The blogmaster followed with interest the debate in the Upper House on the Debt Holder (Approval of Debt Restructuring Bill, 2018) on the 17 October 2018. The contributions of Senators Caswell Franklyn, Crystal Drakes and Crystal Haynes were instructive and generally accorded with the view of the blogmaster.

The blogmaster however was impressed with several of the points made by Senator Rawdon Adams. Of note is when he referred to what the Barbados brand use to be, how it has been dismantled in recent years and how we appear not to know what kind of Barbados we want to replace it.

Here is the video of the presentations of the four Senators mentioned with Senator Adam’s presentation found at 2hrs and 9 minutes into the video.

238 responses to “Senator Rawdon Adams Sobering Intervention in the Debt Restructure Debate”

1. I understand the present is receiving 5million in relief fund sone of which will buy buses and the rest to fix the roads
    Havent heard anything going to help the poor people who lost their valuables when the night floods came rushing up their doots Thanks to Dale Marshall stupid decisions

2. Hal
    And dont forget the mason who build many homes from the the toil and labour of hand made blocks i remeber fully well when our home( bungalow) was being built by a two team son and father mason
    Also the carpenter and electrician back them somehow with out university education and sophisticated technology was able to use their skilled knoweldge effectively to build a wooden house from the ground up while the community electrician was able to ply his trade for the wiring of electricity for the home ( cant remember any houses being burnt down as much as heardof today)
    Also the plumber digging side roads with shovel and pick fork and axe to provide water for homes
    Can go on and on about how these small simple minded planners and skilled workers managed to build small villages from the ground up without govt assistance.
    But that was then when an attitude of self empowerment permeated the minds of the people
    Until one day the Universal beast of greed and selfishness propelled by a need of entitlement filled the room and the great Messiah of the world took its banks and loan shark agencies to these vulnerable islands to teach them the art of being overpowered by debt

3. MARI, the reason you haven’t heard about anything going to the poor people who lost valuables when the night floods came rushing up to their doors is that nothing was left in the treasury by your government to do anything for anyone. Come on, I know that you are an idiot but certainly, you can’t be that daft.

Remember, any fool can destroy but it takes a wise woman to rebuild. It took you and your team ten years of sufferation to bring us to our knees. You and your fellow rejects now want the BLP to rebuild in four months what was so wantonly destroyed by the silent one and his dastardly disciples of dishonesty and deceit.in mere months.

Have no fear, this country WILL rise again from the ashes and once it does, the electorate can once more make the decision to put the reigns of government back into the incompetent hands of the DLP for the third round of destruction. Led into independence by the same party that returned it to dependence.

4. What part of the 5million relif fund would go to help the poor people who lost their valuables

5. William Skinner Avatar

You spent years saying what was wrong. Now you want people to shut up.
    Like I said, take a break , you are pretending to be balanced but you can join the BLPDLP apologists.
    In one voice you call for discussion; in another you are annoyed with independent thinkers.
    It was you who helped introduce the word “duopoly” to the blog. Now you hate anybody who attack’s the nonsense that passes as proper governance around this place.
    The country is adrift , whether you want to accept this reality is your choice.
    It has been adrift since the 70s.
    Take a break my brother.

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I seem to have posted an article meant for Rawdone the Imported, on another Blog my apologies.

When you are clicking on these little phone things instead of sleeping a click will register on the wrong link.

That’s eas why some time ago I had suggested that a repeat line of the subject matter is placed just above the comment box for users on mobile phones cause you cant see the subject matter as easily on a smartphone

7. Mari

The 5Mils was not meant for the poor people whose house was flooded out.
    That is what home insurance is for.

The 5Mils was from the government disaster insurance and should be for the benefit of the MASSES and not an individual family.

If the island had experienced a case where multiple houses had lost their roofs then some of that money can be used to help.

One flooded home is not a disaster

8. As Rawdon points out there are only three routes to growth: capital accumulation, labour participation growth, and productivity improvements.

Growth via Productivity will increase when Employers stop ENGINEERING wages and salaries and constructing pay scales that rob the labor force, when education is NOT designed to facilitate subservience and incompetents are removed from decision making positions.
    Growth will excel when foisters with tainted characters do the right thing, when camouflaged coverups and illusions are prostrated or justifiably rewarded.
    Growth is sure when gifts and offerings by opportunists are rejected and prudence is weighed in pursuit of debt instruments and non-fictional contractual arrangements.

In a country where major capital lies in the hands of the minority few which vow to keep wealth strictly amongst themselves, contractual and otherwise, really does not reflect the inclusion of the majority labor forces’ growth. This need serious addressing with a new thinking and strategy by labor force watchdogs and by Law..

As for Capital Accumulation, the scales must now tip by any means… lawfully.

Who really cares?

9. One can ask what part of the relieve funds will go towards the family who lost all in fires?

Or the poor family whose valuable car was destroyed by driving through the flood waters?

10. Now go sleep and pray your house don’t flood, cause no defense force or your MP aint coming to your assistance and you not getting one RED cent from that disaster funds.

11. Growth for the island will only happen, can only be achieved when Mia uses her legislative powers so that the majority population …ALL OF THEM…numbering over 265,000, minus children.. can start the process of progress and productivity…until then, nothing will move because there is NOTHING TANGIBLE to move toward growth with…all they got is DEBT….decades worth of debt.

St. Vincent is freeing the PEOPLE…so they can control the Cannabis trade…all the talking in parliament is useless and counterproductive unless the people, the population as a collective, has something TANGIBLE to work with..

“The Medicinal Cannabis Industry – Prospects and Opportunities for the Private Sector”.

“There’s a need for an internationally accredited lab for a company to address the issue of a seed to sale tracking system and in the case of cannabis for religious uses, from the seed to the altar. This definitely is a very detailed and expensive exercise and it creates an opportunity for persons in the private sector,” he said.

The minister also said that the laws, which are expected to be in place by the end of 2018, require that individuals obtain a special license to be able to transport cannabis within the country.”

12. All the while government sits on its ass believing it can achieve growth and prosperity WITH MASSIVE ĎEBT..legislating shit that cannot make anything better..,……and got the nerve to try to deceive the people on the island with that crap,.what a useless bunch in parliament….again..

4 years 7 months to go until next election. ……tick, tock.

13. All wunna who keep putting great financial gain in cannabis for small island nations would be sorely disappointed
    The end game would have the big fish eating up the little fish
    Those countries like Jamaica who has an illegal side industry whereby tourist can buy marijuana on the street would see a financial markdown in the industry as vacationers like americanas can easily sourced the cannabis legally in their country which removes the risk factor of illegal transportation by air or sea
    One only has to take a close look at sugar cane and how the global effect caused the loss of financial gains for small islands
    Most likely and in all probabilty the growing legality of marijuana in international countries would produce the same effect for small island nations who throw their financial backing in selling cannabis on the global market

14. John2… Neither was the pensioners and those investors holding govt instruments meant for govt to unilaterally break signed agreements wherby giving govt power to hold on to these instruments for another longterm period of time
    John 2 you got some nerve to issue such an asinine comment about relief fund not going to help poor people when govt is holding on to poor people money at a time when poor people struggling to make end meet
    You the person that need putting to sleep for your callous and insensitive comments speaking to the concern of those who lived in the flooded zones and most likely are renting homes

15. Ya see why Barbados cannot grow or progress…the jackass yardfowls and their minister masters have low to no intelligence let alone any knowledge about anything that could manifest growth and progress..

Yardfowl…go do some research about the fact that world SUPPLY not being able to meet Cannabis DEMAND…no matter how much you grow….and then try to post something sensible..

The supply currently on the island CANNOT even meet DEMAND for the island…let alone for countries not even enough to supply their people…do some reading.

Meeting demand would require year round growth and SUPPLY…requiring large groups of growers etc.. which Barbados has the perfect weather for.

….but not if the government is waiting for white or indian crooks to slither into Barbados and take over…or if they allow the current minority crooks to monopolize it…

Yardfowls helped DLP FAIL …but all of a sudden they know what can and cannot work…yardfowls are useless.

16. We understand that you are the dumb fowl who wants to see the current government fail so that ya can say…ya see…but that low rent mentality will cause people on the island to suffer..

The current government can only FAIL,…with medical marijuana if they are as dumb as the exiled former government and refuse to put systems in place to issue licenses and permits to the people to start the Cannabis ball rolling.

Ask Adriel Nitwit and Verla about that…two useless ass lawyers who could not even see what to do….or howto do it…although Verla claimed she tried…ya should ask her who among the 30-0 government ministers stopped her.

17. Meeting demand would require year round growth and SUPPLY…requiring large groups of growers etc.. which Barbados has the perfect weather for..

.AND the Black prople with the specialty….knowledge….and experience…who have ALL been warned to watch out for the sell out negros in parliament trying to tief it to sell it out or give it away to whites, indians, syrians…etc..

…..everyone is on to the traitors, thieves and disrespectful liars of parliament…who call themselves leaders…

18. your new ambassador has sided with kapernick about americas national anthem, so which one of you is going to ask trump to bail ya out lol
    when amy shumer and rosie odonell are singing your praises you may want to rethink your position
    Amy….I am moving to canada
    Rosie Me too .I,ll drive….now get in the back seat
    Amy no
    Rosie why not
    amy ..I want to stay up here with you

19. Dont get me started, certain things I never post unless pushed…yall are not going to like what I know.

20. Lawson…did you smoke KUSH this morning that ya questioning and answering yaself….lol

21. Get this in ya head, Rihanna has matured wonderfully, she knows what time it is, has found herself …and has positioned herself as someone young people can follow and the older folk can be proud,.so tek dah.

22. […] BU’s most recent blog – Senator Rawdon Adams Sobering Intervention in the Debt Restructure Debate  Adams asked what kind of Barbados do we need to build now that we have dismantled what was to […]

23. those two skanks looking to make an ambassador sandwich lol . She may have to wait till nicky haley is president before she gets an invite to WHITE house

24. “One only has to take a close look at sugar cane and how the global effect caused the loss of financial gains for small islands…..”

Mariposa

Wuh type uh weed you did smoking when you wrote the above shiite?

Vincy, Jamaican gold or Bajan?

Boy……wuh evuh um was……. it did strong.

The demise of the Caribbean’s sugar industry was inevitable.

And ONE of the contributing factors to this demise was when, in June 2005, the EU announced its intention to systematically reduce the price it paid for the sugar produced in Guyana and other countries from the Caribbean by 39% over the next five years.

25. MARIPOSA.

I said, the money from the relief funds was insurance for the government and was not meant for relieve of one particular family but for the benefit of the whole country.

You can take that and twist and add on as muck as you like.

Just be your brothers keeper and kindly make a donation to this family.

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Mariposa October 20, 2018 6:16 AM
    “One only has to take a close look at sugar cane and how the global effect caused the loss of financial gains for small islands
    Most likely and in all probabilty the growing legality of marijuana in international countries would produce the same effect for small island nations who throw their financial backing in selling cannabis on the global market…”

So with that kind of analytical foresight why did your DLP administration persist with the proposal to ‘modernize’ the Bajan sugarcane industry by pretending to borrow US$270 million from a Japanese bank to finance the rebuilding of the Andrews factory and the restructuring of the wider sugarcane industry?

Was it for consultancy and other (legal) fees to be siphoned from the taxpayers directly into the pockets of their business-related kickback friends and political family members?

Have you ever considered that there is more than the ‘smoking’ aspect to the growing of marijuana?
    Why should Bajans be criminalized for the growing of the plant for their own personal consumption for medicinal and culinary purposes?
    What about legally allowing people to produce cannabis on cottage-industry basis just like the growing of peppers, parsley, thyme or any other herb?

Should the new management of your deceitful lying party-in an attempt to resuscitate and make the DLP relevant to the modern voters- decide to push the ‘Ganga’ agenda, would you jump on the decriminalization bandwagon as you have done with your recently stolen Privatization hobbyhorse?

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ akenatenI October 20, 2018 6:30 AM

Your moniker says a lot about your intellectual brilliance and spiritual insight.

Like Akhenaten and brother Moses, we might both be cut from the same metaphysical cloth.
    But it could just be a figment of some monotheistic imagination.

All praises to the Aten!

“How manifold it is, what thou hast made!
    They are hidden from the face (of man).
    O sole god, like whom there is no other!
    Thou didst create the world according to thy desire,
    Whilst thou wert alone: All men, cattle, and wild beasts,
    Whatever is on earth, going upon (its) feet,
    And what is on high, flying with its wings.

28. Redguard,

You mentioned tinkering. That is my pet peeve. We are tinkering with an obsolete engine. We need a new engine. We need a whole new way of thinking. The tinkering will only keep us on the road for a short time. What we need is the introduction of revolutionary thinking at the grass roots level. We need community leaders to sit with small groups and have discussions that cause people to think about who we were, who we are, and who we need to be. Then we can figure out what we need to do to BECOME.

29. A happy good morning to all.
    I am unable to contribute to this post, but before I go…

🙂 I have to listen to the video and see if Rawdon was as inspiring as the blogmaster suggested, or was it ingestion of too much koolaid which caused some hallucinations 🙂

I noticed my <3 Mariposa <3 is taking some lashes

Lawson doing his warm-up and sucking big time.

Did I say “A wonderful and happy good morning to all” and that included those who like their Kool-aid red, those who like their kool-aid blue and those who don’t touch the stuff.

30. Miller what i have consider is that like all other leaps small islands take to finance their economies
    There biggest enemy are the larger international countries who for the most part are many years technology advance have more and faster productivity to push these small islands into a serious financial bind of having to clean up the negative after effects of their social enviroment coming from the legal sale of cannabis
    In other words these countries were initially used as guinea pigs by international countries to help fast pace the growing called for cannibais use world wide
    Small island would eventually have no footing to withstand the production of cannabis in the global industry but left holding the bag of of a society drowning in debt trying to push back on the negative effects of marijuana

31. @Nineonine,

Is Rawdon Adams now n econo0mic expert. With his MA in something called Political Sociology from the London School of Economics; a short period as a middle level administrator in the UK Treasurer and doing something with fund management in France (we know not what), this rather ordinary son of the soil is now an expert on finance(the Nation), politics (David of BU), now economics.
    Yet for reasons best known to themselves, when I say Barbados is a failed state I am criticised. May be I am too soft. People in Barbados who ought to know better are deferential, snivelling, and sometimes subservient to the privileged elite.
    I said once before, and will again: the moment Rawdon Adams becomes prime minister of Barbados I will renounce my Barbadian citizenship.

32. John2 you said the money was insurance which govt paid into a. relief fund and not meant for the people personnel use
    The people living in the flood ought to have homeowners insurance

33. John2
    Mari

The 5Mils was not meant for the poor people whose house was flooded out.
    That is what home insurance is for

34. I see Bajans still have a looonnnggg way to go in understanding their roles in their own safety and security..

I did not see the post myself but others are talking about someone who claimed to be recently laid off from a certain SOE and claimed that they helped sabotage the government that was recently thrown out of parliament and now this present government iwhom they helped…s laying them off…..

FYI..you do not sabotage any government…ya sabotaging yaself when you do that…because…although they like to pretend otherwise…the MINISTERS work for YOU the taxpayer….let that be a lesson learned..

The government would have been thrown out BY THE PEOPLE ANYWAY…no need to sabotage YASELF thinking ya sabotaging a government, just let the people throw them to the curb and keep your own hands clean.

remember that come election 2023.

35. ” island would eventually have no footing to withstand the production of cannabis in the global industry .”

you uninformed person…let Jamaica tell you how well it is working for them, their first shipment is already in Canada, let St. Vincent tell you their plans….let the other islands tell you their plans…the larger countries already know even if you dont…that their winters slows down production of crops…even in greenhouses, winters can be brutal and protracted, this year some have had snow fall in September..

….if ya know so well what will happen in the future…ya should have seen the 30-0 coming and not seem so surprised..that ya still can’t get over it..

“Have you ever considered that there is more than the ‘smoking’ aspect to the growing of marijuana?”

she has no clue what she is talking about, would not know how to begin to research the Cannabis topic..

.. just like Adriel /Nitwit and Verla were clueless on how to proceed when Verla tried to import marijuana in it’s medicinal form that can already be grown and processed in Barbados…

36. Yuh idiot when the Cannabis industry explode world wide these small island nations would not be able to withstand the global onslaught of production and marketing strategies and a market where the captalist intent would be to wage a price war against smaller islands

37. Is tourism a product offered by many countries? Does weed have unique qualities based on where it is cultivated? Asking for a friend.

38. @Hal
    “this rather ordinary son of the soil is now an expert on finance(the Nation), politics (David of BU), now economics.”
    ******** Are you Bajan? With a name and a face like that, for some Bajans, this man can do no wrong. For him nothing is impossible. That is how they think

“I said once before, and will again: the moment Rawdon Adams becomes prime minister of Barbados I will renounce my Barbadian citizenship.”
    ****** It is inevitable. You could renounce it from today.

39. The small islands cannot win when it comes to competeing on a larger scale
    Barbados and many other small islands have not started cannabis farming
    Yours and many here thinking of cannabis as a way to cover debt is just dreaming
    Wunna too small and does not have sufficient agricultural land and workforce to keep up with the demands in the global market
    You need to get a read of globalisation and its effect on small island where demand globally is at a faster pace than productivity coming from small islands
    Not to mention the many rules and regulations which govern products coming from small islands into the global markets stopping them dead in their tracks before reaching the starting gate

40. @Theo,

I was being polite calling him an ordinary son of the soil….the better word was mediocre.

41. The small islands cannot win when it comes to competeing (sic) on a larger scale
    This is the kind of thinking to be expected from an idiot.

Competitiveness in this Century has nothing to do with size.
    It has EVERYTHING to do with intelligence, creativity, innovative thinking and integrity.

We CANNOT win ….. but it is because the place is dominated by those of your ilk …
    and by lukewarm jokers who have NO clue, but can always be depended on for deep analysis and misguided actions.

In fact, small, flexible, dynamic societies that can change quickly and intelligently have CLEAR advantages in this modern world, over large ones that require much more effort to keep up…. due to inertia…

but as Bushie has been saying for YEARS now, if you want to create a new Hell, just put an idiot in charge of a Heaven.

42. uninformed yardfowl…no one said anything about covering the debt yall created 9 billion dollars worth AND the present government also created 6. billion dollars worth …

…..first the people in the majority population have to survive and make sure their families can eat…that is paramount…have you seen the market today..I have…..ask ya friends..

If yall had any intelligence when in government…the Cannabis would have already been rolled out..but ya did not, if ya had rolled it out at least 3 years ago…the debt would have stood a chance of being cut down, but ya did not …too lazy…too corrupt..

The majority population will have to survive somehow under the austerity yall created .., the cannabis and hemp industries are fail safe and just right for the trying times ahead to build up and make a success, it can reach great heights to benefit the majority population……….look up the word fail safe…

43. The bigger countries are asking the smaller islands that have year round summer…to supply them because they CANNOT KEEP UP WITH DEMAND…even in these early days, but this bad minded yardfowl/gadfly whose only intent is to see the current government fail so HER PEOPLE CAN SUFFER…so that SHE can gloat…cannot see beyond her petty small mindedness..

And that is why it will succeed for Barbados and enrich the majority population…unless Mia gets stupid..

ya know when ya say enrich, everyone thinks millions and billions of dollars because that is all they know…but.

..STABILITY…is enrichment..
    ..GOOD HEALTH…is enrichment

and that is what the marijuana plant provides.

44. “Does weed have unique qualities based on where it is cultivated?”

I can tell you Barbados has a damn fine medicinal product..it had me going…without the side effects of conventional opioids that actually kill you….and depending on what ails you, the medicinal marijuana gets rave reviews for actually treating the problem and HEALING the problem..whereas opioids…just MASKS the problems and their side effects kills you before the problems do..

There is no such problem with weed in medicinal form…and it is more who is doing the growing of the plant more so than where it is being grown…the people in Barbados with decades, years of experience in growing the plant are the ones to actually grow and process a product that is unparalleled.