The Coronavirus (COVID-19) continues to soak up the resources for both under developed and developed countries. At the time of posting this blog the global medical community has been unable to inform about a vaccine. The blogmaster read the perspective of a leading Australian virologist recently where she opined that the world will have to live with the virus, in fact it will become as accepted as the Flu.

The disruption caused by COVID-19 will impact service based economies like Barbados and others in the reason where it hurts, in the breadbasket. One could rehash old arguments about the folly of putting all our eggs in one basket. If we are to work hard to move from the unsustainable position we find ourselves, we have to do more to shift our over reliance on tourism. Government’s current investment pipeline has signaled there are no immediate or medium term plans to modify the economic engines firing the economy.

If there ever was an opportunity to message our leaders there is an urgent need to reorder how we do business, it is now.

COVID-19
Since this news alert Italy is virtually on lock down. Thanks John A for always feeding the blogmaster with important information.

The local authorities based on public announcements and news coverage have been rolling out awareness campaigns, bumping up screening at ports of entry, building health infrastructure and leading discussions at the regional level to ensure a regional COVID-19 approach. Given the pandemic nature of COVID-19, it seems a matter of time before Barbados reports its first case. The biggest challenge for Barbados and service based economies is the fatalistic impact disruptions to global supply chains will bring.

#lordhearourprayer

951 responses to “Coronavirus (COVID-19) Virus Exposes Service Based Countries”

1. “I only say your boyfiend because some pictures of him I have seen he kinda looks black.”

lol..me thinks he likes the black look too….

2. @DameBajan

I’m a wannabe DJ

3. Q Why were (are) officials presuming that asymptomatic individuals were not spreading the virus?

A DONT KNOW asymptomatic MEANS ONLY THAT YOU ARE NOT EXPERIENCING SYMPTOMS——–IT DOES NOT MEAN THAT YOU ARE NOT INFECTED OR CANT SPREAD THE VIRUS

YOUR IMMUNE SYSTEM MIGHT BE SO GOOD THAT YOU ARE SUCCESSFULLY FIGHTING THE VIRAL AGENT WITHOUT YOU EXPERIENCING THE SYMPTOMS OR YOU MAY BE IN THE LAG PHASE AND NOT HAVE ENTERED THE LOG PHASE OR INFECTIVE STAGE

Q Is that based on established science; science specific to the Covid19 or just a stupid gamble?
    A stupid gamble

Q Is the incidence of the virus so far reported in Bdos mere happenstance
    I AM SURE THAT WE DONT KNOW THE INCIDENCE OR IT IS NOT BEING ACCURATELY REPORTED

of minimal testing, HAVE YOU EVER BEEN TESTED WHEN YOU HAD THE FLU?
    DID YOU HAVE TO BE TESTED FOR YOU TO KNOW YOU HAD THE FLU?

THIS IS WHY I HAVE SAID WHAT I HAVE SAID ABOUT TESTING

the benefits of our climate acting to dissipate the lingering bacteriaโ€ฆVIRUSES ARE NOT BACTERIA

WE HAVE 4 OR 5 DIFFERENT MECHANISMS FOR FIXING BACTERIA WITHOUT KILLING THE HOST AND WE KNOW WHICH METHOD IS BEST FOR SPECIFIC BACTERIA

KILLING VIRUSES WITHOUT SEVERELY DAMAGING THE HOST IS MUCH MORE DIFFICULT—-THE REASON FOR THE INITIAL PROBLEMS AND HIGH MORTALITY RATE WITH AIDS

NOT SURE WHAT IS HAPPENING IN BIM RE TEMPERATURE

Or as in NY are we possibly sitting on an explosive cluster soon to be exposed? MPOSSIBLE

And where are your virus presentations u spoke of earlierโ€ฆIN MY EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE WITH ALL MY TEACHING PPTS

you are still a curmudgeon of disreputable demeanor LOL LOL THAT IS DEFINITELY NOT TRUE
    MY SONS AND THEIR FRIENDS AND MANY OTHERS INCLUDING CHURCH FOLK AND FORMER PATIENTS WILL TELL YOU THAT I AM VERY COOL

BUT I HAVE GENERALLY BEEN VERY POORLY TREATED ON BU SO I STOPPED CARING AND SHARING MY STUFF

Whatโ€™s the point of having knowledge and NOT sharing itโ€ฆ

I HAVE WONDERED THAT A LOT OVER THE LAST 2O YEARS LOL BUT THAT IS LIFE

4. PHOTOS SHOW WHY HAND SANITIZER DOESN’T WORK AS WELL AS SOAP AND WATER TO REMOVE GERMS

Health officials agree that it’s a good idea for everyone to use hand sanitizer, particularly those with underlying conditions like asthma or emphysema, but urge people not to view it as a replacement for soap and water.

As we found with our own experiment, hand sanitizer is effective, but nowhere near as effective as hand-washing for 30 seconds.

A UV-lit photo taken of dirty hand after going to the pharmacy to buy some household items, using cash and also touching a keypad to type in my rewards card number. As you can see, they were quite dirty.

Then, I put on a liberal dose of Purell hand sanitizer. (In order to make sure hand sanitizer does its temporary job, you need almost a teaspoon of it, according to the American Council on Science and Health.)

With that, the germs cleared up quite a bit. However, hand sanitizer does not remove bacteria (as hand soap does). It simply neutralizes the bacteria, but leaves it on your hand, allowing it to resurge later.

And remember, TAKE the time to dry your hands thoroughly โ€” new germs flourish in moisture.

https://i.insider.com/5e62a286fee23d69f8403905?width=1300&format=jpeg&auto=webp

https://i.insider.com/5e629719fee23d46f32a7ab4?width=700&format=jpeg&auto=webp

5. POTUS TOOK THE “TEST” ALTHOUGH THERE WAS NO CLINICAL INDICATION TO DO SO
    IT WAS NEGATIVE
    WHAT DOES THIS PROVE?
    WILL THE MEDICAL ILLITERATE BULLSHITERS ON BU AND IN THE PRESS STOP EFFLUXING FROM THEIR SHELVES OF HOUSTON NOW?

NO THE HATERS WILL THINK OF SOMETHING ELSE TO HARP ON

6. Trump told the press today that he took the test last night and the result should come back from the lab in a day or two
    Less than 24hrs after taking the test the results are back
    Any how knowing the american press the hammer and anvil would be pressed against the lab seeking more answers about the test
    Dont think all have heard the end of that test result yet

7. John March 14, 2020 4:27 PM “I tried growing some yam peelings (just the skin) last year and they took.
    Yams were not so big but will see how they produce as planting material.”

Interesting, especially as the skins are generally discarded as waste material.

In December/January you must tell me how the yams turn out.

8. @GP March 14, 2020 7:38 PM “POTUS TOOK THE โ€œTESTโ€ ALTHOUGH THERE WAS NO CLINICAL INDICATION TO DO SO. IT WAS NEGATIVE. WHAT DOES THIS PROVE?”

It proves that the test was negative. Lolll!!!

He or I or you, or any of us if exposed to the virus can before positive another day, or another week or another month. Unless we hide away and refuse to associate with any other person, parents, spouse, children, etc. and that is very impractical

9. Noteworthy
    Ross sensibly sent their students home
    Most likely to avoid a possible corona virus law suit because of govt dumb policies which has not show any awareness to closing the borders and policies which can activate the virus on to the shores of barbados

10. Well looka dat
    Ralph Gonsalves tells his people no Vat will be applied to items of personnel hygiene
    Mia yuh hear dat.
    I guess she did not hear
    Her media headlines was highlighted by her making a statement that barbados has 3mths worth of food and people should not panic
    Wuhloss

11. @ Silly Woman March 14, 2020 9:06 PM

White potatoes, or what Bajans refer to as “English” potatoes, can also be grown from the skins if planted in cool fertile soil.

Don’t think it would be that successful in such warm atmospheric conditions as found in Little England.

Bajans better start getting accustomed to the โ€˜ground provisionsโ€™ dietary habits of their fore parents.

That same โ€˜belittledโ€™ bittle (vittles) which the modern obese generation would refer to as โ€˜slave foodโ€™ is what is going to keep them alive in the near future.

Guess there would then be no need for the proposed Fat Tax on fast food eateries aka NCDs dispensing outlets.

One good thing coming out of this Corona virus outbreak is the constant vigilance and enforcement of regulations required when it comes to both personal and public hygiene practices.

The 1918 pandemic acted as the fillip to the implementation of effective public sanitation practices right across the English-speaking British Empire and Barbados benefited tremendously from it as can be seen in the longevity of its citizens born in the early part of the last century.

12. Your circus, your monkeys…why would you another country to take them.

“More than 600 British passengers – many of them elderly – were tonight stranded on a cruise ship in the Caribbean after it was blocked from a string of ports after a coronavirus outbreak onboard (MS Braemar docked in Jamaica earlier this month, main and inset). The stricken ship, carrying 682 mostly British passengers and 381 crew, was refused permission to dock in Freetown in the Bahamas due to the outbreak. British diplomats were last night in frantic talks with countries in the region in a bid to persuade them to allow the passengers to disembark and fly home. Sources said ‘two realistic options’ had been identified, but neither country had yet agreed to take the ship. If negotiations fail, the Braemar will be forced to sail back to Britain with all its passengers – including those with Covid-19 – on board/”

13. @ John March 14, 2020 4:27 PM

“Thatโ€™s why I suggested staking yams in the past, ”

By doing as you suggested increases the efficiency of photosynthesis. Yams are not as efficient in converting carbon dioxide to carbohydrates during photosynthesis. The way yams are planted in Barbados results in what is known as mutual shading(a leaf blocks the sunlight from reaching the leaf below).In the islands and else where it is common practice to stake yams.

14. We have an advantage over the islands in that Barbados is mostly flat and acres can be tilled and planted at a time.

On a mountainside in St. Vincent you probably won’t find tractors and most of the cultivation is by hand plus the plots are small.

Trying to stake all the yams in a 5 acre field in Barbados would not make sense, keeping an interval of about 2 feet allows the vines to run for a while unimpeded by neighbours.

Probably around 15,000 plants in 5 acres, maybe 5 lbs per plant โ€ฆ probably 35-40 tons if my math right.

Most I have seen is 14 lbs in a hole but then some holes don’t produce much.

But the rainfall is way superior to Barbados and the soil is fertile.

I have tried English potatoes here and they will grow โ€ฆ. but the monkey too love dem.

Not nearly as vigorous as sweet potatoes which the monkey love too and they form close to the surface.

Monkeys can’t dig yam but they will scratch away the soil on the surface and eat the exposed tops โ€ฆ nuisance.

For the moment they can’t figure out how to use a fork.

15. โ€ฆ all the same not too many Bajans are able to use a fork either!!

16. But only after your wretched, slave selling government allowed them to wander around Bridgetown and possibly spread the virus if any of the thousands of passengers were infected, instead of locking them out and sending them on their way..

“No passengers will be on board the cruise ships berthed in Barbadosโ€™ territorial waters.

After the Cruise Lines International Association (CLIA) announced last night it was temporarily suspending operations in light of COVID-19, authorities in Barbados are working to get passengers safely home.

This was the message in a joint statement from the Barbados Port Inc. (BPI) and the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. (BTMI).

โ€œPresently there are ships in the Bridgetown Port terminating their voyages mid-itinerary, which now have to be berthed and their passengers need to get home safely via scheduled flights and a significant number of chartered flights,โ€ the release said.”

17. “Restaurants, shops, cinemas and cafรฉs will shut for the foreseeable future with French Prime Minister Edouard Philippe (left) calling the virus the ‘biggest health crisis in a century’. France reported a sharp rise in cases on Saturday, from 3,661 to 4,499. It recorded 12 more deaths, bringing the toll to 91. Mr Philippe also called on French people to reduce their travel, especially between towns. Exceptions on France’s ban include supermarkets, pharmacies and petrol stations. Bottom right: empty restaurants in a square in Nancy, northeastern France today.”

Going to UK anyone..

“The Government’s chief scientific adviser yesterday stoked fear across the country after predicting the spiralling crisis, which they claimed may have already infected up to 10,000 people in Britain, won’t peak for another 10-14 weeks. And by this time, one infectious disease expert warned that based on current trends between 20 and 30 per cent of Britain – home to 66.4million people – could have been struck down by the virus. What is unclear is how many deaths that would mean.”

18. Africa needs to shut her borders to everyone from the west.

โ€˜Well Doneโ€™: Uganda Refuses Entry To 22 Foreigners Who Refused To Self-Quarantine After Traveling from Countries with Coronavirus Cases
    By Ashleigh Atwell -March 13, 202001395

As the coronavirus sweeps the globe, Ugandaโ€™s minister of health is taking precautions to ensure the safety of her constituents.

Twenty-two foreign delegates were denied entry into Uganda after they refused to follow the countryโ€™s quarantine guidelines, reported Anadolu Agency. Foreigners are allowed to travel to the East African country if they agree to two weeks of self-quarantine at their own expense.”

19. For the wicked, ignorant slave trader wannbe government.

“Infectious disease researchers at The University of Texas at Austin studying the novel coronavirus were able to identify how quickly the virus can spread, a factor that may help public health officials in their efforts at containment. They found that time between cases in a chain of transmission is less than a week and that more than 10% of patients are infected by somebody who has the virus but does not yet have symptoms.

In the paper in press with the journal Emerging Infectious Diseases, a team of scientists from the United States, France, China and Hong Kong were able to calculate what’s called the serial interval of the virus. To measure serial interval, scientists look at the time it takes for symptoms to appear in two people with the virus: the person who infects another, and the infected second person.

Researchers found that the average serial interval for the novel coronavirus in China was approximately four days. This also is among the first studies to estimate the rate of asymptomatic transmission.

The speed of an epidemic depends on two thingsโ€”how many people each case infects and how long it takes cases to spread. The first quantity is called the reproduction number; the second is the serial interval. The short serial interval of COVID-19 means emerging outbreaks will grow quickly and could be difficult to stop, the researchers said.”

20. It’s not only a poor person’s or old person’s disease, it is for everyone.

the cousins made sure to run like hell from buckingham palace, death don’t care about any royalty.

“Spanish PMโ€™s wife tests positive for coronavirus
    From CNNโ€™s Laura Perez-Maestro

Spain’s government announced Saturday that the wife of Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez tested positive for the novel coronavirus, according to a government statement.

โ€œThe tests carried out in the last hours in Moncloa [the prime ministerโ€™s residence] on the people closest to the prime minister have tested positive in the case of his wife, Doรฑa Begoรฑa Gรณmez,” the statement read. “Both Mrs. Gรณmez and the president are well, both remain in La Moncloa and follow the preventive measures established by the health authorities at all times.”

21. An important message from the blogmaster:

The BU community is asked to take information about the Coronavirus from the WHO website, this is the body responsible for coordinating health related matters across the globe.

https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019

22. @robert lucas March 15, 2020 1:18 AM “The way yams are planted in Barbados results in what is known as mutual shading(a leaf blocks the sunlight from reaching the leaf below).In the islands and else where it is common practice to stake yams.”

@John March 15, 2020 1:50 AM “…keeping an interval of about 2 feet allows the vines to run for a while unimpeded by neighbours.”

At John’s suggestion I tried staking some of my yams. It didn’t seem to help, but it didn’t seem to hurt either, but perhaps my sample was too small, and other factors ma have skewed the results. I was about to ask whether planting the yams a bit further apart might help, but i see that John has suggested just that.

I don’t understand why people have turned away from “ground provisions” as these provisions are so delicious, although preparing meals takes a bit more time. Yams straight from the field can’t be poured “straight from the package into the pot” although sweet potatoes are very easy. Wash, boil, cool a little, eat. Or pop into the microwave for about 8 minutes and you are good to go. No more difficult than making a cup of tea or coffee. Real-real easy.

23. @John March 15, 2020 1:50 AM “probably 35-40 tons if my math right.”

My math is not too good. No HC “boy” am I,but it seems to me that at 40 tons, that would be 80,000 individual servings at 1 pound per person. And that 50 acres of yam would produce up to 800,000 servings of good healthy carbohydrate, add some steamed fish with plenty of tomatoes and herbs and suffering greatly reduced. That is exactly how my parents raised a large healthy family. So far everybody has made it to at least 60, and a few to over 80.

Is your ton a U.S. ton or an imperial ton?

24. Let’s see if the black face wannabe slave traders/TRAITORS for leaders …will do the same or recklessly allow any and every one from UK to walk into the island with infections..to spread it around…

“What Jamaicaโ€™s UK travel restriction means

Paul Allen
    Mar 14, 2020 – 1:48 min readTRAVEL
    The Government of Jamaica placed a travel restriction on the United Kingdom, effective today, March 14.

The measure curbs travel of people to Jamaica from the United Kingdom, where most of the countryโ€™s cases were imported, with few exceptions.

The move was announced at a media briefing last evening at Jamaica House when Prime Minister Andrew Holness told the nation that the island has been declared as a โ€œdisaster areaโ€ under the Disaster Risk Management Act.

Based on the UK travel restriction, only citizens and people with residency or long-stay arrangement or marriage exemptions will be allowed in the country, said the Ministry of Health and Wellnessโ€™ permanent secretary, Dunstan Bryan, at the briefing.

25. @DAVID

#BIGPHARMA & THE CRAP-PROFITEERING TO COME FROM REMDESIVIR NOW IN FULL TURBO-CHARGED MODE!!!

Iโ€™m surprised Bernie Sanders didnโ€™t have the good sense to investigate this MADNESS* by Fact-Checking GILEAD-pharma before responding in the way he did…

The announcement was fundamentally flawed as the drug is โ€œNOT A VACCINEโ€ – itโ€™s merely an antiviral drug & it is a โ€œNOT A CUREโ€…

It was a PR exercise by Gilead PHARMA to raise their stock pricesโ€ฆ

Dirty Rotten Basterds!!!

US company Gilead, which apparently owns the most promising COVID-19 drug is booming in “pandemic stock sales,” preparing to sell it for $50-100 per person, and in a legal battle to deny the Chinese GOV IP access, because China would then make the vaccine F.O.C & ship it around the globe…

The US has long attacked China for “stealing” US-owned IPs, a major motivation in the US initiating the trade war when in reality the West created this BONKERS system of “Privatized Knowledge” in order to commodify & hoard knowledge crucial to the public good & to the global south’s survival…

NOT VERY UTILITARIAN…

Western systems of privatized knowledge, just like land & capital, serve to keep the global south subjugated & enforce global maldistributions in wealth, and when countries like China refuse to abide by the rules & norms, the US lambasts it for “Forced Knowledge Transfer,” “Espionage,” & “IP Theft”…

The disturbing part of all this is the fact that Gilead is literally testing their COVID-19 drug on the Chinese people in Wuhan & around the Hubei Province including many who receive placebos & must suffer from the virus unmedicated – while denying China access to this drug that they developed by testing on Chinese people’s bodies…

PREDATORY VULTURE CAPITALISM!!!

The reason why China APPEARS* to be defeating COVID-19 is due to its state-run medical system which is also “NATIONALIZED”, as every doctor is employed by the state and every hospital & mask/supply factory is state-owned. That’s why China can produce & distribute healthcare & resources for FREE…

Itโ€™s called #SOCIALISM which is not such a bad thing when you consider the alternatives!!!

26. @GOOD MORNING DAVID

#BIGPHARMA & THE CRAP-PROFITEERING TO COME FROM REMDESIVIR NOW IN FULL TURBO-CHARGED MODE!!!

Iโ€™m surprised Bernie Sanders didnโ€™t have the good sense to investigate this MADNESS* by Fact-Checking GILEAD-pharma before responding in the way he did…

The announcement was fundamentally flawed as the drug is โ€œNOT A VACCINEโ€ – itโ€™s merely an antiviral drug & it is a โ€œNOT A CUREโ€…

It was a PR exercise by Gilead PHARMA to raise their stock pricesโ€ฆ

Dirty Rotten Basterds!!!

US company Gilead, which apparently owns the most promising COVID-19 drug is booming in “pandemic stock sales,” preparing to sell it for $50-100 per person, and in a legal battle to deny the Chinese GOV IP access, because China would then make the vaccine F.O.C & ship it around the globe…

The US has long attacked China for “stealing” US-owned IPs, a major motivation in the US initiating the trade war when in reality the West created this BONKERS system of “Privatized Knowledge” in order to commodify & hoard knowledge crucial to the public good & to the global south’s survival…

NOT VERY UTILITARIAN…

Western systems of privatized knowledge, just like land & capital, serve to keep the global south subjugated & enforce global maldistributions in wealth, and when countries like China refuse to abide by the rules & norms, the US lambasts it for “Forced Knowledge Transfer,” “Espionage,” & “IP Theft”…

The disturbing part of all this is the fact that Gilead is literally testing their COVID-19 drug on the Chinese people in Wuhan & around the Hubei Province including many who receive placebos & must suffer from the virus unmedicated – while denying China access to this drug that they developed by testing on Chinese people’s bodies…

PREDATORY VULTURE CAPITALISM!!!

The reason why China APPEARS* to be defeating COVID-19 is due to its state-run medical system which is also “NATIONALIZED”, as every doctor is employed by the state and every hospital & mask/supply factory is state-owned. That’s why China can produce & distribute healthcare & resources for FREE…

Itโ€™s called #SOCIALISM which is not such a bad thing when you consider the alternatives!!!

27. @ Silly Woman,

The market for gound provision food is simply not there. Barbadians love chicken and pork. They also eat copious quantities of macaroni pie, rice and peas, and chips.

We should be looking at exporting our food produce which is acknowledged and appreciated by foreign countries as being high in nutritional value.

28. HOW COVID-19 IS SPREAD BY AEROSOL TRNSMISSION:

29. @ Silly Woman March 15, 2020 7:39 AM

Spacing influences yields. You can use closer spacing; doing so increases the over all tonnage but reduces the individual size of the product. With increase spacing, the individual yam/carrots become bigger, but over all yield is reduced. These proven agricultural concepts. For example you are planting carrots and use the spacing of two inches between seedlings in the row and a spacing of two inches between the rows: you will get higher yields than if you use four inches between seedlings within the row and four inches between the rows. The result is very simple: the closer the spacing ,the more plants there are, ergo ,the more carrots, which despite smaller individual size, taken together there is a greater mass.

I repeat, you have missed your true calling .Would make a good agriculture scientist.. Based on the fourteen beds that you have each one-hundred feet in length and assuming a width of four feet you should have about one sixteenth-one/thirty-two of of an acre. I haven’t done the calculations ,am just visualizing in my mind.

30. COMPARING CORONOVIRUS TO PAST EPIDEMICS!!! IS THIS A LEGIT REALITY CHECK OR JUST MERE SPIN? You decide!!!

31. With her retired back she must own a mini tractor.

32. “a unit of weight, equivalent to 2000 pounds (0.907 metric ton) avoirdupois (short ton) in the U.S. and 2240 pounds (1.016 metric tons) avoirdupois (long ton) in Great Britain. 2. Also called freight ton .”

Within 10% so at 80K servings short ton vs long ton is not going to make much difference.

Point is 5 acres can provide a meal of yam for more than a quarter of the population of Barbados.

There is no excuse for not promoting agriculture.

It is too simple a solution!!

That’s why in the US only 2% of the population get it โ€ฆ. and 98% depend on them to eat.

Most families depended on Yam in Barbados.

My Grandfather worked for a sugar factory from 1914 and raised a family of 7.

Got a cart of yams as a perquisite each year.

The eldest of his children passed at 95, her good buddy who likewise survived on ground provision made it to a few weeks under 100.

My cane cutter buddy observed the other day that all the old (>90) folk around him have or had ground provisions growing outside their houses.

33. In what could very well be the world’s FIRST major global Pandemic of the 21st century (with markets tumbling & collapsing; major airlines on the brink of utter demise; major businesses on the wall – heading to hell in a pan cart; jobs prospects reaching virtual NIL; Billionaire Investors about to become Starving Billionaires standing a 1930s Soup-Line waiting for a morsel of stale-bread – yet #BIGPHARMA is looking to Profiteer off the backs of DEATH, MAYHEM & a Coronapocalypse that could easily wipe out a BILLION people in less than a year (if comparisons to 1918-1919 Spanish Flu Pandemic is resourceful historical research penchant to mathematically model on)!!!

Time 2 put Wanton-GREED 2 the Guillotine & the “DIRTY BASTERDS” who geo-engineer ‘CRISIS AFTER CRISIS’ as a cover to hide their insalubrious shenanigans!!!

https://tinyurl.com/tq25amw

34. @David March 15, 2020 8:27 AM “With her retired back she must own a mini tractor.”

Old David. So old that several governments send me “free” money. But not anywhere near broken yet. Lolll!!! The thing about always having done some outdoor work, from the time I was 4, pulling nut grass from among the rows of young sugar cane (first crop) is that the bones are very, very strong. My dad fell out of his bed when he was in his 90’s and just got up and went about his regular business, including working the land for many years afterwards. Ask Dr. GP what happens to many 90 over 90’s when they fall out of bed? One sister who lives abroad went to one of those fancy foreign doctors for a bone density test,because in that place bone density tests are advised after the age of 65 or so. The doctor told her that she has the bone density of a 19 year old. She was nearly 70. She too worked in the fields all during her childhood and early adulthood. All of us are over 60, no osteoporosis, no broken bones. Outdoor work works amazingly to strengthen the bones. Ask the miller etc. how good the sun is.

But “yes” we do hire a tractor from time to time. But so far for this season we [my god buddy and me] have 3 beds 100 foot beds forked up and planted with cassava. It is not actually that hard for a couple of retired folks.

35. @dreamstarworld March 15, 2020 8:35 AM

Hopefully, there will be no intervention this time to save the speculators. In 2008 tax-payers money was used to save them. Market forces were not allowed to prevail. This time let the true value of the speculators holdings be realized. The holdings have been inflated There is a need for the economy of the world to get back to basics of producing real goods not speculation on the stocks, which do not produce anything, but are parasitical on the true economy. Never a bad happening.

36. DEMOGRAPHIC SCIENCE: COVID19 AKA Coronavirus Pandemic cases in Bergamo & Lodi, Italy show evidence that early “Social Distancing” measures in Lodi tend 2 Flatten The Curve – but my virulent question remains: “WHAT HAPPENS IF RE-INFECTION RATES GO UP IN A PHASE TWO TYPE SCENARIO AS WAS CITED IN CHINA LAST WEEK WHERE A 100 RECOVERED CASES GOT THE VIRUS FOR A 2ND TIME???

https://osf.io/se6wy/?view_only=c2f00dfe3677493faa421fc2ea38e295

37. Donald Trump trying to buy exclusive rights to a Covid-19 vaccine – a malevolent trait entirely consistent with his AmeriKKKa-First-Idiocy, and his rank opportunism in a crisis to wrestle the levers of power in his own favor…Trump wants to buy the “Exclusive Rights” to the Covid-19 vaccine potentially developed by the German PHARMA company CureVac which would be “Exclusively 4 the USA” of course!!!

https://www.welt.de/wirtschaft/article206555143/Corona-USA-will-Zugriff-auf-deutsche-Impfstoff-Firma.html

ENGLISH VERSION: https://www.dw.com/en/germany-and-us-wrestle-over-coronavirus-vaccine-report/a-52777990

38. Let me tell you that with 401ks and personal investing in the market, many more than speculators will be hurt by a crash.

Many who were planning to get off the treadmill and retire in the next few years are just holding their breath. We dare not look at what we have in the market. We dare not sell for we would have converted a paper loss into an actual loss. We are afraid of buying for the market may still be on the way down.

Speculators may be a very small segment of market forces.

39. @David March 15, 2020 8:27 AM โ€œWith her retired back she must own a mini tractor.โ€

Dear David: We have come to under estimate our capacity for hard work. I think that we have forgotten that long before the internal combustion engine was invented every single square inch of agricultural land in Barbados was cultivated by the hands of human beings just like me, just like you, just like Robert, and even some just like John. One of my school mates had a mother who cut sugar cane for a living, and successfully raised several children. She is still alive at over 90.

i was raised in a village of supermen AND super women, women who worked as “mason tenders” that is labouring women who did much of the handing, lifting, fetching and carrying so that the skilled masons could get on efficiently with their work. Men and women who worked hard for others, but who also understood that they were working hard to sustain their families, and to help them thrive. My own mother worked from 13 to 23, stayed at home raising children from 23 to 47 and then went out again to paid work from 47 to 66. She intended to stay on longer but had to come home to organise a 350 person wedding. She intended to go back, but then did not. A then boyfriend of mine cursed me stink, stink and told me if I was any good I would not “let” my mother work, lolll!!! as though I or anybody else could stop my mother from doing exactly when she felt was in her best interest and in her family’s best interest. My mother also encouraged several nice,church going middle aged women in our village to go out to work once all of their children were in school. These women walked a mile each way to and from their jobs. All of them lived to be over 80. One who has multiple children over 70, is now approaching her 100th birthday. Please note that none of these women and men had multiple sclerosis.

Nowadays we have pretend entitled people who make out that they can’t lift anything heavier that a computer mouse, or a fake eyelash. And that the sun is “too hot” It is the sun. It is supposed to be hot. No sun. No food.

Stupssseee!!!

40. REโ€ฆ “David March 15, 2020 6:03 AM”

GLOBAL PANIC PANDEMIC

BEWARE OF THE WHO (WORLD HEALTH ORGANISATION)

Dr. Horowitz is an internationally-recognized genius in the arts and sciences of natural healing whose Harvard training, four decades of public health service, thousands of Internet publications, dozens of peer-reviewed scientific articles, twenty-one (21) award-winning books, and seven (7) documentary films, has made him the worldโ€™s most prolific and best credential champion of natural medicine and โ€œfrequency rehabilitation.โ€ Dr. Horowitz has been at THE FOREFRONT OF SHATTERING THE ADDICTIVE AND DAMAGING โ€œDRUG PARADIGMโ€ for nearly forty (40) years.

DR. LEONARD G. HOROWITZ’S NATIONAL BEST-SELLER PROVIDES THE FIRST IN-DEPTH EXPLORATION INTO THE ORIGINS OF HIV AND EBOLA.

Claims that “emerging viruses,” AIDS, Ebola, herpes viruses, Epstein Barr, AND THE NEW FLU VIRUSES NATURALLY EVOLVED and then jumped species infect humanity seem grossly unfounded in light of the compelling evidence assembled in this monumental text.

ALTERNATIVELY, THE POSSIBILITY THAT THESE BIZARRE GERMS WERE LABORATORY CREATIONS, ACCIDENTALLY OR INTENTIONALLY TRANSMITTED VIA TAINTED HEPATITIS AND SMALLPOX VACCINES IN THE U.S. AND AFRICA – as numerous authorities have alleged – is investigated herein.

This book reviews the numerous viral vaccine studies conducted simultaneously in New York City and Central West Africa by a narrow network of virologists working for major military-medical contractors under the auspices of the National Cancer Institute (NCI) and the World Health Organization (WHO). Included is Dr. Robert Gallo, the notorious (alleged) discoverer of the AIDS virus. The text presents bizarre and horrifying facts about the biological weapons race of the 1960s and early 1970s when these researchers developed countless immune system ravaging viruses, and experimented with an assortment of antidote vaccines allegedly for “defense” and cancer prevention.

The book definitively determines with astonishing documentation HIV/AIDS was man-made and vaccine delivered. Dr. Horowitz leaves you, the reader, to draw your own conclusion whether this happened by accident or political and economic intent.

CONTROVERSY AND DR. HOROWITZ

THE VETERAN MEDIA COMMENTATOR AND PROFESSIONAL SPEAKER HAS BEEN ESPECIALLY CRITICAL OF THE ROCKEFELLER-FINANCED WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION (WHO)โ€“an entity of the United Nations created to advance and legitimize Western medicine, what critics call โ€œBig Pharmaโ€โ€”what his Harvard-trained expertise in public health and behavioral science refers to irreverently as the โ€œMILITARY-MEDICAL-PETROCHEMICAL-PHARMACEUTICAL-BANKING CARTEL.โ€

More eloquently, heroically, and powerfully than anyone, Dr. Horowitz has exposed Big Pharmaโ€™s unethical and illegal stranglehold over politics, healthcare, and the economy now damaging you and your communityโ€™s health and safety. Given the expanding healthcare crisis in America, and worsening environmental urgencies risking multiple speciesโ€™ and civilizationโ€™s extinction, Dr. Horowitzโ€™s central intelligence and practical solutions are monumental and crucial to survival in the Twenty First Century.

In an effort to counter the blatant unlawful monopolization of Western medicine by the WHO, its regulatory agents, agencies, and actions (ADVANCING TO TERMINATE CONSUMER ACCESS TO NATURAL HEALING PRODUCTS SUCH AS HERBS AND VITAMINS CALLED โ€œCODEX ALIMENTARIUSโ€) and the complicity of American agencies including the FDA and CDC.

โ€œHAVE COURAGE! I HAVE OVERCOME THE WORLD!โ€
    WE NEED TO REMEMBER TO ALWAYS BE PREPARED AND NOT FEAR.

https://www.facebook.com/gregolsenfan/photos/a.10151697287328137/10157194651093137/?type=3&theater

41. @robert lucas March 15, 2020 8:24 AM

Thanks robert for the advice and the compliment.

42. TLSN
    March 15, 2020 8:20 AM

@ Silly Woman,
    The market for gound provision food is simply not there. Barbadians love chicken and pork.

Unless things have changed, the egg from which 99.9999% of chickens in Barbados are hatched comes from over and away!!

Our poultry industry depends on outside sources of supply.

Sometimes you will see a local yard fowl or three wandering about at some gas stations.

These last vestiges of early Barbadian yard fowls will probably disappear if the dire predictions come to pass.

They may not eat as good as the genetically engineered broilers from over and away but they will fill a spot for someone.

Chefette will shut down,

43. TheOGazerts
    March 15, 2020 9:16 AM

Let me tell you that with 401ks and personal investing in the market, many more than speculators will be hurt by a crash.

I thought the Democrats were saying the stock market rising had no effect on the average American!!!

Jokers

44. Still no reported cases of Covid 19 in Barbados.

45. @Hants

To the great disappointment of a few in the cabal.

46. Hants
    March 15, 2020 10:01 AM

Still no reported cases of Covid 19 in Barbados.

How much testing has been actually done?

47. โ€ฆ. and remember, GP says medical tests often turn out negative!!

48. @John March 15, 2020 9:48 AM “Sometimes you will see a local yard fowl or three wandering about at some gas stations. These last vestiges of early Barbadian yard fowls will probably disappear if the dire predictions come to pass.

made a banana bread last night with a couple of yard fowl eggs, from from wild birdie who insists at laying at me. Gave the grnads some for supper last week. They commented on the bright yellow colour of the egg, but ate it all up. I have 6 more eggs left, and certainly more to come, so I did not buy any eggs when I went shopping on Thursday.

Yard fowls eat ok, if you handle them right. Not as fried or baked chicken, but boiled down in a nice “close” stew. After slaughtering, plucking, splitting in two and washing. Lime and salt the little beastie and keep in the fridge for several hours, wash off the lime and salt and season, preferably with home made seasoning, refrigerate for several more hours. Stew for an hour or so in a saucepan with a tightly fitted lid. Add some carrots, tomatoes, sweet peppers and onions about 20 minutes before you take off the pot. Serve with a nice breadfruit cou-cou. Nothing at all wrong with that food.

But it does take longer to prepare that going to the drive-thru.

49. @John March 15, 2020 8:29 AM “Got a cart of yams as a perquisite each year.”

Don’t try giving anybody a perq of a cart of yams in the 21st century, unless you really, really want to start world war 3. Lol! With a cart of yams you can’t transfer your value from barbados to the U.S. by taking the kiddies to disney, or the madam shopping in Miami.

50. TheOGazerts
    March 15, 2020 9:16 AM

Let me tell you that with 401ks and personal investing in the market, many more than speculators will be hurt by a crash.
    Many who were planning to get off the treadmill and retire in the next few years are just holding their breath. We dare not look at what we have in the market. We dare not sell for we would have converted a paper loss into an actual loss. We are afraid of buying for the market may still be on the way down.
    Speculators may be a very small segment of market forces.

Go and do some forking โ€ฆ and enjoy!!