Submitted by Rickford Burke, The Guyanese-American President of the New York based Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID)

I shall be happy if my letter can receive due prominence on your blog. I have read some of the comments on your blog, in response to statements attributed to me in a press release issued yesterday by CGID’s Director of Communications, Jevon Suralie. First let me remind all that I respect and will advocate for the sovereignty of Barbados as well as its right to conceptualize and enact any domestic policy its elected government chooses.

I agree that the immigration and other laws of Barbados MUST be respected and that violators of the law should be brought to justice. However, I also believe that domestic laws, such as immigration regulations, in any Caricom country, must be congruent with the spirit and intent of Caricom, and must be enforced equitably and fairly, and that people’s human and other rights must be respected and NOT abridged. Individuals must be treated humanly and with human dignity, in keeping with internationally accepted norms and values.

As I said in the CGID statement, “We agree that everyone must abide by the law and that anyone who commits crimes must be brought to justice. However, this must be within the framework of the rule of law and international norms of civil rights and fundamental fairness. We also agree that immigration policy throughout the region needs to be rationalized. In this context, unilateral, singular and uncoordinated action by one government is counterproductive to a harmonized regional policy approach that would be compatible with deeper integration, which we all seek.”

I firmly believe that no one country should enact such policies as Barbados has. Rather there should be a Caricom approach. The response to Thompson’s policy from around the region alone establishes the raison d’être for my expressions of concerns and criticism. This has indeed fractured Caribbean unity.

A cursory review of the relevant article in the Nation newspaper will establish that when Prime Minister Thompson announced his new immigration policy on May 5, I, in an interview with Tony Best, commended the Prime Minister for attempting to address the illegal immigration problem. I also said then that his granting of a form of amnesty to Caricom nationals who entered Barbados prior to 2005 and who remain undocumented, was good public policy and a step in the right direction.

However, I did express serious reservations about his plans to deport those enter after 2005 and remain undocumented. At that time I reserved judgment to observe and analyze the implementation of this aspect of the policy. This is where I part ways with Prime Minister Thompson, who I like. (Apart from this issue, I think his policies are pragmatic).

As a human rights advocate, I will always speak out against raiding the homes of families with women and children for non-criminal reasons, such as immigration. Furthermore, I continue to believe that immigration and traffic violations have no place in criminal court, so long as there is no criminal element to the instant violation. They, in my view are civil matters which should be resolved in the civil term.

The Arbitrary and systematic “deporting” or “removal” of Caricom nationals from a Caricom country at the instant of Minister’s order, for reasons other that criminal convictions, without due process, is bothersome to me. It not only potentially undermines an individual’s human rights, it also undermines Caribbean unity. This is subjective, political territory.

The power to deport is vested in a Minister who is a creature of the executive branch of government, and for which there is no “initial” judicial role. Hence, there could be inherent, fundamental perversion and abuses of the process, as well as abridgements of extant Caribbean integration principles when we go down this road.

I am Guyanese but my grandmother is Bajan, so I am uniquely positioned to evaluate and critique this policy. The largest immigrant block in Barbados is Guyanese. It was fully well known that block would be most affected by the enforcement of such a policy, as the Prime Minister’s own statistics indicate.

Thompson should therefore have been more sensitive to this and handle the matter as a Caricom issue rather that a Barbados issue, or work with the relative governments, like Guyana’s, to stamp out immigration fraud, curb access to and uttering of forged instruments and documents, etc.

I sincerely believe what I said in the CGID statement. “Prime Minister Thompson must halt all draconian immigration practices and confer with his regional counterparts to conceptualize a more “altruistic, uniform and progressive” immigration policy that is congruous with the spirit of Caribbean integration and free movement of peoples as envisioned by the revised Treaty of Chaguramas.”

I believe him when he says that the mistreatment of persons will not be condoned and that perpetrators will be disciplined. I await that course of action where appropriate and also look forward to cases in which immigration officers who were falsely or unfairly accused of wrong doing will be exonerated.

This is the bottom line. If a Guyanese commits a crime in Barbados and he is found guilty by a court of law – then jail him/her. If a Guyanese violates the immigration law of Barbados by uttering forged documents – then jail them and send them back home. However, if a Guyanese overstays his time in Barbados, done raid his home at midnight and drag his wife and children down to immigration. Treat them with dignity. The government must work with other governments in the region to devise a humane way, within the context of Caribbean integration, to resolve this issue as a region.

What Prime Minister Thompson should also do however, is tell President Bharrat Jagdeo, to start respecting the rights of Guyanese citizens first, before he asks others to do so, and create the economic and social conditions for Guyanese to stay in Guyana.

1. I forgot the link.

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=politics&NewsID=4629

——————————————-

I think it is becoming particularly CLEAR that the majority of Caricom nationals agree we are currently NOT ready for Free-movement of all nationals.

This time I believe shall go down in history since as of today I just found out that the African Union has asked Caribbean to join their ranks.

http://www.iol.co.za/index.php?set_id=1&click_id=85&art_id=vn20090702052646163C391822

2. to borrow Rickford Burke’s comment, this particular Hartley article needs “It’s due prominence” This is a line of argument that I have been trying to stay away from, yet so much of what i learn about this issue begs for further exploration.

3. Day Watcher said on another blog

“Who says history does not repeat itself: “Pol Pot, Benito Mussolini, Adolph Hitler, Idi Amin, Slobodan Milosevic, Charles Taylor Osama Bin Laden, Chemical Ali, David Thompson of Barbados and Mahmoud Ahmadinejad and Ali Khamenei of Iran.”

David Thompson hates Guyanese as much as Hitler hated the Jews.”

I therefore understand the last paragraph of hartley henry’ column, as seen above.

4. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I always knew that the BLP owen arthur administration was secretly seeking to replicate what is currently happening in Guyana;that is,seeking to increase the guyanese population in barbados and then reward them with permanent residency or citizenship status,thus ensuring that they had a permanent voting bloc for the BLP,just as it is for the PPP right now.

This is what happened in Antigua in the last election,and what Basdeo Panday was seeking to do in the 1990’s when he entered into a pact with ANR Robinson to grant amnesty to a whole lot of guyanese,most of whom were indians.

Manning now seems to be seeking to reverse that with his political union proposal for the Windward islands.

The Caymans has recently wrestled with a similar thing and this is what owen had up his sleeve for bajans.

This is how much he loved this country.

5. Dark Knight – Henderson Bovell is at his day job again in the opposition leader’s office.

6. I heard David Thompson and I am proud of the thoroughness and fearlessness of his presentation.

He set out his vision for CARICOM, explained the difficulties, made suggestions and put his peoples’ case eruditely and justly.

He also took questions. Any questions. That is why I admire him and his style. I did not vote for the Dees in the last election and I am going to vote for them next time especially now that I know that Henderson Bovell writes these pro-BLP drivel under the name Dark Knight.

Are our taxpayers paying him?

7. On a totally different topic. Anybody hear Ronnie Clarke totally selfdestructing on VOB. There goes my respect for him. And Denis Johnson wont even save the boy from making an idiot/nuisance of himself. He’s now in the same league as The Admiral in the worst possible way. Bajan broadcasting at its worst!!

8. whart really gwine on ? whart ?-so wait yuh mean that we in Bubados is to allow any r-%*—h-o l–e body from any r——hole place to come here and live just so ????-steupse !!

9. Yes I heard Ronnie Clarke BUT I admired Ricky Brathwaithe for keeping cool and responding in a most dignified and controlled manner befitting his maturity. Dennis Johnson would not even intervene and cool Ronnie.

I notice that Ronnie said that Ricky has mellowed because of his matured approach but Ricky impressed me no end.

Ronnie I love you but even though you did OK a lot of conservative people in the listenership would think that you could have eased up at one point. Good Fire works though !-real fire !

10. Imagine if you went into Cave Shepherd and the sales clerk shouted at you and was rude to you. Why should a radio Programme Manager shout at and brow beat a guest repeatedly telling them “say x, y or z or shut up!” Mine you, Ronnie wasn’t even the host, he was just a ‘guest’. And this excuse that it is Fireworks so people should express themselves like that… rubbish! You can be robust and still be civil. What I heard was NOT good radio. Neither is it good manners. It was immature, self-righteous and just plain boorish! Ronnie will have to work very hard to redeem himself. It was disgusting and Denis has to take a lot of blame for not reining in Ronnie. He was like a pitbull all over a guest who had been nothing but civil, mature and well-spoken. Ronnie ought to be disciplined, but Starcom has no standards anyway so nobody hold your breath.

11. Ronnie was correct in every aspect, ya’ll are a bunch of old tards.

de man want wanna to call names and stop generalizing things, how else r we suppose to know who is who, call names.

ronnie ask de man to call name or shut up, an i welcome that, ricky u have a young daughter and u say u wife turn she way from tv when de man start ta wuk up!!! guest wat u cant protect her forever

u getting down in age u now know right from wrong, give me a break

this is not 1950…it 2009 things change grow up

12. IS THERE A REPORT THAT MEASURES THE PROGRESS OF THE INITIATIVES AGREED TO IN THE HERDMANSTON REPORT?
    Good question AH. That agreement is probably sitting in a dusty drawer never to see the light of day. Who was the Chairman of Caricom these past few years? None other than OSA perhaps some journalist should ask him the question next time he surfaces. They can also ask a) Did he or anyone appoint a team to oversee the audit of “the systemic aspects of the electoral process”? b) Was the report on the agenda or ever discussed at subsequent meetings of Caricom leaders?

I’ll bet that Jagdeo spent more time over the past month attacking Barbados’ immigration policies than he has spent over the past ten years mending fences with the Opposition party or trying to repair the rift that exists among East Indians and Blacks in his country.

13. Fireworks or not when all was said and done, it was easy to distinguish the lout from the gentleman in the studio.

14. Pure Bajan wrote at 11:25 yesterday “the day majority of these guyanese are no benefit to my country…..just taking up space”

Hitler and the Nazis though the same about the Jews. They were taking up space needed by the Nazis for lebenstraum/growth.

Hitler and the Nazis were wrong, and people like my father had to help put some lashes in them.

Pure Bajan or not we may have to put some lashes in you too.

15. The handwriting is on the wall and all the island states, not just barbados, in caricom need to deport illegal guyanese aliens to avoid social unrest and upheaval in the caribbean. Everyone is familiar with what goes in guyana regarding race relations and it must stay in south america and not spread throughout the caribbean.

16. Burke seems to be forgetting all that he said. He claims that his grand parent is Bajan then if so they must be ashamed for him giving up their rights and representing those whp seek to violate Bajan sovereignty . Burke is also giving away African rights for Indian rights.
    Shame on CGID which claims to be a Caribbean organisation but when the chip are down can only see out of a Guyanese prisim. Burke entire Press release is below.

New York Caribbean Institute says Barbados immigration practices repugnant to CARICOM

BROOKLYN, NEW YORK: The Guyanese-American President of the New York based Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID), Rickford Burke, has said that Barbados’s new immigration policy is “divisive” and “supercilious,” and undermines the Caribbean Community.”

“The extant immigration practices in Barbados lack careful thought, have been fundamentally discriminatory and are antithetical to the values of the integration movement,” Burke asserted.

His comments come weeks after Prime Minister of Barbados, David Thompson, announced a new policy that allow undocumented Caribbean nationals who began residing in Barbados prior to 2005 to be given Barbadian government identification and work permits, but subject those who entered thereafter and remain undocumented to deportation.

Thompson’s policy has come under withering criticism from fellow regional Heads of Government and other individuals, forcing the Prime Minister to make a strong defense last Saturday.

In a statement Tuesday, Burke charged that “Prime Minister Thompson is attempting to build a protectionist wall around Barbados, and has created the perception that “Barbados is only for “Bajans.”
    “This is unquestionably repugnant to Caricom and is undermining Caribbean unity,” he added.

Blasting Thompson’s increased deportations and early morning raids against undocumented Caricom nationals, Burke accused the Bajan leader of promoting “national insularity” in the Caribbean and of stoking jingoistic fears in Barbados.”

Guyanese constitute the largest immigrant block in Barbados. The CGID head noted that many Guyanese, particularly those residing in Barbados, believe that immigration enforcement disproportionately and calculatedly targets Guyanese. He said that the Prime Minister’s own statistics, which he disclosed at a press conference last Saturday at Grantley Adams International Airport, validate this assessment.

According to media reports, Thompson disclosed that from June 1 to 26, raids were made on 15 residences between 3 am and 6 am, leading to the detention and removal of 47 non-nationals, 34 of whom were Guyanese.

However, Guyana’s Foreign Affairs Minister, Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett yesterday disputed Thompson’s figures, announcing that in May, twenty-nine (29) Guyanese were deported from Barbados, and twenty-four (24) so far for the month of June. In total, 53 Guyanese have been deported from Barbados since Thompson’s policy was implemented on May 5, 2009.

Burke labeled the tactics of Barbados immigration authorities as draconian, and more aligned with “George Bush’s” approach to immigration” than Caribbean unity. He condemned the ongoing raids on suspected undocumented nationals as inhumane. “This must stop. These are families who seek a better life in a sister Caribbean state. They deserve to be treated with dignity,” Burke contended.

Responding to Thompson’s widely reported comments that “I have announced a domestic immigration policy that is not a matter for other Caribbean prime ministers to comment on,” Burke said “Those words portend arrogant isolationism.”

“We agree that everyone must abide by the law and that anyone who commits crimes must be brought to justice. However, this must be within the framework of the rule of law, rules and spirit of Caricom, as well as international norms of civil rights and fundamental fairness,” Burke stressed.

He noted that “We also agree that immigration policy throughout the region needs to be reformed and rationalized. In this context, unilateral, singular and uncoordinated action by one government, is counterproductive to a harmonized regional policy approach that promotes deeper integration, which we all seek.”

“The Caribbean Community is plagued by illiberalness and barren commitment to genuine integration. Some Heads of Government go to Caricom conferences and agree to decisions they have no intentions of implementing. As the integration and implementation process intensifies and the ramifications become real, their posture then become one of ambivalence and insularity. This is unacceptable and they must be called on it,” the CGID president said.

He cited Barbados’ immigration policy as well as the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) as prime examples. It a reference to OECS countries, The Bahamas, Jamaica and Trinidad, Burke said that it is insulting to the people of the region that these countries do not recognize the Appellate jurisdiction of the Caribbean Court of Justice, but rather cling to the Privy Council which is a relic of the so-called imperial oppression, which some of the very leaders claimed to have fought against. He opined that in Trinidad’s case the circumstance is particularly disgraceful, as the court is based in that country, where its Appellate jurisdiction is not recognized.

“It is such actions or non-action which have caused Caribbean integration to morph into more of a concept rather than reality, as manifested in obvious protectionist and hostile policies, driven by narrow, national interests, the Institute’s head said.

Burke called on regional heads to “roundly condemn the Barbadian policy at this week’s Caricom heads’ Summit in Guyana.” He especially singled out Guyana’s President, Bharrat Jagdeo, and called on him to “stand up and represent Guyanese for once.”

Burke also called on Thompson “To halt all draconian immigration practices and confer with his regional counterparts to conceptualize a more “altruistic, uniform and progressive” immigration policy that is congruous with the spirit of Caribbean integration and free movement of peoples, as envisioned by the revised Treaty of Chaguramas.”

17. I WANT MY MONEY RICK!!!!!! IT S BEEn TO LONG AND YOU ARE DODGING MY CALLS!!!!