At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, that NY post re : “The governor played down the mayor’s call to keep buildings closed as “opinion,” saying that he would decide the fate of the city’s 1.1 million public school students.” …is absurd political theater.

These two politicians of the same party have been sniping at each too much and too absurdly. It makes our stuff here look like pure child’s play. That statement by the gov was wrong and uncalled for publicly…anyhow the state has a history of that style sniping…his father and Mayor Koch did much the same.

@Dullard you are presenting GIGO stats. If as @David noted the number of tests done must be considered to at least get a comparative ratio of the positives in the countries as a first step…then how is it possible to take that quite disparate number of positives which has no base level qualifier and jump to the per capita numbers.

Sorry guy GIGO!

2. @Hal,

i am hearing she attended post secondary school and uni in the UK. i believe she specializes in something called entertainment law. it is not recognised as a traditional area of law by some practitioners lol

We shall see

3. @Dee Word

The reason for posting this link received from a BU member is to show even in the great and enlightened New York crap is happening. Barbados does not have patent in it.

4. A law degree is the default qualification for UK journalists……….

5. They wanted attention and they wanted to be famous always trying to big up themselves and push shite thieves to the front leaving their own people behind…….look how famous they are, everybody talking about them all over social media.. …..lawd…

6. @Hal

you dont have to try to convince me of that, mate

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@John A, dude I hope you get your foodstuf (via online shopping) because i really hope the govt keeps the supermarkets closed.

But clarify something for me as I have not played a game of dominoes down by Cheapside market in eons now (and all those old guys passed on anyhow] nor have I done business in those bustling Saturday crowds since either….so my brother, you have me a bit perplexed when you say “The crowds that headed for the markets today are evidence of that. What we forgot to factor in is that the small shops can not provide a balance diet. Hence people headed to the markets in abundance to get their needs”!

I am perplexed because on any regular Sat in my day with SuperCenters, BudgBuy, the Millar’s Supt, etc etc open for business Cheapside and Fairchild St used to be rocking from about 8 to 1PM or thereabouts…Covid19 alone can’t be the cause of the crowds I would surmise.

Just saying, just saying,

8. Well Ms. Fighting Imperialism is on tonight at 7pm…ah hope she knows that the people, except for dimwitted fowls ARE NOT PLEASED….neither are the people in the DIASPORA who have RELATIVES IN BARBADOS….this cockup could have been avoided…but no, they must have their cockups…

9. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oh David, trust me I got you loud and clear. I hope the folks here understand how absolutely absurd it is there tho…

…in Georgia same folly…the Gov overruled a local Mayor who had imposed social distancing regs for her local beach community. At least that was Republican and Democrat however….both the NY egomaniacs are Dems.

10. @ Greene

What is wrong with providing your child with the best possible education? I, as it happens, favours a public sector education, as I do health, but in Barbados with rogue teachers you cannot gamble with your child’s education.
    As to entertainment law, I suggest you speak to any of the magic circle lawyers. That judgement by local lawyers tell us more about them and their vision than it does about Santia’s specialism.
    In fact, criminal law, especially in magistrate’s law, is the ‘poor’ side of the law. Why do you think we still have unqualified police officers prosecuting in the magistrates’ courts.
    However, go and talk to Rihanna, Messi, Ronaldo, et al if the advice they get comes from a ‘real’ lawyer; ask them if the contracts they sign worth millions can be compared with a guy who steals a loaf of bread?
    Sports/entertainment law is at the top end of legal practice in the UK and US. A lot of it I suggest is envy. We have Wooding and Mona because people like Chief Justice Douglas did not want ‘bus drivers’ appearing in front of him.
    Do not underestimate the prejudice of the aspiring Bajan middle class. If you really want to see what they are like, read the history of Spartan and Empire cricket clubs; read why Empire was formed and how Spartan humiliated Herman Griffith.
    That kind of nasty prejudice, which had they been white would have been called segregation or apartheid, is still there. Do not forget the BLP is a coalition – trade unionists, the planters and the merchant class. These are the social forces always tugging for power and influence within the party. So when Mottley talks about consulting the Social Partnership she is going back to the 1950s and 60s.
    Before I go, here is a little joke I enjoy about Bajan lawyers. Barbados is generally underinsured and particularly in law. Yet the Bar Association cannot fill that void: either by setting up an insurance arm and providing legal insurance to the public; or by white labelling with an insurance company.
    It is money for old rope: most legal insurance involves writing letters, and for that you can charge a reasonable Bds$25 a month. Times that over 100s.
    They do not because they do not know anything about legal insurance. It is incompetence.

11. @Dullard you are presenting GIGO stats. If as @David noted the number of tests done must be considered to at least get a comparative ratio of the positives in the countries as a first step…then how is it possible to take that quite disparate number of positives which has no base level qualifier and jump to the per capita numbers.

@DPD come on boss. It was a quick and dirty walk through of some case counts.

I show per capita case counts and per capita number of tests, starting from the admittedly simplistic assumption of similar testing regimes. In the end the hypothesis that higher case counts in Bdos is driven by higher rates of testing was largely shown to be true given the much higher testing rates so far.
    Don’t take yourself to seriously. It is not meant to be a piece of analytical work.

You are not qualified to lecture the Dullard on anything related to analytics?

12. They wanted attention and they wanted to be famous always trying to big up themselves and push shite thieves to the front leaving their own people behind…….look how famous they are, everybody talking about them all over social media.. …..lawd…

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

SOMEONE TRYING TO COMPARE BARBADOS TO NEW YORK.

LIKE COMPARING 1 ANT TO AN ANTS NEST.

IN NEW YORK THESE POLITICIANS AND THEIR CROOKED BUSINESS FRIENDS WOULD HAVE BEEN ARRESTED BY NOW.

GOVERNMENT GETS INVOLVED/ENTANGLED WITH LOCAL MARIJUANA BUSINESS INCORPORATION
    GOVERNMENT GETS INVOLVED/ENTANGLED WITH LOCAL CORONAVIRUS BUSINESS INCORPORATION
    $4 MILLION NO BID GARBAGE TRUCKS SAGA
    $20 MILLION NO BID PORT SAGA

THIS IS JUST THE TIP OF THE ICEBERG.

AT THE END OF 5 YEARS THESE CORRUPT POLITICAL LAWYERS ALONG WITH THEIR PRIVATE SECTOR BUSINESS PARTNERS AND DRUG LORDS SYNDICATE WILL DO WAY MORE DAMAGE THAN THE OTHER FORMER CORRUPT DLP POLITICIANS DID IN 10.

BARBADOS YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

13. Steuspe

14. @robert lucas April 11, 2020 2:19 PM “I could never understand how the Jamaicans tolerated Seaga who was born in the USA and was really American.”

Have we forgotten how much we Caribbeans love and respect white and light skinned people?

Except for Portia has JA had a dark skinned PM yet? And how long did she last.

Portia was what we Caribbeans despise most, black and female

Just like our mothers.

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Bro deal with the details please and leave the ad hominem at the DOOR.

I made the post because on its face your posts was not realistic to me …that’s it. YOU made the post, bro…I presume when you commit finger to keyboard your data is as correct as it should be…no excuse for quick and dirty.

If we are going to lambaste the govt on errors of action surely we have a minor duty to be as careful, not so.

I am not a stats person and don’t pretend to be…I responded to data points that did not make REAL sense to me…defend the data … attacking is ridiculous!

16. Why is the president coming back tonight? Has she fully recuperated or is she cared of the Young Pretender?

17. “I presume that his shop sells food alongside fabric?”

it was described on FB as a stinking, musty fabric store…don’t think those sell any food..

And may i remind everyone…the countries everyone is trying to draw comparisons to Barbados with …this might sound kinda cold…but they can afford to bury 10 million people and some of them will have 50 million, 300 million, 200 million and so on ..people left..

the government better get this right and stop playing the ass…because if they fcuk up one more time and people die…it will be on them…

18. @Silly Woman

PJ Patterson must have been blue then lol

19. @ Dullard

Be careful of the passive/aggressive style. Don’t fall for the trick. Remember Brutus and Caesar.

20. @ de

From what I saw it looked denser to me like if more people were trying to get through earlier, so the business wasn’t as spread out over say a 10 hour day. I asked the vendor I bought from how business was and she told me they sold more by 12.30 than the would on a normal Saturday for the whole day. So based on her comments and what I saw, I would say the vegetable sellers definitely had heavier loads. Having said that i can only speak of Cheapside Market where I was, not sure of the other areas.

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mr Austin, LOL…Passive/Aggressive….Is that a moniker they labelled you with at some point, my brother.

I feel empowered and flattered to join you in the class.

I’m not a moron or dimwit today then…just a passive-aggressive…I’m moving up the charts 🤣!

22. and in Bim only the DLP has consistently had dark skinned PMs. the last one wummuh get and cussed for his broad african nose

and Portia was not dark skinned unless i have the wrong Portia

23. @Bajan in NY April 11, 2020 2:23 PM

@Greene April 11, 2020 1:31 PM

@Hal,

i dont see why you are fascinated with Santia Bradshaw?…

Have we forgotten how much we Caribbeans love and respect white and light skinned people?

Did not some of us really love and respect the light skinned David Thompson also? And how did that work out for Barbados, how did that work our for us?

Most of us do not much like or respect people who look just like us.

So no great mysteries here.

This is who we are.

24. WARU
    Somebody put you so? Why do you tell so much lies? Only y’day or day before you were arguing the packages can’t last poor families a month. Now today poor families shop every few days. Stop the melodrama and telling so much lies. Good God!

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Wow, u guys really going delve into THAT line of debate..colourism of our leaders….Ok den.

Come on folks …it’s what it is…all of us here regardless of our tone…very dark or light …have some type of white ancestry in our background…it’s what it is.

The most handsome, articulate, brassy, intelligent whatever politician who gets most support will lead the crew!.

Brother Bob was as non-black as he was Black in that same context above and he is our Black icon of the region…it is WHAT IT IS all the social philosophically and psychologically deep dive aside!

26. Fowl Enuff…same thing i said then i said now, if you can’t do basic math nor understand standard english…don’t blame me, ah know nobody in the DIASPORA coming around yall lowlife who are starving ya own people and do not even care about those with special dietary needs’.

…and tobesides…borrowing from Silly……. if the people alyuh and ya small time lowlife minority crooks like to tief from ALL DIE FROM STARVATION…alyuh FART….and ya GOING TO PRISON TOO…the UN will become involved one way or the other…yall dirty crooks like to violate ya own people’s basic human rights way too much..

27. @Greene April 11, 2020 3:12 PM “however i am told by BLP friends that she has little gravitas.”

When you say gravitas, do you mean testicles of pre-1965 vintage?

28. So far, many more Barbadians have died from the Wuahn plague in NYC than in Barbados. These are the facts.

Stop drawing conclusions about Barbados from the terrible conditions in the shit holes in the north!

If someone should live in London, I personally wish them good luck, a high life insurance and a cartridge in the pistol in the bedside table. You need the pistol in London because the NHS does not treat people above a certain age anymore. Once the fever starts, there is still time for suicide. This is much more humane than suffocating cruelly in the hallway of a crowded English hospital.

29. Austin you are a piece of work .Few days ago you were asking for the president saying she is missing in action .Now lo and behold you are asking why she coming back? Let me spell it out for you in a crisis LEADERS LEAD FROM THE FRONT UNLIKE THE LAST PM.Thos is crunch time no time for leaders learning on the job.Unlilke you i call a spade a spade and in my view Ms Bradshaw has a long way to go to impress many of us as a leaderSpeaking for myself i deal in substance not style.Ms zMottley is head and shoulders above Ms Bradshaw no worries there and will bring clarity and some calm to the situation.

30. Some of you here could not have a debate with children in the BU household.

To clarify a couple things. Last time the blogmaster ventured inside Abeds it was a reasonably well appointed outlet. Both at Sheraton and Swan Street. The other point, Mia Mottley is coming back because people are more comfortable with her addresses during the crisis than Santia.

31. WARU
    A first class liard! You’re been shown up repeatedly. Your usual get out of jail card-tief, low life wyen a cut & paste can’t help. Go scavenge for stories to paste.

32. @TLSN April 11, 2020 4:06 PM “arms, drugs, diamonds.”

You forget U.S. dollars.

Makes just about the best fake USD in the world.

33. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, that is a real LOL🤣… the Mottley admin is entrenched with no serious opposition, elections are not due for a few years yet and you REALLY want sensible folks to accept that “The other point Mia is coming back because people are more comfortable with her addresses than Santia.”….Mr Blogmaster, SERIOUSLY.

Are we back in NY selling bridges, den🤣. Come on man.

I would presume that by people you mean the BLP internal people…because why should it matter what the public think right now…perfect time to give Ms Bradshaw time to earn her scars, get greater confidence and win public approval…one assumes that’s why she gave her the deputy post in first place.

Come again David!… What’s the real scuttlebutt!

34. @Lorenz & David

We want our leader back! We need Mia Mottley more than ever.

Easter is the right celebration to invoke divine intervention for the full recovery of our leader. O Goddess Bim, oh, ye Old Gods, Nana-Buluku, Oba, Oko and Yemaya, protect our leader. If you need a human sacrifice, we have sacrificed enough to Goddess Corona.

35. @Dee Word

You may be surprised at the level of apathy directed at the opposition voice. There is no serious voice. Verla shadows finance and is obviously uncomfortable in the role. As you should know, the potency of the opposition usually comes from attacking fiscal and monetary issues. On this issue the DLP and others have been loudly silent.

So yes, people want to hear Auntie Mia, even if reluctantly from the other side.

36. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Tron, have you done stints writing scripts for a comedy series or a show like Trevor Noah’s!

Amazing scripts at times…5:18PM was hard hit, high level satire. Impressive!

Clearly one can’t take you too seriously ever.

37. @Greene April 11, 2020 4:44 PM Silly Woman. PJ Patterson must have been blue then lol.”

Oh dear. Please forgive me. How could I have forgotten my boyfriend PJ.

Understand that in his heyday I thought that he was the handsomest PM in the Commonwealth.

38. @Simple Simon

Thought you liked a PM who bowled straight.

39. Auntie Mia…if there ever was a misnomer that is it.

the feedback has been bad for the BLP when MAM is not at the helm. the BLP is constantly monitoring voter response and it has not been as consistent as when MAM is delivering her long sermons.

in addition there has been some rumblings in the camp

40. @David

now that is funny as heck. she loves Portia too and MAM, doesnt she?

41. Now, now David. Please do not be a naughty boy.

I come to town long, long, long.

I rather suspect that I have heard all the stories that you have heard…and a few more.

42. @ Greene

People say how brilliant the president is, but they do not list her qualities. Why the reluctance? Also, the president returns tonight, but is this permanent, temporary, or just a walk-on part? If it is only to stop Santia, then it does not make for team-bonding.

43. @Greene

The blogmaster is willing to bet not one boy or girl will challenge Mia.

There will always be rubbings in a large group. But seriously, 26 ministers to ensure they all top up a salary and there is rumblings? The only person is Glyne Clarke and Mottley will jettison him in a second.

If Froon was able to keep the eager 11 in check by squeezing their greedy balls just imagine the latitude Mottle6 has. Try and stick to your strength of argument and leave the politicking until GAIA opens.

44. @Greene

In context wrong gender.

45. Yea for sure people want to hear Mia
    For only one reason to see how much rope she will be using to hang herself in the PR statements
    Nothing more nothing else
    So far her messages does not match govt actions
    Going as far back ad 2018
    Corona has exposed her weaknesses from being a deceitful liar about transparency
    To sending messages dipped in Koolaid
    Messages which have failed miserably when put into action
    So there u have it David reasonable and rational reasons why people are glued to media when Mia speaks
    What could have turned out to be a a diamond making barbados shine
    Has turned out to be a dud

46. @David

sometimes you dont read yuh know.

rumblings when she is not there and about Santia

47. Why you don’t go and watch reruns of England vs Wales in rugby?

What if Santia can’t handle the pressure?

Did you not listen to the radio last week to hear how Dale Marshall and the Czar had to grab t(e m8ke at times. You think this is playing rounders in the gap?

48. Greene, you are aware of course that in Barbados the saying “you look like ya livin’ t ya aunt” means that you look like you are suffering?

Of course we also know real life aunties who do their best to promote the best interest of their neices of nepews.

In the early 60’s I had such an auntie who had moved to England and sent enough money back to my mother that we were able to install running water. A big, big deal back then.

So in Barbados auntie has two different meanings.

49. @Greene

It is not that, a blogmaster is forced to speed read through a lot of the ish posted. Apology.

50. That is your opinion which is wrong. Do you know if a general election were held tomorrow you would lose all 40 seats?