What is the DLP doing with its bevy of lawyers who are members?
What is the DLP doing with its army of lawyers in the ranks?
David Blogmaster
I might pose in a similar rhetorical manner, “What are the GoB lawyers doing re the ICBL affair”?
BU Commenter – NorthernObserver
While the actionable answer is nothing, they are all vested members of the Club. It is against Club rules to bring any such action, though speaking out is permitted once an election has been called. The Senator, given his refusal to enter the electable fray, is not a full member. He has visitor privilege. It is understood any form of negative or challenging objection is good for the Club, it gives non-members the distinct impression there are opposing forces within the Club.
The two questions posted by the blogmaster to Prime Minister, Caswell is no Lawyer but … submission were in response to a commenter who lauded Senator Caswell Franklyn for taking the government to court by challenging the legality of the Emergency Management (Amendment) Act 2020. NorthernObserver (another commenter) chimed in to remind readers there is a way business is done by the Club in Barbados sometimes referred to as the political class.
The blogmaster extends best wishes to Senator Caswell Franklyn who has been the most strident dissenting voice in Barbados in recent years. It shows what is possible if the objective of citizens is to unswervingly and selflessly serve the public. What cannot be refuted: Senator Franklyn has single-handedly eclipsed the meek voices of traditional political parties including the Democratic Labour Party (DLP). The irony, he has expressed no interest in formally presenting himself to the Lower House.
In a post-2018 general election period a relevant dissenting voice is critical to safeguard the interest of the people in the type of democracy practiced. Long before the Mia Mottley led Barbados Labour Party won the 2018 general election 30 zip, there was heightened concern expressed in this space and elsewhere the suffocating influence the Club; duopoly, political class has been exerting on the social and economic landscape of Barbados. We need more citizens of Caswell’s ilk to commit to public service. For our democracy to be fit for purpose this blogmaster posits it the inherent responsibility of enlightened citizens to fully participate.
It has not gone unnoticed former minister in the last Cabinet Michael Lashley has busied himself with earning fees challenging the legitimacy of the Minister of Health under the Emergency Management Act being named as the informant in charges brought by the Covid Unit. This is also laudable but with a caveat. A big contributor to the sloth and inefficiency how justice is dispensed and business facilitation is organized in Barbados can be tracked to the legal profession. The legal profession given its heavy involvement in the administration of government and wider society must be forced to reinvent itself in the interest of the people and country.
Some will regard Senator Franklyn’s legal challenge as nettlesome. Some will say it is necessary to ensure process to support the model of democracy practised is respected and protected.
Democracy’s a very fragile thing. You have to take care of democracy. As soon as you stop being responsible to it and allow it to turn into scare tactics, it’s no longer democracy, is it? It’s something else. It may be an inch away from totalitarianism.
Sam Shepherd
“NorthernObserver (another commenter) chimed in to remind readers there is a way business is done by the Club in Barbados sometimes referred to as the political class.”
yes there is, PURE CORRUPTION…re ICBL brouhaha….Donville told the court in US how they do it and it’s no biggie,THEY ALL DO IT….and see NOTHING WRONG WITH IT…although most of the salary sucking laggers in the parliament are LAWYERS…
” Long before the Mia Mottley led Barbados Labour Party won the 2018 general election 30 zip,”
this is they type of IDIOCY that has to be changed from “won an election” to HIRED BY THE BLACK POPULATION TO DO A JOB…AS PUBLIC SERVANTS…then they would stop with the low class belief that they won an election, suddenly got pedigree (dog food) are now in the same class as the racist, oppressing, tiefing minorities and can destroy Black lives because they’ve arrived.
‘A big contributor to the sloth and inefficiency how justice is dispensed and business facilitation is organized in Barbados can be tracked to the legal profession. ”
i typed before i read this part, but said in a nicer way, means the same thing…but don’t worry, they are on full display, everyone is waiting for the blow-by-blow coming from the corrupt supreme court…..they can’t pull it back or stop it, unless they do the right thing and we already know, they never do, it’s against their sellout, traitor nature.
@ David BU
The reference to Michael Lashley reminded me of something I as thinking about for a while.
I’m curious to know whether or not ‘legal ethics’ enter into the question relative to him representing PSV operators who broke the laws that were enacted when he was transport minister?
@Artax
That thought also entered the mind of the blogmaster. He was quick to exploit the loophole after being booted from office. You are most certainly aware that the Transport Authority has stumbled out of the blocks after promising so much by Ian Estwick.
I agree. The Transport Authority ‘has lost its way.’
@Artax
A keen follower of local affairs you must have noted Caswellâs lawyer?
@ Artax
Its a case of damned if you do and damned if you don’t. Apparently, the general opinion ,is that once you lose your seat or “power” ,one must spend the rest of their days neglecting themselves , their family and profession, in order to prove some point. I don’t subscribe to that line of thinking , once they are honestly earning a living.
The only question here is whether their clients, be they doctors, lawyers or accountants, find them capable of working on their behalf.
The only voice that matters in our democracy is the one that shouts by hands and that is the X every five years.. This constant political beating up on the DLP, is essentially non-productive. In our system, the Opposition , especially one slaughtered at the polls, has little or no voice in decisions made. It’s a simple fact. There is really no need for any opposition to pretend it can run a country especially one that has no seats in Parliament.
In our system, any two thirds majority virtually means a parliamentary dictatorship and that is why Caswell is heading to the courts. It is an adversarial system, not based on the common good. Quite frankly, the powers that be are usually outside of Parliament. Note how the business sector has forced Mottley to relax the needed restrictions re: COVID. Note how Gordon Seale has threatened to close his two hotels, if the tourists are kept out. What on earth any opposition can do about that in our system? And I don’t care if its a BEE or Dee Opposition. Don’t you realize who is running the country? I go further and suggest, that our Parliamentarians both government and opposition, are nothing more than sophisticated paling cocks.
Simple as that. like it or lump it.
For those who don’t know the African Diaspora/Caribbean etc is officially Africa’s 6th region. Get acquainted.
“The African Union (…) decides to recognize the African Diaspora as an effective entity contributing to economic and social development of the continent. Dr. Louis-Georges Tin”
“why Caswell is heading to the courts. It is an adversarial system, not based on the common good..”
it’s a TOXIC DEMEANING TO AFRICANS ..COLONIAL SLAVE SYSTEM..it was DESIGNED to destroy our ANCESTORS and US BY EXTENTION. it’s to be IMMEDIATELY ABANDONED…..WALK AWAY FROM IT…
@ WURA
We have been invaded by an army of apologists. They are basically apologizing for the system and do not want to call it for what it is. It’s one big comedy and they are happy with an extra kadooment: crop over festival, every five years. They pretend they see the cracks but they believe by pseudo argument and becoming self appointed editors they are proving some point.
Keep up the outstanding work.
William…Caswell, yourself and some others are the PERFECT PEOPLE to PAY ATTENTION to this…
Did any of the sellout negros in any of the blighted and cursed colonial Slave parliaments acoss the region ever mention any of this from 2003……that’s 18 YEARS…..yall should ask them why they HID THE INFORMATION….then CONTACT THE PEOPLE YASELVES….then ya will understand how dangerous Slaves and sellout negros are…it will also explain why minorities got an instant SCAM and trying to reel Black/African people in….STAY CLEAR OF ALL OF THEM, they are in their DEATH THROES….misery LOVES COMPANY…
“The State of the African Diaspora
The political, economic and cultural importance of this Diaspora is increasingly recognized. It contributes greatly to the development of Africa. That is why the African Union wanted the Diaspora officially part of its proceedings. In 2003, at the end of the AU Summit, the Heads of State declared (14 (XVIII) add.3): “The African Union (…) decides to recognize the African diaspora as a effective entity contributing to the economic and social development of the continent. But so far, the diaspora had no institutional reality.
In December 2014, Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz, President-in-Office of the African Union, gave a mandate to Louis-Georges Tin, president of CRAN, to “give body” to the 6th Region, and to make the diaspora de facto a structure de jure.
Prime Minister: Dr. Louis George Tin – Honorary President of CRAN
In 2018, Louis-Georges Tin presented to the African Union bodies the results of his mission: a Constitution, a Government and development projects.
These elements were validated by President Aziz, and the State of the African Diaspora was formalized at the AU Summit in Mauritania on July 1, 2018.
The Institutions of the State of the African Diaspora
The State of the African Diaspora is composed of several institutions.
The first is the State Government of the African Diaspora, led by the Prime Minister, His Excellency Dr. Louis-Georges Tin. This Government was presented at the African Union Summit in July 2018. The first Council of Ministers and inauguration was held in Abidjan in November 2018.
The second institution is the Parliament. It will notably represent the regions of the diaspora.
Our Objectives
The goal of Africans in the Diaspora has always been to return to Africa, or at least to cultivate relationships with the land of their ancestors. It is an old Pan-African dream that is taking shape.
Beyond this reunion, it is also and above all to strengthen Africa by the diaspora, and the diaspora by Africa. This diaspora constitutes a considerable political, economic and cultural power, but this power remains insufficient because it is by definition dispersed. By establishing the necessary connections between the Diaspora and the continent, we will create unity, and therefore strength.
States are often born of war, conflict or division, such as South Sudan, Croatia, Pakistan, or the United States. The state of the African Diaspora is born contrary to a desire for peace, unity and development. The birth of a state is a rare event. A fortiori, the birth of a state of a new kind, a modern state, diasporic, consistent with the logic of the 21st century, the logic of networks.
In a strengthened Africa, youth will no longer feel condemned to exile, exposing themselves to the greatest dangers. This is why the Diaspora must serve Africa, with energy and modesty at the same time. We humbly recognize that we need each other, and we will work for the general good.
Our initial projects are:
Heritage: the Restitution of Colonial Treasures
Defence: International Brigades of the African Diaspora
Territory: Land Policy
Finance: The African Diaspora Bank
Employment: International Agency for Internships
Food: The Food Bank of the Diaspora
Agriculture: Investment Funds for “Country Products”
Education: The Digital University for Africa
Health: Telemedecine for Africa
Transport: The African Diaspora Airlines
New Technologies: Silicon Valley in Africa
Biotechnology: The Pan African Genetic Bank
Space: The Pan-African Satellite
Citizenship: Identity Cards and Passports
Racism: The International Observatory on Afrophobia
Memory: The Digital Slave Route
Sports: Pan-African Games
William..this represents and UNDERSCORES THE DANGER that the fraudulent pseudo-pan africanists in the Caribbean have become…
are you surprised that the likes of Comissiong NEVER ONCE put out a newsletter to inform the Black populations across the region about any of this, although KNOWING FOR NEARLY 2 DECADES what was about to happen.
…they prefere to TRAP Black/African people and their successive generations in COLONIAL SLAVE SOCIETIES in the Caribbean and colluded to use 50 BILLION DOLLARS of our enslaved ancestors reparations money to DO JUST THAT…..luckily for us, our ancestors ARE STILL HERE…
out of this an AFRICAN DIASPORA BANK HAS EMERGED IN ANTIGUA….
pay attention.
Remember the old adage, the sellouts in the parliament should…when digging a grave for someone, always DIG TWO….cause ya never know who is digging a grave….FOR YOU….TOO
@William
Will say this to you in brief.
There is a reason why many of our regional institutions are labouring. It is systematic. We know you are mind is made up so …
Why would the legal community “reinvent itself” when it benefits tremendously from the status quo.
Words that sound nice but mean jack all in terms of action. More long talk
The legal fraternity will not reinvent on its own but if citizens agitate and advocate in a structured way who knows what is possible. One has to talk about what is required the prerequisite to the action plan and catalyst.
The lawyer who represented the Cabinet ministers who refused to appear before the PAC?🤣🤣
@ WARU
You must remember they like to run cliques. In this way they get to travel around free of cost. Unless you submit to their inner circle, they tend to keep what they think are “ goodies “ for themselves.
For example,they got together and declared that the Pan Africanist movement was endorsing Mottley. They were then getting appointed to Boards and so on on the pretense that they were going there to represent the “ working class “. They got their goodies from Mottley and the rest as they say is history. Just the other day, they were contemplating reactivating some Union to usurp Caswell’s efforts but they did not have the guts to try it.
All those NASTY SELLOUT DOINGS is why they are NOW EXPOSED FOR THE FRAUDS AND SELLOUTS we all always knew they are…
Now that everyone knows they attempted to SABOTAGE BLACK BAJANS FUTURE by HIDING INFORMATION about the African Diaspora’s 6th Region and all the opportunities Black people and their successive generations ARE ENTITLED TO AS AFRICANS……the people know what to do…
Do you seriously think I arrived at this conclusion overnight? Don’t you understand that since the 60s, there have been efforts to fight neo- colonialism in the region?
Why can’t you accept that neither Mottley nor Depeiza wants to change anything?
We will never achieve any radical or transformative changes via the current group anywhere in the region.
Can you honestly recognize Ralph Gonzales.?
Why do you think an article about Harry and his wife attracts 400 hits on BU but one about CARICOM can’t garner fifty?
Don’t you realise on BU less than ten people believe in a new Caribbean Nation?
I understand your position (s) but you need to pay more attention to @ WURA .I have not given up neither am I defeated but Sometimes we need to accept that this system is now feeding on itself because we are still mentally enslaved. Time to change the diet. And I ain’t want no food from Mottley and or Depeiza. Too much diarrhea my Brother.
Don’t be distracted by the bullshit reparations talk coming from political frauds….keep ya eyes cast to the east…Africa had to be told about what they did…..talking shite about reparations but REFUSE TO DIVULGE to the people, the African Union and the Diaspora’s 6th region and the plans i’ve known about SINCE LAST YEAR..and what they’ve DEVELOPED for GLOBAL AFRICANS in the Diapora….
ya small island governments will destroy Black/Africans if yall allow it…they believe everything is about them and what they could get for THEMSELVES ONLY…..TIEF everything from you and your descendants and leave yall as SLAVES…at everyone’s MERCY…
but am sure the nigas told the TIEFING RACIST minorities about this, that is why they started to act up….but the fcukers better ACT DOWN.
https://magneticmediatv.com/2020/10/six-trillion-usd-in-new-digital-lumi-to-be-dispersed-for-african-development-says-eco-6-and-soad/
“The LUMI
Underwritten completely by solar energy and convertible into gold, the LUMI is now listed amongst the most valuable currencies in the world.
The Island of Xaymaca (Jamaica) is known for people who achieve superlatives: the greatest athlete in the world Usain Bolt, the most celebrated singer in the world Bob Marley, the great and historically most omnipotent royal throne of Queen Nanny of the Maroons, and the prolific pan-Africanist Marcus Garvey. So it should be no surprise that the strongest and most innovative currency in the world now comes from the Central Solar Reserve Bank of Accompong situated in the sovereign Maroon territories on the Island of Xaymaca.
In 2018 the Maroon territories were designated as the official siege for the African Diaspora Sixth Region, representing more than 240 million people of African descent outside of the continent.
The framework for the LUMI was established within the Bank Act of Accompng in 2014, and in September of 2020 the LUMI was designated as the official currency for the Economic Community of the African Diaspora Sixth Region (ECO-6), establishing it as the first African regional currency to be issued. The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) is expected to issue its regional currency, the ECO, at the end of 2020.
The LUMI will facilitate a new era of economic growth and cooperation between continental Africa and the Sixth Region. As the global African family enters the 4th industrial digital revolution, the RESET, the LUMI will be used to finance sustainable African industrialization and ensure that African resources are used to advance the economic interests of Africans on the continent and in the Sixth Region.
CHIEF SEMAKO THE FIRST
(H.H. Chief Timothy E. McPherson)
Chairman & Crown Vizier -Economic Community of the Sixth Region
Accompong Minister of Finance & Founding Central Bank Governor”
@ William
You are right about the number of people rushing to express their views about the young Royal couple. Like6 most BU discussions, some are attacking alleged Royal racism,and others are attacking the couple.
I have asked what they have done to deserve this level of Bajan attack, so far I have had that they are Royals, that they are wealthy, that they do not deserve any public sympathy.
In fact, I have been accused of ‘defending’ the couple, as if I had been, or as if there was a reason to defend them.
Yet, on a blog that is meant to be about progress and the development of Barbados (my definition), or certainly about Barbadian issues, I have asked three or four times if we are going to discuss Dr Ronnie Yearwood’s Barrow Memorial lecture. So far no takers, apart from one person asking me to start the discussion.
I have asked if after one year in to the pandemic if there will be any analyses of how CoVid has impacted the Barbados economy, and moreso the wider society.
One clever contributor came on and said that such analyses have been written; when asked when and by whom, he implied they were private and not for public view.
The same contributor also made the bold claim that in British and Commonwealth universities Logic is compulsory for all social science undergraduates. This was clearly relevant.
I am sure he has the evidence, but so far he is not revealing any evidence. There are over 100 degree-granting institutions in the UK, so he has obviously gathered all that information.
@ William, I will end on this. The president, in her latest address to the nation, spoke for 32 minutes, without waving her hands, which I referred to, and one man out of the US described it as a back-handed compliment. Why he has is beyond me. The last speech she gave was about 62 minutes.
Everything said about the president is seen as a personal attack. So, by definition, if we try to talk about post-CoVid policy, and the gridlock the government is caught in, we are seen as unpatriotic or not Bajan.
I do not know about you, but call me unpatriotic or even a non-Bajan, I would not lose a minute’s sleep.
Ah hope yall NOTICED that it’s time to ABANDON the colonial SLAVE system and all who is EMBEDDED IN IT….unless ya want to GO DOWN WITH THEM….
ah don’t know none ah dem….they on deh own…
All those are fake universities, what ya whining about now…
at least comment on the frauds SURROUNDING….
… and all around us, including in your neck of the woods..
William…ah want to see them EXPLAIN THEIR WAY outta that…this is NOT the big red bag of evidence of DLP corruption, this ENVOLVES GENERATIONS of our children and grandchildren, don’t know about yall but that would send me batshit crazy….and they are already SINKING IN QUICKSAND…
@ Hal
We are just going around in circles. The government’s post COVID policy is the same as pre- COVID. We are going to ensure that most if not all the eggs go back in tourism basket; there will be no funding for new ideas from dynamic small black entrepreneurs; expatriates and the local elites will be invited to build more gated communities; and the labour movement will be further weakened.
Let’s face it; The Mottley administration is literally guaranteed another five years and this could easily turn into 15/20.
A lot of opportunist will have field days.There is time for them to become multi millionaires.
On the other hand, the DLP will languish for a while. They will eventually get
their chance again and we will be still here .
Your hypocrisy is unparalleled!
What do you expect from lawyers who work for a measly 100-250 USD per hour? Some commentators on BU wouldn’t even get up in the morning because these hourly rates are as low as those of prostitutes and hairdressers. Quality counselling is not available for less than 500 USD per hour, better 1000 USD per hour.
Some may have, but I have never called anyone as unpatriotic or non-Bajan.
So you can wrap yourself in the flag, and cry a few tears at your pity party. Not joining us.
“We will go to the meeting [on Monday] and we will treat to the principal issues that we hoped to treat to yesterday which relate to outstanding pay and a number of other issues that have been before the Minister of Labour,” Moore said.
About 40 workers had walked off the job yesterday afternoon following the suspension of the eight shop stewards.”
wannabe slavemasters in this day and age….the world has to be warned about them so they don’t pull any dirty tricks to get workers on the island only to treat them like slaves.
@William Skinner March 12, 2021 4:29 PM
Entrepreneurs don’t need money thrown at them to start their business with a yoke around their necks to choke them when they badly manage the business.
Our biggest problem is that we keep electing people with no vision and zero experience most of the time to make decisions for us. Then we treat them like they know what they doing and have a plaster for every sore. No wonder we always end up waiting and begging for handouts and favors like a school child waiting for his bus fare and lunch money to make it through the day.
Instead of electing parents to tell us what to do, we need to be electing people to only fix the laws and regulations so people can do their own thing with no support or red tape from government.
One of the late PM Arthur biggest mistakes was his one university graduate in every household goal. It should have been a one trained entrepreneur per household goal instead.
When I say trained entrepreneur I mean an entrepreneur familiar with the basic requirements to properly run a business i.e. bookkeeping, statutory requirements, basic HR practises and other simple things they must know to have a better chance to get the venture off the ground and organically grow it when it reaches that stage.
Entrepreneurship has always been the only way for any country and its people to truly succeed.
Two cheeks of the same backside!
We should not even try to get a “six-pance” between them.
We of course refer to the deadendedness of Caribbean civilization and the Meghan Markle imbroglio.
Critical thinking requires us to synthesize these two and even more variables at the same time.
Would be very surprised if the court agrees with Franklyn
Given the court numerous rulings in favour of govt Covid policies
The court on many occasions has shown that it can be disruptive of the rule of law
Can’t forget the times when the CCJ has giving a dressing down to our judicial system in the ways and manner for failures to address cases in a timely fashion
Barbadians have a laid-back attitude to matters of importance that address their civil rights but rather brow nose in the affairs of those things that does not concern or give relevance to their livelihood
The underlying maladies of the Caribbean are only different to what is currently happening in Yemen or Syria by degree.
Indeed the cultural failures coning to the fore may even see these very outcomes, as difficult as it is for most to envision from such a safe distance.
For the Caribbean has never shown any inclination to avoid the constellation of forces heading our way. The decadence of White peoples’ systems.
Blog master David a good news reporter /journalist who is worth his weight in salt asked questions and refere to political dictatorates to ask those questions to seek answers from those in charge and not a lowly soul looking from the outside like myself
Verla should be the one questioned instead of u seeking to attack the party
A party that have no means of communicating on court issues between govt and citizens unless have or given first hand information by parties involved
Btw not every lawyer is proficient in Constitutional law
Just maybe those lawyers associated with Dlp are not
By the same token Mia is surrounded by lawyers yet not one of them seem to have the guts to tell her or direct her in a corrective manner in avoidance to situations like these which causes embarrassment to govt
Hope I have answered your silly question
@ Pacha
What do you mean by the deadendedness of Caribbean civilization?
“For the Caribbean has never shown any inclination to avoid the constellation of forces heading our way. The decadence of White peoples’ systems.”
i have never recognized any of these wishy washy slave parliaments and their contents of human detritus..
.. now i know why and recognize them EVEN LESS NOW…the set up has always felt to me as it does to many now…ALL FRAUD…and no well meaning, empowerment or upliftment for the Black/African population as a collective especially coming from slave title holders with their fake degrees that translates to NOTHING USEFUL to help the Black family.
happy to see that many are beginnning to see what i saw as a child…now they can warn future generations not to allow any of this to ever happen again…and NEVER TRUST A BLACK FACE POLITICIAN…
Must Hal Austin be a fraud on every blog???? I said you were defending the couple. So was I – from undeserved attack. Then you said you were enjoying John winding us up. John was the chief of the attackers. Your partner Angela Cox was the lesser. You corrected her, a rare occurrence, but you did. Then you stood back while John called Meghan “witch, social climber, soiled goods, a millstone Harry should get rid off” and all sorts of words that mean idiot. In fact, you did not only stand back, you encouraged him.
This is how you operate. You like Baje and John because they attack those who attack you. Baje at least is genuine in what he says but John is only happy to use you against us. He has no respect for you really.
I leave it to Artax to find your contradictions and post them.
You do not know if you are fish or fowl. One mixed up, miserable old bore!
But thanks for reminding me that I am only halfway through Ronnie Yearwood’s lecture!
@ Critical
The one graduate per household idea came from Hillary Beckles, as part of his empire building. But he has never said a graduate in what? Lawyers? Economists? Hillary gets away with murder (metaphorically speaking).
Donna @ Hal
Your partner Angela Cox was the lesser. You corrected her, a rare occurrence, but you did.
xxxxxxxxxx
Pray tell what did Hal correct me “on”
@ Angela
Do not let people bait you. Or, as we use to say when I was a little boy, don’t let others make bullets for you to fire.
Who posted the following?
One more example but there are others.
DavidMarch 13, 2021 5:43 AM
One more example but there are others.
@Angela
You are wrong. She is a wife, not a politician. It is becoming silly. Next you will be saying she should march with Black Lives Mater, or drink a rum and coke with the boys on the block.
I am out of this discussion. It is getting silly.
Xxxxxxxxxx c
Listen there are so many ways in which I could have responded but chose not
However. this I say that a response which does not agree with another individual does not or is not sufficient of a proof that the individual is wrong
But this I say Hal is a person whose opinion I respect far more than those who attacks him
David also I sensed that many here would have liked to see a verbal fight between Hal and myself but all who was looking forward to such I can say they were wrong another reason I let Hal comments to my response go uncontested
I also sensed that many of Hal’s attackers are jealous of his world wide knowledge his views and opinions
Have a happy pudding and souse day until Mia says differently
What we prefer is honesty above lies and hypocrisy. Have the last word.
angela cox March 12, 2021 7:29 PM #: “Would be very surprised if the court agrees with Franklyn. Given the court numerous rulings in favour of govt Covid policies.”
Yuh know, you are misleading BU.
Besides Franklyn, no one has brought a case before the Court challenging the COVID-19 Emergency Management (Amendment) Act 2020. That case is yet to be heard, therefore, a ruling in favour of the Act has not been made. So, it is erroneous for you to write, “Given the court numerous rulings in favour of govt Covid policies.”
However, I believe you meant the cases involving those persons who were charged and brought before the Court for breaching the COVID-19 laws. In that situation, with those persons who were found guilty, the Court could only rule in accordance with the law.
“I also sensed that many of Hal’s attackers are jealous of his world wide knowledge his views and opinions.”
https://media.tenor.com/images/b056d7d835ff43ee381a6efbbf1f14db/tenor.gif
First fowl flying off the fence
Wuhloss muh belly
The name Hal brings out the best in idiots
@ Angela
It is the gotcha culture of BU. They cannot accept that two people can disagree on an issue and remain on courteous terms.
Nor do they have the discipline to ask for explanations if they do not understand. It is easier and more satisfying to them to shout gotcha.
The chairman talks about lies and hypocrisy, but he never points out who is lying, what lies they have told, and what is hypocrisy.
As to your kind words about my world view, I am just an old bore, lonely and in need of company. Some one even claimed I had a blog. If they have nothing to say they make it up.
By the way, don’t let them drag you in to rows. I do not advise, but I would suggest you pick your fights. Cross over when you see them coming.
So many issues to debate in a country suffering from a chronic bajan condition. Instead what do we get? Trivial conversations directed at people and not issues.
“Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.”
This blog will be closed as well if the nothingness continues.
David March 13, 2021 6:05 AM
What we prefer is honesty above lies and hypocrisy. Have the last word
Xxxccccvvvvv
David did u make that comment with a straight face
Wuhloss i just fell off my chair deading with laughter
Not that is a comment that needs a n injection of truth
Source: Barbados Advocate
Hal i could sense very clearly that the BU engineers of malicious tidbits were awaiting a response that would have dragged us into a verbal fight
They are some here who have a gladiator mentality and would have gladly like to see a parting of the wsys between us
They were wrong and indeed i get to have the last word as David said i should have
Licking my chops and laughing at BU instigators of determining in their loosely fitted brain what is right or what is wrong
Btw it serms as if a class action suit would be pelted in the rear end of govt as more business owners attached themselves to the one ongoing lawsuit
Mia is a lawyer or what?
It seems as if her LEC has served her no formal purpose on those things legals
But then again privilege counts lol
“Wuhloss muh belly…..The name Hal brings out the best in idiots.”
@ Angela
Their behaviour is predictable. They could not change in a month of Sundays. Note how there is no discussion on Caswell’s challenge to the emergency legislation; note how there is no discussion on the post-CoVid impact on the economy and wider society; note how there is no discussion on Ronnie Yearwood’s Barrow lecture.
The problem is that ideas are a bigger challenge, ranting, swearing and aggressive, confrontational street fighting is more their style. Note even the language they use.
Recently someone referred to me as ‘hating’ something. Now ‘hate’ is a word I have not used in years, unless quoting or referencing something or someone. More important, it is not a regular part of British conversation.
In particular, there are hate crimes in the UK. So to hate someone is a prima facie offence.
Some contributions and contributors on BU eh. A lotta one-track, outdated, unrealistic, anecdotal evidence-based ideas to transform Bdos ovrrnight are promulgated by the hour. Just form a party and run.🤭🤭
The Senators excersise of taking the government to court is destined for FAILURE. I agree with his rational, however in a MAGABE UNDISCIPLINED STATE the judicial system is but another arm of the government to administer their doctrine. Shall I give a couple examples Venezuela, Chilie……..
Hal expecting those issues to be fully ventilated on BU is like looking for a needke in a hay stack
BU is the official website for all things positive towards the govt
Anything else offered would not see the light of day enough to generate meaningful response
The measuring stick usefulness now resorts itself to attacks on those who dare crticize govt policies
I listened to Ronnie Yearwood lecture his comments were well laid out and forward thinking
A person who has a lot to offer his country in ways which can move the political needle forward in a positive manner
However my thinking is that the movers and shakers of barbados would move the hell and sky before Ronnie would be given any measure of appreciation
What is NOT destined for FAILURE is what black SELLOUTS and RACISTS CAN’T CONTROL…
“However my thinking is that the movers and shakers of barbados would move the hell and sky before Ronnie would be given any measure of appreciation.”
Yet he was a candidate for the BLP St.James South nomination and loss 47-81. Then again the current DLP leader got 5 out of 100 votes but still “won” the nomination. I could only laugh at people who behave like Ronnie just land. The ideas he laid out in his lecture were not new either, but some of us have a tendency to only see and hear what we want.
@enuff
The flipside is that there is no shortage of ideas, white and green papers etc to move Barbados forward. What continues to be the hurdle?
Execution and implementation deficit.
Lack of ease of doing business.
Have you noticed with 3 ministers overseeing the licensing authority and BRA, they are unable to issue people with stickers covid 19 notwithstanding?
Why shut down that department 100%. Let them work shift!
Taking some control, David! Good! The blog is becoming unbearable! Outright provable lies, hypocrisy and trolling. LITERALLY AD NAUSEUM!
Sickening!
Already I feel the need for some uplifting music.
The emotion of hatred is not a crime in any jurisdiction. Hate crimes are ACTIONS.
I am just an observer, au contraire to what the nuisances polluting the blog daily with nonsense and plain lies claim, but there’s change happening in relation to the ease of doing business. We all wish it was at a faster pace but considering we’ve been basically shut for a year, it is a bit harsh to come down hard on stickers etc. New processes need time to work out the kinks, whether in a “failed state” or one of the utopian metropoles (if you take the BU rabble seriously). The national ID card may very well be the lynchpin in the government’s move to digitisation and digitisation. Yet, the same folks calling for new ideas are in the press engaging in sophistry about an optional fingerprint-capable ID card.
@Enuff
Let us accept Covid 19 is having a destabilizing impact never imagined. There is no excuse for there to be a crystal clear communication/PR targeting the public to set expectations.
Snuff
Yet he was a candidate for the BLP St.James South nomination and loss 47-81.
xxxxxxxc
Are u attaching my words to blp having movers and shakers within the party
Well if so they can do as they dam please such as to provide when it dam well fits there purposes
Which bodes well to my earlier comment in reference to Ronnie losing his seat
His presence within the blp might have done more to upset the apple cart which the movers and shakers would not have liked
Go figure
RE Let us accept Covid 19 is having a destabilizing impact never imagined
WHY? IS IT NOT TO BE EXPEXTED THUS? IS IT NOT EXPECTED THAT THE BIRTHPANG SIGNS PREDICTED IN THE OLIVET DISCOURSE IN MATHEW 24:4-7 SHOULD COME TO PASS AND GET WORSE
NOW STEUPSE AND SCOFF AND MOCK BUT SINCE 1981 WITH AIDS AND 202O WITH COVID HOW MANY PLAGUES HAVE THERE BEEN.. AND HAS THERE NOT BEEN AN INCREASE IN GLOBAL WARNING, MOST LIKELY DUE TO AN INCREASING AN INCREASING EARTHQUAKES AND ACTIVITY IN THE WORLDS VARIOUS FUMAROLES.
LET ME STEUPSE FOR YOU …….BEFORE THE PILE ON STARTS
Caswell is doing a good job. Somebody needs to keep the government in check. Whether he wins or not the signal has been sent that somebody is watching.
Another troubling thing I recently heard. The police and the COVID monitors are stopping people at random, outside of curfew hours and asking them where they are going. I think this is an over-reach and if it happens to me I will tell them to follow me and see. I cannot accept that level of intrusion into my business. My position is that if you catch me breaking the law you can deal with me but you cannot suspect me for no reason. So if I am on my way to the hairdresser that is my business. When I get there it is their business. Until Monday, that is. I understand that it had a whole lotta people frightened.
That is not good.
Crystal clear in the midst of uncertainty? Show me this crystal clear strategy anywhere in the world. I read recently that the UK Chancellor initially earmarked £30b to protect the economy from covid, total spend is now north of £400b. The Estimates start next week and will be on CBC, youtube, facebook etc. How many gine tune in? Instead you’ll hear the bill is being hidden, as if the Bill and the fat estimates book weren’t two docs for aaages. No surprise the Senator feels embolden to file court papers while the gallery cheers; because not having to go Parliament for permission everytime there is a need to take urgent action on covid is dictatorial, not plain common sense and efficient. There’s an interesting article in today’s BT about constitutional rights and protection of public health. What is the intent of the Emergency Management (Amendment) Act, 2020?🤭
@enuff
The reference to crystal clear was the lack of communication.
Lack of what? Do explain.
@enuff
You have missed public comment on the radio, social and traditional media and elsewhere about what is the status of driving without up to date stickers? Has the police issued a statement about what is expected given the COVID-19 challenge?
#etc
@ Enuff March 13, 2021 2:25 PM
“ No surprise the Senator feels embolden to file court papers while the gallery cheers; because not having to go Parliament for permission everytime there is a need to take urgent action on covid is dictatorial, not plain common sense and efficient. There’s an interesting article in today’s BT about constitutional rights and protection of public health. What is the intent of the Emergency Management (Amendment) Act, 2020?”
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
You went down this ‘anti-Caswell’ road only to find yourself in a cul-de-sac of blind ignorance and legal stupidity regarding the lawful vs. unlawful action of appointing an additional DCoP without the necessary Parliamentary due process.
In the final analysis, even the AG left you hanging high and dry to wallow in your dung pile of stupidity and shame.
Instead of the Law, please don’t make yourself look like a right royal red jackass, again!
Caswell can take his matter to court. The courts will decide.
Somebody has to keep an eye on a 30:0 government.
Has anybody else heard about police and covid monitors stopping people at random outside of curfew hours and asking them where they are going?
This is also very troubling. Once it is between 6.00 a.m. and 7.00 p.m. that should not be allowed.
This is an example of why the restrictions must be scrutinised and in some instances challenged. People with power often get out of control.
I say go Caswell!
Okay.
Miller
🚫⛔❌
“No surprise the Senator feels embolden to file court papers while the gallery cheers”
And why not? When DC attacked the Hyatt, the same gallery (opposers) cheered. It’s like after dinner entertainment at a conference. The stars of the show build their brand. Those in powah need to lose every now and then, it confirms to all the system is still functioning. They cannot do as they please. The minions will pat themselves on the back ‘the peeple have power and must be respected’.
I think you need an update on Yugge, that thread is back in the top 5 again.
The word I would use to describe BU poster’s motives is contempt
you may as well not read other people’s crap and just post your own
And there’s a, and there’s a
And there’s a, and there’s a fine, line
Too late to pray that I’m on it
Ya yeah yeah
Y’all, uh huh, y’all
There’s a fine line between love and hate you see
Came way too late but baby I’m on it
And there’s a fine line between love and hate you see
Can’t wait too late but baby I’m on it
Can’t worry bout, what a nigga think now see
That’s Liberation and baby I want it
Can’t worry bout, what another nigga think
Now that’s Liberation and baby I want it
Liberation
A recipe for corruption. People on contracts will try, rightly, to secure their futures by working with the private sector.
This cooperation will include passing information on to them, as some senior civil servants already do. Civil servants need a clear and meritocratic career path, with proper training, not party-influenced so-called contracts.
Barbados is in the middle of the worst cisis ever. Mia Mottley and her team working day and night to vaccinate and to test people.
And what is the outspoken senator doing? Yes. Trying to sabotage our fight against Corona on the basis of some petty legal details.
We need a new law to block any abuse of the judicial system for selfish political reasons.
Anyway, it was a big mistake to appoint the outspoken as senator.
Hal AustinMarch 14, 2021 6:19 AM
I agree. This sounds like a recommendation from one of their ‘consultants’. The other thing is that it will potentially weaken the civil service, as people will join, gain knowledge, then leave, as they will consider that advancement is out of the question.
The systems need changing in concert with those who have knowledge and training where necessary. Pulling it apart by removing people of knowledge, could prove disastrous.
Might see some leaving or early retirements now. Because people with knowledge who have built something and are the ones doing the work, do not take kindly to someone coming in above and reaping the rewards of their hard work, especially if they do not have respect for those incoming.
@Crusoe
Again you are right. It seems to be the kind of crap you get from so-called consultants with MBAs. It is the easiest way to destroy the institutional memory of the civil service.
What we must do is name and shame these consultants. If so, I wonder how much they were paid?
Who was it on BU promoting contracts for Permanent Secretaries and other senior civil servants, often calling them incompetent?🤐
@ Enuff March 14, 2021 1:29 PM
Like the singer Shaggy, “It Wasn’t Me”, the miller your No. 100 nemesis.
Why not point your accusing finger directly at the known No.1 culprit instead of pussyfooting with your “vapid” innuendo?
Are you running scared of your UK opposite number of contradiction where your morning ‘hot’ words do not add up to your evening load of cold bullshit?
If you are a real man you should shout out the name “Hal Asstin” the UK mad man with the Bajan conditioner for a bald head.
Don’t be afraid of Hal as he himself is of your dictatorial president MAM.
Do not do like him and talk behind the president’s back and not in her face.
He is a mere windup of a windbag with no lead left in his journalistic pencil.
It’s the “vapid” miller you have to worry about with the collapse of the Hyatt pipedream on the horizon.
Source: NAtion
Looks like the “trend” is still going full blast in UK.
https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=1249823835439269
speaking about prison, i saw a document where Oran amalgamated with Dodds…….so what scam are they running with each other now…..that involves TENS OF MILLIONS OF DOLLARS….and how much is going to be STOLEN FROM TAXPAYERS…
worth looking into….what i saw involved many, many millions of dollars…..but the Black population is struggling and broke and GOING TO PRISON….ya done know ya can’t trust the black face frauds in the slave parliament.
Doing my good deed for the day..
Double “0” Limited – Company #1639
Gote Properties Inc. – Company #21738
it’s ALWAYS Black people MONEY THEY ALL TIEF….so when ya hear about these companies popping up suddenly or getting name changes or AMALGAMATING…….especially when it involves PROPERTY HOLDING….WATCH THEM…
it’s ALWAYS Black people MONEY and LAND …THEY ALL TIEF
@EnuffMarch 14, 2021 1:29 PM
My doubts about the government from last week have evaporated. Obviously, our government has taken my criticism to heart … 🙂
The privatisation of the high civil service is a grandiose. With this we are trimming the state apparatus from the top down. In future, only top performers will want to serve as state secretaries, not the usual lethargic long-sleepers.
The plan is indeed radically liberal. That is why I support it with all my neutral and balanced propaganda.
If privatisation has proved successful, we should also privatise all other civil servants in the S grade.
I always knew you were a Chicago Boy. Thank you, dear Enuff!
Anecdotally there was a some support from the public for implementing a system to hold senior public servants to account.
Perhaps …
In any case, our beloved government is once again steering the right course – very much in the spirit of radical liberalism: weakening the state apparatus is the top priority. Privatisation, deregulation and flexibilisation, the holy triangle of the Chicago School, are taking the place of the old trinity.
Mia Mottley has identified exactly, brilliantly as always, where to start in order to destroy the traditional civil service and with it the tropical Cuban Marxist welfare state. Once private operatives are installed at the head of the ministries, it will not be long before Mia Mottley turns the state of Barbados into a corporation: Management takes the place of government, shareholders take the place of the people.
Welcome to the 21st century! We need a second emancipation to free people from the bondage of the welfare state.
Meanwhile as Caswell fights to find a way of restoring honesty in govt
Poor people are being threatened by govt
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10158404870443191&id=246784233190&sfnsn=mo
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/03/17/franklyn-take-challenge-way-ccj/
“I want guidance from the court to tell the Government you are not all-powerful, you have to follow certain rules. I will take this all the way to the Caribbean Court of Justice because I believe in what I am doing,” he said. ”
very few on the island stand up for human rights, that’s why the degradation is so total.
Hearing the case of our outspoken senator is a massive scandal. It is obvious, even to laymen, that the Supreme Court has no jurisdiction. The emergency legislation implicitly denies recourse to any court. Moreover, it is an expression of a revolutionary new constitutional law, whereas the Supreme Court has jurisdiction only over the old constitutional order.
I strongly urge Lord Marshal Dale to intervene here and deliver justice for our government. Fighting the pandemic is paramount. We must subordinate everything to it, following the Australian-Chinese model. Even so-called human rights, if necessary.
Furthermore, I strongly recommend that the outspoken be deposed as ambassador for 10 years. Preferably to Brazil or South Africa.
What am I reading in the media?
Guy Hewitt criticises the personnel policy of our many embassies. We need so many embassies to offload anti-government people such as the outspoken senator. Brazil or South Africa are waiting for him.
Judge to hear matters against Govt ‘quickly’ – by Barbados Today March 17, 2021
Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn’s lawsuit against Government in relation to its COVID-19 directives will be heard “quickly” as opposed to “urgently”.