Submitted by Ironside

For some, the predicament in which Barbados finds itself at this point in its history is purely economic. On the other hand, the extreme right might argue that we are being punished for our many sins.

I take a more middle of the road approach and suggest that we are being offered an opportunity to put our increasingly miserable lives in order. We are under mercy, but we can’t recognize it. But putting our lives in order is not primarily an economic exercise, or for that matter, a political exercise.

My thesis is that the first thing we have to do is to extricate ourselves from the spiritual cesspool that we have allowed ourselves to fall into. Getting ourselves out is the #1 priority. Political stability and economic prosperity will follow. By what authority so I say this?

++Godliness makes a nation great, but sin is a disgrace to any people. [NLT Proverbs 14:34]++

Alternatively:

++Doing right brings honor to a nation, but sin brings disgrace. [CEV Proverbs 14:34]++

If you think I am wanting to join the ranks of the Grenville of SB and his Tuesday, now Monday sermons or Dr. GP, forget it. I am about practicality; there is nothing more practical than the Word of God! In it is all that we need to run our individual lives AND our nation.

Hello! The only person who can tell you the best way to drive and maintain a vehicle is the manufacturer. That is why Simpson motors has to send their service people many miles away to get first hand training in the factories and labs of the manufacturers- plain necessity and common sense. But I suppose that this truth is TOO simple for an educated and proud people to understand!

So in this short series, I am going to try to download the Divine Manual and upload it to our failing national economic and political sub-systems so that we can get rid of the viruses that have invaded them. In short, I am calling for a national reboot! Join me…if you have the guts!

Every year from June to November we get anxious about storms and hurricanes and keep a staunch watch. As soon we hear of an approaching system the front line against hurricanes (a.k.a the radio stations) – or so they believe – come out with voluminous commentary and APRs (all points reports) until the system passes out of our piece of the ocean only to devastate some Caribbean neighbour or parts of America. God, the Bajan did it again. And he did it because VOB put on some religious music to assuage His Majesty’s anger.

Ok! If God is a Bajan, then I am Queen Candace of Ethiopia, live and in full royal regalia!

It never ceases to amaze me how spiritually stupid we have become! If God is who he is, do you really expect to bribe Him with religious songs? Bribe Him at all? What absolute superstitious bull! And coming from people who claim to be the most “highly educated” in the Caribbean, if not in the world? Get real!

You can try to explain away our escapes by other means, e.g. our location. But in my humble opinion, we are saved every year because truly God-fearing people in this country get down on their knees and ask for mercy! You and I know, that despite all the prideful talk and clamouring we do, that we can’t take a major hit from a hurricane any time soon; especially in these perilous economic times! Let’s stop deceiving OURSELVES!

Let me get to the point: we need to repent! A.K.A reboot!

No, I did not say go to church! Or give the church some money! I said “repent!” The dictionary renders repent variously as “be sorry, apologize, ask for forgiveness, feel sorrow, be penitent, atone”. That is not true biblical repentance! You can’t seriously expect a lexicon to know what true biblical repentance is, can you?

In the New Testament, the verb metanoeo [translierated Greek word) and the noun metanoia [ditto] are translated as “repent”, “repentance”. The root meaning of these words is “to turn”. In the contexts in which they are used, “repent” means to turn AWAY from (evil) and to turn TO (or return to) God and good. If you haven’t got it yet, it means make a U-turn to God! That is true biblical repentance! Being sorry or asking for forgiveness is a quarter-turn; it is not enough; going to church, even though desirable, is not nearly enough, in point of fact, as a starter, it is irrelevant!

As I see it, in the BLP’s 30 – 0 victory, God has given us an opportunity to repent. From a lot of things! Like idolatry! You thought I was going to say “homosexuality” right? I know! In part 2, I am going to identify those NATIONAL viruses we need to eliminate.

You see, the hard truth is that we asked Him and he has spared us repeatedly from those awesome hurricanes. I am not a prophet nor indeed want to be, but, if I am “reading” His Majesty, King of Kings and Lord of Lords correctly, he has thrown us a “curve ball” known as ‘Mystery’ Babylon and the BLP. Why? To test us; to test whether we will recognize our sinfulness AS A NATION and REPENT.

Consider this. In one master stroke, the Most High has (a) relieved us of the wickedness of DLP and the hypocrite Freundel Stuart (b) given us Mystery Babylon with all her abominations and (c) betrothed us to the IMF. And why has He done these things? Is it to destroy us? I say, no! I say, it is because he loves us! Wait, you mean God got a “love-hate” thing going on with Barbados! You could that! Really?

Please see Part 2.

109 responses to “Phartford Files: Hard Truths – Part 1”

1. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Cuhdear Ironside, tummuch long talk.

Hear is the Christianity deal that i got from a fella I know well.

Love God.

Love yuh neighbor

2. IRONSIDE OR MATLOCK

RE For some, the predicament in which Barbados finds itself at this point in its history is purely economic.
    THIS IS PRACTICALLY PARTIALLY TRUE.

RE On the other hand, the extreme right might argue that we are being punished for our many sins.
    THIS IS ACTUALLY TRUE , AND THE ECONOMICS IS ONE OF THE ENGINES WHEREBY THIS IS BEING INSTITUTED.
    THIS IS NOTHING NEW AND IS VERY WELL ILLUSTRATED IN THE BIBLICAL BOOK OF JUDGES.

RE I take a more middle of the road approach and suggest that we are being offered an opportunity to put our increasingly miserable lives in order. We are under mercy, but we can’t recognize it.
    THIS IS ACTUALLY TRUE ALSO AND IS WELL STATED IN 2 PETER 3:9 INTER ALIA
    The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.

RE But putting our lives in order is not primarily an economic exercise, or for that matter, a political exercise.
    IT IS A SPIRITUAL EXERCISE

RE My thesis is that the first thing we have to do is to extricate ourselves from the spiritual cesspool that we have allowed ourselves to fall into. Getting ourselves out is the #1 priority. Political stability and economic prosperity will follow.
    THIS IS ACTUALLY VERY TRUE, NOTHING NEW AND IS AGAIN VERY WELL ILLUSTRATED IN THE BIBLICAL BOOK OF JUDGES.

RE By what authority so I say this?
    ++Godliness makes a nation great, but sin is a disgrace to any people. [NLT Proverbs 14:34]++
    Alternatively:
    ++Doing right brings honor to a nation, but sin brings disgrace. [CEV Proverbs 14:34]++
    THE BIBLE IS THE ONLY AUTHORITY FOR FAITH AND PRACTICE

RE If you think I am wanting to join the ranks of the Grenville of SB and his Tuesday, now Monday sermons
    DON’T DO THAT SIR. Grenville of SB IS ESSENTIALLY A FLAME THROWER SEEKING TO BLAME A SHAME ANY WHO SAYS THAT SOLUTIONS BARBADOS HAS NO SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS

RE or Dr. GP, forget it. I am about practicality; there is nothing more practical than the Word of God! In it is all that we need to run our individual lives AND our nation.

SIR I RUN MY INDIVIDUAL LIFE BY THE WORD OF GOD AND I LOVE TO TALK ABOUT IT AND SHARE IT. THIS IS NATURAL FOR ME AND MOST PLEASURABLE

BUT I HAVE NEVER SOUGHT TO FOIST IT OR MY MANNER OF LIFE ON ANY ONE ON BU AS YOU HAVE BOLDLY SOUGHT TO DO. I HAVE NEVER ASKED ANYONE TO MAKE A CHOICE FOR OR AGAINST ON BU, BECAUSE IT IS CLEAR TO ME THAT OUR PEOPLE NO LONGER EVEN HAVE A FORM OF GODLINESS, AND DEFINITELY DENY THE POWER THEREOF.

MORE ANON

3. Interesting. Repentance is reflective of the perspective of ‘evil’ . If the doctrine is to continue to worship innocence then it is simply the wrong doctrine. I await part 2.

4. “But in my humble opinion, we are saved every year because truly God-fearing people in this country get down on their knees and ask for mercy!”

Barbadians are something else though!!!

Here we are assuming that there are no truly God-fearing people in the whole of the Bahamas who got down on their knees and asked for mercy.

Wuhlaus!

First we had “God is a Bajan”. Now we have “Only Barbados is in possession of truly God-fearing people”.

Ain’t got none in The Bahamas. Ain’t got none in Dominica. Ain’t got none in the US Virgin islands. Ain’t got none in Puerto Rico. Didn’t used to have any in Jamaica. Not One!

Wuhlaus!

Do these so-called Christians ever pause to think about the nonsense that spews from their mouths????!!!!!

What utter arrogance!

Again I say…….

The Shape God Wears (by Sara Henderson Hay)

So questioning, I was bold to dare
    The sinewy tiger in his lair.
    ‘Come forth. striped sir, make known to me
    What God it was who fashioned thee.’

Out leapt he like a muscled blaze,
    Patterned in black and gold he was.
    ‘Jehovah is his name,’ he cried,
    ‘Tiger of Tigers, beryl-eyed,

‘Flat flanked and sleek, His paws are curled
    About the margins of the world.
    He stalketh in His jungles grim –
    I, even I, am like to Him!’

I sought that moving mountain side,
    The elephant, with ears fanned wide,
    Treading forests. ‘Sir tell me
    What manner of a God made thee?’

He swirled his trunk about the oak
    And wrenched it up before he spoke,
    Then answered in a trumpet blast,
    ‘Old Super-Pachyderm, that vast

Lord of the Elephants, the great
    Trampler upon the worm’s estate.
    Crag-shouldered, terrible is He
    Who of His substance fashioned me!’

I scaled the precipice, to seek
    The eagle on his drafty peak.
    ‘Tell me, O Gazer at the sun,
    The nature of that Mighty one,

Your Lord.’ He turned his crested head
    And screamed athwart the wind and said
    ‘Ancient of Eagles, wild and free,
    Rider of tempests, He made me!

His wing is stretched above the thunder
    His claws can rip the hills asunder.
    His beak of two hooked knives is made –
    Look on his likeness. Be afraid!’

Then turned I to the whorled snail
    Whose house is exquisite and frail,
    Most deftly wrought. ‘Sir, I would know
    What God it was Who shaped thee so.’

Then cried he proudly to my face
    ‘Eternal Snail, God of my race.
    The lightning is His silvery track,
    He wears the world upon His back.

‘He is most beautiful and wise,
    He dwelleth in the moisty skies,
    In the gray wall at heaven’s rim,
    And He has made me after Him!’

Then laughed I in superior mirth,
    ‘Attend, ye creatures of the earth,
    Misled, mistaken, all undone
    And self deceivers, every one.

‘Hear ye, deluded beasts, while I
    Explain the shape God wears, and why.
    Self evident the truth’s displayed:
    He is my Father, sirs,’ I said,
    ‘And in my image He is made!’

5. RE Cuhdear Ironside, tummuch long talk.

Love God. Love yuh neighbor

THIS IS A LOAD OF RUBBISH THAT SOUNDS GOOD, BUT IT DOES NOT SAY HOW
    I CAN TELL A STUDENT TO USE A CLASSEN CONDENSATION OR FRIES REARRANGEMENT TO SYNTHESIZE A DRUG OR USEFUL PRODUCT

BUT THEN I HAVE TO TEACH HIM HOW TO DO IT AND GIVE HIM EXAMPLES

THE LORD JESUS SAID Love God. Love yuh neighbor BUT HE SPENT THREE YEARS TEACHING THE DISCIPLES SO THAT THEY COULD TEACH OTHERS HOW TO DO HIS WILL
    IT IS FOR THIS REASON THAT WE READ IN ACTS 2:42 ABOUT THE EARLY CHURCH THAT

they continued stedfastly in the apostles’ doctrine and fellowship, and in breaking of bread, and in prayers.

A LOT OF IDIOTS COME HERE CHANTING Love God.& Love yuh neighbor BUT THEY DONT KNOW HOW

THE WORD OF GOD SEEKS TO INSTRUCT US HOW TO DO SO

IT IS WRITTEN IN 2 Tim.3 Verses 16 to 17 THAT

All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.

6. RE Here we are assuming that there are no truly God-fearing people in the whole of the Bahamas who got down on their knees and asked for mercy.

Ain’t got none in The Bahamas. Ain’t got none in Dominica. Ain’t got none in the US Virgin islands. Ain’t got none in Puerto Rico. Didn’t used to have any in Jamaica. Not One!

ACTUALLY I KNOW MANY FAITHFUL BELIEVERS IN THESE PLACES. BUT THERE IS A TIME WHEN GOD WILL JUDGE DESPITE CRIES FOR MERCY. IS IT NOT HIS PREROGATIVE TO JUDGE OR TO HAVE MERCY?

IS IT NOT WRITTEN IN Isaiah 55:8, For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD.

IF YOU READ THE BOOK OF JUDGES WERE THEY NOT SOME ISRAELITES THAT WERE GOD FEARING AND WHO PRAYED DURING ANY OF THE CYCLES OF JUDGEMENT? I AM SURE THEY WERE!

IF YOU READ KINGS AND CHRONICLES WERE THEY NOT SOME ISRAELITES THAT WERE GOD FEARING AND WHO PRAYED DURING THE SIEGE BY THE ASSYRIANS OR THE BABYLONIANS? I AM SURE THEY WERE!
    BUT AT THESE TIMES THERE WAS WHAT IS CALLED “ THE DAY OF THE LORD”
    MAYBE THERE WILL COME “A DAY OF THE LORD” FOR BARBADOS TOO

On the other hand, if you read 2 Chronicles 20 you will read of the time when Jehosophat prayed, and God delivered him from the children of Ammon and Moab.

You can also read how God delivered Hezekiah from Senacherib. Or how he delivered Josiah. Or how he delivered Peter in Acts when the disciples prayed.

OR HOW HE DELIVERED DANIEL FROM THE LIONS DEN AND THE THREE HEBREW BOYS FROM THE FIERY FURNACE. AND WE CAN GO ON!

Do non Christians and BIBLE ILLITERATES ever pause to think about the nonsense that spews from their mouths????!!!!!

7. @samanthaharrisNovember 14, 2019 8:02 AM

Interesting. Repentance is reflective of the perspective of ‘evil’ . If the doctrine is to continue to worship innocence then it is simply the wrong doctrine. I await part 2.

THIS WORD SALAD IS A LOAD OF CONCENTRATED EXCREMENT EXUDED FROM THE SHELVES OF HOUSTON OF ONE OF THE LOWEST OF THE EQUINOIDS

@ THE MOST ENLIGHTENED DONNA

QUESTION?
    SINCE WHEN HAS Sara Henderson Hay BEEN CONSIDERED AS THE AUTHORITY FOR FAITH AND PRACTICE

PEOPLE ALL. SOON AND VERY SOON COMING TO THIS PAGE WILL BE SHE WHO KNOWS MORE THAN ALL OF US PUT TOGETHER……….THE BIGGEST BIBLE BRIMBLER EVER SEEN ON THE PAGES OF BU

PLEASE PREPARE YOUR DRUM ROLL

8. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Not to worry GP, I do know how to love God and how to love my neighbour, and I do have many, many decides of practicing both.

I am not a theorist. i am a pragmatic person.

I DO love every day.

9. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Mekking some fishcakes now, then will clean some windows.

As the young people would say

Lata.

10. RE Every year from June to November we get anxious about storms and hurricanes and keep a staunch watch. ………God, the Bajan did it again. And he did it because VOB put on some religious music to assuage His Majesty’s anger.

It never ceases to amaze me how spiritually stupid we have become! If God is who he is, do you really expect to bribe Him with religious songs? Bribe Him at all? What absolute superstitious bull! …….You can try to explain away our escapes by other means, e.g. our location. But in my humble opinion, we are saved every year because truly God-fearing people in this country get down on their knees and ask for mercy!
    Let me get to the point: we need to repent! A.K.A reboot!
    No, I did not say go to church! Or give the church some money! I said “repent!” The dictionary renders repent variously as “be sorry, apologize, ask for forgiveness, feel sorrow, be penitent, atone”. That is not true biblical repentance! You can’t seriously expect a lexicon to know what true biblical repentance is, can you?

100 % CORRECT SIR!

RE In the New Testament, the verb metanoeo [translierated Greek word) and the noun metanoia [ditto] are translated as “repent”, “repentance”. The root meaning of these words is “to turn”. In the contexts in which they are used, “repent” means to turn AWAY from (evil) and to turn TO (or return to) God and good. If you haven’t got it yet, it means make a U-turn to God! That is true biblical repentance! Being sorry or asking for forgiveness is a quarter-turn; it is not enough; going to church, even though desirable, is not nearly enough, in point of fact, as a starter, it is irrelevant!

100 % CORRECT SIR!
    As I see it, in the BLP’s 30 – 0 victory, God has given us an opportunity to repent. From a lot of things! Like idolatry!

100 % CORRECT SIR!

You see, the hard truth is that we asked Him and he has spared us repeatedly from those awesome hurricanes.
    100 % CORRECT SIR!

RE but, if I am “reading” His Majesty, King of Kings and Lord of Lords correctly, he has thrown us a “curve ball” known as ‘Mystery’ Babylon and the BLP. Why? To test us; to test whether we will recognize our sinfulness AS A NATION and REPENT.

100 % CORRECT SIR!

RE Consider this. In one master stroke, the Most High has (a) relieved us of the wickedness of DLP and the hypocrite Freundel Stuart (b) given us Mystery Babylon with all her abominations and (c) betrothed us to the IMF. And why has He done these things? Is it to destroy us? I say, no! I say, it is because he loves us! Wait, you mean God got a “love-hate” thing going on with Barbados! You could that! Really?

IT IS NOT a “love-hate” thing. CAREFUL CONSIDERATION OF THE BIBLE REVEALS CYCLES OF GOD’S JUDGEMENT AND DELIVERANCE.

WE WERE JUDGED UNDER THE wickedness of DLP and the hypocrite Freundel Stuart, AND ARE BEING FURTHER JUDGED UNDER MAO MUGABE MIA MUTTLEY with all her abominations and BY BEING betrothed to the IMF

11. By the way the day of the Lord may be defined as “any time when God judges men and their evil ways.

Of course, in the future, it will be the time of great trouble after the rapture of the church, which will be followed by one thousand 1000 years when Christ will rule on earth. It is the day when the Lord will judge and interfere once more directly in the course of this world’s politics.

12. As far as the economic problems are concerned and everything else that ails our society I join that smart person who said that here on earth we are punished BY our sins not FOR them. That is unless our sins are also crimes.

Every damned stupid thing I ever did that went against God’s advice came back and bit me in the butt. Eventually. It happens organically. God does not have to “lift a finger.”

Stupid actions have a way of delivering natural consequences.

We are nasty with our garbage. Disease carrying rats move in breed and relieve themselves all over our property. We are exposed to that infected “relief”. Bam! Leptospirosis!

We leave uncovered water on our premises. Disease carrying mosquitoes move in and suck our blood in order to breed. Bam! Dengue fever! Chikungunya! Zika!

You are promiscuously having sex with multiple partners sooner or later some disease catches up with you.

You drop offspring all over the place and you are not there for any of them and, if you live long enough, you will regret not having anyone around to care for you.

Or you spoil your favorite child and unfair the other and the favourite child grows up to be so selfish they can’t even care for you. The non-favoured child takes pity on you and you have to feel the guilt whilst lying on your death bed.

You don’t honour your father and your mother and provided that they are good parents who taught you right from wrong you will eventually end up doing stupidness that will cause you to have to run back and beg Mummy and Daddy for help. Humiliating!

You covet your neighbour’s spouse and make a mess of your own marriage AND no longer have a neighbour you can count on.

You don’t take even one day to relax and take stock of your spiritual state and you make plenty of money but still are miserable because it is NEVER ENOUGH to satisfy your greedy soul. Or you have health issues and the money is of no use to you.

I could go on and on because as Buju Banton so sweetly chants –

“The full has never been told.”

Sin and stupid actions both have a way of bringing chickens home to roost.

13. Sara Henderson Hay was not commenting on the nature of God. She was commenting on the nature of MAN. And so was I.

No drum roll at the beginning.

Just a BAM at the end!

14. And now presenting the man with four degrees in Bible and HE WHO WILL NOT BE CONTRADICTED, The man who worships the God who punishes children for the sins of their fathers washing them away in floods and burning them up in fires, sending sword wielding people to chop babies into pieces……

Here’s Johnny sorry Georgie!

15. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Now I know that Barbados is in real trouble when we have so many bloggist in BU turning to the bible and going religious. It reminds me so much of the period BCE 6 to CE 80 .

@ Ironside
    God is a Bajan . He is also Dominican and Bahamian and all the other nationalities. I am hoping the Immigation Officers do not to take away his/her passport.

I do agree that we need to” wheel and come again” and change our mind sets.

16. @Simple Simon

Easy on the grease.

17. samanthaharris: November 14, 2019 8:02 AM

I was wondering who would be the first to go here! Yours is the honour, M’am.

FYI. My father was a Rosicrucian. (MHRIP). In his last days he changed his allegiance to Christ through a book I gave him. No interpersonal pressure from me or other family members. It was written by a man who was previously steeped in eastern religion, mysticism, New Age philosophy, you name it, which he promoted on every university campus he could find.

I read a lot of my father’s Rosicrucian literature when I was young so I can smell Luciferian / New Age/ Not-so-New Age doctrine a mile off. For example, people get taken in by Oprah but if you listen to her very carefully you will find the strands of the New Age philosophy and logic right in the middle of her mouthings. I think she does some very good HUMANITARIAN stuff but I await your reaction to this!

Lucifer’s strategy is VERY logical but often convoluted and deeply deceptive. One of his extended syllogisms, that is adapted in different ages and different times, goes as follows:

Major Premise: God knows both good and evil
    Minor premise 1: You should be equal to God [or you ARE equal to God]
    Conclusion 1: Therefore, you need to [reject innocence and] do evil! [to be like God!]
    Implication 1: God is a liar! [usually unstated]
    Implication 2: Repentance is irrelevant! [usually unstated]

Works like magic all the time on unsuspecting human vanity!

Perhaps those reading will understand why Lucifer is associated with lawlessness in Scripture [2 Thess 2:9 ] and why there is increasing lawlessness here and every where in the world.

Please Samantha, don’t wait until part 2, strut you stuff here right now! I am all for freedom of expression.

18. @Simple

Agree with your perspective here. All the world need is live. Too much bombast.

19. @Simple

Agree with your perspective here. All the world needs is live. Too much bombast.

20. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ BU Household

Beware of the yeast of the Pharisees. These were Biblical Scholars in Jerusalem at the turn of the first century in the Common Era (CE). Beware of their successors in 2019.CE

21. Hard truth.

Crops destroyed by flooding in St.Lucy.

22. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu

God is Love. Yes. We have to live Love. Love is a verb. He that has Love Is of God.

23. https://www.cbsnews.com/news/flooding-in-venice-italy-declares-state-of-emergency-over-high-tides-battering-city-2019-11-13/

And God say, “I in dat! Those Roman Catholics!”

But you see the Italians had the remedy – floodgates!

And what stopped them from being built? CORRUPTION!

God did not have to do a thing!

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants at10 :16 AM

We need the rain to replenish our aquifers. The loss of a few vegetables is a small collateral damage.

25. Vincent,

The fishermen knew they were not learned. They were easier to reach and teach. Besides, what’s better than killing two birds with one stone. Turning social status on its head was another plus.

26. re Now I know that Barbados is in real trouble when we have so many bloggist in BU turning to the bible and going religious. It reminds me so much of the period BCE 6 to CE 80 .

Barbados is in real trouble WHETHER FOLK BLOG ABOUT IT ON BU OR NOT
    WHAT IS THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN the period BCE 6 to CE 80 PRAY TELL

RE @ Ironside God is a Bajan . He is also Dominican and Bahamian and all the other nationalities. I am hoping the Immigation Officers do not to take away his/her passport.

PLEASE SUPPORT YOUR VIEW BY RELEVANT SCRIPTURES RIGHTLY DIVIDED IN THEIR CONTEXTS

RE And now presenting the man with four degrees in Bible SORRY BUT I AM NOT ASHAMED OF THAT

RE and HE WHO WILL NOT BE CONTRADICTED, YOU CAN TRY BUT I DONT SPEAK ABOUT THINGS ABOUT WHICH I KNOW NAUGHT INCLUDING THE BIBLE, WHICH I SPEND TIME SEEKING TO RIGHTLY DIVIDE IT AND NOT JUST SHOOTING AN OPINION

RE The man who worships the God who punishes children for the sins of their fathers washing them away in floods and burning them up in fires, sending sword wielding people to chop babies into pieces……

I WORSHIP THE GOD OF THE BIBLE –THE SAME GOD THAT ALLOWS BIBLE ILLITERATES TO BARK BRAY AND BRIMBLE BOVINE BRICKS ON BU

RE Sara Henderson Hay was not commenting on the nature of God. She was commenting on the nature of MAN. And so was I.
    WHO CARES? I DONT. I SAID WITHOUT FEAR OF CONTRADICTION THAT SHE IS NOT THE AUTHORITY FOR FAITH AND PRACTICE. I DONT THEREFORE NEED TO READ HER OPINION AND I HAVE NOT

THE BIBLE TEACHES IN SEVERAL PLACES THAT MEN ARE JUDGED AND PUNISHED BY GOD FOR THEIR SINS——IT DOES NOT MATTER WHAT YOU THINK. WHAT MATTERS IS WHAT THE BIBLE SAYS. YOU HAVE A CHOICE TO ACCEPT IT OR SCOFF AT THE PARTS YOU DONT UNDERSTAND

I PERSONALLY DONT SCOFF AT THE SECTIONS OF THE BIBLE THAT I DONT UNDERSTAND OR THE PARTS THAT UNGODLY BIBLE ILLITERATES WHO KNOW MORE THAN GOD ABOUT THEM

I HAVE EVEN LEARNED TO ACCEPT THE THINGS THAT HAVE OCCURRED IN MY LIFE THAT I DO NOT UNDERSTAND BECAUSE. TIME HAS SHOWN THAT GOD WAS CORRECTLY DIRECTING MY LIFE

27. Vincent Codrington November 14, 2019 9:55 AM

+++Now I know that Barbados is in real trouble when we have so many bloggist [sic] in BU turning to the bible and going religious. It reminds me so much of the period BCE 6 to CE 80 +++

You have it all wrong VC. It is the beginning of repentance. Recognizing the mess you are in and the reason why you are there. Even you agree:

+++I do agree that we need to” wheel and come again” and change our mind sets.+++

That is it! “change our mind sets”. Don’t contradict yourself, now! You are a logical person, so follow this through to the logical conclusion.

You fix a problem by finding and treating the CAUSE not the SYMPTOMS. If the fundamental problem is what most people think it is [ i.e. economics] , then we have enough economic and other brain power in Bim alone that can surely fix it.

P.S. I hate religion! I mean it. Perhaps Karl Marx was was right, “Religion is the opium of the people”. Repentance is NOT about religion but about a RIGHT RELATIONSHIP with the King of Kings AS DEFINED BY HIM, not us e.g. the NEW AGERS! That’s the part we can’t swallow! We can like it or lump it but God IS SOVEREIGN !!

N.B. There was no religion in the Garden of Eden until Lucifer came along!

@ Donna November 14, 2019 9:16 AM. Very insightful (and hopefully INCITEFUL!). If you don’t follow the manufacturer’s manual that is what you WILL get. And it will get WORSE, not better!

28. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@David “go easy on the grease”

I only had six David, and I drained them first on a paper towel.

Now back to the window cleaning to work off the rest of the grease.

29. Agree with your perspective here. All the world need is live. Too much bombast.

AND TO MUCH BOVINE EXCREMENT AND IGNORANCE
    DECLARATION OF BIBLE TRUTH WITH AUTHORITY IS NOT BOMBAST!
    NO ONE CRIES BOMBAST WHEN THE ECONOMISTS AND BANKERS AND OTHERS SPEAK WITH AUTHORITY

BUT WHEN YOU DECLARE THE WORD OF GOD IN SEASON AND OUT OF SEASON ON BU WITH AUTHORITY AS ORDERED IN THE BIBLE, IT IS BOMBAST!

HOW ARE WE TO KNOW HOW TO LOVE AND LIVE?

2 Timothy 3:16-17
    16 All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, 17 so that the servant of God[a] may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.

RE The fishermen knew they were not learned. They were easier to reach and teach.
    BUT NONE OF THE FISHERMEN MADE AN IMPACT IN SPREADING OR TEACHING WHAT THEY LEARNED THAN THE VERY HIGHLY EDUCATED PAUL

THE FISHERMAN HAD A TRADE BECAUSE THIS WAS REQUIRED IN THEIR CULTURE
    ALSO REQUIRED IN THEIR CULTURE WAS A KNOWLEDGE OF GOD’S WORD ACCORDING TO DEUTERONOMY 6 BY ALL, FROM KINGS TO PRIESTS TO PEASANTS

THE SCRIBES AND PHARISEES UNDERSTOOD WHAT JESUS SAID TOO, BUT LIKE THE BIBLE ILLITERATES AND KNOW IT ALLS OF OUR DAY THEY WERE FILLED WITH PRIDE!

I HAVE NO GREATER PLEASURE THAN BEATING BAD BOWLING ON BU!

30. @ Vincent Codrington,

You middle and upper class Bajans can afford imported vegetables and bottled water.

Spare a thought for the farmer who lost his crops.

31. @ David blogmaster

You do a very good job of finding images for our submissions.

However, on this occasion, I take exception to the one used here. It is too suggestive of hell and hell fire etc. I believe in hell but I am not here to frighten people.

The Sovereign One puts the truth before you and let’s you choose. We sometimes call that “tough love”. Therefore, people often read “threat” where only “fact” was intend. I am merely a messenger.

I would be most grateful if you could find a less threatening image.

Thanks in advance.

32. That explains how you missed the point, Georgie.

But I do not post for you to read. You are literally tethered to your Bible and hence your loving AND bloodthirsty God. You are welcome to continue taking more degrees that will never tell you how to place the Bible in a context. And you are free to be proud of it. How can I take away the free will God has given to you?????

I post for those who have an open mind that can think outside of the book.

Only they can see when what you are saying may make perfect Bible sense but not “common sense”. They have been wondering about these things but were afraid of people like you. I post for those people to know that they are not alone in their wondering. I will take all the licks for them.

No sweat!

33. Aren’t circular arguments a hoot?

We know that all scripture is good for instruction because the scripture says so!

34. RE go easy on the grease”

IT IS UNIVERSAL IGNORANCE TO THINK THAT FAT IS DANGEROUS AND THE CAUSE OF THE EVIL CHOLESTEROL
    BUT ALCOHOL, CARBOHYDRATES, PROTEINS AND FATS ARE ALL ———-ALL– METABOLIZED TO ACETYL CoA. all!
    ACETYL CoA. IS THE PRECURSOR OF CHOLESTEROL

CHOLESTEROL IS THE PRECURSOR OF THE STEROID HORMONES (SEX SALT AND STRESS HORMONES)
    CHOLESTEROL IS THE PRECURSOR OF CoQ, VITAMIN D & BILE SALTS
    CHOLESTEROL IS NEEDED FOR CELL MEMBRANES

IS THIS INFORMATION BOMBAST TOO?

35. RE That explains how you missed the point, Georgie.

I HAVE NOT MISSED YOUR “BLUNT ” POINTS

RE You are literally tethered to your Bible and hence your loving AND bloodthirsty God. AND I AM PROUD OF IT! VERY PROUD!

RE You are welcome to continue taking more degrees that will never tell you how to place the Bible in a context.
    THIS IS AN OXYMORON AND A NON SEQUITUR

RE And you are free to be proud of it. I AM INDEED

RE How can I take away the free will God has given to you????? YOU CANT THANK GOD

RE I post for those who have an open mind that can think outside of the book. THAT IS THE PROBLEM ALL OVER THE WORLD

PEOPLE ARE NO LONGER GUIDED BY THE BOOK , SO WE GET THE MORONS WITH WEIRD AND CORRUPT THINKING IN CHARGE

Only they can see when what you are saying may make perfect HUH WHAT DOES THIS WORD SALAD MEAN?

RE Bible sense but not “common sense”. COMMON SENSE IS BASED ON THE BIBLE——–IT ALWAYS HAS BEEN SO.

RE They have been wondering about these things but were afraid of people like you.

WHY BE AFRAID OF ME? I SHARE WHAT I KNOW.

EVERYONE WONDERS ABOUT A LOT OF THINGS. SMART FOLK SEEK THE RIGHT SOURCES FOR THEIR ANSWERS

I post for those people to know that they are not alone in their wondering.

ONCE MORE EVERYONE WONDERS ABOUT A LOT OF THINGS. SMART FOLK SEEK THE RIGHT SOURCES FOR THEIR ANSWERS. AND YOU ARE DEFINITELY NOT A VERY GOOD SOURCE

Aren’t circular arguments a hoot? YOUR ARGUMENTS ARE NOT CIRCULAR, WHY? ARE THEY LINEAR, DIVERGENT? CONVERGENT? FULL IN, OR LACKING IN BOMBAST. WHICH

We know that all scripture is good for instruction because the scripture says so! IT SURE DOES

36. @GP November 14, 2019 10:51 AM

Hold back nothing, brother!

Even if you and I don’t agree on every detail, I sense we have one common purpose. I am backing you 120%!

Our nation is going to pieces and all that some can offer to help is their own vomit and verbal diarrhoea! What a way to pass the time!

The spiritual, economic, social etc stakes are too high here!

If they can’t understand, I suggest they try “Send In The Clowns” by Judy Collins . Especially the last verse!

Let it rip!

37. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Ironside at !0 :46 AM

You are quite right. I try to be logical.
    Moreover I know that when two persons are arguing and start from different premises and have different definitions for the same words,the exercise is one of futility. I do not engage in those pursuits.

38. I wonder why God would need to waste time punishing us when we are so good at punishing ourselves. I actually think we can do a better job at it. Look how miserable the world is! Even the billionaires can’t find peace because when you worship the god of money you can never have enough. Gotta make more and THEN i’ll be happy. Addicts are never happy.

And those addicted to power realize they don’t have real power. Not when they know they cannot make themselves live forever. Poor blighters got to die young or watch themselves decline into death just like the rest of us.

Am I at peace? Got things I’m not happy with but once I’m working on them I’m fine.

Just as I am still getting to know God. He/She doesn’t just write. He/She speaks!

I do not need to know all to trust that whether i live or die I will be with God. It’ll be okay in the end. And so I face whatever comes not without human emotions but eventually overcoming them.

If I die by violent mean, I will be afraid at first. But I will die, not paralyzed with fear, but praying.

Seems like a good time to pause.

Over to the clanging cymbal!

39. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLifeNovember 14, 2019 7:45 AM

+++Cuhdear Ironside, tummuch long talk.

Love God.

Love yuh neighbor+++

That is the sum total of Christianity????

++You got Christianity from a fellow++ makes perfect sense!!!.

Dear Lord!

If you agree to change your name to Simple-For-Life! it would make MUCH more sense!

40. @Vincent Codrington November 14, 2019 11:28 AM

You are quite right. I try to be logical.
    Moreover I know that when two persons are arguing and start from different premises and have different definitions for the same words,the exercise is one of futility. I do not engage in those pursuits.

I concur. Ii is all about choice of premises. Take your pick!

41. @Donna: November 14, 2019 8:10 AM

You must let me know how you logically reasoned out the following from what I wrote:

Now we have “Only Barbados is in possession of truly God-fearing people”.

42. WHEN EVER I HAVE FAILED TO CARRY OUT A BIBLE INSTRUCTION WHETHER BECAUSE OF IGNORANCE OR BECAUSE OF DISOBEDIENCE I HAVE SUFFERED THE CONSEQUENCES.

FOR THOSE UNGODLY FOLK WHO SEEM TO GET AWAY WITH THEIR EVIL BE REMINDED OF THE TRUTHS OF PSALM 37

Fret not thyself because of evildoers, neither be thou envious against the workers of iniquity.

2 For they shall soon be cut down like the grass, and wither as the green herb.

3 Trust in the Lord, and do good; so shalt thou dwell in the land, and verily thou shalt be fed.

4 Delight thyself also in the Lord: and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.

5 Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.

6 And he shall bring forth thy righteousness as the light, and thy judgment as the noonday.

7 Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for him: fret not thyself because of him who prospereth in his way, because of the man who bringeth wicked devices to pass.

8 Cease from anger, and forsake wrath: fret not thyself in any wise to do evil.

9 For evildoers shall be cut off: but those that wait upon the Lord, they shall inherit the earth.

10 For yet a little while, and the wicked shall not be: yea, thou shalt diligently consider his place, and it shall not be.

POSTED WITH BOMBAST——-what ever dat is

43. re Addicts are never happy.

THIS IS FALSE! BECAUSE NOT ALL ADDICTS ARE SAD. DEPENDS WHAT YOU ARE ADDICTED TO
    EXAMPLE

I beseech you, brethren, (ye know the house of Stephanas, that it is the firstfruits of Achaia, and that they have addicted themselves to the ministry of the saints,) 1 Corinthians 16:15

NEVER MET ANYONE WHO have addicted themselves to the ministry of the saints THAT ARE UNHAPPY. . NEVER!
    NEVER MET ANYONE WHO have addicted themselves to the STUDY AND PRACTICE OF GODS WORD THAT ARE UNHAPPY. . NEVER!

this can not be refuted!

SIGNED the clanging cymbal, with bombast!

44. re I wonder why God would need to waste time punishing us when we are so good at punishing ourselves.
    I DONT WONDER ABOUT THIS

THE BIBLE SAYS IT IS SO………….AND I HAVE FOUND IT TO BE SO!

this can not be refuted!

SIGNED the clanging cymbal, with bombast!

45. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@GO “How are we to know how to love and how to live?

“And who is my neighbour?” [that is who I am supposed to love and how?]

The parable of the good Samaritan: “A man was going down from Jerusalem to Jericho, when he was attacked by robbers. They stripped him of his clothes, beat him and went away, leaving him half dead. A priest happened to be going down the same road, and when he saw the man, he passed by on the other side. So too, a Levite, when he came to the place and saw him, passed by on the other side. But a Samaritan, as he traveled, came where the man was; and when he saw him, he took pity on him. He went to him and bandaged his wounds, pouring on oil and wine. Then he put the man on his own donkey, brought him to an inn and took care of him. The next day he took out two denarii and gave them to the innkeeper. ‘Look after him,’ he said, ‘and when I return, I will reimburse you for any extra expense you may have.’ Which of these three do you think was the neighbor to the man who fell to the robbers? The lawyer replied “He who had mercy on him” Jesus replied “Go and do likewise”

Go and DO likewise.

46. I agree with ironsides like simpson motors all the murderers and criminals should be sent back to the manufacturer for training

47. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Ironside at 11:50

The “fella” name Jesus the Christ.

And he said “love God, love thy neighbour” and “on this hangs all the law and all the prophets.”

More than 2 billion people believe that he knew what he was talking ’bout?

I believe in and practice the love thingy.

Why not you?

48. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Lawson at 1:08 PM

LOL!! Good one! But how are we going to explain all these breaches of treaties we signed on Human Rights?

49. @Ironside

Will look for another image for you. The image here symbolizes The Purge required if as a society we are to survive.

50. re “How are we to know how to love and how to live?

“And who is my neighbour?” [that is who I am supposed to love and how?]

THE PARABLE OF THE GOOD SAMARITAN IS AN ILLUSTRATION- THAT’S ALL
    CLEARLY THIS PARABLE DOES NOT GIVE ALL THE DETAIL OF THE INFORMATION WE NEED TO KNOW……….ELSE WE CAN THROW AWAY THE REST OF THE BOOK