BU’s inbox has been inundated in the last 24 hours with requests to sign a petition calling for justice in the matter involving Demarco Gibbs who was beaten by for minors. Unfortunately the injuries sustained by Demarco left him brain dead.

The following words contained in the change.org petition reported to have secured 10,000 signatures at recent count caught the eye of the blogmaster.

The laws of Barbados need to be amended to charge children as adults when they commit heinous crimes. Their parents must also be held accountable. The time for change is now!

Increasingly our small society once characterized by personable citizens has morphed into something opposite- defined in this instant as Barbadians prepared to swing the sledge hammer to crush the symptom  and mostly ignore the causal factor(s) that created the outcome. What does it say about thousands of adults; elders in a society willing to relinquish causal responsibility?

The behaviour – good and bad – manifested by minors in our society; in our charge, in the homes, schools and everywhere reflects on us ADULTS. What moral authority do we have to propose to treat children as adults within the boundary of our laws designed to protect?  By all means let us how to treat with debate parental delinquency but charging children as adult does NOT Rh compute in the mind of this blogmaster.

Recently the blogmaster traversed the Bow Road heading North and his line of sight was assaulted by the dilapidated state of the National Stadium. The state of the stadium did not deteriorate to its current state in recent years, it has suffered steady decline even ‘in times of plenty’. In the mind of the blogmaster a national stadium is integral to a vibrant national youth program.

There is the oft repeated phrase a healthy nation is a wealthy nation.  The blogmaster is prepared to extend the adage that an engaged youth represent future leaders. What does a cursory assessment of the appearance of the National Stadium point to where youth affairs register on government’s list of priorities?

Screenshot 2020-07-04 at 18.44.58
National Stadium

The blogmaster is tired, tired, tired of connecting dots for some of you.

113 responses to “NO, NO, NO – CHILDREN ARE NOT ADULTS”

1. DavidAugust 2, 2020 9:08 AM

@Crusoe

What is the status of our penal system? Besides Dodds for the adults what is the quality of our correctional institutions?

How come Dodds is only for adults?

Dodds Boys and Sumervale girls?

What happened to these institutions?

2. DavidAugust 2, 2020 5:08 AM

@Crusoe

In the Barbados context, not the UK, USA, Canada or some other impersonal country that already have problems with managing crime- the 10 year old is found guilty, do we send them to DOdds?

Pretty sure there is a juvenile system in these impersonal countries.

3. DavidAugust 2, 2020 4:21 AM

We see the problem with our society right here. Our societies have changed. We have to come up with the right policies to fix the challenges facing us. The Church does not occupy the role it did in the past, and it will npt in the foreseeable future.

What is your concept of the church?

Read the Sweet Sunday Sermon published on BU today.

4. We need someone from one of those impersonal countries to come and invent a juvenile system for us!!

Technology transfer to a third world developing system!!

5. ..country

6. re The Church does not occupy the role it did in the past, and it will not in the foreseeable future.
    Maybe this is true in Barbados to a certain extent…….but the church & MORE SO THE WORD OF GOD is being practical, pertinent and poignant in many parts of the world.

7. We are discussing how to effect change in Barbados. The secular and non secular world must find a way to coexist, our Constitution requires it.

8. YOU MEAN THAT YOU WOULD LIKE TO DISCUSS how to effect change in Barbados.
    The secular and non secular world coexists very well ….EVEN IF NOT VERY WELL ON BU

9. Maybe in your siloed world it does.

10. The secular and non secular world coexists very well … because much of the contemporary church or non secular world is APOSTATE, AND HAS BEEN SO FOR AGES IN BOTH “SILOED” AND NON “SILOED” WORLDS. THIS CAN NOT BE REFUTED. THIS WAS PREDICTED BY JESUS, PAUL, PETER & JOHN—-AND HAS COME TO PAST.

If the secular and non secular worlds were not coexisting very well there would be more chaos than there is at this point in time,…….but we are going to see things go down hill. For some of us WHAT A GLORIOUS DAY THAT WILL BE

11. “WURA is off blaming the fat full bellied parasites. lol”

lol and writing about the phenomena that is fowl slaves…lol

12. @John August 2, 2020 12:27 AM “Religious Knowledge was taught at HC up to second form then abandoned. The book used was called “Acts of the Apostles”.The 60’s was all about denying God, I’m just lucky to have had the smattering of teaching at school I got to make me realise as I got older just how important a subject it was.”

I am not sure who abandoned Religious Knowledge. I know that in the 60’s I studied Religious Knowledge up to GCE Level, passed the subject too. The certificate which I haven’t seen in many, many decades is still very likely in the bottom right drawer of my dresser. Studied at church and Sunday school, and with my mother, and my paternal grandmother. Attended Church Army meetings regularly for years with my mother.

So some people abandoned religious knowledge, some of us did not.

We read the word, understood the word and lived the word.

13. For those lost people who do not know there are 2 institutions for young offenders. I’ve had the opportunity to visit both places, I know of good Bajans [just not the BU bull sh!ters] who work to help the young offenders prepare for their release and reintegration into society. I know that many, perhaps most young offenders go on to lead good productive, useful loving lives.

NEVER EVER write off a child.

Here endeth today’s lesson.

14. @John August 2, 2020 12:50 AM “I remember Auntie Olga on Rediffusion on a Saturday morning. Seem to remember “There’s a Friend for little children” was played there. Also remember “Jesus wants me for a sunbeam” Why do we only get nitwit music these days?”

Plenty of good preaching in church buildings and on the radio still. Even though I am an Anglican one of my favorites radio preachers is the pastor of a Emmanuel Baptist Church at Eagle Hall. He is on VOB every Sunday night. It the church at which the funeral service for Rihanna’s grandmother was held. I believe that the church also does great work in the community. So yes there is this and other Christian churches within walking distance of where this child was assaulted.

As for what John calls nitwit music, I love that too. As Christians we are supposed to take care of our bodies, and on the same VOB on mornings I can hear some music which encourages me to move my body. So “yes” I do a few, or more than a few wuk-ups most mornings to the music. Both the preaching and the dancing may be working because when I took my blood pressure yesterday it was 114/75 and instead of gaining weight during the lock down, i lost weight.

So in Barbados there is still plenty of “food” for the body

And plenty of “food” for the soul.too.

15. There are psychiatrists and psychologists in Barbados.

16. @Cuhdear Bajan August 2, 2020 3:09 PM
    “So in Barbados there is still plenty of “food” for the body
    And plenty of “food” for the soul.too.”

That’s absolutely correct!

Loads of already processed food as can be seen stored around the bellies of the country’s obese young population.

But we hope you do not get upset when the current major shops peddling “soul food” in Barbados are taken over and turned into Halal soul food serving cafeterias called mosques as is taking place in the UK or even in Turkey with the first Christian cathedral, the Hagia Sophia, returned to a place of worship dedicated to the memory of Ishmael (and his eponymous descendant called Muhammad) and not the infidel pagan Sun Jesus.

The evolution of religion is a bitc**h, isn’t it? It’s called the survival of the peddlers of the biggest lies.

Christianity and its bastard Anglicanism has had its day on the Cross in the midday Sun.

17. No, no non Miller. I did not mean literal food. I meant dancing and exercising food. Things that do the body good and make it feel good.

There are religious extremists everywhere, and always. Sadly not just Christians and Muslims. You should see what after 1492 the European Christians did to places where the indigenous peoples of the Americas worshiped. . In Mexico City, utterly destroyed the places and built Christian churches on top.

Have you noticed that there are no indigenous places of worship in the Caribbean? In Barbados? Do you think that the indigenous people of Barbados and the Caribbean, did not know God, that God did not know them, his people? Do you think that they did not worship? Where are their places of worship? How did they worship. How did they percieve God?

God was not born in the Middle East. The Middle Eastern ways of perceiving God are not the only ways.

I hafta keep telling wunna fellas that od does not have any neglected outside children.

18. Miller if the British people no longer wish to go to church, no longer wish to engage in public worship, what does that have to do with me?

19. Come to think of it I may send the 2 GP’s to evangelise the British

20. @Simple Simon

Are you as passionate to debate the topic?

21. David if you mean “by the topic” whether we should try 7 to 12 year old children as adults, my answer is NO.

People talk about discipline, beating, punishment, justice as though they are one and the same. There are not

22. The Juvenile Detention Centre in Ottawa is called the William E. Hay Centre and it is a very modern facility. The children come out educated, well rounded and are found jobs by the local authorities and social services find them housing if the family refuse to take them back. Of course, their files are sealed.

23. Our juvenille detention system is supposed to be earmarked for an upgrade. We are somewhat behind on this score. Recently the principal expressed some dissatisfaction with what currently obtains and outlined where they wanted to go in terms of rehabilitation, education and skills training. When last I interacted with them twenty years ago they had fallen behind in that regard.

24. At first, we had the motorcyclists doing wheelies any and everywhere. We sat back and did nothing. Pretty soon kids on bikes were following suit doing wheelies on the highways.
    Next, we had the gunmen, going about the length and breadth of Barbados killing and maiming at will. We have sat back and have done very little. Now we are surprised and pulling our hairs out, as the kids are taking a leaf out of their big brother’s books.

25. We should never forget that the inability of the law courts to deal with children who committed serious offences such as murder, down in South America, had opened up the door for the drug lords to engage children as hitmen.

26. @Arri Mayers

This is a racist rightwing argument used by police and their backers all over the old Dominions, especially by Scotland Yard and the so-called county lines drug running. It is a justificatory argument, not a reflection of reality.
    Why is there a rush in Barbados to criminalise young people?

27. William Skinner Avatar

It should be extremely obvious that children who engage in such brutal behavior , are in desperate need of years of professional council. As sorry as we are for the victim, we should be intelligent enough , to discern that this is not normal behavior by any stretch of the imagination and trying to cast it in legalese and punishment is essentially avoiding calling a spade a spade. The children involved in this act of violence need professional help . It is reasonable to suggest that they were probably displaying some need for such and it went undetected . We are not yet a society that has our radars out enough to always detect certain behaviors. This sadly is a case in point. Quite frankly, there is a high level of irresponsibility by the media , trying to milk this story. It is our children we are dealing with and when they are not well, we should exercise restraint in how we deal with them.

28. William Skinner Avatar

Nostalgic trips into a Barbados of everybody in Sunday school and Auntie Olga’s children’s party are just that -nostalgia. There are still children’s parties and we still have many Auntie Olgas. We can’t recognize them because, we avoid all things when they appear in forms that don’t capture what we were made comfortable with sixty years ago.
    The Barbados that many yearn
    for is no more. The major failure has been our inability to nip things in the bud and to put new measures in place to deal with a changing society.
    From ignoring the Auditor General Report to allowing minibus operators to do as they like. From refusing to reform the educational system to turning the Police department into a political foot ball. From refusing to modernize agriculture and putting all the eggs in the tourism industry. We have ignored the enveloping drug culture and we can go on and on. Our response to all problems emerging in other places was simple: “ It can’t happen bout hey.“ Ask a Bajan if he see how the roads are falling into disrepair his classic response was: “ Have you ever been to St………,
    The West Indies team is losing because it does not have enough Bajans.
    Anybody who says that the traditional white corporate sector does not really support efforts to solve socio economic problems is called a racist.
    And even when in what should be polite conversation one disagrees with another ; we brand each each other RH and JA. That’s who we are , not all the time ,but too much of the time. We allow cracks to become craters.
    And that’s why I said that many of us have lost any entitlement to be called elders. Elders set proper examples.
    What does all I wrote has to do with the topic. We see children with psychological problems and we see prison as the answer. Bring the bull pistle take out the cat o nine. Hang them and the problem is solved and we play a domino and fire a drink …….
    People are known to perish when there is no leadership. Children too.

29. It should be extremely obvious that children who engage in such brutal behavior , are in desperate need of AN EXPOSURE TO THE GOD OF THE BIBLE IN THEIR SINFUL DEVILISH DEMONIC HEARTS RATHER THAN THE GOD OF MATERIALISM WHOM WE HAVE BEEN WORSHIPPING IN RECENT DECADES

IT IS CLEARLY WRITTEN IN Jeremiah 6:16
    Thus saith the Lord, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein.

THE OLD PATHS IS NOT NOSTALGIA………IT IS THE RIGHT WAY

Psalm 119:9-11 IS STILL TRUE!

9 Wherewithal shall a young man cleanse his way? by taking heed thereto according to thy word.

10 With my whole heart have I sought thee: O let me not wander from thy commandments.

11 Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.
    THERE ARE MANY CHILDREN IN BARBADOS FOLLOWING THE OLD PATHS TODAY STILL…AND WITH GREAT SUCESS

30. For several months while I wasn’t working I would sit on mornings at my son’s Primary School and observe full on brawls between children before the morning bell. I was told on numerous occasions by different teachers that this was in fact ‘play.’This is my argument plain and simple, start as you mean to go on, you have TEACHERS, endorsing violence among young people as play, these are the same young people that went on from Class 4 to instigate feuds between Secondary Schools, I know this for a fact. These are the same young men that witness violence in the home and grow up to abuse women and animals. Keep your effin hands to your damn self.

31. This is the kind of message that needs to be sent repeatedly. The consequences have also to be spelled out.
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/08/03/zero-tolerance-to-violence-says-abrahams/
    Good job Abrahams

32. Police probing boy’s beating
    [caption id="" align="alignleft" width="213"] TRICIA GIBBS, overwhelmed with emotion as she cradles her seven year-old son, Takior, who also broke down in tears at Monday night’s vigil.(Picture by Shancie King.)[/caption]
    THE CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION DEPARTMENT (CID) is looking into the June 14 beating of ten-year-old Demarco Gibbs which resulted in him being hospitalised.
    Senior Superintendent of Police Antonio Forte, who is in charge of the Bridgetown Division, told theMIDWEEK NATION yesterday that detectives were assigned to the case. However, he said the investigation was sensitive given that those involved were children.
    “We haven’t been able to get to the bottom of it to determine exactly all of the case factors and who are the persons involved. We understand that the persons are youthful, so we are trying to look at the best way forward as far as that is concerned,” he said, adding that there was not a lot to comment on at the moment.
    Reports indicate that Demarco was beaten about the head with a stick by four of his playmates, who ranged in age from seven to 12 years.
    Not criminally responsible
    Child rights defender Faith Marshall-Harris, who is also one of the United Nations Global Child Rights experts, yesterday explained that a child under the age of 11 could not be held criminally responsible for any crime based on the Juvenile Offenders Act.
    Demarco is presently hospitalised in a coma in the Intensive Care Unit.
    His distraught mother, Tricia Gibbs, 40, said doctors will be carrying out a CAT scan to determine the extent of the injuries to his head.
    On Monday relatives and friends gathered at Richmond Gap, St Michael, near to Demarco’s home, where a prayer vigil was held for him.
    Attended prayer vigil
    In attendance were various church leaders as well as members of the Black Knight Bikers. Pastor Jason Peters preached about children.
    “God said suffer the little children to come unto me. I pray that God will speak to our hearts as a community. As a nation, we can’t stand by and watch our children suffer pain. When our children are in danger, our communities are in danger,” the pastor said.
    Several residents, including children, turned out to the event, during which they sang, prayed and lit candles.
    Gibbs, who has six children, said yesterday she was moved by the well-wishes and support which she has been receiving.
    She said she thoroughly enjoyed the event and she was continuing to pray for a total recovery for Demarco. ( MB)
    Source: Nation Newspaper

33. A timely reminder from Faith Marshall-Harris. Why we are so anxious to criminalise little kids is a mystery. But it is very Barbadian, that urge to punish.
    Understandably the mother will be upset, but kids play and quite often they are rough and boisterous. Some commenters see this as an opportunity to scream nonsense about parenting. Some even want parents to be prosecuted. I will go one better,execute them at the top of Broad Street and sell tickets to tourists. Some Barbadians seem to have lost their capacity to think.
    By the way, newspaper reports claim the seven-year-old by beaten by his class mates, aged seven to 12. Why would a 12 yr old be in the same class as a seven-year-old?

34. Violence begets violence. Barbadian experience has been violence since the 1800’s. Again, why I agree with PLT that the plantation experience has and continues to have a major impact on life.

Yes, there is violence on the streets of the developed US too. Driven by the drug culture, again no accident.

The powerful sell poison to the poor and it is used to control and keep the poor where they are.

The drug culture, the rap culture, that is deliberately used to keep people where they are. This is what community leaders need to be telling their people. Rise above it. Not with the so called evangelical churches either. But by seeing their fellow poor as brothers and sisters, helping one another at the roots level, whether black or white.

35. Quote ”None but ourselves can free our minds”.

Listen to the Right Excellent Bob Marley. Prophet and Leader.

36. @ Crusoe

I like your reference to rap culture. You may recall some years ago the police and their backers also blamed video games for the so-called violence of young black boys. Racism comes in many forms and all kinds of excuses are used to justify bad policing..
    Let us discuss the multi-billion dollar industry that the rap culture has created. When the boys on the block in New York, Chicago and Los Angeles created rap, unlike the soul singers of old, they took control of the business side of the industry.
    The net result is Jay-Z, Kanye West, and a large number of multi-millionaire rappers. Look at Rihanna. I don’t think Jay-Z has an MBA from Harvard, but he and the others have proved themselves good business people. That is something to celebrate.

37. By the way, newspaper reports claim the seven-year-old by beaten by his class mates, aged seven to 12. Why would a 12 yr old be in the same class as a seven-year-old? {Quote}
    ??????????????????????????????

Reports indicate that Demarco was beaten about the head with a stick by four of his PLAYMATES, who ranged in age from seven to 12 years. {Quote}

That man is a journalist fuh trute?

38. Hal AustinAugust 6, 2020 6:02 AM

I agree that the success of the musicians should be celebrated. But you cannot tell me that the negative aspect of it has been good for the streets of those cities. How has their success benefited the guys and girls on the streets?

39. @ Crusoe

By defining black creativity in white terms you are doing a disservice to the boys and girls on the block, who even black people had abandoned, yet they went on to create a multi-billion dollar industry. That is a huge success story, given the history of black performers.
    There is nothing said about hip hop and rap that was not said about jazz. Even the associations with criminality. It is the mission of white racists to destroy everything that black people create. It is one way of saying black failure is self-inflicted. You do not get hip hop management taught in business schools, but you should.
    We talk about Amazon and Microsoft and Facebook, but we should be telling young people about Jay-Z the businessman, 50 Cents, LL Cool J, et al. Amazing business men and women, not just outstanding performers. We even get criminality in the church. Remember Roberto Calvi? Go easy on the youths.

40. Crusoe,

Sinatra and co. were thought to have ties to the Mafia yet he is an American icon.

The rappers are just speaking about life as they know it. Many of them pull themselves out of that life and try to pull others with them.

Nipsy Hustle was one such person. Somebody killed him last year.

You should watch The Beat with Ari Melber on MSNBC at 6.00 p.m. Barbados time. He is a lame non-black who somehow knows more about it than you do.

41. @ Crusoe

I agree with your opinion.

Your friend often comment about Barbadians showing a tendency towards violence or they are the most violent people in the Caribbean, while always using Barbados Underground’s contributors as examples to justify his claims. I have also seen him mentioned his preference for debating issues rather than drifting into personal abuse and insults.

Hence, in this regard, it’s puzzling why he has chosen to ignore the incitement to commit violent acts, abusive language and explicit sexually degrading misogynistic lyrics of rap music….. exotic dancing by scantily dressed women that are also portrayed in the associated videos…. as well as other deviant behavioural acts he usually frowns upon, to focus more so on rap artistes being successful businessmen.

‘Rap’ has gone from songs with ‘clean’ lyrics, which we first heard back in the early 1980s, such as ‘Rapper’s Delight’ by the Sugar Hill Gang….. to vulgarity heard in modern day songs that ‘Admiral Nelson’ often complain about.

Here are lyrics from one of 50¢’s rap songs:

Keep thinkin I’m candy till ya fuckin skull get popped
    And ya brain jump out the top like Jack-in-the-box
    In the hood summer time is the killing season
    It’s hot out this bitch that’s a good ’nuff reason
    I’ve seen gangsta’s get religious when they start bleeding
    Sayin “Lord, Jesus Help Me” cause they ass leaking.

The following are lyrics from one of LL Cool J’s songs:

I’m here to make a dollar out of fifteen cents
    And let my balls hang like I’m on a toilet taking a shit
    My style is all that and a big bag of chips with the dip (Drip)
    Fuck all that sensuous shit (Drip)
    I represent intellectual violence
    And leave your clique holier than the Ten Commandments
    Like Redman, I shift with the ruck
    If your “if” was a spliff, we’d be all fucked up (Word up)
    No need to ask you, “Who is he?” Son I get busy….

There are also songs in which listeners are encouraged to “shoot niggas” and “get rich or die trying.”

So, I hope it’s not being suggested we should IGNORE the vulgarity and violence depicted in this music, because rappers are successful, multi billion dollar business men?

How about Jamaican dance hall music? Vybes Kartel, Popcaan, Busy Signal, Alakaline and Movado are among the most popular Jamaican ‘dance hall’ artiste. Their songs contain ‘sexually explicit, hard core gangsta’ lyrics, with music videos showing them driving expensive cars, wearing lots of jewelry, brandishing firearms, smoking weed and surrounded by ’nuff’ US dollars and scantily dressed women.

This is what sells. Hence, there isn’t any need for Jay Z, or those of his ilk, to have ‘a MBA from Harvard,’ Princeton or even Yale. Their music caters to an already established market demographic to which marketing efforts are directed.

But, then again, the resident pantomath purposely OPPOSES EVERY OPINION presented to BU, perhaps to give us the impression he thinks OUTSIDE THE CAVE (Plato’s Allegory of the Cave????). Also, he calls his critics and those individuals who disagree with his views, wild barking dogs, wild beast or savages that should be in the jungle, billy goats, animals and other pejorative terms I cannot remember at this time. Therefore, why should anyone be surprised by the position he has taken on this issue?

Contributors may want to ‘play devil’s advocate’ by providing us with examples of ‘hip hop’ or ‘rap music,’ the lyrics of which are ‘soft.’ However, I must remind them it is the ‘gangsta style, violent, hard core lyrics’ that made this genre of music popular and entertainers wealthy.

42. “a child under the age of 11 could not be held criminally responsible for any crime based on the Juvenile Offenders Act. ”

Let me avoid the general discussion and go down this side road.

When the bad boys put their guns in the hands of children then we will hear a new tune.

43. TheOGazertsAugust 7, 2020 1:21 AM

Be careful with generalisation. Note that the Act specifically states ”other than homicide” in its guidelines for treatment of juveniles.

https://cavehill.uwi.edu/lawlibrary/getattachment/10571998-93ea-46b8-8bfd-859b21121708/JUVENILE-OFFENDERS-ACT.aspx

As I noted above, a juvenile can be tried as an adult in specific circumstances. Or at least, will actually face a charge and not go scot free. I believe that these relate to the gravity of the crime and understanding of the crime. Note that a juvenile cannot face capital punishment however, under the Act.

Hence, held under Her Majesty’s Pleasure in such cases.

The Act should really be more prescriptive in referring to cases of gravity. It does not absolve children under 11 years as you seem to think.

44. Theo, also if the drug lords did that, you do realise that they would be charged for any crime committed by said minors?

The order, the intent, the act of providing the means, are equally responsible for any crime committed, as doing it themselves.

45. @Crusoe

We always gravitate to punishing the outcomes and at the same time we are hesitant to focus and arrest the causal issues.

46. Tackle bullying ‘at deeper level’
    by COLVILLE MOUNSEY EXPRESSING PROFOUND sadness for the suffering of ten-year-old Demarco Gibbs, who is in a coma at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital after reportedly being struck in his head with pieces of wood by four playmates, Minister of Youth, Sports and Community Empowerment Dwight Sutherland is calling for bullying to be treated as a systemic social environmental issue.
    Sutherland said marchers over the weekend, who have been calling for justice on behalf of the lad, have his full support, but noted that issues of this nature must be addressed at a much deeper level.
    “We have had too many of these incidents, we have had a death at a school as recently as last year and now we are seeing another case of bullying with this young man. It is a case of what you see you tend to practise. I have had an incident at a school in St George, where a boy under the age of 10 took to school a bottle of alcohol and encouraged other six and seven-year-olds to drink. He did that because he saw that at his home environment. We have to reach our communities in a meaningful way. If we are going to reduce bullying, we all have to be advocates and activists,” said Sutherland.
    Demarco was hospitalised on June 14. He was released from the hospital after spending more than two weeks in the Intensive Care Unit and two more weeks on a ward, but later that month he complained of feeling ill and fell into a coma again while being treated at the QEH. The police at Black Rock Station in St Michael are investigating.
    Sutherland, speaking to the MIDWEEK NATION on Monday during the opening of a twoweek training for people enrolled in the Building Blocks Programme, made it clear that he did not want to address the circumstances which resulted in the hospitalisation of the boy but noted that his heart went out to the family.
    Holistically
    “I want to sympathise with the parents of as well as the child. I saw the march, but I want us to look at this holistically in that we have to engage our communities. We need to stop the fighting among adults. Why should young people be bullying each other? They must see themselves playing a critical role in Barbados’ development from an early age,” he said.
    Sutherland added that this was one of the issues that his ministry intended to champion, noting that he intended to roll up his sleeves and engage every area that influences youth behaviour.
    “This Ministry has to play a major role in the

school environment and family environment. We have to take a holistic approach to creating wellrounded global citizens, creating decent citizens, who value the key things in life. We need to create persons who are disciplined, and we need to work with institutions such as the church in order to maximise the role that they can play,” said Sutherland.
    The minister contended that the schools have to step outside of the curriculum and introduce programmes that would mould rounded well adjusted citizens.

Source: Nation News

47. Thanks Crusoe.
    I will read the document.

48. Did you all see the video of those youth slapping elderly folks?