Larry Smith, President of the BBA

The recent hullabaloo in Barbados sparked by the Barbados Bar Association (BBA) publishing three individuals offering legal services if of interest.It reminds the blogmaster of what transpired in the 90s, when a few small (Black) entrepreneurs created a used car industry and the established dealerships shouted ‘blue murder’ and eventually drove them out of business.

It is obvious the BBA has taken a decision to nip what potentially is a growing demand for legal services by an underserved market. Underserved not because we do not have a membership of one thousand plus lawyers, moreso we have a large segment of the population who do not have the resources to contract lawyers. To those who would parrot that the Community Legal Services is available to such persons, based on Barbados Underground’s research, this is another useless government entity that only serves to frustrate those desperate to seek services offered. By the way, the below is the mission and vision statements of Community Legal Services.

Mission Statement

To provide high quality service to persons of insufficient means who require Legal Aid.

Vision Statement

To support the justice system by efficiently and effectively using available resources to provide timely assistance to qualified applicants for Legal Aid.

For years Barbadians on the rock and in the diaspora have been complaining about the poor services meted out by the legal profession with unsatisfactory response. This includes the Disciplinary Committee (DC), although we have seen a few token cases of recent, not enough to satisfy the number of complaints filed with the DC. In fact, would you be surprised to learn that many Barbadians and others do not bother to file complaints because of the belief the system only serves to frustrate and upheave a citizen’s emotional state?

In the same way water flows to the point of least resistance, so too citizens with limited to no resources will seek services to attempt to correct wrongs. The blogmaster is aware citizens offering services under the guise of being a ‘McKenzie Friend’ make enter informal arrangement for financial compensation. Perhaps this is a concern of the BBA?

The uproar over the three names on the BBA list is only a symptom of a deeper national failure. For decades, successive governments have tip toed around the dysfunction of the Barbados Bar Association and its sister entity the Disciplinary Committee, choosing political convenience over institutional remedy. The result is a justice system where ordinary Barbadians have become alienated. No surprise many are looking elsewhere for help because the official channels have become dysfuntional.

Notice to the public from the Barbados Bar Association listing individuals not authorized to provide legal services.

When a society reaches the point where citizens trust informal actors more than the bodies legally mandated to protect them, the decline is no longer creeping; it is systemic. Unless we confront the rot in these key gatekeeping institutions, citizens will continue to lose confidence in the very institutions established to protect them, and then what?

Are we there yet?

64 responses to “Ordinary Barbadians are seeking legal advice from non lawyers – what went wrong?”

1. Cuhdear Bajan

I’m NOT going to SAVE my “fears for the 240 young men who were murdered in the last 7 years.”
    “……For all they that take the sword shall PERISH with the sword.”

Nor the “more than 240 young men who have been charged or will be charged with murder.”
    As the old Bajan saying goes, ‘duh mek up duh bed, so duh got to lie down in um.’

“If each murdered man and each murderer had two children,” then they should’ve thought about those children before becoming involved in fiercely protecting drug lords and executing rivals on their behalf.

“What are you and Bush Tea and assorted old fogies doing to help those fatherless children?”

By PAYING TAXES, us “assorted old fogies” CONTRIBUTE to the FUNDING of state-owned agencies that are charged with providing those children with social services, education, health care, childcare, school meals, and they travel ‘free’ on TB buses at OUR expense as well.

2. “Sorry we forgot to invite you. Lol!”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    Forgot … or refused…?
    …by yuh licorice grands, no doubt.

Duh had any conkies at de wedding…?
    Cause…
    If not, Bushie don’t feel no way…!

3. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

‘mornin’ David.

I hope that you and Bush Tea and the rest praying for a little rain so that we farmers, small and big, can get on with our planting business.

4. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

No conkies Bushie, but plenty great cake made with my own hands.

5. @Simple Simon

Rain is forecast for June based on activity on the African coast.

6. You are downright WICKED @ Cuhdear… 🙂

Bajan black cake is one of the few things dat Bushie likes MORE than conkies…
    Steupsss…!!!

Have mercy…
    Next thing yuh going tell bushie is that you could mek coke-nut sweet breads,
    …and that you gotta ‘bad foot’ – due to de ‘shugga’…

Don’t tell muh !!!

7. Got a water tank full of rainwater, two barrels and various buckets and bottles that have been filled by the almost daily showers. Friday was more than a few showers. The sky was dark grey for most of the day. I never run out of rainwater despite my trndenct to overwater. Working on that one.

8. DPP: Beware of mock lawyers

THE ISLAND’S TOP PROSECUTOR has added his voice to the debate surrounding the use of those not legally trained, as he dealt with a case of a man given bad advice by a “fireside lawyer”.

Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Alliston Seale, SC, has warned the public about using “mock lawyers” as the man, Ronny Henderson Greenidge, now faces a conviction for theft, whereas the agreement brokered by his attorney would have left him with a clean record.

“That’s just one example of being misled by people who do not know about the law and who don’t practise law, but feel they know more than lawyers,” he said.

‘No conviction’

“Otherwise, this matter could have been disposed of, he would have no conviction, he would have paid off the money and it would have gone by the way. But somebody tell him, ‘No, you must have an official receipt’, not knowing the only way you can get an official receipt from the Registry is when you have an official conviction and we can manage the matter by way of fees and fines. So now he will have a conviction.”

Greenidge, of Brownes Gap, Jackson, St Michael, had just pleaded guilty in the No. 4 Supreme Court to dishonestly obtaining $52 000 from Beulah Sobers on October 27, 2010, with the intention of permanently depriving Sobers of the money, by falsely representing that he had the approval of the Town and Country Planning Department to construct a house at Lot 40, Sturges, St Thomas.

He also pleaded guilty to stealing $52 000 belonging to Sobers on the same date.

Seale said Greenidge’s previous attorney had given him instructions when the matter went before now retired judge Justice Randall Worrell.

“The way the matter was being managed by Mr Justice Worrell, he would pay back the money because that’s what the complainant indicated she wanted,” the DPP explained.

“He would pay back the money and, at the end of the repayment, the Department of Public Prosecutions would issue a warrant of discontinuance against him because that is what the complainant wanted. We were not interested in getting a conviction against him,” Seale said.

He added that Greenidge was repaying in “very small amounts in sporadic periods”.

“But somebody told him – now he has a lawyer and that is why you have to be careful with these mock lawyers or people wanting to be lawyers – somebody told him that the receipt he was getting was not an official receipt, so seeming to suggest that probably some skulduggery was going on.

“The reason why he could not get an official receipt was simply because the matters were being managed by the court. He had not got a conviction. So we were only giving him unofficial receipts so that when the matter was finished, we could discontinue it. But he listened to the word of some fireside lawyer and stopped paying,” Seale told the court.

$40 000 repaid

He said if Greenidge had continued making the payments, which began in March 2021, he would have repaid the full amount by now. He has so far repaid $40 000.

“Now he’s found himself in a position where Your Honour does not plan to enter an agreement like that at all because, if he believed that some skulduggery was involved, then he would certainly believe that the court was involved in skulduggery.

“So the only formal way to manage this matter was for him to plead guilty, get a conviction and then the court can manage it through the fees and fines where you will get an official receipt when he pays into the court. And this is where we find ourselves.”

The prosecutor had earlier told the court the complainant, who lived in the United States, decided to repair her house here so that she could live in it when she returned to the island.

She contacted Greenidge, a draughtsman/builder who owned his own business.

The woman went to her bank and got a cheque for $40 000. She got a further $12 000 for the drawing of the plans and gave both cheques to Greenidge.

However, months later, she realised there was no progress on her house and all her attempts to reach Greenidge proved futile.

She then contacted police and was forced to hire another contractor and spend more money.

Greenidge later told the court he had walked with $3 600, which the court ordered him to forfeit immediately. Attorney Sian Lange, who appeared amicus, then asked for a pre-sentencing report, which was granted by Justice Laurie-Ann Smith-Bovell, who adjourned the matters until July 20.

9. Bar ‘not saying sorry’

by MARIA BRADSHAW mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

SOCIAL ACTIVIST Winston Clarke has accused the Barbados Bar Association of employing “bullying and intimidating” tactics after the association refused to retract public statements regarding his status.

Clarke, who is also a paralegal, signalled his intent to pursue legal action against the Bar after receiving a formal response last Friday rejecting his demands for an apology and damages.

The dispute stems from a series of public notices issued by the Bar Association warning the public against utilising the services of individuals not holding legal certificates. The notices referenced Clarke, among others, as people not on the roll of attorneys.

In an interview with the MIDWEEK NATION, Clarke slammed the Bar’s response, charging that the association violated his constitutional rights and denied him natural justice.

“The response was a bullying and intimidating tactic. They have not addressed the concerns – the fact that they did not notify me, didn’t give me a chance to respond,” he said.

“Obviously, they said they aren’t apologising, so I will have to do what is necessary to ensure it doesn’t happen to anybody else again.”

In its correspondence to Clarke, the Bar Association categorically denied any wrongdoing. It described Clarke’s demands as “materially deficient in legal substance” and stated that his letter failed to disclose a sustainable cause of action.

“As such, we expressly reject your demands for retraction, apology, disclosure, damages, undertakings or costs,” the Bar stated.

The association further argued that its initial notice, published in the NATION on April 26, 2026, did not identify any individual by name. The Bar Association contended that Clarke voluntarily engaged the media that same day, publicly associating himself with the issue and admitting: “I have never purported myself to be an attorney-at-law.”

Public domain

A subsequent notice published on May 10 merely restated information already placed in the public domain by Clarke himself, the Bar argued.

It warned that should Clarke initiate legal proceedings, it would “vigorously defend the same and seek all available relief”, including indemnity costs. The letter reminded Clarke that litigation unsupported by a proper legal foundation could result in adverse financial consequences.

Beyond the defamation dispute, Clarke also criticised the Bar’s stance on the use of ‘McKenzie Friends’ – lay assistants who help unrepresented litigants in court.

The association has sought a judicial review regarding a divorce case where an unrepresented litigant requested permission to use a McKenzie Friend. Clarke revealed that the Bar Association filed 274 pages of submissions in that matter.

“They filed 274 pages in submission for a person who is unrepresented, and they’re telling the person that they can’t have a McKenzie Friend,” he said.

“You have somebody who is under financial constraints . . . . They’ve overwhelmed them with a plethora of attorneys in the court – them against about six attorneys. I know they’ve filed submissions, I mean, a whole book. So how is that person supposed to go through that? A person who is not a member of the legal profession.

Clarke described the situation as a “classic case” demonstrating the need for McKenzie Friends and pledged to take the matter to the Court of Appeal and, if necessary, the Caribbean Court of Justice.

Clarke, who has previously acted as a McKenzie Friend, said he was awaiting the outcome of the judicial review.

10. What is the name of this person who gave the advice? And, how many “barred up” attorneys have given bad advice to clients?

I have had three attorneys give me bad advice. Two were deliberately and ridiculously lying, like they thought I was an idiot, and one admitted that she did not know and said she knew many others who didn’t. After researching the matter, she discovered that I was right. She thought that seminars on the issue THAT I THOUGHT THROUGH WITH PURE LOGIC would be helpful.

She was a well-intentioned attorney, who always had time to listen, returned all calls promptly, and served me well in the end. Unfortunately, she was junior to a lying charlatan. That is why she was misinformed, I KNOW.

Ultimately, the outcome was in keeping with my line of thinking. I, who did one law course at Cave Hill, totally unrelated to my matter.

When the first attorney realised that I knew he was misleading me, he turned tail and ran from Big Mout Donna. Told me to come for my file, (Something they never do until you have paid up in full. He wait for over a year with no communication.) as the relationship of trust seemed to have broken down. He had been doing rather well in the beginning. Then Dr. Jekyll became Mr. Hyde. But a liar needs to have a good memory. He forgot the first advice he had given me, what we had gone through in detail. I had not forgotten. I have an excellent memory. He was right the first time. He was trying to sell me out the second time and pocket the difference. He not only forgot what we had discussed but he thought not being a lawyer meant that I must be an idiot. (Because we know that all Bajans would be lawyers or at least doctors if they could. lol )

Anyway, he was dead wrong and the outcome was totally in line with my thinking. Exactly twice what he was thinking!

Basically, all the attorneys did for me is translate my lay opinion into Legalese and do the talking.

So the “I am speaking to you as an attorney” beat down did not impress me then, and does not impress me now.

Of course, you still have to be careful who you make Mackenzie friends with, especially in criminal matters. In criminal matters there is no built-in incentive to sell out a client. A far cry from civil matters.

Dumb Donna got some fruits and vegetables to tend. Ah gone!

11. @Donna

The response from BBA is an entity concerned with ring fencing its turf, to hell with an underserved public.

12. David,

Everybody knows that. Most of them treat their clients like nuisances.