The following comment posted by Bush Tea to the Senator Rawdon Adams Sobering Intervention in the Debt Restructure Debate blog. It is a view we have discussed in the BU discussion rooms over the years – David, blogmaster

@ Piece

What amazes Bushie is that wunna continue to miss the OBVIOUS FACT that some dark force (that is intent on our demise) HAS to be manipulating the minds of Bajans in particular … and of the world in general.

NO OTHER LOGICAL EXPLANATION IS EVEN CONCEIVABLE.

Imagine…

We find that the Government is spending TOO MUCH money on wages and salaries. We have known this for YEARS…

ANY JACKASS (including Maripoka ) would IMMEDIATELY conclude that the solution is to reduce ALL salaries and wages by a percentage amount that regains BALANCE.

That way, EVERYONE shares in the pain…. and we ALL continue to survive …while hopefully building a new arrangement that makes sense.

INSTEAD…. OUR JACKASSES IN CHARGE choose to send home thousands of low level workers whose wages are so small that it takes thousands of them to allow the Government to pay for the new Deputy PSs ..and other big-ups that they have recruited ….. along with their recent 5% pay INCREASE.

But THAT is not the joke….

The yardfowls and LACKIES (like the BHTA head in BT, The Unions, the Press …. even BU Bloggers….) ALL seem to have brought into this idiotic albino-centric approach – Apparently each hoping to maximise their OWN PERSONAL positions -rather than think of the COMMUNITY CENTRIC benefits of sharing the pain.

Only a wutless, stinking, RH DEVIL could be so low- minded as to drive such a destructive influence into brass bowl minds…..

…and instead of focusing on the SELFISH and GREEDY approach being taken, from From the PM down to BU bloggers …are talking shiite about the fact that some of the unfortunates who were sacrificed did not get their cheques when kicked out the door…..

But Karma does NOT sleep.

The plimplers will be PARTICULARLY sharp in the grass that is reserved for such selfish demons.

122 responses to “Karma Does NOT Sleep | Political Class Devoid of Ideas”

1. According to former Senator John Watson who monitors the Senate hearings, Senator Caswell called for a divide this week and it was hung at 9:9 with President Cheltenham having to cast his vote to carry the vote. Interesting.

2. LEVY BUST
    40 PER CENT DROP IN BWA REVENUES
    by Colville Mounsey
    Barbadians are flat out refusing to pay the recently implemented Garbage and Sewage Collection (GSC) tax, which was recently tacked on their water bill. This has resulted in revenue at the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) falling by 40 per cent between the billing period of August and September.
    This revelation was made by Chairman of the BWA board Leodeane Worrell who is warning that the state-owned water company intends to ramp up disconnections against those refusing to pay their bills.
    Worrell explained the BWA was merely the conduit for collecting the $1.50 per day tax. This meant that even though customers were paying their bill minus the levy, the BWA was still obligated to take the GSC from the amount paid.
    During a press conference summoned by Minister of Energy and Water Resources Wilfred Abrahams in the Committee Room of Parliament this afternoon, Worrell revealed that on average the BWA realizes revenues of $10 million monthly. Since the introduction of the tax on August 1, the intake for the cash strapped water company took a nose dive to about $6 million.
    This threatens to worsen the company’s outstanding arrears, which to date stands at $15 million.
    The BWA Chairman said, “There are individuals who might say that they are only paying their water bill but the net effect of that is that we are obligated by statute to take out the GSC and your water bill will go into arrears.”
    She said the BWA had set up a committee to review applications of people requesting exemptions from the GSC under the guidelines of the Ministry of Finance.
    But not paying the GSC was not an option Worrell said, unless explicit permission was granted.
    Noting that Prime Minister Mia Mottley has mandated that the BWA functions on its own earnings, Worrell made it clear her organization had no choice but to get tough with defaulters.
    “Those who find themselves in arrears because of circumstances beyond their control will be dealt with under a different dispensation. But those who find themselves in arrears because they are not paying the GSC will be another story,” said Worrell, who revealed results from a recent survey that showed Barbadians paid their cellular phone bill before paying their water bill.
    Abrahams echoed the warning of Worrell, making clear he would not be sympathetic to those who deliberately placed themselves in a situation where they owed the water company substantial amounts in arrears.
    If you get your water disconnected because you did not pay the GSC please do not call me. I am not interfering with, issuing instructions to, nor tampering with any decision pertaining to the water authority to disconnect someone because they took it upon themselves not to pay the GSC,” Abrahams said.
    colvillemounsey@barbadostoday.bb

3. “…That way, EVERYONE shares in the pain…. and we ALL continue to survive …while hopefully building a new arrangement that makes sense…”

Looking at what is happening, rather than what is being said, this exercise seems to be about reallocation and not about sharing. Calculate the total income of the Cabinet and associates before and after. Some may not wish to admit it, but a lot of what has occurred has been about redirecting income from the average man to family, friends and associates.

4. Did not OSA govt pass legislation not to cut civil workers wages
    Bush Tea with such legislation in place and now used as a political football
    How would you proposed going about changing that piece of legislation without having political fallout
    Furthermore as it is with all the taxes applied to wages
    The reduction has already taken place

5. …1 Changed the laws for selected individuals to have the privilege of lording over us
    …2 Changed the laws to redirect debt holders’ income to a privileged few
    …3 Could not change the laws to allow poor people food and shelter

6. The legislation not to cut civil servants salaries is a poor excuse. But that being used as a political football is true. With a majority in parliament at the time, the DLP had 10 years to change the legislation and forced the BLP to vote in favour.

This could have been done the same way the DLP passed legislation to reduce certain salaries by 10% over a specific period and then restore the amount retroactively for the period.

The 30-0 gives the BLP the perfect opportunity to change the legislation.

They changed the constitution to make it possible for them to appoint government senators and for the governor general to appoint an independent senator.

7. @ Maripoka
    Do you see why Bushie puts a ‘K” into your new name now…?
    Kellman HAS to be somehow associated with this conglomerate of morons…. LOL

The SAME VERY way that Mia was able to change the Constitution recently so that her friends could share in the dying calf …..is the VERY SAME way that she can reverse the EXTREMELY STUPID Law that Owen passed to restrict salary cuts.

The only thing that Arthur did that was more STUPID …was to waste MILLIONS of dollars on some shiite called CSME….

Perhaps Bajans DESERVE this kind of leadership……

8. Will debt holders, having been forced to carry a disproportionate share of the funding of the privileged lords, be given the opportunity to invest in the privatization of government assets or will those opportunities be limited to selected family, friends and associates

9. Listen i expected those answers
    However does the reality of political pimping would have allowed past govt to change the legislation. I dont think so
    Afterall past govt was besiged by Union protest asking for 23% wage increase
    As far as i am concern past govt inclination to present such legislation fate was sealed because of Mia and Union intervention to protect workers salaries
    Having said all of the above Mia cannot at this point pass any legislation to cut salaries given that wages have been reduced significantly by the taxing effect which means any wage reduction legislation going forward would squeeze the poor man into automatic poverty

10. @Bush Tea

You assume the trade unions have been neutered?

11. @BT
    Solid as always.
    But it is the ‘dying calf’ reference that caught my attention.

12. Mariposa, your response proves Bush Tea’s comment that you are a moron.

If salaries were reduced in the first place, there would not be the need to increase or implement additional taxes.

As to your other point, Erskine Sandford introduced the 8% cut amidst protests from the unions, with at least 2 people taking legal action against the government.

The people were angry then and subsequently became pleased.

But your party had to look at the optics…… not giving the civil servants an increase in salaries and wages and then reducing them.

So you are talking nonsense.

13. …1 What was total public sector pay before the terminations
    …2 What was the total pay of the terminated and to be terminated workers
    …3 What rate of 1 is 2
    …4 What was the amount of taxes waived
    …5 What is the amount of VAT to be collected from businesses that are operating
    …6 But that would also mean reducing the lords’ 18 thousand and more per month
    …7 Have the six economists earned their pay with this Xmas-hire-purchase-customer approach to handling debt

14. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Mariposa at 8 :55 AM

The fall in BWA revenue is no surprise. They are citizens who are barely able to pay for water which they benefit from directly and the GoB tacked on a levy for a service to which they are not connected. Barbadians did not park their commonsense at the school doors when they graduated.

When a bill is being paid ,the customer has a legal right to determine which debt or part of debt he is paying. Do we want to fill Dodds with inmates for non payment of a sewage levy? The GoB needs to reconsider this imposition and avoid escalation of a very tense situation. This is the multiplier effect that Sen Drakes spoke of. And the immiserating growth which I wrote about. Tax is not always additive it can be subtractive.

15. NAKED, I tell you, the empress is naked – bare for all to see

16. …1 We want no less than 50% of the cabinet to go
    …2 We want the consultants to go
    …3 We want the taxes collected
    …4 We want businesses to pay full imposts at the ports
    …5 We want the senator or his bit to go – we do not want any conflicts of interest in government business
    …6 We want the laws applied equally regardless of race, name or class
    …7 We want…

17. @Guest

“bare for all to see”

Wily is always ready to look at a nice naked female body, however Wily does have limits. Just hoping this is not a LITERAL request.

18. … HOPE

19. @wily
    🙂 🙂 🙂
    @Vincent
    ..1 When they turn off taps, do they expect folks to rush and pay up any arrears so as to have the tax turned on? It is quite possible that this course of action could maintain or lead to an even greater shortfall.

..2 Was this in the BLP plans? Seem as if this group expect Grenville to have the final solution, whilst the current cast of characters just fly by the seat of their pants.

20. NAKED, I tell you, the empress is naked – bare for all to see

NO! NO! NO SIR!
    ALL THAT EXCESS OF BLUNNER?
    PLEASE PLEASE KEEP HER CLOTHED AND DRAPED IN NUFF NUFF CLOTH PLEASE

21. Sir insults speak more of your intellectual ineptness than i being a moron
    Your if’s and or but’s does not speak to the reality
    The reality of a hot economic climate and relentless pressure on past govt by Unions which could have lead to chaos in that reducing wages at a time when a weakened economy was being met by higher prices
    Erkskine Sandiford making such a deliberate judgement even though good was also revoked because of ongoing political pressure by Unions
    Now you can go ahead and spill your bile

22. MAM, is this where we are heading…

23. “The reality of a hot economic climate and relentless pressure on past govt by Unions which could have lead to chaos in that reducing wages at a time when a weakened economy was being met by higher prices…”

You accuse me of intellectual ineptness and then went on to write the waffle above?

I won’t even ask you to

24. I won’t even ask you to explain it, because I’m sure you can’t.

The long or short of the story is your DLP administration could have cut salaries/wages, but for political reasons, they chose not to.

Now you come to defend that decision by spewing bile about unions.

Your government enacted all types of legislation, despite protests by the unions, opposition and special interest groups. So your waffle about unions a very poor excuse.

25. The blogmaster will repeat the question, for the umpteen time- will this government make the report submitted by the Justin Robinson committee public? Why did Sinckler promise to rationalize and got cold feet?

26. BU-Legal, does reducing public sector pay require only a normal majority in parliament?

27. @ David
    You assume the trade unions have been neutered?
    How is it possible to be neutered – unless you had balls to begin with….?

The trade unions have been redundant since the 1990’s.
    They remain only as a tool through which the political (and business) powers-that-be are able to treat the brass bowl steeple like a herd… Don’t the politicians FUND them…?
    Without the unions, there is a slim chance that a few intelligent workers may see that they are being screwed….

We can’t have THAT …can we?

@ Robert G
    Give it up Boss…
    Maripoka is beyond moron….
    Bushie suspects that about five DLP brainiacs (those who can understand fractions) get together to write these posts
    – but they then paste the five various contributions randomly to make up the post….

…some kind of DLP idea of democracy
    – somewhat like they were planning to share the CAHILL pie…. before David (BU) spilled the beans…

28. How many, and how, would workers be affected by an across the board “balancing” approach vs the number via job cuts? What approach would be of greater benefit in the short, medium and longterm? Which one is easier to manage–monitor and evaluate? I keep telling wunna ideas must be supported with robust evidence and analysis, not rumshop commentary.

29. In all of this debate about the self inflicted economic downfall of our country by the collective stupidity of the BLPDLP, by far the funniest thing that I have heard, is the question that Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford has asked: “ How did we get back here? “
    I am hoping that he would come on BU and answer: How did we get back here from where?
    He seems to believe that he had solved all the problems we had.
    I am very sorry to tell him that we never left and he took us nowhere.
    But there is a big comedy show in the near future or this week end; he should be on stage.

30. Steupsss @ Enuff
    Wunna don’t have another conference today?
    You REALLY come here asking stupid questions on this topic?

OBVIOUSLY all public sector workers would be affected – from PM to porters…. so the IMPACT would be minimal (probably no more than the damn NSRL was)

Then there would be NO JOB CUTS…..( but you don’t care about THAT …do you…. you safe til 2023.)

We have done this SUCCESSFULLY before … remember?
    Then you JA Pal Owen passed a Law to ensure we could NEVER use that lifeline again…. (Treason?)

Which one do YOU think would be easier to monitor and evaluate…..????

You trying to make Maripoka look intelligent by comparison now…?

This is a damn NO BRAINER skippa…
    If wunna need more ‘evidence and analysis’ then wunna probably have problems with decimals too yuh….
    Ask one of the damn cuntsultants…

#WhatdeRHmemberaskingdoh?

31. Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN Avatar
    Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN

To blog master: be informed that Rawdon Adams worked for Crypto currency in London, U.K. as seen on his bio on Linked-In. Even developed countries  such as The Netherlands, Australia, Canada and U.S.A. are in no rush to “make love” with this form of currency exchange because it is run by the infamous Blockchain. Bank of America, is hesitant to endorse it. Also be informed that Elombe Mottley (82 yrs) is pushing for 12 new universities in Barbados. Why the rush to open new universities in Barbados when graduate students from Eg. Ross University are not accepted at par with European or North American universities?

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David October 27, 2018 11:33 AM
    “The blogmaster will repeat the question, for the umpteen time- will this government make the report submitted by the Justin Robinson committee public? Why did Sinckler promise to rationalize and got cold feet?”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Because Sinckler had a few hundred million left in the forex tank to buy time even if he had to borrow the foreign money on loan-shark terms as in the CS loan in order to keep lazy Bajans living conspicuously the sweet life which is about to end very soon.

Sinckler has lived up to his word that there would be No Devaluation during his watch.
    He has passed on that misfortune to his best friend both of whom share the same star date with their history-making destinies.

What is so politically secretive about a report whose preparation was funded by the taxpayers? Where is the transparency as promised?

What is about to unravel has long been proposed and contained in that same political hot-potato Robinson report. The only difference is that specific the number of job losses in the SOE’s will be much higher now than was generally alluded to under Dr. JR version.

Where do you think Dr. Deliar got his 4,500 ball park figure from?
    That politically used and abused stool pigeon simply bumped it up to demonstrate his vindictiveness for being made to look like a humiliated madman fired by a man who cannot even spell the word ‘decimal’.

33. Sir my position on wage reduction lies on two front
    I ..The poor performance of an economy which could not afford higher unemployment which would have lead to further dislocation of the social enviroment
    2. The fact that the Unions involvment and belligerent and arrogant attitude against past govt would have given more root to social chaos if govt had taken a course of revoking the legislation
    Now u can create as many reasons as to how when and why govt should have repeal the legislation
    However the realities of the weakened economy at that time would have created more harm than good with less money entering the local market and govt stiill stiffled and shortchanged in collecting less of vat because of people readiness to save

34. @Bush Tea

Your comment addresses the numbers, what about changing the civil service culture?

On Sat, Oct 27, 2018 at 4:20 PM Barbados Underground wrote:

35. David October 27, 2018 2:15 PM /”…what about changing the civil service culture?”

Exactly what portion of the uncollected income tax, vat and import duties was not collected because the terminated workers did not perform their duties?

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

“I keep telling wunna ideas must be supported with robust evidence and analysis”
    Sometimes you need to have a good look in the mirror. Just because the last administration had enuff bad habits to fill several TB buses, doesn’t mean now they are gone, you can use their old bad habit standards as an acceptable level of administrative quality.
    Either, decisions are being made in a vacuum, void of robust information and analysis, OR information pertaining to these decisions is being intentionally withheld.
    Avoidance of the issue of corruption will get you nowhere (read NO investment) in a hurry.

37. Vincent @10:29 a.m.

Boy Vincent that Pot bubbling man.The fire wukking Sir !

38. “the last administration had enuff bad habits to fill several TB buses,”

“Avoidance of the issue of corruption will get you nowhere (read NO investment) in a hurry..”

And that is exactly what is going to bring down this government…

39. The world is moving full pace to digital. We embrace the technology or be left behind. Remind us what purpose the sandbox serves as established by the central bank and FSC?

40. Walter Blackman Avatar

Bush Tea October 27, 2018 12:20 PM

“Steupsss @ Enuff
    Wunna don’t have another conference today?
    You REALLY come here asking stupid questions on this topic?”

Bush Tea,
    LOL.

When it comes to Enuff, all I can do is shake my head and say “Oh my gosh, my golly.”
    Every time he opens his mouth, a different person justifiably snaps at him.
    It seems as if he comes on BU with a sign on his head saying BITE MUH.

41. Bushie
    I am always amazed at how the BU intelligentsia responds to my queries. They never address them and automatically adopt the position that I am in disagreement, when all I ask for is evidence to back up their argument. The impact would be minimal based on what? Do you know the financial situation of each government employee? Your definition of impact is, like most of your positions, narrow in that it focuses solely on the quantitative (which is not even a surety) and ignores the qualitative element. I repeat, you need evidence-based reasoning not rumshop logic; this is how it is done in my line of wuk so excuse me if I insist. By the way, why would I be at conference? Stupse.

Walter
    Whosoever wants to attack moi, is free to do so. How many actually “win”?

42. Many hands make light work applies only when the sweets are being distributed to the selected…

43. … a few unconnected joes are adequate when pain is being distributed.

44. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

“many hands make light work” so what does “many feet” produce?

maybe “many feet” equal “many walking papers”

45. We can’t make none of this up..but I really hope they purse the thieves from the DLP government , recover the people’s stolen pension and tax dollars…and make sure it is not stolen again by those in this present government……

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/10/27/payne-vows-govt-will-pursue-those-who-raped-the-treasury/

“Barbados Labour Party Chairman, George Payne, last night vowed that the government led by his party will be “relentless” in pursuit of those who he said “raped the Treasury” among wrongdoings.

Addressing the opening session of the BLP’s 80th annual conference at Lodge School, Payne accused the past Democratic Labour Party government of leaving “this country on the 24th of May 2018 is a tale of sadness that has left us all in tears”.

Using strong terms such as “plundered” and “pillaged” in describing what he contends the Barbados economy and society have suffered, the party’s second highest office bearer said, “the premature renewal of contracts; appointment of incompetent functionaries; the mysterious invoicing, and exorbitant payments to professional associates; the free allocation of housing to lackeys; the illegal award of contracts to underlings; the victimisation of Opposition supporters and relatives; the shredding and disappearance of documents and equipment; the rape of the Treasury, all on the eve of a general election speak for itself”

46. MORE SHITE!

” Plans to address the long running problems of the south coast sewage system in time for the December 15 start of the tourist season appear to have met yet another stumbling block.

It was during a progress update this afternoon held in the Committee Room of Parliament, Minister of Energy and Water Resources Wilfred Abrahams revealed that repair works have hit a snag beyond his ministry’s control. Abrahams explained while the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) is now clear on what needs to be done to have the system functional again, a crucial piece of machinery has broken down and it is difficult to determine when it will be repaired.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/10/27/sewage-snag/

47. The world is moving full pace to digital. We embrace the technology or be left behind. Remind us what purpose the sandbox serves as established by the central bank and FSC?

Seems like high speed, wireless communication is more and more an essential part of the digital world we are rushing towards at full tilt. The latest high tech, digital future that we are told we should look forward to with eager anticipation will be the rollout of 5G wireless which will in turn allow the implementation of the much heralded “internet of things” when, to make our lives easier and make us all happier, compliant doofuses, our toasters, TV’s, stoves, microwave ovens, coffee makers, “smart” power meters, smart watches, refrigerators, cars, home security systems, baby monitors, personal computers (and no doubt, some day soon, the implanted chip in our skull box) are relentlessly, wirelessly communicating all around us 24/7 at 5G.

Dr. Sharon Goldberg (MD),specialist in internal medicine, Testifies at Michigan’s 5G Small Cell Tower Legislation Hearing October 4, 2018
    https://youtu.be/CK0AliMe-KA

48. It seems to me that the new garbage and sewerage tax is an unfair tax. How many people in Barbados, especially those in the country are on the sewer system? How many get their garbage collected. I was home this spring for 5 weeks and everywhere I went people were burning their garbage because the trucks never came and they did not want rats infesting their properties. Most Bajans have septic systems not sewers like in north America. In Canada when the government was contracting the civil service one complete level of management was removed, the Senior Management level, just below Executive level. the officer categories carried the brunt of the cuts compared to the support staff.