At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 7:53 AM

Do you recall when and under whose administration our system of governance became adversarial? In a democracy ,is it not natural to have an element of adverse ?

2. This Sinckler discussion demonstrate that there is very little honesty in our coronavirus conversation. One moment we are at death’s door and in the next we pivot and run after Chris Sinckler.

I am in full support of honest discussion, but I hate creation of straw-men to knock over; magnifying mole hills so that they become mountains, and the invention of the repeated and the shifting lie.

It looks as if we can only discuss extremes, thus Mia is bot the best and the worst or is it Fumble who has claimed to these titles?

Chris Sinckler’s policies were not successful and therefore he had to be reduced to the worst economist in the world.. It does not matter that in reality he had very little to work with; truly he was positioned between a rock and a hard place.

Right or wrong, the worst and best or just black and white are a simplistic vision of the real world. They are many shades of gray and to deny their existence does not mean that they do not exist. We need to apply a finer sieve to the world of ideas, so that we are able separate the chaff from the wheat.

Waxing eloquently and trying to discredit Mia should be seen as nothing more than a B & D game.

Do you see how this crowd has pivoted from the coronavirus situation to the hiring of Chris Sinckler. Yesterday Mia was going to kill all of us with this coronavirus. Today, another teapot, another tempest.

Stay safe Barbados
    Social distancing
    Wear a mask
    Practice good Hygiene

3. @Vincent

It was always adversarial but heightened in the period of Mascoll vs Thompson and the way Brandford was treated. Entered OSA.

4. Chris Sinckler’s policies were not successful and therefore he had to be reduced to the worst economist in the world.. It does not matter that in reality he had very little to work with; truly he was positioned between a rock and a hard place….(Quote)

Plse explain. What little in reality did he have to work with? And what were his policies? Was he an economist? I was under the impression he was minister of finance?

5. Why would Mis want to rehab a member of the dlp party
    The dlp was handed the worst of all defeat now i am to belive that Mia would stretch her hand so far to create an environment for Chris to re-emerge
    Cant see the political optics there at all at all
    It is important for govt to maintain there high ratings amongst the public most likely govt ratings is getting a beating and something has to be done
    Patriotism is a powerful tool in bringing country as close as close as possible to unification
    Mia knows that in doing so she would receive a ground swell of support from all which is happening now
    Using Chris as the Key

6. It was always adversarial but heightened in the period of Mascoll vs Thompson and the way Brandford was treated. Entered OSA..(Quote)

??????????

7. @ Hal April 12, 2020 9:58 AM
    You have a point. She is a glib speaker and when her speeches are analyzed ,there is little substance to them . It is just like Arthur: how great an economist he was claimed to be. He ended up bereft of ideas telling the populace that the only solution was for the country to sell more land to foreigners. He could not even get the income and expenditure of the country balance. Any manager running a company who did similarly would have been summarily fired The leaders here are given messianic powers ;so much so that it is thought that they are capable of turning water into wine.

8. @TheOGazerts

Agree with you. Yesterday the blogmaster requested a few who did their best to shift the narrative. However in their usual stubborn vein they continued. First it was about Santia, now Sinckler. All irrelevant to pressing matters of the country. If the blogmaster is heavy handed we have to put up with the moaning and groaning of a few.

Do not worry, it will run its course because they do not have stamina.

9. @Artax,

to tell me in such a manner that MAM is the PM is to state a fact on top of a redundancy repleted with repetition.

i reserve the right to offer you the post at some point later. i thought about Miller but his prose is too flowery -too much like Freundel than Thompson for my taste. Hal would make an excellent campaign manager but he does not suffer fools gladly and if you are representative of my constituents, Hal just wouldnt do if i want to win.

i ask, in the meantime, that you poll the constituency to find out their concerns and devise a plan to meet such concerns. thanks in anticipation.

10. “The leaders here are given messianic powers” or those of the devil – depending on which side you find yourself on.

What little in reality did he have to work with? Are you a Bajan? Are you aware of the realities of the island?

And what were his policies? Isn’t he blamed for the downgrades/defaults? Why?

Is he an economist? Can you tell me exactly what is an economist and I will reply? Can it be gained from on the job experience oor must it be a university degree?

I was under the impression he was minister of finance? So was I.

I will tailor my answer based on the level of your response. That will be my final exchange.

11. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

When this woman can bring a member of the thieving DLP into the fray of things again, it just goes to show what type of cloth she is cut from. The people spoke concerning the stinking corrupt DLP, but no no no, Miss Knowitall believes that her mouth sweet enough to convince all Bajans to follow her lead. Her decision smacks loud of disdain for the people and how they felt about Chris Sinckler and the crooked DLP party.

12. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

And considering that ‘mantra of politicians’ @Mr Blogmaster I really didn’t see “adversarial [roles] heightened in the period of Mascoll vs Thompson”… that was well seasoned internal close combat to become leader. Frankly that is ‘natural’ in political circles and sometimes has dire effects for an opponent as we have seen historically.

Here adversarial should refer to the competing parties and the IMPORTANCE for working to the nation’s benefit during moments of great stress or crisis. Realitically that only happens when the crisis is caused by nature’s forces rather than general external forces…even during the Grenada affair as you recall our local leaders had an adversarial approach to the US intervention.

If mercernaries were known to be enroute to overthrow Bim at that time I can only hope that EWB would have been more amenable to help from up north!

So yep we have been on a wretched adversarial path for a long time… so in theory this MAM ploy is perfect management/leadeship!

13. @ Robert

I am sure that Arthur is a good economist, even a great one. My problem is that he has kept these talents well hidden. As to the president, her speeches are silly sixth form nonsense. She also has a problem with keeping her hands to her side. And what does a solemn speech about death and plague got to do with whether she had dinner or supper?
    Then you get the village idiot talking about hijacking the blog, when the blog is about Covid-19, @Caswell’s speech, and the latest policy development, ie the president’s speech in which she announced her new economic council. Is that discussion off the table? Or do we just talk about the opening times of supermarkets?
    The problem with the chairman is that since he is incapable of debating, he makes bold statements, tries to be sarcastic or becomes abusive. A limited vocabulary.

14. just to remind posters before there was a so called crooked DLP there was a crooked BLP.

Isnt there a saying that a thief from a thief made God laugh.

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Greene, seriously…a thief ftom a thief is your political principled stand. Oh dear, another one joins the club!

16. @ Theo

Apologies for my ignorance. I did not go to school beyond secondary level. I can’t even spell economics. Sorry. But tell me, is a downgrade an economic policy. I ask because I want to learn.

17. When the Prime Minister of Barbados seek to get Mr. Sinckler on a brainstorming board the question must be ask, what is the real cause of the PM SICK leave ?

18. DPD

In these serious times light moments are to be enjoyed, man

19. @ akenatenI April 12, 2020 1:01 AM

You seem to be intimating that there is a concerted effort to kill blacks in the USA. Don’t you think that some of the blame should be put squarely at the foot of the blacks themselves and their black representatives. I lived in the US for nearly four years. Vegetables are dirt cheap ( rents are very high), The eating habits of the black American need to change, The high salt content of soul food, the barbecue foods (spare ribs, pork sausages ) really taste great but as the saying goes every thing in moderation. Then there is the smoking and drinking. and also the fast foods which are consumed in large amounts. All of the afore-mentioned are recipes for disaster. Then there are the black representatives who live palatial mansions. The likes of Al green of Texas, Waters of California and that fellow from Maryland who died the other day all exploited their black constituents. They have represented them for years and have done little to improve their living standards as well as having remedial measures in place to tackle the eating habits. You should look closer to their home environment before jumping on the conspiracy band-wagon.

20. @Hal
    Here we are two eager beavers that are willing to learn.
    Mr Sinckler did not perform the actual downgrade. External agencies/organization performed the downgrade.
    It appears, I will have to devote more than three responses to you. We can work through this, but I tire easily.

21. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Greene

Bajans know that they are all birds of the same crooked feather. However, the DLP hardly hide their corruption. And, with Donville Inniss showing clearly how money funnelled out of the island can occur, we are now wiser to fact that all the glitter coming from DEM was not gold. The DLP should have paid for their boldface thieving arrogance, but 6 is half a dozen, the BLP assisted DEM, and now they all gone clear.

22. Sinckler= wrong move

Dlp should discard of the dead weight from the lost decade . Blp should not be touching that trash for Any reason

Let the enjoy their pensions

23. @Dee Word

You don’t see how it fueled the politics of inclusion and all the slag which flowed from it?

Enough of this, the blogmaster will heed TheOGazzerts advice.

24. You said:

Chris Sinckler’s policies were not successful and therefore he had to be reduced to the worst economist in the world.. It does not matter that in reality he had very little to work with; truly he was positioned between a rock and a hard place….(Quote)

I asked:

Plse explain. What little in reality did he have to work with? And what were his policies? Was he an economist? I was under the impression he was minister of finance?

You replied:

And what were his policies? Isn’t he blamed for the downgrades/defaults? Why?..(Quote)

I asked if a downgrade was an economic policy. I am still at a loss as to what Chris Sinckler’s economic policies were. While you are at it, what is his investment expertise?

25. I’ve said it before and it bears repeating “Bajan politics is pure comedy”. One plank of the BLP’s arsenal has been discarded, Yuh can’t claim 10 lost years when one of the architects of those years is advising you and so this cliché disappears from the lexicon.

For all the camp followers here is a little reminder

April is the cruellest month, breeding
    Lilacs out of the dead land, mixing
    Memory and desire, stirring
    Dull roots with spring rain

T S Eliot

26. Can anyone on this blog tell me what is Hal Austin’s problem? Does BU know that Dame Sharon White, a name this gentleman was fast to drop on the blog as an exemplar (which she is undoubtedly), is an Economist (with undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in Economics from Cambridge and UCL respectively) and was a Civil Servant for most of her working life? Does BU know Dame White, who is black, started in Her Majesty’s Treasury and became a Permanent Secretary before Head of Ofcom, a regulation and competition body? She is now head of John Lewis, one of the most high-profile British retail jobs, according to the Guardian newspaper. Given the gentleman’s numerous rants, BU readers may come to whatever conclusion they wish.

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Really Mr Blogmaster you are truly validating @Austin’s comments about debating.

The issue of adversarial politics was raised and you now in a huff step off due to a different interpretation of that word …. even as you raise the exact opposite concept of inclusion …wrapped in a strange sentence.

How does “…inclusion and all the slag which flowed from it” link to your point that it was “always adversarial but heightened in the period of Mascoll vs Thompson and the way Brandford was treated”?

The man from the Pine was inclusion too and there were others…that political movement created “slag” is what you are suggesting? Mascoll’s inclusion to the BLP surely served him well personally and created slag in the Bajan political landscape?… Commissiong’s twisting and turning over the years from Dee to Bee created slag?

Please explain before you run away..

Discussing MAM’s policy group and her inclusion of a former MoF is absolutely fair game and reasonable…nothing wrong with that for a blog discussing politics…

Come now @David…. Get Real!

28. Sargeant,

COVID provided an out.

from now on all our ills/ problems will be blamed on COVID.

but i am sure deep in the bowels of Roebuck Street some BLP sycophants is trying to link DLP, lost 10 years and COVID together for the ultimate blame location

29. Got to say I too could of done without the inclusion of Sinkler. What has he done economically in the lost decade to benefit the populace? Failed policies followed by a revision of failed policies, backed then by a revised revision of the original failed policy.

I think the PM needs to remember many voted for here so that we could see the back of that bunch. To now drag up such a political cadaver flies in the face of the said electorate that put you there, does it not? He did nothing for the economy when he was the MOF, I doubt 2 years in political exile has therefore done much to improve his economic development. May I therefore suggest you replace him with my vegetable vendor.

30. @John A

That would be the vendor at Cheapside who broke curfew yesterday and almost made you pop your bata slippers?

31. WARU
    “Yeah Silly…don’t know why this government would think the people would need Abed of all people to sell them masks”

Abeds sellingg masks or providing FABRIC? A whole story jn today’s paper about a lady BUYING fabric from Abeds to MAKE masks for sale.

32. Sunshine Sunny
    When this woman can bring a member of the thieving DLP into the fray of things again it just goes to show

Xxxxxxxcccccccccccccccccc

Chris can be exonerated
    Cause Mia says So

33. I will not get into a discussion of minutiae with you. You have a penchant for seizing a toe-hold and then claiming victory. Nit-picking is not attractive.

Please research the role of the Minister of Finance in a government’s fiscal and monetary policies. In BU for the past 10 years some here have tied every fiscal policy of the government directly to Chris Sinckler. I see no reason why we would cut that cord at this time.

As to whether “he is an economist” or “his investment expertise”, Google exists for questions like these. Knock yourself out.

Go in peace.

34. On a lighter note I would like to say I now understand what Donville must of felt like under house arrest, after going through 2 weeks of lockdown. Of course I am consoled by reminding myself that unlike The Don, my sentence will end on May 3rd (hopefully)

35. @David

You have you fun. Yes the said same vendor who I know can make change from a $20 bill without a calculator!

Listen you showing you age when you talk about BATA. The young people would think that is a company like Amazon from our era! Lol

Next thing you going start talking bout is Fogarty and the women self help.

36. “A whole story jn today’s paper about a lady BUYING fabric from Abeds to MAKE masks for sale.”

alyuh do know that there are guidelines for the fabric used to make masks because the PLAGUE GOES RIGHT THROUGH CERTAIN FABRIC/CLOTH…, ah know fowls DONT pay attention to detail…another weakness,

…but ah wont ask if the fabric was sold yesterday when they said they were only selling masks…

37. @John A

The benefit to being raised with a grandmother in the household. Heard about Forgery and the great fire. My grandma preferred Sahaleys.

38. “Got to say I too could of done without the inclusion of Sinkler. What has he done economically in the lost decade to benefit the populace? Failed policies followed by a revision of failed policies, backed then by a revised revision of the original failed policy.”

just watch and wait, more to come….same person they ALL BLAMED THE “LOST DECADE ON”, their words, the fowls had a field day on here for nearly 2 years…just watch how they mutate during the coming months…

39. Mariposa April 11, 2020 10:03 PM #:

RE: “Recently i was in another country and the supermarket managers had put in place x number of people to enter at any giving time so that the matter of social distancing wouldn’t become a problem and the hours were regular hours extending to early evening.”

If you were “in another country” recently, were you TESTED for COVID-19 on your RETURN to Barbados?

Were you quarantined for the mandatory 2 weeks?

But, then again, I did not miss you from BU for 2 weeks.

If you weren’t, surely you must be aware that mingling amongst your relatives, friends and other people, essentially exposed them to the possibility of catching the virus? Yuh know, this was the same thing you were saying about the Trinis?

Or, are you one of the people ‘government is looking for that travelled between March 15 and 30?

But, WAIT A MINUTE……… you spent the past several weeks CRITICIZING the ‘government’ for allowing the ports to REMAIN OPENED, so that people could come in and spread the virus.

And, you USED one of them to TRAVEL to ANOTHER COUNTRY……. and RETURNED (to spread the virus)?

Then, shouldn’t you be full of praise the ports remained opened?

Did you peruse the GAIA web-site to find out the flight departures and arrivals?

Actually, I’m SORRY the ports weren’t CLOSED while you were “in ANOTHER COUNTRY.’ So, that when you landed here, you would have to back to ‘whence thou came.’

And, similar to what you were suggesting ‘government’ should have done with the Trinis, the authorities in that country would have to use the B’dos constitution to “fight’ for you.

Remember, you tell all uh we here that is constitution law. Your situation, according to your chairman, would have been a very good TEST CASE, the results of which, I’m sure, we would have eagerly awaited.

Hahahahahahahahaha

Wuh loss!!!!

40. However the upside of this illusion
    Is that Mottley had the ability to fool those who voted for her and handed her party 30-0 victory
    I wunda how all the blp yardfowls emotions are turning now
    Top of the day idiots

Lol lol he he hee
    Piece dont bite yuh tongue next time i suggest yuh sallow it doah
    Not one RH seat.

41. “One plank of the BLP’s arsenal has been discarded, Yuh can’t claim 10 lost years when one of the architects of those years is advising you and so this cliché disappears from the lexicon.”

Some, not me, are saying with all these hundreds of millions BEING BORROWED….old habits tend to die hard, what better way to skim off the top than to hire those ya labeled corrupt who approved all types of corrupt contracts…..whom ya accused complete with a big red bag of evidence…

again…i did not say that…it is someone else’s thoughts..

42. Artax go bag uh head uh think i gonna give yuh time periods and place/s
    Yuh got to be mad
    Recently. Should suffice

43. One question I would really like to ask is; how many of incompetent Sinckler’s taxes and policies are taxpayers still saddled with today. All I see is yet another instance of bligh giving and getting. “Make room at the trough for my man, there is still meat on this calf to be had”

I have lost count of the number of economic advisers and consultants employed since May 2018.

44. Mariposa April 11, 2020 10:03 PM #: “However i suspect that the short hours goes along with govt trying to include a measure to protect food shortages”

@ Mari

Last week you suggested opening supermarkets for 2 or 3 days, ‘at later and closing at shorter hours.’

So, why the ‘change of heart,’ now?

45. We have economic advisers, but where are the economic policies? It is now two years since we had BERT? Then BEST. What now? Covid-19 has been with us since December, is it beyond the current advisers to come up with a post coronavirus policy to refresh, or even overhaul, the economy? Or are their fees too high?
    What policies did Sinckler introduced that led the president to think he had good ideas for the current problems?

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Yes @John A, that too was the first thought that came to mind…showing age. Oh how I amusingly recall those $xx.99 pricing models that company advertised so well and too a pair of red platform disco shoes I eyed (and stupidly then bought) and wore about twice…Stupid folly of youth! (no remarks on its lingering effects, accepted)🤣🤣

Anyhow, the word BAT-A can also take us to this terribly, xenophobic joke: …so why are the Chinese so bad at cricket…well because they eat all the damn bats!

May we all treat our neighbours respectfully and can laugh at our jokes on each other… have a great day of rebirth and rejuvenation all!

And @Greene, you better believe that: “from now on all our ills/ problems will be blamed on COVID.”.

There is absolutely no conceivable way that this is not OUR life defining moment…so until a vaccine or other medication is developed to counteract this virus’ affects our economy, food consumption, personal interactions evathing wrong and right can be linked or likely blamed on this monster.

If the BLP can fix the Dems in there too well my commiserations re your aspirations…that’s politics!

47. One may not agree with Sinckler’s appointment but the criteria for appointment should be, all living former MoFs were invited.

Capiche?

48. Another next thing; we the members of Alcoholist Anonymous would like to know when will the ban on the sale of alcohol be officially lifted? It is tiresome and fast becoming unbearable. We would like a likkle bligh now that the curfew has been extended. Thank you please.

49. Artax
    @ Mari

Last week you suggested opening supermarkets for 2 or 3 days, ‘at later and closing at shorter hours

Stop stretching yuh point because your last comment smacks of half truths
    I do remember opening days but not short hours

50. We have bashed the corona virus issues to death. There has as yet been no alarming explosion of cases in Barbados. Unfortunately, this is not so in that part of the world from whence we expect our tourists. Now we are looking into what we must do to address the economic reality that will hit us in its wake. What could be more appropriate???? I was hoping for a new approach – an awakening!

But last night I thought I was having a nightmare and I awakened to find that it is really true that Mia Mottley has hired a man to advise her on the way forward for our economy whose obviously inept handling of said economy left me with no choice but to vote for her.

Not quite the awakening I was hoping for, I’m afraid! No, I mean it, I am TRULY AFRAID! On the day some people are celebrating the miraculous resurrection from the dead of a man/God who, whether one thinks he is real or imaginary, represents some timeless principles to live by, our prime minister has chosen to call forth from the dead a duppy that we the people buried 30 feet down!

https://youtu.be/sOnqjkJTMaA

Help!