At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. The games are ending and some of you still chanting ‘Time for a third party’.
    Merge the duopoly. Time for a genuine second party.

2. Even Verla is onboard.

Maybe the prime minister is borrowing from President Trumps plan to establish a bipartisan council, in his case it is to advise the best time to reopen the country.

#weavetootight

3. Critical Analyzer Avatar

We don’t need a board of economists. They got us into this mess by putting all the money and resources into the tourism and import everything because it is cheaper mentality and hence makes economic sense.

We need a board constituted of producers that know how to produce local food and tangible products that make real money instead of people who only know how to make money by taxing and borrowing. The economists board should then come in to figure out how to properly fund the ideas of the board of producers.

Our farmers, manufacturers and real producers have been begging for help for years but only got ridiculed, met with red tape and not properly funded for decades by these same economists.

Now these same economists want to form a board to figure out how to get us out of the hole they dug and push the whole country in.

Don’t make me laugh.

4. What a brilliant speech, very reassuring. With hands all over the place to remind us she was still alive, she told us of the food we should eat, of what it means to be Barbadian, that she has recovered (well maybe, since we still have an acting prime minister), and announced membership of her investment council (well not all, just two members), including the dynamic Chris Sinckler, who for nearly ten years ran the Barbados economy in to a brick wall.
    The man who was the minister responsible for the NIS, who will offer his investment wisdom; Mr Owen Arthur, the MA Economics, who for 14 years was prime minister and minister of economic affairs, and a major critic of the president’s ambitions, has been brought in to offer his wisdom on investment policy. So he is among other things and expert on the management of airlines, and now on investments.
    And, fortunately for the nation, former PM Sandiford declined the offer. Were these decisions made in Cabinet? What is the role of this committee? Does it conflict with, or over-ride the council of economic consultants?
    Were these DLP members nominated by the party, or did the president just went above the head of the DLP leader and appointed who she wanted. And, Chris, of course, accepted? Surely not. It raises rumours again of the Four Season debacle and the alleged US$7m in introductory and legal fees. Was that rumour right?
    Of course, there is no explanation; there is never any explanation. To paraphrase what Marie Antoinette was reported to have said, they will take what they are given.
    What is really sad is that the president does not understand occasions, she is a child of politics and politics is in her DNA. Every opportunity is a political opportunity.
    She has called a meeting of CARICOM, so presumably the matter of Trinidad will be raised; she is world class, so she has been consulting not only in the region, but all over the world, including the WHO. Is she the chief medical officer?
    This self-obsessed, ego-driven, nonsensical parading must stop and the people of Barbados must come first. Let the flunkies compare objectively last night’s presentation with that of the recent one by Santia.
    What a disgrace. What a display of privilege. What a display of entitlement.

5. This is probably the tenth time I wanted to roast GP2 and held my fire.

6. @ David April 12, 2020 6:11 AM
    “For the moment let us put it down to projecting good optics to address political polorization at a time the country needs to be focussed on one enemy.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

With a clean sweep of the electoral board where would that ‘political polarization’ be found? In the Cabinet?

Even a make-believe LoO had to be concocted to project some appearance of political opposition.

Will this be the public declaration of a trade-off to drop any investigations promised to the ‘angry’ people into the deeds of corruption committed by the last DLP administration thereby exposing the evidence of farce which was supposedly contained in the red bag of political tricks displayed during the last make-believe electoral war?

What this move of inclusion is about is the co-opting of political ‘frenemies’ to preach the politics of national sacrifice by a show of support for the coming decision to cut public sector emoluments, say, by 30% right across the board but with a special allowance for those in the essential services especially in the public health sector to mitigate the full effects of downward economic adjustments which will force Bajans to live within their Covid-determined economic means.

That’s the reality facing the policymakers; not any kiss and makeup to appease the masses to rally them behind any war against Covid.

7. @Hal

MAM as usual spoke too long. most of it was waffle and baffle. imagine MAM wants bajans to return to the old ways of gardening and cooking and she employed personal stories to so do? then ask yourself if the average bajan has anything in common with the way MAM was brought up? the answer is no. but i must say the stories were good if not a bit incredible.

i like my politicians honest, which reminds of a story i heard a long time back. it goes like this- JFK was campaigning in West Virginia for the presidency when WV was a democratic state. he went to a coal mining plant shaking the hands of miners and asking for their support. a miner grabbed, inspected his hands and said, “son, you have never worked a day in your life.” without missing a beat JFK retorted pleasantly, ” Never at a job like this. i was born rich.” the miner unexpectedly replied,” you have my vote. at least you were honest enough to admit it. if i had a choice i would not work a job like this either.”

yesterday David made some tangential COVID reference to Bermuda, which caused me to read about what Bermuda is doing with regard to COVID. this is what i found. about 2 weeks ago Bermuda instituted a curfew and lockdown a week later. supermarkets, pharmacies and essential services are open. people with last names A-K shop on Mon, Wed and Fri. the other names on Tue, Thu and Sat with Sun reserved for Seniors who could also shop during the week according to last name. 25 people are allowed in and social distance is maintained with shoppers wearing masks. in fact people going about in public were told to wear masks by the Bermudan PM

a further reading showed me that Barbados is following the same path of Bermuda as to how it deals with COVID except that there is a week or so lag time in Bim.

again I wondered and called some people i know. Gabriel Abed is the crypto currency advisor for the Bermuda PM. what a small world. and the ruling party in Bermuda and the Mottleys are good friends.

i say that to say this- what MAM proposed yesterday is not novel. it is something Baje, John A, myself and others were saying from the outset and many on here pooh-poohed the idea. but in comes MAM on her white horse with said same idea dressed up in different cloth and just so everyone agrees.

look at her inclusion of Sinckler? many on here see Sinckler as a political failure but with MAM’s inclusion of him in the COVID econmic team, how will they spin that now? there is no DLP opposition in parliament to worry about so why the need to include him? is he not the same Sinckler whose economic policies were vilified in the election campaign? wasnt Sinckler part of the so called lost years under the DLP? isnt this the same Sinckler who was said to be in a porn flick and who built a mansion off the tax payers?

who says politics doesnt make for strange bedfellows?

to sum it up- the speech in typical MAM style was too long, full of waffle and baffle, contained a bit of what everyone wanted albeit a week too late, wasnt novel, wasnt inspirational unless you depend upon a politician to tell you to grow your own food and eat as well as possible. it tried to hint at being transformational but fell short (a follow-up no doubt will come soon) but it served its purpose- to reassure bajans that MAM is a saviour, she rose during Easter to save bajans from COVID.

8. @Miller

In public dissent. Nothing can be achieved if the public is polarized and lack confidence for further prospects. We experienced for ten years under Froon what the negative it will impact.

If our people continue to peer at their navels and toes and forget the horizon, we are doomed.

9. @Geeene

You should also check Cayman. Are there similarities? Both are colonies you are aware?

10. What you need on that board is not all past MOFS but a few current leaders from various parts of the business sector.

In other words the board needs representatives from agriculture, manufacturing, small business, alternative energy sector etc on it.

All MOFS do is look at the money generated, don’t you think you need some people there who actually know how to generate it as well?

11. @Miller April 12, 2020 8:03 AM

@ David April 12, 2020 6:11 AM
    “For the moment let us put it down to projecting good optics to address political polorization at a time the country needs to be focussed on one enemy.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

With a clean sweep of the electoral board where would that ‘political polarization’ be found? In the Cabinet?

Even a make-believe LoO had to be concocted to project some appearance of political opposition.

Will this be the public declaration of a trade-off to drop any investigations promised to the ‘angry’ people into the deeds of corruption committed by the last DLP administration thereby exposing the evidence of farce which was supposedly contained in the red bag of political tricks displayed during the last make-believe electoral war?

I could not agree with you more. I hope Mia has a good answer when asked, why waste tax payers money paying to investigate alleged wrong doing when the person who was in charge of the purse strings is apparently given a clean bill of integrity health.

12. 12, 2020 7:56 AM
    Even Verla is onboard.

Maybe the prime minister is borrowing from President Trumps plan to establish a bipartisan council, in his case it is to advise the best time to reopen the country
    ccccccvvvvvbbbbbbbbbbbb

Wushful thinking Mia in early May formed a 26 member board to deal with all aspect of the economy
    Mia only interest is unto herself as shown through her many policies
    Chris is another player in her political war game
    Hopefully many dlp supporters in the next couple of days would sneeze this plan off and the droplets like Corona would send Mia and her strategist looking for a cure to save the govt from the throngs of political death

13. General question:
    Have you ever seen the village pot-hounds running in front of the car? They prefer to run after it with their harsh and discordant bark.

14. @John A

Like you the blogmaster does not have a good feeling about the recently appointed.

15. I cannot recall that post…
    I

16. “including the dynamic Chris Sinckler, who for nearly ten years ran the Barbados economy in to a brick wall.”

couldn’t keep up the smoke and mirrors pretense of being enemies forever…the big red bag of evidence of DLP corruption got too heavy…ya now have to keep all eyes on those close friends and business partners, it’s the people who will be robbed once again.

Wonder what all the other consultants are needed for…..bad Enuff the current parasites are useless, now two more are added, let’s see what happens next.

“We need a board constituted of producers that know how to produce local food and tangible products that make real money instead of people who only know how to make money by taxing and borrowing.”

still can’t believe they are proud of being such borrowing dependent asses, bigging up themselves about how much debt they put the people in and must repay. A small island does not need to be that dependent….FOOD takes precedent over everything else, they must be waiting for someone to sell them the soil which is free, like Donville the fool went to Canada looking for thieves to sell them the sun which is free…lol

there is one country, believe it is a kingdom that refused to get involved in the IMF shingdings and borrowing scams…..they did not want any rating agencies or anyone else roping them into this index and that index and they are doing just fine, they asserted that their people are to live happy lives free of debt and systemic bullshit…..that is why economists are so suspect, they are totally full of shit….and are only good at creating more problems than they solve.

“Oct 04, 2005 · Economists measure consumer confidence on the assumption that the resulting figure says something about progress and public welfare. The gross domestic product, or G.D.P., is routinely used as shorthand for the well-being of a nation. But the small Himalayan kingdom of Bhutan has been trying out a different idea.”

17. @David

what is your point?

18. We don’t even mind if she uses our ideas, that is the reason we are putting them out there, but ya done know they will act as though they thought about them all on their own, forgetting the initial cockup…that is ok too..

….but make sure those ideas are used to BENEFIT THE MAJORITY POPULATION…and not to ENRICH MINORITY THIEVES at the expense of the majority.

…..we already know the game and we know how to play it..

19. @Greene

What is wrong with feedback from all sources? Does it matter where it comes from? Barbados has a lot in common with Bermuda, Cayman, the difference being the politicking is less with greater focus on execution. Barbados needs to devise a hybrid model. Our style of politics is suffocating us.

20. @ Greene

This plague is serious and her speech was a total disgrace. And, as you so rightly said, was made up of waffle, nonsense, and verbal puke.
    I am not surprised some people like it, pigs eat anything. The big question is why is there a need for a Covid-economic council? Here is the reality: BERT is on a life -support machine and is dying a natural death; the coronavirus pandemic, which starts out as a medical/health crisis, will in time become a supply side economic crisis; the solution to any such problem will be a fiscal one, so a group of economic bandits is not the answer.
    The global economy is now tipping in to a recession, but the fall back position of tourism is unlikely to provide a crutch for bad policy planning; and, in any case, politician are not investment experts, even if Bajan politicians think they can do it all.
    The Covid-economic council is just PR, it is optics, headline catching, but in reality is a still birth. Bajans deserve better.
    By the way, why is she consulting the Social Partnership like a pregnant woman consulting a midwife. Get rid of the parasites. I once attended a meeting of the Social Partnership at the BWU headquarters and had to control myself. It was worse then the Four-H club we ran as a young teenager. It is hopeless. Only one person impressed me at that meeting and I would not identify him/her.

21. @Tron
    No, seriously. I must apologize to Piece, the legend and to Wiley. OSA and Sinckler are two apocalyptic horsemen. They herald the end. Obviously, Mia Mottley is at her wit’s end. Mia’s advisors aren’t worth their money. They failed magnificently….

The same fellows who, over a 25 year period, took the economy to the brink over are now resurrected to bring fresh ideas and innovation? What a farce!

But then again, this has always been the way we do things in Barbados.

22. @David

man, you have to explain some more what you mean. what does Bim have in common with Cayman and Bermuda? and how are their politics different from Bim’s? i am not getting you here

23. @ Greene

Hold your breath.

24. @Greene

Continue to do your research, start with the adversarial nature of our politics compared to those countries. The influence of an expat an business class.

25. SW

As from July 1st anyone applying for a pension should have to provide the info for direct deposit .

For those that are already on pension – Government through the ministry responsible for the elderly
    Open an account at bank most accessible to the pensioner, get bank card and someone available with pc to show them how to make a PIN or go by they national number. person/s (through) ministry can be available at supermarkets to assist for about three month to assist. after three month they should be able to go on their.

start with the younger pensioners and move to the older one (who may never change)

Can be done in phases.

MARI

You bored? you missed me?

26. Trust is missing and the optics does not make sense
    The smell deception is filling the air

27. Well now that we have had the lie about the incompetence of Chris exposed, let’s see if we can find a suitable place for Donville. Surely in this time of crisis we can find a place on deck for another hand. Matter of fact, there may even be a place for Lord E and his crew!

Sure this is a crisis like none other faced by the modern world or this country, but with the largest cabinet ever to grace these shores, and after complaining that the last administration was to0 large, and now to appoint an economic team, allegedly powerful enough to rival any on the World Bank, it is now necessary to conscript PM Arthur and of all people, SINCLAIR, to an economic task team? What a slap in the faces to the current gurus.

Politics of inclusion, collusion, confusion, call it what you may, this move is to be condemned even if the Almighty was the author. It stinks to high heaven and is insulting to the supposed intelligence of an electorate that voted the scoundrels out of office and puts a lie to all that we were told about the ex Minister in question.

This also sends a message that not one of the orthodontic bastards will ever have to face a charge or go before the law courts for the financial rape of this country.

By the way, who will be called upon to pay these additional and original useless, dare I say, buffoons?

28. @David

you warned me not to underestimate Enuff; my turn- dont underestimate me.

just tell me what you are trying to say

29. “David April 11, 2020 11:28 AM #: The blogmaster prefers to harvest solutions, offer advise about how we can improve to meet the oncoming challenges.”

@ David BU

Interesting comments, and I agree with you.

However, according to David Ellis, I’m going to play ‘the devil’s advocate,’ which may not go down too well because BU’s ‘golden boy’ is involved.

BU has been ‘discussing’ the BLP’s ‘foul-ups, bleeps and blunders’ since mid-march. and, in all fairness, Caswell Franklyn hasn’t presented anything NEW in his article Barbadians AREN’T AWARE of…… or that WASN’T ‘discussed’ on BU.

This is essentially another article to give certain individuals another opportunity to post the same shiite over and over again. As Enuff mentioned, “same shit rehashed.”

What concerns me is, what the Opposition People’s Party for Democracy and Development was doing during the period after the legislation went to Parliament and up to the time Mr. Franklyn’s article was posted?

So, what we have here is a situation where the ruling administration initially “wasted 12 days” before bringing legislation to parliament that was already in the statute book and a further THREE MONTHS of ‘bungling” with the virus.

And, it took an Opposition Senator the same THREE MONTHS to realize “the situation has now reached a stage that compelled (him) to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.”

Did Mr. Franklyn express the concerns he outlined in his article to Opposition Leader Rev. Atherley?

If, he did, then why didn’t Rev. Atherley hold a press conference at the Opposition Leader’s office or the party’s headquarters, where he could have expressed their concerns and Mr. Franklyn explain in detail…… while presenting ALTERNATIVE SOLUTIONS.

Okay, Mr. Franklyn SPOKE UP, albeit criticisms ONLY, which is the norm for him. But, as a member of a political party that’s trying to woo the electorate, (USING YOUR COMMENTS), in what way has he “ADVISED about how WE can IMPROVE to MEET the ONCOMING CHALLENGES?”

Bear in mind, the deadliest day reported in Italy was on March 28 with 971 deaths; on April 3, Spain reported 950 fatalities and yesterday, the UK recorded 980 fatalities as the result of COVID-19.

30. @Greene

You will have to endure the crucible of entry to Bajan politics LOL.

The blogmaster did a sweep of alternative media and the major criticism of Mottley is the appointment of Sinckler et al. There is popular support for her position pushed last night. There is zero political stock the DLP has earned so far. The strategy of the DLP so far is to react to BLP missteps. It is not a sustainable tactic.

31. “i dont see why you are fascinated with Santia Bradshaw? she is a joker.”

@ Mr. Greene

As an aspiring politician, people reading BU will not judge you on the rational responses to other issues, but on the biased, rhetorical political diatribe you often spew in this forum.

I believe many Barbadians will be also unimpressed with you as a political candidate…..

………… and may even likewise refer to you as a “joker.”

But, leh me tell yuh, up front. Yuh gine get 1 less vote if yuh running in my constituency,

Hahahahahahahahaha

32. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, you need not go that far back re “Tell it to those who went before us, Winston Churchill comes to mind. Do not down play the benefit of propaganda in times of crisis.”

Think of George Bush with the megaphone in downtown Manhattan hands cameraderily around the shoulders of a weary and dishelved Fire Captain (senior officer) at the height and at the heart of the 9-11 crisis… there was nothing inherently misleading about that imagery but yet it can be considered a form of proganda : information used to promote or publicize a particular political cause or point of view.

But the best recent one was when Obama enlisted both former presidents Bush and Clinton to lead the crisis recovery after Haiti’s earthquake devastation back in 2010.

So I agree with you…same old, same old.

However @Donna says it best: “This politics of inclusion is the politics of illusion, delusion and confusion..”

33. “The political class has ‘trumpeted’ its reveille to wake up the stupid masses from their slumber of political stupidity by raising the BDLP flag showing their true colours of blatant hypocrisy and deceit.

The naïve and simple Bajan voters have been truly politically sodomized indeed.”

Recharging for Round 2….Miller..

…if decades of the same history is anything to go by, these ain’t done yet, we done know they never learn anything and are always looking for openings and opportunites because they done know the short memories of Bajans, just like we know they too suffer with the short memory syndrome..

34. @David,

i guess i will not get a response from u re the Cayman and Bermuda thing …oh well.

re – the lastest thing- the thing about politics is that what isnt an issue today becomes one tomorrow.

a week is a long time in politics they say.

i have all confidence that the BLP bungling will not stop at this speech

35. @Artax,

and just when i was about to offer you the post of Greene’s campaign manager, you so disappoint.

so you agree with HAL that she is one for the future?

36. @ David.

To gather ministers of finance all that will come from that is alternate taxation methods or what they will see as tax incentives. They do not know what the various industries like agriculture that have been neglected for decades will need. What the PM should have done is call for the formation of a panel made up of various sectors of the actual economy.

In other words we know in the short to medium term tourism will have its challenges, hence foreign exchange income will be challenged. So the goal should be how can we save on foreign exchange demand? Two areas that jump out are alternative energy and agriculture. Both of these sectors we have control over. Then we should look at the areas that should be improved, so that when tourism returns others can capitalise. One area that annoys me is to go in to souvenir shops and see Chinese made souvenirs with Barbados on them! Here again hearing from the small business association and assisting them to get more locally made products out there has an upside. Also what other attractions can we create for the tourism sector who have been flogging the same ones for years. We should be seeking ideas so that we can reopen an improved product, as tourism will be more competitive than ever going forward.

The last thing we need now is politicians sitting round a big mahogany table, who have no experience as entrepreneurs or actual hands-on producers of anything tangible other than how to tax bajans.

37. “So i heard govt has implemented a new strategy to get people shopping in orderly fashion at the supermarkets. Now with this alphabet soup strategy. Did govt mention if the supermarket had guidelines in place to accommodate these people which can handle the flow of customers in short periods?”

Well, well, well, well…….

Mariposa NEVER ceases to amaze me.

This is the same individual who recommended this method of shopping a few days ago.

It is obvious she criticizes just for the sake of being critical.

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Artax, nothing wrong with your devilish advocacy…spot on.. as is now the BU phrase of the moment!

@David you made a statement per: “Maybe the prime minister is borrowing from President Trumps plan to establish a bipartisan council, in his case it is to advise the best time to reopen the country.”… are you suggesting their motivations are the same!

You are an astute political reviewer so you absolutely know that POTUS will convene any such bipartisan group for one simple reason: not to be blamed for reigniting another COVID spread!

He has ZERO interest in bipartisanship generally so bluntly stated this is just another way of projecting his narcissistic persona …in this case: “you see I didnt screw up , they did”.

I need not go into chapter n verse with you on how THAT narrative is already being gamed out and presented.

So tell me bro, are you suggesting with all your sweet prose that MAM is driven by similiar motivations!

39. @Hall

what I find about MAM is she is all talk. there is v little follow up and the results are never known.

talk talk talk bout every every everything and produces nothing nothing nothing

one time we used to call those type of people con artist

40. Artax

This is the same individual who recommended this method of shopping a few days ago.

It is obvious she criticizes just for the sake of being critical.
    xxxccccccccccccc
    Hell No
    I never recommended any alphabet soup strategy

41. “David April 11, 2020 11:28 AM #: The blogmaster prefers to harvest solutions, offer advise about how we can improve to meet the oncoming challenges.” @ David BU Interesting comments, and I agree with you.

Harvest solutions? Advice “about how we can improve to meet the oncoming challenges”?

This is an e-rumshop. The Blogmaster, like everyone else here, is punting.

42. @ Greene

I have said here on numerous occasions, but being Barbados people do not stop to think, the president needs sound and independent advice. She is a great talker and she likes talking – sometimes for hours on end, but she is also convinced she is always right.
    The CONTENT of her speeches are often nonsense. This is so for two major reasons: first, she adlibs and does not like speaking from prepared speeches, so she become repetitious, facetious, bumbling, tells what she thinks are jokes are the wrong time and irrelevant for the occasion (ie grow more food etc and my mother named me Mia Amor for a reason) such as a moment of national disaster.
    The second Faultline is that she is never held to account by her party members or the media. They indulge her fantasies, an opportunity she would not have even with local papers in the UK. Then, of course, she likes the sound of her own voice, it is like an addiction.
    The real issue that puzzles me is the claim of how bright she is, which no doubt has some truth to it, but no one, not even her biggest fans, are prepared to tell us about these exceptional qualities. She is a ‘great’ leader by default. Outside politics, what has she ever led? Where is the evidence of great leadership?
    Then there is the matter of the ‘boring’ details, which she clearly dislikes. But the details matter, the end result of this is chaos and confusion in policy making. It is this last point that will seriously damage the prospects of the nation.

43. @ dpD

I prefer to look a issues objectively.

BTW, have you noticed the blogmaster did not respond?

l didn’t expect him to.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

@ Mr. Greene

Thank you for your kind consideration. However, as long as you are ‘running for the duopoly,’ I’ll respectfully refuse the offer..

But, despite that fact he’s always advocating for Bajans not to vote for lawyers (assuming you’re one), perhaps your mate would be a much better choice for campaign manager.

Although he is a man that says one thing in the AM and does the complete opposite in the PM, if he views you as being in ‘his corner,’ he may perform ‘exceptionally well.’ His skills with sarcasm and ‘manipulating the truth’ to his advantage, are unmatched. So, he might just be able to secure a win for you.

Oh, before I forget. You ‘said,’ “what I find about MAM is she is all talk. there is v little follow up and the results are never known”……… which may be true.

But according to one of the resident Trump supporters, GP….. ‘despite what you say, she IS the PM…. And she will remain PM until God is ready to remove her. THIS IS A FACT THAT CANNOT BE REFUTED. UH LIE?’

Hahahahahahahaha

44. (Quote):
    talk talk talk bout every every everything and produces nothing nothing nothing…(Unquote).

You can’t such a blanket statement. The PM is facing a crisis never ever seen in modern Barbados.

At least she contributed to the deferral of the Devaluation of the Bajan Mickey Mouse dollar in 2018 which the same Stinkliar carried to the brink.

If MAM can resort to Stinkliar why not Delisle Worrell who is more au fait, even if only theoretically, with economic storm about to hit Barbados like a category 5 hurricane?

Prospects of economic recovery have to be real dismal for any one in their right mind to want to touch that Covid–infected leper of finance even with a barge pole.

Who next to appoint? Greenverbs to show them how to steal millions from policyholders while still living large off the hog instead of singing behind bars like Madoff and Stanford?

Sugar is almost dead and now tourism is in ICU on a barely working ventilator;
    so why not put sinkliar the undertaker on standby.

45. I have seen many of the suggestion that were made by other Barbadians and whilst I love their optimism, they have avoided the hard questions that must be asked and answered.

I do not want to appear as an apologist or a supporter of the current state, but before we get to a future without tourism we must live today and tomorrow. I will post this here in the hope that someone with even more knowledge than what I have can take it further.

“In 2019, 2.76 percent of the employees in Barbados were active in the agricultural sector, 19.19 percent in industry and 78.05 percent in the service sector.”

” In 2017 Travel & Tourism directly supported 17,500 jobs (13.5% of total employment). This is expected to rise by 2.6% in 2018 and rise by 2.2% pa to 22,000 jobs (17.6% of total employment) in 2028. Visitor exports generated BBD2,537.9mn (USD1,268.9mn), 68.2% of total exports in 2017. ”

“In 2017, the total contribution of Travel & Tourism to employment, including jobs indirectly supported by the industry was 40.5% of total employment (52,500 jobs). This is expected to rise by 2.6% in 2018 to 54,000 jobs and rise by 2.2% pa to 67,000 jobs in 2028 (52.6% of total). ”

Above, we have the 2017 and 2019 numbers and the 2018 projections. I cannot vouch for the accuracy of the numbers.

Tourism?
    What will replace tourism?
    What can we scale up in a matter of months/weeks to replace the hurt cause by job losses in tourism?
    Can we afford to just allow this industry to die overnight without having a replacement on hand?

Agriculture?
    Currently, agriculture accounted for 2.76% of employees.
    Whilst food security is of paramount importance, how many of the displaced workers in the tourist sector can be employed in this sector and immediately?
    Even if all displaced workers are willing to work in agriculture, how many workers can this industry accommodate?

One blogger like to state that things should be taken in context. Many of the answers paraded on BU are devoid of context. They are the easy answers. They are the voice of opposition without looking at the substance of the question.

Mia does not have this luxury of embracing these grand answers. She cannot allow tourism to die overnight; to do so would be to create a version of hell on earth; mass unemployment, hunger, riots, ……

She has to make the tough decisions. She must provide real solutions. Her hand is on the wheel and not on the keyboard. In my opinion one of the massive failures of this government is its inability to tell the folks the whole truth and nothing but the truth “Folks, if you think things are tough now, then wait and see what happens if tourism dies and we don’t have a replacement. One word – HELL”

46. @Greene

The BLP may bungle, however, the DLP and other parties must position to capitalize right? Two years and NONE of the political parties have declared a full slate of candidates with any nous. They expect to waltz into the constituencies with a year to go and say “gummuh” de vote. To top it off, none of the candidates have leaders to project a long coat tail to drag the marginals along.

What disrespect!

47. @John

They are others on the Council, a mix of former MOFs and business people?

48. @Dee Word

Do nt forget the mantra of ALL politicians.

49. By appointing certain persons to positions of influence and so disregarding the many serious allegations of malfeasance, only contributes to a sense of impunity among the political class.

50. Donville was not available and so the political rehabilitation of Chris Sinckler has begun, can the “erstwhile schoolboy” be far behind or is that a bridge too far? Don’t forget “Today is a funny night” and BLP apologists are apoplectic.

The speech was as usual too long and who cares about personal anecdotes but I am happy the Gov’t has taken steps in the right direction to resolve the issues that plagued the previous instructions, some will nitpick but you can’t please everyone. If they were borrowed from another jurisdiction who cares everyone is looking for what works and copying them. Let’s be calm and observe the social distances guidelines.

Happy Easter to all