If someone were to drink a glass of gramoxone (a popular herbicide), we may reasonably conclude that the person wants to die. We may speculate about their motives, but the consequences of that action are known since it is a common suicide-method in Barbados.

Barbados is a wonderful place to live. The climate is conducive for good human health. The taxpayers provide more than enough money to fund quality public services – everyone who needs help should receive an adequate amount if the funds were properly managed. Of all nations on earth, we should be the least likely to be suicidal and yet we seem to rank high.

SICK NATION.

How is it possible for a country that scores so high on the Human Development Index among nations to have some of the highest incidence-rates of: colon cancer, prostate cancer, breast cancer, strokes and diabetes. No one gave us these diseases.

Most who get these diseases die within 10 years and many within five. We know this, yet we persist with choosing lifestyles that we know will likely result in our premature deaths. Eating badly has become a Barbadian tradition – the unhealthier the food, the more likely it will be on the menu. The foreseen result is that the body gets fat, sick and diseased.

Many Barbadians are addicted to paying fast-food restaurants over $20 for tasty unhealthy foods that hasten their final visit to the undertaker – to whom their surviving relatives must pay. They can save about 90% of the cost of fast-food by cooking tasty healthy meals within 30 minutes, but they choose not to.

SUICIDAL NATION.

We have been deceived into ingesting poison as food – because it tastes good. If while eating we were to convulse on the ground in agony, we would likely decide never to eat that type of food again. However, sipping it daily and not feeling the immediate effects deceived us into believing it is not harmful. But it is, and we know it is, but we are now too addicted to care. Since suicide is to die prematurely by our own deliberate actions, we are evidently a suicidal nation.

Grenville Phillips II is a Doctor of Engineering and Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

7 responses to “Sipping Gramoxone”

1. Food is likely just the most glaring example of our rabid suicidal intent.
    But EXACTLY this identical attitude prevails in multiple other sectors of our society.

Cleanliness is another area where we show great disrespect for our OWN selves and communities. From Government’s piss poor management of our solid and liquid waste systems, all the way to individuals’ poor cleanliness and hygiene at home.

Road manners, in a country where anyone you pass on the road has a good chance of being a relative, is appalling… clearly influenced by the impersonal arrogance and road rage characterized in our larger ‘model societies’.

Additionally, education, sports, youth development – all lack a clear focus on QUALITY, and are instead driven by political goals, PR objectives, and false promises.

But none of these inclinations should be surprising, since they ALL reflect our collective SPIRITUAL suicidal path.
    We are what we THINK, and our albino-centric focus on money, materialism, carnal pleasures (taste bud driven inclinations) and on political power
    – RATHER THAN ON A VISION OF LONG TERM SUCCESS, inevitably drives us to the fast-food merchants of our world.

Unfortunately, where there is no vision, brass bowls will always become fat, lazy, nasty, aggressive, violent, sick, and poor.

The fact that this is not OBVIOUS to all and sundry is the clearest evidence to Bushie, that we are under a serious spiritual curse that would require ash clothes and ashes to be cleared.

…well maybe not to ‘all and sundry’…
    Cause Pacha will object to ANYTHING that a certain book has clearly outlined…or that Grenville writes…
    But not stinking Bushie doh…!!!

What a place!!

2. The companies selling gramozone argue for moderation. Theirs is that a moderate amount of gramoxone as residue in plants is not harmful. Their business model is thusly built!

The general deterioration in the wellness of Bajans was never caused by a natural inclination to eat badly but by the industrialization of bad food, bad air, poisoned soils, polluted water, unhealthy building materials for housing and clothing; bad medicines and the manufactured demand for a supermarket culture.

This is causally different than the simplictic conjecture that Bajans willingly yearned for cultural death. Weeee say no. These are all circumstances imposed on the population, a recent construct, by both internal and external forces as driven by capitalism, the need for a quick profit.

Even an organism with a singular brain cell will naturally choose to exist. And such an existence should never have been the preserve of the moneyed or pettite-bourgoise elites alone.

3. @Bush Tea

When the blogmaster opined that we lack discipline in thought and execution a few days ago what was your response? Look at the orderly societies and observe that it correlates with a level in of success, certain economic?

4. You are what you eat. We have reached the point where we are a fast food society with junk food for snacks.

5. On the one hand we can’t argue that as individuals we have the capacity for free will and on the other hand, we are inclined to go with the flow. What separates humans from robots?

6. @John A

We have to separate the issues, there is the leadership required at the government level, hopefully such an approach would cascade to general population at the farmer and household levels. The truth is that we have seen some green shooting of it but by far not enough to significantly move the needle.

7. There is a gentleman who hosts an agriculture program on Sundays, Gibbs? One can listen to his frustration which always translates to him pelting lashes in the government for its neglect of the sector, then the predicable occurs, a few regular BLP idiots leading the charge in attacking him on the other programs.

What people will do for their 30 pieces of silver.