Barbados’ National Insurance Scheme is not simply underperforming – it is failing the country. A social security system survives on trust, transparency, and timely information. The NISSS has become a perfect example of what happens when a public institution stops believing it owes citizens answers. Too many public agencies are on the wrong side of the public’s trust.

The first and most unforgivable failure is the years long delay in publishing audited financial statements. Barbados has a national insurance fund managing billions in assets, however, citizens cannot see the current audited financial position of that institution that holds their retirement, disability, and survivor benefits due to institutional negligence and incompetence. When a national insurance fund cannot produce timely financials, it is signalling to the public it serves one thing, we do not want you to see the books!

Then comes the late 18th actuarial report which is due every three years, the last posted to the NISSS website is as at 31 December, 2020. This is a document that determines whether the NIS can survive the next decade. Actuarial reviews are not optional when dealing with pension funds. Based on the blogmaster’s best research, it is a diagnostic scans of the fund’s long‑term health. When an actuarial report arrives years late, it does not inspire confidence. Barbados cannot claim to be a serious country while its social security system operates without current actuarial and audited financial information. More importantly, if the actuarial review and up-to-date financials are available, the powers that be prefer to withhold the information from taxpayers breaking the laws of the land in the process.

The blogmaster is prepared to give NISSS managers the benefit of the doubt by suggesting the documents are in hand, just not shared with taxpayers. Former Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler in a DLP Cabinet and current Minister of Foreign Affairs in the BLP cabinet – did assure the public that NISSS staff generate management information, good enough for decision making at the institution. As if this justifies government’s persistent law breaking by not producing timely and audited reports.

Table displaying investment data for the National Insurance Fund, including categories like Treasury Bills, Deposits, Equity Investments, Bonds, and Real Estate, with values from various years.
A snippet from government’s NISSS website showing incomplete updates.

And there is another concern. An important website  digital collapse disguised like the NISSS should inspire public confidence by being kept current – check the “Data” section at https://www.nis.gov.bb/#. Based on the best research, a relevant Social Security website must provide realtime fund performance, contribution history, benefit calculators, downloadable financials, and crisis‑response updates. Barbados’ NISSS website shares outdated documents, missing financial disclosures along with other shortcomings.

A social security system that cannot publish its financials, cannot deliver its actuarial reports onetime for taxpayers, and cannot maintain an updated website is living up to its billing of providing hope of a lifeline.

Are we there yet?

17 responses to “A National Insurance Fund without audited financials is a national risk”

1. No! This much belaboured point here suggests that an idea could only be true or false.

When it could be both.

They thereby, and reflexively, constantly overestimate the importance of audited financial statements. When at the centre of empire we’ve had audited financial statements from top-four accounting firms and
    much larger organizations went belly up as thought these audited financial statements did not exist, even triggering contagions. Case in point the 2008-9 mortgage debacle.

But what are audited financial statements? Essentially they are only dated records giving a snapshot into the past. And in the real world, if you’re big enough, if you’re willing to remain a top-four accounting firm, nobody is going to ask many questions and therefore the most “creative” accounting devices can be effectively deployed.

The truth has been, is and shall be that many, many, many financial decisions are made daily in the absence of financial statements or up to date records.

So whether we have them or not, levels of risks that those decisions maybe wrong always persist.

Certainly, audited financial statements become much less important when the guidance from the international financial agencies and this government, and the last, under neoliberal economics, was to privatize everything, use NISSS funds for purposes they were previously protected from, to radically change the nature of both private and public pensions to the disadvantage of the many while serving the interests of the rentier classes.

Therein lies the greater crime. For those who persistently complain about the absence of audited NISSS reports seem always to lack the courage to go to the root of their own barley field as if to burn it down.

The truth is that these complainants still hold on to notions about the viability of neoliberal capitalism while making noises which suggest that somehow a dying system everywhere is still alive and viable when every day that goes by represents the audited financial statements that the final collapse of Western capitalism cannot be avoided for much longer.

2. Yours is a null argument. Audited financials represent an independent review. Because audit companies have failed or been noted in the past, it does not negate the role they play in the financial governance process. Added to which, it is required by law!

3. It just goes to show how much the employers in Barbados actually care about their employees, both current and retired, and about the many millions those same employers have contributed on behalf of those employees. NISSS contributions are approx one half employee funded deductions, and one half employer contributions
    It is almost unfathomable, that large entities which have been employers since the dawn of the NIS, could show such callous disrespect for millions in expenditures, and the social net for not only their employees, but their customers.
    And with two NISSS Directors from the islands largest Unions and one from the Employer’s Confederation, they could ALL be silent.

4. To add to the point, the post is not only about the lack of timely audited financials, there is also mention of the lack of timely information posted to the website for the public it serves to consume.

5. In statistics a null hypothesis suggests that there are no measurable differences between two or more variables.

The world in which audited financial statements represent an independent review of the operations of an organization is too simplistic. Unreality! Such a false notion of independence is not unlike those widely celebrated by many countries while getting their daily bread from empire.

It’s not the real world. Within the real world this writer remembers well paying hundreds of thousands of dollars for audits to Arthur Andersen, a top-four accounting firm at the time, when later it itself went bankrupt. And it was only in that bankruptcy, and the scandals associated, when we saw the real nature of the audited financial statements game.

What is law? This is another misguidance of the unpracticed. Do you really think that the powers that be, large organizations, were ever interested in following any socalled laws, made by their paid servants in any parliament, unless their interests were so served? Indeed, everything you call law acts in the interests of those with power.

Think! Who pays for audits? You’re an accountant, ar’nt you? Most times it’s the very organizations that outsiders would like critical information about. Intellectual maturity demands a conclusion that says who pays the piper calls the tune!

In any case ours is not that audits are totally unhelpful, this writer depends upon them every day, expects auditors to have a modicum of trustworthiness, nothing more. But to presume that audits should have such mental pride of place, that no other words are as final, that they were sent from Mount Olive by the God Hathor, represent an over-dependence while ignoring the stark realities about the environments in which financial auditors operate.

6. Shiite @ Pacha
    You can make a mountain out of ANY mole heap.

Obviously you are correct that the audit professionals are largely nothing more than snake oil salesmen, whose role is to charm brass bowls – while the albino-centrics make off with the loot.
    BUT THAT IS NOT THE CURRENT MOOT!!!

We are talking about a class of albino centrics that are REFUSING even the PRETENSE of charm.
    Do you not grasp the ABSOLUTE disdain being exhibited against brass…
    the damn demons are not even providing de vaseline nowadays…

Shiite boss, So are you suggesting that BBs just accept our fate and provide our own damn vaseline… or are you suggesting that it makes no difference to you…? slippery or not…?

At least the audited statements will force another set of ‘professionals’ to lie and cheat, thereby weakening the evil network and better exposing them to implosion.
    Plus it gives BU ammo for righteous battles LOL…

Can you imaging when the HOPE accounts finally fall off a truck – or more likely, out of one of the government’s fancy SUVs? … or even the Carifesta spending binge?
    … or NISSS?
    Murduh!!
    Wuh if Northern and John A can pelt so much punches without ANY data, …can you picture them having YEARS of incriminating evidence – even if it incriminates the auditors first…?

What a place!!!

7. Bushie

It’s you and your Boss Man who are the experts in such obfuscations.

For we’ve had a little job here struggling wid for years and neither one uh wunna would not even lend a hand.

Seriously though, how can anything, in and of itself, ever make complete sense absent the wider context.

Unlike most, you couldn’t think that a system where people can come and beg you for a vote but deny you a right to recall, to reverse that vote, would have any interests in making sure that financial stewardship meets the minimalist of standards?

And even if those standards were present, all that would happen, at best, is the confirmation of what we all know already. That the NISSS is being hollowed out, that such a crime must be conducted in the dark until it becomes a fait accompli

So why not accept that collective judgement and take the next steps.

8. So let’s look at David’s figures which I assume come from the said NIS page.

In 2017 they held $198 million in bonds.
    In 2023 they held $2.42 billion in bonds.

Now the restructuring was in 2018 correct? I think it was 2018. Yet at the end of 2018 they held $2.86B in bonds. At the end of 2019 (1 year after the restructuring) they still held 2.80B in bonds. So the bond holdings fell by roughly $80 million.

So ifffing the restructuring wrote off according to the experts, $1.3 B in bonds, how come this is not showing in the 2019 year end close?

Question is as of end of 2023 what was the breakdown of bond ownership by holders? If the restructuring did in 2018 cut the NIS holdings.by $1 billion and change, why is it not showing in the closing of 2019? Was the write off not written down on the books? What really happening here?

I mean we don’t have audited figures so all we could do is try and pick sense from nonsense.

9. The next other thing about David’s figures is the state says they holding $289 million at the end of 2023 in real estate, at whose value?

Is this valuation at construction cost like where the Grotto ending up costing Sandy Lane money per Sq Ft?

When last were the real estate assets of the fund independently valued by a real estate valuator?

For Example what year was the NIS building in the city pulled down to mek a park? At the end of that year was the real estate holdings adjusted to take into account a push down building? Was the land the building was on ever sold to central government and were any proceeds ever deposited in the NIS account for said “park land?”

I only asking.

10. Piffle.
    The entity which audits the NIS\NISSS financial accounts, is known as the Barbados Auditor General. Not some private firm. Conversely, the supposedly tri-annual Actuarial Report, is the product of a private entity.
    Prior to his retirement, the last Auditor General confirmed, his office had completed audits up to 2013. And we’re ‘working on’ 2014 & 2015. In simple English, this means the accounts to 2013, were completed by the NIS and subsequently audited. However, past I think 2006, not one annual Report, had been laid before either the HoA, or the Senate, as required. This directly points that failure to the Minister of Labour, to whom the NIS Board is required to send their completed Annual Reports.
    This continued failure to Report as required by the Act governing the NISSS, is now largely the Employer’s fault. Given the failure to perform, (comply with the Act), those employers should be placing all NISSS contributions into an escrow account, ONLY to be released, when the NISSS, and/or the Minister of Labour, complies fully with the Act governing the NISSS.
    Let the relevant parties, the NISSS Board, the Auditor General, and the Minister of Labour, piss against each other as to “fault”.
    Sound oversight of the monies contributed by their employees, and the shareholders of the employer, demand employer management force compliance with the Act.

11. @Northern

All they will do is pay in a little money now and again when cash flow gets real bad. Besides that look for the contribution requirements to soon past 1000 and the retirement age to hit 70. This added to increasing the rates of contribution for both employer and employee, will buy them a little time.

The sad thing those that had nothing to do with the mismanagement will feel the pain, while the others will get full early pension as ministers.

12. Barbados already has one of the highest contribution rates in the Caribbean.

13. JohnA
    All these social systems are semi Ponzi schemes. They depend heavily on cash flow. Converting fixed or long term assets into cash isn’t easy. Esp if you’re talking about cashing GoB bonds, or selling real estate.
    Withholding contributions on a wide scale, will elicit a near immediate response.

14. Weeee seem to remember that it might have been the late Walter Blackman who suggested that NISSS audits should be led by actuaries, not accountants, not the Auditor General.

He being an actuary himself, maybe he was bias, but it remains a legal anomaly to ask the AG to deal with a quasi-government agency which is unlike any other.

Some countries have a contractor general and other such specialist auditors. Richies Haynes suggested this for Barbados, a contractor general, and we long needed this. Maybe a NISSS failing was the absence of an actuaríal general, not merely a consulting actuary as NISSS might have.

No other government agency deals with mass or old age pensions, sickness & accident benefits, maternity benefits, contributory pensions, survivors’ benefits, etc. These matters were never rooted solely in matters about general accounting.

It’s difficult to understand how any AG could have much to say about a specialty where demographics, human lifespan, aging populations, benefit levels and long term viability, which are essentially all actuarial matters, in nature.

15. @ Northern

Well either they put in cash in terms of a refinance package, or we the public get jucked in several ways to raise it. Time will tell, but either way yes it is a glorified Ponzi scheme at this stage, I agree with you on that.

16. “All these social systems are semi Ponzi schemes.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    Northern is surely joking here… playing that he diplomatic.

These are FULL BLOWN Ponzi schemes – by their very nature.

A proper social security system is one where the funds are properly invested in productive areas, such that the benefits can be covered from investment earnings.

THAT WOULD MEAN INDEPENDENT PROFESSIONAL MANAGEMENT BY INVESTMENT EXPERTS… not by shiite politicians, lawyers, and their yardfowl proxies.

Ours’ are merely extended TAX systems – where politicians essentially spend the funds just like they do from the consolidated fund, without regard for productivity or growth. They then pass the liabilities on to future taxpayers (victims) and to future politicians.

As with all Ponzi schemes, the early stage perpetrators lavish in the gravy of free money, while resisting any PROPER financial or actuarial reporting.

Ordinary BBs always fall for these schemes because we SELFISHLY hope that the scheme’s inevitable collapse comes only AFTER we collect our meeting turn…

What a scam!