A brief comment from a lowly blogmaster on the recent nomination of former minister of health Jeffery Bostic to be President of Barbados.

Bostic to be fair is widely respected across civil society. In fact his nomination for the presidency of Barbados was endorsed by Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne and other civil society heads. We were told that Bostic’s leadership during the COVID-19 pandemic, his tenure as Minister of Health and Wellness, and his previous role as head of the Barbados Defence Force supported his nomination. That his credentials reflect a career rooted in public service, crisis management, and national security, qualities that many consider valuable in a head of state.

However, the blogmaster posits that it is fair to question whether these accomplishments alone should qualify him for the presidency, especially when viewed through a holistic lens. While Bostic was praised for his calm and steady leadership during the pandemic, Barbados was not unique in this regard from cursury research. Many other countries, some with fewer resources, managed their COVID-19 responses equally well it can be argued.

Moreover, Bostic left behind a health care system, including the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, that was not significantly improved than when he was appointed Minister of Health. Issues such as overcrowding, under performance at the A&E, staff shortages, a struggling polyclinic network, simmering industrial climate, long waiting list for surgeries to name a few remain unresolved. If the presidency is to symbolise national excellence and forward-thinking leadership, then the state of the country’s primary health institution under his watch deserves scrutiny. It is noted that the President’s role is largely ceremonial, UNLESS, the still born NEW Republic Constitution delivers an elevated role.

It is also worth considering whether Barbados, as a young republic, should look beyond traditional political and legal figures for the head of state role. A truly holistic approach to leadership should involve nominating candidates from diverse backgrounds, civil society, academia, business who may project a perception of a country willing to depart from old ways of doing things..

Yes Bostic’s service record is commendable in the traditional way of thinking, however, it is reasonable to question whether his nomination reflects the best possible choice for a modern, inclusive, and ‘forward looking’fit for purpose’ Barbados. We need to send a message to every nook and cranny of Barbados society that leadership should be measured in new and more relevant ways.

In an increasingly competitive and interconnected world, a small country like Barbados must be strategic in how we cultivate and showcase leadership. It is no longer sufficient to rely solely on traditional credentials, political tenure and patrimony. Barbados must highlight individuals who possess unique lateral skill sets, We have to be bold in recognising and elevating those whose talents transcend the conventional and traditional. Are we there yet?

“To boldly go where no one has gone before”Captain Kirk

28 responses to “Jeffrey Bostic – familiar face of change”

1. This idea is as lowly as the B-mistress. For none of this has any relevance to any materialist reality.

Not at a time when a dying capitalist, imperial core is blackmailing countries, all over.

For example, Trump is demanding that Japan invest 350 billion in America, at the sole disposal of Trump himself, for him alone to decide how it is to be invested, and the returns from which only 10 percent goes to Japan and the 90 percent to America.

Mafia capitalism, someone says?

Failure to meet these extortionist demands mean that tariffs will be imposed.

Something fatal is happening at the centre, the imperial core, while those locked within the bureaucratic regime in Bridgetown elect to change the furnishings on a sinking Titanic as the so-called master of nothing chooses to transport readers to the irrationality of a dreamland.

2. Example of one or two that you think would be more deserving of the presidency?

3. And how does a Bostic “change” from a Mason?

Does it really help to “change” anything to have a dyed-in-the’wool monarchist, that is “Thorne”, supporting a would be republican Bostic?

And since the masons were here before the Bostics arrived, an independent observer may be inclined to suppose the opposite.

These levels of inbreeding generally point in the same direction as the imperial core.

They represent a collective demand that the country dies with its master. For weeee bleed when massa bleeds. Weeeee die when massa dies!

4. At least we can now understand EVERYTHING about the background deals behind the Radical vaccine adventures.
    What a place!
    Bushie agrees that Bostic is a special and outstanding citizen. But making deals with the mafia always comes with conditions.
    What a time of madness – as Pacha posits…!!!

5. @Bush Tea

What are you saying? The surprising retirement of Bostic from politics is now explained by his nomination for president?

6. The related blog “Bostic in Maloney OUT” speaks volumes about how the local mafia works….
    You should now come to understand…

– How complete jokers get to be ‘promoted’ to senior minister…
    – How inept civil servants get to receive the highest honors…
    – How complete useless ‘friends’ get key appointments – even in violation of the constitution
    – How an upright gentleman could be lured into the mafia circles

so…
    Why would this nomination not be par for the course – even if the nominee is in fact a suitable candidate.

EVERY shiite related to our mafia government involves a ‘quid pro quo’ deal….
    Nothing is altruistic!!

What a place – cursed!!!

7. Bushie ain’t saying one shiite!!

His retirement was likely a matter of PERSONAL principle.
    His silence however, has been golden, and puzzling…

If we had a REAL REPUBLICAN constitution – where the PEOPLE made their own decisions, Bushie would both NOMINATE and vote for Bostic.
    That way, he would be FREE to operate according to his conscience and NOT be beholden to anyone… BUT THE PEOPLE.

Republic shiite!!
    We had a coup!
    We just changed from a white queen to a black Empress.

What a place!!

8. @BT
    It is difficult to connect the dots.
    I am aware of the trickery that accompanies these deals, but events are stretching the limits of my imagination. To think that clothes were deliberately removed from the hamper with the intention of using them later is incredible and boggles the mind.

I thought his resignation was a demonstration of integrity during the vaccine scam.

However, some of his shine is removed when his full record is put on display as in the following paragraph: “Bostic left behind a health care system, including the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, that was not significantly improved than when he was appointed Minister of Health. Issues such as overcrowding, under performance at the A&E, staff shortages, a struggling polyclinic network, simmering industrial climate, long waiting list for surgeries to name a few remain unresolved. If the presidency is to symbolise national excellence and forward-thinking leadership, then the state of the country’s primary health institution under his watch deserves scrutiny.”

9. Well it is no secret that we are currently struggling to nurture a culture of meritocracy in Barbados. It is all about who you know get the nod.

10. @ TheO
    What shine what!??!!
    If he knew nothing about the Radical scam – as minister, …then what are the chances that he had ACTUAL control of the other aspects of that ministry?

Is it not OBVIOUS where all roads lead?
    Ministers and public servants are mere fronts, placed to take any blame and to keep mafia secrets.

Who is even CONTEMPLATING merit in Brassbados…?
    A ‘meritocracy’ would be the antithesis of what we have been setting up over the last 20 years (starting quite innocently with OSA – with his Office of Public Sector Reform, Productivity Council, and NISE initiatives)

What a place!!

11. “What shine what!??!!
    If he knew nothing about the Radical scam – as minister, …then what are the chances that he had ACTUAL control of the other aspects of that ministry?”

Some irony there @bushtea that Bostic would be hailed regarding his nomination no retreat no surrender approach to managing Covid but knew nothing about the secret deal to procure vaccines. Even his PS knew?

12. Don’t get it twisted..
    The “Radical Scam” is in fact referring to the fact that Radical was scammed, as proven in US Court Law (may 2025). Defendant Alex Moore of Good Vibrations had a default judgement to pay $4.2 million he received, but Moniladae Coley and her company Prestige Pegasus should also owe $2 million but is in hiding and has still not been served her Court papers.

13. I think he’s as solid a choice as you are likely to get.
    We still do not have a Republic Constitution, so the exact powers of the President, versus the Prime Minister, are unknown.
    After being railroaded as Minister of Health, he quietly exited elected politics. This tells the PM he is loyal. And potentially malleable.
    Not being a lawyer, which had become the recent pattern is positive in my view. He is likely more directly political, than is preferable.

14. The “Radical Scam” is in fact referring to the fact that Radical was scammed..
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Ha ha ha
    Kiki wukking fuh his money den!!!
    Nice spin Dub…
    ..but that is just another easy six …high over silly mid-on….

The FACT that the scammer got themselves scammed is NOT out concern…
    The FACT that the radical scammer was DEEP into the process of scamming our BB donkeys is!!

Steupsss…
    They could as well fire your tail….
    You are of no deflective value here on BU…

You let TheO stop you from smoking the cheap stuff
    …and this new brand AIN’T wukking…

15. his previous role as head of the Barbados Defence Force supported his nomination

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

TELL ME THIS IS A SICK JOKE.

WHAT WAR HAS THIS JOKER LED UNLESS YOU ARE TALKING AGAINST THE HUNGRY MOSTLY UNEDUCATED BOYS ON THE BLOCKS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND.

THE INCREDIBLE BDF CAN’T EVEN SEND 400 ‘SOLDIERS’ TO HAITI.

THE SOLDIERS HAD TO COME ALL THE WAY FROM KENYA IN AFRICA.

THE SICK DELUSION OF PUNCHING ABOVE WEIGHT CONTINUES ON THE 2X3 ISLAND.

16. What I found most revealing in the Radical matter, was WHO on the email CC lists. Who had GoB email accounts. Not to forget, the Radical $$ which were scammed, essentially came from the GoSt.L, as Chastenet tried to save his political ass. The GoSt.L was the only party we know who actually sent Radical funds. But like CBL, that too seems to be a non-issue to the taxpayers of that Nation.

17. The blogmaster has a view that individuals involved in politics or a known association with a political party should have to suffer a cooling off period of about five to ten years before being nominated to non partisan positions e.g. president, chief justice and the like.

18. Most rational persons would share your view boss…
    As would those who unselfishly had ONLY the best interests of the country at heart.

The role would ideally fit a near flawless citizen of unquestionable character, a lifetime of community service, an impeccable family history and all-round model citizen.

That said, the incumbent Dame Sandra appears to have grown admirably into the role.

It is not altogether clear to a lowly bushman why THAT HONORARY position must be changed after four years – when we have SO MANY useless shiite politicians who seem to persist forever…from one HOPEless scam to another…

Why not change ALL politicians after two terms… or three scandals (which ever comes first)?

But wunna mussie know…!!!

19. By the way Boss…

This is not meant to be blackmail or extortion…

BUT IF YOU DON’T POST A BLOG ABOUT THAT LOTTA SHIITE dat Ian Gooding-Edgehill and the BIGG (Barbados Idiotic Government Goons) are promoting about rental properties….

Bushie will…!!
    …and you done know that Bushie could get you sued….

20. ‘Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn.” I have long ceased to care about these things. It’s all vanity.

21. Carefully Careless Avatar
    Carefully Careless

Keep mouth shut and collect reward.

Two kinds of men will object to this proposal.
    The extremely ignorant and the extremely honorable.

To pretend that this is anything other than what it really is, is to confirm and embrace our identity… Lilliputian and Gulliver doth bestrides this land like a Colossus.

Long live the King… sigh
    Long live the President.

22. REAL SOLDIERS 15 MONTHS LATER IN 2025

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Port-au-Prince port reopens after Kenyan-led mission secures key sites

23. Pacha is ready to forecast the end of dollar dominance, the end of empire, the end of 500 years of White dominance, the collapse of their criminal god.

Of course, empires have a way of falling over hundreds or ever thousands of years. Two examples are the Western and Eastern Roman Empires.

In the case of the latter, it was not until around the 16th century that the complete fall occurred. But before that the Western half took hundreds of years before finally and completely falling in the middle of the sixth century, AD on both cases.

Others may rightly contend that elements of all past empires still exist today. True!

Of course, some people believe that such an enterprise is fraught, that such claims best reside within the province of spirit, requires a skilled Obeah man. However, there are enough well known variables to scientifically make such a forecast possible.

Certainly, the recent announcement by the Chinese of the international yuan certainly represents a critical data point, if come years before anticipated, it comes with all the supporting transaction and other structures – generally leads in that direction.

24. Pacha is ready to forecast the end of dollar dominance
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Join the line @Pacha

What forecast what!!??
    This is practically a ‘fait accompli’ now…

Seven YEARS ago or so – it would have been considered a ‘forecast’….

25. The President.

26. PM speaks eloquently.