At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. @John

If you factor minus 23 other letters does this help to level it? Also remove pensioners who have a special allocation? A no brainer?

2. https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prevent-getting-sick/diy-cloth-face-coverings.html

Sewn Cloth Face Covering

Materials

Two 10”x6” rectangles of cotton fabric
    Two 6” pieces of elastic (or rubber bands, string, cloth strips, or hair ties)
    Needle and thread (or bobby pin)
    Scissors
    Sewing machine

Cut out two 10-by-6-inch rectangles of cotton fabric. Use tightly woven cotton, such as quilting fabric or cotton sheets. T-shirt fabric will work in a pinch. Stack the two rectangles; you will sew the mask as if it was a single piece of fabric.
    Fold over the long sides ¼ inch and hem. Then fold the double layer of fabric over ½ inch along the short sides and stitch down.
    Run a 6-inch length of 1/8-inch wide elastic through the wider hem on each side of the mask. These will be the ear loops. Use a large needle or a bobby pin to thread it through. Tie the ends tight.
    Don’t have elastic? Use hair ties or elastic head bands. If you only have string, you can make the ties longer and tie the mask behind your head
    Gently pull on the elastic so that the knots are tucked inside the hem. Gather the sides of the mask on the elastic and adjust so the mask fits your face. Then securely stitch the elastic in place to keep it from slipping.

Source: U.S. Centers for Disease Control

3. As regards lung function, New York contains a large high risk population, those who were near the Ground Zero.

We have no such comparable issue.

New York is a special case.

New York also had extremely large gatherings at the critical time for this virus.

We should not fear, be vigilant but we will get through this ok.

4. DavidApril 11, 2020 10:25 PM

Your weave is DEFINITELY too tight. Continue to expose your hignorance

Waiting fuh you to expose my weave
    Yuh blasted liar
    Now that i have exposed the glaring missteps in the alphabet strategy yuh vex
    It aint gonna work not enough time
    Govt still insist in hiding the fact that There is a food shortage reason why they continue to bump heads and private sector say “agree” at meetings and then resorts to do as they dam pleases

5. April 11, 2020 10:36 PM

If you factor minus 23 other letters does this help to level it? Also remove pensioners who have a special allocation? A no brainer?

“Forebears knowns about 9,840 unique surnames in Barbados and there are 29 people per name.”

According to the website.

Alleyne, Braithwaite and Clarke contain according to the website >13,000 or about 4,000 per name for just these three.

Not sure if I trust the figures in the website but I know from my experience in Barbadian genealogy and the techniques I use that some family names are far more popular than others and it comes from the time after emancipation when former slaves chose their surnames.

6. Although I can find my surname here as early as 1662, today there are few if any like me!!

I am quite unique!!

All it means I think is that the early bearers of my surname left as did many others at the time.

My name is here today only because of my father who happened to be here and met my mother.

Was he a descendant of the first bearers of his surname or did one of his ancestors choose the name I know not.

7. So a senior citizen could go either in his/her time slot or according to the letter.

8. A perusal of the shopping schedule would certainly reveal that the common names have been taken into consideration.

Some people just don’t seem to tire of stupidity. Sometimes I have to take a break from the blog just to get away from it. Some people just cannot assess ANYTHING through a broad lens. It is so liberating NOT TO HAVE A NARROW, SELF-SERVING AGENDA that I pity those who do not allow themselves to experience it.

This would be a good time to face one’s self in the mirror and attempt some self-improvement. The same old dirty attitudes cannot provide the impetus we will need to dig ourselves out of the economic fallout from this crisis.

Some of us should put aside our destructive tendencies and seek to be constructive. Nothing is more rewarding!

9. @John

Using a little commonsense which slot do you think the majority will prefer?

10. Does BARP membership qualify as Senior Citizen, 50?

At what age can a Bajan trade in the old ID Card for a new Senior Citizen Card?

Just trying to be helpful.

11. The blogmaster is open to being educated about why Sinckler was co opted on this investment council by Mottley.

12. Verla De Peiza
    4 hrs ·
    Thank you PM for listening to suggestions. And for being big enough to reach across the divide.

13. @ David who asked ” why Sinckler was co opted ?”

That is a question for Miller or Piece the Legend.

I am a cynic so I will keep my opinion to myself.

14. @ David April 12, 2020 12:27 AM

The inclusion of Chris Sinckler, the least gifted man in the history of the whole Cearibbean, is once again a masterpiece of our leader.

With the doddery old man OSA and the challenged Sinckler, she has two ideal scapegoats for the coming economic catastrophe.

No, seriously. I must apologize to Piece, the legend and to Wiley. OSA and Sinckler are two apocalyptic horsemen. They herald the end. Obviously, Mia Mottley is at her wit’s end. Mia’s advisors aren’t worth their money. They failed magnificently. Anyone who denies this is either mentally ill or already has syphilis in the head.

This is my LAST posting on BU. I will now retire and watch the island descend into chaos.

Happy Easter and never to be seen again.

15. @ Silly Woman April 11, 2020 10:16 PM

I do not want any thing in return. Any one trained in microbiology could easily have done the same’ The part about using serum from recovered subjects is well known and the manufacture of the ELISA test kits should have been done by the local University. Unfortunately, the University is filled with Prima Donnas who refuse to do any meaningful research work. The lecturers strut around the like peacocks. Have you heard anything coming from the University about using serum from recovered persons? The University should have been spear-heading the effort. All it is doing is producing models that are of little benefit since all the parameters of the pathogenicity and virulence of the Wuhan virus are not known.

16. @ GP April 11, 2020 9:43 PM
    Like you, I try to educate the populace in the sciences. You have been trying to tell persons that the drug Trump is talking about is what one would call generally recognized to be safe (GRAS). It has been in use for a long time so its contraindications are known. Any how in a case like what we have, one has to try novel approaches and explore new treatments based on sound scientific reasoning. Such an approach can result in failure or success. Anyhow thanks for your kudos.
    I had a look at your presentation post for Good Friday. Very well presented. I like the what you did interspersing science to explain certain Biblical depictions.

17. @ Mariposa April 11, 2020 9:19 PM

Good.

18. @ Silly Woman April 11, 2020 6:06 PM
    You are becoming a bio-statistician. Soon you won’t have time for that garden.

19. @ Silly Woman April 11, 2020 10:41 PM

“Bobby pin” I haven’t heard the term used in years. My mum used to use them. You sure it isn’t Bobbin pin?

20. @ John April 11, 2020 11:00 PM
    I read some where that the name Payne is seldom found these days in the UK. Dalrymple also

21. @ David April 11, 2020 10:06 PM

Apparently the supermarkets are not sticking to what is promised .For instance there was supposed to be special time for senior citizens only. One of my brothers went only to discover that it was not so. Only five senior citizens were allowed in from a total of twenty-five. The other twenty were not senior citizens. If the supermarkets say only seniors from 7-8 AM, the conditions must be enforced.

22. What is BU’s view on the president’s presentation to the nation?

23. If they want the police to do their jobs, they need the requisite equipment, don’t be boasting about all the hundreds of millions ya borrowing but yet the frontline workers, yes, police are frontline workers too…have complaints….don’t wait until they start dropping dead like flies to rush around trying to address it..

“officers, who on the frontline of the battle against COVID-19 have begun to publicly express fears about inadequate protection from the potentially lethal virus as they interact with the public daily.

President of the Police Association Mervin Grace this evening complained that the personal protective equipment (PPE) which the force’s administration had promised remains elusive.

Grace told Barbados TODAY he was not totally satisfied with the measures put in place to protect the men and women of the constabulary.

“There are still a lot of things that are lacking that we asked for that are not in place as yet. The answer is no, we are not a hundred per cent satisfied as yet,” the police association’s leader stated.

Asked to identify some of those things which are lacking Grace responded:”Let’s say it is not everything that we asked for that we have gotten as yet.

“We have been advised that the things are coming they are not there as yet. Things that people are being told are in place are not in place.”

He went on to tell Barbados TODAY that police officers are even hearing in the media that measures were in place but they are not seeing the evidence.

Pressed to state what timelines had been given to police officers for the promised materials to be forthcoming Grace suggested there were none.

He said: “No. Some of things I am being told are financial issues, I don’t know why. But, we will wait and see how that turns out.”

24. Maybe Sinckler is there so that they can do the OPPOSITE of whatever he suggests. What NOT to do!

I bet she will say it is an attempt to show that we are all in this together.

I believe it is a big mistake. Same as the wholehearted embrace of Baloney. It erodes trust if ever there was any. One cannot say a man lacks integrity and then put him on the board of a charity. One cannot say a man is incompetent and then hire him as an adviser.

Who are we to believe – pre-election Mia or post election Mia?

Business as usual! Is the electorate on the outside and the usual suspects on the inside. The political class and the business class mekking bare mock sport at de people!

This politics of inclusion is the politics of illusion, delusion and confusion..

25. Yeah Silly…don’t know why this government would think the people would need Abed of all people to sell them masks when people know how to sew on the island, it is insulting and disrespectful to continue the weakminded sell out shite of acting like Bajan people cannot help themselves and don’t know how to design or create anything…and need halfassed crooked minorities to be involved in everything…..damn asses for leaders.

“This is my LAST posting on BU. I will now retire and watch the island descend into chaos.”

well, will wonders never cease, she might soon give Sinckler Dale’s job, we can be sure don’t care how much they stole from the people and how much they helped Maloney steal over the “LOST 10 YEARS” that this government used on a political platform to be elected, just like the deceased Holder child and his mother…..they will now never be prosecuted for their CRIMES AGAINST THE PEOPLE.

sorry all those crimes by tiefing sell out DLP politicians cannot be pinned on the dumb fowls and see them all incarcerated.

26. DavidApril 12, 2020 12:27 AM

The blogmaster is open to being educated about why Sinckler was co opted on this
    investment council by Mottley

Xxxxxxxcxxxxxccccxxcxcx

Mottley style is one of if i cant beat them join them
    She couldnt beat OSA so she took that old worn out horse whose shelf life had expired and give him about three different jobs with this being the latest all at tax payers money
    OSA on liat board
    Another was to do with some big wigs council of assembly meetings here in barbados last year and now this COVID board
    Any how the same principal applies here with chris cant beat them ( dlp supporters join them ) giving chris this uppity job would stop the flames of fire rushing from the dlp quarters all but ready to burn the govt house down
    I must say good try Mia and that master piece will work but for how long time will tell
    Meanwhile one will notice for a short period that the mounting toll of COVID infections and deaths would rise and the criticism would be less vocal
    One thing for sure i would not buy into this new found interest of Mia deceitful plan of patriotic gift
    My first interest lies in the policies and measures which have place barbadians under severe pressure and fear during this time of isolation

27. I wonder if those apparatchiks that cussed Chris blind will now fork their tongues and start singing his praises.

28. @Dullard

Why?

It appears the prime minister made a ‘wholesale’ decision to ask all living former ministers of finance. The criteria for membership was not based on demonstrated ability LOL.

29. “I wonder if those apparatchiks that cussed Chris blind will now fork their tongues and start singing his praises.”

aka the mutating fowls.

30. @ David
    Dis this surprise you? I found it shocking.

31. @Dullard

For the moment let us put it down to projecting good optics to address political polorization at a time the country needs to be focussed on one enemy.

32. For the moment let us put it down to projecting good optics to address political polorization at a time the country needs to be focussed on one enemy.

Lolol. Come on David, you are reaching and I know you said that through gritted teeth.
    Optics are useless in times of crisis.

33. @Dullard

Tell it to those who went before us, Winston Churchill comes to mind. Do not down play the benefit of propaganda in times of crisis.

34. Look i tip my hat to Chris for ( what i belive to be his intent on putting people and country first)
    However i cant but ask of Chris where was you voice or visibility during the period beginning from May 2018 where the voices of many were calling on the dlp for support as govt measures plunged many households into the depths of poverty
    I truly asked Where was your voice and visibility.

35. He had no voice because he had no credibility.

36. DavidApril 12, 2020 6:27 AM

He had no voice because he had no credibility

So how is it that Mia has found credibility in Chris to put him on some COVID economic board
    Consistency is the word of the day
    Yes Mia has shown that she will be consistent in not allowing anyone to get in her way
    Even if it means presenting an illusion that will satisfy all and end with gratification for herself
    Very shocking indeed
    As for Chris the fellow has been used
    His time an knowledge is valuable in more ways than one and Mia gets that
    Now over to the blp supporters who have no other choice but to endorse Mia choice after 10 years of calling Chris a dunce
    Now i smile and think to myself there must be hope some where out there for Mariposa after all she has been called a dunce

37. @WURA-War-on-U April 12, 2020 4:37 AM

Well, well, WURA, you can now rest your battle-weary self.

You have been finally vindicated and now deserving of a medal of bravery as you rest on your laurels.

The political class has ‘trumpeted’ its reveille to wake up the stupid masses from their slumber of political stupidity by raising the BDLP flag showing their true colours of blatant hypocrisy and deceit.

The naïve and simple Bajan voters have been truly politically sodomized indeed.

If the voters wanted to hear or have anything to do with that lot of political pipsqueak incompetent bullshitters they would NOT have done that 30-0 demolition job on that cadre of charlatans.

If the incompetent couldn’t handle the local economic epidemic of 2013 how can the appointment of Chris contribute to current pandemic crisis?

What ‘special’ expertise did that pathological liar acquire while in office that cannot be found in the current Cabinet?

The country does not need a liar at this stage of pending economic doom and social gloom but a healer speaking the truth.

Is Fumble also part of this national crisis management task force?
    Or is he that smart to smell a rat about to jump from a sinking economic ship in the same way he did not fall for OSA’s bid to sell MAM down the political river prior to the 2013 general elections?

Who else would this administration be looking at to offer a hand of salvation?
    Pornville and his sidekick still free as a bird in Bim?

Will the Baloney boy be leading by example and make his contribution to the National Charity’ equivalent to the amount of duties and taxes the same crooked Chris waived on the luxury vehicle imported for an invisible (like Covid) sales director working at a hotel which will never see the light of day?

Piece de Legend and Willie Skinner, where are you guys? Why are you ‘MIA’?

BU needs your prescient contributions at this time of national shame and scandal in the Bajan family.

38. And David try this out for size
    The politics of inclusion is a tested and tried strategy when govts see their numbers falling

39. It is a tested strategy to weaken the opposition.

40. Take 1/2 – Animal Farm
    “However i cant but ask of Chris where was you voice or visibility during the period beginning from May 2018 where the voices of many were calling on the dlp for support as govt measures plunged many households into the depths of poverty
    I truly asked Where was your voice and visibility.”

We see the beginning of slow distancing from Chris Sinckler. I am waiting to see the slow embrace of Chris by the other side. To keep balance on the good ship Barbados as some move from the left others must move from the right. But here is what happens to the political class

Welcome to “Animal Farm
    “Twelve voices were shouting in anger, and they were all alike. No question, now, what had happened to the faces of the pigs. The creatures outside looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already it was impossible to say which was which.”

Translation
    Twelve voices were shouting in anger, and they were all alike. No question, now, what had happened to the faces of the politicians. The yardfowls outside looked from BLP to DLP, and from DLP to BLP, and from BLP to DLP again; but already it was impossible to say which was which.

41. Ms Mottley as expected came across as the heavyweight politician she is.She was calm and assured.Ms Motley was detailed in explaining the readon for the extention of the curfew for health concerns.She spoke of the necessity to tweak certain key areas in a fluid situation having heard the cries of bajans and as expected has reopened the supermarkets, Banks, Credit Unions and Hardwares etc along with allowing vendors to sell the fruits and vegetables.Ms Mottley also made a plea TO STAY FOCUS AND IGNORE THE NAYSAYERS AND THEIR FAKE NEWS which on here would include persons like Mariposa, Austin, John A, Waru, Greene, Bajeposa and a few others whose daily duty is to try to pull down Barbados for petty political reasons not caring about the welfare of bajans.Therefore we should ignore these persons going forward. My only disappointment was the return of Mr Sinckler who in my opinion in conjuction with the ex PM put the country in the deep hole it was in post 2018.Therefore i do not know what Mr Sinckler will bring to the table , Mr Arthur i understand however we will wait and see.

42. Take 2/2 – The national Interest

I have long believed that that the division of a small island with limited resources into two camps is not in the best interest of that nation.

What it does is to split our brain power in two; it creates false differences of opinion where none should exist; it produces time of plenty (and therefore 5-year period of hardship) for one segment of the population; it cannot lead to nation building and as seen in the current crisis it leaves some unable to bridge the artificial divide.

But, what if we could sample and use the brain power from both sides? Aren’t two heads better than one? What if we could throw a genuine ‘disruptor’ into a group of “yes men”? What if we could broaden the discussion? What if we could generate new and different ideas? What if we could call on a man who battled these problems for over a decade?

At the brainstorming stage, we must have all ideas on the table. We will listen, evaluate and discard/implement as we move forward.

Instead of stifling one half of our resources, we will bring it to the table. The national interest must always be first.

I am not a fan of Mia, but sometimes she has a good idea. They say a broken clock is right twice a day; a blind squirrel finds a nut every now and then.

The national interest must always be first. You go girl.

43. @ Hal

MIA CONFIRMED THAT ALL THE PEOPLE WHO VOTER FOR HER AND BLP ARE FOUR LETTER RABBITS,

SHE ALSO CONFIRMED SHE IS BIM’S QUEEN OF DECEPTION.

ALL THE PEOPLE SHE REACHED INTO HER RED BAG AND SAID WERE THE BIGGEST CROOKS IN BARBADOS AND WOULD BE PROSECUTED SHE HAS LAID DOWN WITH THEM.

MIA IS NOW QUEEN OF THE CROOKED CABAL OF DLP AND BLP.

BEAVIS, BUTTHEAD AND THE OTHER JACKASSES CAN CONTINUE BRAYING AS USUAL.

CAT IS OUT OF THE BAG.

TIME FOR A THIRD PARTY.

BIM HAS GONE OVER THE CLIFF.

44. @ David

Well she did say she was including other ministers of finance. She never said she would only include the good ones! Lol

45. I strongly support any action which drives a stake into the heart of the false dichotomy ( also referred to as the Duopoly).

46. Surprise surprise

#1trickpony #alternativemoniker

47. Lorenzo

Therefore i do not know what Mr Sinckler will bring to the table , Mr Arthur i understand however we will wait and see
    Xxcccxxxxxxccccccccc

Really u do not know
    His role is to stop the political bleeding
    Govt numbers are falling strategic planning is necessary to save the govt political interest
    Even a grave digger knows when his time is drawing near more pain sets in and the doctor tells him they can do no more
    Mia political strategist are at there wits end
    Nothing seems to be working in govt favour
    Every thing has gone wrong since May 2018
    COVID is a political animal which no.one expected
    What better strategy than to place the people interest and the political interest on equal setting
    Hence Chris visibility would form a buffer to ease some of the political lashes off govt and play on the patriotic emotions of both D and B
    A win win situation drawn up to woo every side of politics
    Presently on social media there are plenty kudos for chris drawn upon a mindset that Mia needed Chris
    However in some minds the question is why ?

48. Why would the political class dismantle an adversarial system to which all are members?

#wishfulthinking