Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup

At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. Be careful what you wish for…..

“a gruesome harbinger of what’s to come when poverty meets pandemic.

‘POOR VIGILANCE’
    The original contagion is thought to have been brought by travelers returning from Spain and Italy in late winter.”

2. and talk about cant understand standard English? you have proven your point that you cant?

Someone was talking about understanding thing in context earlier?

3. Read it again….Mia is the one saying that there is a lot of food stocked, not the supermarkets, they have not said one word either way…

yardfowls are exhausting, but i am so glad the world see them as the total assholes they are and only good for propping up, supporting and enabling CORRUPT GOVERNMENTS…..and can be truly labeled AS FUNCTIONING IDIOTS…

4. what does what maia said or the supermarket not say got to do with what’s going on here in ga beside you trying to shift?

5. What is going on in the southern US is that people are DYING LIKE FLIES…..that is all.

6. shifty shifty ,,,,,that is you

7. WARU
    From the outset, I always made it clear I was neither an insider nor affiliated with the government. I also said I am not a lawyer. So more lies by you to cover up the fact that you are a BIG LIAR. The supermarkets should have remained SHUT for in-store shopping until the curfew ended. I can and I will repeat–the supermarkets should be shut until May 4th. No one would have starved as you with your usual hysterics claimed, no one. I see in the UK people are waiting 2-3 weeks, not the usual 2-3 days, and I haven’t read about anyone starving. As for your referencing overseas online orders, it shows a lack of understanding of the vast differences between logistics and distribution in large countries and Barbados. For one, online deliveries are not accommodated from every supermarket outlet, if any at all. They adopt a regional distribution approach. So you may live close to supermarket X but your online delivery comes from supermarket D/warehouse miiiiles away. Delivery vans are stocked, to cover a specific geographic area and drivers don’t do restocks–one trip. With the household density and housing typologies when orders ramp up for whatever reason, including Christmas and obviously a pandemic, major problems. In Bim, there is no regionalisation, you order from A and collect or receive from A. Given our size, this allows multiple trips per day for deliveries. Our housing typology lends to essy deliveries too. The PM says there is no shortage of food, which would be the biggest issue. Supermarkets needed more personnel to take and put the orders together and drivers. Temporary locations could also have been considered to further disperse crowds. After all, nuff non-essential buildings are closed. The NIS knows every OAP; the disabilities unit knows the disabled. These and other vulnerable groups could have been
    collated and given priority for online and curbside pick up. The processes would have smoothed out. Staying at home as much as possible seems the way to containing the virus, even if mummified in public like you. The BU crowd may be afraid of you, but not me. You are a LIAR. But wait I am a fowl saying the supermarkets should be closed? You may have the last lie.🤣🤣

8. while the fowls think they can change narrative all over the place because THEY GOT SO MUCH TO HIDE…facts are out there for everyone to see…keep digging holes and see how many ya will end up digging for yaselves…ah don’t see any supermarkets closed here..

simple commonsense…if ya don’t want the supermarkets opened…then ya can only want them closed to the public picking up their own items…ya crook……..and ya still don’t have the power to stop them from opening so that people have easier access to food, which would be near impossible unless they are open…

“ATLANTA, GA — Georgia residents were urged by the governor to celebrate Easter weekend at home as the number of new coronavirus cases reported in the state continues to rise. According to numbers released Saturday at noon by the Georgia Department of Public Health, the state now has 12,159 cases of COVID-19, up from 11,483 cases one day ago.

While the increase in cases is 676, the number is less than the previous day’s increase of more than 900 cases.

The state also saw 12 more deaths since Friday, bringing the total death toll to 428. The health department reports that deaths make up 3.52 percent of all cases. A total of 2,479 people with COVID-19 have been hospitalized as of Saturday’s noon report. That is 20.39 percent of all cases.”

9. Oh, and as the provision of food by supermarkets is an essential service (note I haven’t said in-store shopping), the filling of orders could have been a 24-hr shift operation. Yes costs, employee transportation etc would have to be sorted.

10. and what does that have to prove?

that u have to wait four days for online orders from supermarkets?

11. Ya just could not be happy for the people to have easier access to food, ya just had to carry on because ya so badminded and ended up exposing ya true self…too late to backtrack now, ya are the most repulsive government yardfowl to date…the only one who don’t want to see their people have access to CHOOSING AND BUYING THEIR OWN FOOD…

even though the government acknowledges that the supermarkets will reopen, that is not want you want to hear…….but guess what, ya still can’t stop it…so boo hoo hoo…

when thousands of tourists were walking around the island, some with infection ya said not a word…ya still not saying anything about open ports, the airlines and cruiseliners had to BE STOPPED….

when the long face retard invited Bajans to staycation in INFECTED HOTEL ROOMS…and did not tell the people that hotels have the PLAGUE , NOT A WORD FROM YOU… but opening the supermarkets for Bajans to eat and ya getting an aneurysm…. well i hope it blows up ya damn head…lowlife…

the electorate will handle the rest.

12. Walmart has curbside pick up and next day delivery
    Kroger has pick up but not delivery.

this 4 day waiting for supermarket online orders is too googling and not understanding what you read because you got the biggest brains out

all the other BS is too much pride and cant admit you wrong so send out diversions.

13. Something like a thermometer on Amazon or pharmacies (walgreens and cvs) over a month wait or not in supply.

14. Wuhloss… the political scientist said Sinkler has no political future in Barbados…

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/244974/wickham-political-revival-sinckler

15. That is what i don’t get with these TALKING HEADS…what does people still supporting DLP has to do with the current government running the country efficiently and competently AS THE TAXPAYER’S ARE PAYING THEM TO DO…this is not A YARDFOWL GATHERING EXERCISE, there is a PLAGUE in progress…this is not a time for yardfowl GATHERING…look how well that has worked out so far…..pure shite, as i said, these types of degrees should be criminalized..

no one has to SUPPORT A GOVERNMENT FOR THEM TO DO THEIR JOBS…they are employees, just do ya damn jobs…..so what is going to happen if DLP supporters refuse to support this government…WILL THEY HAVE THEM ARRESTED….

Bajans have to be very vigilant and stop giving these useless assholes more than 5 years in office…make 5 years the maximum and show them you are their bosses and NOT their yardfowls…

… “Prime Minister is having a challenge with the percentage of Barbadians who are still actively supporting the DLP. In a situation like this, you need to speak with one voice which is apolitical. I think in a situation like this we need to have a unified front and clearly [DLP president] Verla De Peiza is not that person that can help bring that to the fore.”

He added: “His [Sinckler’s] utility is less about the economic knowledge he brings and more about the legitimacy he can bring to hard decisions that have to be taken. This is not a way to resurrect Chris or pick him up and scrub him off and present him to the public.”

16. … “Prime Minister is having a challenge with the percentage of Barbadians who are still actively supporting the DLP. In a situation like this, you need to speak with one voice which is apolitical. I think in a situation like this we need to have a unified front and clearly [DLP president] Verla De Peiza is not that person that can help bring that to the fore.”
    He added: “His [Sinckler’s] utility is less about the economic knowledge he brings and more about the legitimacy he can bring to hard decisions that have to be taken. This is not a way to resurrect Chris or pick him up and scrub him off and present him to the public.”

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

context my dear friend context.

you have to include the pargarth above that to get the true meaning of what the man is saying. buy a Brainiac like you will only cut and paste what you want.

its deceitful.

17. The director of Caribbean Development Research Services said Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley’s selection of the former Democratic Labour Party (DLP) representative for St Michael North West was a way to form a unified position as the country deals with the virus.
    “The Prime Minister is having a challenge with the percentage of Barbadians who are still actively supporting the DLP. In a situation like this, you need to speak with one voice which is apolitical. I think in a situation like this we need to have a unified front and clearly [DLP president] Verla De Peiza is not that person that can help bring that to the fore.”

18. Look how it’s all BLOWING UP….punching above the IMAGINARY weight…..

……the ELECTORATE HAS THE FINAL SAY….

goodnight, sleep tight…lol..

19. while you at the googling and pasting, don’t you think it would be a good idea for you to google a list of name of big countries and supermarkets that have 4 months back orders for online groceries orders?

Bring something to back up your “truths”.

20. while you at the googling and pasting, don’t you think it would be a good idea for you to google a list of name of big countries and supermarkets that have 4 months back orders for online groceries orders?

Bring something to back up your “truths”.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THE FACT IS ALL BIG COUNTRIES SUPERMARKETS ARE OPEN 7 DAYS A WEEK SO PEOPLE CAN WALK IN ANYTIME THEY CHOOSE TO BUY FOOD AND ALCOHOL..

THE ONLINE SHOPPING IS AN ADDITIONAL OPTIONAL CONVENIENCE.

YESTERDAY AND TODAY WENT TO 2 DIFFERENT SUPERMARKETS ALL WELL STOCKED AND BUSINESS AS USUAL WITH NO LARGE LINES AND SOCIAL DISTANCING..

TODAY WAS MET BY FEMALE GREETER PROVIDING HAND SANITIZER AT THE DOOR.

ABOUT 80% WEARING MASKS.

WHAT IS HAPPENING IN BARBADOS IS BACKWARD SHIT AND DICTATORSHIP.

IMAGE PEOPLE BEING LOCKED UP FOR 6 MONTHS FOR BREAKING A CURFEW.

WELCOME TO THE ENGLISH SPEAKING VENEZUELA.

21. 2ND WAVE CORONAVIRUS SPREAD COMING IN CHINA

3 types of the CCP virus are spreading; Chinese province plans to add 52,000 quarantine rooms

22. “Prime Minister is having a challenge with the percentage of Barbadians who are still actively supporting the DLP.
    xxxxxcxxxxxxxxxxcccccccccccc

What is the above comment supposed to mean
    What kind of a challenge is the PM having from DLP supporters that would be of significance to appointing Sinckler
    How and in what way Sinckler position on the COVID economic team help to resolve the challenge
    xxccccxccccccccxcccccccccccc

That comment is the most forthright statement made as to the underlying reasons for Sinckler pick
    The politics involved in Sinckler involvement speaks volume in WIckham words and the political thought process of the PM

23. @ Baje

Supermarket s in the UK are opened seven days a week and apart from the first couple days of the lockdown, there are orderly lines and people get the shopping they want, if in stock. There are usually special for NHS workers and pensioners. Otherwise, business as usual – if you like queuing.

24. The politics involved in Sinckler involvement speaks volume in WIckham words and the political thought process of the PM {Quote}

@ Mariposa

You like you couldn’t wait to wake up this morning so that you could come to BU wid a lot uh pup.

Are you trying to tell me that Sinckler, being aware of what you said, would allow Mottley to USE him to betray the DLP so that she could win over DLP supporters?

You trying to say Mottley went to Sinckler and said, “Chris, I having a challenge with the percentage of Barbadians who are still actively supporting the DLP. I setting up a COVID-19 task force and I want you on it so that I could get some more DLP supporters to come over to my side.”

That make sense to you?

25. Including Sinckler and Arthur is a way to dull the opposition, when the lockdown begins to go beyond three months and people complain. Lockdowns in the large countries, except New Zealand, which has low incidence of the virus, are all being extended.

Barbados’s lockdown will be no different. So Mia shut down opposition early, by showing a united front.

A political move, definitely not for any special ability of Sinckler.

26. The international medical people are telling the public to lose weight and exercise, to prepare for the virus. They say that obese people are worse affected.

And Barbados has a lot of obese people. Mia told bajans to lose weight in a nice way. She talked about her grandmother and supper.

Nice way of saying, stop being so licorish and lose some weight.

27. @ Mariposa

I want to ask you some questions.

What is it that Mia Mottley do you, that you does can’t wait to wake up on mornings so you could come on BU to talk bout she all day long?

The only thing that does occupy your mind for a whole day is Mia Mottley.

Yuh mean you don’t think bout nothing else other than Mia Mottley?

You sure you wasn’t in love with Mia and she en pay you no mind? Or she horn you?

I got a song here for you

Mia Mottley always on your mind.

28. Prime Minister Mottley announced adjustments to the curfew on Saturday night which will see supermarkets open albeit restricted hours, instead of have a constructive discussion about other issues some prefer to spend precious minutes of life arguing nonsense.

29. Robert
    Nothing in politics is off the table when the base starts to abandons its party and govt numbers begin to fall
    And the noises get louder
    As i said Wickham comment opens up the thought process behind a political strategic move to include Sincklair
    That is my opinion and it would not change
    As for making sense
    Who would have thought that after blaming Sinckler for the lost 10years of barbados economy
    Mia would put him on an economic panel of any sort
    Does that make sense? Robert u answer that
    Go figure before asking me about sense
    Maybe u ought to forward that question to Mia in order to get the true story behind the hiring of Sinckler

30. Furthermore
    The optics does not make sense and both sides will see the political.maneuvering and called out both Mia and Sinckler for deception
    Also what makes for wonder is if Sinckler discuss the appointment with Verla before hand

31. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Agree or Disagree, these are the facts

Arthur got on the panel because he is regarded as one of the most brilliant economists in the Caribbean and was at the helm before Chris.

Chris got on the panel because he is the only one who knows where all the economic bodies were buried by the last administration.

This economic debacle we find ourselves in requires us to honestly and critically look at our entire economy for the first time since independence and do it faster then they even did BERT. We don’t have the luxury of time to investigate when the bodies start getting uncovered and they will so who better to put on the panel than the two people who were at the economic helm for the last 25 years.

32. @ Mariposa

I could as you something similar, too.

Who would have thought that after Sinckler and DEMS cursed Mia Mottley for 10 years and the worse way when the DLP launched their 2018 general election campaign, she would offer him a government pick and he ACCEPTED it?

I dun know you gine play you en remember that for 14 years, you fellows cursed Arthur. You used to do de dog on BU saying he was responsible for the high debt. There was nothing that you did not blame Arthur for.

Sinckler still asked the same Owen Arthur that he used to curse to lead government’s economic advisory team.

The thing about it is, Mottley has the upper hand. If Sinckler refuses, people might say he is putting party politics ahead of patriotism in a pandemic. How is he going to face the elector if he is running in the next election?

But, there is something else. You said that “Wickham comment opens up the thought process behind a political strategic move to include Sincklair.” You are always saying you don’t trust Peter Wickham’s polls or nothing he says. All of a sudden you have time for him now, because he said something that fits in with your agenda.

The other things he said opened up my though process too. It tells me exactly how DEM fellows feel bout Verla and her leadership style.

Maybe you should go and ask Verla if she feel DEM fellows respect her.

The politicians mekking mock sport at we.

33. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@ Robert et al

Do you think it makes sense for the government to engage the services of Peter do a poll to identify a suitable population sample they can approach to test over the next two weeks to determine if we have community spread?

34. This is being SHARED from coast to coast…..and ya done know how everyone already feels about all ya COCKUPS…. sweeping powers does not mean ya get to do stupid things, ya are small island leaders, SMALL being the operative word…something can be done about you and ya power hungry trip to NEGATIVELY control the people and everything else on the island…

https://scontent.fbgi3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.15752-9/93421146_273787766970094_4097367696230842368_n.jpg?_nc_cat=100&_nc_sid=b96e70&_nc_ohc=XNE-D7xX2nQAX-oTq8h&_nc_ht=scontent.fbgi3-1.fna&oh=10ed68cfba3789c1ad48b554756551ee&oe=5EBA1D6E

35. Arthur got on the panel because he is regarded as one of the most brilliant economists in the Caribbean and was at the helm before Chris…(Quote)

Regarded by whom? And where is the evidence of this brilliance?

36. The power hungry think it’s a good look…they have to be reminded that they are SMALL in the grand scheme of things, Venezuela can’t even handle an international effort to shut their dictatorship TO HELL DOWN.

…..these nobodies think they got international powers, only because they know the people CAN’T FIGHT BACK unless they are at the POLLS…..soon come….

“WHAT IS HAPPENING IN BARBADOS IS BACKWARD SHIT AND DICTATORSHIP.

IMAGE PEOPLE BEING LOCKED UP FOR 6 MONTHS FOR BREAKING A CURFEW.

WELCOME TO THE ENGLISH SPEAKING VENEZUELA.”

37. @Enuff, why do you think the curfew will end on May 4? Your statement of online shopping does not take into account those who do not have any access to the internet or credit cards. This includes many elderly and poor people.

That does not work in Barbados. The corner store does not sell everything and does not do banking. I really do not care what happens to the large supermarkets, they over charge for everything. So if this helps the corner stores, that is good. But still need to open banks on a limited basis.

38. Those who regard OSA as an economic genius must ran their households in similar economic patterns
    Borrowing to the hilt and always in debt
    The same policy Mia is doing

39. Since yardfowls are now TOTALLY OBSOLETE AND INSIGNIFICANT……they can be IGNORED AFTER THIS POST…only those who feel sorry for them can reply….ah was too exhaused last night to go searching for the info that WAS IN DAMN NEARLY EVERY NEWSPAPER FROM US TO UK..

“www.huffpost.com/entry/how-to-order-groceries…
    Mar 26, 2020 · But the sudden increase in demand has presented serious challenges—from backed-up orders to concern for the health and safety of employees and customers alike. And while online retailers are still the best alternative to going to the grocery store, many are scrambling to resolve these issues as quickly and efficiently as possible.”

40. @Crusoe

Many wholesalers in Barbados have converted to adding a retail distribution arm to their business and permit COD to settle. Businesses are being very creative in the circumstances. They will only be able to sustain their operating model if we have some consistency in the plans.

Supermarkets represent a hotspot for the virus, people will touch thousands items which cannot be sanitized given the impracticality of it.

41. Some of you need to STAY OFF THE INTERNET….there are TREASURE TROVES of information to GUIDE EVERYONE SO THEY CAN MAKE INFORMED DECISIONS.. for just about EVERYTHING.

if you are not going to use the internet for these reasons…stay off, better to use it wisely or don’t use it at all…stop being nuisances….stupid fowls..

42. Mari

Didn’t i tell you a few week ago that (your hatred for) mia going give you a stroke and Mia going retire and be somewhere firing one with Owen and Sinckler?

Well there you go!! All the signs are there including that mia gine mek u bust a vein in ur pea brain.

43. I use 99% alcohol to SPRAY ALL PACKAGED GOODS AT THE DOOR..remove the packaging and REPACKAGE with uninfected bags etc…before they come inside…

for fruits and vegetables…one tiny drop of clorox in a large container of water does the trick, then i dip them into a container OF WATER and BAKING SODA to remove the clorox thoroughly…just as you would do to remove CHEMICALS FROM VEGETABLES in normal times..

it is not rocket science…..all items MUST BE SANITIZED…by whatever means…

44. @David,

quote] Supermarkets represent a hotspot for the virus, people will touch thousands items which cannot be sanitized given the impracticality of it. [unquote

please show a couple of cases where the virus has been transmitted via this route.

you asked posters to elevate the debate yet you post some juvenile snipe with Sinckler’s photo

nobody here will know why MAM chose Sinckler and the closest speculation to the truth is probably Caswell’s

the fact is that Sinckler was vilified by the BLP and its surrogates and now the leader of the BLP has chosen him to be on a COVID economic council.

contort, gyrate or spin it but dem is de fact

45. “www.huffpost.com/entry/how-to-order-groceries…
    Mar 26, 2020 · But the sudden increase in demand has presented serious challenges—from backed-up orders to concern for the health and safety of employees and customers alike.*** And while online retailers are still the best alternative to going to the grocery store,**** many are scrambling to resolve these issues as quickly and efficiently as possible.”

XXXXXXXXXX

FOOL ( since your are not a fowl)

what are you trying to prove here?

nothing in that comment prove or even say anything about online order at SUPERMARKETS or anywhere are backed up for 4 weeks.

FOOL is providing information to kill FOOL own argument.

STOP GOOGLING AND PASTING AND TRY TO UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU READ BEFORE YOU PAST FOOL!

46. @Greene

Do not ask silly questions about supermarkets being hotspots or potential hotspots. We are in a situation where prudent judgment and a heavy dose of commonsense is the preferred approach.

https://www.investindia.gov.in/team-india-blogs/understanding-sealing-22-covid-19-hotspots-delhi

The Sinckler meme is making the rounds in local social media, and besides providing some comic relief to the blog it encapsulates prevailing public opinion of Sinckler. He has zero political stock and the prime minister is being roundly criticized about the decision to appoint him to the economic council. The appointment has overshadowed important issues of the day and in the process obliterated Verla and the DLP from the comeback conversation.

Food for thought for aspiring DLP politicians.

47. @ Mariposa April 13, 2020 6:39 AM
    “Those who regard OSA as an economic genius must ran their households in similar economic patterns
    Borrowing to the hilt and always in debt
    The same policy Mia is doing..”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

To fit into your political yard-fowl agenda you have deliberately omitted from your list the pathological liar Stinkliar and his policy rubberstamping master the drowsy giant Fumble.

Karma is a bitch isn’t she Ms Many pussies ac?

From OSA to Fumble to MAM have all contributed to the destruction of agriculture in Bim.

How can the same people who almost destroyed an industry be expected to offer advice as to its resuscitation?

Unless the goddess Ceres is reaping revenge (like the laws of nature on behalf of Karma) for what has happened to those Bajan “fields and hills beyond recall” are now lying in bush and housing vermin and hosting viruses. Even the political butterflies like you and busybody bees cannot be seen doing nature’s work.

Will OSA still argue that land must be allowed attract ‘its highest economic value’?

Who would now buy the Hilton or build along his formerly touted hotel corridor or lease or buy the former CLICO plantations to plant big houses full of hungry prisoners of the Corona generation?

The backbone of any country is agriculture; not the selling of its dignity to allow pale skin people to submit themselves to a tropical Sun while wallowing in an air of superiority over the subservient black natives.

But you should also look on the bright side.
    Why not see the negative Covid 19 as the harbinger with a positive message to Bajans telling them to live within their economic means or starve.

In the prescient words of a real national hero Carmeta Fraser: “Food comes First”.

We shall soon see if modern Bajans are truly ‘strict guardians of their heritage and firm craftsmen of their fate’.

48. @ Greene

The decision to appoint Sinckler was erroneous. You may notice, no explanation has been given because the president does not explain herself. Nor has she explained the need for a specialist economic committee.
    What is needed are ideas, new economic planning, and, one would assume, Persaud, Greenidge and Mascoll are all capable of providing just such advice. Then we have two highly qualified junior ministers and a university department packed with people.
    It is a further example of poor leadership. Bombast and hand waving can only get you so far.