Larry Smith, President of the BBA

The recent hullabaloo in Barbados sparked by the Barbados Bar Association (BBA) publishing three individuals offering legal services if of interest.It reminds the blogmaster of what transpired in the 90s, when a few small (Black) entrepreneurs created a used car industry and the established dealerships shouted โ€˜blue murderโ€™ and eventually drove them out of business.

It is obvious the BBA has taken a decision to nip what potentially is a growing demand for legal services by an underserved market. Underserved not because we do not have a membership of one thousand plus lawyers, moreso we have a large segment of the population who do not have the resources to contract lawyers. To those who would parrot that the Community Legal Services is available to such persons, based on Barbados Underground’s research, this is another useless government entity that only serves to frustrate those desperate to seek services offered. By the way, the below is the mission and vision statements of Community Legal Services.

Mission Statement

To provide high quality service to persons of insufficient means who require Legal Aid.

Vision Statement

To support the justice system by efficiently and effectively using available resources to provide timely assistance to qualified applicants for Legal Aid.

For years Barbadians on the rock and in the diaspora have been complaining about the poor services meted out by the legal profession with unsatisfactory response. This includes the Disciplinary Committee (DC), although we have seen a few token cases of recent, not enough to satisfy the number of complaints filed with the DC. In fact, would you be surprised to learn that many Barbadians and others do not bother to file complaints because of the belief the system only serves to frustrate and upheave a citizen’s emotional state?

In the same way water flows to the point of least resistance, so too citizens with limited to no resources will seek services to attempt to correct wrongs. The blogmaster is aware citizens offering services under the guise of being a ‘McKenzie Friend’ make enter informal arrangement for financial compensation. Perhaps this is a concern of the BBA?

The uproar over the three names on the BBA list is only a symptom of a deeper national failure. For decades, successive governments have tip toed around the dysfunction of the Barbados Bar Association and its sister entity the Disciplinary Committee, choosing political convenience over institutional remedy. The result is a justice system where ordinary Barbadians have become alienated. No surprise many are looking elsewhere for help because the official channels have become dysfuntional.

Notice to the public from the Barbados Bar Association listing individuals not authorized to provide legal services.

When a society reaches the point where citizens trust informal actors more than the bodies legally mandated to protect them, the decline is no longer creeping; it is systemic. Unless we confront the rot in these key gatekeeping institutions, citizens will continue to lose confidence in the very institutions established to protect them, and then what?

Are we there yet?

65 responses to “Ordinary Barbadians are seeking legal advice from non lawyers – what went wrong?”

1. BBA not budging

DEBATE IS INTENSIFYING over the role of non-lawyers in the justice system following a recent warning by the Barbados Bar Association (BBA).

Speaking on Starcom Networkโ€™s radio call-in programme Down To Brass Tacks yesterday, womenโ€™s advocate Marsha Hinds-Layne and attorney Kirstin Turton offered differing perspectives on the Barโ€™s caution to the public about utilising the services of unqualified legal practitioners.

The discussion, moderated by David Ellis, centred on the recent controversy involving individuals reportedly performing legal services without being on the roll of attorneys. While the Bar has issued its warning as a necessary step to protect the public, advocates argued it ignored a critical need for support within an archaic and often intimidating court system.

Specific legal services

Turton, vice-president of the BBA, firmly defended their stance. She argued that the warning was rooted in the Legal Profession Act, which reserves specific legal services โ€“ such as advocacy and the drafting of conveyances or powers of attorney โ€“ for qualified attorneys.

โ€œThe primary concern . . . is actually for the litigants and the members of the public, and making sure that the people who are โ€˜assistingโ€™ them are properly qualified to do so,โ€ she said. She noted that the concept of a โ€œMcKenzie friendโ€ โ€“ a lay assistant who helps a self-represented litigant โ€“ has been cited by some practitioners, but she questioned its legal standing in Barbados. โ€œTo come out and say that โ€˜I am appearing as a McKenzie friend because the common law says soโ€™ is really not an appropriate thing to say because it is not accurate,โ€ Turton stated. โ€œThere is nothing in Barbados that says that.โ€ She revealed that the BBA was currently pursuing a court case to determine whether such a role is permitted under local law and, if so, to clearly define its scope. However, Hinds-Layne, a gender advocate with 26 years of experience, argued that the Bar Associationโ€™s notice represented only โ€œhalf of the equationโ€. She contended that its primary mandate was to protect attorneys, often leaving other users of the court system vulnerable. โ€œWhen you read the notice, it is very much, again, making the court the purview of the attorney,โ€ Hinds-Layne said. โ€œIn 2026 . . . the attorney-at-law is only one of a team of people who operate within the court system.โ€ She described the local legal landscape, particularly in family law, as โ€œmurkyโ€ and โ€œcolonialโ€, submitting that the average Barbadian lacked civic education regarding statutes and their rights. In her view, advocates play a crucial โ€œbehind-the-scenes roleโ€ in bridging this gap โ€“ explaining reports, interpreting statutes, and providing the emotional and logistical support that busy attorneys often do not.

Team

โ€œAttorneys-at-law donโ€™t do that work,โ€ she said, noting that many lawyers operate as โ€œa single entityโ€ rather than as part of a wrap-around team, including social workers and advocates.

She highlighted instances where clients were left in the dark by their legal representatives, such as not being shown reports written about their own children. โ€œWho stands up for the end users of the court system in Barbados? The lawyers are protected . . . but who stands up for the end users?โ€

While Turton emphasised the risk of unqualified individuals handling complex legal documents such as conveyances, Hinds-Layne called for a modernisation of the system to accommodate trained advocates who could navigate the unequal power dynamics often found in family court matters.

Hinds-Layne clarified that she was not advocating for unqualified people to practise law, but rather for the recognition of a support system that had proven effective in stabilising families in crisis.

โ€œI hope that at the end of this conversation, what we are intending to do is to make the legal space in Barbados safer and more responsive to the average person in the streets,โ€ she stated. (MB)

2. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

DRAFT RESPONSE TO THE BARBADOS UNDERGROUND ARTICLE

Below is a letter or op-ed style response

Subject: Re: “Ordinary Barbadians are seeking legal advice from non-lawyers โ€“ what went wrong?”

My Response

Dear David, / Barbados Underground,

Your recent article raises a critical question: “When a society reaches the point where citizens trust informal actors more than the bodies legally mandated to protect them, WHAT THEN?”

The answer is that this is not an abstract question. Other small Commonwealth jurisdictions have faced this same crisis of public confidence. And they have shown that reform is possible.

1. The Problem is Not Unique โ€“ And Neither Are the Solutions

Academic research confirms that small jurisdictions like Barbados face challenges in delivering access to justice, including limited resources, capacity constraints, and the need to rely on external expertise. However, these constraints are not insurmountable. The Commonwealth Secretariat has documented those small states with similar legal histories, many of them Caribbean, have successfully modernized their justice systems through regional cooperation and targeted reforms.

2. What Other Jurisdictions Have Done

Consider these practical examples:

โ€ข Jamaica has implemented a comprehensive justice reform program with support from the Department of Justice Canada and the UNDP. Their “Justice Undertakings for Social Transformation” project (JUST) has: modernized court infrastructure with ICT upgrades, trained over 100 court staff in case management, developed user-friendly information products for citizens (including braille and captioning for persons with disabilities), deployed Mobile Justice Units to bring legal aid services directly to communities, and reduced case backlogs through systematic case flow management.

โ€ข Kenya launched an E-Judiciary Mobile Application that functions as a “virtual courthouse,” allowing citizens to track case progress, access judgments, and receive court notifications remotely. The UNDP, which supported this initiative, notes it has been particularly effective for “the elderly, persons with disabilities, and other vulnerable groupsโ€.

โ€ข Within Barbados itself, Chief Justice Leslie Haynes has already announced sweeping reforms, including digitization of court files, trial date certainty, and the retrial of all pre-2020 Court of Appeal outstanding judgments at State expense. The Bar Association has given these initiatives its full backing, with President Kaye Williams stating that “it is the public that we serve” and that attorneys “must come on boardโ€.

3. The Missing Piece: Community-Led Dispute Resolution

Your article correctly identifies the demand for non-lawyer support. A growing body of scholarship suggests that decentralizing justice through community-level dispute resolution can complement formal court systems, particularly for civil, family, and low-value matters.

Legal pluralism, recognizing multiple legitimate pathways to justice, has been successfully implemented in jurisdictions ranging from the Philippines (Barangay Justice) to New Zealand and Canada (indigenous dispute resolution forums).

4. A Practical Path Forward for Barbados

What would this look like in Barbados?

โ€ข Formalize the “McKenzie Friend” role:

Develop clear regulations recognizing trained, non-lawyer court supporters, with standardized training and ethical oversight, rather than forcing them into an unregulated grey market.

โ€ข Expand the Law Reform Commission’s public engagement:

The Commission was inviting public submissions on law reform until February 16, 2026 โ€“ ask them to expand that proviso until December 2026. This is a direct opportunity for citizens to propose the very changes your article calls for.

โ€ข Leverage regional cooperation:

CARICOM and the Commonwealth Secretariat already have frameworks for small jurisdictions to share model legislation and best practices on legal aid and court modernization.

5. Conclusion

Your article warns of systemic decline. But systems can be rebuilt. The evidence from Jamaica, Kenya, and elsewhere shows that political will, targeted investment, and genuine public consultation can restore trust in justice institutions.

The question is not whether Barbados can reform. It is whether our leaders will act on the solutions that already exist.

Your in good faith,

Terence M Blackett

3. @TB

A fair critique, however the proof of the pudding is always the eating.

4. Well, the same thing which went wrong when another group of charlatans preach about what happens after death are allowed to ply such a trade and Indeed build an industry collecting tiths from the poor under a promise of predestination and instead wrecking lives within the process having had no real qualification so to do since never died or thusly raised.

5. “Barbadians are not only abandoning their elderly relatives at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) but are also resorting to โ€œdumpingโ€ them at the Psychiatric Hospital.”

6. Chicken never ask mongoose how to secure her eggs yet!

7. @John A

Your comment is a little harsh? Shouldnโ€™t the BBA and DC have an obligation to share concerns with the public?

8. The Bar Association is only showing its dirty ass.

9. @ David

Well I heard Dr Phil say the best judge of future behaviour is past behaviour. Lol

They are just too many sad stories about this type of nonesence where some lawyers not all, take up people’s money and it takes years for them to get if back, if they are lucky!

They are decent lawyers out there don’t get me wrong. I had the pleasure of working with the same one for nearly 35 years. I think what pisses people off though is that they don’t always see justice when it comes to some issues with them. The wheels of justice turn slowly and for a 80 year old victim for example, time is not on their side to wait on justice under our system.

10. @Donna: “The Bar Association is only showing its dirty ass.

I am posting this because I know it will annoy some people. And perhaps make some other people think.

Lawyers are artists of language.

11. @John A

Has a listen to the brasstacks program last night and a caller engaging David Ellis mentioned how the system does not address the matter of restorative justice. It is something the Barbados Bar Association can use their voice to lobby for.

12. Can someone please Sandra that her government which is self serving has made life a living hell for the middle class, provided much handouts for the poor and handed the wealthy concessions

13. This whole BBA thing is really funny yuh..
    Larry Smith cannot be serious!!

These are the same parasites, mostly educated at the EXPENSE of taxpayers, who have – like the politicians where the worse of them gravitate, cannot get one shiite to work in the judiciary system… despite the MULTITUDES of them infesting the damn place.

These lawyers have used their political connections, the courts, the judiciary and even the police force – to legally FORCE ordinary citizens to utilize their EXPENSIVE, unreliable, mostly shitty services – for even the most minor of lifeโ€™s necessities.

They legislated MINIMUM fees that can be charged – in case any of their โ€˜not-so-dishonestโ€™ members may feel inclined to be lenient with a poor client.

They ROUTINELY use their client’s funds as personal mortgages, car loans, and for other personal benefits – and regularly steal these funds – many ending up in prison themselves.
    Not a peep from the BBA…!!!
    They NEVER mandated audits, checks, or any process to reduce such misuse of clientโ€™s funds.

But now that a few DECENT citizens, who understand the law, …and who know the EXTENT to which poor people are being exploited, offers FREE guidance to a few victims, the BBA becomes loud and agitated…??!!!

The GALL!!
    Only in mafia Brassbados…
    This is the kind of thinking one would expect in Hell…not in an educated society.

What a place!

14. @Bush Tea

The irony is that many commonwealth countries that we lift our legislation recognize the work of non legal persons to deliver some services which our system brand only lawyers must do.

You will never be able to make this shit up.

15. Good luck suing the BBA. Didn’t Clarke say he works for a number of lawyers? Things that make you go hmmm.

Apologise or Iโ€™ll sue!

Paralegal makes demand on Bar after ad published

by MARIA BRADSHAW

mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

COMMUNITY ACTIVIST and paralegal service provider Winston Clarke has issued a legal demand to the Barbados Bar Association, calling for the retraction of a public notice that named him as an individual not authorised to provide legal services.

He hand-delivered the letter to the Barโ€™s offices at Perry Gap, Roebuck Street, St Michael, yesterday afternoon and indicated he would be following it up with registered mail.

In the correspondence addressed to Bar Association president Larry A.C. Smith KC, Clarke threatened legal action for defamation and judicial review unless the association apologises and retracts the notice published in the SUNDAY SUN on May 10.

The controversy centres on a public notice issued by the Bar Association Council which listed Clarke alongside two others โ€“ Quincy Jones and Colin Roach โ€“ stating they were not entered on the roll of attorneys and โ€œnot authorised to provide legal servicesโ€.

Speaking to the MIDWEEK NATION after delivering the letter, Clarke said: โ€œI am here as a result of the advertisement that was published on May the 10th which mentioned my name relevant to being on the roll of attorneys, which obviously Iโ€™m not. But also, the fact that they would have placed at the end of the article that people should be wary of me relevant to giving legal services.

Broad parameters

โ€œNow, obviously, I give legal services to attorneys. Legal services has broad parameters โ€“ when I do searches for the Registry, searches for wills, delivering the documents, all of those are legal services. So they have to be very definitive.โ€

He also criticised the Bar Associationโ€™s stance on โ€œMcKenzie Friendsโ€ โ€“ lay assistants who help people in court.

โ€œI saw the vice-president, Ms [Kristin] Turton, stating that my quoting New Zealand and Australian law relevant to McKenzie Friends is not adaptable to here. But when you look at Section 46.1 of the Interpretation Act, we practise common law.โ€

He criticised any attempts to deny justice to those who are โ€œsocio-economicallyโ€ disadvantaged, adding: โ€œAnybody who asks me for assistance, I will give it to them.โ€

In his formal letter, Clarke took โ€œthe gravest exceptionโ€ to the publication, arguing that while the Bar Association was the custodian of the roll, its authority was not unfettered. He contended that the notice exceeded the councilโ€™s lawful powers and was issued in breach of the rules of natural justice.

He charged that the body which regulates the legal profession was โ€œin contravention of my constitutional rightsโ€.

โ€œThey would have been in contravention of my rights under natural justice because they would have placed a document in the newspaper without forwarding any correspondence to me,โ€ he said in the interview.

Backing this up in his letter, Clarke quoted the legal principle that a decision affecting a personโ€™s rights must be made fairly, stating the Bar Association acted in โ€œflagrant disregard of the elementary principle that a person whose interests are to be adversely affected by the decision of a public body must first be heardโ€.

In the letter, Clarke particularised the breaches he claimed the council committed:

โ€ข Acting ultra vires: He charged that the council was โ€œnot empowered to declare, in sweeping and undifferentiated terms, that an individual is barred from providing any and all โ€˜legal servicesโ€™โ€, noting that paralegal work and registry searches were lawful activities.

โ€ข Defamation: He claimed the notice conveys the meaning that he is โ€œdishonest, unfit to be entrusted with any service touching upon legal mattersโ€ and defamatory.

โ€ข Procedural fairness: He noted that no specific act of unauthorised practice was identified by the Bar Association before publication.

Clarke has given the association 14 days to respond.

โ€œI must see the minutes. I must see what day the council met relevant to publishing this ad . . . . They must also show me what documentation or proof they have that states that I ever purported to be an attorney,โ€ he declared.

โ€œIf they fail to do that, I will take them to the necessary forum, even if I have to go to the human rights organisation.โ€

Should the Bar Association fail to meet these demands, Clarke said he had reserved the right to commence proceedings for judicial review, sue for defamation (including aggravated damages) and file a constitutional motion in the High Court.

16. “Didnโ€™t Clarke say he works for a number of lawyers?โ€
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    LOL @ you Boss…
    We ALL โ€˜work for a number of lawyersโ€™…

They are called the political class
    and they rule us along with their clan of mafia minions and โ€˜Tronsโ€™.

So good luck with getting ANY shiite fixed…

Murduh!!
    What a place…
    … and once SOOOOO blessed!!!

17. THE NASTY BASTERDS SON OF THE FORMER SLAVE OWNING CLASS OF HUMAN PREDATORS INCLUDING THE HOUSE NIGGAS* WHO EXPLOIT UNEDUCATED, UNINSPIRED, UNINITIATED FORMER SONS/DAUGHTERS OF A PLANTOCRACY SLAVE SYSTEM OF GENOCIDAL WAR AGAINST THE PROGENY OF THE HOUSE OF JUDAH ARE BEING MET IN THE 21ST CENTURY WITH AN ENTRENCHED FORM OF MERCANTILE SERVITUDE THAT REMAINS AN ALBATROSS AROUND THEIR NECKS

In order to set the “HOUSE OF JUDAH” free from the “STINKING ROT* OF CORRUPTION, EXPLOITATION, WANTON GREED & VICE” (anciently) – “THE MOST HIGH” had to put the vast “MAJORITY” to the “EDGE OF THE SWORD” by their avowed enemies!!!

THE MOST HIGH” is still the “SAME, YESTERDAY & FOREVERMORE” & will have to “LEVEL” the said “JUDGMENT” today – in order to set “US FREE”!!!

UNTOLD NUMBERS WILL HAVE TO DIE IN ORDER TO LIBERATE THE OTHERS

When I look at my “CUNTRY” & the colossal “MESS” that exist (AND I HAVE NOT EVEN ENCAPSULATED THE ENTIRE HOUSE OF NEGROES), I shudder to think of the “DESTRUCTION” that is coming to our people!!!

This cannot continue much longer!!!

The “RULING EPSTEIN CLASS OF SERPENTINE VILLAINS” believe they are “UNTOUCHABLE”, & I can call them all out (each) by name – what they do not recognize is that there is a “HIGHER POWER” who “RULES” & knows who they are & will only allow so much & no more – before the “SWORD” is leveled across the necks of those who felt they were hermetically sealed from “DIVINE VENGEANCE & JUDGMENT”!!!

“WOE TO YOU LAWYERS”!!! For you have taken away the key of knowledge: you entered not in yourselves, and them that were entering in – you hindered.” (Luke 11:52)

This verse is part of a series of CONDEMNATIONS* against “THE TARGETED* LEGAL/RELIEGIOUS ELITES”, specifically targeting even the modern-day “SCRIBES” (the ones who write the laws & legislate jurisprudence) – who are the so-called “EXPERTS” in the law (often referred to as “LAWYERS”), for their hypocrisy & obstruction of both “JUSTICE” & even “SPIRITUAL TRUTH” – that is meant to set people “FREE”!!!

I HATE THE WICKEDNESS OF THESE *STINKING BASTERDS*

No wonder *JESUS CHRIST* placed a “WOE” on those “FILTHY VERMIN”!!!

This highlights their “HYPOCRISY” – for they meticulously observe their “FREEMASONIC” & “OCCULT” rituals, (PRACTICING THEIR JU-JU, VOODOO, & OBEAH) while completely neglecting the fundamental principles of justice & love!!!

Their focus on “EXTERNAL LEGALISM”, (WEARING STUPID ROBES & ASININE HEAD-PIECES), blinded them to the core ethical demands of their “BELIEFS”, effectively refusing “JUSTICE” both in their “PERSONAL CONDUCT” & in their “INTERPRETATION OF THE LAW FOR OTHERS”!!!

Their “NEGLECT OF JUSTICE” is intrinsically linked to their “REMOVAL” of the “KEY OF KNOWLEDGE”, (believing their “SHYTE DON’T STINK” & that they are the only ones mandated to arbitrate the law because they “CREPT UNDER” the “BAR” of validity giving them the sole rites to practice the law & rule over others)!!!

WHAT A CROQ!!!

LET THE BAR, THE JUDICIARY & THE STINKING LYING POLIETICIANS EXPLAIN WHY THE OFFICERS OF THE COURT ARE IN SUCH A STATE OF PRIMAL RIGOR MORTIS

Why can’t the “PEASANT CLASS”, “WORKING CLASS” & the “DREGS OF SOCIETY” get any form of true justice???

WHY THE DELAYS WITHIN THE COURT SYSTEM THOUGH THE INEPT GOV* ADMIN HAS LEGISLATED OTHERWISE???

Do they not know the law they are supposed to practice??? Or is this “WILFUL” trifling with people’s lives? Or both???

I know they are “FOLKS” who believe I have a “MESSIANIC COMPLEX” but that’s on them – (for personally, I long to see everything “BURN 2 THE GROUND”), but righteous conscience dictates that “MESSIAH” has a timeline where “ALL THINGS” will be dealt with – so it is not my prerogative, either which way!!!

THESE UGLY BASTERDS* KNOW THE LAW – WHY NOT BE JUST

Case in point:

DELAYS IN RENDERING JUSTICE BY LAW LORDS WHO KICK THEIR JUDGMENT RULINGS INTO THE LONG GRASS!!!

One such example is my beloved cousin, Morris Lee & that is why I am so “PASSIONATELY PISSED-OFF” this morning!!!

THIS IS THE LAW YOU BASTERDS

(1) The timeframe (FOR HANDING DOWN JUDGMENTS) is governed by constitutional standards of “REASONABLENESS” and binding judicial guidance established by the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ)…

(2) The overarching law governing court “DELAYS” is SECTION 18(8) of the Constitution of Barbados…

(3) FAILING* to hand down a judgment for an extended period after a trial concludes constitutes a breach of this supreme constitutional right…

(4) Because the Constitution does not define “REASONABLE TIME” in exact days, the CCJ established CLEAR, BINDING parameters for Barbadian courts…

(5) In the landmark Barbadian case Yoland Reid v Jerome Reid, the CCJ explicitly ruled that the 3-MONTH TARGET, as a standard rule, a judge should normally deliver a judgment within [3] months of the conclusion of the hearing…

(6) The 6-MONTH UPPER LIMIT, unless a case involves unusual difficulty or extreme complexity, no judgment should remain outstanding for more than [6] months…

(7) The issue of delayed judgments became so severe in Barbados that the government amended the law to enforce accountability. Under SECTION 84 of the Constitution of Barbados (read alongside the Supreme Court of Judicature Act), where a judge can be investigated and “REMOVED” from office for “INABILITY TO DISCHARGE THE FUNCTIONS OF THEIR OFFICE”…

(8) The law explicitly includes the chronic, unexcused delay in delivering judgments as a ground for a “TRIBUNAL” investigation and eventual “REMOVAL FROM THE BENCH”!!!

Like the “PROPHET DANIEL” in the courts of Belshazzar (FROM THE HANDWRITING ON THE WALL) – “Your kingdom has been “NUMBERED”; you’ve been “JUDGED” & “WEIGHED IN THE BALANCES OF JUSTICE” by the “GREAT JUDGE OF THE UNIVERSE” & have been “FOUND WANTING” – now your kingdom is given over to your “ENEMIES” – THE MEDES & PERSIANS)!!!

TIME 4 THE *SHYTE* TO STOP

#EnoughIsEnough

#OnThatRambunctiousNote

#IMDUN

18. @ Terence
    If the Mafia boss THEMSELF cannot meet commitments for delivering reports that are REQUIRED BY LAW, …pray tell us how anyone else can be forced to conform to similar legal timelines –
    -UNLESS THEY ARE SIMPLE BRASS BOWL CITIZENS WHO ARE POWERLESS to resist.

Leadership is a SACRED trust.
    Ethics, morals, LAWFULNESS and fairness are TOP DOWN characteristics. This means that any existing characteristics EXACTLY reflect those of the very top.

Look how quickly the USA changed from โ€˜Trumpism’, to โ€˜Obamaismโ€™, and back… in recent history.

Leaders appoint persons of similar CHARACTER to positions of authority – so Trump is surrounded by Epstein graduates and billionaire money lovers like himself.

Now check and see how many “CLICO and Four Seasons graduates” occupy positions of trust in Brassbados… then tell Bushie what else we could expect…

What a place…!
    Charting a course for destruction…

19. Leadership is something that can be measured, one does not have to engage in emotional and political debate. We can use one measure as a single example for Barbados, PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION.

We have witnessed successive governments let public transportation descend into โ€˜chaosโ€™ in the last 50 years or so. Then they come to us asking for our blessing to construct ugly flyovers in a country that sells its aesthetics to the world. To solve a problem created by them (successive governments).

Piss in the blogmasterโ€™s pocket do.

20. @ David

Didn’t Tom Adams suggested the construction of flyovers and widening the road to three lanes each side, when the ABC highway was being constructed…… suggestions the Opposition opposed?

21. @Artax

There was resistance to the ABC highway, do not recall any mention of flyovers. The blogmaster is always willing to be guided.

22. @ David

Yes he did want 3 lanes as he wanted a lane for exit and entry that drivers could merge into. He gave up on that as he was told by the opposition at the time, that it was a waste of money and the use of it could not warrant the cost. I cant recall talk of flyovers but he may of said it.

23. @BU.David et al…

When I first came to Barbados (25 years ago) I was guided by a young black man. He became a very trusted friend.

I said I was impressed by how efficient the roundabouts were.

He laughed, and then said “Yeah. Just wait until rush hour.

24. A big part of our problem now is that we have become indisciplined and lawless. In every aspect of our society.

25. I am not sure that is always true.

My good friend is now a senior manager. Travels a lot.

Working hard sometimes brings good.

26. @Chris

You should not cite pockets of individual success to refute the point. The issue is about creating a culture of success and excellence.

27. @BU.David: “You should not cite pockets of individual success to refute the point. The issue is about creating a culture of success and excellence.

My friend has been quite successful. And he has helped those around him.

I know it is easy to distract and disparage.

But some managers are actually good.

28. “A big part of our problem now is that we have become indisciplined and lawless.โ€
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Actually Boss the REAL big problem may be much more basic …

“The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge.” – Daniel Boorstin

You just gotta listen to Brass Tacks and hear all kinda โ€˜expertsโ€™ pontificating of lifeโ€™s complexities… but the joke is that few of them can claim โ€™successโ€™ in ANY endeavor in their life… but yet calling every damn day talking shiite about every topic.

We have become ‘indisciplined and lawless’ because we THINK that we know shit…
    and we are so ‘full of it’, that we COMPLETELY miss the opportunity for REAL Knowledge.

Our grandparents ADMITTED their ignorance … and actually found sound knowledge.
    They ACTUALLY built up savings, created Bushie’s generation of IMPRESSIVE citizens, built an outstanding society, and OWNED ASSETS – like BARTEL, BS&T, MUTUAL etc…

Then along came the jackasses โ€˜eddykatedโ€™ on the Hill and in the USA after 1980… with their illusion of knowledge, and where every JA is a โ€˜Phd’, โ€˜honorable’, โ€˜MP’, ‘National heroโ€™, โ€˜Senatorโ€™, or some such shiite…
    YET, now we are broke; indebted to Tom, Dick and Harry; we own nothing; we are living on borrowings and begging; we are indisciplined; lawless; and crime is like the Wild West…
    Steupsss…

Here is a test for 10 marks…
    Define โ€˜successโ€™?

โ€™Success’ is a BASIC concept that drives EVERYTHING that we do. So surely we have a commonly accepted definition of the term. Can you tell us what it is?

Or perhaps Halsall can help – since he has determined that his friend โ€˜…has been quite successfulโ€™.
    Not sure about the โ€˜helping those around himโ€™ part though, because Drug Lords and Mafia bosses are hard to out-do in that regard…

What a world!

29. @Bushie… “Or perhaps Halsall can help…

Perhaps I can.

You constantly disparage. Constantly refering to hell on earth.

Constantly refering to the end of times. Refering to a book written by white men.

Please take this the way it is intended…

Fuck you. And the horse you road in on.

We can do better. And are.

30. More in the mortar as they say?

Jones: I will let Bar do its probe

By Maria Bradshaw mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

The Barbados Bar Association is in possession of documents which refer to Democratic Labour Party (DLP) spokesman on education, Quincy Jones, as an attorney, a title he is not authorised to hold.

Jones, a teacher by profession who studied law at the Cave Hill Campus of the University of the West Indies and who was once enrolled at the Hugh Wooding Law School in Trinidad, has never been called to the Bar.

Last Sunday, the Bar Association published a notice in the Sunday Sun newspaper listing Jones, along with Winston Clarke and Colin Roach, as individuals who were โ€œnot entered on the roll of attorneys-at-law in Barbadosโ€ and โ€œnot authorised to provide legal servicesโ€.

The Bar Association issued a stern warning to the public: โ€œMembers of the public are urged to exercise caution and to ensure that any person from whom they seek legal services is duly admitted and in possession of a valid practising certificate.โ€

Bar president Larry Smith KC is scheduled to address the media this morning at the associationโ€™s Perry Gap, St Michael offices regarding the notices.

When contacted last Sunday regarding the advertisement, Jones said he was unsure how he became entangled in the matter.

โ€œI have never represented to any person or entity that I was or ever have been an attorney-at-law,โ€ he said.

Weekend Nation investigations have uncovered a letter bearing the letterhead: โ€œFrom Quincy Dec. Jones JP, Attorney-at-law.โ€ The correspondence, which also listed an email address ending in qjonesthelawyer@gmail.com, concluded with the same title.

When confronted with the existence of this letter, Jones declined to discuss it directly, stating: โ€œI have already formally responded to the president of the Barbados Bar Association and, as a courtesy, would rather wish to first give the Bar the opportunity to review my evidence and to properly conduct and complete their investigations.โ€

Further investigations by this newspaper revealed that in 2025, Jones represented a man during a disciplinary matter at his workplace. Sources at the company involved stated that while the situation allowed for anyone to represent the employee, they believed they were engaging a qualified attorney. Reportedly, several pieces of correspondence were sent on the letterhead and multiple meetings were held.

It was only after the matter concluded that the company reached out to an attorney and the Bar Association, discovering that Jones was not a practising attorney. A judicial officer speaking to the

Weekend Nation

noted that Section 12 of the Legal Profession Act creates a statutory offence for wilfully pretending to be an attorney.

โ€œSubject to Section 12, a person whose name is not on the roll wilfully pretends to be an attorney-at-law or makes use of any name, title or description implying that he intends to be recognised as an attorney-at-law, is guilty of an offence and liable on summary conviction to a fine of $5 000 or prison for one year, or to both,โ€ the officer stated.

In relation to the Employment Rights Act, he pointed out that it essentially enabled anyone to represent a person in a disciplinary hearing.

โ€œSection 10 says a person may appear before the tribunal in person or be represented by legal counsel, a representative of a trade union or an employerโ€™s association, or any other person who desires to represent him. So the Employment Rights Tribunal will enable somebody to come in without any inquiry by the chairman.โ€

Jones contested the last General Election as a DLP candidate for Christ Church East Central. In 2020 he served as the Faculty of Law representative on the Students Guild and was also constitutional chairperson.

https://barbadosunderground.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/05/quincy-jones-369×480.png

31. @Chris

You may need to take a breath, nothing wrong with individuals having different perspectives.

32. @Bush Tea

Use to listen to the Brasstacks program on the regular but some of the characters calling in are a big turn off. The crap they espouse in all their ignorance is embarrassing. To think some of us have to pay good money for airtime. They have become stars in their heads and a few like minded. David Ellis tries to beat them down, he may feel more secure to do so, but the others are fearful of the backlash and seem intimidated. It is something the station manager should look at, a reengineering of the program.

33. @ David
    Agreed!

Brasstacks has the potential to be a PREMIER, NATIONAL, educational tool
    – One that could shed light where there is darkness, and fertilizer where there is raw shiite…

It is the REAL answer to all these shiite โ€™Town Hall Meetingsโ€™, โ€˜Press briefingsโ€™, and media releases that are regularly used by the Mafia to bamboozle BBs.
    What Brass Tacks critically need is to present knowledgeable experts, hopefully with differing opinions, to represent the issues along with the public.

Ellis tries, but one-man armies are rarely super effective.
    Besides, he has inside knowledge of how our Mafia operates…

ESPECIALLY where that Mafia so badly wants the BB public to forget issues such as HOPE, STEAL housing, Four Seasons, CARIFESTA, energy costs, water woes, QEH inefficiencies, land giveaways to foreigners, transport chaos, ZR indiscipline, justice system collapse, SHOOTINGS…etc etc

Come to think of it, Brass Tacks wonโ€™t last a month if it went this way…

BTW …It seems that you are not touching the โ€˜successโ€™ question…
    There are 10 points up for grabs…

34. @ David

You may be correct that it wasn’t Adams, but I ‘KNOW for SURE’ the suggestion to build ‘flyovers’ isn’t anything new.

I’ll invite you to read TWO (2) articles you posted to BU:

October 05, 2007 – “3S Barbados SRL To Meet with the People of Barbados to Discuss โ€˜The Construction of Flyovers on the ABC Highwayโ€™ ~ We Hope Barbadians Attend in Large Numbers.”

October 10, 2007 – “Flyovers in Barbados.”

…… which clearly indicates that we’ve been discussing the topic for the past NINETEEN (19) years.

35. But @Bush Tea, we have discussed this many times in this space. Success is defined differently by everyone. At a time of rampaging cultural relativism and the dilution of traditional values, individuals like you from the baby boomer generation will feel obvious pain.

Todayโ€™s microwave generation thriving in the prevailing environment measure it differently, mainly through transactional success.

To discuss this topic @busttea has become tiring for a lowly blogmaster. It is as if some of us are living in the twilight zone because we are a people without heads sequestered or trapped? between darkness and light.

36. @Artax

Yes, the flyover issue was a hot topic back in the day on the blog. Although the blogmaster would hate to see our landscape populated with flyovers note that when the project was introduced back in the day, there were concerns about the governance issues, re: 3S, Gline Clarke, lack of geotechnical expertise etc.

37. @BU.David: “You may need to take a breath, nothing wrong with individuals having different perspectives.

I completely agree. I actually enjoy people who argue with me. They test my presuppositions.

Quick question… How many parents have given their young a copy of Machiavelli’s “The Prince”?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Prince

My step father gave me that as a Christmas give when I was nine years old. He said “Everything you need to know about management is in that little book.

38. I’ve listened to ‘Brasstacks’. I became bored with the kissing up to the host, politeness and the pseudo-intellectuals.
    Would love more talk radio. Would halve the time between callers and kick off those who are full of pretense.

Read the note from the BBA/ Seem, like the only criteria to practice law in Barbados are (1) that you are duly admitted and (2) is in possession of a licensed to practice in Barbados. Meanwhile, an attorney makes off with $0.9M and the victim has no chance of getting back his money. Insipid and puerile. Lacking depth,

39. “Meanwhile, an attorney makes off with $0.9M and the victim has no chance of getting back his money.โ€
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    @ Yawn
    This is perhaps why the โ€˜license’ is critical…
    We canโ€™t have every Tom, Dick and Harry with this kinda โ€˜powa’…

Murduh!!
    One cannot help but admire the BLATANT GALL of our modern-day highway robbers.
    They have absolutely NO SHAME!!!

Of course Trump is the king of them all, …but even at the local level, the AUDACITY is (in a strange way,) – impressive…!!
    ‘Old fogie’ Bushie once thought that all was lost when local ex-BrassTacks star โ€˜Petra Wickieโ€™ got married – with great ceremony…
    But that all now seems to be quite conservative…

The temperature has ramped up SIGNIFICANTLY since then…
    …approaching ‘Hell-Fire’ perhaps…?

What a world!!

40. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Long before McKenzie Friends Barbados had an honorable history of what were called “fireside lawyers.” My father born in the first quarter of the 20th century told me that Roland Edwards who composed the music for our national anthem acted in such a role for people who had to appear at District E, but could not afford the services at a lawyer. Both money and lawyers were very scarce in Barbados during that period of our history.

41. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Dear Artax: Since Tom Adams died in 1985, by 2007 when flyovers were being discussed Tom had long been duppy dust.

42. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

I wonder whether Community Legal Services truly see themselves as advocates, that is an organization which speaks up for others, and which seeks to make wrong things right.

I planned to adopt a child. Pulled my paper work together:
    Letter from my doctor, including a mental health assessment
    Letters from 2 neighbors
    Letter from my pastor
    Letter from my bank
    Letter from my employer

Didn’t have much cash on hand [living pay cheque to pay cheque as many perhaps most people do] but had worked steadily for more than 20 years. Had lived in the same home for 4 years. An official of Community Legal Services told me to my face “if you are planing to adopt a child, then you should be able to pay a lawyer.” Alas I did not have lawyer money. But shouldn’t Community Legal Services not have advocated for me and for the child and if the rules were foolish not sought to have the rules changed? After all keeping a child in the State’s care from infancy to adulthood must cost the state/the taxpayers tens of thousands of dollars, maybe $100,000 or more if university education is included. Since it was an uncontested adoption how much could the legal fees have been? Maybe the State/Community Legal Services could have paid a few thousand for a lawyer and saved the State perhaps $100,000 or more. Is this what is meant by penny wise and pound foolish?

However if I had been charged with murder, and if I knew that I was as guilty as sin I would still have been ENTITLED to legal aid.

Sometimes I despair for my community of people.

43. @ Cuhdear Bajan

Sometimes you ‘harrow me with fear and wonder’……, actually more fear than wonder.

It’s clear COMPREHENSION isn’t your strong suit.

44. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

I wonder if Barbados does not have too many lawyers, and whether the Bar Association should not have an upper age limit for practising lawyers. Maybe send the “old fogies” home at 67 and leave room for the young lawyers to move up?

I am surely not going to hire an 80 year old anybody.
    Not an 80 year old lawyer.
    Not an 80 year old doctor.
    Not an 80 year old engineer.
    Not an 80 year old nurse.
    Not an 80 year old teacher.
    Not an 80 year old carpenter.
    Not an 80 year old gardener.
    Not an 80 year old MP.
    Not an 80 year old PM.

The time comes when the elders should defer to the younger generation.

45. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

When St. Lucians elected 81 year old John Compton in December 2006 I wondered if his political party and the people of St. Lucia had gone mad. I still think so.

Time for some of the old fogies to step down. We are NOT immortal. I have a couple of siblings older than 80 and at anytime I expect the phone to ring even though they are both “apparently” in good health. Even though I am still under 80 I have noticed that some of my classmates and neighbors are already demented.

46. @ Cuhdear Bajan –

Just when it seems that you are coming to understand brassbowlery (May 17, 2026 at 4:01 pm) you launch into your usual shiite at 4:11 about โ€˜ageโ€™…

Point 1 – You CANNOT affod to hire ANYONE – beyond a ZR – as you alluded with your aborted adoption story…

Point 2 – Some of the biggest idiots / crooks / schemers / jokers are young, healthy and fit.

Point 3 – Age is just a shiite number that allows BBs to define themselves as extinct, and to follow tradition like sheep – or jackasses.

Point 4 Life BEGINS at 80 – for those with the WISDOM (and blessings from on high) that comes along with such wisdom.

It would therefore MAKE SENSE to hire an old โ€˜fogie’ who is still around and performing; whose donkey avoided Dodds (if a lawyer); and who has a HISTORY of outstanding performance over the years.

Steupsss… you like you is still Simple Simon yuh…!!!

47. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Not an aborted adoption story. The baby graduated from an excellent university in 2020 and has been in good work since then. Married last year too. A lovely, lovely wedding. Sorry we forgot to invite you. Lol!
    Anybody who thinks that age is just a number is completely clueless and deluded. Our time on this earth is absolutely finite.
    But you galong t’inking that you immortal.

48. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Dear Artax:
    You need not fear me, nor fear for me. Save your fears for the 240 young men [see front page of the Nation of May 18th, 2026] who were murdered in the last 7 years, and save your fear for the more than 240 young men who have been charged or will be charged with murder. Save your fear for the hundreds of children [maybe 1,000 children if each murdered man and each murderer had two children, and we know from reading the obits that some had many more than two] likely half of them boys who have been left without the physical, emotional and financial support of their fathers, because a father in prison or a father in the grave is useless to his children.

What are you and Bush Tea and assorted old fogies doing to help those fatherless children?

49. @Simple Simon

You coming in hot LOL.