Submitted by Rickford Burke, President, Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID)

I applaud President Obama for the bold reforms to the nation’s broken immigration system, albeit temporary. Immigration reform does not only impact our Latino brothers and sisters. Hundreds of thousands of immigrants from the Caribbean, South America and Africa now qualify for relief from the threat of deportation and will become eligible for lawful employment.
Almost all undocumented immigrants from the Caribbean and Guyana enter the United States lawfully but overstayed their visas and thus are out of status. A large percent has children and/or spouses who are either US citizens or permanent residents. Thousands more arrived before their sixteenth birthday but are ineligible for DACA because they are currently above age thirty-one. They have all lived here for a long time – decades in some cases, and are law abiding. America is their home. They deserve a shot at the American dream. Thanks to President’s initiates, they can now emerge from the shadows to pursue that dream, once they pass a criminal background check and pay any back taxes accrued.
This is a historic day for America – A nation of immigrants. Millions of families will remain united and millions of people will without fear begin to contribute to society and the US treasury. Economists forecast that this could boost GDP by over $1 trillion.
Republicans are not only opposing President Obama. They are attacking the relatives of millions of US citizens who vote, as well as millions of US permanent residents who will soon become voters. When these millions of Americans go to the polls to exercise their franchise, they will remember who stood with them and fought to keep their families united and who fought to tear their families and the nation apart!

653 responses to “President Obama’s Immigration Reform Initiatives…”
How could there have been more racism in Barbados than there was in South African under apartheid: when black people lived in deplorable conditions in township? While the racist whites lived in their gated communities and off the cheap labor of black brothers who worked in the South African mines for next to nothing? How could there have been more racism in Barbados than there was in South African under apartheid: when you yourself witnessed nightly the racists white South African police beating, shooting and even setting their dogs on our black men, women and children? How could there have been more racism in Barbados than there was under apartheid in South African, when Steve Biko and many other innocent black brothers and sisters were murdered while in the custody of the white racist police?
Are you a white man Georgie Porgie? Only a white man would defend these injustices committed by the white race of men.
Mr Babylon
We are not
Running to Nowhere
Reparations Repatriation
http://youtu.be/SBNTfEZ5qDY
wilson didnt get indighted
brown six foot under
tell me ah lie?
but what dat got to do wid me i eat and drink and waste time on BU like if nuttin happen lol while you rantin and raving
i achieve what i wanted to do in life
GP believe in the White God
http://youtu.be/1EdKygzFPac
Georgia porgie girl..ranting and raving and looting too is necessary it brings about change, ah lie
“Psychotic Psychopath” said the Bent Ringer Doctor in Court
Doctor Babylon is Wrong
http://youtu.be/pW16PEeaz5s
Smokey Room’s Upsetter Riddim Shower
http://youtu.be/1crOr4aiQ9o
@Lawson
What about the dumb ram players, if I was a cop I would not show up for crowd control for any of their games then watch them cry
++++++++
Don’t get unhinged you do know that they go for the paid duty and the team will ensure that its players have their own security. The police are also there for crowd control and the majority of fans are white so you may want to rethink your statement.
BTW that level of protest doesn’t rise to the level of John Carlos or Tommie Smith so a little perspective is needed, and the NFL has wisely said it would not punish them because they know that the Super Bowl is around the corner and if someone did it at the Super Bowl you and millions of Americans would probably go ballistic.
excerpts from attorney general speech as he addressed protesters in fergusson
A group of chanting protesters interrupted a speech by U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder at Atlanta’s Ebenezer Baptist Church on Monday, but Holder said the group shouldn’t be criticized.
“There will be a tendency on the part of some to condemn what we just saw, but we shouldn’t,” Holder said. “What we saw there was a genuine expression of concern and involvement. And it is through that level of involvement, that level of concern and I hope a level of perseverance and commitment that change ultimately will come. And so let me be clear, let me be clear, I ain’t mad atcha, all right?”
http://www.cnn.com/2014/12/01/us/ferguson-up-to-speed/index.html?hpt=hp_t1
maybe Darren Wilson testimony was true and whites are scared of blacks
http://youtu.be/_xaOdI00czU
I SCARED OF BLACKS TOO
There are too many substandard humans that behave like ANIMALS! They come in many colours/ races! they have prejudices that can be totally irrational.
Standing in a fish and chips shop in a poorer part of TO about 25 years ago waiting for my lunch to be finished and this uncouth white urchin snares at me because I am wearing suit and tie. The Chinese owner indicated to me to please not make a scene so I demured.
Humans are ANIMALS and some are WILD! they have preconceived ideas about life, about those who are different, insecurities etc, and they never believe they are a MAJOR part of their own problems. It is easier to point at others, it is far more difficult and involved to determine that you the individual is going change from a life with a bad start to a success and then work relentlessly to improve. Personally, I have utmost respect for people who absolutely intend to improve their lot in life through hardwork and /or brains/ commonsense.
@MB
Standing in a fish and chips shop in a poorer part of TO about 25 years ago waiting for my lunch to be finished and this uncouth white urchin snares at me because I am wearing suit and tie.
+++++++++
Yuh mean to tell me that the minor incident has remained with you these many years? Probably one of your neighbour’s sons from Forest Hill who was rebelling against his dad and all that he represents. I bet you met him five years down the road and didn’t even recognize him with the Bespoke suit and the Bruno Magli shoes etc…….man leh people wid serious problems talk.
@MB” uncouth white urchin snares at me because I am wearing suit and tie.”.
As flippantly as Sargeant wrote that off, it is actually THE issue.
The have and have nots. Ever notice that it is in time of upmost recession that these issues rear their head the most?
And Hitler made good use of it, when Germans were hurting the most, to play the old ‘them taking your job’ card. Pointed the finger at the Jewish people. Not hard to find a scapegoat.
THAT is the real issue. Easiest target, for a lowly paid (insert majority race here, depending on country), to criticize and ‘attack’ minorities who are perceived to be doing well, say in suits, driving nice cars etc etc.
‘Them taking your job’, oldest and most crappy card in the pack. Used oft by the most deceitful politicians around.
Obviously needed at this time is a conciliatory and collaborative approach by all.
“I SCARED OF BLACKS TOO”
That would explain your backbiting
wanting blacks to be held under manners
black woman are carrying signs
black lives matter
why bother
http://youtu.be/vgD4iXvLGsI
Sarge I was a rams fan for years , the fearsome foursome rosey grier;s wavering aside but even less now, yes the cops get paid to do security but sometimes you have to stand up for something. Bajans know that better than most willing to march or have a work stoppage at the drop of a hat even with planes in the air. I know the stands are full of whites who I think should not buy tickets for a game or two and show these overpaid wonder children that police are valued by mainstream America
MB you are the toughest person I know ,anybody that would eat fish and chips at a Chinese restaurant must have a cast iron stomach
@Lawson
Your responses indicate that you are focused on Brown and the shooting i.e. he was a bad guy etc. etc. but as someone has written this is a flash point and the issue is not Brown per se but how blacks are policed and governed in St. Louis and the USA as a whole. Do you know that many if not all of the major US cities are segregated along the lines of race? However St. Louis is the most segregated of them all whites and blacks live in separate areas and if blacks move into a particular area the whites move out as has happened in Ferguson, but the power structure remained the same in Ferguson which is the genesis of the current issue .
Speaking of Sports did you notice that the Cardinals didn’t have any black players on their roster during the recent MLB playoffs? This is the team of Ozzie Smith , Lou Brock and Bob Gibson but they couldn’t field a black on their team this year, they recently traded for Hayworth from the Braves so it will change next year. The media is always asking black athletes about their opinions on race related issues but they never ask white athletes for their opinions so when black athletes voice their outlook in a manner that makes you uncomfortable that’s par for the course. BTW my favourite Ram was Eric Dickerson.
Back to St. Louis and governance, I can write about black students at Washington University consistently being challenged when they walk across campus by security and asked to show ID? Why does security think they don’t belong? I can ask why when Police stop black men for driving related infractions the first query is not about your license etc. but do you have warrants out for your arrest.
The Washington Post recently ran an article about St. Louis municipalities, I have posted the link before perhaps you should give it a read.
http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/the-watch/wp/2014/09/03/how-st-louis-county-missouri-profits-from-poverty/
@Sarge
You must forgive my excellent recall developed by eating plenty nuff Fish as a kid in Bim, and the referencing of examples honed at HC.
The real problem to be considered here is your penchant for always thinking that I live a MATERIALISTIC life, I most certainly do not. I worry for you about your perception which is more suitable for Americans, Trinis and Jammies than a Bajan of solid Foundation. It was an example of how stupid and instigatory some animals (humans of over 40 in this case) are.
@Crusoe
Yes, the Pols all want placing on a space ship pointed at the Sun without steering mechanism! The only thing they ever invented are new methods for mashing up society.
@lawson
Chinese owner, not Chinese restaurant, Capt Cook’s fish n chips. Has a beautiful young lady in the back who nused to wipe the fillets on her inner thigh before the batter, velly good!
The Rams players being NFLers caused me to believe that they thought they were under arrest for some prior miscreant actions! lol
(NB My cousin played for the Broncos in the mid 80s with Elway)
They have their right to support the cause no matter how weak the actual situation may be.
@Sarge
I certainly dont believe in discrimination BUT far too many young black peeps doing shite and raise the level of concern among whites. Dont let us PRETEND that there is NO absolute basis for this, although the vigilance may be taken too far. It is a viscous circle!
In TO the most public impacting crimes involve young blacks eg Husbands case in Eaton centre ( I would not mind him shooting those clowns in a safer venue) Danzig, Yonge St boxing Day etc. If i am wrong here please remind me of cases in TO of recent vintage. There is a basis for concern, FACT!
We all need to be straightforward and deal with ALL sides of this problem to resolve effectively.
@Sargeant | December 2, 2014 at 9:36 AM |
Good shared link. Excellent article on how the real business of life is conducted.
When you read powerful articles like this and reflect on how the educated political class (in this case mainly Caucasian) uses well its power to keep the struggling lower class (black) in a mendicant pose, you realize the power of education, elections and the benefit of controlling the ‘backrooms’..
At the core the question must be asked: why are more blacks not in positions of leadership in these townships.
The answers are myriad of course (migration to better jobs opportunities with their smarts, gerrymandering by the entrenched officials, being 2).
But this one is a 100 karat gem:
“Even something as seemingly simple as making police departments look more like the towns they serve is more difficult than it sounds. Most departments at minimum require a high school diploma and no outstanding warrants. And so already the pool of available black applicants begins to shrink.”
Either the blacks in the St. Louis county get smart about how they will grapple with the situation there or their a** will continue to be grass.
Hopefully the Federal investigation will make a huge difference.
How can police relations be amenable in cases like this:
“… says she was once pulled over twice in the same night on her way home …The Florissant officer said he simply didn’t like her driving [because I] was hitting my brakes too much, so he thought I must have been hiding something.”
No wonder tempers are so hot down there.
Wow, that link Sargeant was an eye opener
The piece that caught my attention was the police officers having the Department of Transportation change the switch in the street lights permitting them to change the lights from green to red without going to amber purportedly to safeguard children crossing to school
Then said police officers using that switch/feature OUTSIDE SCHOOL HOURS to entrap motorists and fines moving from 20someting percent to 48% in a year
Houston we have a serious problem, this issue is to seriously entrenched for a quick fix
Dee Word I said it before but in 1970 ferguson was 99% white even in the 80’s it was 85% white so it is not hard to see why numbers may not reflect the demographic situation now when you consider your working career is 40 odd years.
MB if that thigh thing is true …how do you know you just weren’t eating chicken
lawson | December 2, 2014 at 1:29 PM |
be reasonable man
you really expect most of thee folk on BU to understand what you just said?
@Sarge, Dee et al
finally had time to peruse the article, so here are my solutions
1 place all these majority black towns into their own county and have black people run the show ie councils, Police, judges etc. Sounds like segregation or placing in a reservation but the locals maybe much happier. Ask the Feds to arrange this, if necessary.
2 the first lady admitted she was wrong so she should have been able to simply plead guilty and arrange a monthly payment along with admonishment to organise her life better. Her situation was indeed SAD!
Definitely there are Cops who will do anything to make sure their “commissions” are higher. top Traffic cop in TO made over $160,000 last year! That is like double the average PO! But there are Munis the want Revenue by any means. Note that Berkeley the Black run town was running a deficit.
NB I have had situations in TO where Police were overly aggressive to me and where the Administrators and lawyers in the courts have screwed me over in a multiplicity of ways and done things to prevent me from pleading my case properly. In TO it is common to hear all the traffic cases and pleas from Somalis, Orientals, Indians and others that use Interpreters FIRST. These people can speak English in many cases very well, I have heard them myself but they want to make paid work for their pals! Some Jamaicans cant speak English as well as these peeps! lol
Lawson
Velly, velly goood!
Moneybrain wrote “Some Jamaicans cant speak English as well as these peeps! lol”
Interesting.
Hope you read Lowdown friday column in NationNews.
I did read it but could not tell you anything about it now!
Anyway was just emphasising my point!
@Georgie Porgie | December 2, 2014 at 2:08 PM & his confederate
lawson | December 2, 2014 at 1:29 PM
Gentlemen, I humbly submit that I do understand the perspective that gives rise to the interesting statement from Senor Lawson: ” I said it before but in 1970 ferguson was 99% white even in the 80’s it was 85% white so it is not hard to see why numbers…”
I pause and reflect on the days now long gone when I still had a full head of hair and diddled some of my time in the debating society at school. Then, we would take same moot point and beat each other verbally to death from two completely different perspectives.
I appreciated back then how information can be used to dissemble and discombobulate as you two wise gentleman have attempted to do here.
So, as we were prone to lead in to discourse back them, I say, WITH ALL DUE RESPECT guys, you are so badly off the mark that I am not sure which target you are aiming at.
Your perspectives speaks to employment (within the government principally) and even then it’s a very porous assertion considering that after all this time one would expect a more rainbow look in those offices. Oh gosh, I hear the back-lash even before I write, but maybe just a tad bit of ‘affirmative hiring’ to balance things!
The racial make-up to which you refer has nothing to do with an elected mayor/city council or whatever body manages the governance which I presume serves at the people’s pleasure for 2-4 years only (I did not research to confirm). That’s where power lies to select some of these judges and prosecutors mentioned in the article
That historical demographic has nothing to do with a predominately white police force where for example Mr Wilson was a relative rookie @ 28 years. Why are more blacks not taking and passing the exams. (Before you get all dumb blacks on me, take a gander at how the Fire Dept. in NY had to be sued to get more minorities in that job)
I would offer that poor representation probably has something to do with drawing district/ward boundaries to suit key needs; and it probably has something to do with the Afro-community not being deeply involved like the proverbial white on rice!
Anyhow guys, to paraphrase: a man convinced against his will remains stubbornly opinionated on his wrong path still!
Let’s agree to disagree. I will leave the verdict on who has better represented the moot to my peers assembled before us in the hall.
And will hang my head in shame when they clap for u guys. Or will I.
Cut the crap…your people voted in marion barry even after the debacle so please don’t say your peeps don’t get out to vote. I disagree with your assertion that black people must be led. Maybe they voted for a guy they thought would do or is doing a good job, oh yeah like the whites that voted for Obama or are you saying your people don’t have the wherewithal to make an informed decision
Now what is this rainbow look you are talking about…fight one battle at a time… are you saying there should be more blacks hired…..more gays hired…or more black gays hired .
I got the master ideas in me right now
and I raise up the master ideas
man is the master of his mind
man is the master in this time
http://youtu.be/Msjbc-20sD4
Tackling the UK’s ‘diversity deficit’ in the boardroom
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-30228070
@ Exclaimer | December 2, 2014 at 5:51 PM |
You might be proud to know Karen Blackett is of Barbadian descent and a regular visitor to the Island.
Why can’t the BTMI utilize her to promote Barbados more effectively?
Unless the bleeding authorities get their public sanitation act together I don’t think Karen on her next would be too impressed with the current state of the island.
Just take a trip to the so-called famous Rockley beach and see the amount of garbage overflowing from the skip and litter bins that haven’t been emptied for weeks and the amount of Chefette food containers “adorning” the ground and blocking the natural watercourse which hasn’t been cleared for months by the NCC.
One can imagine the amount of parties the rats enjoy when it gets dark.
Georgie Porgie | December 2, 2014 at 2:08 PM |
lawson | December 2, 2014 at 1:29 PM |
you really expect most of thee folk on BU to understand what you just said?
……………………………………………………………………………………………………….. lawson
Dee Word I said it before but in 1970 ferguson was 99% white even in the 80’s it was 85% white so it is not hard to see why numbers may not reflect the demographic situation now when you consider your working career is 40 odd years.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………..
lawson your naivette slip is showing… nothing at all to do with demographics but under neath that cloak and dagger was a system carefuuly design to keep blacks out, of a predominately all white fergusson. ,giving whites being total control of political power aligned with their racist views, it is all about who are the keepers of the gate and who they let in , the fact that any municipality can be predominately white says for an extended period of time exposes the cut throat politics and racial factors that defined that city, one of shutting blacks out, not a good story to tell of “white: fergusson and their way of life as it opens up a view to the truth and the racial arm that whites used to suppress black
Black Lives Matter
Is a good meme, no thuggish niggas-ism to be found with any of the ladies holding up their signs in the american armageddon total system meltdown
But Black Lives Matter
would be excellent meme for all US policies home-n-abroad
it would help resolve 95% of wars
maybe civil strife / war will keep USA fuc|<ing up rest of world issues
http://youtu.be/_xlZC7CPaHE
What did you find interesting about my Jammie quip? Elaborate nuh.
http://youtu.be/B7nXiQ-Fi7U
@ lawson | December 2, 2014 at 4:51 PM
Indeed, let’s cut the crap…
What the crap does Marion Barry have to do with this?
And who the crap are my people?
Your rhetoric becomes more difficult to comprehend, even without the crappers!
For the record, rainbow meant ‘more blacks hired’. I forgot the LBGT connotation.
Also for the record my people are those who enjoy a good joke, can call a spade a spade, are mannerly, act intelligently and rationally and try to be as color blind as possible. They abhor thugs and police brutality.
So in general terms MY people would not have voted for Mr Barry after his drug dependency became evident; nor would they have voted again for Rob Forde for same reason.
Generally, MY people are a bit reserved although temperamental and do NOT go around assaulting the police, wearing swastikas, placing nooses in lockers or believing that violence is the way forward. Things like that.
Are these some of YOUR people, perhaps? Nah, they are MY people so how could they be yours TOO.
And yes I along with hopefully most of MY people made an informed decision and voted for Pres Obama because he was sharp, talked a good talk on the issues and seemed ready, competent and capable.
Oh and DEFINITELY because he was the first black man who had the gravitas to reach that stage.
I have no idea what you are talking about re: “I disagree with your assertion that black people must be led.”
But no problem, I’ll get MY people to call YOUR people and set up a time to cut out all the crap finally!. Deal?
re And yes I along with hopefully most of MY people made an informed decision and voted for Pres Obama because he was sharp, talked a good talk on the issues and seemed ready, competent and capable.
DIAGNOSIS DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR
Ah ha Sir George, as delusional as before George H.W. Bush or before G.W. Bush or Carter or Kennedy.
Or maybe the big mcguffies Reagan and Clinton. Lots of water under the bridges there..Very good and very bad.
Tell me sir, don’t we all have delusions of grandeur for each one of them!
Man picked up for walking with hands in pocket in Michigan
http://www.msn.com/en-us/video/viral/michigan-man-stopped-for-walking-with-hands-in-his-pockets/vi-BBgdvNU
lol Dee
Tell I what we are fighting
Why there must be so much war
Give a reason for this fighting
Why there must be so much backbiting
Truth and Rights
http://youtu.be/-ixuWosCmdM
Moneybrain, it is funny how you and your partner PG can’t even formulate a sustainable argument in support of your white brothers in America, with a focused aim of discrediting the black man in America and elsewhere in the world.
@Domps
This is a very general statement I require specific examples to understand what you are on about.
Further i am not arguing for White anything, just bringing BALANCE/ LOGIC to the discussion which peeps do NOT want to consider because they want to JUMP to conclusions without ALL the evidence and have made up their minds that Whitey is always wrong and culpable! 400 yrs of this and that when most pun here are not even 50 and have not got a clue about history of Animals(humans). Many here do not want any opposing views regardless of what is said, only agreement on BS!
Did you peeps see the Charles Barkley interview on CNN? Is CB another “Uncle Tom” or an independent THINKER and HONEST ANALYST who is trying his best to be balanced? I bet i know the answer of most!
Moneybrian
The truth of the matter is the white man has blood on his hands. The white must carry the burden of mistreating the Native American as well as African American. Now, let me give you’re a practical example of white racism in America: during the Second World War, Italy, and Japan were both allies of Nazi Germany. Yet Japanese America were gathered up like animals and herded off to the desert and imprisoned in internment Camps there . So my question to you is this: why weren’t the Germans and Italians herded off to the desert like the Japanese American had been? Was it because of their European ancestry? Many historians believed this to be the case? Let’s face it; Germany, Italy and Japan were all enemies of the United States of America, so what goes for one ought to have gone for all.
@Domps
Mostly agreed.
However, it is not necessarily logical to state what was fair for Japs was fair for Italians/German Americans. WHY? How do you know there was not a variance in Jap behaviour? Certainly the Japs were far nastier to the US POWs and the Chinese people than the others. To prove your point you would have to know that they all acted much the same way in the US regarding spying etc. But you are probably right that racism was probably a major part of it.
Certainly the Japanese nation are still very racist and prevent foreigners from becoming citizens. Indeed it is causing their downfall as they have a quickly aging population and require immigration like many Western nations.
Thanks for the opportunity to show that other peoples are very racist too! It is a myth that only whitey is such, all races are racial, whitey has just been more powerful in recent history. you think the mongolians were sweetbreads or the Ottomans?Did Hannibal attack in order to play bocci ball in the roman Parks?
@ MONEYBRAIN
YUH BOUT EARLY/LATE BRO.
I SAY nuke DE fkucers , DEM SAH nasty.
RAH RAH U S A !!!
Moneybrain
There was no such variance in relationship to the Italian and Germany behavior during the Second World War because if such were the case: then why would the American government pay the Japanese American Reparation and offered an apology many years later. Japanese of American ancestry hadn’t any thing do with what the mainland Japanese did at Pearl Harbor. This young Japanese American was deprived of their constitutional rights and well as the right to serve their country.