Bring the Facts Caswell Franklyn! We Live in a Real World
Submitted by Douglas

Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union
IS THERE MORE OR LESS POVERTY TODAY IN BARBADOS THAN IN 2008? I say there is a lot less since 2008, despite what the Barbados Labour Party and its supporters are saying.
If one reads the claptrap written in today’s Sunday Sun – NOT ALL BLACK AND WHITE: Govt should resign for the greater good – by the ornery Caswell Franklyn (who the Labour Party jettisoned after a former BLP minister was elevated) it would appear to the uninformed that conditions in Barbados are akin to those in Haiti. What Absolute Rubbish!
Hear the BLP’s ardent, apologetic protagonist and modern-day, union rabble-rouser: “Personally, I have not seen this level of poverty and deprivation (here) since the 1960s.”
Well, I don’t know where he has been living; maybe on Mars or under a rock; or the guy is so partisan that he is either purblind, believing his own propaganda or downright apparatchik. Wake up Caswell!
But, who could blame him; that newspaper has given him a weekly platform to squirt his venom. I would suggest he should start telling the truth. For, despite the tough economic times we have experienced because of the worldwide recession, Barbadians are still keeping their heads well above water, holding their own, prioritising their needs as they separate them from their wants, and, generally, are doing better in spite of …. A few real indicators are: the liquidity that abounds in the banking system and at the credit unions; the ever improving housing stock and vibrant construction industry; new, small and medium sized businesses that have sprung up; good transport and the number of new vehicles on our roads; affordable health care; continued educational facilities; attendance at social events; and the acquisition of non-essential, but inexpensive, day-to-day items by many persons. These are the real indices that count.
As a matter of fact, we are faring much better than most of our CARICOM neighbours, better than many in some US states, France, Ireland, Spain, Cyprus, Italy, ‘poor’ Greece and some other EU countries with far more resources than us.
So, let’s do a comparison between 2007, when the “Great Economist” was “in power”, VAT receipts were being squandered all over the place and a ‘trade union’ nuisance and his friends were living high off the hog; and today, when we are still in the throes of a prolonged recession.
Back in 2007, when the country was awash with VAT $$, no less a person than Dame Olga Lopse-Seale had publicly bemoaned what she had seen during her daily treks across the length and breadth of Barbados before Christmas, as she investigated requests for assistance from her Needy Children’s Fund. Her actual comment, which was carried in the Daily Nation newspaper, was: “IN ALL MY YEARS HERE, I HAVE NOT SEEN SO MUCH POVERTY IN BARBADOS. IT HAS GOTTEN WORSE”. And guess what? It happened under the Barbados Labour Party’s watch.
The BLP and its apologists, including Caswell Franklyn, have no moral ground or principled legitimacy to attack this administration on the issue of poverty. Indeed, the Dems can assail the BLP for not doing much when they had millions on top of millions during their 13 odd years in power; yet the late Auntie Olga had to be critical of them on their insensitivity to that social plight.
Fact Check: the relevant extract from the Daily Nation of Dec. 20, 2007.
On 19th. Dec. 2007, after one of her visits to several urban and rural households Dame “Auntie” Olga Lopes-Seale noted: “More women and children are living in poverty in Barbados’. In all my years here, I have not seen so much poverty in Barbados. It has gotten worse.” While saying she had no statistics, she stated that she was seeing an increase in poverty while doing her work in charity. (See the back page of the Daily Nation of 20th. December, 2007)
Fact Check: the DLP alluded to Dame Olga’s comments on poverty in Barbados in its election campaign Charge Sheet against the inept BLP in 2008.
WOW!!!! Who do you believe? The late Dame Olga or Caswell Franklyn and the BLP? Dame Olga was a lady of impeccable integrity and could certainly be trusted. We need not say anymore !!!
Well, lest people forget, we have to remind them that, in the face of the worst economic recession the world has experienced in 100 years, this administration has worked to wrestle poverty to the ground. Look at the free students’ bus fares, the free summer day camps (which the BLP opposed), the payment of utility bills for seniors, the aggressive low-income housing programme, the ongoing work of the Constituency Councils (which the BLP opposed), a reduction in income tax (PAYE) from 17.5% to 16%, etc. All of these have been achieved from a greatly reduced revenue base.
Actually, this DLP Government, to its credit, has actually strengthened the country’s welfare safety net, as it endeavours to prevent more people from falling through the cracks, particularly the most vulnerable members of society, e.g. single mothers; the elderly and young children.
Keeping It Real

I read your submission and I read Mr Franklyn own ….so you tell me which one is fact.I know and I will continue to say it this government destroying Barbados. No amount of spin could make me think otherwise, sir and for you to come here sprouting this political hogwash I am ashamed to be called a Barbadian. Persons like you who supports political parties and continue to refused to think or question some of the pain that they are inflicting on our people and you come here submitting garbage. It saddens me to see what my country is going through, but with God help he going to deliver us.So next time you want to come to this forum, you bring the facts and try to live in the real world.
LikeLike
Caswell hit a raw nerve with the DLP, didn’t he? You all are so “touchous”.
His article is on point……….the only people who are better off since you morons took up the government in 2008 are the Preconco’s, the Jada’s, the Innotech’s, the Trans Tech’s, the DLP lawyers and those attached to the various ministers who feed at the trough!
Barbadians are all the poorer for being so stupid to vote DLP…..and that’s a fact. I have never seen so many homeless people on the streets, so many people begging, so many people leaving back items in their trollies………………and you dont know that Barbadians are poorer for having voted for the DLP?
Ask those workers who have just been sent home from the BIDC just because they turned 60 who still have loans to repay and children to educate, thanks to your incompetence in managing the economy…………….when you lying bastards told compliant Barbadians every job is secure……..not one public worker will lose their job. How are these workers better off?
The DLP has deceived Barbadians on a level that no one ever have anticipated and rest assured you will pay dearly for it!
LikeLike
http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/06/28/sir-henry-defends-mia/
LikeLike
Douglas
The truth hurts.
LikeLike
like they say the proof of the pudding is in the eating, there is statistical evedience stating that barbadians had over a billion dollars in deposits in the bank ,. second proof the Quick Sale of Bonds, please ignore Caswell///ac guess in the mind of the deaf dumb and blind like caswell that all adds up to a poverty stricken nation.. Caswell he is falling on his own sword, Why he needs to keep his self relevant by doing the job of the Nation before they boot him for a second time,,
LikeLike
“prevent more people from falling through the cracks”,…..true, so true. You have widened the cracks into gaping crevasses so that people are being pushed through and all with a grin on your face. I don’t know what it is with you radicalized Dems that makes you so blinded to what is happening to the citizens of this country. Is it sheer wickedness that blinds you to what your party is doing to us, is it a case of you and your ilk being too ignorant to not know better or are you just taking glee in rubbing our faces in it? If the best result we could get from free education is deep thinking like yours, it’s no wonder your party is averse to granting others similar opportunity. Your reference to Dame Olga is an insult to her and her memory. She must be turning in her grave when you or anyone else in the DLP references her name. My fervent wish is that the next government creates a Hall of Shame for you and all like you who continue to support the rape of this country and its citizens. If the MoF wants to raise more money by way of taxes, have him create a levy to buy coals for this sorry lot to burn in hell.
LikeLike
What is happening in the Caribbean region? I knew that the Puerto Rico economy was stagnating however I had no idea that things were so bad over there. They seem to be going through exactly the same crisis as we are.
It could be worse. In Greece only 40 percent of ATM machines are issuing monies!
http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/jun/28/puerto-rico-debt-unemployment
LikeLike
I am probable not the brightest candle on the cake here, and I am quite resolve with that position nonetheless, but this I have realized: there seem to be a delusion or perhaps illusion, amongst some persons who command positions of wide influence in the public sphere, and who are of the false assumption that their can steer public opinion in view of the facts to the contrary. Now, if the person of whom we speak above, and of whom many I supposed regard with some manner of respect, does not recognized the need to speak the truth, when it pokes him in the eyes. Then what hope is there for the integrity of such a person who pursues this perpetual course of action? And as the great Civil-Rights leader Dr. Martin Luther King Jr, once said: ” Truth crashed to the earth should raise again.” And lastly, it appears as though political-narrow-mindedness has caused many if not the majority of those persons who command a wide influence in the public sphere, to undermine their sense of moral-correctness for the sake of political-convenience.
LikeLike
the blp yard fowls are so hurting that they have dragged out one of their own and well known enemies one Caswell franklyn to do the mud slinging. Now seriously who the Hell would gazed upon Caswell writings and not say HYPOCRITE. but then again politics duz make strange bedfellows, Any how the article is an interesting piece of old political jobby refined and written as fact despite the fact that barbadians only two weeks ago laid out the facts openly by spending money as a symbol of transferring wealth, boy the BLP poo must be leaking like crazy when they got no other choice but to ask Caswell to do their dirty work.
LikeLike
One does not have to be a proponent of the DLP ideals to realize that Caswell Franklyn is a BLP linchpin. Who is bent on besmearing what’s left of the DLP’s image, with his haft-truths, presumptuous-pronouncements, and fairytale-predictions. I can respect a man who has the testicular-fortitude to point out the successes as well as the failures of particular political party, but not a man who spews and parrots his biases and partialities against a party he detests; every opportune time he gets.
LikeLike
@Caswell
The more they attack you the more your popularity rises. The fact there is liquidity with banks and credit union means Barbadians are not borrowing or banks are not lending.
LikeLike
Would you invest in the GOB saving bonds as presently being offered?
LikeLike
@Mitch
It is all about managing your portfolio risk. Determine a % of government holdings based on size of portfolio and where you are positioned on life’s curve.
LikeLike
Attack what ! but if Caswell puts himself out there yes he would be hung out to dry on a bed of hot wooden coals. his history as being two faced and a political opportunist depending which side the wind is blowing in his favor is well known across town and country, needless to say he has drawn upon his cockeyed principals of disagreement to be of( use) to the Blp to which the blp has welcomed him with open arms until the next time he upset the apple cart, that is vintage Caswell tuh de bone,,
LikeLike
Fearplay
Okay, I guess some here would agree that the supporters of the DLP agenda have pretty much been domesticated under the guide of the ruling DLP government. A government which some have claimed hasn’t any respect for the rule of law and due-process, and yet, we haven’t heard that collective -moral- outcry from the people. What does this say about the Barbadian people? And what would it take to arouse the moral conscience of the Barbadian people and incentivized them to rise up against this sea of supposely wrongding on the part of their government? The Utilitarian -Principle proposed that the: right course of action is the one that will lead to the greatest happiness of the greatest number of people. And if there is discontent of government it is surely not coming from the majority, who we haven’t as yet seen in the streets of Bridgetown demanding immediate change in the current state of affairs. The discontent as we have seen, arise from the handful reactionaries, who in their failing attempts cannot or do not know how to convince the Barbadian masses of this widespreading corruption on the part of the ruling government.
LikeLike
Bollocks. I know folks who are seeking jobs for months and ………….nothing. And more who have lost jobs recently.
Caswell is right, not since the 60’s has it been this bad. And even if you have a job, the banks are reluctant to lend, authority for the lending has to come from overseas for certain banks! They are limiting exposure to Barbados.
LikeLike
”Mitch Sassoon June 28, 2015 at 6:08 PM # David Would you invest in the GOB saving bonds as presently being offered?”
vs the banks @ 1%
Gov’t has eliminated tax benefit in investments in mutual funds and pensions
folks think that Gov’t bonds are guaranteed.
That is the why.
Now the but… the but is
nothing is guaranteed, even Govt bonds, can be haircut
folks jump to the ‘best’ alternative, but Gov’t 5% may not be better than commercial banks 1%, if they don’t count for much.
LikeLike
Fearplay
Question: what is it that the eagle eyes BLP supporters are seeing with respect to government irregularities and improprieties, and common-herd of people aren’t seeing or have been properly informed about? I don’t get it. Why is it so difficult to convince an enlightened people about this widespread corruption on the part of the ruling government? We have witnessed country after country in North Africa, rising up and demanded change through social-protect and militancy. Why hasn’t this taken place in Barbados as of yet, especially in the face of this pervasive governmental corruption? Or perhaps, there is a magnification of the corruption that is conducive to all forms of human government? Now, Nigeria which according to the public record, is the single most corrupted and repressive nation on the face the earth, and yet there is a wide dissent amongst the populace for government. What does this say about the will of the Barbadian people in the face of this alleged widespread corruption by the proponents of the BLP?
LikeLike
@Mobert,
What are you saying brother? The economic situation hasn’t gotten any better here in the states. The banks are now requiring an A-1 credit before their fork over a loan. Brother work is still difficult to come by as well; a countless numbers of people within the last year have moved from North to down South in search of work. St. Francis Hospital in my home state, just this week layoff 500 employees in view of the governor’s budget cuts. So we are all still feeling the effects of the economic melt down brother.
LikeLike
Mobert
There is no such thing as a full time job these days in the states brother. Employers have figured out that it is economically feasible to take a full time job, and divide it beween two employees to avoid paying medical benefits and a retirement pension.
LikeLike
Slight correction to above…The amount in savings held in Commercial banks was 8.1 billion, with another 1 billion plus held in Credit Unions. Anybody checked the amount of housing stock held by Bajans and their value..That counts top.
LikeLike
Slight correction to above…The amount in savings held in Commercial banks was 8.1 billion, with another 1 billion plus held in Credit Unions. Anybody checked the amount of housing stock held by Bajans and their value..That counts too.
LikeLike
The middle class has been taking a hit every year since this inept DLP came to power.A cohesive middle class is the social glue keeping together and marking out our countries’ prosperity.Nibbling away at it year after year is spelling disaster to Barbados.A close relative who went to work straight out of Community College at one of our more stable banks, was just given her walking ticket after 15 years of service.
And you say to me that Barbados is better off?Douglas you gotta be kidding me..
A drawing of a tomstone is going the rounds of the social media.On the tombstone is written:
+
BARBADOS MIDDLE CLASS
LikeLike
Mobert
I can go on and on Mobert, but who who really cares? Don’t let no body fool you brother. We are having it difficult here in the states still. Instead of vacations American are now taking what is commonly staycations. That is where their stay round and about home because of the lack of the available funds to travel abroad. Americans companies have also figured out the it is cheaper to give their new full time employees a 401 (K) retirement pension -which has been shown to run before many are laid out for public view rather than the old time pension which extended beyond the grave.
LikeLike
At least there is still a middle-class in Barbados. The gap between the rich and poor in America has widen like GP decrepit butt-cheeks, during the Bush administration; and made worse by the Obama Administration.
LikeLike
@Dompey, you pose some challenging questions to which I am at a loss in providing answers. Technically, 48% of votes cast in the last general election were in favor of the Barbados Labour Party. It is highly unlikely that since that time many or any of the 48% have changed their desire to not supporting the Democratic Labour Party. Conversely in all likelihood some of the other 52% have possibly changed their commitment in support of the DLP. If we agree with the preceding, flawed as it might be, how on God’s earth can a majority of this nations finest and best be so cowed down and docile that a march, a broken shop window, a toppled statue, a burning tyre, not even a prayer warrior weekend in protest of this government can’t be mounted? Did the famous “cracking of heads and shooting of a few slaves (sorry, couldn’t resist it) really have that large an effect on the Cowards of Barbados? What does this say of us if we should ever come under threat by external forces? Is our DNA so flawed that it shows itself even in the takeover of banking, insurance, manufacturing, commerce, hospitality and land holding by foreign interest without so much as a whimper? Where is the leadership of the Church in all of this? I can’t seem to recall reading reports of fiery sermons in protest. We have even reached a point where those who call themselves calypsonians can’t even string together three lines of biting commentary in support of the suffering masses. If they can’t sing about a bumper, a truck, a rum, a rag or wine pun i , then it’s not worth singing about.
@Dompey, unfortunately I have answered your questions with more of my own for which I apologize but I lose hope and faith in the future of my beloved Barbados every day while it sails under the command of a blind captain, a deaf first mate and a dumb crew.
LikeLike
If Caswell does not attack the government, he will lose his pick or platform at the Nation BLP newspaper. Caswell got bills to pay so he has to sing for his supper.
I dare him to write an article calling for change of leadership in the BLP and criticizing Mottley – that article would not make the light of day.Try it Caswell.
The Nation newspaper “unwritten” policy is that no commentators must write complimentary articles about the current government. It is not coincidence – Mascoll, Brandford, Tennyson Joseph, Frances Chandler, Harry Russell and Caswell? Coincidence??
LikeLike
“The Nation newspaper “unwritten” policy is that no commentators must write complimentary articles about the current government. It is not coincidence – Mascoll, Brandford, Tennyson Joseph, Frances Chandler, Harry Russell and Caswell? Coincidence?”
Is the above really factual or merely fantasy? Would it not be closer to the truth to say that they were asked to be factual and that is why they write the way they do? Just so we are on the same page @NBLPN, lying is when you say that you’re not going to fire anyone and you do. Lying is when you say you are reducing taxes and you don’t. Lying is when you say you’re going to issue tax refunds on numerous occasions and you don’t. Lying is when you give Mr Williams your word to stand behind his airline and then don’t. Should I stop now?
LikeLike
alvin cummins June 28, 2015 at 8:00 PM #
And there is some $1 Billion held in Swiss banks.
LikeLike
The veracity challenged Douglas appears to have Alice in Wonderland syndrome. He lives in an alternate universe, a fantasy land of milk & honey & untold riches .
Must be nice to live in this fantasy world that apparently exists somewhere in Barbados.
LikeLike
the veracity challenged Caswell not only seem to but have rocks growing behind his ears , how can he make such a bold opinion without producing the facts to verify, his usual verbosity of pitting out cross eyed and pockey cocked information rang true in the political garbage of information that he wrote in the Nation newspaper
Over the period 1995 to 2010, Barbados was able to achieve a “very high human development‟ status in terms of the UNDP’s human development index which combines indicators of health and education status and livelihood. Since 1990, it has been ranked among the top 50 countries in the world. The country’s development strategy has been to facilitate the development of the private sector in the production of goods and services.
Barbados HDI value and rank
Barbados HDI value for 2013 is 0.776 which is in the high human development category positioning the country at 59 out of 187 countries and territories. Between 1980 and 2013, Barbados HDI value increased from 0.658 to 0. 776 an increase of 18.0 percent or an average annual increase of about 0.50 percent.
these are facts caswell, no bring your statistics to prove your findings going back to 1960.
LikeLike
Forgive me if I’m wrong but, haven’t I read on this blog that Caswell is disenchanted with both BLP and DLP? For instance, wasn’t he critical of the BLP handling of the Carrington affair as being just a show put on for the public with a predictable and deliberate outcome of NOTHING? Didn’t he advise me that the “political class” closes ranks to protect its own and is not seriously interested in a change of the status quo?
If Caswell is working for the BLP he’s not doing a very good job of winning me over to their side.
LikeLike
@Donna
And it is a matter of record he is very anti MAM. Ignore the yardfowls.
On 29 June 2015 at 10:38, Barbados Underground wrote:
LikeLike
Dompey @ 4:53 am, said….
I am probable not the brightest candle on the cake here,….
He got THAT right.
LikeLike
Please people, be objective! I read Frances Chandler’s articles all the time and all I see is a common sense, no nonsense lady offering constructive criticism and good advice. Love it!
As for Tennyson Joseph, I read an article of his that was critical of politicians of the Caribbean in general, drawing uncomplimentary comparisons between them and the administrators of the WICB. I was not left with the impression that he separated the Bees from the Dees in his sweeping and scathing assessment of the motives and capabilities of our politicians. Loved it!
I have voted DLP for all my life but I find that what their critics are writing today is almost exactly what I would write if I were a columnist. I knew that our system was flawed and that our politicians were no angels. I knew that politics was a dirty game. I expected some level of lies and deceit and corruption as this is an imperfect world. What has surprised me is the magnitude of what took place in the last general election campaign and the speed of reversal of all that was promised then. Good grief our memories may be short but not that short!
In voting for the DLP I thought I was choosing the lesser of two evils. Now I believe that I erred. Still though none of the writers you people claim to be working for the BLP have managed to win me over to that side. I could say that I am now sitting on the fence but I think a more accurate description would be that I have left the garden altogether.
Some of you people couldn’t be objective if your life depended on it! Sickening, really!
LikeLike
Donna, so the fact that you voted DLP all your life suggests that you loved the representation from your parliamentarian or the aura of the DLP?
And do your remarks mean that you would likely vote for the BLP candidate in the next general because s/he will be the better rep or you love Mia’s leadership potential?
My point is that at the end of the day obviously it’s really impossible to effect real impact unless the entire group of ‘independent’ voters and disenchanted party supporters like you vote on the swing to BLP.
This system of first-past-the post electoral politics is a tough one and that’s why this great fight to win the hearts and minds of the electorate is so hellacious at the moment.
Of course politics being what it is the time to elections is an eternity and minds can change.
So you are as good enough bell-weather as ever here on BU, so let’s see what say you a few months from the big day.
LikeLike
De Ingrunt Word
Please shake the cobwebs out of your brain and read my comments again!
LikeLike
Donna, there are no cobwebs. Your statements are clear. You are a truly disenchanted voter…currently not disposed to vote, period.
And as I said let’s see what you say a few months from election day.
As stalwart a voter as you were your decision could stay as is or not…definitely an interesting bellwether for this Bajan political lie.
We shall see.
LikeLike
How is it possible for supposedly educated Bajans to vote for the same party in every election, and be proud of having done so?
Even if they voted for a particular representative, yuh mean tuh seh dat nuhbody atall from de udda side cudda mek de grade? Not even one single one?
I noh duh got big breed pigeons, so I guess duh mussee got big breed yardfowls too. Not that I am calling any particular individual a pigeon.
LikeLike
Who cares who or what political party Caswell endorses. Caswell suffers from a toxic level of grandiloquence and is quickly becoming a creature of his own fate
ing a creature of his own fate. The fact that he can assumed a boisterous and unfounded conclusion on poverty without actual and relevant findings shows the callouness and coldhearted nature of his mutterings to fool the public
LikeLike
Is this guy for real ? We have a generation and a half of people who are now learning about some undesirable pests which were eradicated in this country by the late 60’s early 70’s. Chinks and Chiggers have now resurfaced. In the heyday of these pests, they thrived mainly on unwashed , infrequently washed and sweaty bodies. That was at a time when we hand stand pipes, and there were just a few homes in any village with running water. Some communities were lucky to have a public baths, most of which were demolished or put to other uses as homes became “waterfied.”
Today, as the PM alluded,every home in Barbados has running water, or should I say water pipes, and the ubique meter, because for many people, especially those in the eastern parts of the country, for days on end do not see a drop of water in their homes or community. Many are forced to leave home without the usual cup of tea, and regretfully also without a bath. And at weekend when they are looking forward to doing their laundry, often times tha taps are dry.
Yes we have regressed, but the BWA has advanced, with a $50 +Million headquarters, complete with a gym and the works, like the Central Bank, while the many supporters of their core business suffer.
LikeLike
“Well, I don’t know where he has been living; maybe on Mars or under a rock; or the guy is so partisan that he is either purblind, believing his own propaganda or downright apparatchik. Wake up (Douglas)!!!!”
It seems as though Douggie forgot to include certain FACTS in his party political diatribe. So, I feel duty bound to remind him of a few of these facts.
FACT CHECK: Moody’s Investors Service:
New York, May 14, 2009 — Moody’s Investors Service has placed Barbados’ government bond ratings on review for possible downgrade in order to assess the credit impact of further deterioration in the country’s debt metrics in the coming years.
New York, October 13, 2009 — Moody’s Investors Service has downgraded Barbados’ government bond ratings following several years of deterioration in credit metrics. The Baa2 foreign currency government bond rating and the A3 local currency government bond rating were downgraded to Baa3 and Baa2, respectively.
New York, June 13, 2011 — Moody’s Investors Service has downgraded the Government of Barbados’ domestic currency rating to Baa3 from Baa2. The Baa3 foreign currency bond rating has been affirmed. The outlook on both ratings has been revised to negative.
FACT CHECK: Standard & Poors:
Tuesday, July 17, 2012:
Standard & Poor’s downgraded the country’s national debt to junk bond status in 13 terrible words: “We have lowered our sovereign credit ratings on Barbados to ‘BB+/B’ from ‘BBB-/A-3’.”
New York, December 20, 2012 — Moody’s Investors Service has downgraded the Government of Barbados’ foreign and local currency bond ratings to Ba1 from Baa3. The outlook remains negative.
New York, June 02, 2014 — Moody’s Investors Service has today downgraded Barbados’ government bond rating to B3 from Ba3. The outlook remains negative.
FACT CHECK: Standard & Poors:
Friday, December 19, 2014:
Standard & Poor’s (S&P) Ratings Services lowered its long-term sovereign credit ratings on Barbados to ‘B’ from ‘BB-‘. The outlook is negative. The country’s ‘B’ short-term sovereign credit rating was affirmed. However, the transfer and convertibility assessment was also lowered to ‘B’ from ‘BB-‘.
FACT CHECK: CariCRIS:
Tuesday, December 16, 2014:
Caribbean Information and Credit Rating Services Limited (CariCRIS), which is based in Trinidad and Tobago, said that it dropped by two notches the island’s rating on the Government debt issue of Bds$600 million to CariA- from CariA+ and a CariA on the local currency down from CariAA-.
LikeLike
@ Artaxerxes June 29, 2015 at 9:35 AM
Well said, excellent post.
But you do know that facts do not matter with the dompey’s, ac’s and douglas’ on this forum. Your post is above their level of comprehension……..it is too high for them, they only operate in gutter politics.
LikeLike
MAM said last night that prior to the 2013 election, the one from St Philip North wrote a letter to the NHC Board telling them that the cabinet made a decision to revoke the contract awarded to Rotherley Construction to build some houses at Exmouth.
In this letter he instructed them to award to contract to a company associated with a white company…………not to go back to tender, you know!
But do you know that the minutes from cabinet told a different story? These ministers are out of control and the Foobert that is supposed to be PM cannot touch them. He is therefore just as guilty if he knows of their corrupt practices.
Is it that he only wants to be PM and would keep his mouth shut just that he remains PM?
Yes Dompey, we are foolish people to sit down and allow this inept incompetent government to remain in office.
By the way, does anyone know what ever became of the load of wood, a picture of which was carried in the Nation just before the 2013 election with the corrupt speaker receiving it from a white contractor. This wood was presented to the government days before an election which was to refurbish parts of Parliament. Has anyone heard a peep about this since?
LikeLike
Note the government was accused of withholding the recent Article IV Consultation report by MAM. The MOF has been forced to play hopscotch with David Ellis this morning. Some members of the private sector who attended a meeting last week knows he engaged in a level of obfuscation in the interview.
Liars all of them and a lack of transparency.
LikeLike
What Moody’s and the other lending agencies have warned the wary and not so wary investor is that Barbados’ fiscal and monetary policies are in such disarray that you the investor might experience a 40% chance of not getting back your principal investment.In other words the Freundel Stuart led administration has put Barbados so ankle deep in debt,it might renege on paying you back your initial investment.Even to those who are so blind on this blog,the CAHILL woman has admiited that investors have shied away from investing in her and the quartet lowe,sinckler,boyce and kellmans’ WTE project.Whites continue to make asses of black politicians and encourage the big JA to discontinue state supported university education,knowing from way back that an uneducated people can be forced to believe anything whitey say.
LikeLike
The sad thing is that this Minister of Finance cannot tell the truth even if it is as big as the sun.
This man lies when it is not even necessary to do so.
I remind you on BU that I was at a function just before the signing ceremony of the EPA soon after he became the foreign minister. Someone asked the Stinkliar if he had his speech ready ……….the liar said “no, now yet………I am going to go home, get some rest and get up about 2 and put together something”. A senior person in the Foreign Ministry looked at him and shook his head.
Now you and I know that there is no way that for something as important as this would the technocrats in the Foreign ministry leave the speech to be prepared by a novice few hours before such an important signing where all the other PM’s and Caricom officials were to be in attendance.
I knew from then that that man was never to be trusted. He is a LIAR!
LikeLike
Still waiting for the facts to support Caswell opinion ..note his Opinion guide by political hog wash
LikeLike
Prodigal Son
“I know from then that that man was never to be trusted. He is a liar”
Can you point to any politician that hasn’t stretched the truth to save face? Now I do agree that there are some politicians who are pathological liars. The late Tom Adams (God rest he soul) comes to mind. But most if not all are guilty from time to time of stretching the truth.
LikeLike
None of them were ever in the Stinkliar’s class!
LikeLike
Caswell Franklyn, seems to be ascertaining his information regarding the motives of the DLP from his ancient crystal- ball. Because I do recall when the issue regarding the tax the government was supposedly levying on sweets-drinks first surfaced on BU. Caswell Franklyn, asked the blog administer to mark his words as though he had foresaw the motives behind the tax. If he is that good at prognosticating the illegalities of the DLP, then why doesn’t he tell us the whereabouts of the burial grounds of the former slaves in Barbados? This historical treasure has yet to be discovered, and with Caswell’s paranormal ability we could quite possibly solve this long standing mystery.
LikeLike
Prodigal Son
Well, prodigal it is clear that we all view the truth from different angles of vision. And I am afraid that I will have to defer with you on that one. I thought the late Prime Minister Tom Adams (God rest he soul) took the cake.
LikeLike
A few years ago in the previous Parliament The minister of Welfare and Social care gave a report to Parliament obviously without reading it properly. The report showed clearly that more people were in poverty in 2012 than they were in Poverty in 2007.
That the poverty line had changed because of increased prices for basic food items but these peoples incomes had not changed therby capturing many more people below poverty line which went from 15 percent in 2007 to 19.7 odd percent in 2012.
He was given a lot of heat by his colleagues on the Government side for ever presenting this report to Parliament which showed their Government in a very Bad Light.
Does anyone remember this report.
It is the evidence to prove Caswell’s article.
LikeLike
Doc
“The report showed clearly that more people were in poverty 2012 than they were in poverty in 2007”
Isn’t that obvious Doc? The worldwide economic meld-down begun in 2007- 2008, so the report is actually correct.
LikeLike
Doc
I am quite sure most if not all of us have had to readjust our household- expenditure since 2007. I know I have done so.
Do you remember when the Banking, Motor and Housing industries in America hit rock bottom prior to Obama’s election?
LikeLike
Okk just like the now infamous mottelylack of certification .Caswell has attempted to forego facts to olster his outrageous opinion..could it be that the speech writers for the blp are so desperate to win the next election that they could not careless if truth is thrown out the window. The desperation scale has all but been broken leaving a trail of bitterness and doom and gloom in the blp camp.
Btw how come moodys so quiet seems like a long time not hearing from them.them too had predicted the demise if barbados in two years. Hey did the blp misfits read another good piece of news coming from the mouths of global economist about the barbados economy unlike what is being said by the blp parotts and merchants of gloom and doom
LikeLike
Seems as though the topic has been shifted to “who tells the most lies.”
As I read those contributions to BU that mentioned who “stretched the truth” more than the other person, I remembered the DLP’s 2008 election manifesto and in particular section 22 “Good Governance.”
Prior to January 2008 when the DLP formed the opposition, they raised pertinent questions (and rightfully so) regarding loans given to the GEMS project. Additionally, Thompson also expressed concerned about Hardwood Housing and suggested a forensic audit should be undertaken, while mentioning on the campaign trail that “Someone will have to pay for Hardwood.”
Thompson also, addressed the Hardwood affair in parliament. He was quoted as having said “Some measure of responsibility must be found. Anyone found guilty of any infelicities will be brought to justice”, He added “the fullest extent of the law will be brought to bear” whether the perpetrators were in “high office, low office or no office “What is left suggests that the taxpayers of this country will have to foot a huge bill”.
Low and behold, we have similar practices that were frowned upon now occurring under this administration. For example, the following excerpt was taken from page 27 of the Auditor General’s Report 2014, under the heading “Loans to Private Entities”:
“2.42 Southern Golf
A loan receivable in the amount of $2,000,000.00 was made to Southern Golf on September 25, 2009. No loan agreement was entered into by the parties and no repayments or interest were received from Southern Golf to date. Therefore, there is an increased risk of the funds not being recovered. This matter has been reported on for a number of years but no action has been taken to regularise the situation.”
“2.43 Durette & Co. Caribbean Limited
During the financial year 2009-2010 amounts totaling $950,000.00 were loaned to Durette & Co. (Caribbean) Ltd from the now defunct Public Enterprise Investment Fund. This loan has not been brought to account to date by the Treasury. This has resulted in the receivables being understated by $950,000.00 in this regard. It should also be noted that this loan is not being serviced and it is my understanding that the company is no longer in business. Investigations should be undertaken to see if this loan is recoverable or has to be written off.”
Now we have the CAHILL issue on which Lowe and Sinckler seem to be out of sync. Lowe said the project should be starting in September 2015. However, during an interview with Davis Ellis, Sinckler, who had some difficulty answering the questions leveled at him, said the project was far from commencing anytime soon.
Remember, the DEMS, while in opposition, opposed any PPP arrangement, and low(e) and behold, they seemed to have entered a PPP arrangement with CAHILL.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
The DEMS promised, if elected, such financial improprieties would be a thing of the past, since their tenure in office would be driven by transparency legislation, a combination of Freedom of Information (FOI) and Integrity Legislation, which would be enacted IMMEDIATELY upon assuming office.
It is now approaching 8 years, and no ITAL, and the status quo remains the same.
Perhaps the DLP was “stretching the truth” a bit.
LikeLike
Dimpey, really. Totally uncalled for and absolutely unnecessary. This adds nothing to the discussion. Very disappointing.
LikeLike
”ac June 29, 2015 at 11:35 AM # Still waiting for the facts to support Caswell opinion ..note his Opinion guide by political hog wash
Simple, if you are really serious. Go into town. Stop a few random strangers and ask them how things are for them and their families financially.
Have fun.
LikeLike
Dr Clyde Mascoll said at last night’s meeting that the legitimacy of Dennis Lowe’s doctorate was a hot topic when he was the leader of the Opposition raised by OSA.
He said he sought some legal help for Lowe. At that time, Lowe told them that the doctorate was in Theology and was achieved from God’s Bible College. The legal advice he got was to drop the matter. Obviously, the lawyer found out the truth.
Dr Mascoll said he is now at a loss how some twelve years later, the doctorate is now in Psychology and was awarded from the University of Cincinati.
Unbelievable!
LikeLike
http://www.caribank.org%2Fuploads%2F2012%2F12%2FBarbados-CALC-Volume-1-MainReport-FINAL-Dec-2012.pdf&ei=UbyRVauhLMnX7QaBrLSgCg&usg=AFQjCNFln6y4YVUDadSupAuIyo_Q1EG2VA&sig2=qXm4Aa_2zIm-2aepQNdupg&bvm=bv.96783405,d.ZGU&cad=rja
LikeLike
With under nine hours to go, we can safely assume that the St John Polyclinic will not be opened in June.
Wow! Aren’t we surprised! NOT!
During the Budget Debate, the sour queen said that the delay in opening the Polyclinic was very depressing for her.
My goodness, your “Majesty”, you are literally sitting on millions of dollars left behind by your “beloved” husband, since it is alleged that this money is ill gotten from the policyholders of CLICO, can’t you have a heart and donate some of this money to finish the polyclinic.
After all, a few millions cannot break you, the polyclinic would be completed, your depression will go away, your beloved husband’s name would be boldly splashed across the mausoleum and…………… just maybe some of the policyholders whose money you would be on lending would at least be able to get some healthcare for their many ailments they are suffering from as a result of the naked greed and deception of your beloved husband and Leroy Parris!
LikeLike
Douglas wrote:
“The BLP and its apologists, including Caswell Franklyn, have no moral ground or principled legitimacy to attack this administration on the issue of poverty.”
Douglas, you are correct and I agree with you 100%. The BLP has “no moral ground or principled legitimacy to attack this administration on the issue of poverty.”
With the unemployment level at 14% and rising; retrenching over 4,000 public sector employees and now in the process of instituting retirement by force; closure of a number of private sector businesses leading to people losing their jobs; increased taxation and now removing many foods from the “basket of goods” thereby making these items more expensive to the consumer, the DLP has, in 7 and a half years has definitely acquired the PATENT or COPYRIGHT to “poverty” in Barbados.
As such, the BLP definitely has “no moral ground or principled legitimacy to attack this administration on the issue of poverty.” If they sought to do so, the BEES could be sued for infringing on the owner’s rights.
LikeLike
On so many matters discussed on these pages, including above, the symptoms and exhibits of the issue have been discussed, but what is the real source of the angst and trouble for Barbados?
The SOURCE of the issue is far more troublesome and endemic. The source is that now, there are mental midgets masquerading as intellectual giants, and THAT is what is the crux of the issue.
Read Sir Henry’s letter which was enlightening. What more do you want? Only the willfully blind will not see. Reality is sometimes more than words spouted in the heat of the moment.
Guile, deceit and greed have overtaken hard work, decency and intellect, in managing the affairs, BOTH private and public of our once promising nation.
Vague contracts, excuses and innuendo have replaced truth, real transparency and accountability and have taken our Barbados into another realm.
You don’t believe nor like what I say? That is okay, the end result will vindicate the truth.
Hope you are prepared for it.
LikeLike
Fortunately for me i know this Caswell character, i do not take him seriously as he purely motivated by motive and not for any real greater good.
LikeLike
Raw Bake,
You called no names but just in case you were referring to me, let me “educate” you a little.
I didn’t say how old I am or how many elections I voted in. However, there are many valid reasons why an intelligent person would vote for the same party all her life. Firstly, a party tends to have a culture to which most members adhere. This may persist even after the death of the leaders who initiated the culture. Secondly, one may not favour the particular candidate in one’s constituency, but one may favour the leader who would be Prime Minister and therefore the ultimate authority over policy. Thirdly, one may have a preference for the majority of candidates in that particular party even though one does not favour the candidate in one’s constituency. Fourthly, in order to change one’s habit and reject the party of one’s parents a loyal daughter would have to be swayed by an irresistible display from the other party.
Now the mere fact that I have become disenchanted should speak to my intelligence and my objectivity. I haven’t been laid off or personally mistreated by the DLP and would have much to gain by maintaining my allegiance. So try not to be so hasty in your judgment and your assumptions. You will find yourself looking stupid if you do.
LikeLike
Barbados continues to have the highest Human Development Index of any Caribbean country, according to the United Nations Development Programme’s 2013 report.
Barbados is ranked 38th in the world in HDI, which examines factors including education, life expectancy and income, among others. It is also the only Caribbean country among those with “very high human development.”
Barbados’ ranking is ahead of countries such as Poland, Chile, Lithuania, the United Arab Emirates and Portugal.
The next-highest Caribbean country on the list was the Bahamas, which was ranked 49th overall, followed by Cuba, which was ranked 59th in the world.
Caswell these are called Facts which you guys find hard to swallow, ,
Some Clown told me that the BLP get there statistics from off the street.
You misfits are a bunch of lopsided egg heads
Caswell next time you open your mouth to fart just remember your stench would ran people away
Come 2018 there will be another statistics you misfits would have to deal with
LikeLike
That should read –
So try not to be hasty……or you will find yourself looking stupid AGAIN.
LikeLike
De Ingrunt Word,
I have already passed through that stage in the last election. I voted ten minutes before the poll closed. I was hoping against hope that my reservations would prove to be unwarranted. Much has happened since then. I can safely say that with the current slate of candidates for both parties, I will not be voting in the next election.
LikeLike
@Douglas “Dame Olga was a lady of impeccable integrity and could certainly be trusted. We need not say anymore !!!”
Dear Douglas: Dame Olga–God rest her kindly soul–was not an economist, she was not a statistician. Her statement is completely subjective.
Why don’t you, you DLP mouth piece quote from the data collected by the Barbados Statistical Service?
LikeLike
I read the 2014 Human Development Index (HDI) report and Barbados is listed at 59.
http://www.mr.undp.org/content/undp/en/home/librarypage/hdr/2014-human-development-report.html
I’m curious as to what would have occurred in Barbados between 2013 and 2014 that would have caused the island’s rating to move from 38 to 59, and from “very high human development” to “high human development.”
Only an idiot, scraping the bottom of the political barrel, would purposely ignore a more recent HDI report and use an old one, in an effort to score cheap political points.
As usual, they have failed!!!!
Shiite buckets.
LikeLike
There is absolutely no way
LikeLike
Say what you like misfits like Barbados is still ahead in the carribbean including some of the international countries in ranking when it comes to socio-economic and financial progress, and even when compared to some of the more wealthy countries that have more productivity and financial resources than barbados////////the opposition job to beat barbados into the ground would be definitely handed back to them many times over at the voting booth come 2018
This offensive stench of talking ugliness about this country will become a hangman noose which in due time would be placed around the opposition neck and be pulled.
Mia mottley her head would be first to go for her indifference and the reckless behaviuor she demonstrated for the past six years when talking about this tiny island whose only resources are its people and tourism and agriculture, my oh my how the high and mighty would pay an awful price for biting the hand that feed them. don;t worry it sure would happen as day turns to night
LikeLike
Economy is making a shift, forum told
The FACTS
AN INTER-AMERICAN DEVELOPMENT BANK (IDB) expert says Barbados’ economy is shifting from one that relies heavily on Government to one where growth is led by the private sector.
“Barbados’ economy is undergoing a structural transition, a shift from a significant public sector contribution to growth at above 15 per cent of GDP to a deeper private sector-led engine of growth,” Osorio said.
According to him, the bank’s new country strategy for Barbados 2015-18 aims to support this transformation by focusing on fostering private sector competitiveness, while addressing constraints to growth in key sectors of tourism, transportation and logistics, energy and coastal zone management and climate resilience.
LikeLike
The Nation newspaper continues to do Barbados a disservice. When one opens a paper looking for intellectually stimulating commentary or even objective analysis of issues you are confronted with blatant campaigning from Clyde Mascoll, Tennyson Joseph, Caswell Franklyn and others.
What I find interesting is that Caswell Franklyn stated on this blog that when he started writing in The Nation, they told him NOT to write in politics.
Well based on Caswell recent articles, we know somebody is lying – either Caswell or the Nation newspaper bosses.
Caswell, please respond.
LikeLike
Just the Facts : One BLP meeting which did not produce an earth shattering revelations has been given in the Nation newspaper:
MONDAY FRONT Page – June 29, 2015
& THREE FULL PAGES of Coverage between June 29 and June 30, 2015
& FIVE COLOUR photographs.
Just the facts:
Nation writer and Mottley supporter Tennyson Joseph repeats the OPINIONS of his fellow Nation newspaper writer Caswell Franklyn almost word for word from Sunday. That is the difference of opinion that the Nation newspaper promotes while Albert Brandford repeats almost word for word Mottley’s accusations and presents it as a Sunday column.
Are we getting news or spin when we read the NationBLP Newspaper?
LikeLike
You lot are such idiots, lacking the important attribute of comprehension skills.
When the economist stated that the Barbadian economy was making a shift, he did not mean economic growth.
He meant that economic growth was shifting from being predominantly government initiated to an environment where the private sector is now recognized as the critical driver of economic growth.
LikeLike
I see that we have the pleasure of Dopey, as usual mangling the English language with inappropriate words and strange grammar,and ac defending the indefensible.
Dopey seems hell bent on introducing the US into every discussion and ac would be funny if the situation were not so tragic.
Everything OK,Dopey and ac tell us so!
LikeLike
So who are putting the initiatives in place so that this restructing all comes together like”hand in glove
Why do you think the govt was adamant in bringing Sandals alongg to help strenthen the dying Tourism industry
Why do you think that the govt is putting millions in agriculture beginning with the redevelopment of sugar cane industry
Why do u think that the WTE plant is one of govt todate worthwhile initiatives along with the other entities that govt have invested millions and have already started to produce in the area of devolpment growth and restructuring of the economy while promoting growth.It does not take a rocket scientist to understand that when all these initiatives are running on all four cylinders combined the effect of growth to the economy would multiplied and will be multipurposed by bringing jobs and reducing govt debt and an important source for growth and wealth.pity you misfits continued to be blindsided by the politics of greed and self interest
LikeLike
any poppit would know that if 10,000 + were put on the breadline after 2008, then common sense would dictate that there is much, much more poverty than in the year 2007 and before. it is plain and simple, black and white, what evidence is this retard looking for? the evidence is there 10,000+ productive people on the bread line = more poverty than when they were employed and could contribute to the economy…STUPES
LikeLike
I made a promise not to engage you lot, because you are obviously stupid. You accuse everyone of being political, when in actuality you are the ones who put a DLP political spin on every issue.
It is clear that you do NOT UNDERSTAND what a private sector led economic growth entails. If you did, you would not have mentioned the number of government initiated projects.
Sandals benefited from a considerable number of tax exemptions, so too is the WTE plant; the “redevelopment of the sugar cane industry” and the “other entities that government have invested millions” (perhaps you list them for our benefit) as you alluded to, are all being spear headed by the government.
This is not what a private sector led economic growth is about.
You need to stop confining your reading to the propaganda the DLP spew on their web-site, which is primarily designed to mislead political yard-fowls like you.
LikeLike
And therefore what was the purpose of the concessions if not to be the driver to propel and encourage investment in the country for a return of faster growth and productivity which in turn leads to jobs the lowering of govt debt and economical and financial stability for the country long term/////the Fact is that the BLP yardfowls are still living in la la land or in a world of make belief and great pretense obstinately bogged down to oppose and bull headed with no thought or concept for having solutions//////// The govt in its first or second budget did in fact outlined these very initiatives calling them phases //////unfortunately the bees have let bitterness stand in their way and have preferred to stand side by side to pull down instead of build up/////In the meanwhile the govt have been busy going about the job of restructuring and are already closed to the completion of their second and third phases and by all statistical evedience and input from global and financial economist the govt of barbados is on the right track with signs of growth and productivity /////// if the govt did not have the foresight to encourage and implement stimulants for investment the downward slide would have continue////where the country (is at) present the financial indicators are on target and poised to show further improvement in the economy///yes lead by private sector but clearly with a vital financial helping hand by govt .
LikeLike
BTW calls are out for those who gave Mia the nod to jump over the bar to practice law to stop hiding and let their voices be known. the sanitization by Mr, Forde of Mia Mottley is not going to wash with intelligent bajans let alone yardsfowls {like myself) there are a slew of questions which needs to clarified as to who knows what when and how in allowing Mia such a privilege when other immigrants with law degrees from other countries and who had their continual education in barbados were denied full accreditation until they got there legal Certicate, there are some rotten fish in this basket of deception that needs to be thrown out and not stone or rock would be left unturned until these fish flushed out,
LikeLike
ac……….To quote you
…………..there are a slew of questions which needs to clarified as to who knows what when and how in allowing……………
David Thompson to receive such hefty fees from CLICO, how his law firm can create an invoice for $3.333 million claiming it was for legal fees, even roping in retied AG King who then confirmed he knew nothing of this supposed work he was to have done
and
“there are a slew of questions which needs to clarified as to who knows” how this same money was turn into a gratuity payment for Leroy Parris and hefty legal fees for the said dead crook.
Please tell us!
LikeLike
@ ac
very sick indeed , may your God have mercy on you in these last days
LikeLike
Well prodigal glad you asked but remember these questions would be clarified in the court .in the weeks and months ahead as LP and the judicial managers fight it out as to who knows what when and how,
meanwhile back her on home turf where one of the leading candidates by the name of MIa Mottley has indicated her desire to become PM the questions swirling around her admission via jumping over the bar has left a could of suspicions in the mind as of yardfowls let myself and voters without pertinent questions remaining unanswered . My question to you is why is is it ok for Mia to be given a passing grade on integrity knowing all about her dirty laundry past and present and LP be dragged over the coals on the integrity grid iron.
LikeLike
Good article by Dr. Joseph.
LikeLike
I think so too.
LikeLike
@ ac aka Margaret Knight
you are not a yard-fowl, you are a farmyard duck that sleep under the cellar with your head push under your wing, now the history will show that your beloved son had no integrity his whole action as a man was dirty must be the dirty farm yard, you as his mother bring he up in, by the way what about your other son that used to sit on the wall and smoke dope at the house in St. James that you used to rent ,forgot those days now you living high on the money your son THIEF , dry up and dead. he had aid help from the skin out bars he love instead of the board face
LikeLike
well you Caswell also “think” that barbados is poorer than in the 1960’s HA! HA! bring on the facts .
And you also “think” that laws against identity thief are foolish and a wasttte of people’s time and should be abolish,,,HA! HA! bring on the Facts. well a columnist your are not,, but a special breed of political yard bird, that i will give to you,
LikeLike
watchman go to sleep you are boring me.
LikeLike
how comes you not going around the CAHILL fiasco? Um too hot or you?
LikeLike
opportunity knocks
no bozie not knocking myself out ova a done deal (just for the record and also factual) ac had long been a supporter of WTE before the BLP antagonist ever heard the initials WTE. now they are so far behind in doing their homework and trying to play catch up with an investment that has been securely locked into the restructuring of the barbados economy all this hottering and hollering by the bees all adds up to WASTED ENERGY. which can be stored and aptly applied in helping mia rebuild restore and restructure her image,
LikeLike
ac aka Peter at the Pearly Gates
has the commission from the investment been locked in as well?If Cowen sells and takes off, how locked in is it?
LikeLike
Oh and a tip for you Caswell right off the presses. Always check your Facts before putting fingers to paper . it is as easy as 123 u would not like to be caught looking like a proverbial fool week after week stating opinions that are not true and trying to make them seem as Fact….yes ac/s would be reading and watching every week there would be a list of Caswell most notorious Facts. now be careful.
LikeLike
Miss Mia Mottley must NEVER EVER be allowed by the broad masses and middle classes to become Prime Minister of any government of this country.
NEVER EVER!!
For, whereas Mottley is a good lawyer, she continues to demonstrate in many of her political statements and strategies that she is substantially lacking in serious political savvy, sagacity and capacity.
For whereas Mottley continues to talk about the Cahill Affair of this very despicable disgraceful DLP government, she had the occasion – whilst being a member of those dishonourable disgusting Arthur/BLP Administrations (1994-2008) – to publicly represent the fundamental interests of the public of Barbados in respect of the prevention of a number of rotten scandals, fiascoes, and affairs that took place under those same Arthur/BLP Administrations. As history will show, she massively failed to represent the fundamental interests of the people of Barbados in respect of the following scandals, fiascoes and affairs and for which she has never publicly tendered explanations as to why there would have been countless allegations by many people of tremendous corruption, misappropriation of funds and squandermania by many of the people that have been at the centre of those scandals, fiascoes and affairs.
Here there are:
1) The Edutech scandal;
2) The Greenland Landfill fiasco;
3) The Gems and Eastry House scandal;
4) The NHC Warrens Offices complex scandal and fiasco;
5) The Grantley Adams International Airport Expansion scandal;
6) The Dodds Prisons fiasco;
7) The Ackee Tree Affair;
8) The Danos 3s ABC Highway Road widening scandal;
9) The Silver Sands Beach Facility Affair;
10) The Glebe Library, Police Station and Other public facilities Affair;
11) The Crab Hill Police Station scandal.
So whilst we cannot accuse Miss Mottley of personal involvement in the fraudulence, the deceit and dishonesty that were at the centre of those projects, Mottley’s massive political failure to help prevent such wickedness and huge failure to represent the fundamental interest of the people of this country at the times of the surfacing and prolonging of those still unanswered allegations make her morally and politically unfit to be prime minister of the government of this country.
LikeLike