As another general election approaches, the cost of living debate is being mentioned. It is reluctantly discussed on the political platforms. The Governor of the Central Bank speaks glowingly about improving macroeconomic conditions, BUT, at the household level, Barbadians continue to cry out. Tourism arrivals are up, unemployment and inflation are down. Somehow the man in the street is not feeling the benefit of macroeconomic improvement. Logically the state of the cost of living should have a bearing on general election results, however, voting behaviour is not always linear. Perhaps there is resignation that none of the political actors possess any silver bullet to improve the cost of living.

The political talking heads are quick to point out that Barbados is a net importer and therefore we are not immune from global inflation. VAT remains at 17.5% and a key input to the cost of living, fuel, is anchored to an indexing arrangement which moves up and down based on the price of oil on the world market.

For the average household food, utilities, transport, and housing are the key expenses on the household budget. Barbados depends significantly on imported food and this is compounded by a limited wholesale distribution network. It means the price margin is controlled by an elite few. Electricity price is not stable despite our flirtation with alternative energy to subsidise fossil fuel continues to be superficial. Transport costs is directly linked to electricity price. Housing, whether purchasing, building or renting are big ticket items too many cannot afford, or struggle with maintaining. These four drivers rarely decrease in price, in fact the opposite.

Recently the former Central Bank Governor Dr. Delisle Worrell published a perspective that piqued the interest of the blogmaster. Worrell posited that Barbados should import MORE. His novel perspective can be read on his website Imports Sustain the Quality of Life in the Caribbean. The blogmaster does not have the academic grounding to compare with Worrell but is qualified to know what he proposes smells like the brown stuff.

These academic theoretical constructs hinder discussions about reducing the cost of living. They complicate framing economic solutions for a small open developing country like Barbados. Instead of discussing how we can improve production in the domestic market and through strategic partnerships with neighbouring countries, we have a former governor suggesting we should concentrate on importing more.

On the campaign trail political parties have been signalling that should they win office – realistically this is the Democratic Labour Party (DLP, the others are not fielding a full slate of candidates – VAT will be reduced. The expectation is that it will bring immediate relieve to households.

VAT is a consumption tax applied at every stage of the supply chain, from production to final sale, based on the value added at each step  – Source:Internet.

Businesses charge VAT on their sales and deduct VAT paid on their purchases, remitting only the difference to the government. Because VAT is added at each stage, it compounds into the final retail price. The consumer, who cannot file any claim for VAT, bears the full cost.This means a VAT reduction can lower prices immediately, especially in a high import country like Barbados.

But hold on – reducing VAT does not address stagnant wages, poor national productivity, high electricity costs etc. It does not change the fact that Barbados imports almost everything we consume. A VAT cut is a bandaid solution proposed by lazy and non creative politicians, it does not address the systemic problems, the fault lines we know exist and continue to ignore.

The upcoming general election should have been the vehicle to support robust national discussion on the best economic model we should be adopting to sustain a quality way of life. Instead, we are subjected to the usual rahrah frothing nightly. There appears to be no relationship between our significant investment in education and our ability to constructively address challenges facing the country.

33 responses to “Barbados’ politicians clueless about reducing cost of living”

1. The WHOLE world is clueless about reducing the cost of living Boss…

In a world that is built on GREED, selfishness, power and spitefulness, there is NO POSSIBILITY of sustainable reduction in COL.

Such would require a COMMUNITY-CENTRIC, LOVE-based world, and since this has proven to be a bridge too far for brass bowls, ANYONE promising to reduce COL is either BLATANTLY lying, … totally clueless as to our real reality…
    OR a bushman!

What a time!

2. @Bush Tea

Why do ‘educated’ Barbadians buy into it then? Can’t we be a model country again by leading an economic revolution? What is the point of ‘letters’ behind the names?

3. First off. Oil prices are low & projected to remain low in 2026. Barbados has one of the highest gas prices in the C’bean & world. The fear remains what will happen when oil prices start trending up.

Our issues is the absence of research & analysis re sustaining the value added by key ministries. Putting plaster on sores doesn’t & hasn’t helped any administration.

4. @Roslyn

Do you know where we source our oil?

Do you know the different economic policies that influence fiscal policies in the region?

Do we know anything?

5. No Bushie

This is not rocket science. We have long known the mechanisms for controlling the cost of living, as a general social good. But choices are constantly made not to.

Medical care costs, as one component of the cost of living, are best controlled as a public good giving everybody equal access, paid for by the public. But in a marketplace and as a private good, demand and supply forces take over as the rentier class seeks the highest profit.

6. “The blogmaster does not have the academic grounding to compare with Worrell but is qualified to know what he proposes smells like the brown stuff.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Spot on!
    Much like the current joker, these central bankers appear to have been selected based on their malleability, and willingness to stand up in public and do the brown stuff…

On the question of VAT however, this is surely a most pernicious tax on the poor… if not the most.
    It is a CLEAR case of governments SIDING with the wealthy and powerful, to make the most vulnerable in society smell shiite.

So the importers get refunded
    The retailers get refunded
    The end users pay 17.5% – covering the FULL cycle of charges.

MEANWHILE, VAT collected by the middlemen can be illegally retained for their use and NOT paid in to government… IMPACTING THE EFFECTIVENESS OF THE TAX.

THEN government WRITES OFF this liability (to justify writing off tax liabilities of family members) or in exchange for favors.

MANY of the middle men ILLEGALLY waive VAT charges to friends and family by simply not writing invoices… so loose and silly the system is…

Every shiite is wrong with this tax.

NRSL – was proposed as an alternative.
    ALL the above problems would be solved
    … BUT the merchants would then be UNABLE to cheat.
    Guess what our government does…

First the original MOF (who can’t do decimals) did NOT fully grasp the VALUE of the concept…
    Then the Current MOF (who don’t understand one shiite about accounts) jumped on to the side of the merchants – and the rest is history.

How the Hell will we EVER see reductions when these are the kind of people making our decisions… and when the BB sheeple meekly stand around grazing…?
    …and the central bank lackies talking shiite…?

VAT should be scrapped (it was the ‘best of the worse’ back when we had limited technology) and a DIRECT IMPORT TAX put in place to replace it.
    Bushie would wager that an EFFECTIVE 8% direct tax on imports would outperform the current FLAWED VAT for everyone – EXCEPT the crooked merchants…
    So it will NEVER happen.

Damn place is TOO crooked!!

7. Transportation is a public good and see how we find a way to leak public funds through malfeasance, mismanagement and political interference. We are not ready, capable of mobilizing to excellence.

8. @ Roslyn
    It is even worse than the fuel situation.

With electricity, we have allowed a foreign investment company to take control of our electricity prices by effectively levying a cess of 20% on all electricity costs – according to the intervenors in the convoluted rate case.
    Can you imagine having to pay a 20% HIGHER cost for basic electricity – just to fund profits to a foreign owner? … how can we afford that?

Can you ALSO imagine the VERY SAME shiite happens in the Hotel industry?
    Where profits all head offshore…
    In Cruise tourism – where we (BAJANS) fund the infrastructure that makes profit for FOREIGNERS? – port, airport, transport chaos etc

In Insurance, Look and see where the big profits go every quarter…
    In the rum industry…
    In Retail … in every profitable shiite!

Sis…
    Either we are being led by TOTAL incompetents, or by damn traitors.

9. Terence Blackett Avatar

“*KABBALAH* AND ITS SYSTEM* OF MAGICK IS BEHIND EVERYTHING WICKED & CORRUPT ON THIS PLANET” – FOR AS I WROTE ALL THE WAY BACK IN 2015 THROUGH 2020, THE #BlackNobility ON THE EARTH WHO EMERGED OUT OF THE FALL, COLLAPSE & CHAOS OF THE GRECO-ROMAN EMPIRE – CREATED A CLASS OF SOULESS-SUB-HUMANS* WHOSE #LeftHemispheric USE OF THE BRAIN CAUSES THEM TO BECOME THE DIRTY_FILTHY_BASTERDS THEY ARE, PUSHING THE WORLD & ITS INHABITANTS TO THE VERY BRINK OF MORAL & GLOBAL COLLAPSE

Nothing will “CHANGE” after FEB 11*!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Regardless of who “SUBMERGES” that “LIL ISLAND” – no one “EMERGES” faultless!!!

Your food (C.O.L), #Crime, #PublicHealth, #TrustInGOV*, #RoadsAndTransport will be the same ‘ole, same ‘ole – #DifferentDay – #SameSHYTE*!!!

VIDEO CLIPS OF MONEY IN ELECTION CIRCULAR ENVELOPES APPEARING ON SOCIAL MEDIA SHOWS THE NATURE OF *POLYTRICKS* & WHO WE ARE AS A NATION (who can be “BOUGHT” & “SOLD”, just as the “CHATTEL SLAVES” OF YESTERYEARS GONE BY”)!!!

It’s all a “SCAM” – where everything either “FAKE” or “GAY” while “THE MAJORITY” keep being fed the “PIG SLOP”!!!

The #BottomLine is “SIMPLE” – “COST OF LIVING IS A BLOODY SCAM” levelled on the “POOREST” in society, where the spurious idea captures a real frustration: that many people’s financial pain is invisible in mainstream economic discussions, & that the systems that are in place – will assuredly, (MOST) often, protect the interests of the powerful rather than ensure stable, affordable lives for all!!!

GODDARD ENTERPRISE LTD MADE $31 MILLION – YET THE SAME “STINKING MANGEY DOG” CHARLES HERBERT “#SimplyRefuses” TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT HE OWES MY COUSIN MORRIS LEE ENTERPRISES, THE PRINCELY SUM OF: (BDS$236,435.68 SINCE 2009 – almost 17 years ago), AND IF YOU ADD COMPOUNDED INTEREST @20% WHICH IS HIGH (but this is a “HIGH CRIME” & the law states that a 400% settlement in this case is plausible), GIVEN THE ***BRASSBALLS*** OF THESE PALESKIN BASTERDS – HERE IS THE SPREADSHEET:

Compound Interest Formula:
    A=P(1ⓜ+r/n)^nt

Where:
    P=236,435.68 (principal)
    r=0.20 (annual interest rate)
    t=16 years
    n= number of times interest is compounded per year
    [1.20]^16≈18.488
    A≈236435.68×18.488≈4,371,450.70

Total interest earned
    I=A-P≈4,371,450.70-236,435.68≈4,135,015.02

(1.0166667)^192ⓜ≈23.732┤
    A≈236435.68×23.732≈5,611,315.26

Total interest earned
    I≈5,611,315.26-236,435.68≈5,374,879.58

A≈236435.68×24.5325≈5,800,456.02

TOTAL INTEREST EARNED
    I≈5,800,456.02 – 236,435.68= $5,564,020.34

It’s less about the “RISING COSTS” than it is about an “INTERNATIONAL FRAUD”, as I have threatened the “ALBINO-CENTRIC PALESKIN BASTERDS” to expose them in the “BRITISH MEDIA”, as well as the “GOD-DAMNED-GOV*” who is also “COMPLICITY” in this “FRAUD” given the PM’s “ACKNOWLEDGEMENT” of what has transpired!!!

And moreover, because “SO-CALLED” #EconomicGovernance frequently “FAILS” to address the “ROOT” causes of “RUNAWAY CORPORATE POWER”, “SPECULATIVE MARKETS”, “STAGNMANT WAGES”, & “POLICY NEGLECT” of essentials like “HOUSING & HEALTHCARE” – “CORPORATE MALFEASANCE” IS SWEPT UNDER THE CARPET OR KICKED INTO THE LONG-GRASS (until the “INVESTIGATIVE JOURNALISTS EXPOSE”) the “ROT” @the heart of all the “EVIL” that people have had to suffer!!!

BULLSHYTE IS BAD ENOUGH BUT **PIG-SHYTE** IS OFFENSIVE & STINKS 2 HIGH HEAVENS

#OnThatNote

#ImDUN*

10. A series of events which could make current inflation rates be yearned for.

Tomorrow is the 11th, election day in Barbados. Not that either of the main parties has proposed anything to fundamentally change the skyrocking cost of living.

Tomorrow the 11th, Netanyahu will be meeting Drumpf to plan a war against the Islamic Republic of Iran. A war they can’t win, will lead to defeat of them both, precipitate the use of nuclear weapons. And most proximately the total destruction of up to 40 percent of global petroleum production.

Tomorrow the 11th, is also the anniversary of the 46 year old revolution which threw out the Americans and established the Islamic Republic of Iran. Tens of millions shall be marching in cities around Iran.

Of course, Netanyahu is going to the White House 6 days ahead of his original scheldule. Seemingly made necessary by what appears to be Iran’s adsendancy in the Omán convened talks about the file of Iran’s peaceful nuclear program.

Netanyahu also comes in with a full flush in his back pocket. For he’ll have pictures of the Drumpf family, Malania and Donald, in compromising “engagements” from the Epstein Files, yet to be fully released.

This is the kompromat which has allowed Netanyahu to lead Drumpf by the nose into the genocide of our times and anything which he wants to do in the Middle East and elsewhere.

The Iranians have broadcasted loud and clear for months now, that if America or Israel attacks them again that they will consider the slightest vioaltion of their sovereignty to be an all out war, that they are uninterested in the feint attacks from the 12-day war which gave both sides, Iran on one side and America and the Zionist state on the other, the temporary end to hostilities. A circumstance which the Israelís begged the American to negotiate, such was the destruction Iran imposed on the Zionists.

Unable to fight their own battles, Netanyahu has now fully outsourced a war against Iran to the Zionist puppet in the White House. But the Iranians see the Zionist state as their proximate enemy and has promised to respond devastatingly to both, at the same time.

Moreover, the Iranians, have publicly stated that should they be attached in the slightest that the entire Middle East will be set on fire. This means all the petroleum instalations providing 40 percent of global output, Israel and the dozens of American military bases. These are their nuclear weapons!

As a result, global oil prices could reach up to 700 dollars per barrel over the long terms for these instalations will be burning forever and it would take at least a decade to repair them all.

These are Western civilizational ending scenarios. Capitalism, as we know it will be a thing of the past. Western industrialization will grind to a halt. As the world descends into levels of inflation hithertofore unknown.

What a sich tale. Made possible by two madmen, Drumpf and Netanyahu, and engineered by a Mossad agent, Jeffrey Epstein, from beyond the grave, we’re told.

Want inflation, this is it!

11. Cuh shiite @ Pacha
    Bedtime stories are NOT meant to be so realistic – even if true.

What a state of affairs!

12. Bushie

Well, let’s make it more realistic. 700 USD per barrel, we should have said, and is being widely estimated by commentators and industry traders.

These are the cards on the diplomatic, geopolitical chessboard.

These people, Drumpf and Netanyahu. are devils in trute!

13. Governments like to make reducing the cost of living sound like brain surgery. It really is nothing more than the lack of application of basic mathematical discipline.

So lets look at it from a personal level, if you need to drop your monthly expenses (cost of living) what is the first thing you do? Well you look at your expenses and income, with the hope of reducing your expenses by spending more efficiently (government spending.) Where are you wasting money, what are you buying badly, are you throwing away food at month end? in other words are there any Hope houses, steal houses or $500 million Vat forgiveness cheques hiding in your cupboard?

Now as a private person running your home, there is no way you can go to your employer and say I need more money ( increased taxes) so you have to cut your expenses. In other words cheffette every month end and not every weekend etc. Government on the other hand just raise more taxes( increase cost of living) and state entities just ask for supplementaries after spending what they were allocated in the estimates at budget time.

So in summary the cost of living to a large extent depends on efficiency and financial prudence being practiced by the household or state. Spend carefully ensure there is no wasted or ” shrinkage” in your domain and you will enjoy a lower cost of living, without having to run to every bank and borrow money to meet your bills at month end.

On a scale of 1 to 10 how well has this government performed in the above disciplines? Has the opposition outlined in detail a plan that leads you to believe they will ensure that these issues will de dealt with as a priority?

Right so based on the above answers from the two parties you can all be prepared for a continued increase in the cost of living regardless of which party gets in.

14. @John A

Did you conveniently forget to include interest cost on debt stock? Especially if the interest rate is indexed to sovereign rating?

15. @ David

I was trying to keep it simple.LoL

But you are right we have never been told what the cost of the restructuring was for example. Also the party said the debt restructuring saved us over $3 billion in debt. When I back out the NIS at 1.5 billion and factor in the White Hoax cost with the cost of refinancing and higher interest on the kicked down the road debt, did we save anything or just buy time? Plus if I take the current debt and add back the 3 billion, we are back basically where we were in 2018.

I am so disappointed that none of these issues were properly discussed on the platforms. Instead it was a ” mek sport and wuk up campaign.”

16. @John A

Why should such issues be discussed on the political stage to an unreceptive audience?

17. @David See information “Bsrbados relies heavily on imported energy, with refined petroleum being its top imported product, totaling approximately \(\$520\) million in 2024, mainly from Trinidad and Tobago, the Netherlands, and the United States The Observatory of Economic Complexity. The nation also imports significant crude oil, largely from Guyana, and consumes about \(10,498\) barrels per day, with limited local production The Observatory of Economic Complexity, Worldometer.
    From this one can infer freighting cost is also low.

18. @Roslyn

This info is slightly outdated from first half of 2024? Are the other countries importing refined products or crude to fuel a local refinery?

19. Dems last lap.

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

Seems we like the lowest hanging fruit.
    We soon forget Clearwater Bay cost taxpayers $120,000,000. We still haven’t a clue about the NIS. White Oaks received a $50M success fee, for skinning the NIS of 1.5B in Bond investment. And apparently have been on the payroll since 2018.
    The Solidarity Allowance should have lowered COL by a few cents?
    And nobody can say what’s going on with the QEH, Transport Board, BWA or so many others. A new deal is negotiated with Emera, but few know what it is. Other than new signage at Porters, the 3rd crop soon begins, still operated by the GoB, not under BAMC but two incorporated entities. The workers await their promised shares.
    But life sweet yuh hear.
    May Barbados have a safe election day.

21. BL&P defends rates

Company says electricity prices competitive in regional context

by SHAWN CUMBERBATCH shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com

BARBADOS LIGHT & POWER Company Limited (BL&P) has acknowledged that electricity affordability is a genuine concern for many Barbadians, but it says Barbados is competitive regionally in terms of actual electricity prices.

The utility company issued a statement yesterday in response to, and to give context to, the new Caribbean Energy Price Index conclusion that Barbados has the thirdmost burdensome electricity cost in the region, while having “a mid-range electricity price that resembles the Caribbean average”.

“Based on the information cited in the media, Barbados’ electricity tariffs are below the Caribbean average. This means Barbados is competitive regionally in terms of actual electricity prices,” BL&P said.

The index, published by Caribbean economist Marla Dukharan and SOL Ecolution, assessed the average nominal price of electricity relative to the cost of living, including food prices and taxes, to determine how affordable electricity is, and concluded that, in that context, Barbados’ electricity cost was the third highest in the Caribbean after Bermuda and Turks and Caicos Islands.

BL&P acknowledged the electricity affordability concern for many Barbadians and said this issue was “one we take seriously”.

“We understand that rising costs across the economy can make electricity bills feel burdensome. In light of recent coverage of the Caribbean Energy Price Index, we want to offer clear context so customers understand what the findings mean for them,” the company stated, adding that, in the context of the index, there was a clear distinction between affordability and actual electricity prices.

“The Caribbean Energy Price Index measures affordability, not electricity prices alone. Affordability reflects broader national economic conditions, including household income, food prices, taxation, cost of living, and purchasing power,” BL&P noted.

“It is a measure of how electricity costs fit within overall household expenses and not a ranking of utilities’ electricity rates. In simple terms, the study is not saying that Light & Power charges the third-highest electricity rates. It is saying that electricity can feel expensive when compared to what people earn and what everything else costs.”

BL&P said these were “broader national economic realities, not utility pricing decisions”.

Regarding its commitment to reliable, affordable electricity, the company said it “continues to perform strongly by regional standards, delivering among the highest reliability levels and lowest system losses in the Caribbean”.

It attributed these outcomes to “ongoing infrastructure investment, disciplined system planning and operations, independent oversight by the Fair Trading Commission, and engagement with policymakers in the Ministry of Energy”.

“Our teams work every day to deliver reliable electricity at competitive rates while protecting service quality and long-term system stability,” the company said.

BL&P also believed that “simple regional comparisons can mislead”.

It elaborated on this, stating: “Some Caribbean countries subsidise electricity bills. While this reduces the amount customers pay, taxpayers ultimately bear the cost through public spending or debt.

“Barbados does not use this model. Our tariffs reflect the actual cost of generating and delivering electricity on an island electricity system that depends on imported fuel. Additionally, electricity rates for homes, businesses, and large industrial users are structured very differently, and customer mixes vary widely from country to country.

“A single averaged electricity price therefore does not reflect how electricity is actually consumed or paid for by households, and may give a misleading impression of relative affordability,” BL&P said.

Asserting that context matters, the company added: “Over several decades, national cost-of-living increases have outpaced changes in electricity prices. Light & Power has had only two base-rate increases since 1983, even as many other goods and services have risen repeatedly. This broader inflation contributes significantly to why everyday expenses feel higher today.

“We have only seen the media summary of the Caribbean Energy Price Index and have not yet reviewed the full report, including its methodology, data sources, or purchasing-power assumptions. For this reason, we encourage caution in drawing firm conclusions until the complete analysis is available.”

22. “We soon forget Clearwater Bay cost taxpayers $120,000,000.”

@ NO

Didn’t Clearwater Bay ‘span’ both DLP and BLP administrations?

Wasn’t the $120,000,000 a ‘reoccurring amount on the books’ until the current administration eventually wrote it off?

Did you not see Sinckler at a BLP meeting wearing a red shirt?

Despite all the ‘hullabaloo’ and furor, members of the ‘duopoly’ protect each other.

23. How is it that the BL&P never responds to the public accusations about the huge sums of dividends paid to Emera over the last decade – including the near $100 million extracted from the insurance fund that customers paid up for protection in the event of a catastrophic event?

Surely those numbers from the rate case are exaggerated.

While it makes Emera’s Canadian share values soar (for NO and Hants), … it is only obvious that this would seriously impact local electricity prices if this is true.

BTW
    Is it true that all the other countries in the Caribbean who had connections with Emera have since parted ways with them, once their predatory tendencies became evident … except Brassbados of course? …and Bahamas who has now finally seen the light.

What a place!

24. @Bush Tea

Didn’t the then Minister Darcy Boyce answer your question years ago? The government and by extension the regulator have no interest in making decisions to destabilize the grid as they see it. Intermittent energy is defined by them as still unstable.

25. @Artax
    I believe you are correct.
    The CBL costs were incurred, in FULL, but we still don’t know what they were. And were they written off? The GoB stated it’s intention to write off the monies but the Auditor General, the currently vacant post of Auditor General, said “not so fast”, the lands were collateral. Recently news broke of development on those lands, but who owned them? Who owns them now? How much was written off?
    Yet, your greater point, that ultimately the two major political parties are “fluid” seems accurate.
    Another example was the Donville Innis matter. A foreign court ultimately finds him guilty of accepting ‘bribes’, yet no remedy is sought in Barbados, where the law he was deemed to have broken exists.
    A diplomatic posting for Sinckler maybe in the cards. He helped the PM, and her clients, and who knows who else with CBL. Lest we forget, as MoF he also redirected public employee contributions to the tune of $400M+ we are told, without the requisite permissions, beyond the MD of the NIS. (Who has since received a high civilian honour, after promotion to Director of Finance).
    There is a rather incestous grouping, to which party affiliation is merely an entry ticket, irrespective of which party it is.
    Where is Avi? The same names keep appearing over and over.

26. @NO

This…

The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – A Clock Striking Thirteen

“It was a bright cold day in April, and the clocks were striking thirteen.” -George Orwell -“1984”
    I frequently use the phrase at caption to suggest that an event is not only extraordinary in itself but that it also calls into question the assumed objective reality of previous similar events. I mean, if a clock is going to strike thirteen when there are twelve hours only in the forenoon and the same number after noon in one day, then one is entitled to query what time was it exactly when that clock chimed eight times for instance.
    I had cause to use the expression again last week when the news was reported that former Cabinet member in the recently outgone Democratic Labour Party administration, Mr Donville Inniss, had been arrested, charged and indicted in the US with the offence of money laundering the proceeds of a crime committed in Barbados. Of course, under the system of law that prevails in both of the relevant jurisdictions, an accused is to be presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond reasonable doubt.
    https://barbadosunderground.net/2018/08/12/the-jeff-cumberbatch-column-a-clock-striking-thirteen/

27. @Bushie
    Kindly leave me out of Emera.
    But you need to dig further. Bajans pay Emera in Grantleys and Errols. Emera aren’t sending these back? So somehow they got their hands on Fx. Figure that one out.
    It is said “Emera knows how to play the game”.
    The report of their new/extended franchise, only confirms they work well in the shadows.

28. As I said on an earlier blog months ago Emera are using to the fullest the accounting laws governing payments to the parent company. The payment of dividends also is legal, HOWEVER high dividend payments usually are supported by a high profit on the prior year. So is Emera Barbados that profitable for the parent company that massive dividends are paid, or is Emera using the dividend law to remit funds dressed up as dividend payments? Secondly what other “professional fees” is Emera head office charging the local operation for? Does all of the materials needed here come through the head office for purpose of invoicing? If so does Emera head office charge “a little something” for the popular accounting term ” source and supplying services?” Has anyone dug into the line on the financials called ” transactions between associate parties” and see how that compares to their turnover?

Emera may not be breaking any rules at all and companies like these with external parent companies are hard to nail down, but the FTC needs to treat them differently than they would a fully local company.

29. David
    Another of JC’s gems.
    You may recall, while it wasn’t permitted, the fact DI was NOT charged in Barbados was put forward. As was the concept of election contributions in Barbados. A point made elsewhere on BU recently.
    Every angle was explored that the monies received were anything, but a bribe. Which is the job of the defence.
    No idea where the associated cases against Innes and Tasker sit. I think it’s safe to assume they are not visiting the USA anytime soon.

30. Governor points to significance of BERT 2026

By Shawn Cumberbatch shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com

With the Mia Amor Mottley administration returned to office for a third term, the plan to transform Barbados’ economy must now take centre stage, especially boosting the country’s productivity and competitiveness, including by completing key reforms and accelerating private sector investment.

Central Bank Governor Dr The Most Honourable Kevin Greenidge yesterday underscored the importance of these initiatives and the overall implementation of the Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation 2026 (BERT 2026) plan.

International credit rating agency Fitch said separately on Friday that last Wednesday’s General Election victory positioned Government “to continue its reform programme with . . . BERT” and that the administration was well placed to make further progress in key areas.

BERT 2026 was laid in Parliament before Barbadians went to the polls and Greenidge saw its successful implementation as central to future economic prospects.

“BERT 2026 represents the third phase of Barbados’ reform journey. The first phase stabilised the economy. The second restored growth. This phase is about transformation,” he said.

“The importance of BERT 2026 is that it moves us beyond fixing what was broken and toward building what is sustainable. Stabilisation gave us fiscal discipline, restored reserves and rebuilt credibility. Growth returned activity but transformation is about changing the structure of the economy so that growth is stronger, more resilient and more inclusive.”

Main focus

Greenidge noted that increasing productivity was the main focus.

“Barbados cannot rely on volume growth alone. We must produce more value per worker, per dollar of investment, and per unit of infrastructure,” he said.

“That means modernising public services, reducing friction in permits and approvals, improving digital infrastructure, strengthening logistics and building higher-value export sectors. Productivity is the foundation of higher wages, stronger public finances and long-term prosperity.”

Greenidge said competitiveness was the second pillar and that “we must make Barbados easier to do business in, easier to invest in and easier to live and work in”.

“That includes completing reforms in customs, business registration, financial markets and capital access. It also means strengthening institutions like Invest Barbados and ensuring that private capital, domestic and foreign, can move into productive sectors efficiently,” he explained.

“Resilience is equally critical. Barbados remains vulnerable to climate shocks and global volatility. BERT 2026 embeds climate resilience, renewable energy expansion, water and food security, and disaster risk management into the core economic framework. Resilience is not a separate environmental agenda; it is economic risk management.”

A number of reforms were earmarked in the BERT plans of 2018 and 2022, and Greenidge said that “completion of key reforms is essential”.

“Some of the most complex stateowned enterprises still require restructuring to improve efficiency and reduce fiscal risk. That work must be completed. Stronger governance, clearer performance targets, and reduced transfers from the central government will free up fiscal space for investment in people and infrastructure,” he said.”

Barbados’ future economic performance is also dependent on expanded private sector investment, Greenidge stressed.

“Public investment alone cannot deliver transformation. We need deeper capital markets, stronger SME governance, operationalisation of the Innovation Growth Market, effective public-private partnership frameworks, and a pipeline of investable projects.

“The role of the state is to remove barriers, provide credible policy direction and crowd in private capital.”

His view was that BERT 2026 must ultimately “become a platform for broad-based growth”.

“That means growth that raises productivity, strengthens fiscal fundamentals, deepens domestic value creation and expands opportunities for young Barbadians. Transformation is not about a single sector or project. It is about aligning fiscal policy, structural reform, private investment, and human capital so that growth benefits the entire society,” Greenidge said.

“If we maintain discipline, complete the outstanding reforms, and focus relentlessly on execution, BERT 2026 can position Barbados not just to grow, but to grow stronger and more resilient in a more uncertain global environment.”

Fitch, meanwhile, said the election outcome “facilitates the latest iteration of the Government’s reform programme”.

“BERT 2026 follows two successful programmes that focused first on stabilisation of government finances and the economy, and then on economic growth. The country also completed an International Monetary Fund programme last year,” the credit rating agency stated.

Shifts focus

“The third BERT programme shifts the reform focus toward longterm transformation of the economy, aiming to ameliorate challenges relating to labour productivity growth, investment gaps, climate and external risks, and contingent liabilities from state-owned enterprises.”

Fitch called BERT 2026 “an ambitious attempt to tackle structural constraints on potential growth”.

It’s view, however, was that “the record of successful reforms backed by strong political commitment, a supportive Social Partnership and the Government’s newly refreshed mandate position it to make further progress in key areas”.

It recalled that “previous BLP governments had already moved public finances onto a more sustainable path, with debt to GDP falling to 94.6 per cent in 2025 from a peak of 178.9 per cent in 2018”.

Fitch added: “The debt ratio is still high, the 2025 ‘B’ category median was 53.4 per cent, but the positive outlook on Barbados’s ‘B+’ rating reflects Fitch’s expectation that it will decline further, as continued fiscal discipline causes deficits to swing to surpluses from the fiscal year ending March 2027.

“International reserves increased to US$1.5 billion in 2025 from a low of US$200 million in January 2018, providing additional buffers against external shocks. Fiscal stabilisation has led to renewed investor confidence in government paper, as indicated by Barbados’s reentry into global capital markets in June 2025 with a US$500 million bond issue.”

Fitch said the institutionalisation of reforms, ensuring they persist beyond the current administration, “is key for the long-term stability of the government’s finances and continued debt reduction”.

“A possible third IMF programme could serve as an emergency fiscal backstop, although not this is not currently in development,” it noted.

31. 30-0, one economic test outstanding

Barbadians have answered who should govern. The Government must now answer how Barbados grows in a way that is felt.

BARBADOS HAS DELIVERED another emphatic electoral verdict. Thirty seats. No parliamentary opposition. A mandate without ambiguity.

The political question is settled.

The economic one is not. Elections answer who governs. They do not automatically answer how life will feel at the checkout counter, on the electricity bill or in the search for secure work. And it is on those economic questions that this mandate will now be tested.

The Barbados Labour Party’s 2026 manifesto is clear about the terrain. It explicitly identifies “an affordable cost of living” as one of the anchoring expectations of Bajans. It notes that inflation was driven by global shocks and that households – especially pensioners and lower-income earners – felt the brunt of those pressures.

The manifesto proposes a $142.2 million targeted cost-of-living package: expanding the Compensatory Income Credit up to $50 000 income; increasing and widening eligibility for the Reverse Tax Credit; and introducing a $1 200 annual cost-ofliving cash credit for pensioners and welfare recipients. It maintains that blunt VAT cuts would “permanently weaken public finances” and defends targeted transfers as more effective.

The economic question now becomes: will this approach be sufficient?

Targeted transfers protect the vulnerable. But the middle – the working household just above eligibility thresholds – feels pressure most acutely. The manifesto promises to “give middle-income families more room to breathe”. The electorate will now expect evidence of that breathing space.

Beyond household relief lies the structural issue: growth quality.

The BLP’s economic platform is not framed as short-term stimulus. It is framed as transformation. BERT (Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation) 3 is described as a “competitiveness and productivity programme” designed to raise output and incomes. Reindustrialisation is treated as a “national imperative”, with the Green Industrialisation Gate Advantage (GIGA) programme and five industrial zones proposed as vehicles for export growth and high-wage employment.

The manifesto is explicit: Barbados must “design, invent, make and export more”.

That is a serious proposition. It signals an attempt to move beyond tourism dependency. But here too, the political question is easier than the economic one.

Industrial zones, robotics centres, agro-processing hubs and R&D clusters are strategic frameworks. The electorate will judge on timelines, shovel-ready projects and actual wage trajectories.

Similarly, the Build Bajan Business Accelerator promises a national marketplace, expanded Trust Loans up to $20 000, factoring facilities for cashflow relief and stronger procurement access for small firms. These are smart supply-side tools. They address bottlenecks that often suffocate micro-enterprises.

But the real test is whether these mechanisms translate into scale. Do small firms graduate? Do they export? Or does liquidity relief simply manage stagnation?

Energy policy presents another axis of the economic question. The manifesto positions renewable energy as a cost-of-living strategy, promising expanded storage, grid modernisation and an Energy Infrastructure Investment Fund. The logic is sound: lower structural energy costs strengthen competitiveness and reduce vulnerability to external price shocks.

Yet Barbadians will not measure grid sophistication. They will measure bills.

Housing is equally central. The document commits to delivering clean titles to more than 3 000 terrace units, expanding rent-to-own pathways and accelerating housing developments across multiple parishes. That signals recognition that ownership remains a cornerstone of stability.

But supply timelines matter. If construction lags demand, affordability remains rhetorical.

Perhaps the most ambitious proposal is the Barbados Republic Child Wealth Fund – $5 000 invested for every child born after November 30, 2021. It is a generational asset-building mechanism, not an immediate relief instrument. Its symbolism is powerful: a birthright dividend in a republic.

Yet its economic payoff is deferred. It is an attempt to address inequality structurally, not immediately.

And so, we return to the central truth.

The 30-0 result settles the political question decisively. It does not settle the economic one.

A dominant Parliament eliminates excuses. No legislative obstruction. Implementation is the only yardstick.

The manifesto itself repeatedly emphasises delivery – modernising the public service, digitising government, reducing friction for businesses. Implicitly, it recognises that Barbados is stronger in policy design, not execution.

That is where the mandate will either consolidate or erode.

If the cost-of-living package is efficiently delivered; if reindustrialisation moves from vision to visible factories and export orders; if small businesses genuinely scale; if housing supply accelerates; if wages rise faster than prices – then the economic question will begin to close.

If not, political dominance will not shield against economic disappointment.

Mandates create power. They do not automatically create prosperity. That requires productivity, discipline and execution – quarter after quarter.

Barbadians have answered who should govern. The Government must now answer how Barbados grows in a way that is felt.

Overwhelming political strength must be matched by tangible economic relief.

And that question remains very much open.

Professor Troy Lorde is an economist and Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus. Email troy. lorde@cavehill.uwi.edu