Ingrid Inness

Two of the most newsworthy and jaw dropping events to have rocked the local political scene in the last 18 months were – the decimation of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in the last general election, AND, the arrest of former DLP minister Donville Inniss in the United States.

BU pages must record Donville Inniss entered a plea of NOT GUILTY and the case is scheduled to be heard in October 28, 2019. He is charged with laundering USD36,000 derived from a bribe offered by former employees of Insurance Corporation of Barbados Limited (ICBL) Alex Tasker and Ingrid Innes. Said monies were wired by ICBL to the principal of a dental company domiciled in New York with Inniss the beneficiary. Disclosures in documents filed by the United States Attorney Office revealed Inniss’ troubles were said to be linked to political rivals trying to frame him.

Since the news of Inniss arrest there is a sub story that has not been subjected to the full glare of public scrutiny. We have our moribund traditional media to hold accountable for reneging on its mandate to pursue truth. A reminder the media is referred to as the guardian of truth:-

The purpose, ‘raison d’être’, of this fourth element is to act as an counterbalance, a systemically opposite force that is to report, verify and question matters of governance, public matters as well as commercial ones, conducted by the powers, we the people, have entrusted it with and bestowed upon – On the role of journalism: facts vs

The Commissioner of Police (CoP) Tyrone Griffith is on the record he will not investigate the matter involving ICBL – a company incorporated in Barbados – identified as the source of Donville’s legal trouble. The CoP’s position was supported by Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACoP) in charge of crime Eucklyn Thompson who was also quoted in the press:

We can only deal with what is available to us. We can’t go by any speculation or that kind of thing. We will deal [with] whatever comes before us in terms of evidence… and the investigative process . . . . We will definitely do our part. But in terms of names mentioned and that kind of thing so being put on the table, that’s not what it is – Barbados police won’t touch case involving former gov’t minister Inniss

Alex Tasker

The substance of the police position is that they must have a complaint lodged in order to pursue any matter. The idiocy of the CoP and the ACoP declared position is that AG Dale Marshall urged the police chief to launch an investigation into bribery allegations involving Inniss and the Bermudian-owned, Barbados-based ICBL. However, as an independent body, the RBPF cannot be legally instructed by a Cabinet minister to undertake investigations; that role is reserved for the Crown’s Director of Public Prosecutions. Another WTF moment.

If you have information you prefer to share with only the blogmaster use the following form:

Thank you for your response. ✨

We know that US court documents implicate former ICBL employees Alex Tasker and Ingrid Innes. We know that the local employee implicated in the alleged bribing of Donville Inniss  was fired by ICBL and also had to part ways from Digicel as Executive Chairman. To the blogmaster’s simple way of thinking there is enough for the police to initiate an investigation. Instead what we have is business as usual with the authority class closing ranks in BIM.

226 responses to “The Donville Inniss Sub Story”

1. Miller,

the AG said the police should investigate this matter when it came to light in the USA. the CoP said the police are not in the business of investigating such matters when a complaint has not been made. what does that have to do with the FIU? has a SAR being made to the FIU wrt this matter?

why, after all this time and in light of what the CoP has said, a govt official has not made a complaint? it seems to me that is what the AG should have instructed, no?

2. Not any official, a BLP official one would have assumed is politically vested.

3. @ Greene September 23, 2019 1:25 PM

You have already been told that. Its’ a financial intelligence gathering body operating under the remit of the Anti-Money Laundering Authority responsible for the execution of the Act.

If you read the legislation you should find that to be crystal clear.

What kind of cawmerian are you??? A Ha Ha Hal one???

4. Greene September 23, 2019 1:39 PM

Time for the DPP to step in and show her true colours, don’t you think?

5. Miller

so why did you make a big song and dance about their mandate? for what purpose?

you have done a good job of conflating if not confusing the issue

6. David

when i said Govt Official i meant a civil servant in the relevant department or a senior employee with the government agency in possession of or charged with issuance of the contract with ICBL

7. Miller

i dont know whether investigations of these types of matters are the remit of the DPP. if i remember correctly i believe i read a recent law where this Govt has conferred some investigative power upon the DPP. a mistake i think. they are not geared for that

in any case a complaint from a senior civil servant or equivalent with knowledge of the contract under discussion would get the ball rolling and place the matter squarely in the police hands. it is as simple as that

8. @ Greene September 23, 2019 1:54 PM

Sound and dance about whose mandate? The investigating agency?

Because the matter has been brought to their attention bwo a tip via Crimestoppers and nothing has been initiated except that the FBI might be soon issuing warrants of arrest for the other two alleged accomplices.

What are you going to do then? Disregard them the same way the evidence of money-laundering already in plain sight is being ignored in exchange for a few cameras to catch a few two-bit small-town criminals?

9. The big problem is that those paying bribes could be WHITE OR NON BLACK UNTOUCHABLES.

How are they going to charge the BLACK politicians for receiving bribes without naming those who PAID THE BRIBES ?

10. Guilty or innocent, why not just sit tight, receive the monthly salary for doing nothing and let the failure that is the justice system fail in this individual case.

John, no amount of unearned money would have made up for the loss of my good name if I had been accused of raping a minor. I would have been agitating for a trial. You have to be unnaturally lazy to count the joys of no having to work for a living as preferable to having your good name restored. Did he have a wife? How about children? What would have been the effect on them?

11. And around and around you go, when or where will it stop..

12. @Hants
    U r harping on Shiite.
    Nobody, not the former minister, not ICBL, nor any of its employees, former or current, have been charged in Barbados. In your lingo, the bribers and bribees.
    The charge is a USA charge, where the company admitted guilt and paid a fine, equal to the supposedly laundered amount of money. The employees guilt, if any, relates solely to activities in Barbados.
    Hence to pull the skin tone card, has no basis until any charges are laid in Bim.
    The homeland PM you reference, earlier had an SNC problem. Seemingly ignored, is that company was his Party’s big financial contributor. We have no idea what contributions ICBL makes? Like SNC, those contributions, could be the big ‘avoid charges’ card. Pols rarely throw their financial supporters under the bus.

13. At the end of the day the blatant absence of an investigation of this crime IS A CLEAR INDICATION OF THE COMPLICITY OF THE CHIEF OF POLICE.

http://imgur.com/ZUvCVHA

14. @ Piece the legend,

I was going to respond to NorthernObserver but my time is better spent watching the latest G G videos.

It is my opinion that before any charges are laid the COP and his investigators must make sure that there are no rich untouchables in the mix.

This time I am not suggesting that the untouchables are a lighter shade of pale. I am told that I see too many things in black and white. lol

15. @ Brother Hants

You are correct that this crime has been committed by a man in the colour of our skin physically BUT WITH A DARK HEART WHOSE “COLOUR” WE PRAY NEVER TO HAVE!

16. @ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for all who give a badword

17. David BU

Since we’re discussing corruption, I read an article in which it was mentioned that Deputy Commissioner of Police Oral Williams confirming the financial improprieties uncovered as a result of the Auditor General’s special audit of the Transport Board.

What are your thoughts on this development?

You would recall the special audit report highlighted a particular company “double invoiced” and overcharged TB for providing bus transmission repairs, receiving a significant amount in overpayments as a result.

Although the report did not identify the company, Lloyd Brathwaite subsequently admitted the repairs were done by Trans Tech Inc. He said he would willing repayment the amounts Trans-Tech received in overpayments, if TB could prove his company actually received the overpaid sums of money.

How do you believe a police investigation would affect Trans-Tech Inc. and by extension, Brathwaite, especially if we take into consideration he is an extremely rich and influential individual, and is well known to the “political class” in Barbados?

What implications do you believe this situation would have on the former Transport Minister, Stephen Lashley, who was alleged to be driving a vehicle owned by Trans-Tech Inc.?

A few weeks ago, I heard police officers questioned employees of TB’s Quality Assurance and Accounting Departments. It’s an internal matter, so, it won’t be fair to accuse Lashley of any involvement at this time.

Additionally, it is also interesting to note that Opposition Leader Joseph Atherley said he would be convening Public Accounts Committee meetings to examine the TB special audit report.

18. @Artax

Whatever the outcome of the investigation we know that some hanky panky occurred. We will be watching the case to use it as a barometer which establishes if we are there yet.

19. Whatever the outcome of the investigation we KNOW (Caps-HA) that some hanky panky occurred. We will be watching the case to use it as a barometer which establishes if we are there yet.(Quote)

Evidence, evidence, evidence.

20. Wuhloss…..wuh if the UK supreme court could call Boris illegal for illegally shutting down parliament who the hell are these riffraff ministers in Barbados..

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/live/2019/sep/24/brexit-supreme-court-latest-news-labour-conference-starmer-says-it-is-obvious-labour-will-back-remain-despite-conference-vote-live-news

“11m ago
    11:05
    Here’s another call for Boris Johnson’s resignation, from Plaid Cymru, the Welsh nationalist party. This is from its leader at Westminster, Liz Saville Roberts.

The supreme court has delivered a damming and unanimous verdict. Boris Johnson has broken the law for undermining the basic principles of democracy. The prime minister has shown himself to be no better than a tin-pot dictator, shutting down democracy to avoid scrutiny.

There is no question, the prime minister must resign immediately and a crash-out Brexit stopped once and for all.

In his short time in office Boris Johnson has proven himself to be a deeply dangerous and anti-democratic leader, with no respect for the rule of law. It would be a complete affront to civilised society if the prime minister did not resign after this historic ruling.”

21. When ya have corrupt clowns as DANGEROUS and toxic as this one:

ya keep them from around Black populations..

ya keep them out of Africa…

ya keep them out of public life..

22. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Will there be similiar outcomes like the Britons Hill Apartment and House collapse that took the Codrington family to stand before their maker and acknowledged his divinity? Was an expert opinion on the matter not indicated that there were several considerations that were lapsed in order for highfoluted individuals with money and status to place housing units on top of a Cave made weaken by supposed construction work in the near? Was it not alleged that the present Attorney General covered up the matter and the government to whom he served swiftly throw the axe at the expert who was unravelling the details surrounding the permissions granted in spite of the fact that the land was not safe and stable? Was the Mottley family name not featured prominently in this debacle? What was the outcome and what is the position? No one committed a crime. No laws were broken in the construction of the apartment block and housing on top of dangerous land. The expert providing the facts was lashed out of Barbados by the establishment and his name and credentials subject to question and discredit. The Royal Barbados Police Force and their Criminal Investigations Department accepted the cause of the collapse as natural and ignore the other pieces of information put-out-there- as circumstantial evidence. As far as the Barbados system is concerned, the building ”fall” down by itself, and the Cave caved in because adjacent construction weakened it, leading to the deaths of the Codrington family. Geological findings were irrelevant and expert opinion that is not based on pre-discussions and collusion with the PIP (Party in Power) before disclosure is not accepted. As far as the system is concerned, it is ok to build on top of Cave Heads. If it collapses find another reason other than building on top of a Cave to blame.
    No need for further investigation, compensation for loss of life, or implications relative to what directives on high consented the permissions in full knowledge of what existed underground. This is because big ups are involved and the netting was firmly put in place to catch the fallout from this situation. The same netting is in place to catch the fall out from the Donville Inniss situation. No investigation after the facts of the case highlighted in the US court. No implications for other persons of status and prominence because the RBPF is not in the business of investigating politicians and other high flyers of prominent and outstanding status, only hungrymout, licorish, indifferent, poor ass brutes trying to be high-to-do. Case closed!
    ICBL paid their dues in secret, and their operation continues unscathed. It is left now to the US courts to bring justice to bear on the head of Donville because the Jackass deserves it for leaving the safe haven of Barbados were all politicians and business people who collude and scheme are safe to play ‘three-arm Treasury’.

23. Submitting this comment for the 3rd time

De ole man has asked the Honourable Blogmaster twice to retrieve this item but…

“De ole man would wish to suggest that we look at this matter slightly differently

Let us examine the mind of a criminal BECAUSE THIS IS WHAT COMMISSIONER GRIFFITH and the DPP Babb-Agard, and the Attorney General are CRIMINALS!

The thing about committing a crime and your self examination of that act IS THAT YOU HAVE TO THINK THAT YOU DID SOMETHING WRONG!

So suppose while parking your car, when you opened your car door you dented the car parked next to you, some may be convicted by guilt, to contact the owner of that adjacent car and do the right thing.

If you are driving the same car AND KNOCK DOWN SOMEONE, the same guilt mechanism kicks in, for most people, and that causes them to stop, others run.

This “crime” of bribery IS NOT PERCEIVED BY PORNVILLE in the same light since it ent hurt nobody

And, such reasoning is transferred from the criminal Pornville, to the criminal counterparts of The Commissioner of Police GRIFFITH, the Director of Public Prosecutions Babb AND OF COURSE TEETS.

It does not register on any of their thresholds of GUILT.

And until the Department of Justice of the United States government convicts Pornville, THE COLLECTIVE FVUCKERS ARE NOT GOING TO DO ONE SHY$E!!!”

http://imgur.com/Bq4Tj70

24. For some of you…. it is time to retire the D’s did it or the B’s did it too… We cannot use the lowest common denominator as our working model…

25. This is 1/2 a day now that de ole man has been asking the Honourable Blogmaster to retrieve an item posted here

But he is showing definitively that the Blog is he ting AS I WILL SOON SHOW THAT OTHER TINGS BELONG TO GOD

26. Artax

when was Stephen Lashley Minister of Transport?

and if you are not attributing anything untoward to him, why mention him as minister of transport where a transaction is seemingly under investigation

27. @ Greene September 24, 2019 7:35 AM

The man Artax has made an honest mistake. It should have been “Michael”. Everybody knows this (except you).

We of BU vintage would rather rely on Artax for bringing light to any discussion than on obfuscation and red herrings from any other ‘yellow-based’ sources hiding behind the green lawn of partisan political interests.

We shall be watching this case like hawks to see if there is really any truth in Adonijah’s claim that there “Two Barbadoes”. You better make that ‘three’.
    The one that disappears under the carpet and inhabited by the ‘Untouchables’.

28. Miller

that was a two part post.

you covered the first part try the second

29. @ Greene September 24, 2019 7:58 AM

You have read between the lines and got the message free of any obfuscation or fishy red herrings.

We will be watching to see if a brand new SUV would seal the deal by acting like a broom to sweep this matter under the carpet away from the prying lens of any surveillance cameras as a quid pro quo.

You are a smart enough cawmwerian to understand the ‘gravamen’ of situation written in the coded language.
    It
    When ordinary decent citizens cannot rely on the enforcement of the Law across all sectors of a society they could easily resort to the law of the jungle of the survival of the fittest.

We are sure you are quite familiar with the following axiom:

“Not only justice must be done, but also seen to be done”.

30. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Re ..“We cannot use the lowest common denominator as our working model”..

REALLY, Who fool u wid dat!

According to the 15 yr old dynamo expounding at the UN (broadly speaking) and more directly, according to the ‘sterling’ actions of PM Johnson (illegally porouging Parliament, misleading the Monarchy too, wha loss) and the POTUS (take ur pick) political life is ALL about lowest denominators of ‘fractional’ maths!

Those who maintain a real world equation are very rear and generally last as long as a snowcone would in dat blistering heat of recent weeks just gone…😂

31. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

BTW Mr Blogmaster if …big if…u prep another blog of Brit politics could u just headline it…’Failed Statehood…From Cameron to Johnson to Churchill’ .

Or something so…maybe not Churchill but the Nazi appeaser PM who preceeded him!

Regardless fit ‘Failed State..and too Setting Sun ‘ in that headline😂🤣!

Wha loss …

32. Greene

As Miller indicated, my mentioning of Stephen Lashley rather than Michael Lashley as former Minister of Transport “WAS AN HONEST MISTAKE,” which could be made by anyone…… even you…… unless you want us to believe you’re perfect.

I’m sure readers understood who I meant and I’m sure you know I’m not the first person to have “confused the names” of two individuals with the same “first name” or “last name.”

For a man who I have seen made some EXCELLENT CONTRIBUTIONS to this forum, on matters relating to crime and police investigation procedures. You asked Miller “has it not dawned on (him) that (you) may be a lawyer and or a DI?”

By “DI” did you mean “Detective Inspector?” Then, if you are a policemen, I’m surprised you did not take into consideration that, since both Stephen and Michael surname is “LASHLEY” and both men are members of the same political party, there exist the possibility that an error was made with reference to the Christian name.

You immediately held prejudice against me……. in other words, you made a preconceived opinion that was not based on reason, but perhaps on political bias.

This is something I expect a lawyer would do. And I can understand how police officers with certain biases would beat or plant evidence on a suspect they think committed a crime.

However, for you, being a self-confessed DLP sympathizer, it seems as though my observations “touched a raw yellow nerve” causing you to see “red” and you “latched” on to this mistake in an effort to imply some untoward motive.

33. Artax

man all those words to say nothing? like Miller i will ask you to try answering the second part of my post

34. The over invoicing was just a mistake.

No fraud intended.

Just pay back the money and that is that.

35. Once more a request to the Honourable Blogmaster to retrieve a comment in suspense here thank you

36. @ Greene September 24, 2019 9:23 AM

Why should anyone respond and fall into your ‘defamation’ trap which can be seen from Mount Cahill?

No one is imputing illegal motives to any public official. Just using the name Lashes as a time frame in which the same Auditor General concerns about the alleged financial irregularities could have occurred at the TB.

You can try dropping your wormless partisan hook in another river of corruption.

37. Miller

seems that you speak for Artax. i did not write that post and am asking a few questions to obtain further understanding that was tabled.

ok then, if we dont want to explain, lets move on.

so as Hants said was it a mistake, a mere double billing?

38. There was plenty of dooflicky going on at the Transport Board. And it wasn’t only with one company. It was a free for ALL. I am still awaiting the discovery which even drivers of the Transport Board knew about with other entities that were supposed to be servicing and fixing buses.

What happened to the Transport Board was inevitable under the circumstances. It had to go down and it had to go down fast. The swift decline in the number of buses on the road was as a result of brazen dishonesty that was pervasive.

39. Greene

All my words said “a lot.”

I notice the anger that comes out in your contributions, especially if a contributor mentions anything about the DLP. As a self-confessed DLP sympathizer, criticisms of your party obviously touch your “raw YELLOW nerves” causing you to see “RED.”

If you are referring to your comment re: “and if you are not attributing anything untoward to him, why mention him as minister of transport where a transaction is seemingly under investigation,” is “the second part of your post,”

…….. then I admitting I made an honest mistake by mentioning Stephen rather than Michael, is enough to answer the second part of your post.

Let’s assume you know I meant Michael.

In keeping with what is the norm in this forum, whatever the issue, for you and some other, the “buck stops at the minister,” despite the fact that evidence may have not surfaced to indicate the minister was directly involved.

In this particular situation, I ASKED a question….. and if you think my ASKING a question means I’m “attributing anything untoward towards him,”….. then, so be it…. who cares.

And I have every right as a tax paying citizen of Barbados to ASK any question as it relates to him as former Minister of Transport because the financial improprieties highlighted by the Auditor General’s special audit report into the Transport Board occurred under his watch and under circumstances where he was allegedly driving a vehicle owned by Trans-Tech….. which is in the public domain.

The police will investigate the issues at TB, while the Public Accounts Committee may include the political aspects of the situation in their investigations.

40. @ Greene September 24, 2019 9:52 AM

The miller speaks for no one but merely stands between the twin pillars of Truth & Integrity.

Like Artax, we do not succumb to any partisan political posturing or verbal gerrymandering to fit any political party’s agenda.

Why can’t your look into the mirror and make a similar assertion?

41. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@de pedantic DribblerSeptember 24, 2019 9:14 AM “not Churchill but the Nazi appeaser PM who preceeded him!”

Neville Chamberlain, Conservative Prime Minister of the United Kingdom, May 1937 to May 1940.

42. Artax,

thanks for answering my queries finally. i have no truck with that as it is your right to question such things and of course it is your opinion.

now it seems to me that the investigation at the transport board surrounds the double billing by Trans Tech owned and or operated by Lloyd Brathwaite who has said he is willing to pay back if that is indeed the case.

why not let us wait to see whether this is true or not?

And if from the police investigation other evidence comes to light that implicates the former minister or anyone else let the law take its course. why cant we do that?

as it stands by loose association we are imputing a certain type of behaviour by the former minister

43. “What happened to the Transport Board was inevitable under the circumstances.”

I cannot agree with your more.

We had a situation where the TB hired a Trinidadian consultant at the rate of $20,000 per month, in addition to a vehicle, housing and travelling allowances……..as well as six Trinidadian mechanics who were based at Mangrove Depot……

This decision was defended by Michael Lashley (uh hope uh gots de name right dis time)……

……. yet the bus availability DROPPED to 35 units per day from 110 per day.

The hypocrites would want to imply “untoward motives” towards Lashley in these circumstances, but they come to BU on a daily basis to criticize an equally scandalous situation, where this BLP administration employed the services of 3 highly paid consultant economists, whose only initiative so far, is BERT, which lacks any definitive policy relating to economic growth.

44. @ Greene September 24, 2019 10:19 AM

If only you were that altruistically objective when a certain type of behaviour was imputed to MAM when her father’s reputation was hauled across the political coals by members of your preferred party during their last disparagingly disgusting electoral outing.

Those who live in political glass houses should not throw moral stones.

45. Greene

Unlike me, you’re a “big brain” man.

I though ASKING a QUESTION is one way of seeking CLARITY on a matter and is completely different from making a definitive statement on the same matter.

I see a difference in asking, for example, “Based on his rush to defend the Michael Lashley and implying untoward motives, do you think Greene is a DLP supporter?”…. I believe under these circumstances, we are seeking clarity……

……….as opposed to SAYING DEFINITIVELY “Greene is a DLP supporter because he came out “like a bull in a China shop” to defend Michael Lashley.” Here, we have made the decision Greene is a DLP supporter.

If not, then, could you please explain to me how is ASKING a QUESTION” be interpreted as “imputing a certain type of behaviour by the former minister?”

46. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@ArtaxSeptember 24, 2019 10:25 AM “We had a situation where the TB hired a Trinidadian consultant at the rate of $20,000 per month, in addition to a vehicle, housing and travelling allowances…as well as six Trinidadian mechanics who were based at Mangrove Depot…yet the bus availability DROPPED to 35 units per day.”

So can you or Greene or anybody else explain in real simple English, or real simple Bajan, exactly what the 6 mechanics.

Eleven Plus Mathematics: 6 mechanics x by 40 hours WORK per week=240 hours WORK per week. if there were 35 buses it means 240 hours work, divided by 35 buses means that each bus would get 6.8 hours per week done on it.

Was that being done?

47. Artax,

is a DLP supporter persona non grata on this site?

if anything i was more defending Stephen Lashley than Michael. Be that as it may, i say let the chips fall where they may. no sense prejudging the investigation.

there was simply no need to call the minister by name if there wasnt a point to your so doing.

BTW i have no issues being called a DLP supporter

48. The issue here for the blogmaster is whether Brathwaite was complicit in any scheme to defraud the TB and government. Deciding to pay back the double invoicing does not absolve him from the matter.

49. Wuh i don’t even know what to say, the entertainment is quite lively at the Cannabis conference, ah can’t stop laughing…but what i want John and Donville to tell me is what is Donville’s dentist buddy with his business/business partner/friend with his business in NYC that ICBL confessed to sending $36,000 dollars through and Donville got put in a piece of leg hardware in Miami for…doing sitting in the audience, drinking tea, biting his nails, picking his nose, we done know he got deep, deep, deep pockets, but we were warned and ignored how close he is to this present governemnt,..

so …is it true…Enuff should tell us, cause Donville has been saying that it is…right on his video.