottley to get some help to shape the programme and the policies that would result in big works being produced. That is an elitist statement,” said Wood, who served in the Cabinet of the late Owen Arthur from 1999 to 2008.
“You see these elitist and disparaging comments coming from the other side. I want you all to deal a telling blow to such comments and let them know that you still expect a high degree of respect in social relationships in Barbados. You still demand respect in how people interact with each other in Barbados. If they on the other side, led by Mottley, think that this is not important, then they must be reminded,” he said
https://www.nationnews.com/2020/10/19/wood-speaks-dlp-meeting-says-not-joined-party/
Tell Woods to throw HIS hat in the ring if he really got the balls to take on MM
————//————-
Beside that he is bare talk
He got Over 2 years and a whole bunch of parties to join
But he weaker the the Cabinet members and is a joker just like the jackass baje is
Purpose
A man that spend 30 years at the top
Now running from one party to a next
The Two parties that you dont give a ‘rats ass’ bout
And u all up in he. According to u – 30 yrs of living off the black bajans and now signing for HIS supper in the next party dat did the same. Now all if a sudden he speak the truth.
Man go to hell wid ur foolishness
Wood to UPP would be a better move / FIT
In the interest of transparency: What is the official explanation and or reason for the COVID Czar’s departure ?
A man that spend 30 years at the top
Now running from one party to a next
The Two parties that you dont give a ‘rats ass’ bout
And u all up in he. According to u – 30 yrs of living off the black bajans and now signing for HIS supper in the next party dat did the same. Now all if a sudden he speak the truth.
Man go to hell wid ur foolishness
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
YOU ARE CONTINUING TO SHOW YOUR DUMB ASS.
THE MAN HAS EXPOSED ASSHOLES LIKE YOU THAT LIE AND DEFLECT TO DEFEND BLP PARTY.
For the IGNORANT fowl slaves/yard fowls….one way or another these leaches and parasites in Black people’s lives have to go, them and their tiefing trash minorities..
Another accustion of being despotic attributed to Mia. What she and her filthy, no good racist THIEVES AND business partners in the minority community fail to realize is that there is NOT ONE EDUCATED BLACK PERSON, i mean people who understand what ALL OF THEM has done to the black population over decades, will sit back and allow them to continue ROBBING the BLACK population, living OFF THEIR BACKS then acting like the people who really fund the island don’t count, don’t matter and are all SLAVES, that is my problem with Mia and that gang of THIEVES….they have stolen from generations of Bajan youth and are still telling themselves they are invincible and cannot be stopped because they fancy themselves slave masters, well that evil shit by black face JAILERS of the majority black population, ENDS IN THIS DECADES…our grandchildren will no longer be the victims of you cockroaches. Don’t know who they think they are, that’s why Africa must be warned about them, they are too damn arrogant and cocky and believe they are going to be the best slave masters, better than Elizabeth, but watch we nuh, watch us RID THE ISLAND OF ALL OF THEM.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/10/20/wood-accuses-pm-mottley-of-bad-governance/
“Declaring that he is not a “yard boy”, former Barbados Labour Party (BLP) minister Anthony Wood has charged that there is “an element of despotic leadership” in the current administration.
Referring to the use of the word “despot” by the now late former Prime Minister Professor Owen Arthur to describe Mottley back in 2013, Wood said: “I am concerned that Mottley in her head… thinks she is tightening the vice gripes over Barbadians’ minds and our actions. I am concerned that there is a manifestation of despotic leadership that, if we allow it to go unchecked, we are going to be extremely sorry.”
If wood is preaching a concern about calling an election during COVID 19 he should be the first one to lead by example and weal the mask, practice distancing etc.
Check out the two clowns wearing their masks, under their chins and spitting in each other’s faces, these are the fools who call themselves the “educated” elite in Barbados
Nothing new is what Mr Wood has said. It has all been aired here on BU since May 2018. What is interesting is that it now comes from a former insider.
The president is a bully, arrogant and she intimidates people, the voters of St George North should give her a bloody nose.
Barbados taxpayers to pay for the CXC reviews examination papers of barbadian students
Mottley says on the SGN political platform
Once again Mottley role as a dictator shines supremely as her orders/ measures are first dictated and released on a political stage before being laid out in parliament under the rule of good governance
@Hal,
true. nothing new said by Wood. makes for good political theatre tho. the DLP ought to be careful and wary of Wood. there are things lurking in the background that may be revealed. but for the time being the enemy of my enemy is my friend
@David,
quote] Regarding Wood, he was an Arthur disciple and may have decided to continue with Arthur’s Mottley fire rage? [quote
interesting question.
Wood was the deputy campaign manager for the BLP with MAM as the leader in the 2018 elections.
Wood accepted a post when they won.
Arthur accepted a post from MAM and seemingly mended fences.
a little bit over 2 years into the BLP govt, Wood and Minister Weir fell out and Wood made allegations of nepotism and dishonesty with no comment from the BLP.
yet the question about Wood carrying Arthur’s fire rage arises?
Man pissss innn myyyy pocketttt and tell me it is raining.
i take it there can be no other reason in the form of a question about why Wood has soured on MAM?
Baje who earlier stated he does not care about BLP/ DLP politics could present on this blog a verbatim report of what ex BLPMinister Anthony Wood said
Very interesting, this is aguy who appeared on this blog just after the 2018 election ranting and raving like a madman.I wonder where he was before 2028 when bajans were seeing hell with downgrade after downgrade to junk bond status not a peep out of him.This brings me to the conclusion he is either sn ec minister or insider of the DLP pretending like Skinner, Lest we forget and Donna among others to be neutral.However the last attempt to cuss Ms Mottley did not end well for the Dems and this one will fall flat the same way in my view.I ask again WHAT IS MR REIFER, S PLAN FOR ST GEORGE AND HOW WILL HE FINANCE IT? They scraping the barrel looking for red herrings to avoid the debates as they know Depeiza and Reifer cannot win any debates with Ms Mottley and Ms Moore period.Lastly the talk about roads in St George WHY WERE ROADS NOT FIXED IN ST GEORGE WHILE MS BYER SUCKOO WAS IN CABINET FOR TEN YEARS IN ST GEORGE SOUTH?Maybe Ms Depeiza or Mr Reifer or 5he Dems on here csn answer.
Murdah! That serves Baje right! To be mistaken for Delusional Donna – a fate worse than death!
You can’t make this stuff up!
Wuhlaus! Muh belly!
But back to the topic! Moving from Bee hive to the dump is not a good look for Wood.
The Lone Ranger riding to the dump to the dump to the dump dump dump.
Why not the UPP???
DBLP is one party???????
@Greene
It is known Wood was a regular visitor in the Arthur office @Cave Hill.
Lorenzo u ought to be the last asking about Reifer plans for SGN I remember clearly in the 10 year opposition of the blp
They gave no plans however made many promises which have all turned out to be empty with exception to one that of the South West sewage problem whereby govt has emptied all the toxins in the ocean
Now u come here talking about Reifer plan
Btw what are govt plans to rescue small business and stop bridgetown from become barbados largset dump site
If yuh dont hsve an answer ask Mottley
As the Dem Designate I will answer on behalf of the lady. The roads were not fixed because the Minister of Road Wuk was not the MP for that constituency.
Perhaps if she had fixed him up he would have fixed her roads.
No wuk without wuk!
Mariposa, you could give me 3 reasons why government should rescue small businesses in Bridgetown?
If I was in Reifer’s shoes they couldn’t catch me on a debate stage, why you ask? His opponent has been around the block in her role as a Union leader for decades and is accustomed to the cut and thrust of debating while I am an idiot who plays cricket. Let the leaders debate when national elections are called in by elections it is all local.
@Sargeant
Theoretically a reasonable position but how practical if Reifer is exposed as the only candidate to decline participation?
Dem yardie Donna when Ms Bywr_ Suckoo was in cabinet for ten years Mr Clarke was in opposition bird brain she had the power to get roads fixed in the south and north in St Goerge so do not bring no red herring about wuk for wuk as you clearly fo not know what you talking about in your rush to defend Ms Byer_ Suckoo and the Dems.
@David,
and?
Maybe, just maybe acolytes see a task to be completed.
given my first response to you about Wood that makes no sense and ignores the Wood/ Weir situation
The Wood/Weir spat is a mere distraction in the opinion of the blogmaster. Wood being opportunistic for political expediency sake.
now that is a more reasonable explanation and may be closer to the truth. it is telling that MAM and the BLP havent addressed the Wood issue yet but stay tune that is coming.
when this issue about debates came up, i said very early that Reifer should not participate in a televised debate. what is the point? this is a by election. if there should be any televised debates reserve it for the general elections between the leaders or their surrogates.
most elections are local especially those in St George, and should be fought in the trenches. Reifer is doing a good job there. that is where his advantage, if he has any, lies
@Greene
The prime minister pulls on members of parliament to participate in Cabinet. If Reifer were to win he will have the awesome and challenging job to ensure the opposition’s dissenting voice strident and cogent. On this basis why shouldn’t he want to parade a wider grasp of the issues confronting the country and even beyond?
Union wants new law amended
by Randy Bennett
The National Union of Public Workers’ (NUPW) wants Government to go back to the drawing board with its recently legislated Public Service Appointment Act.
Charging that too many of its members were being disadvantaged due to the strict requirements of the Act, NUPW’s Acting General Secretary Delcia Burke wants the legislation amended so a larger number of public servants could benefit.
Under the new provisions in the legislation, which was passed just over two weeks ago, persons who were not appointed to the public service but who had been employed in a temporary position or an established position for three years or more immediately before October 1, 2020, were deemed to be appointed.
Additionally, persons who had been acting in a post for three years or more before October 1, 2020, were also appointed.
But in an interview with Barbados TODAY, Burke, who heads the island’s largest public sector union, proposed that Government amend the legislation so public servants who had acted in positions for three years or more at any point in time would be eligible to be appointed.
She said while she was happy to see some persons being appointed, there were still too many deserving of appointments being left out in the cold.
“I don’t know how many people were appointed but I know a number of our members have not been appointed after acting in positions for 12, 13, 14 years, only due to the fact that they were promoted to act in a higher position but were not in the position for three years.
“The NUPW feels that they should amend the Act to say that anybody who has been acting in the public service for three years, regardless of if you served two years in one position and one year in another, or 13 in one position and then two in another,” Burke contended.
“It has placed a number of our members and other public servants at a serious disadvantage. You came up with something that gives people hope, saying that so many people are going to be appointed, only to understand that a number of persons don’t qualify based on what the Act says.”
In piloting the legislation, Attorney General Dale Marshall disclosed that any public servant who wished to make an appeal could do so to the Governor General.
However, Burke also questioned that decision, saying it did not give workers a fair chance.
“They have given persons the option to appeal to the Governor General if they feel they have been prejudiced by the Act. But the Act is very specific as to who can be appointed so I want to know how the Governor General is going to do something other than what the Act says when the Act is there written in law. I don’t understand how that is going to happen,” she pointed out.
“What I also don’t understand is that anybody who appeals can lose an appeal.
What happens if persons lose those appeals? What are they going to do because there is nowhere else to turn. You have a disciplinary and a grievance procedure in the Public Service Act that talks about dealing with
issues and grievances. Why can’t you follow that grievance procedure? Why do you have to go and appeal to the Governor General,” Burke further questioned.
(randybennett@barbadostoday.bb)
bAJE
wHAT insider what?
glyne clarke is on the inside now and if he come out and say MM is the best of everything ever he would be a liar / dont have no balls / a yardfowl etc.
Wood lining up his political ducks (which your are to blind to see) and an ignorant blind ass like you will call it TRUTH
OA spoke the TRUTH for about 10yrs and she still became PM, as soon as she offer he a pick i aint any refusal or i aint hear another word of TRUTH from his mouth.
Donna
UPP is AO other BLP party. woods would fit right in and right at the top. he “wood” bring ministerial experience to assist lynette.
@David,
when and if that time comes he will be ready
@Greene
Hope you are not saying the electorate should operate on to a wing and a prayer by buying a pig in a bag.
lorenzo
she didnt fix any roads that why she got such a whipping in 20018. not only her but ALL DEM
leave donna alone she would like some of the wuk to get her road fixed
@John2
You can do better.
dAVID?
yOU DONT THINK DONNA CAN DO BETTER ? or are you sexist?
You agree that better can come from you or are you controlled by others.
is that a question?
i didnt see you answer the one that was addressed to you
Carry on John2. The blogmaster made his point.
is televised debating a measure by which Bim elects its politicians?
@Greene
What are the alternatives to allow candidates to showcase their perspectives on the issues as a collective in an independent setting?
“Take de easy riddle to solve
You must always stay involved
Scratch yuh head an’ give it a try
Tell me – who are what am I?”
Bam!
BLP Wuk fuh Wuk 1 get old. DLP Wuk fuh Wuk 2 tek ovuh.
I knew that would confuse the fowl cocks.
Campbell just in case you were born yesterday
There was an era and time when small businesses were part of the economy stimulus
But back then govts cared
Now all we have are govt throwing millions into a one nest basket that shows its ina
Inabilty to survive when the pressure of a global economy punctured its tires
So why cannt govt save these business
@ Mr. Skinner
Everyday, GIS notices are aired via the media, in which public sector employees who felt they were disadvantaged by the Public Service Appointment Act, are asked to contact the Civil Service Ministry.
And, the NUPW is now seeking to represent its membership?
dAVID
wAITTTTT you scared of donna? or are you really sexist?
Mariposa, if I born yesterday or not, ain’t got nothing to do with it. You still ain’t answer my question.
All I ask you is to give me 3 reasons WHY government should rescue small businesses in Bridgetown?
@David,
i dont understand what you are asking.
however, parliamentary debates are where issues are debated and resolved. until then Reifer should stick to house to house campaigning, shop crawls and spot meetings. that is where this election will be won or lost.
@Greene
The public is not s ignorant as in days of old. Social media coupled with suffocating political apathy has been encouraging the public to be more demanding of politicians. The days of one dimensional campaigning (interactions) is old school.
@Greene
You have not addressed the point if Reifer is the only candidate deciding to not participate what do you see as political fallout if any.
@ MARIPOSA
In most developed economies, small businesses provide more jobs than any other sector. That is why government should support small businesses.
Whey they should not do is take taxpayers’ money and give to privately-owned hotel owners without any proper audit.
Where was it stated government will be giving money to hotels without due diligence?
greene
i agree with you – sorta. as you said that his strong point and debating “seems” to be his week point and he needs all the votes he can get. why chance a debate ?
on the other hand ….. if all the others do the debate the………… he still will hold some licks for a no show.
Wuh evuhbody know dat Dumb Donna too dumb tuh do better!
De only ting she good fuh is to pull little boy puppet strings an’ mek he expose heself!
Watch de puppet!
Pull – crap!
David knows that I will let sleeping yardfowl puppets lie when they stop trying to pick apart every comment I make because of some stupid grudge from more than a week ago for which I apologised if I had misjudged them.
You have most childishly stalked me since then trying to prove me wrong about every little thing.
So Teacher Donna thought to teach the little boy some nursery rhymes.
And, silly boy, David knows that I am not Baje.
You can ad delusional to the other 2 Ds
You dont even realise when you walk into ur own crap. i does just spread it out (using ur words) and you does step right into it
@ Greene
Hope this is the right stream. But a television debate is showbiz, an import from the US. But it will not expand the general knowledge of the people in St George North.
A television debate with badly informed journalists asking irrelevant questions may provide cheap laughs for some people, but it will not get us anywhere. However, it would be good for CBC viewer numbers.
What the people want and need is a meeting in a school hall, with all the candidates, sitting at a table and answering questions from the electorate.
If the debate comes off it will be with David Ellis as the interviewer.
All hail the puppet mistress! Or master.
We must ask the original Johnnie to run it through the sex analyzer!
Are we done now?
Uh-oh! Not yet?
Mamma Mia had a farm
E-I-E-I-O
And on that farm she had some fowls
E-I-E-I-O
With a crap crap here
And a crap crap there
Here a crap, there a crap
Everywhere a crap crap
Johnnie 2 on Mia Farms
Crappy Crappy
Oh!
You may have the last crap! You are better at it than I am!
🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Changing channels……..
Oh, now I get it.
The Barbados government should support small businesses, BECAUSE in most developed economies, small businesses provide more jobs than any other sector.
The privately owned hotel owners PAY MORE IN taxes and VAT than small businesses owner. That make them TAXPAYERS, too.
So, it would be some of THEIR TAX MONEY that they would be getting back from the government.
So, the same way you could take up taxpayers’ money to support small businesses, why you can’t support the small hotel owners too?
why would you need a sex analyser? i used ur own word exactly how you used/meant them
ur so dumb you hav to analyse the sex of ur own words?
whaloss
@David,
i dont get you at all. did the 30 candidates that won for the BLP participate in televised debates during the general elections?
@Hal
the yanks call that a town hall. during house to house campaigning the same can be achieved. i dont have an issue with leaders participating in televised debates but i cant see the reason why a by election has to follow that protocol.
it seems excessive and a colossal waste of time and money
greene
For a government money is not wasted its circulated which is good for them. you dint listen to VC ?
@Greene
Are you onboard to promote change or not. Do you agree if Reifer is a no show at the debate if it comes off it will be a negative for him? Answer the questions.
not hitting at VC (as some may think) but agreeing 100%
@ David BU
A televised live debate for a by-election would be a waste of time, even if the moderators were David Ellis, Julian Rogers or Wolf Blitzer. I could see such a debate being dominated by focusing on national issues, as opposed to issues that are confined to St. George North.
However, the only candidate, in my opinion, who has so far set out clearly defined vision for the constituency, is Grenville Phillips II. Candidates coming to a forum to talk about repairing roads, providing housing solutions, debushing or building community centers is folly, because parliamentary representative are duty bound to provide those things.It’s similar to ‘government’ bragging about buying buses and garbage trucks.
@Artax
The issue for Reifer if we are to go with the info in the public is that there will be a debate. It therefore does not matter if it will be a waste of time – we will have to wait for the outcome – but the decision to participate or not.
no. and Reifer has already dealt with that issue quite adequately
quote] However, on Sunday night, the DLP’s candidate Floyd Reifer seemingly poured cold water on the debates.
“Politics is about representation. This isn’t the time for grandstanding when people are suffering, hurting, unemployed and frustrated. Every spare moment I get, I will spend with my people,” he declared during a political meeting.[quote
He will have to deal with the fallout of it comes off. Can he afford fallout based on support? Time will tell.
@Artax, my former campaign manager and ‘neutral ‘commentator,
spot on
It is official, heard on the news that the DLP has declined the invitation to debate because Reifer
does not have sufficient time to prepare. One has to assume the other candidates have no such issue.
.This brings me to the conclusion he is either sn ec minister or insider of the DLP pretending like Skinner
Xxxxxxxxx
@Lorenzo
WOW WHAT BLATANT DESPERATION YOU AND YOUR BUDDY @ Johnny 2
MUST BE CUT FROM THE SAME CLOTH.
FOR YEARS THIS IS HOW YOU GUYS HAVE BEEN DECEIVING BLACK BAJANS WHILST TRYING TO CONFUSE THEM TO PICK SIDES.
GO AND STICK YOUR HEAD UP SOMEONE’S ASS AS YOU LIKE TALKING AND EATING SHIT.
AFTER NOW 11 he will have a lot of spare time
@David,
i told you so. it makes sense for the DLP. the others can do as they like. DLP showing real balls. that is change you can believe in.
all they have to do is hammer Moore with the sell out tag- held out for 23% with the DLP and settled for 5% with the BLP and a seat in parliament.
@Greene
We will know the quality of that decision soon. At this point it is an unknown variable.
@Greene
To elaborate, not participating in the debate is the better decision for Reifer. He would have been a poor debater.
Greene
all moore being a sell out going appeal to are the vote that are already in his pocket.
i keep telling you the “union” is mainly behind moore.
SGN is strickly BLP as the numbers over the yeas will point out.
Baje i see you choose to cherry piclk parts pf what i ssid.I also asked youWHERE THE HELL WERE YOU BETWEEN 2008 AND 2018 WHEN WE WERE SEEONG HELL FROM DOWNGRADE AFTER DOWNGRADE TO JUNK BOND STATUS?Answer that part jackass why you running from the question?During that period we had the two worst PM and the worst cabinet in my view in the history of Barbados and NOT A WORD FROM YOU.WERE YOU ON MARS OR TIMBUCKTO AT THE TIME?As for Greene you can pretty it up any way you loke Mr Reifer is running scared which will backfire on him because if he cannot handle a debate how the hell he will reprezent people in parliament?Pure folly.
No debate
Debate what their would be unfair advantage for Reifer
No debate just a political land mine set up for Reifer
Let them debate meanwhile Reifer goes out in trenches and do what he does best exposed govt failures all highlighted with videos to show proof of what govt refused to do for SGN
A picture is worth a thousand words
the most vote that reifer can count on are thos by Ince in 2013 when the dems were in power.
he need to convert well over 1000 to get any place close to making it an interesting match.
If you all think moore, clarke and MM so unpopular in SGN you fooling yourselves
“ It is particularly ironic that a politician should think that way because in politics anyone can win a seat and become a Member of Parliament . And if his party wins power, he can become a minister in areas of governance in areas of governance in which he has no training , competence or qualifications. It is not difficult to understand substandard leadership and substandard performance at ministerial levels.”
Dr. Rudi V Webster
Nation Newspaper Tuesday Oct. 20th.
We have had lawyers guiding educational policy, health policy, economic policy, housing policy etc.
I guess Rihanna is an excellent debater; has a great command of the English language and that made her a billionaire but she may not be fit for parliament because she is just an entertainer and any “idiot” can sing into a microphone.
WHERE THE HELL WERE YOU BETWEEN 2008 AND 2018 WHEN WE WERE SEEONG HELL
Xxxxxx
@ Lorenzo the female rabbit
I WAS ONE OF THE MANY PEOPLE WISHING FOR THE BLP.
HOWEVER I HAVE SINCE OBSERVED THE DECEPTIONS TO WIN VOTES AND TRICK BLACK PEOPLE.
did i miss something?
did anyone said some one is unfit because they cannot debate?
The blogmaster recalls a youthful Richard Sealy performing very well against the experience Billie Miller. He was able to establish his bona fides as a serious politician.
@David,
that may or may not be true. but let me ask again, how many persons in parliament who are now ministers participated in a televised debate to be elected?
@Greene
Do you accept some of us are prepared to raise the bar and not what was?
Baje
Because u were once blind but now you can see means that all the bajan that cannot see the light yet cannot think for themselves?
i profess to speak on their behalf but i would never try to think for them. i believe they are all educated and can make their own decisions. right or wrong it them that have to live with it.
i share my opinions on BU just like everyone else and pay the taxes i have to pay in bim which ever GOV is in power.
John 2 do not take on Skinner he is just trying to be funny as usualI do not know how saying debating is not Mr Teifer, s strength can be determined to be saying Mr Reifer cannot debate.Some of these dems have a problem with comprehension and scrapinh about for all kind of red herrings but it will not help Reifer or them.Skinner also asked about the czar in the unterest of tranparecy.I heard the PM and the AG speak on this matter stating that Mr Carter had been seconded from another job to become the czar based on his experience with ebola etc and that time period had expired and Mr Carter had returned to his substantive job.What more transparency you want?By the way John 2 Donna and Baje are two seperate people not the brightest but there you go.
that was just 2 years ago. that was a general election and this is a by.
mate, you are flogging a dead horse and this has become a circular argument.
lets wait and see how the cookie crumbles. this remains a BLP seat to lose,
when MM announced that the time would be made available for the debates she did say it was because of the covid situati
but politics is politics.
If all the other parties take part in the debate then which one can we concluded is the one that approached GP2?
Refier and DEM on the backfoot running away from the ball
Ms Depeiza got to be joking.She states Mr Reifer does not have enough time to prepare.Enough time to prepare for what? I thought Mr Reifer was a hometown boy from St George.What time does he need to speak about issues in an area he dhould know like the back of his hand.Unless he was never interested in the problems until he was nominated which would be a poor reflection on him. Bottom line i believe he is afraid to debate with Ms Moore and they looking for excuses either way it looks bad on his part.
@ William
When I talk about revolving mediocrity this is what I mean. A young man or woman goes to school, then goes on to do a LLB at Cave Hill and LEC at Wooding.
They return to Barbados and work in a decent set of chambers, if they are lucky, and, after a couple years, enter politics. If fortunate, they are elected to parliament and may even get a ministry.
From birth to parliament, that person has never managed a household budget, farless a ministry; they have received no specialised training and are ill-equipped for the task at hand. You only have to talk to them to realise they are out of their depth.
This is the setting. Recently the president said she loved numbers, in the mistaken belief that this equips her to be finance minister.
I once heard her described accountants as bookkeepers, which I am sure was not meant.
I know we do not like looking overseas, but in the UK, elected parliamentarians are given workshops and seminars by leading academics and those who will head economic ministries are given crash courses in economics.
But, ignore these Europeans, they do not know what they are doing..
no got time to prepare is such a poor excuse if all the other parties take part.
should have stick to the script of staying in the trenches
Greene you need to get DEM direct line
@ Green October 20, 2020 12:42 PM
“@David,
that may or may not be true. but let me ask again, how many persons in parliament who are now ministers participated in a televised debate to be elected?”
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Excellent point! That riposte should put the blogmaster on the back foot.
Why should the rest of the residents of Barbados who cannot cast any vote in this by-election be subject to a debate focussed on parochial matters affecting the voters of SGN?
Maybe a debate involving the leaders of the political parties to discuss their parties’ manifesto plans for the people of SGN and, by extension, the wider Lilliputian island; but clearly not rookies or political whippersnappers (except GP11) with no track record to defend.
the DLP did the right thing and i endorse the stance taken.
a televised debate in a run of the mill by election is a waste of time. let Moore or Less strut her stuff with the others. maybe she can find time to sell out Grenville.
after all, as union leader of BWU, Toni held out for More under the DLP but settled for Less with the BLP. for which she was seemingly rewarded a seat.
@Greene
The blogmaster senses Reifer’s non participation will be interpreted as a sign of wanting to hide the fact he has to present from prepared scripts. Rest assured the BLP will tar him for it. However, if he participates the evidence so far is that he is a poor debater. He is staying away because his handlers are hiding him and for no other reason. A discerning public is aware. Will it hurt him?
A debate is a waste of time.99% of Barbadian young persons do not watch CBC and that is nationally. How will a nationally broadcast debate decide what is happening in St.George North? There should have a been a three townhall meetings held at St. George Secondary School with selected voters from SGN. There should be supporters of all parties and independents. Grenville Phillips wants to debate because he needs the national attention. The BLP and DLP already have a base of supporters.The idea of debates were not pushed in the last election or Chris Sinckler would have won based on what the the PM is trying to show that Reifer is not a debater but Toni Moore is.
Oh shirt! Donna and Baje are two different people?????
Murdah!
Note to self – never hire Johnnies for detective work! They are not the brightest bulbs.
any idiot can debate
@Greene
And that idiot will lose the debate if he or she has to participate with others who are not idiots.
Mia Mottley is the best. She is the smartest. She is wonderful. She is completely honest. She can do no wrong. Every move she makes is spectacular.
Sending this to CXC for grading. I hope I get my first ever Grade 1 so I can be a bright girl.
Oh dear ! I forgot the title.
Mia the Magnificent – My Dearly Beloved Leader.
The voters of SGN do not want to see the staging of a NATO (No Action, Talk Only) conference on TV on some 2×3 island.
They want to interact with the candidates to find out which one of them ‘appears’ to be the most people ‘friendly and focussed’ person and not just another certified bull-shitter made up for the TV screen.
It’s called voters’ emotional intelligence at work!
@Miller
Do you live in SGN?
In the House of Assembly the MPs debate from prepared notes. All they do is make sure they add Mr. Speaker Sir along the way. I watch them and it is sometimes very hard on the ears.There are not many good debaters in the House Assembly at this time.
Understand how this works. People have a ‘visual’ in their heads the type of person they will support. Some will vote for party colour, , some for the candidate perceived as being able to help them at the household level, some because the vote was bought, some because of miscellaneous reasons where no rationale can be applied etc etc.
In this case many have taken note that Reifer has to read from a piece of paper all the time which is unusual when stumping. Although many will be sympathetic, it waters down the perception of someone who is fully versed.
Can we post questions David Ellis should have on his iPad? He can email those for Reifer so that he can prepare an email response.
Who expects that Floyd Reifer would be a good debater? When last has he debated?
Steupse!
I agree with Artax that it would have to be about national issues because the issues that occupy the minds of constituents are not really the stuff of which good debates are made.
Should be good fun to watch! GP2 will be there. I en missing dah!
@ David October 20, 2020 1:55 PM
Ancestrally speaking!!
BTW, the people of St. George were once promised a “SEA”. They are still awaiting the arrival of the sand and the fish.
@Donna
This is where we disagree. There is nothing to constrain the debate to parochial issues, this is a member of parlia man who should be able to speak to issues of national concern, going republic, same sex union/gay marriage, governance issues etc.
Donna and Baje are two seperate people not the brightest but there you go.
×××××××××
IS THIS COMING FROM @ Lorenzo the Female Rabbit.
A brazen asshole who can’t think for himself and bogged down in BLP SHENANIGANS.
DONNA WAS A PRIMARY SCHOOL TEACHER.
MYSELF A FORMER TUTOR, ADJUNCT COLLEGE PROFESSOR AND CURRENTLY AN ENTREPRENEUR.
WHO ARE YOU BESIDES BEING A SHIT EATER AND BLP STOOL PIGEON WITH A BELOW AVERAGE IQ AND YOU WANT TO BE JUDGING OTHERS.
GTFOH
So Blue Horizon which belonged to TAXPAYERS and was sold to crooks BY CROOKS,
DOWNWARD of its market value by a at least 7 MILLION DOLLARS….is now a quarantine facility…ah wonder who is benefiting on BOTH ENDS from that clear case of stealing from the public to benefit corrupt minorities and even more corrupt politicians…
https://www.facebook.com/NationBarbados/videos/dlp-no-debate/342766183647234/
i thought Reifer handled himself quite well here
@Greene
Your opinion is solid based on a 1:20 minute clip on which he was one of two people who spoke? What are you smoking?
“He acknowledged that he was a proponent of the debt reprofiling plan while on the 2018 campaign trail, but understood it to mean a lengthening of the repayment time rather than denying investors a significant portion of what was owed.
“A clown like me believing that was what debt reprofiling meant, I went and sell that to all sorts of Barbadians on platform after platform. These people then changed their tune and they shaved off the value in a most unilateral way. So millions of dollars got shaved off . . . and a lot of people have gone to their grave getting no redress whatsoever because the Government did it in a unilateral fashion,” he lamented.[Quote]
Clearly NOT a potential candidate for any Ministry within the Finance or Economics realm.
@Northern Observer
Wood is touted as a learned economist. What are you suggesting?