On the 26 January 2008 BU posted the following blog in response to questions about voting irregularities reported in Deacons on election day,  the constituency of St. Michael North West seat was contested between Chris Sinckler and Clyde Mascoll. Sinckler won by 340 votes.

Activities In The Farm On Election Day

Posted on January 26, 2008 by David | 68 comments

We will write this slowly and very carefully. We confirm that the pictures above were taken on January 15, 2008. What this tells us is that the activities captured on the images above took place on election day 2008 in … Continue reading →

In 2013 questions were again raised by many who witnessed voting irregularities, among the witnesses were Prime Minister Freundel Stuart who made reference to what he saw in his victory speech. Attorney General Adriel Braithwaite at his swearing in ceremony on the 23 February 2013 was quoted in the press, “There are a few things that happened during the course of the campaign that concerned me and we need to look and ensure that we don’t go in the wrong direction as a people

Fast forward to the Mark Williams/Leron Gibbs vote buying debate currently being waged on afternoon talk radio. Both players – who should know – admit that vote buying is a reality in Barbados. Leron Gibbs is an interesting character, he is one of the deep pockets, like Bizzy, who is well known by the politicos in Barbados for funding political polls and political candidates and has access to the political directorate on demand. Whether he abuses the privilege his deep pockets affords him BU will leave others to comment. Surely his story about funding tickets to support political candidates on the hustings was a ‘farfetched’ hypothetical inventive and as far removed from reality as Lucifer is from heaven.

The excuse offered by some against government allocating resources to support campaign financing because of lack of resources BU finds unacceptable and alarming. The entrenched corrupt practice of shadows with access to cash being able to influence the outcome of an election has serious implication for the quality of governance in Barbados.  The government must intervene anytime there is the opportunity to prevent the money class from running amok by undermining the electoral system. We operate in a democracy.

The call for campaign financing (and transparency legislation)  is not new, many political commentators have been asking the Barbados and Democratic Labour party to proclaim the legislation in the last twenty years. But who will bell the cat. The majority of Barbadians go about their daily business oblivious to how the system is manipulated by a few with money. Bizzy Williams recently provided insight into the practice and this week Leron Gibbs and Mark Williams confirmed it.  In the days and weeks ahead public reaction and concern for civics by Barbadians will  be sadly exposed. We are a country labelled as educated but lacking in intelligence about executing our duties and rights afforded to us under a democracy.

32 responses to “Vote Buying and Campaign Financing”

1. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

Crooks , Liars ,Scumbags, Is the root of this Government for many years and it must end,Bajans need to wake up and see the fools that are fooling them everyday as they gain weight of the people pockets,
    There is no way they can have so much money based on the government pay checks, Live the life of a drug dealers and pimps.
    Their entire life now is TAX and VAT free as they share their vote buying power with friends , family, and investors,
    Building buildings with kick backs , put back , taking as they go along with overruns on top of over pricing,
    Then to take land by name of a fraud crown AG of Barbados with payment to self and not owner, As the re- write the BOOKS at the land registry and Archives and history to put self in place to live a life not of their own,
    As any of them for a clear title deed , they will switch the word to say we have GOOD TITLE,WHICH IS A SWITCH FROM CLEAR TITLE MEANING FRAUD, Remove these Bitches to see the light,
    Let put an End to these CROOKS, LIARS AND SCUMBAGS,
    JUST ASK YOUR PM , SHOW YOU DEED FOR BRITTONS HILL,WHERE HE RAN FOR. ITS WAS REMOVE FROM THE LIST OF PLANTATION , SO WHERE DID IT GO? THE plantation thy teeef they remove , Now who was at the table to agree with that in the history of Barbados,MIA. OWEN Sir Henry Forde, National Trust can not be trusted , The books they sell is proof of the Massive Fraud, Cover-up and PONZI land Fraud,

2. As I listened yesterday I marveled not at the pronouncement that the practice is commonplace, but that Mark is still trying to sell the story that he is ignorant of the fact. Hey Mark, you spoke yesterday about lining up your C’s. The one you left out, and glaringly so was CYNTHIA. Through my mind’s eye I still see that brown bag dangling from her shoulder. That’s why it sickens me to my stomach to hear the ac of the BLP Yard fowl brigade trying to sell the story that it existed on one side only.

3. “In 2013 questions were again raised by many who witnessed voting irregularities, among the witnesses were Prime Minister Freundel Stuart who made reference to what he saw in his victory speech. Attorney General Adriel Braithwaite at his swearing in ceremony on the 23 February 2013 was quoted in the press, “There are a few things that happened during the course of the campaign that concerned me and we need to look and ensure that we don’t go in the wrong direction as a people”………”

Perhaps Stuart and Brathwaite spoke about their observations a bit too quickly after the elections. I’m sure that after the dust had settled, both the PM and AG would have received evidence that would have implicated some of their own, who were visibly involved in activity.

For instance, a few days before the 2013 elections, operatives from both DLP and BLP were in the St. Michael North West constituency distributing cash [for personal use or to pay utility bills], smart phones, tablets, laptops and tv sets to potential voters. Constituents were also promised to be given jobs at the Drainage Unit, NCC or NHC.
    As early as 6am, one [now embattled] candidate and his operatives were seen in Free Hill, Black Rock, through the gap where the Shiloh Apostelic and Deliverance Church is located, surrounded by a large group of young people. Shortly after he was whisked away in a Nissan Sulphy bearing “H” plates, his opponent’s operative entered the fray and was quickly surrounded by the group, who were demanding cash. The only criterion required to benefit from their benevolence, was a valid Barbados identification card, which would verify eligibility to vote. The older folk are more inclined to be a bit more conservative, so their “gifts” were distributed in the vehicles that transported them to and from the nearby polling stations.

Consequently, Stuart and Brathwaite reacted on information received by making us believe the “voting irregularities” were perpetrated solely by individuals in the BLP. However, they were forced to retreat from taking any action, because a further gathering of intelligence obviously revealed that their comrades were just as guilty. Hence, the deafening silence on the matter.

4. As we all revisit the corruption saga, “LIKE DAYS OF OUR LIVES” some love the drama. Without any decisive action, the corruption cases may simply increase. “The main impact is still coming. Bajan’s always expect that episodes like this are investigated and judged carefully. But there is a tradition in the political class to protect one another,”
    It has always been a tradition to “overlook problems” but as PLANTATION DEEDS clearly points out if someone realy wanted to sort out the guilty, the evidence is there. But who will bell these fat cats at these high levels..

5. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

Artaxerxes | August 12, 2014 at 7:08 AM |@

Now you are talking, Proof all over the place and they act like they dont know who did what, Its them and them alone doing this mess,
    All need to be removed , mash up the entire Island.
    Fraud fraud government and the World knows ,Now its time for the People to know,
    No worry, We have people that they came to their homes , took the .I.D cards gave out money and then came back with the cards, Now think Who and how many people had to be in that , to get the votes in the BOXES.

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This is criminal behaviour by the people who go to parliament and make laws to govern us. Isn’t that ironic? Worse yet, they call themselves “Honourable”.

7. Caswell
    You mean ….poor rakey.Nothing about this crowd is ‘Honourable’.

8. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar

Gabriel | August 12, 2014 at 3:53 PM.Nothing about this crowd is ‘Honourable’. @@@ Not One SKUNT

9. If you notice worldwide all the pondscum tend to all themselves honorable, some even have the cojones to call themselves kinds and queens, evil always dresses in costumes.

10. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar

The Problems of Barbados is the same thing over and over again , Just look at the 3 pictures on the heading, PM Crook , AG Crook = 2 Lawyers, 3rd COP who took over from the other COP Dottin , Also Massive law less man , Look at the AG in another picture begging for more money , If the COP get out of line he will be replace for he is only Acting COP,
    All the crime is at the top even if it was Owen PM , MIA AG or Dottin COP and lets next time get the DPP in this , Put his monkey ass up on the MOST un-WANTED in Office ,
    David PM now see to be the same David PM, AG Fumble, COP Dottin,
    While MIA on the other Acting out their Parts looking not to go to jail ,
    MIA need to be in Jail for teeeefing land in Brittons Hill where a family of 5 died , Where the hell MIA get a deed from? Who approve the Build over a cave?
    We at Plantation Deeds have the PLANTATION DEED for Brittons Hill and Beatrice Henry nor Violet Beckles sold MIA nothing.
    Who cover up that case , why no charges filed ? Why no investigation started, That was a Trespass , Fraud,
    We will hold the rest for a brighter day,
    MIA need to be in Jail , tell her We say so and so do I,

11. Well as Leroy Gibbs said people that support a particular politician can or engages in this practice of ‘vote buying’ WITHOUT the actual politician getting personally involved thereby leaving the politician hands clean.

12. @TJ

Do you believe politicians are not involved? If you believed Leron Gibbs then it is no wonder he believed he could peddle the story about buying tickets from politicians to support fund raising.

13. @All,
    Tell me how much money the Democratic Party, and the Republican Party raised the last election? From whom? Whether you call it vote buying or campaign contributions, parties need money to rub elections. Where is it to come from? You people are too altruistic> You live in a real world not utopia.
    Alvin Cummins….

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Alvin

No one is saying that parties should not get contributions to help finance their campaigns. My position is simple: there are laws to regulate campaign financing that both parties ignore with impunity. The law requires both the candidate and the person making the contribution to file returns declaring the amounts spent and contributed. From what has been disclosed in the last campaign, no one gave the DLP a single cent to help finance their campaign. According to what is disclosed, the candidates finance their campaigns from personal resources.

15. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar

3 Top crooks on the top of this POST and 3 days later we only have 14 post, Seem like even on line, people act like they doing a find job.
    Weak on line and weak in the streets for Bajans,
    We know THE 4 MAN NEEDS TO BE THE DPP.
    Put his picture up next time with the proper heading , Do nothing /and paid off DPP, of Barbados , bought and paid for

16. @ David
    …you heard “BAFFY’s friend” on VOB with His friend Peter W…?

Shiite man…. He Licking cork….
    …Talk bout a man marketing and selling BU’s 10 point plan!!!! ….and doing a masterful job too….

17. SIX YEARS AGO ON BU

http://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2008/08/15/life-in-past-barbados/comment-page-2/

six years ago BU ran this thread started by Yardbroom.

I participated as Georgie porgie ,memres and ganong.
    It makes very interesting reading
    Later , a similar thread was run and provided great fun also.

18. @Bush Tea

Interesting to listen to many of BU’s concerns floating to national discusion in Barbados.

19. David wrote “BU’s concerns floating to national discusion in Barbados.”

Not surprised.

Suspect BU is visited by a lot of the “callers on VOB”

20. BU IS NOW THE SOLE AUTHORITY FOR FAITH AND PRACTICE IN BARBADOS !
    GOD HELP BIM

21. @Caswell, what is OSA know about Mia that we don`t know. Why is so quiet despite OSA swipes at her?

22. Alvin Cummins, you are one old fool drawing from the political largasse of the DLP

23. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Gold teet

You wouldn’t believe me if I told you.

24. @caswell Franklyn, try me. Its amazing that he attacks her and she offers no defence whatsoever.

25. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Gold teet

You do not have to tell a lie on someone to defame them in the eyes of the law. You can tell the truth but can’t prove to the satisfaction of a court that you are telling the truth and could very well have to sell your house. If Owen has something to discredit Mia, let him produce it or shut to f …. Up.

26. @Gold Teet,
    Alvin Cummins ia an independent thinker, self supporting,an octogenarian,presently residing in Canada, and drawing no largesse from any one.
    I am old enough to know the real world. ileved in countries ahere baksheesh is a way of life. I have known people who sold their souls for small amounts,;and Caswell this was in spite of the law, and if I am not mistaken there ts nothing in our election laws requiring individuals to state what they gave in election campaigns.
    People will always “buy” votes one way or anther;either with money or in kind.
    Be real
    Barbados is a succeSS.
    BARBADOS IS SUCCESSFUL AND WILL CONTINUE BEING SUCCESSFUL.
    Alvin Cummins

27. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Alvin

You said
    > and if I am not mistaken there ts nothing in our election laws requiring individuals to state what they gave in election campaigns.
    Well you are mistaken; read section 47 of the Representation of the People Act.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ alvin cummins | August 19, 2014 at 9:57 AM |
    “BARBADOS IS SUCCESSFUL AND WILL CONTINUE BEING SUCCESSFUL.”

Hi Alvin, I trust you are OK and accepting of life’s challenges.
    As you have noticed I have refrained from making you eat humble pie in regards to the performance of your poor beloved DLP administration.
    You are most likely totally pissed off with them anyway but out of sheer shame you have decided to withdraw yourself and recoil into your private shell of disappointment and loathsome deprecation. Your obvious intellectual vulnerability has been exposed so I will not rub salt in your wounds and drive a dagger into your political Achilles heel by asking about the ‘status’ of the many projects you promised would have started in order to jumpstart the economy.

Let me say this to you in order to bring a bit of sanity to your claim that Barbados is successful and will continue to be successful.
    That’s downright impossible under the current cursed administration. IT WILL NOT HAPPEN.

How do you measure success? By the numerous downgrades, inability to source foreign financing on favourable terms, poor economic performance, rampant social decay, deteriorating physical infrastructure and plant, growing threats to public health through failure to manage garbage and litter?

Can you explain why a successful Barbados has fallen from No. 38 to No. 59 on the UN Human Development index in just over a 2-3 year period?

Alvin do yourself a favour and admit that Barbados has not been succeeding over the last 5 years but indeed experiencing retrogression on its social and economic fronts.

When you and your administration stop lying to the people maybe there will be some light at the end of the tunnel.

29. @HAnts

Uncle Jeff’s sage is an unraveling sag. Let us watch it.

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Boundaries and Elections Commissions AND all those smarter than the ole man (which would be the entire population of Bulbados)

Enforcing Accountability for political spend.

Let us imagine a new construct where BEFORE EVERY GENERAL ELECTION a candidate must submit an estimated budget for his/her (and in-betweener) campaign.

TV ads – x dollars, transport cost y dollars and item C – z dollars, the anticipated bribery, sorry campaign expenditure list.

Let us then suppose that the budget for that spend, inclusive of all political cuntributions (spelt that way because of all the female rabbitry them does do to we when dem get elected) said monies MUST be deposited in a special account for which the BEC will have oversight.

@ Caswell,

Would such a (childish) accounting system as i am suggesting for campaign expenses theoretically permit the monitoring of most/all permitted spend during a campaign ?

AND, in the event that there is an irregularity likw 30K pieces uh bunting from Abeds wid Mia Face plastered all over it, or 25 campaign boards 10 feet tall, each with 6 2×4 ‘s 18 feet tall costing $150 per post ( as per Lumber company quotation) and 10 sheets of marine ply per billboard costing $200 per sheet, then it would be incumbent on the candidate and/or the political party to explain where this $125K in billboard cash spent came from, particularly when (i) it exceeds the legal spend (ii) it is not listed in the submission (iii) the $$ was not deposited to AND spent from the approved BEC account? and (iv) de BEC seeing all de signs all ovah de constituency

If, Caswell, and de ole man might be wrong about this, if the law allows a politician to only spend $x per constituent for y thousand constituents, would not this suggested centralized bank account, for which the BEC has (online) access, allow there to be rapid review by de said BEC and a determination of whether there has been either compliance with of the flagrant breaking of the law that eve’ybody talking bout now?

Help de ole man heah in muh ingrunce Caswell and I is tanking you in advance

Barring hiring spies pun de day uh de election to tek pictures with dem long range cameras uh de vote buyers/sellers and tuh post dem heah pun you Bajan Flick tingy, de ole man ent got nuh suggestions bout dat doah now dat i tink bout it if unna was to gi’ we church some contributions tuh de Feed My Sheep programme, and a course pun how tuh use de same Ipads dat Sinckliar en cos’ U less gi’ way last election, de ole ladies wud be glad tuh go thru de district en tek pictures uh all de graft and vote buying dat Fumble and Adriel Nitwit Brafwit say went on

31. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Piece

You might be old in years but your brain surely isn’t showing it. You just came up with a better system than that in existence.