The following comment posted by Bush Tea to the Senator Rawdon Adams Sobering Intervention in the Debt Restructure Debate blog. It is a view we have discussed in the BU discussion rooms over the years – David, blogmaster

@ Piece

What amazes Bushie is that wunna continue to miss the OBVIOUS FACT that some dark force (that is intent on our demise) HAS to be manipulating the minds of Bajans in particular … and of the world in general.

NO OTHER LOGICAL EXPLANATION IS EVEN CONCEIVABLE.

Imagine…

We find that the Government is spending TOO MUCH money on wages and salaries. We have known this for YEARS…

ANY JACKASS (including Maripoka ) would IMMEDIATELY conclude that the solution is to reduce ALL salaries and wages by a percentage amount that regains BALANCE.

That way, EVERYONE shares in the pain…. and we ALL continue to survive …while hopefully building a new arrangement that makes sense.

INSTEAD…. OUR JACKASSES IN CHARGE choose to send home thousands of low level workers whose wages are so small that it takes thousands of them to allow the Government to pay for the new Deputy PSs ..and other big-ups that they have recruited ….. along with their recent 5% pay INCREASE.

But THAT is not the joke….

The yardfowls and LACKIES (like the BHTA head in BT, The Unions, the Press …. even BU Bloggers….) ALL seem to have brought into this idiotic albino-centric approach – Apparently each hoping to maximise their OWN PERSONAL positions -rather than think of the COMMUNITY CENTRIC benefits of sharing the pain.

Only a wutless, stinking, RH DEVIL could be so low- minded as to drive such a destructive influence into brass bowl minds…..

…and instead of focusing on the SELFISH and GREEDY approach being taken, from From the PM down to BU bloggers …are talking shiite about the fact that some of the unfortunates who were sacrificed did not get their cheques when kicked out the door…..

But Karma does NOT sleep.

The plimplers will be PARTICULARLY sharp in the grass that is reserved for such selfish demons.

122 responses to “Karma Does NOT Sleep | Political Class Devoid of Ideas”

1. @ Enuff 6.29pm
    So you were REALLY seriously looking for evidence that it makes MUCH more sense to roll back ALL salaries and wages by some calculated amount RATHER that destroy the lives of 5000 workers… and very likely their extended families…?

Shiite…. This situation may be much worse than Bushie feared….

OK Boss, please accept the bushman’s apology. Bushie REALLY shout that this was obvious …and basic common sense.

Look…
    What wunna doing is seeking to cut the recurrent expenditures of government. When the big-ups get together in their fancy conference rooms (with refreshments) they obviously take the easy path of suggesting that we throw a few thousand workers overboard…along with their families in many cases….(and leave them alone to enjoy their sweets)
    This will not only destroy those fired, but also those who are left to work every day KNOWING that phase two is coming…
    productivity will fall EVEN FURTHER …and more and deeper cuts will be needed – resulting in even more layoffs….

The alternative being proposed is that …let us say you want to reduce expenditure by $20M from $200M, then EVERYONE is forced to take a 10% pay cut.
    EVERYONE remains at work.
    Everyone shares the pain
    Everyone is asked to take the 10% belt tightening.

Once properly communicated, and it can be made clear that EVERYONE is being asked to make the sacrifices (Even the private sector should be forced to participate in the interest of national productivity and as an investment in a better future), high productivity can then become the new FOCUS that would drive future increases even BEYOND where CURRENT LEVELS are…while POOR PERFORMANCE should cause even further pay reductions on an individual level.

Even without the clear opportunities that are presented in this to move to the much desired Meritocracy, how can you be so callous about the prospect of throwing thousands of low level workers overboard? …is it because they will be mostly Dees?

It is just the COMMUNITY-CENTRIC approach to achieving the needed reductions…. your actions are selfish and albino-centric.

Do you want graphs and histograms too…?
    Or do you get the plan…?

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother in Arms Bush Tea

Already I can see the brass bowls lining up and after saying “he Bush Tea too bright for he own good ” looking to decry your comment.

“…Once properly communicated, and it can be made clear that EVERYONE is being asked to make the sacrifices (Even the private sector should be forced to participate in the interest of national productivity and as an investment in a better future), high productivity can then become the new FOCUS that would drive future increases even BEYOND where CURRENT LEVELS are…while POOR PERFORMANCE should cause even further pay reductions on an individual level…”

Let me explain the rationale behind their idea of selecting 5,000 people as opposed to a system wide reduction

Mugabe and her regime can “Cherry Pick” pun intended Jose, every DLP supporter under this system.

And instil the requisite fear and insecurity that would normally accompany the physical purges of Saloth Sar sorry Pol Pot of Kampuchea

The only difference between what you are seeing here is physical bloodshed against the people, though, given the weekly drive by killings, that is also happening.

Exit the Fatted Calf of David Thompson and enter the even fatter sea cow of the Mottleyian regime

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for Bush Tea thank you

4. A reasonably person would think that the unions would discuss such a plan with their members and make a public offer to the government. An across-the-board cut would also result in less money to spend on discretionary items, which would ease pressure on the reserves. You now have the better paid public servants, with a 5% increase at the expense of their former or soon to be former colleagues, probably already planning shopping trips for Xmas.

5. @bajans October 27, 2018 9:28 PM “How many get their garbage collected. I was home this spring for 5 weeks and everywhere I went people were burning their garbage because the trucks never came and they did not want rats infesting their properties.”

Min was collected today, and last week too. It is easy to prevent rats from infesting your property. Keep yu garbage in a bin with a secure lid. How hard is that? And yet I walk around and virtually everybody keeps their garbage in an open and then complain about rats.

If you refuse to keep your bin covered at al times then, you DESERVE rats, and more.

6. William Skinner Avatar

@Bush Tea and Piece

A ten percent cut in all wages and the rich private sector getting together and lending the government one half billion BDs dollars would have been far better than going to the IMF.
    But there are jokers, who will try to convince me that the private sector cannot raise that kind of money.
    I maintain and believe me , Sinckler failed spectacularly, as Minster of Finance, that the only real problem the business people had with the NASRL ,was that they had to pay it up front.
    These people are so ruthless that they : deduct workers NIS contributions and don’t pay them in; they do not hand over VAT ;they increase all prices at the very hint of a hurricane and don’t pay taxes.
    So , how on earth or anywhere else, could we have been so gullible to believe that when the NASRL , was removed that these vagabonds would have decreased prices.
    And we spend time blaming the best Public Service in the entire Caribbean.
    And a private sector McGuffiewho probably earns at least a quarter million a year when all his allowances are considered, going about the place talking hot horse emission that poor Black workers from School Meals , Sanitation and other government departments must go home and suck salt. And what is even more callous and vicious is that BLPDLP apologists on BU spouting all types of pig urine about how great things will be in 2033 when the real goals set are supposed to be realized.

7. The decision to go to the IMF is to secure support for the falling international reserves. It also signaled to other international lending agencies that Barbados has agreed to enter a fiscal arrangement that lends discipline. Bear in mind Barbados credit rating is junk status and as a result we have had to borrow at close to 10% interest rates at a time the market is lending low. The situation is not as simple as you are making out. We should not be here but we are, we have to deal with it.

8. I thought the sewage problem was over, but it now appears it outlasted my attention span.

Meanwhile
    :-)”Forde also urged her colleague, Minister of Housing and Lands George Payne to take advantage of the massive pieces of lands owned by the Anglican Church for housing.” 🙂

First thing this government is going to get right: George Payne as Minister of Housing and Lands “to take advantage of the massive pieces of lands”

9. The sewage problem was never over unless you are being provocative.

10. @ David and William
    Don’t mix apples and oranges.
    The advantage of “across the board pay cuts” over layoffs has nothing to do with going to the IMF of dealing with FOREX. It is simply a choice of methodologies to deal with the reduction of recurrent expenditures….
    We have chosen the callous, albino-centric layoff …rather than the collective, community-centric pay cuts.

Going to the IMF is what happens when you have spent money that was NOT yours – for YEARS (mostly buying shiite) and now CANNOT repay when the owners ask for their money back.
    The ONLY solution will be to endure of MANY YEARS of now paying for that FOLLY by LOWERING our standard of living to compensate for the years of splurging and wastage.
    This will mean some pain and suffering.

The BLP has chosen to make a few thousand workers and their families pay this price for now……
    RATHER than force the whole shiite society to share the pain and suffering….

Bushie predicts that this approach will only make the OVERALL PAIN for EVERYONE much harder …and the suffering much longer….

i.e. Grass !!!!

11. @Bush Tea

The comment was directed at William who confused the two read the reason why the IMF enters the equation. Although it must be said the fiscal discipline demanded by entering an the IMF program has knock-on benefits for our politicians who are loathed to make non political decisions. A contradictory statement yes.

12. The sewerage problem is clearly a case of jackasses playing with jobby.
    But Jackasses can fool brass bowls EVERY TIME….

First we were told that there was no problem except that people were removing the manhole covers…
    Then we heard that the problem was people putting pampers and towels into the sewers…
    Then we heard that there was no problem AT ALL ..and two ministers went diving at Dover
    Then there were broken pipes underground circulating the water
    Then we were told that Injection wells were needed at $3M to address the problem
    Then we heard that these did not work
    Then we were told that the streets were free from sewerage
    Then we found out it was being dumped into the swamp
    Then we heard that the swamp was to be cleaned to deal with the mosquitoes
    Then we were told that the pipes would be fixed from inside
    Then we were told of blockages to be cleared by the no 1 team in the No2 Business
    Now we are hearing that an American Company’s fancy equipment is broken down
    Finally, the minister assures us that he wants to avoid digging up the road at all cost…
    No wonder the Sewerage System is broken…. The place is FULL of shiite.

….and some of wunna does get vex when Bushie calls us a bunch of black Bajan, bewitched, brow-beaten Brass Bowls….

13. @Bush Tea

You forgot two important steps:

The BWA was not allocated the resources by government to maintain the plants (do not forget Bridgetown) and public servants responsible toed the line.

The Stuart government ignored the warning for 2 years that the south coast plant was about to splatter!

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ William Skinner October 28, 2018 6:48 AM
    “A ten percent cut in all wages and the rich private sector getting together and lending the government one half billion BDs dollars would have been far better than going to the IMF.
    But there are jokers, who will try to convince me that the private sector cannot raise that kind of money.
    I maintain and believe me , Sinckler failed spectacularly, as Minster of Finance, that the only real problem the business people had with the NASRL ,was that they had to pay it up front.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Although your suggestions- involving an ‘across-the-board’ wages reduction and private sector loans- are inherently noble and indeed workable you are omitting a major plank from your proposition; the parlous state of the country’s foreign reserves.

Barbados in the past was able to shore up its foreign reserves through borrowings.
    This is no longer an affordable option.

Unless you wish to contend, like Hal Austin, that focusing on forex is not the primary or necessary approach to take in the management of the Bajan economy you ought to proffer other alternatives which would address the vexing problem of weaning Bajans off their conspicuous consumption habits based on imported goods and services but paid for using other people’s foreign money (loans).

15. All the hooting and hollering and name calling u Bush sh.it does is not going to fix nothing
    The complete system of goverance started out wrong and ends up wrong
    Barrow had a model for Barbados built on self reliance through education reason he gave top priority to that of having the people freely educated
    The. Elitist and those who opposed Barrow model hollered and screamed and fought tooth and nail against Barrow model stating that the development of the model would take too long and the social and economic development of the country would take forever
    Hence Barrow model was never given a chance and quickly thrown over board leaving those in charge of the country economic affairs to implement a model formulated on borrowing
    Hence barbados is reaping what it has sown which includes the pit toilet affectionately known as a Sewer system

16. If I hired a ceo at top pay and his response about every unsolved problem related to the former ceo’s failures, I would hire his replacement as well.

17. Ever F..king thing now needed to repair a broken system lies solely on the backs of the poor
    While those who made their millions by govt given first priorty to tax breaks and whatever concessions necessary are laughing all the way to the bank
    But never mind Mia just signed away barbados future to the IMF and the CDB for thirty pieces of silver
    And u bush tea here complaining and talking sh.it
    There is no future here for barbadians
    One day coming soon there will be a caravan of barbadians headed for the boarder
    Who in their right might wants to live in a country loaded with debt ..no jobs and no light at the end of the tunnel
    Would you?

18. Walter Blackman Avatar

Enuff October 27, 2018 6:29 PM

“Walter
    Whosoever wants to attack moi, is free to do so. How many actually “win”?”

Enuff,
    In my humble opinion, the verb “to win” should not be used.
    You actually LOST to all of your attackers.

19. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

We need ideas to help Barbados. The link above is showing how the use of marijuana plants can be used for medicinal purposes as well as farming purposes. The “unused/scrap” portions of the plant can be used as pig/animal fodder. So if we can get the industry going we may just be able to reduce the quantity of imported corn etc if we use the “plant waste ” as animal fodder.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

This is not a novel proposal.
    It has been known for many years that the marijuana plant makes for excellent fodder for a range of domestic animals.

Mixed with locally produced corn and molasses you cannot ask for a better source of food for the ‘milking’ cows, black-belly sheep and for pigs to reduce their fat content.

There is a large vested interest existing in the animal feed business determined to ensure that the plant is not incorporated or used as a substitute for the very profitable imported processed animal foods.

This country will never get out of the current economic black hole until it resuscitates its agriculture and put those thousands of acres of former arable land back into production similar to what occurred during WW11; only this time Bajans will be fighting a real war for their very economic survival and social existence.

21. @ millertheanunnaki
    Your position is understood
    I still waiting on the private sector to come forward with the many “promised” projects and I don’t mean
    Sagicor’s senior citizens’ home.
    Ironically every time I look in the paper I seeing the much maligned Butch Stuart.
    The proof of the pudding is in the eating my Brother.

22. “While those who made their millions by govt given first priorty to tax breaks and whatever concessions necessary are laughing all the way to the bank…”

Hmmmmm….

When will you cease in your attempts to mislead this forum by implying “tax breaks” or “concessions” means giving people money to deposit on their bank accounts?

Does this mean that, with those generous tax concessions your lot granted to Butch Steward……. he will be “laughing all the way to the bank” for the next 40 years?

23. @William,

Another way of transferring wealth from taxpayers to the wealthy is by the granting of licenses, franchises, permits, contracts, the sale of public assets below market value, etc. Just look at the ZR market for an example of the moneymakers getting away with murder by focusing on the drivers and conductors.
    However, the most common way is by concessions, rebates, tax breaks, etc, along with allowing these dishonest businesses to use VAT, national insurance contributions and income tax as cash flow for their zombie enterprises.
    Then you get the usual: company cars, generous expenses, children’s school fees, etc – and bonuses, share options and other perks.

24. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    The time has come to call a spade a spade. Those of us were exposed to the Black thinkers of the 60s and 70s know the difference.
    We have a collective of pathetic apologists on BU, who believe that they are imparting knowledge to those who have studied this society and it’s rampant racism and traditional corporate skullduggery inside out. The Black political class is in the pocket of the silent minority shadows who own the mini buses. Huge operations of mini bus industry were once mainly controlled by those with sibling and other connections to the same politicians who pretended they were against the nonsense that was going on.
    The traditional white corporate elite persistently fooled the country that they were living frugally when in fact they had millions of dollars in yachts parked at the Yacht club and vacation homes down Cattlewash, where they met and bragged that they were running the country.
    Barbados Shipping and Trading run the country for years from behind the scenes. The corporate elite even identified those they think should be future Prime Ministers.
    The Black corporate class has spent the last 52 years trying to rekindle a powerful black elite class that started to disappear around the late 60s and early 70s
    The status system has remained in place. This latest assault on the poor school meals workers and basically defenseless black workers who cannot fend for themselves must be condemned.
    Is it not ironic that the current PM just told some of those going through the door that : “ Joy come th in the morning “ This is the exact statement her predecessor made some months before he was kicked out of Ilaro Court.
    Not a failed state yet but.,,………..

25. Walter

Of course in your opinion I lost, after all you are one of the many attackers.

Bushie comes on the blog with no evdience-base to back up his idea but I lost…lmao. All yuh continue, it is sad when the intelligentsia talking piss and they and their cohorts are convinced dem right. Bushie’s approach is falsely based on the assumption that all the workers’ have similar financial commitments or similar household financing. Here is a scenario: a 10% cut of WARU’s salary would put her in a position where she can’t pay her mortgage while her co-worker Bushie can afford it because he owns his home and the wife born with a silver spoon in her mout. Do you know how many government workers are in a similar position to WARU with respect to their mortgage or other key recurring expenses? As stupid as it sounds, an across the board cut could very well have a greater impact and would be more difficult to monitor how people are coping. I will stay losing.

26. @William,
    I am aware that part of the Bajan condition is a mistaken belief that our experiences are unique. But we have had a similar experience in the UK to the rise of the administrative and political elites in Barbados.
    Basically, the constitutional independence settlement in Barbados was that the blacks will have political power while the local whites will have economic power. Both have failed. The black politicians, mainly lawyers, have shown themselves to be grossly incompetent; and the whites have shown themselves to be equally incompetent at running local businesses. They had to give way to the Trinidadians – until the New Barbadians take over.
    In the UK, until the 1970s, Caribbean people were well organised: we had social and political organisations; we reduced the impact of banks not lending by organising sou-sous, partners, meeting, call them what you like.
    Then two things happened: the introduction and expansion of polytechnics and the birth of the Greater London Council, under the misguided leadership of Ken Livingstone.
    We started getting young, black polytechnic graduates, mainly employed in local government and what we call the race industry. They then rejected all the institutions they parents had created on the bogus basis that they had degrees. I won’t go on. Their programme was funded through the Labour-controlled local authorities and the Loony Left Labour party.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Enuff October 28, 2018 2:22 PM
    “Here is a scenario: a 10% cut of WARU’s salary would put her in a position where she can’t pay her mortgage while her co-worker Bushie can afford it because he owns his home and the wife born with a silver spoon in her mout. Do you know how many government workers are in a similar position to WARU with respect to their mortgage or other key recurring expenses?
    As stupid as it sounds, an across the board cut could very well have a greater impact and would be more difficult to monitor how people are coping. I will stay losing.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And what about those who have lost their jobs (only source of income)?

Those with reduced incomes would have to adjust their conspicuous-consumption sailing habits to suit their smaller income-earning cloth.

Why can’t the senior public sector managers give up their perks as a show of national commitment? But should they object with such greed in a time of national crisis they can pack their public sector ‘Georgie’ bundles full of poverty in performance and head to the private sector where they can earn much more (so they think as if the private sector can afford such a bunch of parasitic incompetents as they have demonstrated over the years while aiding and abetting their corrupt political masters in the decimation of the Bajan economy.

“Enuff”, Bajans are either all in the sinking boat together and must start ‘baling’ out the water or the entire ship will sink with the only way back to land being an externally imposed ‘across-the-board sacrifice’ through the dreaded disease called Devaluation with those with the most to lose having to make the biggest sacrifice because they would be forced to get rid of their big rides and SUVs.

Let Mia show she really cares by also recovering some of those millions taken from the taxpayers in the dying days of the party which made up the previous crooked corrupt deceitful lying administration before asking the ordinary Bajan to carry the financial burden recently imposed on their already broken-down shoulder.

28. Enuff must be consulting with Kellman.
    His is the most asinine comment so far for the year… on ANY topic.

What manner of person can compare the inability to pay a mortgage with the alternative of a family losing ALL its income and hence cannot even eat or pay rent?

Any Public Officer whose mortgage is at risk because of a 10% pay cut has LONG over-extended themselves …and needs to rethink the SIZE of their mortgage (just as the Shiite government has over-extended itself with the debt …and needs to down-size that debt)

Even if someone has to find a MORE MODEST home, or give up the BMW, or stop sending the children to Miami every year…. how the Hell does that compare with a family now having to live on the streets and to beg for handouts….?

@ Enuff
    A pox be upon your pouch!!!
    Bushie LONG thought that it was you advising Mia…..

29. lol..and using me as an example. ..

…that Enuff in Wonderland 68 thing seems to be going to his head…

30. “Let Mia show she really cares by also recovering some of those millions taken from the taxpayers in the dying days of the party which made up the previous crooked corrupt deceitful lying administration before asking the ordinary Bajan to carry the financial burden recently imposed on their already broken-down shoulder.”

I don’t know which part of that Mia and Dale don’t understand…they do not have to legislate anything to lock up the former ministers and the crooks in the minority community for THEFT and FRAUD…those legislation are ALREADY ON THE STATUTE BOOKS…they already know who signed what and who received what…both Marshall and Mia have the DPPs office AND the police available and accessible to them….to lock up the frauds, thieves and crooks and recover the people’s moneymoney.

Mia can ask FBI for HELP instead of running all over the place borrowing money the island will never be able to repay in the short term….why is she so hesitant to lock up the thieves who landed the country in massive debt, she wants the victims of DLP and minority thieves to sacrifice and suffer…..while she is giving the criminals a free pass.

.I don’t know what shite Mia is talking, but Donville should start singing..

31. Walter Blackman Avatar

Enuff October 28, 2018 2:22 PM

“Walter

Of course in your opinion I lost, after all you are one of the many attackers.

Bushie comes on the blog with no evdience-base to back up his idea but I lost…lmao. All yuh continue, it is sad when the intelligentsia talking piss and they and their cohorts are convinced dem right. Bushie’s approach is falsely based on the assumption that all the workers’ have similar financial commitments or similar household financing. Here is a scenario: a 10% cut of WARU’s salary would put her in a position where she can’t pay her mortgage while her co-worker Bushie can afford it because he owns his home and the wife born with a silver spoon in her mout. Do you know how many government workers are in a similar position to WARU with respect to their mortgage or other key recurring expenses?”

Enuff,
    Look at the responses your comments justifiably attracted:

millertheanunnaki October 28, 2018 3:22 PM
    “And what about those who have lost their jobs (only source of income)?”

Bush Tea October 28, 2018 3:36 PM
    “Enuff must be consulting with Kellman.
    His is the most asinine comment so far for the year… on ANY topic.
    What manner of person can compare the inability to pay a mortgage with the alternative of a family losing ALL its income and hence cannot even eat or pay rent?”

WARU October 28, 2018 3:39 PM
    “lol..and using me as an example. ..
    …that Enuff in Wonderland 68 thing seems to be going to his head…”

You have accused me of attacking you, and you have accused the others of “talking piss”.

At this point, I believe that it is my turn to “talk piss”.

Up to 1994, the law allowed parliament to cut civil servants’ salaries.
    From 1987 – 1994, when it came to managing the economy of Barbados, PM Sandiford did not have a clue. Not surprisingly, the economy crash landed on the doorsteps of the IMF under his watch. One of the instruments the Sandiford administration had at its disposal, and which it used, was the ability to cut salaries (8%). The salary cuts helped, and with the aid of an IMF programme, the economy of Barbados was brought back into equilibrium by September 1994 when Owen Arthur took over as PM.

A Barbadian law had been used to help alleviate the pain and suffering of thousands of civil servants. The law proved to be a valuable option for the country when its back was against the wall. Up came “powful-foolish” Owen Arthur in 1994, and the first thing he did was to stupidly get rid of the salary cut option available to government.

In 2008, knowing full well that he was leading a band of political pirates in search of “fatted calf” treasure, David Thompson ought to have used his 2/3 majority (20 – 10) to re-institute the legal ability of parliament to cut civil servants’ salaries. This would have been done in anticipation of the destruction that he and his merry, gay band of men were going to inevitably visit upon Barbadians and the economy. He did not. May his soul find a final resting place

In 2018, after winning the general election (30 – 0), PM Mottley discovered that the economy of Barbados was terribly out of alignment. One option at her disposal was to amend the constitution to grant government the legal right to cut civil servants’ pay. We know that all options ought to be considered and explored. Yet, PM Mottley has steered clear of this option, and has decided instead to amend the constitution for reasons that had absolutely nothing to do with fixing our economic problems. Why?

32. Cause it’s clear Mia is on crap which will eventually blowback on her, she just cannot see it yet…blinded by all the bullshit, but we will enjoy the show that has already stated.

33. Yep, my boy nis still as sharp as a tack

34. 🙂 nis=is 🙂

35. @ Walter 5.36 pm
    Yuh Think…??!!!
    Wuh even Maripoka (were she of sound mind) would see the value of this approach.
    …. far less the bright, ambitious, sharp as nails…Mia – who cares…

But as said before….
    What amazes Bushie is that wunna continue to miss the OBVIOUS FACT that some dark force (that is intent on our demise) HAS to be manipulating the minds of Bajans in particular
    Don’t ignore the FACT Sir ….that…
    “we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world,……”

36. ” The BLP’s 80th Annual General Conference officially began yesterday and featured an address by Prime Minister Mottley. The conference will continue today at the Lodge School with a featured address by Opposition Leader of Jamaica, Dr. Peter Phillips.”

Why would the ruling party of Barbados invite the opposition leader of a Caribbean country to address their Annual General Conference ?

37. Even worse sre these pretend men of god spreading lies and propaganda among the gullible Bajan population who ELECTED Mia and her gang and PUT THEM in the parliament..

….these fraudulent men of god who should themselves be locked away in a deep dark prison…far, far away from Black people,

38. But then again why first option to dislocate and uproot must begin with the civil servants in the form of cut wages or job cuts unfair if u ask me
    What about the private sector
    Look with all the financial problems Mia has not asked of them wholeheartedly sufficient and enough to pull their weigh
    They are a bunch of top loaders who have also sucked the system dry
    Not only has Mia not breathe fire and brimstone on the private sector but has applied a multiplier effect by offering more of tax payers money in the form of concessions which she calls “leveling the playing field”
    Which in my mind is a political payback which in turn is an another downward economic spiral waiting for taxpayers to repay

39. Can you tell us who pay the wages of those employed in the private sector?

40. Jamaica didn’t send home one public sector worker, yet still, it was able to stabilise its economy within two years of the IMF programme.

41. As a matter of fact, since Jamaica’s independence, only one time has the government ever embaked on mass layoff and that was in the mid-80s. Public sector workers in Jamaica are almost untouchables when it comes to issue of mass redundancy/retrenchment.

42. @fortyacresandamule

Was it because of the strength of the trade union movement or a deliberate policy to protect workers.

43. @40 acres

Don’t leave us hanging, what did Jamaica do? What lessons can we learn from Jamaica?

44. You asked who pay the private Sector wages
    Alll govt concessions are part and parcel aided in the wages of the private sector employee
    Exhibit A when the economy flounders the hue and cry which emits from the private sector asking for more govt financial support

45. The government has no direct control over what the private sector pays its workers.

Private sector workers pay taxes which go towards paying public workers.

If you want to make a point be prepared to sensibly defend it.

46. Have any one notice how slick Mia (is) after stealing the retirees and PENSIONERS money she give them an option of job offers which would put these poor people back to work
    I dont think most understand the smoke and mirror optics behind this political “play”
    Just imagine one day a thief taking your hard earned savings and telling u after all not so bad he / she has a job offer for u
    For one i would explicitly tell that joker to ki.ss my ars…s

47. I have defend my point .you do not have to agree
    The private Sector in barbados is known to deliver little of value to expanding the growth if the economy
    Outside building a finacial nest for their own self-interest and throwing crumbs back into the economy in the form of jobs
    The other side of the coin reveals a Sector who has relied on govt heavily in times of economic downturns issuing threats of possibly lay offs which in turn forces govt to go to the taxpayers piggy bank giving them loans in order to bail them out
    Loans which most of the time have not been repaid
    So dont come here defending the indefensible when all and sundry knows from past experience how the private sector has operated in their own interest so much so ( enough for anyone to state that govt support has aided them in employee wages