At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. @Greene

You should not underestimate enuff, operating under the cloak of anonymity is restricting..LOL

2. @ Baje

About five or six years ago we had a long and angry discussions about the Abeds and wider Lebanese community. One participant was a man or woman identified as Pachamama who came out supporting Hezbollah and called for the guilltotine.
    The Lebanese/Syrians are like the Chinese and Japanese, with large overseas populations, especially in Brazil and Sydney. They maintain strong family and village links. Edward Seaga was a strong Lebanese.
    We are simply going over old ground. As I said, the State Department has done a lot of work on them, so have the Australians. But, according to Bajan logic, when these Lebanese/Syrians come to Barbados they suddenly become law-abiding, respectable people.

3. Greene
    LMAO I am not here on behalf of any party; I am not interested in running. So you barking up the wrong tree. FYI Hal Austin is not a BU bellwether, if you see the likes of TheoGaz not supporting you take heed. 🤐

4. @David

thanks for the warning. i shall keep my eyes peeled so to speak

5. @ Greene

Do not shoot the messenger. The president is a former minister of education; Santia is a member of a Cabinet, which, at least in theory, meets to decide policy, if the policy is bogus you cannot blame the individual – except that if they had strong objections they could walk out.
    I am talking about Santia cool, calm, authoritative presentation style, steady hands, versus a loud rambling, hysterical, repetitious, Soviet-style waffle, that has no logic or intellectual content. And, further, which is considered by many to be highly informative.
    Santia is one for the future, no single person in the 29-strong ruling party is her equal (Marshall, Symmonds, who else is there?); it is hers to lose.

6. “I can read it but can’t speak it very well.”

GP might be able to help.

Robert…i had forgotten about the french, my head was still on the Guardian article.

..French is not the easiest language to speak, you have to draw it from deep down in your stomach and the mouth twisting is the stuff of legends.., spanish is easier for speaking but harder for other things……

7. David

You mean after all these months away from BU, you cannot even tell me how you doing. What de tail hole I do you besides putting you in your place for sucking up to the BLP. I ask you how you doing and you ignore me. Guess ya ent miss ma for one second. But me sweet piece gine be delighted that I back for a spell. Might even do some posters. Been reading some interesting developments with your administration.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@SSS HAPPY THAT YOU REALIZED BU BLOG HAS SOLD ITS SOUL TO THE 2018 DEVIL AND MUST BE BENEFITING EVEN TO THE DETRIMENT OF LOCAL BAJAN PEOPLE.

ANYONE WHO HIGHLIGHTS DOWNRIGHT INCOMPETENCE, LACK OF TRANSPARENCY, DISCARDED PROMISES, COLLUSION AND CRIMINAL BEHAVIOR WITH THE KEY PRIVATE SECTOR PLAYERS AND GOVERNMENT LEADERS HAS A SOLE AGENDA TO PUT BARBADOS IN A NEGATIVE OR BAD LIGHT.

I WONDER WHAT HIS AGENDA IS ALONG WITH THE BELOW FALSE BU MOTTO?

JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

8. @ david

Listen you send me In de market to get lock to ass up!

Anyhow I went and got my vegetables, as old people like me need a balanced diet. Well the food vendors were out but didn’t see any of the vendors that sell shoes etc. Now before a certain fellow that like to nit pick jump up and say there was out there too, I said I DIDN’T SEE THEM.

Anyhow there I was with my bag and just so the place get like 9/11. Police and sirens blaring and people scattering. Well I say a druggy must be was vending little weed and the running him, but an old girl I know that sells there said no, they running ALL the vegetable vendors too. Anyhow I does travel with my lawyer number on speed dial so I say if I get hold its he I calling. Anyhow I escape and get back to the shack safe.

Seriously though the same 20 police that show up with sirens blaring couldn’t of been there from early to enforce the social distancing? Where else hypertensives like me and diabetics was supposed to get stuff from, if the blasted supermarkets close and the small shops only got basics like cornbeef and biscuits?

Anyhow when next our paths cross I got a few words for you setting me up like dat! Got people down there laughing and saying how them never see an old man in 2 slippers run so hard yet! LOL

Vincent stand far from down there cause you ain t 2 mornings either, so I don’t want to hear you get hold.

9. RE• Critical Analyzer April 11, 2020 1:37 PM @ Tron 12:54pm
    “It is actually you who don’t get it. Every singe country’s economy is dead so we are all starting from nought i.e we all in the same boat.

It is fitting that you use the word dead economies at this Easter time because the countries who resurrect their dead economies first will be the ones that can clearly demonstrate they have this COVID thing under control without using draconian measures.

Lockdown is not a sensible long term strategy unless you believe in the zombie apocalypse and are already prepared to ride it out in your house for the next 6-12 months.

What is the sensible long term strategy? That is my question.”

TRUMP GAVE THE POWER BACK TO THE STATES FOR THEIR GOVERNORS TO DECIDE ON WHITHER TO OPEN UP…

Huston Texas should be within a week, that should start the Balling Rolling in a Positive Direction

https://www.kvue.com/article/news/health/coronavirus/coronavirus-texas-covid19-cases-update/269-f1c36a64-eedc-4d08-bf40-97c62ffcb39b

10. Greene amaxingly o actually agrer with you on Ms Braddhaw who although relatively inecperiencef politically has not impressed me as a leader.in fact she seemed overwhelmed furing this crisis. It begs the quedtion as to why Ms Mottley wpuld have chosen her instead of more experienced persons like Mr Payne or Mr Marshall..However not surprised that thst Austin would big up Ms Bradshaw like he did with Mr Thompson whom he claimed was bright and when challenge to suppprt it could only state he had a conversation with him.Austin clearly likes STYLE OVER SUBSTANCE.

11. A MUST WATCH…LOCK-DOWN IS NOT THE ANSWER!!!

PERSPECTIVES ON THE PANDEMIC | PROFESSOR KNUT WITTKOWSKI |

In this explosive second edition of Perspectives on the Pandemic, Professor Knut Wittkowski, for twenty years head of The Rockefeller University’s Department of Biostatistics, Epidemiology, and Research Design, says that social distancing and lockdown is the absolutely worst way to deal with an airborne respiratory virus.

Further, he offers data to show that China and South Korea had already reached their peak number of cases when they instituted their containment measures. In other words, nature had already achieved, or nearly achieved, herd immunity.

12. @ Hal April 11, 2020 1:58 PM
    They have a stronghold in West Africa. They call the shots in either Sierra Leone or Liberia. An economic strangle hold. make break governments. It is a pity that the African leaders kill off their own people and support them because of money. They control most of the gold and diamond industries through their international connections with the diamond and gold centers of the world. I could never understand how the Jamaicans tolerated Seaga who was born in the USA and was really American.

13. @John A

Somebody call Mia on her sick bed to get the police from the mainguard next door to respond.

Good to see you secured some veggies before you had to hightail it out of there.

PS. Santos Bradshaw as at today is a political lightweight, no disrespect.

14. @Greene April 11, 2020 1:31 PM

@Hal,

i dont see why you are fascinated with Santia Bradshaw?………

I am in total agreement with this contribution.

15. @ WURA-War-on-U April 11, 2020 2:05 PM

You are correct. It is however a truly beautiful language when one hears it being spoken..

16. Some people will never learn the importance of context. 🤣🤣

17. @John A April 11, 2020 2:11 PM

@ david

Listen you send me In de market to get lock to ass up!

Happy to hear you got back home safe. You need to be careful when you go out. The virus is brutal for older folks with underlying health conditions, and a large percentage of Bajans don’t like queuing

18. Critical Analyzer Avatar

I have some common sense advice for the government to stop all this panic that going around. They can write my big cheque to one or more worthy charity.

Mandatory cloth mask wearing in public.
    To get rid of the long lines currently causing the problems

Post office,
    Have a supervisor come out to the pensioners in line, match their IDs against their cheques before taking said cheques back inside. A pool of staff in the back counts out the money to match each cheque. Hand the cheque and money one of the cashiers in the booth. Cashier calls the person’s name, they produce their ID, verify the money is correct and out the door they go.

Supermarkets
    Resume regular opening hours. Separate alphabetically by surname into 4 group and split the groups over 2 days morning half and evening half repeating until the lines go away. When lines come back at month end, you can re-institute the measure.

Banks
    Also Return to regular hours and do the same 4 group thing across two days until the lines go away as well. Commercial transactions to be excluded.

19. So, how is Barbados doing relative to its regional peer group in terms of reported cases? Let’s have a look.

T&T 109
    *Barbados 67
    Jamaica 65
    Bahamas 42
    Antigua 21
    SLU 15
    SVG 12

What about on a per capita basis (/ million)?

*Barbados 233
    Antigua 214
    SVG 108
    Bahamas 107
    SLU 82
    T&T 78
    Jamaica 22

20. @ Robert

Sierra Leone. They control the politics, civil service and business. Even in the |UK the Sierra Leoneans suck up to them. They are deep, organised criminals, like the Maltese.
    I have long said that We Caribbean people do not appreciate our values: honesty, decency, etc. We see it in the UK. The only immigrant group that does not plot to destroy Britain is the Caribbean community, and it is the groups that gets the worst of everything. We can sometimes be our own worst enemies.

21. @Dullard

A more usefull comparison must include number of tests carried out.

22. @ Vincent

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you but I was busy trying to avoid the police after buying basic necessities like vegetables.

Anyhow seriously now on reflection after what I saw in the market today, I am convinced we don’t have a clue what we are doing.

Why couldn’t vendors today have been allowed to supply vegetables only under guidance of the police and defence force to ensure social distancing? In other words no shoe vendors, sweet vendors etc today, only vegetable vendors. Why couldn’t the stalls have been spaced out to facilitate social distancing and the lines maintained by the BDF and police?

Do the authorities realise that many of us HAVE to live on vegetables based on health reasons? The market for many without cars was the last resort to get a few this weekend. To tell an old pensioner living in St Michael that there is a farm open in St Philip, is criminal when with a little planning better could have been done.

I am not ashame to say I supported what this government did with the precautions prior to Wednesday, but from then till now dem do bare nonesence and it has been once cock up after another(yes I meant to say cock up).

23. @Critical Analyzer April 11, 2020 2:33 PM

I have some common sense advice for the government to stop all this panic that going around. They can write my big cheque to one or more worthy charity…..

Good contribution. Hopefully other will follow your lead.
    We need plans to take care of the less fortunate as this situation drags on, any ideas?

24. @ Greene
    @Bajan in New York

We cannot assess Ms Bradshaw as a leader, because she is not. We must look at her POTENTIAL. Of course I can be wrong, but in my working life I have had to make decisions about promoting people and the qualities I looked for are the very qualities I see in Ms Bradshaw. All the people I promoted are now senior executives on our leading newspapers and on television, including the Times. So I must have done something right.
    To describe someone as ‘lightweight’ implies the person making the judgement has the moral authority, the perception, the professional understanding, and emotional intelligence to make such assessments – and based on what? Are they saying she is good enough to be minister of education and leader of the House, but not leader of the party? Are they saying that the president has made a mistake by choosing her to act as prime minister?
    By definition, all voters elect MPs because they see them as potential leaders; have the people in the Pine and surrounding area made a mistake? To my mind, the entirety of parliament is lightweight. I have seen better in local community organisations.
    What we are seeing here is the cult of the personality. No matter who we put up against the president will be seen as inferior. Try breaking down the qualities: get a slip of paper and write down the qualities you are looking for in a leader.
    What I like is that some of those diehard BLP supporters are quite prepared to stab one of their own in the back.

25. “Seriously though the same 20 police that show up with sirens blaring couldn’t of been there from early to enforce the social distancing?”

They could even have SPACE THE VENDORS AROUND THE TOWN…outside is even easier to enforce social distancing…..am sure they did not even bother to tell the people they should be wearing gloves, masks and have their heads covered..

that is their BIG HEAD idea on the taxpayer’s dime at being intelligent and lawyerly….making the whole world NOW ASK…what the hell is wrong with them…as i have been asking everyone for OVER 40 YEARS…

26. @John A

that’s a v funny story man, if it happened that way.

Did David give u duff information, lol?

27. @ Hal.

The person I would of like to seen in charge of the supermarket and food supply issue was Colonel Bostic our MOH.

I say that because he is trained in logistics and discipline. Also many of the issues one deals with in war is similar to what one would deal with in case of Covid. I listened to him in his last address and he answered what was directed at him and passed the other issues to the relevant members at the table. At no time did he exhibit signs of being a media hog like Trump. Santia could have been acting PM, but she does not have the experience or training to deal with issues like this that Colonel Bostic has. This is also no time for her to be learning as she goes along either, as the issue is too critical.

That is my 10 cents worth and I sticking to it

28. “It is however a truly beautiful language when one hears it being spoken..”

Romantic to it’s core..

29. @Dullard A more useful comparison must include number of tests carried out.

Of course. I don’t know those numbers and i am not going to search for them. We know that the data is biased because different countries have different testing strategies. Even the different types of tests can introduce non trivial bias.

However, that acknowledged bias aside, there is still something to be gleaned from these figures.

30. @ John A
    @ Vincent

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you but I was busy trying to avoid the police after buying basic necessities like vegetables.

Anyhow seriously now on reflection after what I saw in the market today, I am convinced we don’t have a clue what we are doing.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THANKS FOR HIGHLIGHTING TO THE SEVERAL DISHONEST BU BLOGGERS WHAT IS HAPPENING ON THE GROUND LOCALLY.

ONE CAN’T MAKE THIS STUFF UP.

I AM PREPARING TO LEAVE MY RESIDENCE TO DROP MY CLOTHES AT THE LAUNDROMAT, GO TO DO SOME BANKING AND THEN AFTER THE SUPERMARKET ALL UNHINDERED AND NO DRAMA.

THE POLITICIANS GOT WHAT THEY WANTED TO MAKE BARBADOS A POLICE STATE ALONG WITH BEING A DICTATORSHIP.

THE VIRUS HAS BEEN USED TO MAKE BARBADOS THE ENGLISH VERSION OF VENEZUELA AND CUBA.

DAVID COMMISONG PART OF THE BRIGADE MUST BE SMILING.

31. Let them keep it up, ah told them already if anyone dies waiting TO BUY FOOD….they will read all about it in the INTERNATIONAL MEDIA…

Santia said something about another update in 48 hours…are we there yet?

32. @Hal

i am basing my take on her on the very narrow matters that i discussed above. from what i understand from David she is MAM’s preferred choice as stand in leader for a certain reason.

however i am told by BLP friends that she has little gravitas among a certain crowd as she was privately educated, did not attend UWI and is not a “real lawyer”. she must have something about her to gain your attention so time will tell

maybe Caswell can weigh in?

maybe David can too or Enuff?

you may have made some friends bigging her up or may have sounded her death knell lol

33. @Greene

I am suspicious that David after telling me to go down there then gave me time to shop, after which he then called Mia himself with the hope of catching me! Lol

No it was mostly as I described it, except maybe for me running fast in slippers. It did however bring home some stark realities.

34. And let’s not FORGET…according to Tron…the YOUTUBE bloggers…lol…lawd..

35. “did not attend UWI and is not a “real lawyer”.

the irony, they are not real lawyers either…ask their victims…

36. @Greene

Will say only this because now is not the time, in the middle of a pandemic. Political leaders will emerge.

37. @ David,

You appear to be making the assumption that Barbados has carried out more tests than her neighbours?

A more relevant question would be why does Barbados have ten times the numbers of reported cases than Jamaica? There is quantified data confirming that countries who closed their borders early have reported fewer incidents of Covid-19.

38. @ Greene

Ignore rum shop nonsense. Unless someone has spoken to the president they do not have any information on the background to an appointment. They are speculating like the rest of the country as they tend to – unless they are paid informers.
    I also find it strange that people on BU can talk of George Payne and Dale Marshall as ‘experienced’ when not so long ago we were talking about Payne’s qualification on BU and I know, from hearing Marshall speak and watching his performance over the last two years, that he is fortunate to be even in parliament. He is not the brightest spark in the box.
    As to her private education, I was under the impression she went to Girls’ Foundation; going to UWI means what? The president did not go to UWI. And being a lawyer in a 280000 jurisdiction – extended to cover CARICOM for nothing but political reasons – means nothing. What is ‘gravitas’? How do your friends judge gravitas? It is all nonsense. Bajan prejudice.
    As a UK resident, compare our lot with the 660 in the UK parliament. A lawyer in Barbados means putting on a silly robe and performing in front of a magistrate court.
    Out of the tiny world of CARICOM they are just ordinary people with a law degree. Those are two a penny in the UK, as you know. A law degree is the default qualification for UK lawyers. She has a practice in civil law, what is wrong with that. Do you think envy is at the root of this?
    As I said, our parliament is not representative our the qualities of our nation. Santia is the best of a bad lot.

@ John A

The person who should play a central part in all this is the very man that is being constantly being humiliated and marginalised by the government – and that is the Police Commissioner. Law and order, is for the commissioner, not a military man.
    About the opening hours for supermarkets, all food suppliers should be opened; we are making a mountain out of a mole hill, as we tend to in Barbados. Sit down and think before making decisions. I go down to my supermarket and buy my groceries.
    All I have to do is join a queue. If I go between 8am and 9am then I automatically get in as a priority. If my wife goes between 7.30am and 8am, she gets in as a priority NHS worker. No panic, no hysterics, no pompous nonsense on a blog. All rational and civilised.

39. That is exactly what the blogmaster is saying. Barbados is reported to have done close to 700 tests.

40. @whiteHill April 11, 2020 4:15 AM “@Silly Woman, you really believe because we aren’t on the ground in Barbados we don’t catch Goadies too?”

Understood. Dealing with difficult people is hard whether you are near or far, and such difficulties know no national boundaries, gender, race, religion etc.

Forgive me.

41. New York City Schools Close Through Academic Year. Cuomo Pushes Back.

The governor played down the mayor’s call to keep buildings closed as “opinion,” saying that he would decide the fate of the city’s 1.1 million public school students.

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/04/11/nyregion/nyc-schools-closed.html

42. According to this video, the people are LOOKING FOR FOOD….these are the people who BUY FOOD EVERY FEW DAYS…can’t buy food if the SUPERMARKETS ARE LOCKED DOWN…but a cloth store has permission to open..

guess what the people CANNOT EAT RH CLOTH…they can make their own masks…

https://www.facebook.com/Fusionz.Boutique.Roebuck.Street.Barbados/videos/3080370012015578/?t=0

43. The data – biased as it is – shows that Barbados is among those with the highest per capita burden of confirmed cases in the entire Caribbean and Latin America Region.

As far as i know, there have not been many tests done in most of the islands, period. The testing strategy appears largely focused on those showing symptoms or exposed to known cases. So assuming a similar level of bias across the islands suggests that Barbados is lagging its peer group in some sense.

44. @John

It is business as usual in BIM. Ignore the curfew. No sacrifice necessary. Let us start dying like flies to compare with UK, USA, Canada.

45. Because we are doing more testing and maybe doing a better job at contact tracing? Too many variables to factor. Yours is too simplistic an analysis.

46. That is exactly what the blogmaster is saying. Barbados is reported to have done close to 700 tests
    How does this compare to our peers?

47. @ david.

Lol you have you fun and Laff at me. One thing is for sure the plan for the small shops serving demand is also not working. The crowds that headed for the markets today are evidence of that. What we forgot to factor in is that the small shops can not provide a balance diet. Hence people headed to the markets in abundance to get their needs.

48. Once again I would like to applaud Hal on his observations of certain minorities and the dangers that they may present to a naïve and gullible local population. We tend to forget that the Lebanon was once called the Paris of the Middle East. They were and are a sophisticated, well educated and were an extremely successful business people long before oil was discovered in the Middle East.

The Lebanese are infamous for their trade in arms, drugs, diamonds and all things illicit. When a man such as Hal expresses his fears about this community and others it is based on his personal observation, his knowledge of life in London; and his exposure to a broad UK media that brings to light what is happening in the real world.

The Barbados media is parochial and limited in its scope. I continue to read of minority groups, within Barbados, acting in a unilateral manner. Operating outside the law and laying down the law to which ever government is in control. Do we know why Abed’s “shop” was allowed to remain open? I presume that his shop sells food alongside fabric?

49. I found some numbers on testing penetration. Barbados appears to be testing much more widely than its peers. This is very good. This partially explains the high per capita case count.

*Barbados 2561
    Antigua 408
    SVG 505
    Bahamas n/a
    SLU n/a
    T&T 779
    Jamaica 306