Submitted by Observing

It has been a while since I last wrote, but the recent murder of two young, bright souls has a way of forcing reflection. Some moments do that. They interrupt whatever rhythm you have settled into and demand that you stop, think, and respond.

So let us rewind for a moment.

In 2007, a shooting during Crop Over sparked national outrage. There were calls for heads to roll, for the hangman’s noose to be unearthed, for an Attorney General to be fired. The country reacted with a level of intensity that signaled something deeper than the incident itself. And truth be told, those reactions were justified. Even then, those who were paying attention could see that what we were witnessing was not an isolated event, but part of a trend that had been building since the late 90s. What started as concern in certain communities was slowly becoming something more embedded, more visible, more difficult to ignore.

That moment, along with others, helped shape a wider rejection of the leadership of the day. Like many administrations before and after, there was a tendency to talk (or not talk), to manage perception, and to hope that time would resolve what required deliberate action. It did not. And the voters spoke.

Now fast forward to today, and it is difficult to ignore the parallels.

We have seen the incidents at Nelson Street, the shooting at Sheraton, and now this past weekend. Oistins Fish Festival, an event which should represent community, culture, and pride, was disrupted by gun violence. A few miles away, Carlisle Bay, Brownes Beach, a space associated with leisure, enjoyment and sunsets experienced the same disregard for life. Different settings, same issue.

The casualties may not mirror what we saw in 2007, but the pattern feels uncomfortably familiar. There is a growing culture of crime, an increasing normalisation of gun violence, and a noticeable erosion of the social norms that once acted as a quiet but firm guardrail, particularly among segments of our young men.

And so we have to ask ourselves some uncomfortable questions.

Are we now at the point where staying home feels is preferred than participating in our own national life out of fear for safety?
Have we quietly sunk into the view that “it is not my problem” as long as it does not reach our doorstep?
Are we willing to live with the perception that there are individuals who can move guns, drugs, humans and violence with a level of confidence that suggests they believe they cannot be touched?

And perhaps most importantly, have we begun to accept this as the natural consequence of where we now find ourselves in a small, open island state navigating rapid economic and social change, increasingly susceptible to external influences?

To be fair, on the surface, there is much to celebrate. Foreign investment is strong. Tourism numbers are encouraging. New developments rise and signal progress. The messaging, politically, is polished and reassuring. But beneath that surface, there is a tension that cannot be ignored. It is the kind of tension that other countries have experienced before, often while convincing themselves that things were still under control. Time has shown that they were not.

There is a clear link between what we are seeing and our growing civic disengagement, political apathy, and the quiet but real shifts in how our communities function and relate. Some will see it. Others will dismiss it. But whether we acknowledge it or not does not change the truth.

When violence at public events feels less shocking and more expected, when those outside the law grow bolder, and when those voices of “good” choose retreat over resistance, then this is no longer just a challenge. It is a new normal taking hold.

And when we criticize the poor man but excuse the rich; condemn a lost decade but celebrate political opportunism; preach compassion while practicing none; then we are not just observing hypocrisy. We are both accepting and promoting it.

When buildings, idols, and fame replace values and principles; when education no longer starts at home and clearly cannot continue at school; when a people shrug their shoulders and say “oh well”….then it is we who have determined our fate.

And that, more than anything else, should concern those of us who care.

God bless Bim.

38 responses to “Apathy, normalcy, hypocrisy”

1. @Observing

#tippingpoint?

2. The blogmaster continues to be amazed by the academic reasoning for declining interest in governance matters in the country, including the electoral process. Is t this a trend in many countries? The reality is that one cannot only scrutinize the numbers, too many citizens are voting because it is a democratic right they still hold sacred even if there is lingering resignation it means ‘nothing’.

3. Seventeen already this year. No wonder Bajans are starting to feel threatened within national conscmurderers. Within their homes.

Maybe the country has long passed the point of no return. Maybe, murder incorporated is the new order of the day. Maybe, it’s time that we all adjust our gazes and accept this new normalcy.

That these times have seemingly arrived is maybe the best barometer of reality. That maybe the days of old are truly forever gone. That maybe there remains no minimal moral basis.

That our society has now degenerated to its lowest level, not only on the high and sustained murder production statistics, but by serveral other measurements as well.

Maybe most Bajans know someone who’s been murdered, or a murderer, or family members of both.

Elections certainly were never designed to treat to these!

4. Mía Mottley herself has now murdered her political opposition three times over and maybe will again.

5. Then there is the issue of prominent people not delivering to the public on a consistent basis to be able to construct credibility in the eyes of the public. For example, the commissioner of police, Richard Boyce, who from all accounts is coming up on the retirement radar, how long has it been since he promised us he would report on the ‘slapping’ incident of the task force officer that slapped an individual? Has the media and other prominent officials pressed him to respond? What about John and Jane Citizens?

We like it so.

6. Discussion?

7. Civilized Reggae Avatar
    Civilized Reggae

Barbados needs some Civilized Reggae All Over to chill out to

Come, my brother, come help me
    Come, my sister, come help me
    Help me sing this song, sing along, sing along
    Sing along, sing along
    (New civilization, new civilization, new civilization)

8. Apathy, normalcy and hypocrisy abound at the very centre.

Even as a dying empire becomes again the leading brigand in the world by stealing oil resources of titularly soveriegn countries, serially hijacking oil cargoes on the high seas, blockading countries and declaring aggressive wars, the highest crime of all.

Committing genocide, declaring wars, destroying oil, gas and civilan infrastructures so that market dominance is reasserted with the USD as the chief anchor of the global financial architecture.

As civil rights, including freedom of speech once thought indispensable, have lost pride of place within Western artificialities.

All of these things continue occurring as an apathic global citizenry, like rats in an eternal race for a small piece of cheese, is so cowed by the immense power of elites that resignation presents the sole response.

Weeee have wasted decades talking about global warming and renewable energy as a deliberate misguidance while the powers that be secretly planned on maintaining fossil fuels as the cornerstone of international Whiteness.

https://youtu.be/0nt1CgQsgpI?si=gDEKe_Q-onbbvhlF

Richard Medhurst!

9. No, it is not past the point of no return. But we’ve got a few more years of getting worse before we get better. We have, including this government which came into office since 2018, allowed another cohort of youngsters to leave school still illiterate. After seven years, these people have only just introduced measures to address this. Seven years! When we know that over 90% of young men currently in prison for violent crimes cannot read beyond the “a is for apple” stage! I know that, strictly speaking’ correlation does not equal causation, but over 90% must count for something!

As for the dying empire, I am optimistic that the world has had enough of it. The world wants it dead. The evil conspirators, the old European empires, Canada, Australia et al are finally facing the fact that are valued no more than we are. “Whiteness” that artificial construct, does not count for much with Trump and the Trumpettes. The Gulf States have had their wake up call. So have Japan and South Korea. Africans are beginning to free themselves from mental slavery. China is being viewed more favourably by the world. Israel is self -destructing. And everybody is looking for a new way of doing things.

The West is over! They are no longer a unit. This embarrassment inflicted on the United States by Iran has demonstrated even to the previously blind that military might alone does not win wars. The world now sees that the empire has feet of clay. Thanks to that hideously evil, insane, ignorant, stupid and now demented creature Donald Trump, a blessing in a terrible disguise, we have a chance to re-imagine the world. It won’t be easy, but there is a chance.

Unlike some, I don’t believe the pale poppets are suicidal. Other empires kicked and screamed … and then accepted their fate. Most human beings have a very strong will to live, despite it all.

I’m out!

10. Given present accumulations of green house gases and the determination to double down on fossil fuels, even as China the reliable boogeyman, produces more alternative energy than any other …

And on nuclear weapons, even as the Bulletin of Atomic Scientists says the time is 90 seconds before midnight, midnight been that zero hour, the closest we’ve ever been, even as the Ramadan War on the same Iran and hybrid conflicts against it for 47 long years, have proven conclusively thus far that the only real protection again the aggressions of nuclear states is the possession of nuclear bombs. Evidence, that nobody talks about invading North Korea anymore.

Recent Zionists aggressions against Syria and Lebanon were characterized by a series of short wars and continuous strikes from time to times, as its way of preparing target countries for balkanization so that Paz-Judaica may be born. For Iran is the last domino to fall in their eyes. And they shall not stop, regardless of negative outcomes.

For the war of aggression by two nuclear armed belligerents, the United States and the Zionist State, may still motivate the regime in Palestine to resort to the use of nuclear weapons if it fears annihilation by the conventional responses of Iran and her allied forces. Meaning that the obvious victory by Iran may not be the last word in this drama. Indeed, should the political process in Pakistan fail to represent the victory of Iran, as all parties are busied with re-armament for a third round, there will surely be a third aggression in short order. This ceasefire is unlikely to be the end or even the beginning of the end. We cite the work of Brian Berletic who rightly argues that regardless of whom is elected in the United States, we always get a militarist like John MaCain, a ‘continuity of agenda’, as divined by the think tanks in America. Democrats of Republicans there are no real differences.

Nuclear bombs within an accepted logic that a first strike use is more than likely to inspire all other nuclear weapons states to either use theirs or loose them. This is an arithmetic which only has a single result. And is the reasoning of Postol, Ritter, Mearsheimer and the vast majority of nuclear weapons and military experts around the world. We are thusly guided.

We are talking about two aggressor entities. The United States which has previously used nuclear weapons in circumstances where the Japanese were defeated, ready to surrender, but the use of nuclear weapons was to send a message to the then Soviet Union as a demonstration of what would happen to it if their interfered in America’s post war plans.

And Israel, a country which has illegal nuclear weapons and which has been committing genocide in Palestine for decades. Recently in Gaza and today, this very day in Lebanon, genocide as defined by the statutes of the International Criminal Court.

This writer’s master narrative has long been that White people will never again allow the cyclical rise and fall of empires to proceed beyond them. That they are prepared to deploy nuclear weapons to hold unto world power even in these worse of time when very little is going right for them. Others are free to rest within the best expressions of the humanoid. However, given the broad histories of mankind, this writer fails to see any such human intervention, even as we’ve had many near misses before. For the next time we may not be as lucky.

11. @ Pacha
    The basic point being missed here by you and others, is that this whole battle of life on Earth is not one between human beings per se, but is actually a monumental, multidimensional interaction between high-level super-human spiritual forces.

Human beings are central to the battle, but this is because the OBJECTIVE of the spiritual war is all about harvesting the possible long term POTENTIALITIES of the human being.

Created in God’s image, in a TEMPORARY temple, each human being has the POTENTIAL to grow into spiritual fullness – provided that the required GODLY CHARACTER can be planted, nurtured and matured during the TEMPORARY character-building window that has been created by way of the ‘Project Life on Earth’.

On the other side of the battle, are the spiritual vendors of jealousy and death, those who are pissed that lowly brass bowl people could have been granted such opportunities to become the sons of the most high.
    Their aim and obsession has ALWAYS been to minimize and terminate this bushman project. These demons would destroy everything rather than stand aside and watch righteousness prevail.

So blaming their ‘agents’ who have been recruited among mortal BBs is like blaming the lotta political yardfowls and shiite hounds in Brassbados for the Mafia-like operations in our government.

The ONLY reason that your doomsday clock will never hit midnight is that when that becomes CLEARLY inevitable, ‘those days will be shortened’ – but only for the sake of those who are called the ‘elect’.

Matt 24:22
    “Unless those days had been shortened, no flesh would have been saved. But for the sake of the chosen ones, those days will be shortened.”

What an epoch!!

12. Bushie

These spiritual dimensions of human existence that you correctly cite long existed. Long before the ungoly rite at the very centre of your being, way of thinking.

And if weee had them before that which you hold so dear, might it not most likely have been an external imposition determined by your devil. What are we to make of other writings existent ten of thousands of years before your acili came into ‘bogue’.

Even as, in Afrikan cosmogeny, there are no devils, we represent that the White man is the best approximation of that devil as proven by history, contemporary events. The devil who wrote your script, with his own hand, still telling you it’s the work of the sky god. We totally and completely reject it!

Indeed, all humans, still today, and in the absence of your religious proclivities, have that innately spiritual and intellectual discernment to know that in the case of the wars against Iran that there will never be any way of appeasing the devil, except total and complete capitulation, submission, even in circumstances where it’s pellucid that Iran has thus far won the wars.

And herein lies the problem, because the devil never accepts defeat. It must be destroyed. Those representative of your devil are not now even talking about nuclear weapons anymore. They don’t even want Iran to have conventional means of defense. Why? They aims are to balkanize Iran. Its total defeat.

These are the circumstances which have led to the failed ‘negotiations’ in Pakistan. And as weee had suggested earlier, that even in defeat the White devil seeks the obeisance of all.

Nature abhors a vacuum. It does not create the same thing twice. Everything it creates has a purpose. We suggest that nuclear weapons were created for this systemic problem. And boldly accept the natural outcomes of their application.

Next time you respond maybe you could tell the blog where ever was this god, created by man, at any material moment in history.

https://youtu.be/TlokWR9gmGc?si=IJVy9IU2Scp4Vf2c

Ritter covers the uselessness of any negotiations with the devil.

13. LOL @ Pacha
    As usual, you are on the ball on the ‘local’ level, wrt the albino-centric demons who currently dominate our world.
    The MUCH bigger spiritual picture however, continues to elude you…

Consider this:
    Basic concepts that drive your logic – such as time, space, fairness, and justice, are ALL completely subjective and TEMPORARY concepts, that were CREATED specifically to facilitate project ‘Life on Earth’.

‘Time’, for example, which you use constantly to seek to evaluate THE Creator, is a concept that itself has been established by that CREATOR.
    If you know anything about entropy, then you know that there was a specific point when time STARTED and when entropy was 100% (everything was perfect). You would also know that there is a theoretical point when entropy will be zero (total chaos) and time will cease to be a concept.
    ALL THIS WAS DESIGNED AND PUT IN PLACE BY THE CREATOR…

It is therefore laughable when you ask about such things as “other writings existent ten of thousands of years before your acili came into ‘bogue’.” The whole concept of ‘time’ is nothing but a ‘FENCE’ that was built to contain human brass within a universal REALITY of spiritual permanence.

Bushie has previously explained the PURPOSE of project Life on Earth. This purpose REQUIRED that there be an environment of FREE CHOICE for BBs, between ‘rightness’ and ‘brassbowlery’. BOTH a righteous force, AND a demonic force were therefore NEEDED… and BBs were given the opportunity and the time to make their choices.

As you have been able to CLEARLY see, we have almost universally chosen to adopt the albino-centric philosophies of life, and our CHARACTERS have adapted to this choice.
    As a result, the counterbalancing spiritual forces of GOOD have acceded to our choice and now left us to follow our chosen path…
    Do you see why people like Trump (and you can name practically ANY other key influencers that exist now) are running things…?
    Do you now see why the OBVIOUS results we are seeing has been the accelerated race to zero entropy?
    Only supernatural intervention will prevent the accelerated demise of the project.
    The wages of brassbowlery is chaos and death.

While there is a path that looks attractive to brass bowls, with lots of money etc,
    the END RESULT of than choice will ALWAYS be your much vaunted mushroom shaped cloud…

We just happen to be at a point where the BB Titanic is raising its bow before the final plunge… there is still time for a final tune from the band on the top deck…
    But even the shiite captains can now predict what tomorrow will be like…no need for bushmen.

What a time.

14. Bushie

Well one of the elements of entropy is energy. The well respected writer, geopolitical strategist and academician, Alfred McCoy, locates energy as the constant variable within great power rivalries and tectonic shifts. Indeed, moral constructs are always central to imperial designs.

For example, McCoy notes that the British spent 75 years trying to control the collective energy of slavery, within the American South, because it produced food 40 percent cheaper than anywhere else. To them this economic energy was a direct threat to their ambitions of global hegemony. And they fought two wars about this. For them it was a moral crusade!

We humbly suggest phenomena can be largely understood without a reliance on a single book, of dubious origins, written precisely for the opposite purposes and by those who have an interest in casting sand into our eyes.

And this is what happens when people like you contend that some rubric of religion or spirituality is popularly imposed within consciousness. It argues that unless such an umprovable worldview is recognized, that unless we accept a certain moral architecture, that all is or will be lost.

Why should any publics be subjected to these specious renderings about reality when within a vast collection of popular and scientifically provable imaginations could be found material realities. And let the spirituality or religion or conceptions about gods remain forever within the precinct of the individual mind.

15. “Well one of the elements of entropy is energy.”
    Good point @ Pacha

In fact, energy (the ability to do work) is the antithesis of entropy, which degrades energy into chaos.
    It is energy that started off ‘perfection’ with 100% at time T=0, and when entropy reaches the end of its rope, there can only be chaos – with no useful energy available.
    So our ‘global warming’ is likely to be simply the final phase of entropy’s countdown timer.

But why do you keep reverting to the parochial perspective, when the universal consequences so greatly outweigh such minutia?

What any BB chooses to believe, …or refuses to believe, is of ZERO import within the actual scheme of things… and that includes Bushie’s and your beliefs.
    It just so happens that while many are called on to believe, a few are CHOSEN (despite their brassbowlery) to be enlightened… and a few are even adopted… LOL

Even the book on which you are so fanatically fixated, is nothing but an incidental aspect of the great project. It is known to be full of errors, misinterpretations, misunderstood phrases, etc …and is-as a result, ideally placed to lead many brass bowls astray… as well as to distract even the intellectually gifted among us from the DANGEROUS TRUTH about mankind’s potentialities.

You are therefore using a straw-man to deny yourself the chance of exploring the REALLY important realities that we are facing. This is why you can only see mushrooms ahead – because, without the Creator’s plan, it is the ONLY logical outcome – given current project trends.

The OTHER side of the coin is that the global stresses being experienced in the project signify the birth-pains associated with the beginning of a brand new life phase (Project Life-on-Earth-2), coming with completely new rules, objectives and outcomes.

You would REALLY let your obsession with a clearly flawed book, blind you to such possibilities…?
    …not stinking Bushie… LOL

16. @Bush Tea… “In fact, energy (the ability to do work) is the antithesis of entropy, which degrades energy into chaos.

Really? I would never have thought of that… (That is a joke only a few will appreciate.)

Do you realize that it is impossible to create cold, but only move heat?

Fundmental physics. Well beyond (or perhaps because of) Gods.

17. entropy is
    a thermodynamic quantity representing the unavailability of a system’s thermal energy for conversion into mechanical work, often interpreted as the degree of disorder or randomness in the system.
    “the second law of thermodynamics says that entropy always increases with time”
    lack of order or predictability; gradual decline into disorder.
    “a marketplace where entropy reigns supreme”

==========================================

A thing is not necessarily either true or false, it maybe both true and false.

From the above dictionary definitions entropy can have meanings relation to both the hard sciences and the social sciences.

Meekly withdraw and apologize to Bushie!

18. I wasn’t interested in the space mission
    The human race is fed up with these bloody warmongers [USA] and their nationalist right wing Christian Crusades false leadership murdering brown people in the name of their sky ghost and the son of the sky ghost.
    Babylon on a thin wire.

False leaders, move back now
    False leaders, you can’t lead us, no, no

We are righteous people
    We need righteous leaders

Too long, we’ve been in captivity, yeah now
    Got to fid the way to reach sweet Zion, uh, uh
    Where life can be better
    All we got is promises, promises
    And promises for we the fools comfort, oh yeah

False leaders, you can’t lead us, no, no

It’s too long, now we got to find some solution
    ‘Cause this situation is gonna cause a revolution
    To us black, every man has the right to live
    So why killing each other?

Look how long, we’ve been in chains, yeah now
    Down here in Babylon, yeah, uh hmm
    No one to take us out
    You’ve got to find some solution

False leaders, you can’t lead us, no not at all
    You can’t lead us, you can’t lead us

19. @Bush Tea… I can not prove that a God doesn’t exist.

This was a bit of a personal epiphany.

This was while I was wrapping my head around quantum physics.

20. Bushie!

Have you ever considered that the human is the only creature within the universes known to postulate that there is some grand schema, grand design, the lifeforce which perpetually yearns for some other existence, either in the great multitude or by way of some miraculous resurrection from the great beyond.

No other plant or animal, living organism, has been shown to expect such or harbours dreams of being saved from life’s tumult in the predestined fashion some humans do. If Pacha were so minded there would have been a thirst to discover if, of all the billions of lifeforms around us, why such an irrationality has blighted the mind of the human.

And all other living organisms hold a number of things in common with the human. We all need air, food and water even as some misguided ones like you, irrationally argue that there is some other level of being beyond the confines of normal existence.

Have you ever gone there? Do you know, with certainty, of anybody, even time travellers, who’s ever traversed these fictional dimensions of space and time?

Be like all the other living organisms. Allow the flow of being to transport you to the place from whence derived. Dust to dust, ashes to ashes. For there is nothing more! Except that yuh would have talked so much shiiiite over the years that somebody here by the act of calling your name would thusly venerate – with an everlasting life! For there is nothing more.

21. Mississippi Goddam Avatar
    Mississippi Goddam

U.S. News
    Mississippi reveals its full history for America’s anniversary year, a contrast to federal efforts

https://apnews.com/article/america-250-history-mississippi-slavery-trump-whitewash-a8a836ec20ada0776da18e87f90fe6b1

[Intro]
    The name of this tune is Mississippi Goddam
    And I mean every word of it

[Verse 1]
    Alabama’s gotten me so upset
    Tennessee made me lose my rest
    And everybody knows about Mississippi, goddamn

Can’t you see it, can’t you feel it
    It’s all in the air
    I can’t stand the pressure much longer
    Somebody say a prayer

(This is a show tune, but the show hasn’t been written for it, yet)

[Verse 2]
    Hound dogs on my trail
    School children sitting in jail
    Black cat cross my path
    I think every day’s gonna be my last
    You might also like
    Lord have mercy on this land of mine
    We all gonna get it in due time
    I don’t belong here, I don’t belong there
    I’ve even stopped believing in prayer

Don’t tell me, I’ll tell you
    Me and my people just about due
    I’ve been there so I know
    They keep on saying “Go slow!”

[Refrain]
    But that’s just the trouble (Too slow)
    Washing the windows (Too slow)
    Picking the cotton (Too slow)
    You’re just plain rotten (Too slow)
    You’re too damn lazy (Too slow)
    The thinking’s crazy (Too slow)
    Where am I going, what am I doing
    I don’t know, I don’t know

Just try to do your very best
    Stand up, be counted with all the rest
    For everybody knows about Mississippi, goddamn

(I bet you thought I was kidding, didn’t you)

[Verse 3]
    Picket lines, school boycotts
    They try to say it’s a communist plot
    All I want is equality
    For my sister, my brother, my people, and me

Yes, you lied to me all these years
    You told me to wash and clean my ears
    And talk real fine just like a lady
    And you’d stop calling me Sister Sadie

Oh but this whole country is full of lies
    You’re all gonna die and die like flies
    I don’t trust you any more
    You keep on saying “Go slow!”
    “Go slow!”

[Refrain]
    But that’s just the trouble (Too slow)
    Desegregation (Too slow)
    Mass participation (Too slow)
    Reunification (Too slow)
    Do things gradually (Too slow)
    But bring more tragedy (Too slow)
    Why don’t you see it, why don’t you feel it
    I don’t know, I don’t know

You don’t have to live next to me
    Just give me my equality
    Everybody knows about Mississippi
    Everybody knows about Alabama
    Everybody knows about Mississippi, goddamn

[Spoken Outro]
    That’s it!

22. Justice reform call

DLP outlines solutions to help reverse crime situation

THE DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY (DLP) says the justice system must be urgently reformed as the country grapples with a worsening crime situation driven by escalating gun violence.

It has outlined some solutions it believes can help reverse the trend.

Speaking at a St James South and St James Central branch meeting at St John the Baptist Church Hall, Holder’s Hill, St James yesterday, spokesman on legal affairs and criminal justice Corey Greenidge, said crime has evolved beyond a matter of statistics and was now reshaping everyday life across the island.

“We are all old enough to remember when discussions about crime focused on the rate when murders in the 1990s and early 2000s could be counted on one or two hands, and if those figures reached double digits, it was cause for alarm. What we are seeing now is fundamentally different.”

Greenidge, an attorney, pointed to a sharp increase in firearm-related killings in recent years.

“As early as 2023, murder rates linked to gun violence were still in the teens and early 20s, but by 2024 that number had climbed to over 50 and 2025 is on par at over 50 as well. These are startling statistics for a country that is only 166 square miles with a population of roughly 260 000 to 270 000 people.”

He stressed: “We can no longer speak about crime simply in terms of the rate at which it has increased. We now have to speak about how it has changed the face and environment of Barbados. It is now normalised on a weekly basis to hear about gun-related incidents, not just in identified hotspots, but across parishes, in neighbourhoods, in public spaces and at social gatherings.”

Greenidge warned that the country was approaching a critical point.

“We are now faced with a new Barbados and one of the real fears is that crime at this level becomes normalised and we are heading in that direction. We do not want to become so desensitised that we accept the possibility of gunfire at events or in everyday spaces.”

Central to addressing the problem, he argued, was reform of the justice system to effectively deal with serious offenders.

“What we are seeing is a justice system that is too slow, where individuals accused of very serious crimes are brought before the court, granted bail within a relatively short time and then return into society, sometimes to commit similar offences. That is happening because the system is not moving quickly enough to bring matters to trial. If we are serious about tackling crime, reform of the justice system is absolutely necessary.”

He also criticised the Minister of Legal Affairs Michael Lashley’s recent comments.

“What we have seen is a movement away from what sounded like clear, strategic plans to a position where persons asking legitimate questions are being criticised instead of being answered. We are not armchair critics; we are Barbadians with families, with children going to school and we have a right to demand safety and accountability,” he said.

Greenidge outlined what was the DLP’s policy approach to tackling crime, based on immediate, medium-term and long-term strategies.

“From an immediate perspective, there must be targeted policing supported by intelligence and we must ensure that the work of the police is backed by proper policy direction,” he stated. “We support the work of the Barbados Police Service, but there must be clear policy initiatives that allow them to be as effective as possible.”

He added that legislation already introduced must be assessed for effectiveness.

“We have had amendments to the Bail Act, the Evidence Act and the introduction of the Interception of Communications legislation. What we now need is an accounting: are these measures working, have they been implemented properly and are they delivering results? We do not want legislation for the news cycle, we want legislation that is effective.”

As part of short-term solutions, Greenidge backed the move for a specialised court to deal with firearm offences.

“If there is a need for a dedicated gun court to take these matters out of the normal criminal system and deal with them expeditiously, then that must be implemented. We cannot continue to speak about it without action. The public deserves to know where we are with that initiative.”

On the medium-term front, he said greater focus must be placed on stemming the inflow of illegal firearms into the island.

“There must be a serious national effort to secure our borders, to disrupt the networks that are bringing firearms into Barbados and to support the police in removing illegal weapons from our communities.”

He said long-term solutions must address underlying social issues, particularly among young people. (TRY)

23. Beckles: Pursue economic justice

BARBADOS’ LONG-STANDING pursuit of political freedom must now give way to a more urgent fight for economic justice, with the country’s financial system coming under scrutiny for failing to empower the majority of citizens, Professor Sir Hilary Beckles has warned.

Delivering the feature address at the inaugural Sir Neville Nicholls Memorial Lecture at the Hilton Barbados Resort yesterday evening, Sir Hilary said the island was “caught in the tension” between its political achievements and an economic reality that has not kept pace.

“Our next frontier as a people . . . is economic justice,” he declared, arguing that while Barbados had secured social and political freedom over generations, the struggle now was to ensure equitable access to wealth and opportunity.

Drawing on history and personal experience, the University of the West Indies vice-chancellor challenged whether the modern financial system was truly serving the needs of ordinary Barbadians or reinforcing inequality.

He pointed to a deeply embedded fear among young people of entering the financial sector, describing it as a “place of high risk” where many feel excluded and vulnerable.

“If a generation of young people are feeling vulnerable in the financial ecosystem . . . they are going to back away from it,” Sir Hilary cautioned, adding that such disengagement was stifling entrepreneurship and economic transformation.

The distinguished historian said this disconnect was contributing to a dangerous imbalance within Barbadian society.

“In Barbados, we have no middle. We have a top and we have a bottom. And this is not acceptable,” he said, stressing that sustainable economic growth globally has always been driven by a strong and expanding middle class.

Beckles argued that institutions such as the Financial Services Commission (FSC), while effective administrators, must now evolve into agents of transformation.

“How can we convert this excellent administration into a tool of transformation?” he asked, urging regulators to rethink their role in widening access and creating opportunities for broader participation in the economy.

He maintained that Barbados’ heavily regulated financial environment must not become a barrier to entry, particularly for young entrepreneurs and those from less privileged backgrounds.

Referencing extensive research and engagement with youth, Sir Hilary noted that many felt “there’s no space within that financial system” for them, a perception he warned could have serious social consequences if left unaddressed.

“How can we say to our young people, we have your back, if we haven’t paved the way in front of you?” he asked.

In a wide-ranging address, Beckles drew parallels with historical examples, including Britain’s rise as an industrial power through the democratisation of finance, contrasting it with Spain’s failure to convert wealth into sustainable development.

He said the lesson for Barbados was clear: financial systems must be deliberately structured to allow citizens access to capital and opportunity.

“We need to create a financial ecosystem that every citizen . . . can participate in,” he stressed.

The academic also revisited Barbados’ own journey towards economic empowerment, citing the transformation of the Barbados Mutual into the regional giant Sagicor as proof that inclusive participation could yield national success.

“That is why it has flourished . . . as an expression of our collective identity,” he said, pointing to the shift from exclusion to ownership by ordinary Barbadians.

But Sir Hilary warned that without deliberate reform, inequality could deepen and social instability increase, especially if citizens perceive the system as inaccessible or unjust.

“If the system is not your system . . . you resort to breaking the law to beat the system,” he said, linking economic exclusion to broader societal challenges.

He called for urgent national dialogue and decisive action, noting that while Barbadians traditionally take time to debate major issues, this was one matter that required swifter movement.

“We need reform and restructuring. We can’t allow our young people to be out there feeling locked out,” Sir Hilary insisted.

Paying tribute to the late Sir Neville Nicholls who once served as the president of the Caribbean Development Bank, Sir Hilary praised his leadership and ability to bring competing interests together in the national interest, describing his approach as a model for navigating complex financial and economic challenges.

As Barbados charts its next phase of development, Sir Hilary left a clear message: the country’s future hinges not just on growth, but on ensuring that growth is shared.

“The struggle of our time,” he said, “is to bring economic democracy to all our people.”(CLM)

24. Mission Barbados hits traffic jam

THERE ARE NOW more than 181 000 vehicles on Barbados’ roads.

Technical officials have warned that congestion is no longer confined to traditional peak hours but increasingly resembles an “all-day peak”, with travel speeds on key corridors reduced to a crawl. The policy conversation has intensified around possible solutions, including flyovers, highway widening and improvements to traffic management systems.

Professional engineers have cautioned that “flyovers” cannot be treated as a singular solution to congestion without comprehensive analysis of travel patterns and alternative options. Participants in the national consultation on traffic similarly note that widening roads often produces only temporary relief, as additional road capacity tends to induce additional vehicle usage over time.

In other words, congestion is not only an engineering problem. It is a systems problem.

This is precisely when the Mission Barbados framework should be employed by Government, to help it to define problems and sequence interventions.

Transport policy provides an ideal test case because mobility intersects with climate transition, productivity, public health and digital transformation.

Mission 1, which focuses on sustainable development, implicitly recognises that transportation is a major contributor to fossil fuel dependence and carbon emissions.

Transport systems built around universal private car ownership are structurally inconsistent with climate commitments. If the mission logic is taken seriously, the policy objective cannot simply be to make it easier for 181 000 vehicles to move more quickly across the island. It must be to reduce structural dependence on private vehicles altogether.

Government’s policy direction has emphasised a transition towards electric vehicles (EVs). On the surface, this aligns with Mission 1, as electrification of the vehicle fleet appears consistent with climate commitments.

But there is a paradox in the policy architecture.

A policy framework that incentivises the importation of EVs without a corresponding strategy to reduce the number of vehicles on the island produces two unintended outcomes simultaneously: increased congestion and continued pressure on foreign exchange.

Hazardous waste

In practical terms, the policy fails to address what happens to vehicles currently in circulation.

Most consumers who purchase EVs do not scrap their existing vehicles.

They sell them on the second-hand market. This means the transition to EVs does not reduce the number of vehicles on the road network. It simply changes the composition of the fleet.

A quiet but looming consequence of the EV thrust, is the lack of a policy to manage spent EV batteries, which are classified as hazardous waste.

Government’s EV policy thus creates tension with the wider objectives of Mission Barbados.

Mission 4, which addresses public health and safety, is also directly implicated.

Long commuting times affect stress levels, family life and productivity. One commentary on the current situation describes commuting as a daily ordeal requiring contingency planning simply to reach home at a reasonable hour. Transport policy therefore affects not only travel times but social well-being and labour market efficiency.

Mission 5, which targets economic empowerment, intersects with transport through logistics efficiency and labour mobility. A country in which workers allocate increasing portions of the day to commuting is one in which productive capacity is quietly eroded. Congestion becomes an invisible tax on growth.

Mission 6, centred on digital transformation, highlights the growing importance of real-time data systems in managing mobility networks. Digital infrastructure is increasingly as important as physical infrastructure in determining transport efficiency.

Suggestions emerging from the national consultation included mobile applications for tracking bus arrivals and optimising route planning.

A mission-oriented transport strategy would therefore involve a portfolio of mutually reinforcing interventions: public transport reliability, active mobility infrastructure and demand management. Such measures are particularly consistent with BERT 3.0’s emphasis on disciplined expenditure and efficiency-enhancing reforms.

Did the Estimates signal a coherent sustainable mobility plan consistent with mission-oriented policy design?

At present, the budgetary signals appear fragmented. Allocations are visible for road improvement programmes and highway expansion, but there is limited evidence of a multi-year financing envelope dedicated specifically to mobility system transformation. The emphasis on overpasses suggests that capital expenditure remains weighted towards expanding road capacity rather than restructuring transport demand.

Mission policy requires credible signals that Government intends to invest consistently across electoral cycles in the infrastructure required to shift behaviour. Without such signalling, private investment in complementary sectors such as digital mobility platforms and logistics optimisation systems is less likely to materialise at scale.

A mission-oriented transport strategy must answer the question: how can Barbados design a system in which fewer journeys need to be made by private car at all. Until that question is placed at the forefront of the policy design, congestion will remain an unsolved traffic and development problem.

Professor Troy Lorde is an economist and Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus. Email troy. lorde@cavehill.uwi

25. @ Pacha
    “Have you ever considered that the human is the only creature within the universes known to postulate that there is some grand schema, grand design, the lifeforce which perpetually yearns for some other existence, either in the great multitude or by way of some miraculous resurrection from the great beyond.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    A critical observation…
    Bushie has not just considered, but has come to know the exact reason for this human uniqueness for some time now.
    It is the very CORE of the project called ‘Life on Earth – Phase 1’, and this is exactly what is meant by the assertion that man was specifically created ‘in the image and likeness of God’.
    Nothing else in this project meets this criteria. Indeed, everything else within the project has been put in place to;
    1 – Support the physical / material existence and survival of the human species
    2 – Provide the needed environment for real (spiritual) successful outcomes
    3 – Reflect, to all who choose to see, the CLEAR TRUTH about creation and its purpose

The purpose of it all…?
    It is the extension of the spiritual family of the Creators themselves, which requires a very specific quality that CANNOT be ‘created’. That quality is GODLY CHARACTER.

But character CANNOT be manufactured, it has to be developed and nurtured – typically within a cauldron of good, evil, joy, sadness, pain, justice, crime, hate, wealth, poverty, injustice, love, betrayal etc… EXACTLY as our world is configured.
    The human instinct towards spirituality is therefore a designed characteristic.

So even when some of us refuse to see the obvious intent of the design, we CANNOT but fill the void with all kinds of ridiculous brassbowlery… and hence the lotta shiite religions, Lodges, cliques and (most laughable) agnostics – who seek to convince themselves that ‘there is no God’ – because they say so…

This is why Bushie likes entropy so much.
    Entropy says that everything degrades with time – and that at some point, everything will become TOTAL chaos.
    So if we extrapolate back in time, then there had to be a ‘beginning’ where everything was perfect, and the entropic degradation starts.
    That sounds EXACTLY like creation.

However, our brilliant scientists chose to proffer instead, that there was a ‘big bang’, – at which point ‘entropy’ began to operate IN REVERSE (via evolution)….
    LOL …and many still believe that shiite…
    There are none so blind as those who CHOOSE not to see.

What a world!

26. Bushie

You’ll know that Pacha will have a problem with your classist approach to life. Particularly the notion that humans represent a better life form than any other. But we’ll never agree.

Separately, let us gives thanks for the above article on Hilary Beckles.

Well, he seems to just be going around in circles. His whole life. Now he’s back at economic democracy, the point of departure at which he misled many as he deployed this kind of empty talk as the basis to sell out an otherwise necessary transformation for other interests. Of course, every former head of the Cave Hill Campus has deployed these kinds of deceptions.

During that time he too became an actor who helped to remove Sagicor from the policy owner institution it was. Now nearer to the grave, Beckles pretends to have an interest again in economic democracy.

Within the interregnum, Beckles been a fervent conservator of entrenched class formations within the Caribbean. He’s sought to commingle the wages of our Afrikan ancestors into specious projects controlled by him.

The failures of Sagicor to be useful as an anchor for Black people in our approach towards economic democracy is primarily the doing of Beckles. Coupled with an aggressive, illegal and immoral determination to unjustly transfer the property of Afrikan descendants and use them as he likes, represent actions anathema to economic democracy and the general will of said descendants.

The time has come when the likes of a Beckles should be told to fuck off!

27. Shiite man!! @ Pacha
    Your above is so spot on, that Bushie almost ignored the fact that you started off by cussing him before moving on to Sir Cave…
    LOL…

BTW Bushie never said that humans had a ‘better’ life form, … just pointed to the reality that we are CENTRAL to the purpose of creation…

Bushie came to the same conclusion about Sir Cave’s presentation.
    But perhaps the FSC is so pathetic and inept, that its ‘unfitness for purpose’ is much too glaring to be ignored by a global academic…

What a waste!
    15 years of defending the status quo…

28. Bushie

Don’t be like William Skinner redux. For he’s always argued that unless weeee re-write precisely what he said that he ain’t say so. This is a level of intellectual dishonesty unbefiting of you. It’s a simpleton’s worldview.

Be Jesus christ Bushie, there are maybe 150,000 words in the English language, a lot of which mean a lot of others, and you want to now, a man who has argued for years, you brassbowl Bushie, that a set of Black people have been endowned with special qualities, from some ‘man in the clouds’, that you ain’t say that the first humans are or were a better life form.

Does this writer have to try to quote you precisely as if holy rite? Or are you now the new William Skinner.

29. @ Pacha
    To avoid another BB cuss-out…
    Define ‘better life form’….

30. Bushie

Have you not argued incessantly that Afrikan peoples have been specially blessed by your boss man?

And has Pacha not rejoined by telling you that they are no special people?

More precisely, does Pacha not have the right, as a writer, to paraphrase what ever is said!

31. ‘Specially blessed’ do not translate into ‘better life form’.
    Indeed, it may well imply higher expectations, increased demands, more stress, and stiffer penalties for doing shiite.

If you were a bible literate person, you would be aware of a chap who had multiple sons, but who was particularly pleased with the youngest – and gave him a pretty coat…
    Do you know that fellow went through shiite for being ‘special’…?

Finally, Pacha can paraphrase whatever suits your fancy…
    BUT yuh don’t have the right to assign your OWN interpretation doh…

32. Bushie

One thing about you and your acili is that wunna are taskmasters at the dodge. Don’t care wha the issue is. How much it finds wunna wanting. Wunna does find creative ways to justify shiiiite.

Yuh talking about the fictional Jacob. Others, see him as the one who fought wid some god – as Jakob the grafted devil!

Any one, including you, who can only talk bout a single book of doubtful origins all the time, is in loss of everything else knowable.

Pray tell, what sense would it make to be special or specially blessed if the life lived does not form something better than all those not.

33. Who cares? Mia Cares!

Appoint an Auditor General

It has been two months since the General Elections and to date Government has made no announcement about the appointment of an Auditor General, who is in reality the people’s financial watchdog.

This very important post has been vacant since last year and, given its critical nature, it is time it be filled.

This is exacerbated as there is no official opposition party in Parliament which would chair the Public Accounts Committee (PAC).

The PAC provides critical oversight in relation to Government spending, ensuring accountability and transparency in public finances. For the last two sessions of Parliament since 2018, this committee functioned only because of a crossing of the floor.

This now seems a remote possibility as Government has passed the Constitution (Amendment) Act, 2026, immediately after the February 11 poll, as a “fundamental safeguard for Barbados’ democracy”. It was described as a “mandate of integrity” and only applied where a Member of Parliament elected on a party ticket resigns from that party, is expelled or formally crosses the floor to another political alignment after an election.

In a real sense, therefore, Government has peremptorily functioned without real effective oversight and transparency. This was reflected in respect of the controversy surrounding the funding of CARIFESTA XV.

Without an Auditor General in place and no PAC, there is no way to monitor Government expenditure as there is little or no oversight. This is not good for the country and far more consequential to safeguarding our democracy than some member crossing the floor.

This is because the PAC reviews audit reports to guarantee value for money, identifies financial irregularities and holds officials accountable for efficient resource management, ultimately strengthening democratic control over public funds.

The PAC ensures the Executive branch answers to Parliament for how public money is utilised, thereby enhancing transparency in Government spending.

By reviewing the reports of the Auditor General, the PAC detects waste, extravagance and financial irregularities.

This week, the value of a functioning PAC was highlighted in Jamaica. As reported, the PAC was informed that the University Hospital of the West Indies owes more than $40 billion in taxes and has no formal repayment plan in place, all while operating on a temporary tax compliance certificate.

The disclosure came during the PAC’s ongoing examination of the auditor general’s report into procurement practices at the hospital, adding a new layer of concern about the institution’s financial management and statutory compliance.

During the 2025 Budget Debate, former Leader of the Opposition Ralph Thorne raised some issues about the HOPE Inc project which created quite a stir at that time. In response, Government promised a full inquiry by the Auditor General into the allegations.

There was an inquiry but the mandate was into the operations and management of the HOPE project. The report was an anti-climax and did not deal specifically with the allegations made in Parliament.

In addition, there are a number of state-owned enterprises and statutory corporations that have not provided Parliament with updated audited financial statements for many years with no sanctions. Yet, year after year, taxpayers’ funds are pumped into them.

So what are the consequences for entities entrusted with public funds and resources, which continually have their financial statement audits in arrears, or not at all? There are none and this must change.

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

For the record, I do not write for the Nation.