One of the saddest days in the few decades this blogmaster has lived in Barbados was yesterday. For close to five months Barbadians from the village to the heights have viewed on smart TVs and cellphone screens the havoc being wreaked on developed countries. Italy, UK, Canada, France, Japan and the USA are listed as G7 countries with significantly greater resources than Barbados. Despite a superior economic status the healthcare and capacity to apply meaningful logistics by these countries continue to be challenged by COVID 19.

On a related note the blogmaster followed a robust conversation making the rounds in Trinidad this week where Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith posted a video of a crowd outside Republic Bank standing cheek by jowl (thanks to Dr. Lucas for reminding of this old expression).  Given the no nonsense approach Gary Griffith has taken to doing his job, there is wide speculation he will use his authority to shutdown businesses not observing established protocols designed to protect the health of the public.

The sights and scenes observed around Barbados yesterday although understandable was disappointing. If we accept the government have made errors, how does one explain the behaviour exhibited by a significant segment of the population BEFORE the decision by government to extend lockdown by not practising social distancing? The colossal ignorance of  a few church leaders stating the church should be included as an essential service? Should the government have continued in a business as usual mode? Given the population density and the opportunity for aggressive community spread of COVID 19 infections it behoves the authorities to make decisions quickly in order to blunt the rate of infections in Barbados.

The urge at this time to engage in political opportunism must be set aside. The time for a post mortem of COVID 19 will come and a price paid if the electorate is so minded. If there is an opportunity to improve decision making, we have been told the government has an open door policy. Leaders of political parties should avail themselves of the offer and resist the urge to accrue cheap political points by retreating to social and traditional media with destructive positions. In case the memo was not received, COVID 19 is a pandemic responsible for the over 1.1. million people infected and 50 thousand dead across the globe at recent count. Is there good reason Barbados boast of being a highly literate country? The cheek by jowl behaviour exhibited yesterday by Barbadians outside supermarkets  has buried that view.

The expectation by government Barbadians would have committed to a behaviour undergirded by self discipline is where it all went wrong. There is a reason why ‘totalitarian’ regimes have been reported to be doing a better job of combatting COVID 19. An assessment of the so called minibus/ZR culture, our propensity to litter, scant regard for road traffic laws, increasing crime etc etc etc supports the blogmaster’s view government was simplistic by expecting some Barbabaians would self quarantine or observe social distancing in the prevailing stressful climate.

Barbadians have to take pause after yesterday to reflect –  assume personal responsibility and if after doing so we are unable to apply good sense to our actions then suffer the consequences.

What are the consequences?

All business owners caught serving the public if there is rowdyism outside the doors, must be told to close with immediate effect for a defined period of time until such time order is established.

If the Police observe same rowdyism, order the business to close for a defined period until such time order is establihed.

All business owners must be responsible for securing and managing crowd traffic to ensure compliance, failing to do so a fine and or a cease and desist order issued.

This is no time to allow ignorance to flourish to endanger the lives of the majority of Barbadians. The time for mollycoddling must come to an end now.

COVID CZAR Richard Carter informed the public yesterday that UWI modelling of the trajectory of the virus projects 100s of deaths if behaviours are not arrested NOW.

Hard ears wunna wont hear, own way wunna gine feel!

242 responses to “Bajans Jettison Social Distancing for Cheek by Jowl”

1. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

wuh i did not even know that even the media is showing up yall to the world as INCOMPETENT and dumb as rocks to close supermarkets, anyone dies of starvation…yall better pray not…..looks like yall make QUITE A FEW ENEMIES OF THE STATE…what a thing…..yall certainly did not have to work too hard to look like fools

They did not listen so now they look foolish….

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/04/04/bteditorial-the-simple-economics-of-shopping-had-we-listened/?fbclid=IwAR0Vtju2lnlvH65Nu-6lzmZz4enaLib-szEc86j4XhhWKDGbvlCobp9Uw0A

“This third day of April, in the Year of Our Lord Two Thousand and Twenty, was, in the long and storied history of our island nation, not our finest hour.

It was by any yardstick for the public health, public order and good governance of Barbados an unmitigated disaster.

Indeed, if human behaviour is what turns hazards into human disasters, then unknown thousands of Barbadians may have triggered a viral disaster in which weeks of ordinary social intercourse were concentrated in several hours of chaos, confusion and disorder.

Weeks of best efforts at social distancing to contain a raging contagion which, by every account in our receipt, is leading to a wave of death and severe illness, were dashed because the order was given to close all supermarkets for two weeks – in 24 hours.

It may well be written one day that never in the course of our island history have so many done so much harm to so many more in so few hours.

Today cruelly exposed the dangerous limitations of politics intersecting with public health, and economics versus epidemiology.”

Such a voice of reason we have found in the president of the Barbados Economics Society, Simon Naitram, who a week ago warned that we should move to safeguard human lives rather the economic bottom line. Yes, an economist said so – for what economic recovery is possible if, to borrow from John Maynard Keynes, in the long run, we are all dead?”

2. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ De Pedantic Dribbler

De ole man see dat you have taken up where de ole man have left off, AS THE TARGET FOR EVERY COMMENT THAT YOU MAKE ABOUT thinking this Tom Fvuckery through logically!

Whenever you ask that question here on Barbados Underground what you now start to comprehend is that there is a cadre here of cattle WHO CANNOT RISE TO THAT LEVEL to discuss these topics rationally.

Everything here is seen in BLP or DLP lenses!

So enforcing 6 foot distances in every RH line, sharing information about contaminated hotels, the process that goes along with cleanup in these contaminated sites or anything that shows that the Covid Czar and the multitude of square pegs in round holes ARE FVUCKING UP will get you castigated

But de ole man lef it all to you and i sitting back and watching from de gallery

Fight on!

3. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Piece…ah thought ya were so REPULSED by the fowls that ya thought if ya came on BU ya might CATCH SOMETHING…the jokers are showing the world how jokers act…

..who the hell shuts supermarkets, a lifeline for the masses…dummies of course, try stopping them.

4. @ Silly Woman April 4, 2020 5:01 PM

It was on the news day before that the supermarkets want government assistance in paying the workers during this shut down.

5. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

They are getting donations from various countries, so what’s with the Beggar’s Charity..

“A boost in the battle against COVID-19 . . . Chinese government hands over medical supplies to Barbados

Today, H.E. Yan Xiusheng, Ambassador of the People’s Republic of China to Barbados, officially handed over the donation of anti-coronavirus medical supplies from the Chinese government to the Barbados government, to Lt. Col. the Hon. Jeffrey Bostic, Minister of Health and Wellness of Barbados and Dr. Anton Best, Acting Chief Medical Officer of Barbados.

The donated medical supplies include 7, 000 surgical face masks, 5,000 KN95 respirators, 8, 450 surgical protective gloves, 4, 530 medical protective goggles, 4, 500 medical protective gowns, 250 non-contact infrared thermometers, and one ventilator. The first batch was delivered to Queen Elizabeth Hospital last week, the second batch arrived in Barbados on April 1, and the third batch will come in the following days.”

6. @Piece the Legend April 4, 2020 5:03 PM

Instead of always throwing smoke bombs, we should stick to the truth and only the truth.

The DLP government has signed numerous agreements with China between 2008 and 2018, including a visa waiver agreement. Therefore, the virus could have reached us as early as November or December 2019 without any screening of those entering the country.

If there are deaths in our island, the DLP is solely responsible.

7. It was on the news day before that the supermarkets want government assistance in paying the workers during this shut down.(Quote)

Not a single cent and prohibit them from sacking workers during this crisis. If they do they must heavily compensate the dismissed worker.
    We must let these Trinidadian and other foreigners know that Barbadians are not fools. Further, if they make noises, their businesses should be boycotted. Anyone buying from them should be named and shamed.

8. Piece the Legend Avatar

Tron, man you heah killing de ole man

“…If there are deaths in our island, the DLP is solely responsible….”

How you does come up with these things though?

9. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

THey dont even pay the workers well in the best of times, let those greedy, bloodsucking pigs go to hell and stop trying to leach off taxpayers…it would be best the money is handed directly to the people let them find a way to survive

……IT IS THE PEOPLE’S MONEY, NOT THE LOWLIFE WHO ARE ALWAYS LIVING OFF THE BACKS OF THE MAJORITY…

essential services in other jurisdictions raised their employess’ salary without trying to steal from the people..

10. Kammie Holder Avatar

@David, great article, however it gives me no pleasure in saying that the horse has bolted for this highly contagious virus. I prefer to be wrong by some fluke of nature.

We dilly dallied about not shutting down.

Tourist wutlessly came to island knowing they were infected and did not inform hotel. How many more other than the Crane had such an experience.

Persons who were exposed refused to stay home and be self quarantined.

Some retarded bajans still travelled to hotspots despite warningS and came back infected…no apology from me.

Merchants refused to have a proper customer crowd control as moving stock was their only concern.

Non observance of social distancing by 75% of population for its a joke to many bajans..

Many refused to wear mask as their sheeple instinct said guvment thinks for me no so need to question. I trust the science but not the scientist.

Have baked nightly curfew only stopped partying and liming at night as petri dishes.

Asymptomatic persons were allowed to spread virus during the day until 8pm.

ZRs and buses were moving vectors and petri dishes coming with passengers to every parish near you.

These sort of decisions are made when you have strong personalities and all academics but no laymen to give common sense opinions.

What can we do? Stay into our homes, eat less so food supply can last as long as possible and plant some food. COVID-19 aint going anywhere soon as person who have recovered are still showing high virus load 6 weeks after.

Here is his story https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8059513/Cruise-passenger-caught-coronavirus-Diamond-Princess-says-just-like-cold.html

Police ah begging wunna this virus is real two police died in Alabama on Thursday so don`t let arrogant zeal cause you to get infected, keep up the good work and be safe while wunna “Serve and Protect.” Oh by the way software the vendor who still claiming he was not paid by government, can be utilized to monitor quarantined persons, its that modular and extremely adaptable.

11. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Barbadians are now in aposition to SHUT ALL THESE GREEDY PIGS DOWN. once and for all, they have ALWAYS BEEN THIEVES…and if this incompetent government allows it to continue…kick them out, just a little while longer to go..

12. Our clever, world class, highly educated middle classes cannot even run a supermarket, a modern grocery shop. Yet, for some reason, they think they are world class politicians and businesspeople, and punch above their weight. At least the old people could weigh a pound of flour and keep good books for the people who took groceries on credit.
    When I was a little boy, James A. Tudor was one of our top business people. His son, an Oxford classics graduate, too proud to be a shop keeper, spent his latter days getting food parcels from a fellow senator.

13. Tron another one today
    52 we have now passed the half century mark in two weeks
    Who is in control of this madness should be locked up

14. Anyone familiar with raising sheep in the village would know that there was always one particular sheep you would have to hold while taking them out, or bringing them in. If that particular sheep ever got the chance, it would make a bee line for the neighbour’s ground or kitchen garden, where, obviously, the grass was always greener and the rest of sheep would follow.

When a little tropical storm is approaching the island, there is pandemonium with people like federation at ATMs, Supermarkets and Gas Stations. Imagine then an announcement of a 12hr curfew downgraded to a 24hr lockdown in the space of a few hours. All of this after rumours of such were dismissed as fake news by the Government.

If I were a cynic or conspiracy theorist, I would say the plan worked perfectly. Head and shoulders above all others indeed.

15. Thanks Kammie, you continue to keep up your advocacy and be safe at this time.

16. Saw police without protective gear trying to coordinate the large crowd
    All those are glaring mistakes attributed to govt incompetence who like everybody alive on this planet saw the devastation and warning signs with messages that cried loud and clear “they waited too long”
    How can anyone over look such obvious messages coming from Corona is mind boggling
    Now some wants to blame the peoples action yesterday when It was the govt actions that caused the various negative reactions
    Simple things like the hot sun and long lines all geared to humanity govt never gave proper thought or by way of communication to management of the store
    Seeing or hearing about the peoples plight
    Mia could have sent a minister of govt or even make a concerning call to supermarket management with the largest crowd
    A call having messages or words to diffuse the situation
    But what does she do Mia calls a news conference to serve kool aid later that night
    How is that for bold leadership in times of crisis

17. Kammie M Holder Avatar
    Kammie M Holder

#UnpalatableTruth that shows trust the science but not the scientist

Police shift supervisors should ensure their charges are well protected and not just be drunk with authority for its called humane leadership

https://edition.cnn.com/2020/04/04/europe/coronavirus-masks-war-intl/index.html

18. @Hal … You wrote “A rational observation. Well done.”
    Reminds me of the BSE (Mad Cow disease) in Britain, except it was the government saying “British” beef was safe to eat.
    Nothing surprises me — More fools are born every day than die — A boyceism.
    The government is being blamed for the crowds, next it will be for the mass infections and deaths — just to prove your point.

19. @ Piece the Legend April 4, 2020 6:06 PM

Follow the connection between the DLP and the CCP. We must strengthen the narrative that the virus is a direct result of the failed DLP politics towards China.

You read on BU the comments of naive idiots, how they praise China for protective masks for a few cents. The truth is: China will not compensate us for the billions USD we lost in tourism, caused by a few uncivilized cavemen in central China drinking the blood of infected bats.

China owes us at least USD 3 billion in damages because the government there first destroyed samples and covered up the epidemic. Anyone who now holds chopsticks up like the DLP is committing high treason.

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    “We must let these Trinidadian and other foreigners know that Barbadians are not fools”….”Our clever, world class, highly educated middle classes cannot even run a supermarket, a modern grocery shop” [Quotes]

Never sure which side you are on. Your soap box must have at least 8 sides?

21. @ Northern

Plse explain. Don’t blame me if you are confused. I don’t do soapboxes, I speak from core principles.

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

One post you are saying Bajans are not fools,….and the next you are saying Bajans cannot even run a supermarket?

23. @ Northern

When I speak or write, I am very precise with my language. I have said this before. I came under attack from Bajan-Canadians because I said Mark Carney was not the best person to be governor of the Bank of England. He was not.
    I also came under attack from Bajan-Canadians because I said the only reason Canada was a member of the G& was because it was a white-majority nation. Its economy is not in the top seven economies. It is 11th.
    For all this I have been called anti-Canadian. Now you are saying that one minute I say Bajans are not fools…and the next they cannot run a supermarket.
    It is not only you, it is a BU thing. BU contributors are not in the habit of asking for explanations, they prefer to jump the gun. Some even fabricate nonsense, such as that I once said a professional man had forged his qualifications. Common sense would tell you that someone who worked in libel law for a number of years would not say such a think unless he was drunk, farless on a website that could be read by 7bn people.
    For the record, here is what I said…..

“Our clever, world class, highly educated middle classes cannot even run a supermarket, a modern grocery shop. Yet, for some reason, they think they are world class politicians and businesspeople, and punch above their weight. At least the old people could weigh a pound of flour and keep good books for the people………..”

Context, dear boy; context. Let us think before attacking.

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

Attacking?
    I apologise, I didn’t appreciate you were complimenting Bajans, both their politicians and businesspeople.
    Unsure what your preamble about Bajan canadians has to do with anything regarding Barbadian politicians, their businesspeople and their competence.

25. ΝYC ΙCU DR says this “pneumonia” allegedly caused by COVID-19 does not seem like traditional pneumonia at all. Says patients are being starved of oxygen, but not by a traditional pneumonia.

I am a physician who has been working at the bedside of COVID+ patients in NYC. I believe we are treating the wrong disease and that we must change what we are doing if we want to save as many lives as possible. I welcome any feedback, especially from those bedside: doctors, nurses, xray techs, pharmacists, anyone and everyone. Does this sound wrong or right, is something more right? Please let me know.

.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k9GYTc53r2o

26. @ Northern

You are still making the same mistake. It is at this point I begin to think it is not a mistake, but a deliberate misrepresentation. Plse re-read the above again and tell me where I have been complimenting politicians and business people. How about this….“ At least the old people could weigh a pound of flour and keep good books for the people………(Quote) These ordinary people are also Bajans.
    More than that, plse tell me in the years I have been on BU where I have ever complimented politicians – Barbadians, Americans, Chinese, British, Russians, any?
    The introduction was about misrepresentation; where I previously made a point and it was misinterpreted a anti-Canadian – as now.. As to attacking….is the below a compliment? If so, thanks for the compliment.

Never sure which side you are on. Your soap box must have at least 8 sides?(Quote)

It is accusatory. I have been consistent on my principles since my teens. Facts may change, but principles do not.This comes back to the Bajan Condition, always growling, never prepared to have a decent conversation or ask for a simple explanation. Always anxious to put down someone.
    But when the person being attacked fights back, then that person is rude, discourteous, etc. Not me, I will pick my fights, but I WILL fight back. I am not going to be polite about stupidity.

27. Hal you summed up bajans correctly
    The truth hurts
    Very hard to carry on a civil conversation with them
    They are reminders of midget soldiers always able and ready to pick the wrong battles

28. @ Mariposa

Bullies do not scare me. Not as a kid, not now as an old man. I worked with some of the toughest gangsters in the UK and was not intimidated. So it is unlikely that I will be scared off by people who do not even have the confidence to put their names to their abuse. They are cowards.

29. Good to see recent measures by government have removed people from the streets of Barbados, this will help to contain the virus. This blogmaster expects there will be tweaking to achieve the best result as we continue to operate in unprecedented uncharted times.

Let us continue to sensitize Bajans to ensure we escape this scourge with little ‘damage’.

30. David when will govt do the right thing and exposed the businesses were they were victims exposed to the Corona virus
    Recently i read names of businesses in international countries where their employees were exposed to the virus
    Did not hear of citizen revolt coming from such revelation
    Why is it in barbados the secrecy prevails even in matters of life or death
    Is it a bajan thing or just pure bred ignorance

31. A few nights ago a jamaican who had entered the country around early march was held up as an example for breaking the curfew
    Which now makes for wonder
    How is it that after curfew hours there are still bajans taking to street and none are being arrested and held up for public scrutiny
    I understand that curfew law gives govt unlimited powers to act in ways against the civil rights of people in unquestionable manner
    Which begs the question was the Jamaican lady who was arrested given due process under the law
    Was she read the Miranda Rights
    Was she told she has a civil right to counsel
    Or was she thrown before the court without proper representation
    I know that most with political or personnel axe to grind would give responses that are steeped in their own feelings
    Those answers can remain where they ought to be laying low dug deep into a grave yard of ignorance

32. Today is Sunday, chill out from frothing at the mouth for a few hours. Let it apply to others who the cap fit.

33. David why Sunday?
    Asking for a friend

34. @ Mariposa

I’m a bit curious.

RE: “Was she read the Miranda Rights?”

Why would the RBPF “read the Miranda Rights” to the Jamaican lady?

35. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Northern, if I may use your remarks to do my 3-sided soapbox!…. We parse words here often but its just a reflection of the broader society and the problems words cause daily…in and out of context.

When you said “Attacking?[…] I apologise, I didn’t appreciate you were complimenting Bajans, both their politicians and businesspeople.”…I smirked.

I surely interpreted the words “Our clever, world class, highly educated middle classes cannot even run a supermarket, a modern grocery shop. Yet, for some reason, they think they are world class politicians and businesspeople, and punch above their weight” as bluntly facetious and smugly pejorative….. It was no compliment as you perceived because along with the tongue in cheek ‘clever and ‘worldclass’ one does not generally append the old adage “punch above their weight” in that way as a praiseworthy honour!

This reminded me of the politician who threatened to sue because he said words were taken out of context to misquote him, when in fact he was quoted quite accurately and IN CONTEXT!

Critics have said that the POTUS called the coronavirus a hoax but he strongly disputes that he ever called the virus itself a hoax.

The man said “… They tried the impeachment hoax. That was on a perfect conversation. They tried anything, they tried it over and over, they’ve been doing it since [I] got in. […] And this is their new hoax. […] We’re 15 people [positive tests] in this massive country. And because of the fact that we went early, we went early, we could have had a lot more than that.”

THIS is THEIR NEW HOAX. What is THIS? COVID19… Only 15 cases in the massive US of A he asks with disdain… how can this be a ‘real’ big problem! So just as he calls the impeachment a hoax and calls the call with the president of Ukraine ‘perfect… he is saying the virus is a hoax, is he not!

All that to say: We can be as precisely sarcastic or ironic or facetious as we want to be and leave lots of room to say ‘I didn’t say that’!

36. When the 24-hr curfew was announced the acting PM said the government was working with supermarkets to come up with a plan. Nobody heard that? No, no, we bumrushed supermarkets, some only to pick up 2 or 3 items–detergent, fancy chips. I even hear some saying people need Easter tings. All those people’s cupboards were empty or no alternatives could be found at the village shops, fish market, farms etc that are deemed essential? Had the announcement been 48hrs or 72, the outcome would have been the same. Look at the queues in gas stations, even though they will remain open everyday. Me, I would have waited until the supermarkets closed that day and then announced their closure with immediate effect. Wunna woulda cuss and say wunna shoulda get at least a day, the same day we cussing bout now. The acting PM also said once you’re doing business with a business deemed essential you can move around. I still find it funny that people don’t seem to understand the fluidity of decisionmaking this pandemic requires. I guess when you have an axe to grind you talk more than you actually listen or just ignore what you hear.

37. So if there was a plan to work with the supermarkets why wasn’t the plan laid out BEFORE OR AT THE SAME TIME the shutdown was put in place? Why announce a 24 hour shutdown giving less than 24 hours notice and then after the chaos, tell us there is a plan to work with the supermarkets?

Sorry not drinking from that Koolaid at all. Truth is when wunna realised that there was no way the supermarkets could handle the chaos, wunna stated only then that a plan was claimed to exist. As of today I am yet to hear the details of this alleged plan.

As I said I supported all that you did prior to Wednesday. From then till the shutdown however the chaos falls at your feet. To then come and talk about going to small shops for your needs, again clearly an after thought. How many small shops in warrens, jackson, green hill, bagatelle, the university area and husbands, you think it would take to replace the volume of business Massy, Cost U Less and Pricemart do combined?

The truth is in an attempt to avoid the spread of the virus more people were exposed between Wednesday and Friday, than were probably exposed for the entire 4 weeks prior.

All things considered I think Bajans behaved remarkably well under the circumstances. If the same was done in Jamaica for example the outcome would of been totally different.

38. @John A

Enuff is correct, Santia mentioned the government was working with the supermarkets to put a plan in place for delivery using e-commerce etc. Agree with both of you that the supermarkets should have been ordered closed on Thursday.

39. @ Enuff
    Stop it! The Govt has been making a mess of things for weeks now.

I still find it funny that people don’t seem to understand the fluidity of decisionmaking this pandemic requires
    Nonsense. Since January, the dangers of SARS Cov2 were clear. The evolution is Barbados is no different than in any other country. Our curve is just lagging behind.

Several countries have been battling the pandemic and there is much that we could have learned from their approaches.

The Dullard has previously asked, “what is so special about Barbados?”. Does the virus have a different epidemiology in Barbados?

40. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Enuff, I’ll assume you came upon the idea “Me, I would have waited until the supermarkets closed that day and then announced their closure with immediate effect” either after futher review or doing some more research… so let me ask you as I did yesterday otherwise: why didn’t the smart people in cabinet who would have had the research advice at hand or already done the deep review not understand what you contemplated and DO JUST THAT!

And then continue “working with supermarkets to come up with a plan” to open this week on any of the various recommended options published by others here!

The pandemic is an unexpected occurrence, yes… but in Barbados we have now been able too see it unfold in other locales, see their plans for big cities and small communities… we must also have our own crisis plan which we are using as our guide.

Thus, although one must be nimble to react to any changes I dont see any dynamic and rapidly changing unknown variables which require fluidity of decisionmaking! No, senor!

WHAT was so fluid since last Wednesday or from Monday which in your view caused the BLP admin to react as they
    did?

Fluidity leading to new decisionmaking means that something changed drastically and unexpectedly to cause a new direction… what was that senor… what did they miss and then suddenly saw!

This admin terribly bungled this…plain and simple! That’s being patriotic and non partisan!

41. Minister of Health to have a press conference at 11am.

Not good news from all reports.

42. @ David
    Santiago mentioned the government was working with the supermarkets to put a plan in place for delivery using e-commerce etc.

Do you know how ridiculous this sounds?
    For goodness sakes man we are talking about getting a few thousand households to purchase the essentials while limiting personal contact. This is not rocket science.

Next we will have the apparatchiks complaining that there are not enough code developers or there is limited bandwidth or some such nonsense.

43. Do you understand that mistakes will be made?

Steuspe

44. @ david

Thanks I will listen to hear at 11. I would imagine the rate will be increasing as it did in other territories until it levels off and starts falling. Hopefully we will peak below 100 and fall from there. Just let us make sure our people can get access to food and care and we can survive this I am sure.

45. Without access to the modeling a good guess is that we are still in climb mode on the curve.

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@John A, you recognize obviously that the effort to use the “many small shops in warrens, jackson, green hill, bagatelle, the university area and husbands” etc was an attempt to force small numbers in one place at a time.

I thought the concept actually made sense…of course the issues of availability of items, as you suggest, would quickly become a problem …but again with planning that was still manageable.

@David, re “Minister of Health to have a press conference at 11am….Not good news from all reports.”

I hope sir that the bad news is palatable.

I have been shouting at family for several weeks now to NOT take seriously the nonsense from the govt about Covid19 infections so frankly I’ll put the blame squarely on their shoulders related to their personal choices.

Whatever the govt does now is the proverbial “clean up in aisle 30″… the spill is already a wreckage so let’s just fix it asap, efficiently. Please!

47. @ Dullard

I am not straying off point. The basic principle of policymaking is that you look at the problem, you consult key people, you also look at how other jurisdictions have dealt with a similar problem, then you go away and draft your proposals. You come back and consult again. Then you put into law the proposals.
    What policy analysts do when looking at the proposals is they also look at the problem, at what people/organisations said during the discussions, the appropriateness of policies in other jurisdictions and what was finally implemented.
    The coronavirus shock did not come out of the blue; remember when the President walked on to a cruise liner, with about 37 lackeys, thereby risking the health of the nation? That was irresponsible.
    The incompetence that followed was hugely embarrassing. There I no excuse for it. What is worse, according to one of the brighter BU commenters, the president is the best leader not only in parliament, but, he hinted, in the land.
    Do we need any further proof that Barbados is a failed state? We fail at every major challenge we face. No excuses. No reactionary nationalist mumbo jumbo will save us.

48. From all reports small corner shops have seen a puck up in trade which led to stocks being depleted. The government will have to tweak to permit food distribution from wholesalers.

49. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, bro I gotta laugh 🤣🤣 uproariously.

First, “Do you understand that mistakes will be made?…Steuspe”

If you are totally focused on the biggest case ever of your life and you freakup a most basic aspect..bro that’s not a mistake just so…that is blithering incompetence OR unmanageable dissension between advisers!

Second: “Without access to the modeling a good guess is that we are still in climb mode on the curve.”

There is absolutely no lack of modelling as there are way too many capable mathematicians and scientists in Bim … but lacking a DECISIVE shelter in place response to the positive numbers from the TESTING done “a good guess is that we are still in climb mode on the curve”… And FINALLY somebody said, “oh bad word, we plucked”!

50. I find this discussion to be very fascinating.

I detect at least three set of opinions. Let us ignore the two extremes (always right and always wrong).
    Then there is a group who believe that the government handling of the crisis was correct in the initial stages, but it has made missteps
    in subsequent phases.

🙂 Please note that I consider John as a single rambling individual and not as a group. One does not consider a single nut as a pack. Your turn grasshopper 🙂

If one were to look at other countries, it is obvious that the response to COVID19 has not gone as often planned. In a perfect world we would find the correct solution in the first attempt (we would not even have the virus); but this world is not perfect.

Does anyone imagine that we would pass through this pandemic without having one person infected?

Governments are faced with a number of choices and often choose the one that they think will cause the least harm.
    We do not know how many scenarios the Barbados government was presented with. Two completely different scenarios may have yielded similar results and the government may have chosen the one that gave a better result at the end.

So far, I have not seen any argument (on BU) that convinces me that the general course of action was not the right one. I have seen differences of opinion but that is what thinking and independent people are supposed to have. To me, the real measure of a government failure would be a “high’ number of deaths.

Can someone convince me that the strategy by the government was less successful than the pie in the sky strategy of panicking and hoping that there would be no cases. I suspect the strategy advocated by others would have been a disaster as the virus would have been strongly entrenched in society before we became aware of it.

The government handling of the crisis was correct in the initial stages, but it has made missteps in subsequent phases. The government must not allow itself to be panicked by the “pie in the sky” crowd

Does anyone imagine that we would pass through this pandemic without having one virus related death?

By the way, if you thought that not one Bajan on the island would have been infected by the virus, then It might come as a complete surprise if someone dies because of the virus.

The real measure of government success/failure is the number of virus related death that occur on the island. Let us put aside politics and hope that Barbados weathers this storm with the minimal of damage.

———————————————————————————xxxxxx——————————————————-
    Let me add this. For some are quick to extract what they want from whatever is stated:

Mariposa, I am not hoping/wishing that anyone dies. In fact, I hope that we survive this virus with “0” deaths. I hope that you wish the same