The government of Barbados recently announced that it will not renew the current arrangement with the International Monetary Fund (IMF). There will be no BERT III BUT Prime Minister Mottley will maintain a “speed dial standby” connection, whatever that means. Lest we have forgotten, the Mottley government on winning the 2018 general election pursued the IMF option “due to significant economic challenges, including a high debt-to-GDP ratio, declining international reserves, and a struggling economy”.

Prime Minister Mottley was quoted in the press that the IMF arrangement was a success but “the government recognises the need for flexibility in the face of potential global economic challenges“. Many Barbadians directed vitriolic comments at the IMF forgetting that Barbados is a willing member of the fund and voluntarily triggered its involvement in 2018 after triggering a selective default(SD).

Although it is fair to say the economic state of the country has improved mainly due to a rebound in tourism post COVID. Key economic indicators confirm that Barbados remains a heavily indebted small country with GDP north of 100, a national social security system groaning under the weight of mismanagement and an ageing population, unstructured management of public pension fund, a decaying physical infrastructure; roads, water system, waste management etc. Although foreign reserve balance is ‘heathy’ it is mainly as a result of borrowing and not earning. It will be interesting to see the results of the decision to enter the capital markets in June 2025 post IMF and BERT program. Barbados does not have an investment grade.

Sensible people have to question Mottley’s decision to distribute millions of dollars to Barbadians under the guise of ‘sharing the bounty’. Sharing what bounty what! Barbados is in no position to share bounty given our current economic state. The blogmaster opines that it is fiscally irresponsible and sends a wrong message to Barbadians. We are a people already addicted to consumption behaviour and the message government should be sending is the need to change attitudes and behaviours given our present circumstances. Nothing has changed, we are still operating with a one-leg economy.

Could this be a naked grab by Mottley to feather popularity with a gullible public with a general election looming? The recent win by the Barbados Labour Party in St. James North should be seen for what it is – in the land of the blind a one eye person can be a queen. The main political opposition – Democratic Labour Party – remains ineffective with little or no credibility with an apathetic public. Talking heads like Wickham should hush.

Now that the optics of being entangled with the IMF has forced the termination of the relationship it will make for interesting times. Do we have the will to impose fiscal self discipline to prevent having to speed dial the IMF? A usually optimistic blogmaster is uncertain in this instance.

122 responses to “Solidarity Allowance or Political Bribe?”

1. @ Donna

Thanks.

Greetings to The O G(uy) as well.

I’m still among the living for the time being…… ‘until my number is called.’

Was in St. Lucia for a few months.

I don’t like comparing islands, but a reference to the Tourism Development Act reminded me of certain similarities between Barbados and SLU relative to tourism.
    Despite an upsurge in gun related crime, which is concentrated more so in Vieu Fort, there has been significant improvements in their tourism product since my previous visit, which has seen an increase of visitors and substantial investments in building new and expanding existing properties.

However, unlike Barbados, SLU’s convenient access for sailing and excellent infrastructure to accommodate yachts, has earned the island a reputation for being one of the popular worldwide destinations for yachting and sailing vacations.
    Remember, a few years ago, Barbados lost the ‘final leg’ of the yacht race to Grenada and St. Lucia.

Unfortunately, tourism ministers of successive BLP and DLP administration seem to lack the foresight and innovation to take the industry to higher levels, beyond the 1960s mindset of ‘sea, sand and sun.’

Another interesting observation was Massy has a dominant presence in SLU, especially in Castries and Gros Islet.
    That company has ‘taken over’ almost all the locally owned supermarkets, including J.Q Charles Ltd. and Julians Supermarkets.

I understand Trinidad-based Agostini Ltd. now owns Hanschell Inniss Ltd., which has been rebranded as Acado (Barbados) Ltd.

2. @TLSN

What about it you want to share about the Tourism Act?

3. A man and a woman were obviously designed to coexist; to be in harmony.

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

Artax
    Good to see you back, the blogmaster in his usual cryptic style had some wondering.
    I believe it’s called CPD, and it’s a 50-50 distribution business between Agostini and GEL. It fell into the rebranding of Agostini into Acado. GEL would have had Peter & Co, plus other businesses in SLU which were likely under the CPD umbrella. Plus GEL’s less than stellar acquisition of the Melville and Chastenet companies.
    Rumour has it, the former Massy CEO who now has a place in Bim, maybe on the short list for the GEL Board when Herbert’s imminent retirement happens.

5. Editorial

Give quality NISSS service

THE GOVERNMENT OF BARBADOS is inviting consulting firms to submit proposals to re-engineer the administration of the public sector pension scheme, including a digital transformation roadmap focused on automation and customer centricity.

On the surface, this may appear to be just another procurement notice. In reality, it signals a pivotal opportunity to modernise one of our most essential services.

This is about far more than software and systems. It is about dignity, trust and the public’s expectation that the State will keep its promises to the thousands of public officers who have served – and continue to serve – Barbados.

Before pouring more public funds into another technical overhaul, the National Insurance and Social Security Service (NISSS) must clearly disclose how much has already been spent on upgrades over the past 25 years – and what value Barbadians have received in return.

In fact, timely public accountability must become standard practice, not the exception. The NISSS should produce upto- date annual reports that meet statutory deadlines and are easily accessible online to the public.

Contributors to the national social security system should not have to beg to see this information. It is not a privilege; it is a fundamental right for citizens to know how their contributions are being managed and what outcomes are being achieved.

Past technology investments were supposed to improve service delivery, but can reasonably be described as failures in meeting all the expected objectives. This is why safeguards must be put in place to ensure that this next wave of investment is well spent as the NISSS must ensure value for money in a fast-changing, expensive, tech landscape.

Technology can solve many things, but not basic human courtesy and responsiveness. Therefore, any reform must prioritise customer service alongside automation. It is unacceptable that some people still wait weeks for clarity on their pensions or benefits.

So, we must ask: will this digital roadmap also include a service culture overhaul? Will pensioners and workers finally be treated as valued clients, not as file numbers?

The recent rebranding of the NIS to NISSS raises its own set of questions. Yes, a new name may suggest a fresh start, but was this change based on meaningful public input or research? Has the name resonated with the people it is meant to serve? Does it clearly communicate a stronger, more responsive institution? And where is the new slogan or brand promise that captures this vision?

Public institutions should not rebrand without purpose, or without listening to the very people whose trust they are trying to win. The NISSS is not just another department. It is a central pillar of Barbados’ social and economic safety net. Its performance directly impacts the financial stability of thousands of households and, by extension, our entire economy.

That is why this reform must not be a half-hearted digital fix. It must be comprehensive, transparent and designed with the people in mind. Let’s demand more than just new systems. We deserve accountability, empathy and excellence.

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

The transition from NIS to NISSS, occured on Dec 1, 2023. As it is June 2025, and not a single Report, not even one to indicate the assets/liabilities transferred, confirms little has changed.
    While digital tools should aid in operational effectiveness, and should be likewise assessed in the public space, since the administration of OSA, the GoB has determined the NIS is “fah we to know and fah you to find out”.
    The transition was largely to bury the past. An ugly period of mismanagement of the island’s largest asset. But once the people getting paid today, who worrying bout tomorrow? We will deal with that then.
    The people don’t deserve one shiite, they deserve what they are willing to fight for. Thus far the NIS/NISSS is not something they seem willing to fight for. And the elected know this.
    The Solidarity Allowance could have been a $50M contribution to the NISSS, as previously suggested. But money in yah pocket today, feels better. At least one is responsible for those funds, not some group who doesn’t report.
    Do not buy a GoB Bond or TBill, until the GoB entities Report.

7. @ NorthernObserver

Thanks.

Also read Agostini Ltd. Agostini Ltd bought Collins Ltd. as well and renamed it Aventa (Barbados) Ltd.

8. The last upgrade of the NIS systems cost a whole lotta dollars amd made little sense.

That was a good editorial.

9. David,

Sorry for hijacking the blog for a bit. I just wish we could put all thedistraction of gender-bashing behind us and deal with the real issues. There are a few of us who seem incapable of that.

Sexism is as hurtful to women as racism is to black people. The silly thing is that it hurts the sexist and racist as well.

We are all hurt by stupidity. Sexism and racism are equally stupid. They both prevent us from seeking out the best people for the job. They both stop us from working together for the greater good. They distract us from seeking real solutions. They waste time and energy that we can ill afford.

There is currently a backlash against the gains black people have made in the world with respect to civil rights. There is also a backlash against the gains that women have made. Obviously, to the one accustomed to privilege, equality seems like oppression. And we know that equality has not yet been achieved, but white people and men feel like it has. Statistics say otherwise.

And yet, people like Donald Trump can peddle racism and Andrew Taitt can peddle sexism to great profit today!

I insist on fighting them both. The battle begins in the mind.

John2

As I berate those who remained silent, I should acknowlege those who didn’t.

Thank you.

10. Bushie

I’ve been here long enuff to be well aware of your tactics’–sophistry and goalposts shifting. You, Bushie, opposed the Chinese loan to upgrade the roads and bridges in the Scotland District. You called it a waste of money. Now you’re on BU pontificating about government being elected “to strategize to ensure a safe and secure home for future citizens.” I humbly submit that good transport infrastructure is essential to citizen safety and security. Unless you believe persons in the SD are not citizens. You ain’t ready–just dogmatic, loquacious and misogynistic.

11. Feel Sorry for me Avatar
    Feel Sorry for me

ohn2

As I berate those who remained silent, I should acknowlege those who didn’t.

——————–

What a childish woman silly woman

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    Yes. A while back. And Agostini transferred the lady from GEL running CPD, to head up Collins.

13. @ Enuff
    “I’ve been here long enuff to be well aware of your tactics’–sophistry and goalposts shifting.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    But apparently NOT long enuff to walk AND chew gum…?

Since when is borrowing from Chinese to fix roads (that actually require fairly UNIQUE BAJAN EXPERIENCE and skills) – “strategizing to ensure a safe and secure home for future citizens.”

Shiite Enuff, if wunna are INCAPABLE of conceptualizing progress that is self-sustaining and driven by BAJAN productivity creativity and innovation, then PLEASE GO AWAY and let someone who is, run the damn place….nuh!!

Steupsss
    Typical women (and effeminates..)!
    …always looking for a ‘successful’ man (white people / IMF / China /IDB etc) to sponge off of –
    …and calling that ’success’… ??!!

By the sweat of a MAN’s brow should he (and a country) survive (and even thrive).
    Bushie is CONSISTENT!!!
    You are grabbing at straws Boss….

14. Silly man, I have been in this male-dominated rumshop for over a decade. Walter Blackman called me UNRELENTING! Support in truthtelling is appreciated, but NOT NECESSARY. Everybody here knows that about me. I can take all of you on at the same time.

Now, why don’t you try to counter the points I made against BAJE? Because you CANNOT! Instead, you come out here to attack me for calling out misogyny.

Lookah cyah yuh swibbly balls and stick outta my way, yuh boar!

15. There he goes again, the Misogynist in Chief! Typical man, toxic masculinity!

16. How many premiers and prime ministers have we had? How many of them did not borrow money from the white people, IMF, China, IDB?

How many of them were men? So…….I’m beginning to think that this is the typical man. Therefore, Mia could be described as masculine! Not only in voice and “preference”…..but in thinking!

17. Bushie

The same character that called for the “albinocentric” to run our education, after saying for years we need to stop following that group. Grasping at straws, or got you cornered, as always? Not ready!! Stick to letters to the editor.

18. “As I berate those who remained silent, I should acknowlege those who didn’t.”

I’m on your side too, but observing you stand up for yourself instead.

You should also note that Bush & Co. are deliberately pushing your buttons,
    baiting trolling winding you up..

19. @ Enuff
    “The same character that called for the “albinocentric” to run our education, …”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Not stinking Bushie…! you hallucinating or wuh??

However, given that your Empress has failed to ‘run it’ successfully – both as MoE, and also as the puppeteer behind the myriad of clowns who have been rotated through the various roles, …wunna could as well hire an albino centric. there in truth……

Was it stinking Bushie who hired TWO of them to run Tourism? …and the QEH? – (a clear admission of wunna BB incompetence in THOSE areas of responsibility too..)
    Or was it wunna Birector of Big works?

Steupsss…
    de pressure like it getting to wunna yuh…. talk was easy, but RESULTS require talent.
    BUT…
    Don’t spot wunna light pon Bushie fuh shiite
    Spot um pon Illaro, where nothing goes right

20. Of that I am well aware. But I shall always take the bait, devour it and spit the hook back in their silly faces. This is not a game. This is real life!

As I have already mentioned and I am certain that YOU know, the backlash the world is currently experiencing is about race, gender AND CLASS, putting us all back in “our places” Andrew Tate and his Manosphere are big and growing! More young men of all races voted for the adjudicated rapist, Donald Trump, than ever before. The filthy rich are eroding all the gains made by workers decades ago. Even the illusion of democracy is under attack. Racism, sexism and fascism are connected. Once you are allowed to denigrate, dismiss, disenfranchise, dehumanise and hate one category of person, there is a permission and a tendency to do the same to all except those who are like you.

One would think a “sage” would know these things. We need to ensure that others do.

21. A question for the government: how much tax dollars is allocated to advertising in traditional media to promote Barbadians can register for the solidarity allowance?