If someone were to drink a glass of gramoxone (a popular herbicide), we may reasonably conclude that the person wants to die. We may speculate about their motives, but the consequences of that action are known since it is a common suicide-method in Barbados.

Barbados is a wonderful place to live. The climate is conducive for good human health. The taxpayers provide more than enough money to fund quality public services – everyone who needs help should receive an adequate amount if the funds were properly managed. Of all nations on earth, we should be the least likely to be suicidal and yet we seem to rank high.

SICK NATION.

How is it possible for a country that scores so high on the Human Development Index among nations to have some of the highest incidence-rates of: colon cancer, prostate cancer, breast cancer, strokes and diabetes. No one gave us these diseases.

Most who get these diseases die within 10 years and many within five. We know this, yet we persist with choosing lifestyles that we know will likely result in our premature deaths. Eating badly has become a Barbadian tradition – the unhealthier the food, the more likely it will be on the menu. The foreseen result is that the body gets fat, sick and diseased.

Many Barbadians are addicted to paying fast-food restaurants over $20 for tasty unhealthy foods that hasten their final visit to the undertaker – to whom their surviving relatives must pay. They can save about 90% of the cost of fast-food by cooking tasty healthy meals within 30 minutes, but they choose not to.

SUICIDAL NATION.

We have been deceived into ingesting poison as food – because it tastes good. If while eating we were to convulse on the ground in agony, we would likely decide never to eat that type of food again. However, sipping it daily and not feeling the immediate effects deceived us into believing it is not harmful. But it is, and we know it is, but we are now too addicted to care. Since suicide is to die prematurely by our own deliberate actions, we are evidently a suicidal nation.

Grenville Phillips II is a Doctor of Engineering and Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

22 responses to “Sipping Gramoxone”

1. Food is likely just the most glaring example of our rabid suicidal intent.
    But EXACTLY this identical attitude prevails in multiple other sectors of our society.

Cleanliness is another area where we show great disrespect for our OWN selves and communities. From Government’s piss poor management of our solid and liquid waste systems, all the way to individuals’ poor cleanliness and hygiene at home.

Road manners, in a country where anyone you pass on the road has a good chance of being a relative, is appalling… clearly influenced by the impersonal arrogance and road rage characterized in our larger ‘model societies’.

Additionally, education, sports, youth development – all lack a clear focus on QUALITY, and are instead driven by political goals, PR objectives, and false promises.

But none of these inclinations should be surprising, since they ALL reflect our collective SPIRITUAL suicidal path.
    We are what we THINK, and our albino-centric focus on money, materialism, carnal pleasures (taste bud driven inclinations) and on political power
    – RATHER THAN ON A VISION OF LONG TERM SUCCESS, inevitably drives us to the fast-food merchants of our world.

Unfortunately, where there is no vision, brass bowls will always become fat, lazy, nasty, aggressive, violent, sick, and poor.

The fact that this is not OBVIOUS to all and sundry is the clearest evidence to Bushie, that we are under a serious spiritual curse that would require ash clothes and ashes to be cleared.

…well maybe not to ‘all and sundry’…
    Cause Pacha will object to ANYTHING that a certain book has clearly outlined…or that Grenville writes…
    But not stinking Bushie doh…!!!

What a place!!

2. The companies selling gramozone argue for moderation. Theirs is that a moderate amount of gramoxone as residue in plants is not harmful. Their business model is thusly built!

The general deterioration in the wellness of Bajans was never caused by a natural inclination to eat badly but by the industrialization of bad food, bad air, poisoned soils, polluted water, unhealthy building materials for housing and clothing; bad medicines and the manufactured demand for a supermarket culture.

This is causally different than the simplictic conjecture that Bajans willingly yearned for cultural death. Weeee say no. These are all circumstances imposed on the population, a recent construct, by both internal and external forces as driven by capitalism, the need for a quick profit.

Even an organism with a singular brain cell will naturally choose to exist. And such an existence should never have been the preserve of the moneyed or pettite-bourgoise elites alone.

3. @Bush Tea

When the blogmaster opined that we lack discipline in thought and execution a few days ago what was your response? Look at the orderly societies and observe that it correlates with a level in of success, certain economic?

4. You are what you eat. We have reached the point where we are a fast food society with junk food for snacks.

5. On the one hand we can’t argue that as individuals we have the capacity for free will and on the other hand, we are inclined to go with the flow. What separates humans from robots?

6. @John A

We have to separate the issues, there is the leadership required at the government level, hopefully such an approach would cascade to general population at the farmer and household levels. The truth is that we have seen some green shooting of it but by far not enough to significantly move the needle.

7. There is a gentleman who hosts an agriculture program on Sundays, Gibbs? One can listen to his frustration which always translates to him pelting lashes in the government for its neglect of the sector, then the predicable occurs, a few regular BLP idiots leading the charge in attacking him on the other programs.

What people will do for their 30 pieces of silver.

8. David,

Truly I don’t understand it, for on no occasion can I get home with my seedlings, seeds, or any agricultural supplies without being questioned by people just a few feet away from the site of purchase. Sometimes, I give a few of the seedlings away, especially if it’s a younger person who asks. There is great interest in growing things in this country. People just need to get started … small. On Friday, I got a promise from the young man who pushed my groceries out to grow just one bed or container of one crop. His parents, he told me, grow their own food but he never helps.

9. Bushie
    What a load of shiiite!

Everything comes back to your religious foolishness. It should be illegal to constantly and publicly suggest such an idea in unavoidable.

All your predetermined conclusion does is the furtherance of the work of modern day missionaries.

When the only tool you possess is a religious hammer, then every problem is a nail.

Your illogic tends to make the evolution of all lifeforms more attractive to sensible people. Even in places like Chernobl where there was a nuclear accident four decades ago life is blooming again with the bountiful return of animal and plant life.

Indeed, the longer evolutionary process of life, absent any Boss Man, previously encountered many hurdles. For example, the ebbs of flows of the evolution of humans encountered the spectre of only three or four score of child-bearing females on the whole planet. And without the intervention of ANY exogenous factors, today we now have nine billion. Books are aplenty on these types of junctures in the evolution of lifeforms.

Forget that foolish book, and think without the constant preconcived conclusion. That is the opposite of intelligence as an essential ingredient all lifeforms possess.

10. @Donna

Perhaps the several full page informatials by ministers of agriculture can be better spent if donated to farmers.

11. CONCERNED BAJAN Avatar
    CONCERNED BAJAN

I think Grenville Phillips has a valid point. Don’t understand why no-one ever validates what he has to say.

12. Factoids!

As the American idiot in the White House is alledged to be comtemplating a revival of the illegal war against Iran ….

The supply chains are about to start exhibiting the worst affects of disruptions in the production of oil and gas – the nearly 200 byproducts therefrom, and the concommitant affects on other dowstream consumer and industrial products, including food, as dependent on petro-chemical inputs. Thus within days recessionary conditions will become more apparent as nearly all supply chains start to become exhusted.

Western stock markets are likely to be unhelpful for a number of reasons. Markets generally look to future paper prices, not spot prices for immediate delivery, in these conditions these two metrics of value are as far apart as day and night. Other factors.

Within the last 24 hours also, a fleet of drones struct the backup generator at a UAE nuclear power plant, putting it out of commission. The backup generator powers the emergency systems prorocols.

Some commentators suggested an Iranian hand. We differed, that was a false flag attempt by Netanyahu, not the first time in this conflict by his genocidal entity, no doubt as encouragement for Drumpf to re-start a war he’s already twice lost, now freshly back from a bruising in Shangai. A hanging in Shaghai!

So we have two complete assholes, mad men, or both, Drumpf and Netanyahu, holding the world up to ransom over wars they cannot win but are insistent on not recognizing their previous defeats while doubling down on lies told to themselves and by the schycopants around them.

Iran, Hamas, Hezbollah, Yemen have won the recent wars. It’s nigh time for America to accept it’s shameful defeats in West Asia, surrender to the Axis of Resistance and face the consequences which the lost of empire must mean.

These mad men can’t mean to be fixing to excalate to achieve the total destruction of Iran demanded by the Epstein Class and several times threatened by Drumpf himself – nuclear annihilation – might they?

How low has America fallen!

13. The financial markets will react to futures first but certain stocks like oil and some minerals like gold react to spot more immediate.

14. It is not true that nobody ever validates what Grenville has to say. We all know that too many Bajans these days don’t eat enough fruit and vegetables. We also know that this contributes to the diseases he mentioned.

15. Ok

The last factoid was the very large explosion, or explosions, going off in an Israeli weapons manufacturing base. It looked like a nuclear weapon detonation. Wee believe it was s tank of chorine perchlrorate a highly combustible missile perpelant.

A similar explosion went off in an Iranian port about a year ago. And previously in a Lebonese port sometime before.

Of course, speculation is rife. The Zionists are saying that it was a controlled explosion happening after 11 at night with no prior warning given to the public surrounding. This explanation seems fatuous. The sounds were heard all over the occupied territories for minutes, pictures taken from miles aways, as the skyline was brightly illuminated.

The first victim of war, or rumours of war, is always the truth. And it seems like war it will be again. As the American-Israeli hammer will never make the Iranians say uncle or Uncle Donald. They will never surrender in the worst of times, particularly not after winning twice in a row after aggressive wars were imposed.

16. Fast Food in moderation will not kill you

regarding other points made in the mix..

Faith is a personal choice and belief but when Biblical prophecy is continually preached and justified in blogs and politics it seems more and more shallow and absurd the more it is exposed and expounded on.

White nationalists are using Christianity to justify their hate for others such as those in and from other countries, illegal immigrants, born and bred immigrants, muslims, people of colour, running doctrines and tropes from likes of Charlie Kirk and Tommy Robinson.

Trump 47 has consistently made wrong moves from deleting black history, cutting public services, ICE gestapo, tariffs, military action and his madness is hemorraging support and heading for a fall.

“Real leaders lead the people not feed the ego
    ageism sexism racism every day
    in the futures way
    I try to live every second today”
    — Chuck D

17. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

GOOD MORNIN’ DR PHILLIPS, AS THE ONE LEADING VOICE OF THE MIF (MISSION IMPOSSIBLE FORCE), AGAIN YOU HAVE UNDERTAKEN TO LAY A COURSE THAT MOST REFUSE TO ACKNOWLEDGE – THE NATION IS *SICK*

I want to use “Structuration Theory” to deconstructing the argument, where “3 types of poison” exists in Bajan society. The identification of these [3] specific “poisons” that Barbadians are willingly consuming, leading to a “sick nation” and a “suicidal nation” (all housed in one damnable loci)!

Dr. Phillips is telling Barbados a difficult story of cultural addiction and personal denial. The truth for both, perhaps, lies in finding the point where the story of personal responsibility meets the story of systemic failure and the obvious lack of support.

Here is my treatise on this matter

Let us begin

Dr. Phillips’ core contention, is that Barbados has an alarmingly high rate of NCDs for its level of development, and is unfortunately supported by regional and global health data.

The Caribbean has the highest rates of NCDs in the Americas. These diseases (heart disease, cancer, diabetes, stroke) are responsible for over 75% of all deaths in Barbados.

With such galling statistics, the “Human Development Paradox” is that Barbados scores “Very High” on the UN’s Human Development Index (HDI) (ranked 62nd globally in 2024, 1st in the English-speaking Caribbean)!

However, this HDI score often masks internal health inequalities and does not reflect a population’s actual quality of life or mental wellbeing.

High HDI does not automatically create a healthy culture – far from it!

Lifestyle factors as cited by the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) has repeatedly highlighted the high prevalence of risk factors in the Caribbean, such as, poor diet, (high salt, fat, sugar), physical inactivity, and harmful use of alcohol.

These are the exact “lifestyle choices” Dr. Phillips condemns!

While his article is powerful as social commentary, its strength as an analysis is also its weakness.

The metaphor is too blunt an instrument for the complexities of mental health and poverty, given very similar problem in the (DIS) United Kingdom.

Allow me to explain

(1) It risks stigmatizing clinical suicide which is rarely a “choice” in the way choosing a meal is. It is the tragic endpoint of severe mental illness (depression, anxiety, trauma) where the person sees no other option. ‘Framing’ poor diet as a form of “suicide” risks trivializing the profound agony of a person who actually takes their own life.

(2) It oversimplifies the “Choice” to eat unhealthy food, as Dr. Phillips says people “choose not to” cook healthy meals that are 90% cheaper and ready in 30 minutes.

This ignores several realities – “Food Deserts”, where in some urban and rural areas, fresh produce is less available and more expensive than processed fast food.

“Time Poverty”, where single parents working two jobs may not have the “30 minutes” or energy to cook, even if they have the skills (Kentucky, Cheffete et al are easier option).

Untreated addiction is also a silent killer, where the food industry engineers fast food to be chemically addictive, with (high sugar, fat, salt & monosodium glutamate), therefore, overcoming addiction is not a simple “choice”, gone undiagnosed.

(3) When government policy is let off the hook, placing the blame almost entirely on individual “choice” reduces the pressure on the ‘Mottley-Crew’ government to act.

A comprehensive ‘GOV’ strategy would include regulation, with stricter laws on food advertising (especially to children), sugar taxes, and clear front-of-pack warning labels.

Infrastructure and community development, where building more public parks, bike lanes, and recreational spaces to encourage exercise is key to overall healthy living.

Without proper healthcare access in the area of nutrition and dietetics, and with expanding access to nutritionists, mental health counselors, and addiction specialists within the public health system is crucial to fending off this spiralling disease trend and would take pressure off the Queen Elizabeth Hospital et al both clinically and financially.

Dr. Phillips’ “ominous” warning about the “reverberations” results in a society that normalizes self-harm through diet, and tolerates institutional failure, is a brittle, ‘wafer-thin’ society.

The reverberations include a crumbling healthcare system where the NCD epidemic will overwhelm the public health budget, consuming funds needed for education, infrastructure, and social programs.

A sick, dying, and depressed workforce is also less productive, less innovative, and less able to attract investment eventually leading to economic collapse.

We are seeing the loss of community and dwindling hope, as people get sicker and die younger, families break down, grief becomes chronic, and a sense of fatalism (“why bother trying?”) takes hold.

This is the “suicidal nation” he warns about!

Dr. Phillips is right about the destination, but his roadmap of how we got there is incomplete.

He is correct that Barbados is facing an urgent, society-wide crisis of unhealthy living and that the current trajectory, fueled by poor diet and institutional complacency, leads to widespread, premature, and preventable death.

The “reverberations” of this slow-motion disaster will be economic ruin and social despair.

However, his ‘framing’ of this as purely an aggregate of “bad choices” made by individuals is too simplistic.

It’s a “diet” of personal responsibility with no “side” of institutional accountability.

The real poison is a feedback loop between, aggressive marketing of unhealthy, addictive food and the endemic behaviour of a people who wants instant, microwave or chargrilled satisfaction, by any means necessary!

The “Mottley-Crew-GOV” failure to regulate the food industry or fund robust public health campaigns is at the heart of this crisis – for the “New National Anthem”, is “Eat, Drink and Wuk-Up”.

A culture of time-poverty, stress, individual addiction and fatalism has led the nation down a road of no return!

Breaking this fatal-loop requires more than just targeting individuals for “sipping gramoxone.”

It requires a society-wide intervention that holds Bajan corporations like Chefete Restaurant accountable, rebuilding public health infrastructure, and offers genuine, compassionate support for people trapped in cycles of poor health and crippling despair.

Without that, Dr Phillips’ warning is just another voice blowing smoke in the wind, and leaders pissing up against a wall.

On that existential note

Semper Fidelis

18. Grenville Phillips Avatar
    Grenville Phillips

Hi Terence:

Thank you for the analysis. Please note the following.

1. On Time Poverty, please note that during peak times, customers may spend 30 minutes in a line waiting to get fast food. They will benefit more by spending that time cooking a healthy meal.

2. On Food Deserts, please note that the $2.00 a plate meal consists of lentil peas as the main protein source supplemented with carrots and other vegetables. These are easily available at supermarkets at significantly lower cost than fast food meals.

It is difficult to arrive at a solution to this problem. We already have many playing fields in communities and every residential development must have an Open Space for the residents’ recreation. There is also taxpayer funder access to heath care. Yet, none of these things appears to have worked.

The root reality is that providing addicts with solutions is futile. Normally, they have to reach rock bottom before they are willing to look up and accept help.

19. GOOD MORNIN’, DR PHILLIPS! I HEAR YOU LOUD & CLEAR! IF BAJANS CONTINUE DOWN THE ROAD TO PHYSIOLOGICAL, MENTAL, EMOTIONAL & SPIRITUAL DESTRUCTION – THEN WHAT MORE CAN YOU, OR I, OR ANYONE ELSE FOR MATTER DO?

#TheDiceHasBeenCast

DOUBLE OR TRIPLE SIX IS NO LONGER A RARITY

The ovens have been cranked up since 1625 (401 yrs on & counting)!!!

#TheLeadPipesBaked

My precious grandmother would say: “If good flour never sour”, and the poison has been administered in the mix – (yet the “TASTE” is the catalyst); how do you intend for those good folks to “QUIT *SIPPING* GRAMOXONE”???

It can’t be done, Bruh!!!

We were told as children, “WHEN IT HURTS BAD ENOUGH – YOU WILL EITHER CHANGE YOUR WAYS OR YOU’LL DIE”!!!

We are seeing the “LATTER”!!!

Folks would rather “DIE” than give up the “HOGG*-TAILS” (#CorrectSpelling); the “HAM-HOCKS”, the “CHITLINS”; the “HOGG*-TAINTED, PUTRIFIED, BLOODIED PUDDING & SOUSE” & all the other (“NASTY TASTY SLAVE-TREATs”), irascibly etched in our DNA* from the “TROUGH TO THE GRAVE” by the #StinkingPaleskinBasterds who called themselves “SLAVEMASTERS” of our “FORBEARS”!!!

NOW*, the “MODERN-DAY SLAVE TRADERS” are men like “HALOUTE” et al & that “BASTERD CROWD” of “IMPORTED”, “DESPOTIC”, “NEO-COLONIZERS” whose job is to completely “WRECK” a people – changing any possibility of them “EVER” coming into greatness, by feeding them continuous “MORSELS” of “GENETICALLY MODIFIED FILTH” they call “CHICKEN”, “BEEF” & God knows what else, laced with “SALT, SUGAR, MONOSODIUM GLUTAMATE & a sieve of powdered “POLLUTANTS” to keep the “ADDICTION CENTERS” of the brain constantly inebriated – like “PARROS” needing a constant “FIX”!!!

Dr Phillips, I could sit here this mornin’ (RANTING, RAVING, SMASHING & BREAKING DISHES UP AGAINST THE WALL), but it would not amount to a hill of beans!!!

My position, as an ‘ole man, who live a 100% plant-based diet “HEALTH REFORM” for over more than [4] decades – is to let the “FOOKERS DIE” (pls do NOT* pardon my “FRENCH”)!!!

#YouAreWhatYouEat – #YouAreWhatYouThink – #YouAreWhatYouBelieve

#EatParasites – your organs will suffer the consequences!!!

“EAT WELL” – for why would you “DIE”, O, Israel???

LET US EXPLORE SOLUTIONS 4 BARBADOS (#NoPunIntended) – IF IT IS EVEN POSSIBLE ANYMORE

Let us begin

The hardest truth you’ll have to accept Dr Phillips, is “a nation entrenched in its ways will not change quickly. But individuals can change, one at a time, slowly. And that is still saving grace – that saves lives”.

If 1% of the people change per year, over a 20-year span, you would have changed 1000S of lives.

Those 1000s influence families.

Families influence neighborhoods.

Neighborhoods shift culture – not in years, but in decades!

Dr Phillips’, your “Rock Bottom” theory is correct for many in Barbados.

But it is not a strategy.

It is a rationalization for giving up.

What you can do, right now, without waiting for the nation is the following:

(1) Stop moralizing

(2) Start problem-solving structural barriers

(3) Use motivational interviewing – not lecturing

(4) Launch one tiny pilot (have a key figure launch healthy cooking demos)

(5) Train others to do the same

(6) Protect your own hope

If there was ever a [6] Point Plan – this is it!

Work around the GOV* stalemate (where it exists)!

Even if the “Mottley-Crew-GOV*” has done something, (only meagre) – implementation gaps remain.

Dr Phillips, people like you can fill them.

School nutrition policy exists, but compliance varies.

Volunteer at one struggling school.

Help canteen staff cost out a lentil patty.

Bring in a local chef for a taste test with students.

Write a letter to the Minister of Agriculture with suggestions.

Hard data on structural barriers is more powerful than anecdotes – it shifts policy.

The government can use its mandate to pass binding regulations – push them!

The National School Nutrition Policy is a prime example, as it mandates strict nutritional standards for all public and private schools, fundamentally changing the food environment for an entire generation.

This sort of action “must” go beyond encouragement to enforceable rules throughout the food industry in order to cut ruinous healthcare cost!

The Mottley-Crew GOV* has strategically employed taxation to influence public health outcomes, with a 20% tax on sugary drinks and the newer 20% excise tax on high-salt snacks that are designed to reduce consumption by making unhealthy options less affordable.

Simultaneously, removing taxes on fruits and vegetables directly addresses the “affordability” barrier of healthy eating.

The government has also proposed lowering duties on essential food imports to further reduce costs, but what does that mean in essence, and could someone explain this to the casual onlooker?

Responding to the argument that some individuals need medical intervention, the GOV* has committed to adding weight-loss medication to the national drug formulary.

(Look at the “RESEARCH”)!

It works, then when you stop taking the “OZEMPIC”(semaglutide) the weight returns on steroids!

Saxenda (liraglutide), Wegovy (semaglutide), Zepbound (tirzepatide), are all stop-gap measures for weight loss.

FDA-approved weight-loss pills such as:

Phentermine (Adipex, Suprenza)
    Phentermine-topiramate (Qsymia)
    Naltrexone-bupropion (Contrave)
    Orlistat (Xenical, Alli)

Metformin (which is FDA-Approved for Type 2 Diabetes but can be prescribed off-label for weight loss), are “ALL” one and the same in terms of their histology.

The “Mottley-Crew” GOV* acknowledges that obesity is a complex medical issue, not merely a failure of willpower, but somehow refuses to adequately use GOV* healthcare infrastructure to provide potently, readily available solutions.

The GOV* policies are creating friction with established practices.

For example, Professor Eudine Barriteau publicly questioned how fast-food companies can sponsor children’s events like Junior Kadooment when the government is simultaneously trying to reduce NCDs among the youth.

This highlights the government’s role in trying to confront the powerful scourge and influence of the fast-food industry given the stats at QEH, and the need for consistent policy across all sectors – but nothing is working.

It’s beating a dead horse!

The Mottley-Crew GOV* has candidly addressed the country’s deep historical relationship with sugar, stating, “we know sugar really ain’t good”, but you can’t stop there – for that is defeatism out the gate.

She has also called on fast-food organizations to change their menus, urging them to incorporate local, low-glycemic foods like breadfruit chips instead of imported fries.

Where has that suggestion gone?

They may be willing to challenge both historical legacies and current commercial realities.

BUT IS THAT JUST A LOT OF MEALY-MOUTH TALK?

The government’s strategy cannot be a single intervention, but a sustained, multi-front, multi-pronged campaign.

It integrates education (school policy), fiscal policy (taxes and subsidies), healthcare and nutri-care, (medication and supplementation), and bio-diverse, sustainable agriculture (local, low-cost food production) – on steroids!

This coordinated, long-term approach is the only way to reverse deeply ingrained trends that have developed over generations.

Where there’s a will, we must find the way!

Thank you, Dr Phillips for your comments.

On that consummatory note

#SemperFidelis