At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. @David

no problem. u r not the only with ears on the ground you know.

elections held tomorrow DLP wins 7 seats- St John, 2 in St Michael, CH CH and St Phillip

2. Who are the candidates for the 7 wins?

3. now now. u dont expect me to reveal that, do u? but that is what informal polls are saying

4. COVID-19 Data Visualization Center. Mortality Analyses. How does mortality differ across countries?
    https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/data/mortality

Barbados 67cases; 4deaths; 6.0% of cases have been fatal; 1 .40deaths per 100,000 of population

United Kingdom 74,605 cases 8,974deaths; 12.0%of cases have been fatal; 13.50deaths per 100,000 of population

US 496,535cases; 18,586deaths; 3.7% of cases have been fatal 5.68deaths per 100,000 of population

Jamaica 63cases; 4deaths; 6.3%of cases have been fatal 0.14deaths per 100,000 of population

Guyana 37cases 6deaths 16.2%cases have been fatal 0.77deaths per 100,000 of population

Trinidad and Tobago 109cases 8deaths 7.3%of cases have beenfatal 0.58deaths per 100,000 of population

5. @Greene

The same poll that had the DLP winning the last general election according to Bobby?

6. Toronto’s police chief says officers are now taking a “zero tolerance” approach to dealing with those who violate physical distancing rules amid the coronavirus pandemic.

“I had a conversation with the mayor yesterday and what we’re now doing is we’re moving past the education piece,” Toronto police Chief Mark Saunders told reporters Saturday afternoon.

7. come on man. Bobby had to say something. how could the DLP have expected to win that election when they barely won re election, with a bad economy, the union committing suicide and the 2 term fatigue, not tp mention Freundel, the real or imagined theivry allegations, and Cambridge Analytical playing with bajan minds on social media?

they are lucky they didnt get beat worse lol

8. @Greene

Oh!

That explains all the bogus contract extensions and Froon extending parliament for 90 days?

How terrible.

9. They do not seem to have any data on how many African descended Americans died in the 1918 flu, 200 thousand Americans were acknowledged, but that does not mean everyone was counted after all it was 1918, besides, there was a second even deadlier wave.

10. @ David April 11, 2020 5:51 PM
    “Who are the candidates for the 7 wins?”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Let us help Green(e) with the 2 in St. Michael.

How about Denis the Low(e)down menace to switch constituencies and run against the fading MAM in SMNE.

The next would see the return of the sleeping giant to SMS to regain his throne from that wet-behind-the-ears political whippersnapper Humphrey who, like Jack of the Beanstalk fairytale, cut the rope of the political gallows to create Bajan electoral history by seeing the giant King Fumble fall 30 meters shamefully into pit toilet of pity and political poverty in less than 24 hrs.

11. @ David April 11, 2020 5:30 PM
    “@Simple Simon
    Thought you liked a PM who bowled straight.”

LOL!!
    You have all the journalistic qualities of an editor of any ‘Q’ magazine.

The ex-PM PJ P’s ‘bent-arm bowling is one of Jamaica’s best kept secrets; given its fake ‘macho man’ culture.

12. Greene
    Win what 7 seats? The red handbag aint even open yet and the DLP won 0 seats. 🤣🤣🤣🎪🤡🤡

13. I came across a comment earlier where someone alluded to Ed Koch being the father of the present Governor or Mayor of NY, I’m unable to locate the comment now, but that writer if I’m correct might want to review that assertion. See Mario Cuomo as Governor. Please, I’m not nit picking.

14. @ Hal Austin, Look here, you alluded to in an earlier comment about Westindians being of a special class and cultured lot who don’t want to tear down the UK like others, but somehow they always get the shitty end of the stick or some shit like that. Let me tell you Mr. Austin, You are DEAD wrong, your Islanders up there with the exception of the Jamaicans are spineless docile pussies. What you are good at though is to cut each other’s throats and let the white man divide and conquers your nappy headed asses. Every ethnic or racial group up there are beating the Brits at their old game, the Brits in the UK are being colonized in these modern times by the former colonies. The Westindians only want to be more British than Liz and Phil.

15. All yuh can shop in the store. Not me!

16. Now how hard was that, everyone should be back on track shortly.

However, don’t know where Mia got her information from that US does not have a unemployment benefits systems, that is just not true at least for NYC anyway, cant talk for other states, unless they stopped it in the last 15 years, it has been there for years.

17. Seven seats for the blues? That sounds like a nightmare after a long, all-night rum run with Barrow brand rum.

The DLP signed a visa waiver agreement with China in 2014, opening the gates of hell wide. Why did the DLP sign a treaty with a nation that discriminates against African students in the most extreme racist way?

The DLP must first deal with the Pornville Inniss affair, a serious criminal convicted of money laundering. Is Inniss still alive or did he die of the Corona virus? I thought there were six dead Barbadians in NYC. I think Verla owes us an explanation.

18. @ David

As I predicted the curfew is being extended.. It was the only sensible thing to do based on the time variation of symptoms developing in individuals. The next thing is to see if the antibody immunization approach is tried.

19. @ robert lucas April 11, 2020 7:58 PM

However, the antibody test does not yet function reliably. If I have been briefed correctly, the antibody test sometimes also responds to other, far more harmless corona viruses.

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Whitehill, LOL…Koch as father of Cuomo 🤣. If you read that then I must have been sleeping when I posted otherwise you were sleeping when you read!

The post is on the other page…the key part: “anyhow the state has a history of that style sniping…his father and Mayor Koch did much the same”

“HIS” referring to current Gov Cuomo.

21. “All yuh can shop in the store. Not me!”

ya must think the plague is afraid to visit ya where ya are.

22. Gone leave wunna for a minute or two and the BU got boring as sh..it

So what is the latest coming from Mia mout
    Open or not to open
    Close or not to close
    What about Easter bank holiday
    Dat Under house arrest too
    I malicious asking fuh a friend

23. @ The Dribbler, thank you, saw your post earlier while out, looking for it later was unable to. Please, whomever you are, I’m not picking a fight. Had i been able to locate your post to confirm… Have a good night, stay healthy.

24. @ Tron April 11, 2020 8:08 PM

There are always false-positive tests. If the antibody test gives 90=95% correct results there is no problem. The Abbot ‘s ELISA test is reported to have passed FDA guidelines. Immunity can also be obtained by using the antibodies of the recovered persons to inoculate the frontline workers. Alternatively one can use a part of the viral protein recognized by the immune system to inoculate rabbits to produce antibodies. The rabbits would need to get a second booster injection, before being bled and the antibodies separated by centrifugation . The antibodies can then be tagged with a color indicator and added to the suspect ‘s blood sample. A color reaction indicates the intensity of the viral antigens present.

You might find the following of interest.

Press Release
    Mount Sinai Developing an “End-to-End” Diagnostics Solution for COVID-19 That Incorporates Diagnosis, Treatment Selection, and Monitoring of Disease Course

New York, NY (March 23, 2020) An expert team of researchers and clinicians in microbiology, virology, pathology, molecular science, and immunology at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai (ISMMS) and The Mount Sinai Hospital (MSH) have been working together around the clock to design, validate, and implement an “end-to-end” clinical pathology laboratory solution that will allow for the testing of approximately several hundred people per day in order to rapidly diagnose and help guide the selection of treatment and monitor disease course.
    Using a high-throughput, automated molecular assay, The Mount Sinai Hospital Clinical Laboratories are currently testing several hundred patients per day for SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) to identify positive versus negative cases. The testing effort will ramp up to a capacity of 1,000 tests per day. Mount Sinai follows NY State guidelines and is only testing patients with trouble breathing and/or moderate-to-severe respiratory symptoms at this time. (Please consult your physician if you believe you are a candidate for testing.)

For patients who test positive for SARS-CoV-2, a quantitative assay designed and implemented by a multidisciplinary Mount Sinai team is capable of measuring whether the patient’s viral load is high or low. The viral load findings will be studied to ascertain whether they assist in managing the disease and aiding in the selection of effective treatments. The clinical laboratory efforts are being led by Peter Palese, MD, Horace W. Goldsmith Professor and Chair of Microbiology, and Carlos Cordon-Cardo, MD, PhD, Irene Heinz Given and John LaPorte Given Professor and Chair of Pathology, Molecular and Cell-Based Medicine.

Internationally renowned researchers and clinicians from ISMMS and MSH are also tackling some other important tests to help in the fight against COVID-19, including:

A Blood Test That Measures Immunity in Recovered COVID-19 Patients

To help uncover just how widespread the novel coronavirus is within communities, a team led by virologist Florian Krammer, PhD, Professor of Microbiology at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, developed a serological enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA) test. This test measures the presence or absence of antibodies to the virus in people’s blood. Similar to the most commonly used tests for other viruses, such as hepatitis B, this test shows whether a person’s immune system has ever come into contact with the virus (even months ago). There are three main advantages to this test: providing an accurate picture of how many people have been infected; identifying people with new immunity to SARS-CoV-2 who could care for COVID-19 patients at zero or minimal risk; and identifying newly recovered patients with high antibody levels who can donate their antibody-rich blood, known as convalescent plasma, to potentially save other patients with severe COVID-19. Initially the testing will be limited to potential plasma donors until testing capacity increases.

The team began working on this serological assay in January, before COVID-19 had been seen in the United States. To make this test, the researchers cloned animal cells to produce copies of the telltale “spike” protein that is present on the surface of SARS-CoV-2. That protein is highly immunogenic, meaning that people’s bodies see it and start making antibodies that can lock onto it. The test involves exposing a sample of blood to bits of the spike protein. If the test “lights up,” it means that person has the antibodies. Viviana Simon, MD, PhD, Professor of Microbiology at ISMMS, was instrumental in the design and implementation of the test, which has been approved for clinical use by the New York State Wadsworth Laboratory and is currently undergoing validation and urgent implementation. ISMMS medical students are establishing a social media campaign to identify volunteers to be tested.

“Our test can pick up the body’s response to infection as early as three days post-symptom onset and it could help locate survivors who are ‘hyper-immune,’” says Dr. Krammer. “Those people could then potentially donate their convalescent plasma to help very sick COVID-19 patients in intensive care units to help boost their immunity.”

The sensitive and specific identification of SARS-CoV-2 that ELISA provides will also support screening of health care workers to identify those who have already been exposed and are already immune. Those staff could then be deployed to the front lines to perform the riskiest tasks—like intubating a person infected with the virus—without worrying about getting infected or spreading the disease to colleagues, other patients, or their families. To learn the true extent of infections, the next step will be for researchers to carry out these serological surveys via blood draws from large numbers of people in an outbreak area, which may tell them exactly how many cases have gone unnoticed.

According to Dr. Krammer, efforts by the team at Mount Sinai and a few others developing similar tests (including the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) to carry out a wider survey are just getting started, so it will likely be some time before scientists learn just how widespread SARS-CoV-2 is. The Mount Sinai Hospital Clinical Laboratories are also sharing specimens from recovered patients with the New York State Wadsworth Laboratory to assist other facilities in this effort.

A Test That Can Determine When a COVID-19 Patient Is Entering a Dangerous Point in Their Disease and a Drug Trial for a Subset of Those Patients

Mount Sinai’s Human Immune Monitoring Center, led by Miriam Merad, MD, PhD, Mount Sinai Endowed Professor in Cancer Immunology and Sacha Gnajtic, PhD Associate Professor of Immunology and Hematology/Oncology, are working on a test called the Ella ™ Cytokine Storm Panel to determine when someone infected with COVID-19 is entering a critical point in their disease. When patients take a turn for the worse, they are experiencing a burst in their body’s immune response, particularly with a group of immune molecules called cytokines. This burst of cytokines, called cytokine release syndrome or a “cytokine storm,” contributes to the severity of COVID-19, because the cytokines attack the patient’s organs, which can be fatal in some cases.

Mount Sinai clinical laboratories will use the Ella ™ Cytokine Storm Panel in COVID-19 patients who have been admitted to the hospital to monitor them and know, in real time, when they are experiencing cytokine storm. The test results are available in a few hours, and can be repeated throughout the course of care to help guide hospital care and to measure the response to experimental drugs given in clinical trials for COVID-19 patients.

Coupled with the Cytokine Storm Panel, Mount Sinai’s Division of Infectious Diseases, led by Judith A. Aberg, MD, will begin several clinical trials for patients with COVID-19. Their team has analyzed data from China showing that the cytokine release syndrome is killing COVID-19 patients and that inhibiting the storm using therapies tested in cancer patients who received CAR-T cells—modified immune system cells used to fight cancer—may improve their condition. Mount Sinai’s Human Immune Monitoring Center will be monitoring patients on all experimental trials to identify biomarkers response and guide additional therapeutic strategies.

“Some of the best researchers in the world, giants on the frontier of the fields of infectious disease, microbiology, emerging pathogens, and immunology, are here at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai and The Mount Sinai Hospital. Since the COVID-19 pandemic began, they have been tracking the data coming out of China and Italy to mount a response that will help diagnose and treat ill patients,” says Dennis S. Charney, MD, Anne and Joel Ehrenkranz Dean, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, and President for Academic Affairs, Mount Sinai Health System. “Our health system has fast-tracked funding and approvals for these tests and clinical trials to help patients not just within our own community, but to help people around the globe.”

25. Really Robert lucas
    Do u expect or believe that long series of exhausting wording would be read
    Good lord next time just summarize in two short sentences

26. @ Mariposa April 11, 2020 8:59 PM

It was meant for Tron who seems to have some interest in the subject. It is not difficult to follow. The part that is easy to follow is the part under the heading :

“A Blood Test That Measures Immunity in Recovered COVID-19 Patients ”

This particular section is not that long and you are no slouch .You can easily follow it. Stop being lazy and give it a read. It will keep you occupy bearing in mind the curfew extends to may.

27. Ok.

28. So i heard govt has implemented a new strategy to get people shopping in orderly fashion at the supermarkets
    Now with this alphabet soup strategy
    Did govt mention if the supermarket had guidelines in place to accommodate these people which can handle the flow of customers in short periods
    Cannot see supermarkets getting the alphabet crowd in and out of the supermarket in three hours

29. And it resets. I dun!

30. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Mariposa April 11, 2020 9:24 PM

This strategy is what I was looking for evasince last week and it should work very well. It is sound and brings back order so people will stop the panicked shopping.
    Check https://gisbarbados.gov.bb/blog/shopping-schedule-during-covid-19-curfew/

31. The PMs proposal sounds reasonable and workable providing the supermarkets adhere to the times and names allocated. The crowds will now be smaller and more manageable. Plus with the hard wares open too they have many of the cleaners etc as well, so that too will ease the supermarket burden. As for the extension of the curfew I leave that to the medical professionals to weigh in on.

32. @John A

Any supermarket or hardware store found to be cheating the system fine them or some other punitive action.

33. re Really Robert lucas
    Do u expect or believe that long series of exhausting wording would be read
    Good lord next time just summarize in two short sentences

WOman IF HE PUT UM IN TWO WORDS OR TWO SENTENCES YOU STILL WONT UNDERSTAND HIM

DR LUCAS CANT DUMB DOWN EVERY TING FOR DUMMIES
    THIS IS NOT VIROLOGY FOR DUMMIES
    GO AND CHECK JOYCE MCQUILKIN AT THE CLOISTER AND SEE IF SHE HAS THAT BOOK

WHAT DR LUCAS HAS READ WILL READILY BE READ BY THOSE WHO CAN UNDERSTAND FOR IT IS MORE INFORMATIVE THAN THE BOVINE EXCREMENT YOU EXCRETE HERE DAILY FROM THE REGION OF YOUR SHELVES OF HOUSTON

DR LUCAS I THANK YOU FOR YOUR STIRLING CONTRIBUTION HERE ON BU IN SCIENTIFIC ISSUES

34. Dr.Lucas this and other studies are important to allow countries to efficiently shepherd resources.

35. The crowds would not be much smaller
    Everyone would be fighting against a time schedule which will not accommodate all.in a timely fashion
    So here we go again my letter did not get in on xday because they were too many people of Now i have to wait till next week
    Only in barbados simply goes out the door and chaos enters
    Recently i was in another country and the supermarket managers had put in place x number of people to enter at any giving time so that the matter of social distancing wouldn’t become a problem and the hours were regular hours extending to early evening
    However i suspect that the short hours goes along with govt trying to include a measure to protect food shortages

36. Why would the crowds be larger if only a few letters of the alphabet are approved to shop?

Also doesn’t it make sense for you to wait before jumping in with your DLP yard fowl self?

37. GP you are right i am not a doctor or scientist i stick to wuh i know cussing govt
    Anyway thanks fuh looking out fuh me
    Yuh see what i mean didnt even understand yuh response
    Yuh got me deddin wid laughter

38. @robert lucas April 11, 2020 7:58 PM “As I predicted the curfew is being extended.”

Time to send in an invoice for your very professional advice (-:

39. From what i see some letters are longer on some days
    I do not have to wait 1 letter can represent many names duffus

40. @Mariposa April 11, 2020 10:03 PM “Recently i was in another country and the supermarket managers had put in place x number of people to enter at any giving time.”

It is a good thing that Auntia Mia kept the borders open then, otherwise how would you have got back to home sweet home?

41. Oh. For reference duffus. David go take a look at the names in the phone book alphabetically and you would see how many names can represent one single letter

42. Silly WomanApril 11, 2020 10:18 PM

@Mariposa April 11, 2020 10:03 PM “Recently i was in another country and the supermarket managers had put in place x number of people to enter at any giving time.”

It is a good thing that Auntia Mia kept the borders open then, otherwise how would you have got back to home sweet home?
    cccccccvv cvvvvvcvvvvvvvvvvv

Oh i didnt even notice
    Thanks Mia

43. Your weave is DEFINITELY too tight. Continue to expose your hignorance.

44. It is pretty difficult to bungle this in Barbados.

We have a population which has a very low rate of smoking.
    This will keep the demand on medical resources low.

We have had no large gatherings.
    Infection rate will be low.
    No Chinese New Year celebrations or carnivals.

We are an island and who arrives are traceable.
    It will be brought here.

My feeling is the supermarket episode will not be as detrimental as feared because of our demographic but time will tell.

45. You noticed the politics of inclusion?

Sinckler is back!

46. A, B and C, Alleyne, Braithwaite and Clarke, most popular surnames chosen after emancipation.

Quakers!!

47. https://forebears.io/barbados/surnames

Top 10 …. all Quaker family names.

48. @ Mariposa April 11, 2020 10:03 PM

Mariposa is exposed. Despite the lockdown, she can travel freely and apparently holds a diplomatic passport. I hereby call on our Foreign Ministry to expose the traitorous official and dismiss her from the civil service, because she is apparently inciting hatred against our government during office hours in order to harm Barbados. If necessary, the police must subject Mariposa to an intensified interrogation in order to expose her accomplices.

I told Lorenzo and Enuff a long time ago that we must use the utmost brutality against officers who are DLP members and want to destroy Barbados.