BU’s inbox has been inundated in the last 24 hours with requests to sign a petition calling for justice in the matter involving Demarco Gibbs who was beaten by for minors. Unfortunately the injuries sustained by Demarco left him brain dead.
The following words contained in the change.org petition reported to have secured 10,000 signatures at recent count caught the eye of the blogmaster.
The laws of Barbados need to be amended to charge children as adults when they commit heinous crimes. Their parents must also be held accountable. The time for change is now!
Increasingly our small society once characterized by personable citizens has morphed into something opposite- defined in this instant as Barbadians prepared to swing the sledge hammer to crush the symptom and mostly ignore the causal factor(s) that created the outcome. What does it say about thousands of adults; elders in a society willing to relinquish causal responsibility?
The behaviour – good and bad – manifested by minors in our society; in our charge, in the homes, schools and everywhere reflects on us ADULTS. What moral authority do we have to propose to treat children as adults within the boundary of our laws designed to protect? By all means let us how to treat with debate parental delinquency but charging children as adult does NOT Rh compute in the mind of this blogmaster.
Recently the blogmaster traversed the Bow Road heading North and his line of sight was assaulted by the dilapidated state of the National Stadium. The state of the stadium did not deteriorate to its current state in recent years, it has suffered steady decline even ‘in times of plenty’. In the mind of the blogmaster a national stadium is integral to a vibrant national youth program.
There is the oft repeated phrase a healthy nation is a wealthy nation. The blogmaster is prepared to extend the adage that an engaged youth represent future leaders. What does a cursory assessment of the appearance of the National Stadium point to where youth affairs register on government’s list of priorities?

National Stadium
The blogmaster is tired, tired, tired of connecting dots for some of you.
Dear Blogmaster,
I totally agree with you. We adults have done a piss poor job of setting good examples for children to follow. We have to realise in this social media world, adult behaviours that before would have never seen the light of day are being proudly put on display for our children to learn from.
How can we expect the children to be any better when we constantly have the media taking advantage of people’s weakened, emotional state to go viral, get lots of views, likes and sell papers? That video and others like it should never have been posted, kept private and used as the basis to write a proper article to inform society as to whether we have a tragic situation or is a manifestation of a larger problem.
How can we expect the children to be any better when we bicker like children by name calling, arguing and disrespecting each other in our parliament and forums just to be noticed and one up each other and call it robust debate when it is all a dog and pony show and they are all get along whether they are friends or not?
Instead of seeking to try children as adults, we should be seeking to to put ourselves on trial for being poor adults leaving our children with fewer and fewer good role models to look up to and learn from to guide their behaviour.
Where were the adults, who are supposed to be supervising these children ,when this act took place? Should we not be censuring them?
Sometimes when people say that they want “justice” I am not sure what they mean. Do the mean punishment? Do they mean another law to punish after the fact?
I have been consistent on this blog calling for better parenting, specifically better FATHERING of our children. And sometimes I am accused of not liking men, when the truth is that I don’t have the time of day for bad behaved men who neglect and abandon their children, AND the mothers of those children. Raising children is brutal hard labor, every woman raising children deserves the emotional, practical, and financial support of the fathers of those chidren, and support from the state, the society inraising those children, because when we children raise children WE ARE REPRODUCING AND WORKING HARD TO RAISE THE WORK FORCE. No workforce, no economy, no businesses, no political class, no millionaires, no billionaires, It is way past time that we stop behaving as though our children are pickney in massa’s n—er yard, somebody’s else’s responsibility.
All the the children involved in this severe injury need help, The victim as well as those who committed the assault. If as has been said one of the children is 7 years old he or she does not yet have the emotional experiential or emotional capacity to understand the long term consequences of his or her actions. But it would help if he or she and all of the other children receive psychological/psychiatric counseling, perhaps weekly sessions for as long as a year. If as is said one or more of the children is 12 years old or older, then the law already provides for the punishment and rehabilitation of children of that age.
I expect that all or many of the parents need help too, because where did these children learn to use this almost deadly violence? The PARENTS of this child particularly need help too to cope with the loss of a healthy child, and to prepare them emotionally and financially to provide long term care for their disabled child. One of my school mates suffered such an injury when he was about that age, in an accident. He is now in his mid-60’s and still dependent on his siblings for physical and financial care.
So perhaps instead of a petition designed for punishing children as adults we need an honestly organized fund raiser designed to provide decades long support for the parents and siblings of this child, because the possibility still exists that this child might yet long outlive both of his parents.
I have a sister-in-law who spent much of her career working on a ward for patients with brain injuries, those injuries mostly suffered in traffic accidents, but also through war, assaults,and falls. I am thankful that she told me once. Regardless of how angry you are NEVER EVER push a person unless you intend to kill them,because when you push a person you don’t know how and where they will land, and regardless of how angry you are NEVER EVER hit a person, especially a child on the head.
One of my schoolmates died a few years ago, after he was pushed by one of his drinking buddies, a childhood friend.
The consequences of head injuries evenif not deadly, are life altering.
@ Cuhdear Bajan
A very thoughtful , instructive and enlightened post. Very good.
@ Cuh Dear
They usually mean legalised REVENGE. My emphasis is on prevention. Again I ask ,where were those responsible for supervision of these children?
I spoke about that national stadium for quite some time, while all the avaricious look all fat, unhealthy and bloated with huge salaries for sitting on their obese asses and doing very little to nothing and can hardly walk when you do see them, while calling themselves the olympic committee or some such, the kids are DEPRIVED of any and all amenities for a healthy transition to a well rounded development… it has been very ugly in Barbados for a very long time, the greedy continue to deprive generations of the young of their birthright and entitlements…and that is just fine with the greedy in the parliament.
there is more than enough blame to go around for the present state of the society.
With great reluctance and on the commendation of WS, I read the submission of cuhdear. I have seen her tackle and then stumble on a number of various topics and expected the same here.
The outcome of the altercation between these youngsters was an extreme one – brain death.
Like hell, Yes-Yes-Yes
On social media, i have seen so many school children fighting that I believe the next heavyweight champion will be from Barbados. I have seen videos of groups of youngsters ganging up to beat just one youngster. This must stop.
Like cuhdear, I do not believe that young children are midget adults, but unlike her I cannot just give them a free pass.
I am also unable to pass the blame of the children’s action on to their parents or lack of parents. I too recognize that these children brains are developing, but I do not suffer from the notion that they will all develop into good and productive adults.
I have not seen a video of the beating, but the outcome tells me that it was a savage and vicious one. Surely these kids know the difference between winning a fight and almost killing someone. If they do, then they should be punished harshly and if they don’t then we should try to salvage them and punish them even more harshly.
We have graduated from beating to brain death. Must we wait until someone dies from an attack before we acknowledge that something is wrong? We should care more about the victims than we care about the predators.
I volunteer cuhdear to go to that ‘grieving’ mother and tell her, I am sorry for your son, but these children ….”
YES-YES-YES
Parenting in BDS is at an all time low. My Grandmother always said “I could take de ass to the pond and make it drink de water”. Most parents no longer spends quality time to mentor their kids. Not even on the rules of ethic. They are left to fend for themselves. It’s bloody outrage to remotely entertain the taught of trying a kid as an adult. Let’s put the neglected, unbridled, callous parents on trial.
They are called “kids”.
hear hear Bro Blogmaster
Just Observing
I cannot join the blame the parents brigade for I know this will end up.demonizing a segment of our society.
I can see some believing that disgusting behavior come only from children whose parents are having a tough time making end meets. They would have you believe that ‘good parents’ only have good children and then they will paint a picture of a good parent and that of a bad parent.
My concern is not for ‘the neglected, unbridled, callous parents” but for the good parent who has a demon on their hands or for the parents of victims.
Hold the children accountable.
The thrust of the article is that you should not treat children as adults under law if the adults are responsible for the end result. It is a complex problem that calls for a multifaceted approach.
The thrust of the article is that you should not treat children as adults under law if the adults are responsible for the end result. It is a complex problem that calls for a multifaceted approach….(Quote)
Pleaseeeeeee will someone plse explain this great legal theory?
Taken from the CPS (Crown Prosecution Service in the UK website.
After the resurrection of the old Kensington Oval to de existing new, with rocket boosters and all at each end of the grand payload bay/stands. Our National Stadium suffered serious maintenance and neglect. De new KO is poised for star system HBC 672.
it is noteworthy that when the devil’s agent flood the bloods a Bible blog with ungodly music that godly and relevant music is taken down , but I will ask simply and sincerely ask a simple question
WERE THESE DEVILISH DEMONIC BOYS EVER TOLD THE STORIES OF JESUS like those of my generation were?
WERE THESE DEVILISH DEMONIC BOYS EVER TAUGHT TO PRAY taught like those of my generation were?
DID THESE DEVILISH DEMONIC BOYS EVER SAT IN A CHURCH PEW AND LISTENED TO THEIR DAD SING “MORE HOLINESS GIVE ME” like I did.?
Let us now talk as we do on BU daily. We talk well and long dont we?
But we never get to the root of problems.
We have a big problem here people it is
. A PROBLEM NO MAN CAN SHAKE…….IT IS THE SIN PROBLEM SIN IN THE HEART!
Problems are a part of life and everybody has them. It is critical that we understand that success or defeat can come out of problems. The results depend on how we handle them and the one we trust to help us solve them. Certain problems can be solved, but one problem no man can solve is the sin problem. And, the sin problem is one that every person has (Romans 3:23). Just how can we deal with sin?
Admit you need a need
Be willing to do something about it
Be open to what God shows you about it
GUESS WHAT? WHEN WE WERE ALL GETTING HIGHER UP AND BETTER OFF, AND OUR EDUCATION AND OUR FANCY HOMES AND CARS AND MOVING FROM THE VILLAGES TO THE HEIGHTS AND TERRACES…….WE FORGOT PRAYER AND THE THINGS OF GOD AND WE MOCKED AND SAID THE BIBLE WAS GIVEN TO US TO KEEP US DOWN.
WE STOPPED LIVING THEREBY AND WE FAILED TO TEACH OUR CHILDREN HOW TO LIVE THEREBY ALSO ………….AND NOW WE MARVEL AT THE RESULTS, AND WE PONTIFICATE LOUDLY AND LONG AS WE PRONOUNCE OUR PHILOSOPHY AND PSYCHOLOGY AS WE SPEW MORONIC MOUTHINGS
BUT Jeremiah 17:9-10 IS STILL VERY VERY TRUE
The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?
THIS IS THE IRREFUTABLE TRUTH FROM THE WORD OF GOD
ANOTHER TIME I WILL RELATE THAT WHAT YOU ALL ARE MOANING ABOUT NOW IS NOTHING NEW. I SAW SUCH ABOUT 30 YEARS AGO IN MY CAPACITY AS ACTING MEDICAL OFFICER FOR THE POLICE
Bro GP sit down and shut up
We have a serious mental problem here
A problem which is in constant conflict within the stigma /s upon the way this generation and others have treated mental issues
One can placed a bet that teachers and others who have engaged with these boys over the years would have seen the many red flags
Some might have brought it to the parents attention while others might have turned a blind eye or deaf ear
Physician heal thyself the whole of society is in this breakdown and despicable lack of communication together
Yuh sow the wind at some point and time yuh sow the whirlwind
Barbados might yet be behind in having this kind of horrific behaviour exhibited within society but its time is yet coming
However one can easily look across at International countries and witness the carnage left behind within the halls of schools by children who took deadly actions into their own hands
One can also hear the parents of these children testify to their good and wholesome upbringing
However underneath lies a soul borne out of mental problems in need of help
As to if these children should be treated as Adults
Imho the root cause of the problem should be treated first if not the wheels remain stuck in mud going nowhere
Have a pleasant evening
#####mindingmyownbusiness
THERE IS A BIG DIFFERENCE BETWEEN MADNESS AND SIN IN THE HEART
MANY OF US OLD FOGGIES REMEMBER WHEN WE WERE SENT TO CHURCH THREE TIMES PUN A SUNDEE, AND SOME WERE DRAGGED IN ADDITION EVEN AT A TENDER AGE TO THE MIDWEEK MEETING AT THE ONE OF THE NUMEROUS LITTLE MEETING HALLS ACROSS THE ISLAND
THE CHILDREN OF THAT GENERATION WHO GREW UP IN THE 40’S AND 50’S AND 60’S ARE ALL NOW WELL STRICKEN IN AGE, AND STRICKEN WITH SEVERAL MALADIES. SOME CAN NO LONGER DARKEN A CHURCH DOOR. SOME MAY NOT HAVE LIVED THE MOST GODLY OF LIVES, BUT THE CHILDREN OF THOSE GENERATIONS HAVE NEVER MURDERED, OR DESCENDED INTO THE MORASS OF SIN AS IS PRESENT TODAY.
THE CHILDREN OF THAT GENERATION WHO GREW UP IN THE 40’S AND 50’S AND 60’S WHO DID NOT ATTEND ONE OF THE LOCAL VILLAGE CHURCHES, WERE BLESSED BY BEING TAUGHT AT SCHOOL BY MEN AND WOMEN WHO HAD SOME GODLINESS ABOUT THEM.
I AM AMAZED TODAY AT THE DEEP THEOLOGY IN THE LYRICS OF SOME OF THE “CHILDREN’S HYMNS” WE SANG IN SUNDAY SCHOOL AND AT MORNING PRAYERS. DID THIS DEEP THEOLOGY HAD SOME SUBLIMINAL PENETRATION IN OUR YOUNG MINDS? I CERTAINLY DID NOT UNDERSTAND THEM THEN.
THE CHILDREN OF THAT GENERATION WHO GREW UP IN THE 40’S AND 50’S AND 60’S WERE POOR–THEY KNEW POVERTY GREATER THAN FOLK TODAY, BUT THEIR POVERTY WAS NOT USED AS AN EXCUSE FOR RAMPANT SIN AS WE SEE TODAY
THEIR POVERTY DID NOT CAUSE THEM TO BE MAD OR DELUSIONAL
THEY WERE TAUGHT TO BE CONTENT, AND THEY ENJOYED SUCCOUR AND COMFORT WITH FOLK OF LIKE CIRCUMSTANCES
IN THE USA THEY TOOK THE BIBLE OUT OF THE SCHOOLS AND THE TEN COMMANDMENTS FROM THE COURTS. TODAY THEY TEACH THE CHILDREN ALL SORTS OF RUBBISH ABOUT THE SEXES EVEN THOUGH GENESIS 1:27 TEACHES THAT 27 So God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them.
WE COPY THESE DEGENERATES TO OUR PERIL
I THANK GOD FOR THE EXPOSURE AND GUIDANCE OF THE ELDERS IN THE SOCIETY DURING MY UPBRINGING
WE ARE WITNESSING THE FULFILLMENT OF THE PREDICTIONS OF 2 Timothy 3 AND THIS CAN NOT BE REFUTED
3 This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come.
2 For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,
3 Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good,
4 Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God;
5 Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away.
6 For of this sort are they which creep into houses, and lead captive silly women laden with sins, led away with divers lusts,
7 Ever learning, and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth.
8 Now as Jannes and Jambres withstood Moses, so do these also resist the truth: men of corrupt minds, reprobate concerning the faith.
9 But they shall proceed no further: for their folly shall be manifest unto all men, as their’s also was.
Re I AM AMAZED TODAY AT THE DEEP THEOLOGY IN THE LYRICS OF SOME OF THE “CHILDREN’S HYMNS” WE SANG IN SUNDAY SCHOOL AND AT MORNING PRAYERS. DID THIS DEEP THEOLOGY HAVE SOME SUBLIMINAL PENETRATION IN OUR YOUNG MINDS? I CERTAINLY DID NOT UNDERSTAND THEM THEN.
Here, for example is O THOU CAMEST FROM ABOVE WHICH WE HAD TO MEMORIZE IN PRIMARY SCHOOL, which speaks initially about the sending of the Holy Spirit, and his work within, before delving into truths presented in Romans 12 & 14.HOW WAS A LITTLE BOY OF 6-8 UNDERSTAND SUCH DEEP NT TEACHING?
So what changed after the 60’s in Barbados?
Socialism or as the politicians like to say Democratic Socialism became entrenched.
A Marxist agenda was driven through the 30’s 40’s, 50’s and 60’s by at first a small minority.
We have even named one of the earliest proponents, Clement Payne, as a National Hero!!
Thing with Marxism is it embraces Atheism.
In America we watch the minority leftists trying to amplify their voice through the leftist media.
However, the left is still a minority there so we watch for the past four years every attempt to thwart the democratically elected President.
For Marxists, NO LIVES MATTER.
The President thinks differently, and the left, like Dracula, cannot bear the light of day.
So I could ask how come in a country where supposedly “BLACK LIVES MATTER” could such a thing happen?
How could four boys take a life?
But it would be a rhetorical question.
“NO LIVES MATTER”!!
As usual the moot all over the place. One side wants to allocate punishment. Another side wants to look for solutions to the violence of underaged children. I will sit out this one until the moot is clear.
in Sunday schools and primary schools the theology of the hymns were explained. My generation knew what morals they were intended to teach.
re in Sunday schools and primary schools the theology of the hymns were explained.
NOT AT BAY PRIMARY OR ST PAULS
NOT AT ST LAWRENCE BOYS OR CHURCH
NOT AT BOYS FOUNDATION OR CHRIST CHURCH PARISH CHURCH OR AT HARRISON COLLEGE
RE My generation knew what morals they were intended to teach. BOVINE EXCREMENT
I AM NOT TALKING ABOUT MORALS I AM SPEAKING OF THEOLOGY
14 How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher?
15 And how shall they preach, except they be sent? as it is written, How beautiful are the feet of them that preach the gospel of peace, and bring glad tidings of good things!
HERE IS ONE I LEARNED AT MY GRANNY’S FEET
CAN YOU MR I LIKE EVERYTHING EXPLAIN THE THEOLOGY HERE? YOU CALL IT MORALS
TO WHICH DO THE POET REFER?
There’s A Friend For Little Children
There’s a Friend for little children
Above the bright blue sky,
A Friend who never changes,
Whose love will never die;
Our earthly friends may fail us,
And change with changing years,
This Friend is always worthy
Of that dear Name He bears.
There’s a rest for little children
Who love the blessèd Savior,
And to the Father cry
A rest from every turmoil,
From sin and sorrow free,
Where every little pilgrim
Shall rest eternally.
There’s a home for little children
Where Jesus reigns in glory,
A home of peace and joy
No home on earth is like it,
Nor can with it compare;
For everyone is happy
Nor could be happier there.
There’s a crown for little children
And all who look for Jesus
Shall wear it by and by;
A crown of brightest glory,
Which He will then bestow
On those who found his favor
And loved His Name below.
There’s a song for little children
A song that will not weary,
Though sung continually;
A song which even angels
Can never, never sing
They know not Christ as Savior,
But worship Him as King.
There’s a robe for little children
And a harp of sweetest music,
And palms of victory.
All, all above is treasured,
And found in Christ alone:
O come, dear little children
That all may be your own.
There is no difference between morality and Theology. I know for you Theology is engaging in Biblical Gymnastics. Serious Theologians study the relationship between God and Man, and the relationships between Man and Man. They are interrelated. You need to step outside of that suffocating theological box in which you are residing.
Simply explained . God loves us unconditionally. We love each other unconditionally when God dwells in us. God is LOVE. You may now understand why I”like everything”. I look for the good in everything. I believe that is over your head.
There is no difference between morality and Theology. RUBBISH
JUST DEFINE THE TWO WORDS TO START WITH
ACTUALLY I HAVE STUDIED AND I TEACH WHAT THE BIBLE TEACHES
I DIDNT EARN A DMIN BY HANGING OUT IN AMEN’S ALLEY
RE Serious Theologians study the relationship between God and Man, and the relationships between Man and Man. RUBBISH!
I URGE YOU TO AT LEAST READ A SIMPLE SYSTEMATIC THEOLOGY AND LEARN THEREBY
THEOLOGY= THE STUDY OF GOD
THIS IS STUFF I WAS TAUGHT IN A LOCAL BIBLE BELIEVING BIBLE TEACHING BAPTIST CHURCH IN BARBADOS
I NOTICE THAT THIS IS ALSO TAUGHT WORLDWIDE
What are the four types of theology?
the four Great Departments of Theology are:
Biblical studies OR Exegetical theology. This pillar of theology is the critical examination and interpretation of theological texts. …
Church history OR Historical theology. As the name suggests, this is the study of how Christian theology has changed over time. …
Systematic theology. …
Practical theology. …
HERE ARE THE 10 doctrines IN the discipline of theology
• Theology Proper. Doctrine of God the Father.
• Bibliology. Doctrine of the Bible.
• Anthropology. Doctrine of Man.
• Angelology. Doctrine of Angels.
• Hamartiology. Doctrine of sin.
• Soteriology. Doctrine of salvation.
• Christology. Doctrine of Christ.
• Ecclesiology. Doctrine of the Church.
I LOVE WHEN A BU BIBLE ILLITERATE SEEKS TO CHALLENGE ME ABOUT THE WORD OF GOD
HILARIOUS
INCLUDE
Eschatology Doctrine of future things
Pneumatology Doctrine of the Holy Spirit
here are the a few Key concepts:on Theology Proper
cosmological argument Psalm 19:1-6
Teleological argument Job 39:13-19
Anthropological argument
General revelation Romans 1:18-20
Transcendence John 1:18
Omniscience Matthew 11:21
Holiness 1 Peter 1:15
Justice Acts 17:31
love 1 John 4:8
truth John 14:6
learn the Pneumatology Central Passages
Conviction of John 16:8-11
Effectual Calling of 1 Corinthians 1:23-24
Regeneration of John 3:6
Indwelling of 1 Corinthians 6:19
Baptism of 1 Corinthians 12:13
Sealing of Ephesians 1:13
Pledge of Ephesians 1:14
Gifts of 1 Corinthians 12:13
Filling of Ephesians 5:18
Teaching of John 16:12-15
@GP August 1, 2020 7:12 PM ” DID NOT UNDERSTAND THEM THEN.”
A whole lotta t’ings inattentive li’l boys don’t understand, just like the li’l boys who injured this child.
Some of us who are not narcissists have always understood.
I learnt about the Reformation in 3rd form, Captain Hutt, 1969/70.
It is only as I started really learning about the Quakers after 2000 that I understand what it was all about.
Always knew I had missed something, but was given enough to make me curious and it helped me to connect the dots later in life.
Can’t say if Captain Hutt was religious or not just that we got the basic facts without much explanation.
At the time I guess things religious were being frowned on as society changed its morals.
Today I doubt West Indian History syllabus even addresses such topics.
Religious Knowledge was taught at HC up to second form then abandoned.
The book used was called “Acts of the Apostles”.
The 60’s was all about denying God, I’m just lucky to have had the smattering of teaching at school I got to make me realise as I got older just how important a subject it was.
Confirmation classes at the Cathedral with Dean Hazlewood gave me alot of new theological concepts I only understood as I got older.
The name of the hymn we were expected to memorise was “Come Holy Ghost Our Souls Inspire”, 157.
I was 11 and dutifully memorised it without really understanding it.
“Breathe on me Breath of God” the next set of children in my family and extended family were set to memorise when they went through Confirmation classes at St. David’s a few years later with the Mirfield Fathers.
Yet I always knew I missed something special in the structured learning environment and something was being withheld.
I watched as a real bad boy got his soul saved in fourth form and joined the ISCF … Miss Alleyne!!.
I heard the story years later that he went to Tank and apologised for the trouble he had caused him.
He even broke down crying.
I wondered how Tank would have dealt with such an outpouring from a boy he had probably flogged many times!!
Then I realised as I got older I had the basics and could build on them by reading and learning on my own.
Three mornings a week were full prayers in the hall.
A selection of Hymns over the years at HC.
Probably about 120 mornings a year.
That was the other source of religious knowledge, theology.
Can’t say we understood what we sung but funny thing is the memory of a verse or three remains.
… and they make perfect sense now!!
I remember Auntie Olga on Rediffusion on a Saturday morning.
Seem to remember “There’s a Friend for little children” was played there.
Also remember “Jesus wants me for a sunbeam”
Where are those Christian women today?
How hard can it be to have simple programs like that these days?
Why do we only get nitwit music these days?
Gercine Carter and a young white guy also had a programme on Rediffusion. I think Gercine was still at Foundation at the time. She ought to be celebrated as a trooper. She is remarkable.
We see the problem with our society right here. Our societies have changed. We have to come up with the right policies to fix the challenges facing us. The Church does not occupy the role it did in the past, and it will npt in the foreseeable future.
A couple of things. Regardless of parenting, a child knows right from wrong from early, much earlier than ten years old.
Why do you think they run when stealing mangoes from Mr.Bannister tree and comes out, or when they scatter and disappear when they break Mrs Jones window playing cricket? Tink dem stupid?
Yes, indiscipline and disrespect or lack of, are driven by examples by families and the community.
But do not tell me that children do not know right from wrong.
The second point is that, in exceptional circumstances, the law allows for minors to be tried as adults.
@Crusoe
In the Barbados context, not the UK, USA, Canada or some other impersonal country that already have problems with managing crime- the 10 year old is found guilty, do we send them to DOdds?
On the issue of indiscipline and disrespect, that is where family and society is culpable.
Very much so. See it every day and every annual Wukup Festival.
And they ‘re off! Everybody has mounted his favourite soap box!
John is bashing the left and the whole population for whom he says black lives don’t matter, even though we are here paying attention to everything he says we should be paying attention to, namely blacks killing blacks.
GP is off proving that he knows the most about the Bible even though we all have acknowledge that he knows the most for sure but…
WURA is off blaming the fat full bellied parasites. lol
And Hal?
Well ….he is off OBVIOUSLY INSULTING the blogmaster’s English even though most of us have learnt to comprehend David Speak.
Good morning!
Correction: “acknowledged”
I will give my thoughts on the subject when I have thought some more.
@ Hal
“ Hal Austin August 2, 2020 4:14 AM
“Gercine Carter and a young white guy also had a programme on Rediffusion. I think Gercine was still at Foundation at the time. She ought to be celebrated as a trooper. She is remarkable.”
You are absolutely correct, I have said over and over that her columns should be read by all students from primary and up. Her use of English is exceptional and her writing style is clear and precise.
Good call, Comrade
I believe that custodial sentencing for minors who are convicted involves retaining them “at Her Majesty’s Pleasure”.
I believe that could mean until such time as the Privy Council sees it fit to release them, once convinced of their remorse and rehabilitation, or never. One of the attending attorneys may correct me.
However, it would surely not be appropriate to place them with violent adult criminals and career criminals.
That is the purpose of Dodds Reformatory.
This is where a clear public policy is necessary. Where does the society place discipline and respect on the scale of importance?
@Crusoe
What is the status of our penal system? Besides Dodds for the adults what is the quality of our correctional institutions?
Bear in mind too, that especially in matters pertaining to civil rights, Barbados must adhere to the tenets as held by jurisprudence internationally. There is not much room for deviance. Otherwise it will only be challenged in the highest appeal court.
Very few countries can be politically reckless enough to flout international convention by such as say, locking children in cages as is currently happening.
On the penal systems.
Your question seems to question the validity of the appropriate treatment, given the systems in place to handle it.
I think that we need to deal with the two separately.
The question of the appropriate treatment of minors in criminal cases as one matter.
The improvement of systems to support those needs as the second matter, derived from the first.
Your question may also refer to the overall state of social justice, but that is a broader issue and does not negate the need to deal with what is current first.
@Crusoe
This is the point. A holistic position must be taken.
I think that we may agree that work needs to be done to improve the systems?
DavidAugust 2, 2020 9:08 AM
@Crusoe
What is the status of our penal system? Besides Dodds for the adults what is the quality of our correctional institutions?
How come Dodds is only for adults?
Dodds Boys and Sumervale girls?
What happened to these institutions?
DavidAugust 2, 2020 5:08 AM
@Crusoe
In the Barbados context, not the UK, USA, Canada or some other impersonal country that already have problems with managing crime- the 10 year old is found guilty, do we send them to DOdds?
Pretty sure there is a juvenile system in these impersonal countries.
DavidAugust 2, 2020 4:21 AM
We see the problem with our society right here. Our societies have changed. We have to come up with the right policies to fix the challenges facing us. The Church does not occupy the role it did in the past, and it will npt in the foreseeable future.
What is your concept of the church?
Read the Sweet Sunday Sermon published on BU today.
https://youth.gov/youth-topics/juvenile-justice/points-intervention
We need someone from one of those impersonal countries to come and invent a juvenile system for us!!
Technology transfer to a third world developing system!!
..country
re The Church does not occupy the role it did in the past, and it will not in the foreseeable future.
Maybe this is true in Barbados to a certain extent…….but the church & MORE SO THE WORD OF GOD is being practical, pertinent and poignant in many parts of the world.
We are discussing how to effect change in Barbados. The secular and non secular world must find a way to coexist, our Constitution requires it.
YOU MEAN THAT YOU WOULD LIKE TO DISCUSS how to effect change in Barbados.
The secular and non secular world coexists very well ….EVEN IF NOT VERY WELL ON BU
Maybe in your siloed world it does.
The secular and non secular world coexists very well … because much of the contemporary church or non secular world is APOSTATE, AND HAS BEEN SO FOR AGES IN BOTH “SILOED” AND NON “SILOED” WORLDS. THIS CAN NOT BE REFUTED. THIS WAS PREDICTED BY JESUS, PAUL, PETER & JOHN—-AND HAS COME TO PAST.
If the secular and non secular worlds were not coexisting very well there would be more chaos than there is at this point in time,…….but we are going to see things go down hill. For some of us WHAT A GLORIOUS DAY THAT WILL BE
“WURA is off blaming the fat full bellied parasites. lol”
lol and writing about the phenomena that is fowl slaves…lol
@John August 2, 2020 12:27 AM “Religious Knowledge was taught at HC up to second form then abandoned. The book used was called “Acts of the Apostles”.The 60’s was all about denying God, I’m just lucky to have had the smattering of teaching at school I got to make me realise as I got older just how important a subject it was.”
I am not sure who abandoned Religious Knowledge. I know that in the 60’s I studied Religious Knowledge up to GCE Level, passed the subject too. The certificate which I haven’t seen in many, many decades is still very likely in the bottom right drawer of my dresser. Studied at church and Sunday school, and with my mother, and my paternal grandmother. Attended Church Army meetings regularly for years with my mother.
So some people abandoned religious knowledge, some of us did not.
We read the word, understood the word and lived the word.
For those lost people who do not know there are 2 institutions for young offenders. I’ve had the opportunity to visit both places, I know of good Bajans [just not the BU bull sh!ters] who work to help the young offenders prepare for their release and reintegration into society. I know that many, perhaps most young offenders go on to lead good productive, useful loving lives.
NEVER EVER write off a child.
Here endeth today’s lesson.
@John August 2, 2020 12:50 AM “I remember Auntie Olga on Rediffusion on a Saturday morning. Seem to remember “There’s a Friend for little children” was played there. Also remember “Jesus wants me for a sunbeam” Why do we only get nitwit music these days?”
Plenty of good preaching in church buildings and on the radio still. Even though I am an Anglican one of my favorites radio preachers is the pastor of a Emmanuel Baptist Church at Eagle Hall. He is on VOB every Sunday night. It the church at which the funeral service for Rihanna’s grandmother was held. I believe that the church also does great work in the community. So yes there is this and other Christian churches within walking distance of where this child was assaulted.
As for what John calls nitwit music, I love that too. As Christians we are supposed to take care of our bodies, and on the same VOB on mornings I can hear some music which encourages me to move my body. So “yes” I do a few, or more than a few wuk-ups most mornings to the music. Both the preaching and the dancing may be working because when I took my blood pressure yesterday it was 114/75 and instead of gaining weight during the lock down, i lost weight.
So in Barbados there is still plenty of “food” for the body
And plenty of “food” for the soul.too.
What about this
https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/31199/boy-stabbed
There are psychiatrists and psychologists in Barbados.
@Cuhdear Bajan August 2, 2020 3:09 PM
“So in Barbados there is still plenty of “food” for the body
And plenty of “food” for the soul.too.”
That’s absolutely correct!
Loads of already processed food as can be seen stored around the bellies of the country’s obese young population.
But we hope you do not get upset when the current major shops peddling “soul food” in Barbados are taken over and turned into Halal soul food serving cafeterias called mosques as is taking place in the UK or even in Turkey with the first Christian cathedral, the Hagia Sophia, returned to a place of worship dedicated to the memory of Ishmael (and his eponymous descendant called Muhammad) and not the infidel pagan Sun Jesus.
The evolution of religion is a bitc**h, isn’t it? It’s called the survival of the peddlers of the biggest lies.
Christianity and its bastard Anglicanism has had its day on the Cross in the midday Sun.
No, no non Miller. I did not mean literal food. I meant dancing and exercising food. Things that do the body good and make it feel good.
There are religious extremists everywhere, and always. Sadly not just Christians and Muslims. You should see what after 1492 the European Christians did to places where the indigenous peoples of the Americas worshiped. . In Mexico City, utterly destroyed the places and built Christian churches on top.
Have you noticed that there are no indigenous places of worship in the Caribbean? In Barbados? Do you think that the indigenous people of Barbados and the Caribbean, did not know God, that God did not know them, his people? Do you think that they did not worship? Where are their places of worship? How did they worship. How did they percieve God?
God was not born in the Middle East. The Middle Eastern ways of perceiving God are not the only ways.
I hafta keep telling wunna fellas that od does not have any neglected outside children.
Miller if the British people no longer wish to go to church, no longer wish to engage in public worship, what does that have to do with me?
Come to think of it I may send the 2 GP’s to evangelise the British
@Simple Simon
Are you as passionate to debate the topic?
David if you mean “by the topic” whether we should try 7 to 12 year old children as adults, my answer is NO.
People talk about discipline, beating, punishment, justice as though they are one and the same. There are not
The Juvenile Detention Centre in Ottawa is called the William E. Hay Centre and it is a very modern facility. The children come out educated, well rounded and are found jobs by the local authorities and social services find them housing if the family refuse to take them back. Of course, their files are sealed.
Our juvenille detention system is supposed to be earmarked for an upgrade. We are somewhat behind on this score. Recently the principal expressed some dissatisfaction with what currently obtains and outlined where they wanted to go in terms of rehabilitation, education and skills training. When last I interacted with them twenty years ago they had fallen behind in that regard.
At first, we had the motorcyclists doing wheelies any and everywhere. We sat back and did nothing. Pretty soon kids on bikes were following suit doing wheelies on the highways.
Next, we had the gunmen, going about the length and breadth of Barbados killing and maiming at will. We have sat back and have done very little. Now we are surprised and pulling our hairs out, as the kids are taking a leaf out of their big brother’s books.
We should never forget that the inability of the law courts to deal with children who committed serious offences such as murder, down in South America, had opened up the door for the drug lords to engage children as hitmen.
@Arri Mayers
This is a racist rightwing argument used by police and their backers all over the old Dominions, especially by Scotland Yard and the so-called county lines drug running. It is a justificatory argument, not a reflection of reality.
Why is there a rush in Barbados to criminalise young people?
It should be extremely obvious that children who engage in such brutal behavior , are in desperate need of years of professional council. As sorry as we are for the victim, we should be intelligent enough , to discern that this is not normal behavior by any stretch of the imagination and trying to cast it in legalese and punishment is essentially avoiding calling a spade a spade. The children involved in this act of violence need professional help . It is reasonable to suggest that they were probably displaying some need for such and it went undetected . We are not yet a society that has our radars out enough to always detect certain behaviors. This sadly is a case in point. Quite frankly, there is a high level of irresponsibility by the media , trying to milk this story. It is our children we are dealing with and when they are not well, we should exercise restraint in how we deal with them.
Nostalgic trips into a Barbados of everybody in Sunday school and Auntie Olga’s children’s party are just that -nostalgia. There are still children’s parties and we still have many Auntie Olgas. We can’t recognize them because, we avoid all things when they appear in forms that don’t capture what we were made comfortable with sixty years ago.
The Barbados that many yearn
for is no more. The major failure has been our inability to nip things in the bud and to put new measures in place to deal with a changing society.
From ignoring the Auditor General Report to allowing minibus operators to do as they like. From refusing to reform the educational system to turning the Police department into a political foot ball. From refusing to modernize agriculture and putting all the eggs in the tourism industry. We have ignored the enveloping drug culture and we can go on and on. Our response to all problems emerging in other places was simple: “ It can’t happen bout hey.“ Ask a Bajan if he see how the roads are falling into disrepair his classic response was: “ Have you ever been to St………,
The West Indies team is losing because it does not have enough Bajans.
Anybody who says that the traditional white corporate sector does not really support efforts to solve socio economic problems is called a racist.
And even when in what should be polite conversation one disagrees with another ; we brand each each other RH and JA. That’s who we are , not all the time ,but too much of the time. We allow cracks to become craters.
And that’s why I said that many of us have lost any entitlement to be called elders. Elders set proper examples.
What does all I wrote has to do with the topic. We see children with psychological problems and we see prison as the answer. Bring the bull pistle take out the cat o nine. Hang them and the problem is solved and we play a domino and fire a drink …….
People are known to perish when there is no leadership. Children too.
It should be extremely obvious that children who engage in such brutal behavior , are in desperate need of AN EXPOSURE TO THE GOD OF THE BIBLE IN THEIR SINFUL DEVILISH DEMONIC HEARTS RATHER THAN THE GOD OF MATERIALISM WHOM WE HAVE BEEN WORSHIPPING IN RECENT DECADES
IT IS CLEARLY WRITTEN IN Jeremiah 6:16
Thus saith the Lord, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein.
THE OLD PATHS IS NOT NOSTALGIA………IT IS THE RIGHT WAY
Psalm 119:9-11 IS STILL TRUE!
9 Wherewithal shall a young man cleanse his way? by taking heed thereto according to thy word.
10 With my whole heart have I sought thee: O let me not wander from thy commandments.
11 Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.
THERE ARE MANY CHILDREN IN BARBADOS FOLLOWING THE OLD PATHS TODAY STILL…AND WITH GREAT SUCESS
For several months while I wasn’t working I would sit on mornings at my son’s Primary School and observe full on brawls between children before the morning bell. I was told on numerous occasions by different teachers that this was in fact ‘play.’This is my argument plain and simple, start as you mean to go on, you have TEACHERS, endorsing violence among young people as play, these are the same young people that went on from Class 4 to instigate feuds between Secondary Schools, I know this for a fact. These are the same young men that witness violence in the home and grow up to abuse women and animals. Keep your effin hands to your damn self.
This is the kind of message that needs to be sent repeatedly. The consequences have also to be spelled out.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/08/03/zero-tolerance-to-violence-says-abrahams/
Good job Abrahams
A timely reminder from Faith Marshall-Harris. Why we are so anxious to criminalise little kids is a mystery. But it is very Barbadian, that urge to punish.
Understandably the mother will be upset, but kids play and quite often they are rough and boisterous. Some commenters see this as an opportunity to scream nonsense about parenting. Some even want parents to be prosecuted. I will go one better,execute them at the top of Broad Street and sell tickets to tourists. Some Barbadians seem to have lost their capacity to think.
By the way, newspaper reports claim the seven-year-old by beaten by his class mates, aged seven to 12. Why would a 12 yr old be in the same class as a seven-year-old?
Violence begets violence. Barbadian experience has been violence since the 1800’s. Again, why I agree with PLT that the plantation experience has and continues to have a major impact on life.
Yes, there is violence on the streets of the developed US too. Driven by the drug culture, again no accident.
The powerful sell poison to the poor and it is used to control and keep the poor where they are.
The drug culture, the rap culture, that is deliberately used to keep people where they are. This is what community leaders need to be telling their people. Rise above it. Not with the so called evangelical churches either. But by seeing their fellow poor as brothers and sisters, helping one another at the roots level, whether black or white.
Quote ”None but ourselves can free our minds”.
Listen to the Right Excellent Bob Marley. Prophet and Leader.
@ Crusoe
I like your reference to rap culture. You may recall some years ago the police and their backers also blamed video games for the so-called violence of young black boys. Racism comes in many forms and all kinds of excuses are used to justify bad policing..
Let us discuss the multi-billion dollar industry that the rap culture has created. When the boys on the block in New York, Chicago and Los Angeles created rap, unlike the soul singers of old, they took control of the business side of the industry.
The net result is Jay-Z, Kanye West, and a large number of multi-millionaire rappers. Look at Rihanna. I don’t think Jay-Z has an MBA from Harvard, but he and the others have proved themselves good business people. That is something to celebrate.
By the way, newspaper reports claim the seven-year-old by beaten by his class mates, aged seven to 12. Why would a 12 yr old be in the same class as a seven-year-old? {Quote}
??????????????????????????????
Reports indicate that Demarco was beaten about the head with a stick by four of his PLAYMATES, who ranged in age from seven to 12 years. {Quote}
That man is a journalist fuh trute?
Hal AustinAugust 6, 2020 6:02 AM
I agree that the success of the musicians should be celebrated. But you cannot tell me that the negative aspect of it has been good for the streets of those cities. How has their success benefited the guys and girls on the streets?
@ Crusoe
By defining black creativity in white terms you are doing a disservice to the boys and girls on the block, who even black people had abandoned, yet they went on to create a multi-billion dollar industry. That is a huge success story, given the history of black performers.
There is nothing said about hip hop and rap that was not said about jazz. Even the associations with criminality. It is the mission of white racists to destroy everything that black people create. It is one way of saying black failure is self-inflicted. You do not get hip hop management taught in business schools, but you should.
We talk about Amazon and Microsoft and Facebook, but we should be telling young people about Jay-Z the businessman, 50 Cents, LL Cool J, et al. Amazing business men and women, not just outstanding performers. We even get criminality in the church. Remember Roberto Calvi? Go easy on the youths.
Crusoe,
Sinatra and co. were thought to have ties to the Mafia yet he is an American icon.
The rappers are just speaking about life as they know it. Many of them pull themselves out of that life and try to pull others with them.
Nipsy Hustle was one such person. Somebody killed him last year.
You should watch The Beat with Ari Melber on MSNBC at 6.00 p.m. Barbados time. He is a lame non-black who somehow knows more about it than you do.
@ Crusoe
I agree with your opinion.
Your friend often comment about Barbadians showing a tendency towards violence or they are the most violent people in the Caribbean, while always using Barbados Underground’s contributors as examples to justify his claims. I have also seen him mentioned his preference for debating issues rather than drifting into personal abuse and insults.
Hence, in this regard, it’s puzzling why he has chosen to ignore the incitement to commit violent acts, abusive language and explicit sexually degrading misogynistic lyrics of rap music….. exotic dancing by scantily dressed women that are also portrayed in the associated videos…. as well as other deviant behavioural acts he usually frowns upon, to focus more so on rap artistes being successful businessmen.
‘Rap’ has gone from songs with ‘clean’ lyrics, which we first heard back in the early 1980s, such as ‘Rapper’s Delight’ by the Sugar Hill Gang….. to vulgarity heard in modern day songs that ‘Admiral Nelson’ often complain about.
Here are lyrics from one of 50¢’s rap songs:
Keep thinkin I’m candy till ya fuckin skull get popped
And ya brain jump out the top like Jack-in-the-box
In the hood summer time is the killing season
It’s hot out this bitch that’s a good ’nuff reason
I’ve seen gangsta’s get religious when they start bleeding
Sayin “Lord, Jesus Help Me” cause they ass leaking.
The following are lyrics from one of LL Cool J’s songs:
I’m here to make a dollar out of fifteen cents
And let my balls hang like I’m on a toilet taking a shit
My style is all that and a big bag of chips with the dip (Drip)
Fuck all that sensuous shit (Drip)
I represent intellectual violence
And leave your clique holier than the Ten Commandments
Like Redman, I shift with the ruck
If your “if” was a spliff, we’d be all fucked up (Word up)
No need to ask you, “Who is he?” Son I get busy….
There are also songs in which listeners are encouraged to “shoot niggas” and “get rich or die trying.”
So, I hope it’s not being suggested we should IGNORE the vulgarity and violence depicted in this music, because rappers are successful, multi billion dollar business men?
How about Jamaican dance hall music? Vybes Kartel, Popcaan, Busy Signal, Alakaline and Movado are among the most popular Jamaican ‘dance hall’ artiste. Their songs contain ‘sexually explicit, hard core gangsta’ lyrics, with music videos showing them driving expensive cars, wearing lots of jewelry, brandishing firearms, smoking weed and surrounded by ’nuff’ US dollars and scantily dressed women.
This is what sells. Hence, there isn’t any need for Jay Z, or those of his ilk, to have ‘a MBA from Harvard,’ Princeton or even Yale. Their music caters to an already established market demographic to which marketing efforts are directed.
But, then again, the resident pantomath purposely OPPOSES EVERY OPINION presented to BU, perhaps to give us the impression he thinks OUTSIDE THE CAVE (Plato’s Allegory of the Cave????). Also, he calls his critics and those individuals who disagree with his views, wild barking dogs, wild beast or savages that should be in the jungle, billy goats, animals and other pejorative terms I cannot remember at this time. Therefore, why should anyone be surprised by the position he has taken on this issue?
Contributors may want to ‘play devil’s advocate’ by providing us with examples of ‘hip hop’ or ‘rap music,’ the lyrics of which are ‘soft.’ However, I must remind them it is the ‘gangsta style, violent, hard core lyrics’ that made this genre of music popular and entertainers wealthy.
“a child under the age of 11 could not be held criminally responsible for any crime based on the Juvenile Offenders Act. ”
Let me avoid the general discussion and go down this side road.
When the bad boys put their guns in the hands of children then we will hear a new tune.
TheOGazertsAugust 7, 2020 1:21 AM
Be careful with generalisation. Note that the Act specifically states ”other than homicide” in its guidelines for treatment of juveniles.
https://cavehill.uwi.edu/lawlibrary/getattachment/10571998-93ea-46b8-8bfd-859b21121708/JUVENILE-OFFENDERS-ACT.aspx
As I noted above, a juvenile can be tried as an adult in specific circumstances. Or at least, will actually face a charge and not go scot free. I believe that these relate to the gravity of the crime and understanding of the crime. Note that a juvenile cannot face capital punishment however, under the Act.
Hence, held under Her Majesty’s Pleasure in such cases.
The Act should really be more prescriptive in referring to cases of gravity. It does not absolve children under 11 years as you seem to think.
Theo, also if the drug lords did that, you do realise that they would be charged for any crime committed by said minors?
The order, the intent, the act of providing the means, are equally responsible for any crime committed, as doing it themselves.
@Crusoe
We always gravitate to punishing the outcomes and at the same time we are hesitant to focus and arrest the causal issues.
Thanks Crusoe.
I will read the document.
Did you all see the video of those youth slapping elderly folks?
Condolences to the family. This is an issue for social workers, not for the police.
It’s sad knowing Demarco Gibbs succumbed to his injuries.
I offer my condolences to his parents, relatives and friends.
Let us hope this tragedy serves to bring greater attention to the issue of bullying. It coincides with the reprimand of two 13 year olds caught on social media slapping two senior citizens.
It saddens me that this young man lost his life, possibly as a result of this assault.
I know that what I feel can in no way compare to that of his relatives and friends. They have my deepest sympathy.
Any action that possibly result in the death of someone is a cause for police investigation and action. May his family get the justice they deserve.
———-++x——
I have criticized our courts in the past. I have accused them of hammering the poor and unfortunate. Let’s hope that regardless of who knows who, they can find the hammer this time.
A society dying from social decay
Lets hold those responsible for such injustices
Injustices that now have chokeholds in the lives of children and pressed knees in the necks of every barbadian
Have a great day and enjoy yuh puddin and souse and rum and coke
Can you imagine being an older person and a young man slapping you around the head and running away laughing.
What would make a young man think he has the right to attack a next person?
What makes a young man think that such a display of disrespect is acceptable/normal/funny?
I hope the officers gave the youngsters a few slaps around their heads…. then the call for social workers can be made.
If the laws of the land are not applied or enforced, then the laws of the jungle will become the law of the land…
(Angry 👿)
A stranger who will slap you around your head in public, will rob you when you are alone around the corner. Let’s nip it in the bud .
Have a great day.
We’ve had several examples over the past few years that should have brought “greater attention to the issue of bullying.”
Recall the recently ended case, on June 9, 2020, in which 3 former students of Princess Margaret Secondary School who were found guilty of manslaughter in connection with unlawful killing of fellow student 11 year old Ian Gibson, on September 20, 2009.
During his submission to the Court, Deputy Director of Public Prosecution Alliston Seale suggested the case, which he described as “a simple, but alarming case of bullying,” should be made “prominent” in our schools and used by principals as an example to teach students about the possible consequences of bullying.
It seems as though bullying in the society isn’t being taken seriously. I’m aware, for example, of situations where, after parents have made several complaints about their children being bullied, they usually end up having to transfer them to another school, while the bully remains to terrorize new victims.
Unfortunately, what will follow Demarco’s death is the usual suspects will come out ‘all teary eyed,’ looking sad, sounding angry……… making the usual rhetorical speeches; the ‘talk shops’ on call-in-programs, ‘The People’s Business,’ etc……… for the days leading up to his burial. After which, the status quo remains the same…….as we wait until a similar situation occurs to repeat the process.
The very thought of returning to the Caribbean and having some youngster slap me around the head for amusement sickens me.
Hell NO! I would pay someone to f them up.
I am willing to bet that they dare not slap everyone. Willing to bet it is some old man who looks poor, down and out. How do they decide which person they will slap?
I am pissed.