Submitted by Rickford Burke, President, Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID)
I applaud President Obama for the bold reforms to the nation’s broken immigration system

I applaud President Obama for the bold reforms to the nation’s broken immigration system, albeit temporary. Immigration reform does not only impact our Latino brothers and sisters. Hundreds of thousands of immigrants from the Caribbean, South America and Africa now qualify for relief from the threat of deportation and will become eligible for lawful employment.

Almost all undocumented immigrants from the Caribbean and Guyana enter the United States lawfully but overstayed their visas and thus are out of status. A large percent has children and/or spouses who are either US citizens or permanent residents. Thousands more arrived before their sixteenth birthday but are ineligible for DACA because they are currently above age thirty-one. They have all lived here for a long time – decades in some cases, and are law abiding. America is their home. They deserve a shot at the American dream. Thanks to President’s initiates, they can now emerge from the shadows to pursue that dream, once they pass a criminal background check and pay any back taxes accrued.

This is a historic day for America – A nation of immigrants. Millions of families will remain united and millions of people will without fear begin to contribute to society and the US treasury. Economists forecast that this could boost GDP by over $1 trillion.

Republicans are not only opposing President Obama. They are attacking the relatives of millions of US citizens who vote, as well as millions of US permanent residents who will soon become voters.  When these millions of Americans go to the polls to exercise their franchise, they will remember who stood with them and fought to keep their families united and who fought to tear their families and the nation apart!

653 responses to “President Obama’s Immigration Reform Initiatives…”

1. Moneybrain

Whites pushed the idea of white supremacy. Brain perhaps, you should start read what Alfred Rosenberg pushed for a philosophy regarding the white race. Rosenberg said that, “Nordic superiority accounted for all the great cultures of the past, including those of Greece and Roman. All decay and corruption resulted from the infusion into the Superior Race of blood from the inferior strain.” Rosenberg’s ideology on race heavily influenced the think of Hitler and many Germans and European people still to this day. He may have possibly influenced Adolf Hitler to write his book Mein Kampf.

2. Moneybrain

Emanuel Kant, Hegel Nietzsche Anti –Semitic and racist ideas influenced Hitler and many others Europeans past and present Brain. You should start read Emanuel Kant’s piece of geographical racism Brain, he claimed that those cultures in the colder climates contributed more to human civilization than those of the warner climate.

3. Herd is what matters. There is racial tension in America. The killing of Brown acted as a catalyst to bring the issue again to the surface. American which is a White lead country must take ownership of the problem or the tensions will continue to simmer until it is dealt with.

http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2014/11/29/ferguson-michael-brown-race-divide/19636873/

4. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

Natty Past Through Rome
    http://youtu.be/i49q5cWAtR8

Whitebrain

You are still missing pushing white propaganda to a black audience about black issues in white America. There are facebook pages for white crap where racist white people can post and like points that you call balanced
    Black people are not stupid they pretend

5. Dee Word by your people I just assumed that since you and AC sound alike.. you were both chicks.

6. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

7. @Black Easy
    You dont want to hear, think or discuss THE REALITY1
    U seriously believe that there is no black Group thinklessness. That alone is all the clever people require to EXCLUDE your opinions and ranting!
    U just want to be part of anything regardless of whether it makes sense. Watch Charles Barkley, he makes much sense BUT U will not want to understand any of it, your feeble, emotional mind is CLOSED. Yet U would expect clever people to make changes based on your PREJUDICES and BIASES and U would not have a clue how one sided you arte. SAD, that is part of the reason why change is GLACIAL!

WHO SUFFERS as a result me??????????? If u were truly clever u would know that in any negotiation it pays to see the other side so U can out negotiate, PITY that is so tough for most Humans.

8. @Domps
    That may have been propoganda! I have nothing against the Japs i know well. However, they proved conclusively that they were very nasty
    1 attacked Pearl Harbour without declaring War.
    2 treated POWs and Citizens in China/ Asia very badly
    3 had to be NUKED 2X in order to wake up to obvious defeat, the Japs in the outer islands were commiting suicide in droves to avoid surrender so the only way to save possibly millions of lives was to shock them big time!

Like I say people are ANIMALS, the most dangerous variety!

9. The broad strokes.

Black people across North America and the UK were shipped from Africa and enslaved.

Then when freedom came they were still virtual slaves.

White people had control of all the resources and created systems of governance that allowed them and their “house negroes” to maintain control.

Black people have made tremendous progress but let us not forget that a lot of them have not been given opportunities to improve their lot in life.

What you are seeing in the USA is a result of years of pent up anger and it will continue.

10. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

White Branes Life is a funny thing

For someone who professes to be clever you seem stupid not to pick up on signals that you are not resonating.

Speak face to face with black people about your views and see if they listen and are impressed or not

11. @Hants
    Lot of truth there.
    Dont wait to be given opportunity or anything else, go out and prepare/ work towards lofty goals for you and your family, that is my recommendation to all humans. It takes a very long time for a fully dressed roasted chicken to land in one’s mouth.
    If black peeps had no hope in the US how come the guy who was homeless ended up landing a career as a Stockbroker and making $millions? Did he apply to be an Uncle Tom? NO! EXCELLENT POSITIVE ATTITUDE!

The anger must be addressed and when black leaders told the people in Ferguson to protest, the step dad said BURN this bitch down and who did they listen to? So are all the leaders Uncle Toms? How many White people were and will be inconvenienced by the burning? What % of white people are business owners there? Who is likely to have the most comprehensive insurance? Did burning the bitch down positively influence white opinion? Will it accomplish anything? Yes jobs for rebuilding!

12. @EASY
    That is exactly what I stated above to U! I know!
    The question is :
    Do U know what U are missing?????????
    Read it again.

I dont feed my self crap for brain food!
    Probably contributed to Mike’s death—all the wrap crap he listened to and wrote! All the murder, thiefing and HOs etc he filled up on–no? He was a SAINT????? WAKE UP!

13. Ferguson: protest at US embassy in London over killing of Michael Brown
    Relatives of young black Britons who died at the hands of police stage rally in support of Brown’s family

http://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2014/nov/26/london-protests-against-michael-brown-killing-in-united-states

14. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Run Babylon
    Natty Dread come
    Run Bald Head
    I going to hit you in the socket
    Put you in my pocket
    You were a
    Slave Driver
    No you are
    a Non-Driver
    http://youtu.be/JW2LJz-aCCg

15. @Easy
    I never owned slaves and U WILL NEVER have ME in your pocket! Dont dream learn supreme!

16. @ Moneybrain,

Human beings deal with situations in different ways. They do not all have equal tolerance for suffering.

You cannot trivialise the plight of impoverished black people by suggesting they should all be able to help themselves.

17. Hants do you think the blackmans plight in America is worse than the Christian in Iraq, the blackman in Africa or the Palestinian as you say people deal with situations in different ways, would it also be true that if you are only looking at the guy beside you, …you may think your situation is the worst anywhere.

18. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

19. @Hants
    I have called for much better Education in poorer and black communities in the US for a very long time. It is a national disgrace.

I am actually imploring black/ poor people to do whatever they can using the system to help themselves get ahead and not wait on anyone else to help. We both know that there are many black Bajans that were armed with little but a relentlessly positive attitude who have risen to unbelievable heights from dirt poor eg black young lady who is now a Surgeon left Alleyene School to migrate to the oppressive cauldron of the US and became a Surgeon? WHY? HOW? Certainly her life story should be required reading. Positive mental attitude is what we senior fellas should be propagating.
    Be aware of discrimination etc BUT focus on the PRIZE!

20. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Education? Children are getting shot

All the do is just say
    the wrong thing all over

http://youtu.be/2TghfU25cm0

(Discomix)

21. @ Money B and Lawson
    Why wunna fellows don’t take a leaf from John’s book and give it up nuh? …this compulsion on wunna part to show that blacks are just “playing the ass” and really just need to pull themselves up by the bootstrap is not selling….and indeed only making wunna look to be completely clueless to the REALITY of life for blacks…
    …and this from a black who has been successful beyond even YOUR imagination.
    Leave it to GP with his blunt offensive style, to Bushie who has been there and lived the “poor black” life… and Pieceuhderock to explain to black people that they are indeed brass bowls…. who, unknown to themselves, have powers beyond their imagination.

Being born white in Barbados in the mid twentieth century is like winning the LOTTO every two months for life.
    Where does such a person get off preaching to blacks – who worked hard every day of their lives…only to be frustrated, cheated, bribed, and legislated continuously back into poverty by black politicians in whom they trusted, but who are actually puppets controlled by the LOTTO winners?
    ….or preaching to those who, seeing the frustration of the hard workers, choose instead to sit on the blocks gambling and smoking – rather than be exploited by the Lotto winners?
    ….or even those who aggressive attack the system against all odds, throwing pebbles at the tanks and armor of the Lotto kings?

So while you may indeed have some sound and valid points in your arsenal of arguments, they are null and void when put by a certified Lotto king to ordinary shiite tax payers…..

Fellows…
    …send another messenger, or just leave it to GP, Piece and Bushie to expound on the lotta brass bowlery that needs to be addressed by us blacks….

22. @Hants

You have summed it up well. Let the establishment own this problem or it will continue.

On Wednesday, 3 December 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

23. Bush Tea we were extremely poor, when we got off the ship in montreal we had as a family five pds, but we were a family of workers not whiners, But how can whites be poor you say. That shows how little you know of us but lecture me on how little I know of you. Your exposure has been to people that can afford holidays and second houses in the carribean, but I can tell you they are a small percentage of the white population. But you are right I am not black but we have lived black not your politician black but ordinary poor folk black you know from hand to mouth, long hours for little money. Now you being successful more than I can imagine… are you Obama

24. David

An interesting article by Karl Watson on the Rachell family in the third one is in todays Nation,an ex-slave who became an entrepreneur to be followed by London Bourne,whose progeny established an African state
    Articles by Woodville Marshall on Panama lands/Plantations and Leonard Shorey on the Slave trade are never posted or discussed…..I wonder why?

25. Bushie
    Undoubtedly you and certain others here are more than well qualified BUT what none of the dissenters can ever prove is that I did not care or try to point out flaws or show lack of logic or implore—– but i do appreciate and understand much more than some here think, i have conversed and listened to the opinions of people of many races regarding such issues and many would say that black people with a positive attitude can and do achieve almost anywhere. Shocking as it may seem I have been told by people who I was meeting for the first time that they thought I was black on the phone but yet they were willing to meet because of my confidence and knowledge.

Is cool and i will be busy for the next month so have a Great Holiday Season to you and everyone on here, even Easy, Domps and ac! lol NO really yes.

26. @ MoneyBrain,
    If your business were to fail, you could become a successful first class grave digger. You appear to have a natural affinity with a spade and a shovel. Keep digging!

27. Exclaimer
    Well it is the only career where one starts at the TOP! lol

I been trying to prevent people from needlessly butting their head and fill an early grave.

28. Georgie Porgie

I heard your boy Dr Ben Carson today on CNN, and he sounds more like he needs to be injected with an immediate dose of reality. He spoke of race relations in America as though he had been sheltered in womb of the white community for donkey years.

29. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Have a White Christmas

30. so another white cop chokes a man to death in july and is free,, could this be happenstance or divine intervention,, what ever it is black america is being pushed to the tipping point of aggression and it is clear as daylight that there would be no turning back.

31. @VH

Dr. Karl et al are free to submit their writings to support discussion.

32. welll! damm a man life is taken over the sale of cigarettes,,,,

33. Mayor of NY and his black family

34. Georgie Porgie

AMERICA IS HEADING FOR CIVIL WAR, ANOTHER BLACK MAN KILLED BY WHITE COPS IN NEW YORK IN JULY. THE GRAND JURY SAW NO FAULT ON THE PART OF NEW YORK WHITE COPS. BIG PROTEST IN NEW YORK TONIGHT!

35. @ Lawson
    Bush Tea we were extremely poor, when we got off the ship in montreal we had as a family five pds,
    Skippa, you have NO idea what it means to be poor….and if you think that ‘being poor’ is about a lack of money, then you also have no idea about the reality of the existence of blacks and other oppressed peoples.
    Apart from the fact that your family actually had some money left AFTER being able to get to Montreal, you also had:
    …HOPE that you would find fair opportunities
    …FAITH that, based on your honest contributions, you would be rewarded
    ….CONFIDENCE that you would be accepted as a human being
    ….KNOWLEDGE that the Law, banks, employers and society were all on YOUR side.

When we say “Poor”, we are talking about;
    … having NO money to get to Montreal in the first place
    …even if we got there, we KNOW that only the dregs are available to us- however skilled we were.
    We have NO CONFIDENCE that our rewards will be commensurate with our efforts
    We KNOW that even if we managed, against the odds, to become rich, we will only become larger targets to be shot down…
    …and we KNOW that the Law, the banks, the business world and the society will always be on YOUR side….

Those are the cards we are dealt….. and THAT, Lawson is true poverty.

Apparently, you also do not understand what SUCCESS is all about…. you probably thing it is about being rich, famous and powerful…like Obama…. IT IS NOT….
    Success is about realizing one’s TRUE purpose in life. That is Understanding that purpose; adjusting your living and learning to achieve that purpose; and growing in knowledge, grace and confidence into THAT purpose.
    THAT, my friend is what success beyond your comprehension is …

…as a famous bushman once said, “seek ye first the kingdom of Heaven, and its righteousness…. all the other shiite things will be added after that”
    …well perhaps not in those EXACT words
    ..but you get the drift… 🙂

36. Lawson, you may have lived as black, but you would never ever know what it means to black in the heart of a white man’s country brother.

37. @Vincent Haynes
    Articles by Woodville Marshall on Panama lands/Plantations and Leonard Shorey on the Slave trade are never posted or discussed…..I wonder why?
    …………………………………………………………………………………..
    Did you manage to watch the programme on Sunday night,last, on CBC about the Panama Canal? Unfortunately , I missed it, and a relative of mine was featured on it.

38. @David
    Didn’t Lawson and Moneybrain warn you about showing any support for Brown as he was not an upstanding member of the community? This video is bound to make them unleash another warning as Garner in their eyes is in the same mould. Isn’t there a video somewhere showing him punching a policeman and fighting him for his gun?

When will a policeman be held accountable for employing a chokehold that is against his Department regulations? Answer when the victim is a black man in the USA

39. @Sarge
    Did you see Garner attack the PO?
    he is a petty criminal at worst but he does not get to choose when he is arrested or not. However, it could have been handled much better and the illegal choke hold is obviously WRONG.

Sarge, I know many pun here cant differentiate but I did study calculus! lol

Sorry that i did not jump to all the wrong conclusions without any evidence like those here and in Ferguson.

40. Bush Tea | December 3, 2014 at 8:34 PM |
    well said

no sargeant
    there is no video somewhere showing him punching a policeman and fighting him for his gun but there was in the other case involving the thug

41. @Moneybrain
    A predictable response , petty criminal or not what did he do that day? BTW that was the same thing you folk said after Rodney King got that beat down.

I know there wasn’t a video but are you telling me that one exists from Ferguson?

42. CB

No,I did not see the Panama docu,as I only watch the weather on CBC.
    What are your thoughts on the Panama lands/Plantations,which from all accounts are still up in the air..

I find it passing strange that,no one is interested in discussing Rachell or Bourne,two individuals who despite their melanin content made it against the odds and assisted a melanin rainbow of countless peeps…..hmmmmm

Yet we take pride in talking about the failed rebellion of Washington Franklyn and his sidekick Bussoe,Prescod who despised melanin rich peeps,Gill whose claim to fame that she was chased out of Bim and the list goes on…..hmmmm

It would appear that we enjoy wallowing in in the “poor me” syndrome today despite evidence to the contrary…..ah well one of these days……

43. I have little sympathy for some of the cases but Garner is a different case yeah he was committing a petty crime probably a ticket offense but heart disease, asthmatic, weight problem six kids this may be the only way he could make any income. You will probably find it was the store owner complaining that he was conducting business and keeping his customers away.I do feel sorry for his family
    BT we made it to montreal on borrowed money, and you have the same chance as everybody else that is new If winning the hotdog eating contest at coney island is what you consider success great
    How come nobody talks about the Bosnian that was just hammered to death in st Louis by some local gentry.

44. Shiite man Lawson….you keep changing the story…
    So now you were able to BORROW money to pay for the whole family to travel to Montreal? …and had change left back too boot?
    Skippa, in those days, we used to have to “trust” a herring in tomato sauce from the village shop – just to enjoy lunch for a family of ten….

No one would lend bushie’s family a dollar to pay for medicine…far less buy food, land, a car and CERTAINLY NOT TO RUN AWAY WITH THE WHOLE FAMILY….

Boss, you REALLY don’t know how rich you were (are)…..
    but don’t feel guilty…it is not your fault….JUST STOP PRESUMING THAT WE ALL ENJOYED THE PRIVILEGES THAT YOU DID (DO)

..and no, …success is not about winning anything with hot dogs…. but as Bushie said, it is likely beyond your comprehension – so lets drop it….

45. an illegal choke hold by NYPD kills an unarmed black man and he walks scotch free,, the way things are in the USA police force it is like the KKK has taken over and the prosecution are the grand wizards

46. @Sarge
    It was handled badly BUT you dont get to choose IF you are going to be arrested.
    Sarge, ” officer I really dont feel like being arrested today come back next week”——Really?
    The method was excessive for the crime, should give him a Ticket or something. He did resist arrest but not in a violent way.

47. @AC and all…

Let’s take a breath. The important fact is that justice will be served.

This officer will face internal disciplinary charges; very likely could lose his job

This case will be reviewed by Federal investigations and the officer could likely be charged

Mr Garner’s family will file civil charges and will receive a large settlement from NYC.

Let’s also be very real. It’s rare that local legal authorities will indict POs in cases such as this (whether black or white perps) unless the video or other evidence is so blatant that it cannot be ignored.

The DA obviously did not push for an indictment. After all he has to work with these guys after the lights are turned off.

As far as a DA is concerned let Police Internal Affairs and the Feds come in and take care of this. And so will it be.

There will be justice here. That’s clear.

48. Moneybrain
    Stop making excuses for the unspeakable cruelty the white man has brought to bear upon the minority people of the world. You can twist and turn the truth all you wish, but truth crashed to the earth shall raise again brother. Now, tell men how do you justify the practical elimination of a race of people, in the name of Racial Supremacy, European expansionism and Economic Colonialism? But it’s all good Brain because it is your race and who wouldn’t want to defend their own, even if the pages of the history book tells a different story?

49. De Hood

THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS JUSTICE ON STOLEN INDIAN LAND.