At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. “Because I can string two sentences together that make sense, exhibit original thought”

that is what ya telling yaself, ya can’t even understand SIMPLE MATH and ya MUDDLE STANDARD ENGLISH pretending ya know law…

..all weekend you looked LIKE A FOOL while we TRIED AND FAILED…to make you understand WHY THE SUPERMARKETS HAD TO BE REOPENED…

now ya here DELUDING YASELF…🤣😂😁

2. “THE TOURISM GAME IS UP FOR ALL THE CORRUPT AND NARROW MINDED INDIVIDUALS IN BIM.”

they don’t get it yet, but they will..

ya see how DELUDED and lacking basic skills their fowls are…THEY ARE EVEN WORSE.

3. “However Mia is responsible for the rise in cases by leaving the airport open..”

@ Mari

If the airport was closed, you WOULDN’T have had the opportunity to ‘say’ “Recently, I was in ANOTHER country.”

On your return to Barbados, were you tested for COVID-19?

Were you quarantined for the mandatory 2 weeks, or did you ‘self quarantine?’

You never mentioned ANYTHING about these IMPORTANT FACTS, only some nonsense about a supermarket’s opening hours.

So, we’re left to assume you are also “responsible for the rise in cases,” as well.

Hahahahahahaha

4. The Costly Toll of Not Shutting Down Spring Break Earlier

Weeks before Florida ordered people to stay at home, the coronavirus was well into its insidious spread in the state, infecting residents and visitors who days earlier had danced at beach parties and reveled in theme parks. Only now, as people have gotten sick and recovered from — or succumbed to — COVID-19, the disease caused by the coronavirus, has the costly toll of keeping Florida open during the spring break season started to become apparent.

Gov. Ron DeSantis, a Republican, has blamed travelers from New York, Europe and other places for seeding the virus in the state. But the reverse was also true: People got sick in Florida and took the infection back home.

The exact number of people who returned from leisure trips to Florida with the coronavirus may never be known. Cases as far away as California and Massachusetts have been linked to the Winter Party Festival, a beachside dance party and fundraiser for the LGBTQ community held March 4-10. Another California man died after going to Orlando for a conference and then to a packed Disney World. Two people went to Disney and later got relatives sick in Florida and Georgia.

he governor, who did not order people to stay home until April 1, has said the state supported local governments that ordered event cancellations and beach closures but that it was not his role to step in first.

Florida has confirmed more than 17,500 coronavirus cases and nearly 400 deaths, with the epidemic still expanding in the state.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/costly-toll-not-shutting-down-161107861.html

5. Anyhoo…ah really got to have a foreign language conversation with someone, so ah posting this video for the Fowl and her bosses who don’t pay her a dime to get re-acquainted…there is a little interruption because someone posted messages….BUT THE MESSAGE IS STILL LOUD AND CLEAR..

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/1297682623774607/?t=0

6. @robert lucas April 12, 2020 11:02 AM “He could not even get the income and expenditure of the country balance. Any manager running a company who did similarly would have been summarily fired.”

But he WAS FIRED was he not?

Contrary to what BU people like to say Bajans are NOT STUPID.

7. @Hal Austin April 12, 2020 11:27 AM “She also has a problem with keeping her hands to her side.”

This is a problem for one person in the whole world, and that ne person is Hal Austin.

The woman is not a tin soldier/mock soldier. She does not have to keep her hands to her side.

8. Artax shut up yuh sounding foolish as an intelligent petson
    I give yuh that much credit
    Silly man where did i say i returned stop sounding like a drunk
    Ha ha

9. When ya ACTUALLY HAVE INTELLIGENT LEADERS…this is how they do it….empower the MAJORITY POPULATION TO PRODUCE….not empowering some little shite store with their mingy ass selves and got their backward fowl thinking that they are doing something,…,..lack of BASIC intelligence..

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10216606567182123&id=1397881741

10. This gives new meaning to “Up from the grave he arose with a mighty triumph o’er his foes!”

11. In August I was in town, a vendor was selling brand new but mis-matched really good quality heavy Egyptian cotton sheets for $15 BDS for a queen sized sheet. I expect that they were what is called in the trade “remainders.” I bought one, cut it up and used 3 pieces to create new linings for my west facing windows, the bright sunlight really wears the linings out. I didn’t know what to do with the scraps, but saved them because I am a bit of a pack rat. I now have enough new heavy cotton fabric to make 11 cotton masks, just enough for the “Immediate extended” family. I started today. I expect to finish by tomorrow.

Will water my garden now by watering can, and do some more mask work tonight.

See wunna ’bout 9 p.m.

12. Oh. I have no problem with Cabinet asking Owen and Chris for advice, but I hope that she is not paying them.

Those guys have good pensions and plenty of time on their hands.

They should be pleased to do this for the people of Barbados for FREE.

i myself have donated tens of thousands of hours of my God given time; and hundreds of thousands of my hard earned money to the betterment of my country.

I EXPECT NO LESS FROM THESE GENTLEMEN.

13. @ Simple Simon

I was also wondering what’s the big deal if Mia Mottley waves or flares her hands about or not?

Constantly referring to it…….. making an issue out of a ‘NON-ISSUE’ is NOT only PETTY, but CHILDISH as well.

14. Wuh i hear the blp yardfowls spinning out of control wid Sincklair
    Them saying how could she
    Respect due
    Lawd hav merci
    Lol

15. @ Enuff April 12, 2020 4:10 PM
    “Miller
    Previous sentence should read.
    You continue to accuse me of being in some “inner sanctum”, which I am NOT, so I ignore you.
    By the way who is a bigger bully than WARU? Wuh she called me all manner of tings under the sun but don’t know me. I called her a liar based on the proof on BU. Making 97% of the posts on the blog says what, if not bully? I repeat, go ask the government and its advisors. Rest muh!”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Forget about the inner sanctum thing and your denial of having ‘close contacts’ in the red corner of the political ring.

Let’s deal with some points of principle, whether intellectual or moral.

Do you think it makes sense- whether good political optics or pure commonsense- for MAM to appoint as an advisor in the field of national financial and economic matters a man who demonstrated proficiently not only the pathological ability to lie to the public (his former employer) but also the keen capacity to be unable to tell the difference between a decimal of 0.07 and 0.007.

In other words, the basic ability to tell the fiscal difference and its impact of a tax increase of 7% and that of 0.7% or knowing a ‘Bee’ from bullfrog.

What’s wrong with Avinash and Clyde?
    Have their academic engines run out of oil because of Covid is real and not a case study in academic bullshitery?

PS: Sinckliar was the past grandmaster of fiscal matters when duties and taxes were waived on a luxury vehicle for a sales director who never set foot in Bim but is still employed at a hotel which has not even seen one cement brick erected.
    We all know you Enuff prefer to turn a blind eye to this blatant act of fiscal misappropriation.

But time longer than twine. The people involved will live to regret this blatant robbery of the Treasury. Let them take their gains to their graves.

16. @ Silly Woman April 12, 2020 4:53 PM

He was partially fired. He lost the government but retained his seat

17. “This gives new meaning to “Up from the grave he arose with a mighty triumph o’er his foes!”

18. PS: Sinckliar was the past grandmaster of fiscal matters when duties and taxes were waived on a luxury vehicle for a sales director who never set foot in Bim but is still employed at a hotel which has not even seen one cement brick erected.
    We all know you Enuff prefer to turn a blind eye to this blatant act of fiscal misappropriation.

But time longer than twine. The people involved will live to regret this blatant robbery of the Treasury. Let them take their gains to their graves.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@ Miller

HOW DARE YOU EXPOSED THE SALES DIRECTOR PREVIOUSLY KNOWN FROM THE RED BAG OF DOCUMENTS AS THE BIGGEST CROOK ON THE ISLAND EVEN BIGGER THAN LEROY THE LEPER OF CLICO, WHO IS NOW ONE OF THE WHITE KNIGHTS IN SHINING ARMOUR TO HIS FORMER ACCUSERS AND NOW “BUSINESS PARTNERS”?

YOU WILL BE ACCUSED OF BEING PART OF THE BANDWAGON WITH AN AX TO GRIND.

THEY WANT SOLUTIONS, ONLY SOLUTIONS AND NOT EXPOSURE OF THE ISLAND FOR THE WORLD TO SEE.

STEUPSE

19. Miller…the SHIT FOR BRAINS Fowl Enuff…did not want to see the supermarkets open, got too much time on her hands now , if she is in US probably LOST her CORPORATE JOB BY NOW…. if she is in UK…same thing….what she don’t know is what the future holds for her, that is the same one claiming she was retired from BU…that was right up until the PLAGUE…

….she took GREAT AFFRONT to us fighting to have the supermarkets reopened…don’t know how she expected her FELLOW BAJANS TO EAT…the ignoramus….

first thing she did when she lost that fight is to claim, she would not go into the supermarkets…like someone gives a shit where she goes or if she eats, same damn thing she is wishing for her own people, yet she don’t support the ignorant, backward government policies…but was happy to see the supermarkets closed…the FRAUD..

20. @ Silly Woman April 12, 2020 4:13 PM

I know about that safety pin trick also. brings back a lot of memories. Domestic science was also taught at the so-called leading girls school. The idea was to prepare the girls for family life. Of course the girls on the public health course admitted that they do not cook and as far as I can ascertain prefer the fast food thing.

21. @ Mari

I was trying to be polite, but…….

Look, you WERE NOT in another country recently. To USE your words, you’re a “BOLD FACED LIAR.

However, to put this folly to rest, let’s assume you actually travelled to ‘Country X,’ if you were still there, you wouldn’t have written “Recently I WAS……..”

Using the word ‘WAS’ gives readers the impression you travelled and returned.

The fact remains, you FABRICATED a story and posted it to BU as TRUTH. And, you were EXPOSED as a FRAUD.

Don’t worry if I “sound like a drunk.’ Anyone reading any of your poorly structured, poor use of grammar irrational contributions, would immediately recognize how a drunk sounds.

You should be a bit more concerned about your credibility in this forum. There isn’t anyone on BU that actually takes you seriously…… not even the chairman of your fan club.

22. I am more than past being suspicious that these recent cases of virus contraction are attributed to community
    For one the numbers keep rising faster than earlier
    This has been a recurring underlying theme in those countries where the numbers were low and rapidly grew daily
    The lack of govt being transparent should be a cause of concern on this issue

23. I did not see this post on BU but saw it on FB…there is no reason to doubt any of it because that is how DBLP have been operating AGAINST THE BEST INTERESTS OF THE MAJORITY POPULATION FOR DECADES..always egged on and supported by their useless fowls….but this time ah think they have PUSHED THE POPULATION WHO PAY THEIR SALARIES WAY TOO FAR…

the people have all right to feel insulted and disrespected…as i told Lawsuit Lorenza, i can always tell when they have something EVIL PLANNED FOR THE BLACK POPULATION.

alyuh got talk for me, bring it on.

“Caswell Franklyn April 12, 2020 1:27 PM

You all must remember that Mia started her political career as a Dem. Her move to the BLP was merely for political expediency.

After the 1986 election, where the DLP won 24 to 3, the BLP was desperate for candidates to run in 24 constituencies while the DLP only needed three. There was simply no place for her to run on a DLP ticket so she made the switch. There is therefore no philosophical divide between Mia and her pals in the DLP.

SInckler is Mia’s friend and she is merely trying to rehabilitate him. That’s what friends are for.

In the 2018 General Elections, everyone expected a BLP victory and Mia tried everything in her power to ensure that Sinckler was not defeated. That is why she made sure that the former messenger from Mottley’s law office became the BLP candidate. No one, in their wildest dreams, expected Neil Rowe to beat Sinckler.

I might be cynical but this move almost guarantees Sinckler’s victory over Rowe in the next election and his assumptions of the leadership of the DLP, all compliments his good friend, Mia Mottley.

Sent from my iPad”

24. It would appear – for now – that the majority population remain dependent on the minority population to provide them with their food provisions. Once again, our Prime Minister announced that there were no food shortages on the island. Perhaps this may be the case in the short term; but what about the medium and the long term.

This is a crisis situation. It is extremely dangerous that a tiny percentage of the population have control over the country’s food supply chain. Once again, I would advice Mia to requisition the country’s non-agricultural and agriculture land and to implement a policy whereby agriculture is reintroduced into our landscape.

Mia has to recognised that our tourism industry is to all intent and purpose dead! It is unacceptable that swathes of potential agricultural land remains dormant during this crisis. The Apes Hill site was once good old plantation land; apart from a few random houses it remains void of life. What of Sandy Lane? These are just two of many locations which should be taken over by the government for the good of our nation.

We need to grow a robust agriculture industry which will make our nation less dependent on imports.

I would suggest to Mia to be upfront with her people. She should concentrate her fire on establishing areas to exploit from within the island as she has no control as to what happens outside of the country. Other areas of interest could be the expansion of our sea cotton industry; researching, developing and growing marijuana / hemp; cleaning up the island and restoring and bringing back into use our old buildings; cleaning up our gullies; planting bamboo trees which are fast growing and have many uses; planting mahogany plantations; developing our renewable industry; and revisiting our traditional manufacturing base.

Perhaps the most significant act that Mia could carry out would be to devolve power to our parishes. She also needs to break up the private family business monopolies on the island who have too much influence on domestic government policies.

25. Was govt transparent as of yet telling where and how three barbadians had contracted the virus?
    The above is an observation going by details govt have given on past cases into fact finding on the victims
    Those infected gave enough information helping govt to make a determination
    However with three infected govt after several weeks of these three being positive nothing has been said as to how the three became infected
    In my mind the excuse of not knowing how the three became infected is beginning to sound shallow making way of asking
    What does the govt know and what are they hiding

26. “It would appear – for now – that the majority population remain dependent on the minority population to provide them with their food provisions.”

Engineered by the good for nothing DBLP governments for decades, they always wanted to see their people so dependent on these minority TRASH…that they can never function…and now they have what they have always wanted….but there is a saying, be careful for what you wish, you may get it…

would you believe in the 21st century they have reduced the people and island to this sad state of affairs and still trying to put up this facade as though everything is ok…but the PLAGUE put paid to that LIE….and exposed them for the world to see.

27. “It is unacceptable that swathes of potential agricultural land remains dormant during this crisis.”

they have for decades just picked up all the land to sell to foreigners,,that is all they know and the people NEVER SEE ANY BENEFITS from these transactions…but all of them boast about being millionaires..

they are not interested in any agriculture to feed the people or allow the people to feed themselves……that is the game they have been playing for decades.

…opening the supermarket to feed the people and their Fowl on the blog begrudging the people food to sustain their lives…

28. Ectract
    Wade Gibbons

Extract from Wade Gibbons Facebook post.

Seems like the lost decade has been found. Politics is so much fun, especially for those who can look past their political leanings. There are some members of the ruling party who cannot be amused at last night’s announcement that Chris Sinckler has been approached to help with whatever he is supposed to assist with. I could easily understand if David Estwick or Dr Suckoo had been invited as both are doctors and we face a serious health crisis. But the economic part of the crisis has the likes of experts Avinash Persaud, Marsha Caddle, Ryan Straughan, Clyde Mascoll, Kevin Greenidge and Ian Carrington, among others, to lend their expertise. So we must wonder whether adding Chris to this team or approaching him to join the team has anything to do with economics, politics of inclusion, all hands on deck, and that sort of blarney. It is sweet political gamesmanship and an admission of sorts. If the cursing that Sinckler used to get a few years ago is to be taken seriously, and the supposed power-pack economists leading our charge are also to be taken seriously, the approach to Sinckler is like a group of men with first-class honours degrees in mathematics being advised on algorithms by someone who just passed City and Guilds maths. After all, weren’t we told between 2010 and 2018 that Sinckler had no clue what he was doing? Has the coronavirus somehow had an impact on his economic brain cells? Maybe his DNA is the route to finding antibodies. Perhaps, Sinckler will be asked to contribute to measures to reduce taxation which has increased exponentially since 2018. On the other hand, this approach to him might be an admission by the admirable PM that she wants help; that she is tired of running the government by herself; that 28 + 1 = 1 at both degree and City and Guilds level. She had to return from ailment to give the NIS instructions on ways to speed up the payment of benefits. Where was the minister responsible? Irrespective of who in her ranks might now curse her, she must hold her ground and be confident in the decisions she makes.
    Extract from Wade Gibbons Facebook post.

29. @obert lucas April 12, 2020 6:25 PM ” Of course the girls on the public health course admitted that they do not cook and as far as I can ascertain prefer the fast food thing.”

That’s a crying shame. Parents should now allow their teenaged daughters ans sons to eave home until they can cook.

I told mine, before you leave home, you have to learn how:

to cook a few meals
    swim 50 meters
    ride a bicycle
    drive a car [even though I have not owned a car for decades]
    sew on a button
    hem a garment

Only then, along with whatever academic qualifications you have earned, only then are you ready for university, liv-wid or marriage.

30. mari

the government NEVER said how or when anyone was infected. NEVERRR!

31. David, robert, Dame Bajans, and Waru:

The cou-cou cooked with spinach instead of okras turned our wonderfully well. Not a slippery as cou-cou with okras, but quite good enough.

It was so nice, I had to go at it twice.

32. Spinach is a very healthy green. The blogmaster loves it. In the steamer for 30 seconds and good to serve.

33. Miller
    You and the other maguffies who come at me prove my point! All yuh read what you want to see. I already commented in my “muddled English” on the faux resurrection of Sinckler. Rest muh! Go confer with the master liar WARU who, you consider small fry and accused me of bullying, is calling me shit for brains for opposing the reopening of supermarkets. Imagine a cut & paste, one-trick specialist accusing me of being deficient in maths and user of muddled English. I don’t lie tho!🤣🤣🤣 Look Artax exposing another serial liar on BU, Mariposa. And for the record, I stand by my original position regarding the supermarkets–them shudda remain shut until the curfew ended, with online and curbside pickup.

34. “them shudda remain shut until the curfew ended, with online and curbside pickup.”

But shit for brains…ya ain’t got that kinda power…BLOGGERS got more power than you, so why don’t you shut those supermarkets down again. and prove our point.

……ya can’t understand standard english no matter how many ways it’s explained to you…people in the bigger countries whose supermarkets remained OPEN….STILL CANNOT GET SLOTS FOR ONLINE DELIVERY 3 AND 4 WEEKS LATER….no matter how we tell you in ENGLISH…you don’t get it will cause PEOPLE ON THE ISLAND TO DIE…..because they will not get food on time..

ya do not understand standard english.

then ya want to take offense because ya continue ya shit for brains display…

35. “The cou-cou cooked with spinach instead of okras turned our wonderfully well. Not a slippery as cou-cou with okras, but quite good enough.”

will try that this week..

36. And to make matters even worse…Mia ADMITTED that the supermarkets said because of one reason or another…the online deliveries etc ALONE …CANNOT WORK…..they do not have the necessary this and that, not even the way they had it set up last which made no damn sense, could it work..

……if the bigger countries are catching hell with that system of delivery, and the supermarkets in Barbados said they have to open they cannot handle what the shit for brain wants…

but here is the FOWL insisting that it can work because that is what she wants……steupppps.

Miller…you getting all of this…unbelievable…

37. To Whom the Cap Fits,

Anyone who does not see the significance of the hiring of the Chris Sinckler and wishes us to focus elsewhere obviously has an agenda that is less than honorable. For in a time of crisis we would wish to be able to trust our leader. If she is shown, without a doubt, to be suffering from two mout disease she loses all credibility. This is a dangerous time to lose all credibility,

And further, anyone who suggests that Cambridge Analytica was the catalyst for the election results insults our intelligence.

For many of us listened to estimates and budgets, read the reports and the statements and those who did not at the very least lived through the years when Chris Sinckler was at the helm and felt the very real effects of his “stewardship”.

I am truly disgusted.

38. Greene
    “Cambridge Analytica really did a number on the Bajan psyche.”

The Guardian has seen an exchange of messages in which Nix appears to refer to Mia Mottley, who was elected prime minister of Barbados in May, and senator Lucille Moe, who is the country’s information minister, as “niggars”. In an emailed statement, Moe confirmed that SCL had contacted the Barbados Labour party in order to offer its services. She said: “We were not comfortable working with them so we took a decision not to engage their services.”

Greene boy, yuh sure about CA?

39. In Georgia i ordered at Walmart and picked up. the problem i experienced is that some items i tried to get were not in stocks. haven’t heard any one complain about deliveries as yet so maybe they do not use that service .

and this is for my part of Georgia not the whole country.

i know for sure certain items you cannot get in the normal shipping because of demand and shortages of that item so there is a backlog of orders.

40. ya can’t understand standard english no matter how many ways it’s explained to you…people in the bigger countries whose supermarkets remained OPEN….STILL CANNOT GET SLOTS FOR ONLINE DELIVERY 3 AND 4 WEEKS LATER….no matter how we tell you in ENGLISH
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

If you are talking about places like amazon etc that may be true for some items.

IF you are talking supermarkets like Walmart, krogers etc then that is false!

if something you want is not available you have to choose something different or do without until the item you want is in stock.

but pick up? false
    Walmart does deliveries but i never used them as yet.
    Kroger i am not sure but i know you can probably get an uber pick up and deliver to you.

41. The fowl is making it seem that the plan was to KILL VULNERABLE BAJANS who need to eat…and the supermarkets refused to play along..

“who is the country’s information minister, as “niggars”.

so what’s the big deal…when Cow and the lowlife minorities are among themselves they refer to the sell out negros of parliament as “niggars”. too…and alyuh know that is how they think of yall ANYWAY.. , but you are the ones in denial and will STILL SELL OUT YA PEOPLE TO THEM…because ya greedy, selfish, covetous and badminded..

so when i get vex…i call yall that too…sellout ******…ya only being called by ya natural names because of the way ya behave toward ya own people.

42. Bodies Rotting in the Street: COVID-19 Chaos Grips Ecuador

CALI, Colombia—Images coming out of Guayaquil, a port city on Ecuador’s Pacific coast, are as grim as anything the world has seen since the COVID-19 pandemic began.

As the death toll has overwhelmed hospitals and morgues, bodies have been abandoned in the streets or left to decay in houses, cargo trailers, and parking lots. The smell of the exposed corpses sticks like bile in the throat, and flocks of vultures wheel above the city waiting their chance to feed on human carrion.

Cemeteries are far beyond capacity, so some of the dead are now buried in unmarked graves in outlying fields. Other cadavers are secreted out of the city by loved ones, disguised as sleeping passengers to slip through military checkpoints trying to stop the spread of the contagion.

Videos allegedly showing bodies being burned in the streets are now widespread on social media and reproduced by news outlets across Latin America—although the provenance of those public cremation clips remains controversial, and journalists in Guayaquil say they are not what they seem. Fires were lit to draw attention to bodies, not to incinerate them.

There is no doubt that on Monday of this week the Ecuadorian government began issuing makeshift cardboard caskets, because traditional, more durable models have run out. And two new cemeteries with an estimated 10,000 graves are under construction, as experts predict the worst is yet to come, with the death toll likely to peak in late April.

“There are bodies stacked in freezers, corpses lining the corridors, even piled up outside the hospital,” she says. Reporters covering the crisis in Guayaquil have been particularly hard hit, with at least 14 infections and four deaths, including Moncada’s close friend and mentor at El Diario, who died a few days ago. She says she knows there are many in the city who are much worse off than white-collar workers like herself.

Guayaquil, which is Ecuador’s largest city, has become the epicenter for COVID-19 in Latin America. As such, it has been described as a kind of bellwether for how the virus might impact other developing countries in the region—a gruesome harbinger of what’s to come when poverty meets pandemic.

‘POOR VIGILANCE’
    The original contagion is thought to have been brought by travelers returning from Spain and Italy in late winter.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/bodies-rotting-street-covid-19-084318759.html

43. Coronavirus spurs ‘massive shift’ in alcohol supply chain not seen since Prohibition: Drizly CEO

With people across the U.S. facing orders to remain in their homes, and bars and restaurants closed as part of the ongoing effort to quell the coronavirus outbreak, alcohol sales have gone through the roof.

And at least one service is reaping the benefits of that increased demand.

Alcohol delivery app Drizly says it saw sales explode in the last week of March, climbing 537% above the company’s expectations, which it calculates based on sales from the previous 8 weeks.

What’s more, 42% of those orders came from new accounts. In fact, the company says new buyers on the platform jumped 900% year-over-year. (The company, however, wouldn’t provide its exact revenue or user numbers.)

“This is a supply chain that hasn’t changed a whole lot in the 90 plus years since Prohibition was repealed,” Drizly CEO Cory Rellas told Yahoo Finance’s “On The Move” last week. “What we’ve seen is just a massive mix shift from drinking at bars and restaurants, to home.”

‘We need to lean on technology’
    Drizly, which is available on Android, iOS, and the web, works with more than 2,200 retailers across the U.S. to deliver beer, wine, and other alcohol to consumers via in-person drop-offs.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/coronavirus-spurs-massive-shift-in-alcohol-consumption-not-seen-since-prohibition-drizly-ceo-115833094.html

44. “if something you want is not available you have to choose something different or do without until the item you want is in stock.”

Read it again….Mia is the one saying that there is a lot of food stocked, not the supermarkets, they have not said one word either way…

The system of delivery is a problem for them and since you are just as dumb as shit for brains, it’s no use trying to explain it to you either…ya know that inability to understand math and standard english….it might very well be contagious in certain people.

45. WW
    hush you tail and go bed. yuh is a white mout nigger.

instead of pushing for the supermarket to be opened and the majority going and enriching the minority more- you should be calling for the local markets to be opened and advising the majority to go and buy the yam and potatoes that grown locally . helping support one another.

But you got all the brains ad talking all round yuh mout and dribbling pun yuhself.

46. Donna…don’t mind these, they cannot change any narrative…the more they try…the DEEPER THE HOLE THEY ARE DIGGING…

47. The Coronavirus Can Spread Through the Soles of Shoes, According to the CDC

Medical workers on the front lines of the coronavirus should be sure to clean their shoes.

In a new study published in one of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s journals, Emerging Infectious Diseases, researchers tested air and surface samples at a hospital in Wuhan, China, where the coronavirus outbreak initiated. The researchers found that about half of health-care professionals working in intensive care units carried the coronavirus on the soles of their shoes. Further, the report showed that there was a 100% positive rate from the floor of the pharmacy, where only health-care workers traveled, not infected patients.

“Therefore, the soles of medical staff shoes might function as carriers,” the researchers wrote. “We highly recommend that persons disinfect shoe soles before walking out of wards containing COVID-19 patients.”

There is no advisory on the best method for cleaning shoes to best protect against the coronavirus, but a nurse went viral on TikTok for her disinfectant routine, which included placing shoes in bleach overnight.

https://www.yahoo.com/lifestyle/coronavirus-spread-soles-shoes-according-155240105.html

48. Ah guess ya missed the posts about the vegetables yesterday, it came complete with VIDEO..shit for brains2.

49. “if something you want is not available you have to choose something different or do without until the item you want is in stock.”

Was referring to here in ga.NOT BARBADOS….. DONT TRY TWISTING IT TO SUIT UR NEEDS