At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. Ghouls of a feather STINK together!

2. One wonders if Dame Sharon White was a former colleague of Rawdon Adams, who also started in HMT and is often maligned by the Hal Austin.🤣🤣

3. “Stop stretching yuh point because your last comment smacks of half truths.”

@ Mari

Read what you wrote on April 4, and then explain how my “last comment smacks of half truths.”

Mariposa April 4, 2020 6:42 AM #: “Hence a call for immediate closure of supermarkets would have been unnecessary but putting in place measures which would have include social distancing while people are shopping and slowing down the food supplies

Opening supermarkets at LATER and CLOSING at SHORTER HOURS

Also days to be opened can be SHORTENED to TWO or THREE which can still help to keep unemployment in that sector low and employees having a part time job…..”

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

As I mentioned previously, you criticize just for the sake of being critical.

Your job is to nit pick and criticize everything.

4. WARU
    So now it is about if they are selling the right fabric. You are to LIARD.

5. We have bigger liars to worry about than Mariposa and WURA!

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You all must remember that Mia started her political career as a Dem. Her move to the BLP was merely for political expediency.

After the 1986 election, where the DLP won 24 to 3, the BLP was desperate for candidates to run in 24 constituencies while the DLP only needed three. There was simply no place for her to run on a DLP ticket so she made the switch. There is therefore no philosophical divide between Mia and her pals in the DLP.

SInckler is Mia’s friend and she is merely trying to rehabilitate him. That’s what friends are for.

In the 2018 General Elections, everyone expected a BLP victory and Mia tried everything in her power to ensure that Sinckler was not defeated. That is why she made sure that the former messenger from Mottley’s law office became the BLP candidate. No one, in their wildest dreams, expected Neil Rowe to beat Sinckler.

I might be cynical but this move almost guarantees Sinckler’s victory over Rowe in the next election and his assumptions of the leadership of the DLP, all compliments his good friend, Mia Mottley.

7. “Folks, if you think things are tough now, then wait and see what happens if tourism dies and we don’t have a replacement. One word – HELL”

Theo…we have been telling them FOR YEARS ON END to DIVERSIFY….the same rating agencies that DLP picked up the people’s tax dollars and paid them for advice told them TO DIVERISFY…..even Bloomberg stated in more than one article that the economy should be DIVERSIFIED…

every other word out of their mouths was tourism, every other word out of the population’s mouth was tourism, every other word spoken by the CBC nuisance station was tourism every goddamn night and in the day too, till ya got sick of listening to all of them…because they could not carry on a conversation without it..

….they embraced their DEPENDENCY and did not want to hear about anything else, if you said anything you became their enemy……they all thought in their ignorance that it would last forever…despite everyone telling them that it wouldn’t.

I guess they will live off loans, but as long as the people plant their food to feed themselves and families…the politicians deserve to jump through hoops..

this is all on them…no one else…

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Donna, as far blog posts go…yours with Thriller link was quite, quite impressive in the direct and purposeful subliminal/psychlogical messaging. Spot on!

@Artax, your take down of Mari’s travel was excellent. It was cute when he tried to deflect by suggesting that “recently” was indicative of a time before the restrictions n issues here. Made little sense as no country had designed shopping line demarcations or any of that until mid to late March…well except maybe China and some of her nearest neighbours… and if he went that far then definitely he never told us about his self quarantine etc…… Anyhow enough of Mr Charlatan.

To you blogger Donna…Your Thriller lyrics MAKE THE POINT…

Tired of injustice
    Tired of the schemes
    Your lies are disgusting
    What does it mean
    Kicking me down
    I gotta get up
    As jacked as it sounds
    The whole system sucks

Peek in the shadow
    Come into the light
    You tell me I’m wrong
    Then you better prove you’re right
    You’re sellin’ out souls but
    I care about mine
    I’ve got to get stronger
    And I won’t give up the fight

[ …]
    Stop pressurin’ me
    Just stop pressurin’ me
    Stop pressurin’ me
    Make me wanna scream

Tired of tellin’ the story your way
    You’re causin’ confusion
    You think it’s okay

You keep changin’ the rules
    While you keep plain’ the game
    I can’t take it much longer
    I think I might go insane

Oh my God, can’t believe what I saw on the TV this evening
    I was disgusted by all the injustice
    All the injustice

With such delusions don’t it make you wanna scream
    You’re bash abusin’ victimize within the scheme
    You try to cope with every lie they scrutinize

[…]
    Make me wanna scream

Spot on!

9. @ F M Luder

Listen wunna at AA got to start thinking smart. Put on a white shirt with a collar and go to the nearest shop and say you are Pastor Eulasise Drake from The Born Again Apostolic Church and you want 4 bottles of wine so the virtual congregation can take communion.

Apparently it ain’t a lie if you doing God’s work!

10. We know that they are friends. We know that many of them are friends. I have friends too that I would not hire for certain posts no matter what. This rehabilitation will fail because of how much of a slap it is in the face of the electorate. Nobody will forget what they suffered under Sinckler. And nobody will forget that she chose her friend over those who elected her and rejected him

There is no sense voting in this country if one’s vote will be overruled! “THE DUOPOLY RULES” has never been more in evidence than today!

I am truly disgusted.

PS. And lest we forget, Alleyne Arthur ‘s only ideas at the end involved selling every profitable enterprise we had for quick cash.

These are the embalmed brains to take us forward! On to the cemetery!

11. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Mariposa

He and all the others accept, Donville. They were all thieves and corrupt until she got what she wanted. So you are right, Mia pardon Christopher, so as far as she is concerned, he is valuable to her cause.

12. “It does not matter that in reality he had very little to work with; truly he was positioned between a rock and a hard place….(Quote)”

It would be interesting to note what he has to work with now….he must have developed some superhuman economic skills since the 30–0 and all those downgrades…

“We have bigger liars to worry about than Mariposa and WURA!”

don’t mind Fowl Enuff trying to shift the narrative….i specifically stated yesterday that Bajans cant eat RH cloth, so wuh Abeds open to sell CLOTH FOR…when we were WELL AWARE that Yankee Garment got permission to MAKE MASKS…the story kept shifting from he opened to sell cloth to he opened to sell masks…none of which sat well with anyone when the damn SUPERMARKETS WERE CLOSED and still are until the 15th….when people are waiting patiently to BUY FOOD..

the fowl is acting as though am the one was swinging around a big red bag and telling the whole wide world how corrupt DLP is, what Sinckler did, the 10 LOST YEARS HE CREATED…blah, blah, blah…with Enuff being one of the ones on BU blah, blahing for nearly 2 years,…and now everyone is marveling that he has been chased down to be included in the 50 other advisers and consultants at taxpayer’s expense…..with the all hands on deck, many hands make light work or is it light fingers…ah still not sure….

that narrative is hot on FB the fowl cannot succeed on changing it on BU>..

13. In the 2018 General Elections, everyone expected a BLP victory and Mia tried everything in her power to ensure that Sinckler was not defeated. That is why she made sure that the former messenger from Mottley’s law office became the BLP candidate.
    +++++++++++++++++++
    But Neil is a Parliamentary Secretary 😉 and I thought that Donville was Mia’s friend, turns out she maybe Sincklers’s Knight in shining armour who is prepping him to pull the rug from under Verla

Pure comedy

14. @ Enuff April 12, 2020 1:20 PM

You are nothing but a little bully boy. Why are you going after small fish in the political sea of liars?

Why not listen to what the siren Cassandra is foretelling you @
    Donna April 12, 2020 1:24 PM
    “We have bigger liars to worry about than Mariposa and WURA!”.

Aren’t you the least bit disappointed far less disgraced with the resurrection of the Bajan god of big foot Lies?

Were you not the one in the sanctum inner sanctorum advising MAM on the appointment of the other scamming MAM and the reincarnated son of Dolos aka Stinkliar?

15. Is the time ripe for Dr DeLisle Worrell to tell us of his experience under the DLP government?

16. @John A

Listen wunna at AA got to start thinking smart. Put on a white shirt with a collar and go to the nearest shop and say you are Pastor Eulasise Drake from The Born Again Apostolic Church

Yuh got de wrong church, yuh mean “The Church of What’s happening now”

17. Artax go bag uh ahead trying yuh best to twist and mislead
    Mottley gives a window of aporox 3 hours
    How de hell can u interpret my comment into a time period defined by what hours i might have wanted
    Where did i make mention specifically of what Hours of day to be opened or closed
    Man leave me alone
    Go check Mia schedule and when u find mine compare my schedule to hers and dont tell me nothing about Late and Early those are not hours
    Fughet yu

18. Fowl Enuff…ya should get chased off BU, ya are a REAL FRAUD and ya are not using me to get away with helping to PERPETRATE THAT FRAUD ON THE ELECTORATE in 2018…..as long as ya know….ya trying to slither out of it, but i will reel ya dirty tail right back in….and let the blog have a real go at ya…

Donna…it has been said for years that Mia is godmother to Sinckler’s child or children or some such, so when they are putting on their FRENEMIES FRAUD SHOW…stand clear….they are all tied up in each other in one slimy form or another……the people who elected them ALWAYS END UP BEING THEIR VICTIMS AND SUFFERING BILLION DOLLAR LOSSES.

the display and pretense they keep up around election time is just for their DUMB ENUFF YARDFOWLS…

19. “Aren’t you the least bit disappointed far less disgraced with the resurrection of the Bajan god of big foot Lies?”

not that Fowl…she is trying to draw attention away from the FRAUD SHE HELPED PERPETRATE ON THE ELECTORATE…..but don’t worry, she GOT TRAPPED…can’t get out now….we can see what she is trying to do, jumping all over the place at Hal, at me at everyone..

20. Mia produce a list for shopping complied of people last name Intial
    Then gives a 3hr time period for these people to do shopping
    Any one who does grocery shopping for a two weeks worth of groceries knows it takes time
    Especially during these anxious period when people most likely would want to buy as much as possible because of the lack of freedom not able to go whenever they pleases
    Added having to deal with lines
    Now comes along Artax trying to spin my comments to what he think i said
    Either govt is going to lay out a plan that is reasonable rationale and easy to follow or just continue playing political games hoping the peoples eyes would be blinded and ears closed to the measures
    Hell No i would never endorse a 3 hour limit for so many people to shop in few days
    That alone is mental torture
    Btw how long is an individual allowed in the super market to shop

21. Wasn’t the argument that if people knew they had access to the supermarkets there is no great desire to hoard? They can now look forward to shopping on a weekly basis. You have zero credibility on the blog. Observe last night people of your strips telling you to relax. You are what is called a die in the wool yardfowl if one can use double superlatives to label you.

#spoton

22. @Trapper John A,
    Yuh see dat trap you now set, wuh I do you nuh? Why are you trying to get me locked up?
    Is not me who send you down Cheapside.

The collar ain’t nuh problem, but you ain’t hear that you must walk with your ID card, driver’s licence, passport and either a birth or death certificate? You know full well that the small shops dun run out the since April 03.

We does got to be searching all over the place to find waters of suitable colour and quantities. You could only give the same reasons, and show the same papers for so many times before some bright officer start asking questions and casting aspersions on your habits.

23. Dribbler
    U ought to stick to what u know
    Neither Artax or anyone knows nothing of me
    I make no false claims as to how and where i travel
    The problem lies in not knowning where i was when i left and where i am
    So speak only to those things u know
    For all it can be that i never came back to the island
    But then again u guys know so much
    Now David it is over to u
    Know u ready to tell your side of the story

24. Actually…it should not take more than 30 minutes to fill ya trolley, if you have been shopping for years, ya should know where most things are located outside of the things they shift around, then you can ask if you don’t know, should not take more than a few minutes to ask a question…

…75 people shopping in a 3 hour time span should work out just fine in a big supermarket….unless ya want to go browsing around like too many do, like they are not accustomed shopping, just make sure the dates on items ARE NOT EXPIRED and get ya ass to the cashier and get out before ya catch a lethal dose of the PLAGUE if ya not covered from head to hands..

ya do not play tourist in a supermarket during a plague…and they have to clean the supermarket after ya leave and prepare for the next 75 shoppers anyway…have some consideration.

25. Heard that long ago. I guess she is being a good godmother and looking out for the godchildren.

I lost my childlike faith in our leaders long time ago. I hoped, however, that seeing Barbados on the precipice would precipitate a change even if temporarily.

All hope is now gone!

26. My problem with this economic committee is that if we as Bajans are to have faith in it, then at the very least you don’t think it should be made up of respected and successful persons in that discipline?

I mean if you was looking for a batsman for a cricket team you would pick a fellow that every time he face the bowling he get bowl for a duck? If you want to see results then at the very least pick people that got a history of scoring runs.

Every single MOF since and including Tom Adams and Barrow always said the same thing. “We must diversify our economy so it is less dependant on Tourism.” 40 years later we are as dependant now if not more so, than we were then. So you now gather up all those who had years to diversify the economy and didn’t and putting them on a committee to diversify the same economy that they couldn’t fix when dem was in power.

Lord have mercy if them couldn’t get em do then, they going do it now? Wunna need to get together the leaders in business and let them tell you what they need. Don’t waste time sitting down trying to guess at what is needed. Other than political gesturing and based on the makeup of the said group, I expect little in the way of results.

27. “I lost my childlike faith in our leaders long time ago.”

Too many grown Bajans still have that childlike faith in corrupt, deceitful politicians who tell LIES BY DEFAULT, that is why they have been ROBBED GENERATIONALLY for all these DECADES…that is why they will continue to get robbed AGAIN…until they see these parasites on two legs for what they really are…COMMON CLASS THIEVES AND SELL OUTS…and deal with them accordingly

28. DavidApril 12, 2020 2:23 PM

Wasn’t the argument that if people knew they had access to the supermarkets there is no great desire to hoard? They can now look forward to shopping on a weekly basis. You have zero credibility on the blog. Observe last night people of your strips telling you to relax. You are what is called a die in the wool yardfowl if one can use double superlatives to label you

Many times i try to ignore your idiocy
    It seems that your are so deeply entrenched in the bosom of the blp that one word saying against govt measures make u anxious
    Yuh better slow down before yuh have a heart attack
    From the time govt implement measures most saw that the measures lack any abilty to withstand the panic and fear driven by the virus
    I will bet that these last set of measures would be driven back because of a three hour shopping period
    Btw i dont think u know who i am
    Who are these people ?

29. THIS IS WHO MIA LOVE LIAISED AND DEFENDS TEDROS, AND CALLS HIS DETRACTORS ‘racists’…GET A LOAD OF THUS GUY!!!

30. “Heard that long ago. I guess she is being a good godmother and looking out for the godchildren”

i believe it is a little more involved than that, the walls they built years ago using the poor taxpayers and pensioners money to BIG UP THEMSELVES could very well be CLOSING IN ON THEM NOW…so it is time to CLOSE RANKS to save each other’s asses…either stand together, or FALL ONE BY ONE…..they may not be seeing that they can all fall together just fine…lol

it’s a nice show though…2 more advisers, no one said anything about them volunteering, they do not have that level of integrity, so of course it must be to suck on taxpayers as usual, out of the damn gaggle of useless advisers and consultants they have already, who would notice two more…

….and it’s not like anything can be done about it until the electorate kick every one of their parasitic asses out in 2023…we can see the play unfolding slowly, thing is it is said Sinkler went and cuss his constituents after he lost the election and asked them back for the money that they SWORE HE BRIBED THEM WITH TO VOTE….they in turn told him that it’s their money ANYWAY, he thinks they are stupid or what..lol

look out for more comedy…

31. The argument did not only stop at time
    I ran on a track of access and time
    What govt has done is to give access with little or no time
    Who u trying to fool
    The time factor is just as big a deal as access

32. Oh as far as my credibility
    I have nothing to worry about
    Check Mia latest servings most of them rotten to the core
    Imagine using Sincklair to pull numbers off the dlp base to help build govt dwindling numbers
    Fraud and liar if u want to speak of credibility it is all within the bed u are now laying called blp
    Back off and dont worry about my credibility worry about those people closest to u in govt you are trying to protect
    What a duffus
    Lol

33. Miller
    I don’t bully nobody! I don’t like people who come on the blog lie and then try to exculpate themselves. How can one call people dishonest, tiefin and lying repeatedly and something as simple as storeS allowed to open to sell cloth be portrayed as one store selling masks? I go further, how do WE as a BU community of self-declared paragons of virtue castigate politicians, lawyers and whomever in public glare for being liars but take a pass on those within the BU community? This WARU said she’s married to a white man and hobnobbed with the whites, then said I made it up. You ask me a lotta shite like I am in the government, so I ignore you. You continue to accuse me of being in some “inner sanctum”, which I am, so I ignore you. Because I can string two sentences together that make sense, exhibit original thought (not cut & paste) and support the government does not mean I am part of or involved with the government. On Sinckler, magnanimity wasn’t necessary at this time, especially since Sinckler has little to nothing to offer.

34. “…… and dont tell me nothing about Late and Early those are not hours.”

@ Mari

I did NOT ” try spin your comments.”

You ‘said’ you can’t remember writing anything about ‘shorter hours,’ and I posted what you wrote for BU to read.

“Opening supermarkets at later and CLOSING at SHORTER HOURS.”

And, PLEASE note the word “HOURS”….. YOU wrote it….. NOT ME.

You can ‘nit pick’ about actual hours ‘all you want,’ in an attempt to “save face.” But, the ‘long and short of the story’ is…… shorter hours…… ARE… shorter hours.

You can take some friendly advice from WARU:

“…75 people shopping in a 3 hour time span should work out just fine in a big supermarket….unless ya want to go browsing around like too many do, like they are not accustomed shopping, just make sure the dates on items ARE NOT EXPIRED and get ya ass to the cashier and get out before ya catch a lethal dose of the PLAGUE if ya not covered from head to hands..”

It’s similar to you being on BU making a big ‘hullabaloo’ for SEVERAL WEEKS, that the ports should be CLOSED. ‘Lo and behold,’ you came with a ‘LITTLE WHITE FIB’ re “Recently I WAS in ANOTHER COUNTRY.”

Yuh mean to tell me, you still ‘over in away’ and ‘saying’ “I WAS in another country?”

And, you ‘telling’ David BU “Many times (you) try to ignore (his) idiocy?”

Mari, you is nuff, nuff sport, den.

35. of all MAM’s waffle and baffle, proposals and promises that are pipe dreams to be mentioned from time to time but never attained, the part that consumes this blog is the appointment of Sinckler to some COVID economic council.

Cambridge Analytica really did a number on the Bajan psyche. it got unnuh still hating the DLP and its former MPs so MAM had to step and save a fella. lets see unnuh transfer that hate to MAM. WUH LOSS, MUH BELLY, MURDER IN THE MARKET, MURDER.

do yuh ting MAM. go girl go

36. Artax until u show me an hourly number that i associated to time slots late or early u cannot assumed what time of the day i would have preferred
    So stop yuh silly games of trying to play got yuh
    Mia made mention of time periods hourly to which i say the periods were too short
    Now i done wid that so knock yuh self out trying to prove me wrong which u cannot unless u can provide sound proff wherby i took a certain time periods into consideration in hourly fashion by mention of the times

37. TheoGaz

“One blogger like to state that things should be taken in context. Many of the answers paraded on BU are devoid of context. They are the easy answers. They are the voice of opposition without looking at the substance of the question.”

This and the entire contribution.👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾

When we rely pon cut & paste and never worked one day in a publicy policy environment, we usually just TALK. That’s why I continue to laugh at those that keep saying there’s no growth plan in BERT. How could the blind see? It confirmed what I always knew, quite a number of people in here don’t know wuh dem talking bout. Familiarity with a topic is usually demonstrated by the language used; this is exemplified by GP, Dr.Lucas, Vincent, Artax, Walter and a few others. You can tell Hal Austin was just someone who wrote but never did.🤣🤣

38. On the other side of the ledger
    Three more cases have been added to barbados COVID list which will in due time makes the virus easily transferrable to the community
    Mia came out charging like a bull.to calm fears and distribute gifts
    Corona does not give two RH about Mia govt or govt measures
    However Mia is responsible for the rise in cases by leaving the airport open
    How silly to hear govt officials asking visitors to show themselves at the ministry of health weeks after travelling through barbados
    As always cart hauling the donkeys

39. @John April 11, 2020 11:24 PM “Does BARP membership qualify as Senior Citizen, 50? At what age can a Bajan trade in the old ID Card for a new Senior Citizen Card?”

In this instance the PM said age 70, that is the old-old. In Barbados the life expectancies are as follows. Male 73.1, female 78.0 and total life expectancy is 75.6

Bajans can get the senior ID card at 65.

40. @ Hal April 12, 2020 11:27 AM

I did a year of economics, half a year of farm management and a year of organization theory and behavior with some industrial management thrown in for good measure. In addition had hands on experience working as a project analyst at the (BDB). Left the latter to get back into the sciences less money but I liked the sciences more.. I stand by what I have said about Arthur:: Any one who as the leader of a country could get up and tell the populace that the only solution to their economic problems. was the selling of land is not only bereft of ideas but is also unfit to lead a country. He couldn’t even get the country’s expenditure and income balance. He is another glib talker like Mia. Full of wind that is about all.

41. Three more Barbadians tested positive for COVID-19 yesterday out of a total of 58 tests carried out by the Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory.
    This brings the total number of people who have tested positive for COVID-19 since March 16 to 71

Four deaths have occurred and 11 people have recovered and have been released from isolation. There are 56 persons currently in isolation.

The number of tests done by the public health laboratory to date is 805.

805 Tested

71 Positive

4 Dead

42. Miller
    Previous sentence should read.

You continue to accuse me of being in some “inner sanctum”, which I am NOT, so I ignore you.

By the way who is a bigger bully than WARU? Wuh she called me all manner of tings under the sun but don’t know me. I called her a liar based on the proof on BU. Making 97% of the posts on the blog says what, if not bully? I repeat, go ask the government and its advisors. Rest muh!

43. “You ask me a lotta shite like I am in the government, so I ignore you. ”

ya come on the blog AND PRETEND YA ARE IN THE INNER SANCTUM…and have all the insider information…ya attack anyone who is not a yardfowl like yaself following BLINDLY
    without question AND WHEN IT BACKFIRES ON YOU…ya backoff and claim ya do not support the government or any of its policies…

SO WHO IS THE DAMN LIAR…YOU OF COURSE…

44. @Robert Lucas April 12, 2020 3:40 AM “@ Silly Woman “Bobby pin” I haven’t heard the term used in years. My mum used to use them. You sure it isn’t Bobbin pin?”

It was a quotation from an American site. The CDC is in Atlanta, so maybe they still use the term bobby pin there. But I love language, so I am good with any term, for the little tool.

I am not sure if they mean what we call in Barbados a hair pin, or even a hair clip. But I am making some masks today for the “immediate extended” family and I am using a safety pin to run the elastic. Because one can close a safety pin, one is less likely to lose the elastic in the fabric channel.

And you know that I always have a story. In days of yore when poor rural mothers had to be handy, my mother made home made panties for herself and her girls, no Victoria’s Secret’s from a fancy Miami Mall then, lolll!!, and she taught us how the ‘run the elastic’ in the waist of the panties, using either a safety pin, a hair clip, or a hair pin. So I am good. Haven’t forgotten, nor discarded the old skills.

P.S. I also went to a “duncy” secondary school where girls were made to learn needlework and domestic science as the subjects were called in those days.

45. @ Robert

We had 14 yrs of Arthur’s leadership as evidence of his economic policymaking. I have said on numerous occasions his best contribution to Barbados politics now is to write his political autobiography, and while at it, a book on CARICOM. We have had nearly ten years of Sinckler and look what happened. We have now had two years of Mottley and Persaud and look what we have got.
    We have got a bevy of former governors of the central bank and senior officials and the president wanted to select members of the Covid-economic council and she picked the monkeys, rather than the organ grinders.

46. They left the Fowl Enuff out of their Sinckler plans, she was so damned SHOCKED to find out like everyone else that to hide SHAME in her fowl face she had to come out and claim this and that about masks and cloth and pure shite…the OBJECTIVE WAS REACHED FOWL in case ya missed that.., THE SUPERMARKET WILL BE OPENED SO THAT PEOPLE CAN BUY FOOD until they plant their own…..but if ya were not SHIFTING THE STORY testing the waters to see what the people will accept and what they would not…ya would not have been caught by surprise and now trying to shift again…

STRATEGY FAILED ON SEVERAL FRONTS…

#fowls are FAILURES….

ya can’t even get a pick like Sinkler…ya stuck with spreading misinformation on the blog, but now ya are EXPOSED…

47. Don’t worry…ah got something for ya…give me about 20 minutes…ya life Fowl life, it is all yours..

48. THE TOURISM GAME IS UP FOR ALL THE CORRUPT AND NARROW MINDED INDIVIDUALS IN BIM.

Coronavirus Will Likely ‘Stalk The Human Race’ Until There’s A Vaccine, WHO Envoy Says

The public should expect the coronavirus to linger until a vaccine is developed, and the virus is likely to “[stalk] the human race for quite a long time to come,” a public health expert with the World Health Organization said Sunday.

“There will be small outbreaks that will emerge sporadically and they will break through our defenses,” WHO Special Envoy David Nabarro, whose past work includes overseeing Ebola outbreak response in West Africa, told NBC’s “Meet the Press.”

He said it probably won’t be like influenza, which comes in “waves.”

Communities implementing “a kind of defensive shield” ― which would involve detecting and isolating cases the moment they appear to prevent outbreaks from developing ― will be key, Nabarro said.

“It’s going to be necessary for every single country to have that capacity,” he said. “So we are actually encouraging countries to put that in place now and that will facilitate releasing lockdowns and prevent further massive outbreaks.”

https://www.yahoo.com/huffpost/david-nabarro-who-coroanvirus-stalks-human-race-164722126.html

49. Your phrase “Many times i try to ignore your idiocy,” is appropriate here, but ……….

Nit picking about not mentioning a specific hour is nonsense. I did not mentioned or ‘held you down’ to any specific hours.

I NEVER “ASSUMED what time of the day (you) would have preferred.” Nor, I DID NOT make any attempt “TO PROVE YOU WRONG” about anything. Additionally, the ‘discussion’ does not have anything to do with the hours Mottley mentioned.

All this is IRRELEVANT.

You MADE a SUGGESTION re: “Opening supermarkets at later and CLOSING at SHORTER HOURS.”

Some supermarkets open from as early as 6 AM and close at 7 PM (13 hours). Carlton, for example, opens from 6 AM until 10:01 PM (6 hours, 1 minute).

If they’re now going to be opened for 3 hours per day…….

………..doesn’t this mean supermarkets are “CLOSING at SHORTER HOURS?”

What is so difficult to understand about that?

50. @Hal Austin April 12, 2020 8:00 AM “With hands all over the place.”

Do you have a fetish with our Prime Minister’s hands?

Why?

They are her hands, she can use them as she pleases. She does not have to ask hal Austin’s permission to use the two hands God has blessed her with.

You have your own two hands, don’t you?

Some people so petty den!

Stupssseee!!!