Ingrid Inness

Two of the most newsworthy and jaw dropping events to have rocked the local political scene in the last 18 months were – the decimation of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in the last general election, AND, the arrest of former DLP minister Donville Inniss in the United States.

BU pages must record Donville Inniss entered a plea of NOT GUILTY and the case is scheduled to be heard in October 28, 2019. He is charged with laundering USD36,000 derived from a bribe offered by former employees of Insurance Corporation of Barbados Limited (ICBL) Alex Tasker and Ingrid Innes. Said monies were wired by ICBL to the principal of a dental company domiciled in New York with Inniss the beneficiary. Disclosures in documents filed by the United States Attorney Office revealed Inniss’ troubles were said to be linked to political rivals trying to frame him.

Since the news of Inniss arrest there is a sub story that has not been subjected to the full glare of public scrutiny. We have our moribund traditional media to hold accountable for reneging on its mandate to pursue truth. A reminder the media is referred to as the guardian of truth:-

The purpose, ‘raison d’être’, of this fourth element is to act as an counterbalance, a systemically opposite force that is to report, verify and question matters of governance, public matters as well as commercial ones, conducted by the powers, we the people, have entrusted it with and bestowed upon – On the role of journalism: facts vs

The Commissioner of Police (CoP) Tyrone Griffith is on the record he will not investigate the matter involving ICBL – a company incorporated in Barbados – identified as the source of Donville’s legal trouble. The CoP’s position was supported by Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACoP) in charge of crime Eucklyn Thompson who was also quoted in the press:

We can only deal with what is available to us. We can’t go by any speculation or that kind of thing. We will deal [with] whatever comes before us in terms of evidence… and the investigative process . . . . We will definitely do our part. But in terms of names mentioned and that kind of thing so being put on the table, that’s not what it is – Barbados police won’t touch case involving former gov’t minister Inniss

Alex Tasker

The substance of the police position is that they must have a complaint lodged in order to pursue any matter. The idiocy of the CoP and the ACoP declared position is that AG Dale Marshall urged the police chief to launch an investigation into bribery allegations involving Inniss and the Bermudian-owned, Barbados-based ICBL. However, as an independent body, the RBPF cannot be legally instructed by a Cabinet minister to undertake investigations; that role is reserved for the Crown’s Director of Public Prosecutions. Another WTF moment.

If you have information you prefer to share with only the blogmaster use the following form:

We know that US court documents implicate former ICBL employees Alex Tasker and Ingrid Innes. We know that the local employee implicated in the alleged bribing of Donville Inniss  was fired by ICBL and also had to part ways from Digicel as Executive Chairman. To the blogmaster’s simple way of thinking there is enough for the police to initiate an investigation. Instead what we have is business as usual with the authority class closing ranks in BIM.

226 responses to “The Donville Inniss Sub Story”

1. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

They just don’t want to set any precedent that may be followed in the future. Imagine in future times we have a COP hellbent on justice and the pursuit thereof. It would be interesting times for sure if it were to ever happen.

The RBPF motto may be changed to ” To Protect, To Serve To Ensure…” The curious part will be “to ensure what and who from what and from who”

The more you know, the fewer things seem to change or make sense.

Just saying.

2. But David u know what is stuck in my craw is Charles Herbert sailing on a luxury yatch laden with drugs sails in to barbados port and he is not held accountable
    Also what makes for wonderment is what happened to the black man a crew member on the yatch who was languishing in jail because he could not get bail money
    Boy yuh tell yuh.

3. You forgot to mention that ICBL confessed to US authorities to BRIBING a sitting minister and PAID the money/profits they were going to earn from the bribery…in fines to the US government…all of that seemed to have escaped this questionable DPP…whom i repeat…should have no such powers.,.it is an abuse of the legal system…but what’s new in CORRUPT Barbados.

The DPP deceased MIDUSED and ABUSED those absolute powers that no DPP should have….to benefit himself and a gaggle of minority crooks and it is clear that this one is no different.

4. @SirFuzzy

We have to do what responsible citizens are obligated so to do, agitate and advocate.

Here is the declination/disgorgement order posted to BU on August 27, 20918.

https://barbadosunderground.net/2018/08/27/icbl-receives-declination-with-disgorgement/

5. You are so politically hem pecked that that you lack the comprehension to appreciate the substance of the blog is not about Donville Inniss.

6. On a phone, so I have to be short.
    Have a great day Barbados.
    May each passing minute get better.

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, you are being exceedingly well intentioned (pedantic even, 😁) but absolutely impractical and threading on dangerous ground.

Let’s SERIOUSLY examine that last point vis your comment that “However, as an independent body, the RBPF cannot be legally instructed by a Cabinet minister to undertake investigations; that role is reserved for the Crown’s Director of Public Prosecutions. Another WTF moment.”

David, that is absolutely technically important and should always be the reality and not just a perception..no cabinet official whether AG or otherwise should be able to initiate/suggest/demand a criminal investigation into ANYTHING….the process is clear: if a cabinet official receives evidence (let’s say via confidential govt to govt intercepts) then his office prepares non-classified details and pass it to the DPP’s office for their investigation and THEIR DECISION on bringing an indictment!

There is bold faced evidence in the US on WHY political interfence into alleged criminal matters is WRONG.

The ONLY WTF moment is that the learned attorney Mr Marshall advised publicly as he did…We can’t be right and wrong at the same time, senor…. Dangerous ground!

You are being impractical to actually perceive that ANY police investigation of a well known political bribery matter in ANY small jurisdiction like ours can proceed without the wink and nod of the PM…makes no sense, bro, and you know that!

Why was there no investigation of the ample evidence of the illegal telephone tapping or of the even more ample evidence of the Cahill malfeasance…you may argue that neither of these had the imprint of an external indictment as a definitive source of evidence but both of them surely had other rather clear evidentiary sources that could have been explored…. there was no will by the political bosses and the DPP or CoP cannot investigate those type matters unless the will is there.

We can palaver on the justice of that all we want but that’s the way of life here and in all small nations like ours…full stop!

Your site and others like it in this modern era is NOW the FORCE….you and others will be that “fourth estate” voice to keep government officials “honest” and ideally help voters know who to elect…fulminating about the mis-use of political power on matters like the Donville case is cool but will still be there tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow…soooo out, out brief candle!

8. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ David.

There is something that goes like this “We are looking for a few good men/women” to right the wrongs and steady the ship etc blah blah blah. Men and women of integrity etc. blah blah blah.

The reality in Bim is that what we are looking for no longer exists. It has been hunted outta extinction.

Blame the duopoly? Blame it on the rain. Blame it on the farting cattle. That type/kind of person will now be seen in museums.

Agitate advocate all you want, we need fewer talkers and a multitude of doers. So far I have seen no hands raised. Tell me what you have seen.

Just my take.

9. @SirFuzzy

There is a book where this quote can be found:

To create one contagious movement, you often have to create many small movements first.

https://getgist.com/the-tipping-point-quotes-that-you-need-to-go-viral/

10. @Sir Fuzzy
    Allow me to disagree with two of your points. It may be the equivalent of dotting i’s but the exercise needs to be done.

“The reality in Bim is that what we are looking for no longer exists.”
    ** I disagree. I have seen a few good men and women here. I can easily name a dozen here that though I d not personally know them I would take their word. Their words show that they are above the partisan fray and are interested in the progress of their island.

“So far I have seen no hands raised can easily name.”
    ** I think Grenville has raised his hand. Let;’ not talk about his favorite topic. Also we have a second third party trying to establish itself.

But I fully understand and appreciate the point you made. Looking at events unfold can be disheartening and have often driven me to a state of extreme pessimism.

11. David Amm maybe i am wrong speckled fowl but some way along the lines of the article i happened to see Donville Inniss name embedded
    Oops by the way my comment was not about Donville Innis but about Charles Herbert
    Gosh golly

12. Links to the related cases of Ingrid Inness and Alex Tasker.

https://www.justice.gov/criminal-fraud/fcpa/cases/ingrid-innes

13. @Dee Word

Inniss and accomplices should be investigated, says AG

LOOP NEWS CREATED : 9 AUGUST 2018BARBADOS NEWS

Share to FacebookShare to TwitterShare to LinkedInShare to WhatsAppShare to MessengerShare to EmailShare to TelegramShare to More45

Attorney General, Dale Marshall is of the view the company executives and former Minister, Donville Inniss who have been implicated in money laundering scheme should be investigated by the Royal Barbados Police Force (RBPF).
    Responding to questions from the media at a press briefing today, the AG said government cannot directly instruct the Police Commissioner to launch an investigation or bring charges against anyone.
    But at the same time, Marshall said he believed the RBPF should not have to wait on a complainant to initiate investigations, adding as long as they have enough evidence to charge those involved, they should do so.

Related article :Former Minister arrested and charged in the US

“Any instance where police have information that an offence has been committed I would feel that it is in their remit to investigate and bring charges where appropriate.
    I don’t think it fair for the Commissioner of Police to take the attitude that somebody must complain but the fact is that, I don’t want to think of it in terms of somebody complaining, I want to think of it in terms of somebody being a victim.”
    Earlier this week, it was revealed that Inniss, was arrested in Florida and charged with a three-count indictment for money laundering which also involved three executives of a local insurance company. The indictment alleges that Inniss accepted US $36,000 from the company executives which includes the Chief Executive Officer, the Senior Vice President and the Chief Financial Officer, in exchange for the The Barbados Investment and Development Corporation (BIDC) renewing insurance contracts with the company.
    Marshall went onto say, although there is no complainant as is the case with criminal matters, the victims are Barbadian citizens and this is reason enough to investigate and charge those involved.
    “To the extent that monies were involved, paid by the people of Barbados into an insurance company- there is a victim and I don’t think we need to have a complainant in an instance where a crime has been committed.
    I believe it is well within the powers of the police so long as the people are within our jurisdiction to bring charges against them.”
    In addressing the insurance company at the center of the money laundering allegations and what possible penalties they could face, the Attorney General said there is no need to punish an entire company for the wrong doings of a few.
    “We have a major insurance corporation in Barbados that carries most of government’s insurance coverage. It has just been discovered that their officers have been engaged in corrupt practices. How do we justify continuing to place insurance coverage with that company? But at the same time, a large percentage of the shares in that company are owned by Barbadians like you or me and also by the government.”
    “Do we say you have done wrong and therefore we are going to yank all of it? Are we going to encourage Barbadians not to insure with that entity? We are not talking about a decision of the entire body but the misguided decision of one or two people.”
    During the press conference the AG also revealed the Integrity in Public Life legislation will be going before the Select Committee on August 27 and the discussion is set to be live streamed.

14. @ David (BU):
    “To the blogmaster’s simple way of thinking there is enough for the police to initiate an investigation. Instead what we have is business as usual with the authority class closing ranks in BIM.”

On what basis are tips about criminal activity received via the CRIMESTOPPERS programme acted upon?

Are these tips treated as ‘complaints’ from ANONYMOUS parties?

Would the same Crime-busting officials accept a tip about the IBCL bribery or does this ‘crime-fighting facility only applies to ‘low-tech’ criminal activity like drug dealing in socially and economically depressed areas in Barbados?

15. @Miller

Good question. There are several airy fairy press write up in the local press – http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/crime-stoppers-tips-leading-arrests. However have a look at USA Crime Stoppers website compared to Barbados:

US website – https://www.crimestoppersusa.org/total-stats/ BrB – http://crimestoppersbarbados.com

16. @David
    However, as an independent body, the RBPF cannot be legally instructed by a Cabinet minister to undertake investigations; that role is reserved for the Crown’s Director of Public Prosecutions. Another WTF moment.

++++++++++++
    I don’t want to put words in your mouth but would appreciate your explaining further the editorial three word comment “ Another WTF moment” .

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David let me be clear…I completely agree that a police dept. needs no more initiative to investigate a crime other than a (reasonable) suspicion of wrong doing…that has ALWAYS been the dictum or lawful reasoning that any PO can use to act.

The most cliched example is that of seeing a person walking the street late evening or night time in a residential neigborhood other than his own with tools like screwdrivers, lock picks and so on… Is he heading home from his job as a carpenter/locksmith or seeking to burgalarize …a reasonable PO can stop and ask him some pointed questions without someone having to guide or provide a tip.

Extend that specific situation more broadly and you get the point of reasonable suspicion when circumstantial evidence is there …clearly if there is hard evidence – as this case – of wrong doing a PO can then surely initiate to see if a criminal act was done… that’s clear as day!

Awright den… cue the political power play and all that is basically meaningless! That’s reality bro!

Mr Marshall is a very, very smart man so I will respectfully say again that he was way out of bounds to make the statements he made BECAUSE it was a political matter.

I would also repeat: if HIS party boss wanted this matter investigated then it WOULD be…and if HE had independent power and was really moved to have this explored then it also would be too.

He is playing a public shaming game to garner political mileage … I am NOT mamiguyed but his hot air…just as I dismiss the syncophant here who automatically brought up Herbert above in stupid response to the deeper point u were making.

I gone!

18. This is not a run of the mill investigation. Money Laundering itself is not strictly a primary crime it is secondary in most case to a predicate offence meaning another crime that led to the proceeds of criminal conduct (money or property) being used in some unlawful way.

The predicate crime in this instance seems to be fraud and or bribery depending on the laws of Bim, which surround the illegal way in which the ICBL gained the contract to do with providing insurance for some government entity.

As such the contract, the parties involved, who initiated it and signed off on it are important elements in the matter. How does a fraud investigator begin an investigation without intricate knowledge in the form of a complaint with said documents (or a statement of complaint)?

An investigator would have to rely on the information from the US which in its present form are not enough or cannot not be used in Bim for the basis of a court order to force ICBL or a govt service to pass on documents or information for police to have a platform from which to investigate.

If Marshall was serious he would have long ago instructed some govt official in the department concerned to gather together all the relevant documents along with a signed information of what the documents mean and an explanation of how they were used in relation to the contract with ICBL – a formal complaint and from there the police investigators would have a basis from which to work.

They could then get subpoenas or production orders from the Court to force ICBL to produce relevant documents in its possession, the banks and from anyone investigator can show would have such documents in their possession. They can also start to record statement from relevant persons

In the meantime, the DPP or relevant authority would be working on a Mutual Legal Assistance Treaty request with the US to produce whatever relevant documents they have in a manner acceptable in Bim Courts including statements from Inness and the Company through which the criminal money was routed.

Investigations of this nature are complex, technical and not as easily investigated as some here seem to think. I have known of no investigation of this nature that has not been initiated without some sort of complaint and much depends on the cooperation of govt entities which in most cases are not as forthcoming as some here seem to believe.

19. A body burnt beyond recognition was discovered early yesterday morning in a cart road behind an abandoned house in the Parish of St Whichever.

The CoP and his deputy have indicated that there will be no investigation into this incident as no report of a missing person has been received or complaints laid in connection with this occurrence.

Is it possible that there will never be any investigation into the unaccounted-for millions of taxpayer dollars that went missing during the period spanning the last administration?

Is it further possible that while holding responsibility for the ministry overseeing Defense and Security during a previous administration, that the person holding that position could have ordered an investigation by the Financial Crimes Unit of the RBPF into any improprieties committed by people in high places from a previous administration, and the damning evidence has been zealously held as insurance against the pursuit of legal action against themselves and others of similar ilk?

Ah, what a twisted web we weave.

20. @Greene

It is evident from all that we know above and underground that ICBL executives have been cooperating with the authorities. On this basis they should be no issue if a local authority inquired for the information to initiate a case. You correctly stated the money laundering matter is attached to a crime that originated in Barbados.

21. @Dee Word

Many reading your comments will conclude you are being unnecessarily pedantic.

22. @Sargeant

What the france?

23. Greene September 22, 2019 12:22 PM
    “Investigations of this nature are complex, technical and not as easily investigated as some here seem to think. I have known of no investigation of this nature that has not been initiated without some sort of complaint and much depends on the cooperation of govt entities which in most cases are not as forthcoming as some here seem to believe.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So let us cut to the chase!

What about a long-standing client of the same ICBL- like our own BU Simple Simone(e)- making a complaint to the effect that some of her premium payments made during the period in question were used to pay, allegedly, bribes to a Minister of the Crown.

Would you act, in loco parentis of the CoP or DPP, to ensure that there is some investigation to the veracity of her claim/ complaint?

24. @Miller

A better example is the government as the customer. A significant legal action or damage to reputation could impact government’s arrangement?

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Well Mr Blogmaster, I will interpret pedantic to mean stating the obvious…but it was YOU who posed the moot about the supposed recalcitrance of the police…

Was it NOT obivioudly pedantic WHY they acted that way…and not re the contrived stuff analysis from @Greene.

And to Mr Greene: surely matters of insider fraud will invariably go undetected unless there is a tip – or the word prominent currently – a whistleblower.

That said your analysis of this local situation confused reality.

Fact: An indictment for money laundering was levelled against a Bajan citizen. Money laundering is generally a CRIME in ALL jurisdictions.

Fact: As u noted this indictment related to an underlying crime of possible bribery in contract negotiations locally.

Fact: There is thus AMPLE circumstantial evidence to enter the premises of ICBL and DEMAND via court order paperwork and info re said contract and then the same re bank accounts.

Fact: Yes it’s complex and can be a legal challenge if the alleged suspect has a sharp lawyer…regardless this situation based on PUBLIC facts is primed for official investigation action!

26. @Dee Word

What is your view the citizenry wants to see the authorities making an attempt to determine truth even IF the legal hurdle appears insurmountable? Where does confidence in the ‘system’ come from if they pursue only ABC stuff?

27. @ David September 22, 2019 1:28 PM

It would be interesting to hear the views of the same sleuth the former D I Green(e) on his interpretation of the provisions contained in the following extract of the Bajan laws. At least he ought to be familiar with the ‘fact’ that Bribery is a criminal offence under the laws of Barbados.

CAP. 129 Money Laundering and Financing of Terrorism (Prevention and Control)
    PART I

MONEY LAUNDERING

(1) A person engages in money laundering where
    (a) the person engages, directly or indirectly, in a transaction that
    involves money or other property that is proceeds of crime; or

(b) the person receives, possesses, conceals, disposes of, or brings
    into or sends out of Barbados any money or other property that
    is proceeds of crime.

(2) For the purposes of this section, a person engages in money
    laundering whether he knows or has reasonable grounds to suspect
    that the property is derived or realised directly or indirectly from some
    form of unlawful activity or, where the person is

(a) an individual, if he fails without reasonable excuse to take
    reasonable steps to ascertain whether or not the property is
    derived or realised, directly or indirectly, from some form of
    unlawful activity; or

(b) a financial institution, if the person fails to take reasonable
    steps to implement or apply procedures to control or combat
    money laundering.

Any act done by a person outside Barbados with intent to do
    that act within Barbados is, if it would be an offence within Barbados,
    an offence under this Act.

28. @Miller

Would it not be interesting to see the reason given by ICBL to support the wire transfer to the Dental Office in New York?

29. QUESTION
    What are the main problems facing Barbados?

ANSWER
    How to overcome poverty and technological backwardness.

QUESTION
    In the fight against poverty and backwardness, how much does it matter that a former government minister may have secured a small bribe?

ANSWER
    On a scale of one to ten, this case is about a three. Bribery and corruption are never to be encouraged, but corruption is rarely a major obstacle to economic or technological progress. China, India, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Malaysia and Turkey are profoundly corrupt countries with booming, dynamic economies.

QUESTION
    Why does the Caribbean political class spend so much time worrying about bribery, other forms of corruption, the threat of dictatorship, etc

ANSWER
    The political class is dominated by lawyers, who constantly focus on problems — like illegal behaviour — that can be addressed or fixed by legal procedures. Meanwhile, the most important factors causing poverty and backwardness remain neglected

30. for all the long talk, it has been 6 months close to a year that this inniss matter surfaced and the CoP has said there is no complaint for his detectives to begin an investigation. with all that known, why hasnt Marshall been able to direct a govt official to make an official complaint or why hasn’t ICBL made one of its own accord or in the interest of the public?

ask yourselves that?

31. @Greene

This the point.

32. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Sir Blogmaster

You really like to entertain a lot of long talk tho tho. Em is clear as crystal that in the eyes of the Generals of Barbados, the Donville Inniss story does not constitute a crime. His being caught highlighted the money laundering matter as a crime in another jurisdiction but in the Barbados-situation money laundered or should I say, the business of taking money from others as rewards for contracts rendered, is in the eyes of Barbadian politicians, normal business. As one person stated, to have the police force investigate the Donville Inniss issue through ICBL would be to set a precedent unheard of in Barbados that could put the two political parties under the microscope. Donville would do well to come back to Barbados after he gets his name cleared in the states. And, even if he is found guilty, he still does not have anything to worry about. Ezra Alleyne left the island for a few years and came back to practice law like he never was implicated in a matter involving clients money. So Donville just got to come back home and set up shop, toss a few dollars at the hungry mout brutes and he is embraced again as the man for the political hour.

33. @ David,

Where is the image of Ingrid Innes that should have been next to Alex Tasker ?

Both are innocent until…

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/233707/-icbl-execs-indicted

34. Paying a bribe is a crime.

Receiving a bribe is a crime.

35. @Hants

The focus of the blog is on the local player from the perspective there is no reason why the police/DPP should not have opened an investigation.

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2018/08/icbl.png

36. @ David,

Some of those who may have payed bribes could possibly be white.

That is my opinion from a CanBajan perspective.

37. Can senior civil servants be also accepting bribes for information on government (ministerial) policies?

38. Barbados Underground Whilstelblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whilstelblower

The focus of the blog is on the local player from the perspective there is no reason why the police/DPP should not have opened an investigation.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

You guys really don’t get it.

There are senior policemen and detectives on the take involved in guns, drugs, planting evidence, beatings, human trafficking, extortion, etc.

This is all Par for the Course.

Alex Tasker has been a Fraudster for a very long time.

39. @ Barbados Underground Whilstelblower September 22, 2019 6:11 PM

Whistleblower, you are a man who has been (not as an operator) at the coalface of criminal activity and cover-up once it involves the politically and socially well-connected in Barbados.

How come you don’t know who is the person to whom the recent shipment of handguns was destined but interdicted (maybe accidentally) at the depot of an air courier business?

Or was this reported incident another flash of fake news?

40. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Sunshine Sunny ShineSeptember 22, 2019 2:43 PM “even if he is found guilty, he still does not have anything to worry about.”

You sure?

I would not like to be a black man found guilty of anything in the United States.

“Currently, African Americans and Hispanics/Latinos make up 56% of prisoners but are only 28% of the U.S. population. Although “color blind” on the surface, racial disparities appear in every
    stage of the criminal justice system, which has built the resulting prison and jail population over decades. Whites and African Americansengage in drug use at similar rates, but African Americans are much more likely to be arrested for it. ”
    More: http://www.usccb.org/issues-and-action/human-life-and-dignity/racism/upload/racism-and-criminal-justice.pdf

I would not like to be a black man found guilty of anything in the United States.

41. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Ewart ArcherSeptember 22, 2019 1:59 PM “corruption is rarely a major obstacle to economic or technological progress.”

You sure? This Harvard chappie and the U.S. National Bureau of Economic Research think otherwise think otherwise.

Corruption in economic development: beneficial grease, minor annoyance or major obstacle / Shang-Jin Wei. Harvard University and [U.S.] National Bureau of Economic Research.
    http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/viewdoc/download?doi=10.1.1.196.4006&rep=rep1&type=pdf

42. @ SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife September 22, 2019 8:33 PM
    “I would not like to be a black man found guilty of anything in the United States.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Seems as if you are experiencing a Pauline-type ‘period’ by your conversion from seeing ‘black’ men as being the source of all social problems to a state of empathic appreciation of the ‘blackened’ plight of that ‘dog-like’ group which exists at the very last rung of the socio-economic ladder.

For, at last, the blinkers of ignorance and brainwashing have been miraculously removed from your eyes and the pulse of enlightenment has energized your once comatose sexist brain.

Mr. whiteHill, can we have a shout of hallelujah for the sister Simple Simone who was once blind but can now see?

Indeed a perfect case of ‘Amazing Grace’ in action!

43. Barbados Underground Whilstelblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whilstelblower

Miller

How come you don’t know who is the person to whom the recent shipment of handguns was destined but interdicted (maybe accidentally) at the depot of an air courier business?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Don’t know who.

However, you can rest assured that someone in the Protect and Serve Brigade is licking their chops for a kickback to keep out of jail free card similar given to Charles Herbert who was caught red-handed, charged and then walk scots free having greased the wheels internally.

44. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Isn’t it amazing that the police investigate, the DPP manages to lay murder charges, and that juries convict, and judges sentence (even to death) and jailers jail, even though murder victims only rarely lay official complaints.

But no doubt one of the bright political persons will come here and tell me that I “don’t understand” as though they think that I am in Infants B.

The police only need REASONABLE AND PROBABLE CAUSE that a crime may have been committed in order to begin investigating/collecting evidence.

45. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@MillerSeptember 22, 2019 9:09 PM “Seems as if you are experiencing a Pauline-type ‘period’ by your conversion from seeing ‘black’ men as being the source of all social problems to a state of empathic appreciation.”

Love black men. Always have. I can’t imagine what has led you to feel otherwise.

46. Sir Simple Simon

The Harvard chappie to whom you refer did some research that was funded by the World Bank/IMF. The World Bank is a BANK which lends money to Third World governments. Any bank wants its loans repaid on time, and public corruption can get in the way of repayment.

Unsurprisingly, the World Bank is a hawk on the corruption issue.

The scholarly paper you cite does not (and cannot) claim that public corruption prevents economic development. It only points to evidence that suggests it can slow down the pace of development. However, this evidence is cherry-picked from data for a few years and a few countries. The analysis of this data involves simple regression models that omit key variables.

I could run some regressions on “corruption” data from Africa, the Philippines, and the OECD countries which appear to provide statistical evidence of the harm caused by corruption. But is Africa really slow to develop because of corruption, or are there deeper causes not measured in our regression equations?

47. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Talking about slackness in the systems. The front page of today’s Nation. In 2002 a complaint was laid that a 13 year old had been raped by a teacher. The case came to court in 2017, by which time the 13 year old was then 28 and did not wish to be re-traumatised by giving evidence. So the case was dismissed. The teacher shows up at his old school at the end of last term. He had been on [no doubt tax-funded] leave all of that time. He is due to retire in January [no doubt on a tax funded pension]. The Sunday Sun quotes Minister Santia Bradshaw as saying “He is on a term’s leave and due to retire in January” Is this leave with full pay? And a senior education official says “we have to follow the General Orders”

And as Red Plastic Bag says “nobody get a day fah dat.

We the people are mad.

Or we the people are bad.

But we are certainly not normal, sensible, morally centered people.

How is it that we have never heard that justice delayed is justice denied?

How did it take 15 years to bring to court a case involving an allegstion of sexual assault against a minor.

What was everybody in the system doing?

48. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Ewart ArcherSeptember 22, 2019 9:46 PM “The Harvard chappie to whom you refer did some research that was funded by the World Bank/IMF. The World Bank is a BANK which lends money to Third World governments. Any bank wants its loans repaid on time.”

Of course any bank, or any individual, even you or me wants our loans repaid on time. And if we have to be hawks to get our money back is that a bad thing? Would you rather your friend took a cruise, and offered you excuses instead of paying you back your money?

But maybe I “don’t understand”

49. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Ewart Archer “But is Africa really slow to develop because of corruption, or are there deeper causes not measured in our regression equations?”

Corruption AND deeper causes.

And either one compounds the other.

Even you admit that “It only points to evidence that suggests it can slow down the pace of development.”

My question is “how far is it from slow to stop?”

And “do we really want to move from slow to stop.”

And “who is hurting when this slowing down happens?”

Who are the beneficiaries of corruption?

And who are the victims?

50. The recent fiasco in court with the Commissioner of Police being refused some court document by justice Olson Alleyne SOULD BE EVIDENCE ENOUGH THAT Dale Marshall is not really intending to prosecute Pornville.

Mugabe is trying to get Pornville out of jail AND ALL THIS IS PURELY AN EXERCISE IN PUBLICITY.

In fact, it would not surprise me if this blog is an attempt to see what, IF ANY INCRIMINATING EVIDENCE, exists out there in this Pornville case.

They want to know who EFFED up Pornville.

There is no serious attempt to get his ass locked up.

http://imgur.com/Lhzwlp2