Submitted by Rickford Burke, President, Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID)
I applaud President Obama for the bold reforms to the nation’s broken immigration system

I applaud President Obama for the bold reforms to the nation’s broken immigration system, albeit temporary. Immigration reform does not only impact our Latino brothers and sisters. Hundreds of thousands of immigrants from the Caribbean, South America and Africa now qualify for relief from the threat of deportation and will become eligible for lawful employment.

Almost all undocumented immigrants from the Caribbean and Guyana enter the United States lawfully but overstayed their visas and thus are out of status. A large percent has children and/or spouses who are either US citizens or permanent residents. Thousands more arrived before their sixteenth birthday but are ineligible for DACA because they are currently above age thirty-one. They have all lived here for a long time – decades in some cases, and are law abiding. America is their home. They deserve a shot at the American dream. Thanks to President’s initiates, they can now emerge from the shadows to pursue that dream, once they pass a criminal background check and pay any back taxes accrued.

This is a historic day for America – A nation of immigrants. Millions of families will remain united and millions of people will without fear begin to contribute to society and the US treasury. Economists forecast that this could boost GDP by over $1 trillion.

Republicans are not only opposing President Obama. They are attacking the relatives of millions of US citizens who vote, as well as millions of US permanent residents who will soon become voters.  When these millions of Americans go to the polls to exercise their franchise, they will remember who stood with them and fought to keep their families united and who fought to tear their families and the nation apart!

653 responses to “President Obama’s Immigration Reform Initiatives…”

1. @ Money Brain,
    As we are talking about corruption please take a look at the link below:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-18671255
    I trust you played no part in this scam?

2. Moneybrain

If you thought Mayor Marion Barry crack smoking escapade was made for good reading; then you ought to checkout Waterbury Connecticut Republican Mayor Philip Giordano, he has a page devote just to himself. Just google and see Brain.

3. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

Ungrateful Skank
    http://youtu.be/HKfQZW5i9Wk

4. @Domps and Exclaimer
    Gents all you are doing is supporting my thesis, which is that ALL races have their corrupt members, which I have been stating for years. I am pleased that we agree on this!
    Exclaimer, I know in great detail how crooked the big banks and Pols are, how they have colluded, manipulated etc (in Precious Metals, Forex, Libor etc) BUT I have in NO WAY been a beneficiary of such heinous behaviour. Indeed it has made my life far more complex having to be very concerned about what those bastards are up to! Will they collapse the Financial System and cause me serious grief! (BTW they were black bros in CEO roles in the US financial landscape eg Merril Lynch, Fannimae etc)

Black people can be and many are very happy and prosperous in mainly white countries. Yes those countries must continuously strive to provide protection from discrimination, as we must all be treated as equals.
    I have been discriminated against by people of several races and so do have some concept in reality of what that feels like.

5. @SimplSimon

Your point regarding native blood seems good but you misread what I stated.
    I said I have blood in common with Native Americans, I never said I had any Native blood myself. In other words my cousins are the link. So not lol!

6. Protest spreading nationwide in the US. Whites are in the protest as well. We thank them for their support.

On 4 December 2014 at 22:59, Barbados Underground wrote:

7. @Bushie
    I know that black Pols and customs people in Bim EXTORT $$$$ from all kinds of businesses they are EQUAL OPPORTUNITY DESTROYERS! I know certain customs fellas that will stop on their way to work and drink FREE BEERS at certain businesses, request favors ie give mafia like optionsetc that is true.!

What you gin do when a Senior Customs Officer tells you that there is a way to shorten the very long process to receive your goods and indeed DEMANDS many $$$$$$$$ and favours?????????????????
    My father sold his business to Trinis because they had the BIG$$$$$$$$!
    Newsflash—-dem bros FLOATING on OIL$$$$$$$$$$$, long time now!

Bushie you really believe that any sane person is unwilling to take 25% MORE for what they are selling, especially their life’s work and especially when THIEFING CORRUPT Burnham cost you part of your Net Worth already! HELL NO! Bushie you would have done the exact same transaction! Why not? The jobs are still in bim and the additional DEEEEEEEEEPPP pockets grew the business faster. You think we is stupid, NO sir that Bajan Fish builds BRAINS, so my Dad kept a significant interest–he didnt sell all!

Many Bajans benefited including DARK ones who worked there and increasingly benefited from the outsized growth and moved into MANAGEMENT positions!

Trini Oil$$$$$$$ are sweeeeeeett in TRUT, DEEEEED and FATE!

Joke—when Almond went down was it not 2 black gents in charge, Ralphie and Mr Warner Brother from TT. Dem did rise up pretty good nuh! Peeps pun here did saying pure shyte bout poor Ralphie! Dem might be right cause i really dont know him that well. He sure went near de TOP doh!

8. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Root Rock Version
    The Fire did a Bun
    So me have to make a Run
    Now they put down the Gun
    So we can have some Fun

http://youtu.be/6RQN5-IrJdE

Nuh True

9. This man was killed for what? Because of biases of White policemen.

10. Th essential reason that Garner died is simply because these Americans in NY State or City dont have a simple ticketing system for minor offences—–so hand him a fine like a Parking ticket or Trespassing ticket— there should be no arrest needed to begin with.
    It is also true that Mr Garner could have complied by putting out his wrists for the bracelets.
    Just remember certain careers attract Psychopaths ie policing, military, business, authority positions in general.

11. @ Money B
    Boss, we were talking about the fundamental reason for Barbados’ fall in governance and the corruption connection. What are you saying?… that the profitability of some of these arrangements justify them?
    Presumably ALL of the various schemes were very profitable to some – especially the financiers in the background. Your father sold out to foreigners for 25% more? Does that mean that when you are ready to move on to meet your maker you would sell your family home to Bushie if the bushman can offer 25% more than your children?

Boss, strong families / countries are so because successful parents pass on the fruits of their success to their children…. NOT when they sellout their assets and leave their children to the mercy of strangers…

Almond failed for the same reason that BL&P will fail…. sold off into foreign control; exploited to the max in the short term; fall off in quality, service and profitability – and inevitable failure…

Just like your father, local shareholders were catching at the shadow of a little profit, and lost the whole bone…. and the country is the poorer for it…

Why would you pick on Ralphie? is he not one of your peeps? check out his choice of life partner…. How about Sir Allan? …he certainly did well for himself – like your dad…. BUT..
    What did he do for Barbados…?

12. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

It’s Time To Be Free Dub
    http://youtu.be/vtfwKdR7_F4

13. Unfortunately, there is one thing you are all missing.

Middle East unrest, Russia flexing arms, even discomfort in USA, world in recession, prolonged.

Sorry to say, but the world is actually being DIRECTED towards the next world war.

Expect within 5 -10 years.

Bets thing we can do on this little rock, is become as self sufficient as possible , especially food and fuel, and secure our borders.

Laugh it off, but mark my words.

14. Sorry, may have made a mistake, the rate at which this IS thing has developed and spread, could indicate a much shorter timeline.

15. @Bushie
    I did not pick on Ralphie, I was pointing out the irony and saying others had picked on him.
    Barbados should in every sense of the word be organised and open for foreign investment. the environment should attract $$$$$$$$$$$$ like Bees to honey.(not BLPs) Singapore has developed very rapidly since Independence in 1965, why didnt Bim do even better than we did which was pretty good? Both islands are small, although Bim has only about 8% of Sings population so an honest direct comparison is not valid. However, create an environment that favours Business and JOBS is the answer.

When foreigners BUY, more $$$$$$$$ come IN to the country. Such $$$$ influx can be utilised to build more businesses—it creates jobs if the environment is good.

Bushie, my father’s decision was the correct one for him, his employees, Bim, everyone benefited. For years my dad invested that money in Banks, BL&P, Cave Sheps, WIRR, BICO etc Actually people in other Corps benefited too!

Bad management is not necessarily connected to selling to foreigners. In the case of BL&P the essential service should have to be monitored with very clear directives ie rates agreed by govt, investment in proper low cost generating plant etc. It should be of benefit to Bim, if not that is poor Govt!

16. @ Clone
    Expect within 5 -10 years.
    ++++++++++
    LOL…
    sorry for you if you expect it will be that much….

17. Dompey | December 3, 2014 at 11:00 PM |
    De Hood
    THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS JUSTICE ON STOLEN INDIAN LAND.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………..
    And you have supported and propped up,aided and abetted that injustice you are speaking of ,by plonking your arse down in the stolen land of Uncle Sam’s , complete with citizenship, or a Green Card.

18. @Crusoe
    Absolutely correct Bim has really lost its way regarding FOOD! Why?
    Lots of small farmers get screwed by
    1 monkeys thiefing
    2 predial larcenyby wufless bajans.
    this activity can easily cost 40% of production, so without protection why would I bend my back?
    Had plenty complaints by top notch trained agriculturalists and small farmers alike. What has been strategised and implemented? Very bloody lil! Disgraceful!

19. @Boy Blue
    I have recommended that Dompey sell his home and give back to the local Native Americans—-he has been quieter than a church mouse on this! lol

20. @ Easy, | December 4, 2014 at 1:21 …be assured I am different from MoneyBrain.

Amusing that you would actually suggest (facetiously, I know) that Mr Money who is as different (HC boy, wealthy family upbringing, Caucasian) from me (definitely not HC, simple lower mid-class son of civil servants, Afro) are the same because we share some opinions…Three cheers!!! there is some hope for dialogue between the races after all (LOL).

Persons like Nelson Mandela, Dr. King, Mahatma Gandhi are examples of employing LEADERSHIP in the face of grave racial disconnect; not your twisted rhetoric, dude.

You are the proverbial crier of “fire” in the crowded room. Creating mayhem and confusion to see what it’s all about.

Anyone who can speak ( white scum ) with such disdain is clearly lacking balance not to mention a tad racist.

BTW, with your level of intellectual dishonesty you would forget that Rev. Sharpton is a pal of many white folks like the NY Mayor and has been a close friend – close friendly informant– of the FBI.

More power to him.

21. Cornell West is being interviewed by the BBC on a programme called Hardtalk. The show will last for 30 minutes.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/
    Click on to live BBC News Channel on the right-hand side of the screen.

22. @DEE
    You have several fatal flaws in Easy’s eyes—-you dont blindly jump on the bandwagon, purely see one side only regardless, you have the nasty habit of thinking for yourself and speaking your mind. FLAWS that are necessary for progress.
    You would be surprised how much we would agree about—note i like to push Easy’s buttons, attempt to have him think broadly BUT he is fixed on feeding himself not so nutritious brain sustenance exclusively.

23. White House report finds Cleveland police reckless and poorly trained. This is the police force that shot a 12 year old boy after seconds on the scene.

24. if cornell rest had received his invite to daily press briefings and hight tighty diners he would not be walking around like a munchkin talking nuff crap bout obama, the man is one angry black man with a chip on his shoulder resulting from a personal rift between him and obama.

25. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Cunter Punch
    Straight to Cunts Cunting Face
    That’s why Two Faced is called Cunt Face
    anyone who agrees with Money B
    Must be doing Georgie Zoe Trickery Fockery
    Intellectual Dishonesty never fooled nobody
    http://youtu.be/WHOSa_qxkAw

26. One thing to be admired is the US media both traditional and social integral in promoting this issue.

27. Open season his guy got off lucky, at least the cop was charged.

http://www.cnn.com/2014/09/25/justice/south-carolina-trooper-shooting/

28. The cop was fired for this one too but why no charges for shooting in the back?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2856760/Autopsy-Bullet-Milwaukee-cop-hit-mans-back.html

29. @ ac,
    I do not agree with you. The presenter seem more interested in discussing the problems that West has with Obama. I was not pleased with his performance (the presenter).
    @ Money Brain,
    I’m watching the images of the demonstrations taking place in some American cities. I am highly impressed with the numbers turning up; there appears to be a large numbers of whiteys. You are a smart guy yet you appear to be hopelessly on the wrong side of history. I will pray that the chip on your shoulder gets removed.

30. @Ex
    I been saying that Whiteys will turn out and have been claiming there are more whiteys that on the side of blacks than people realise. When the case is strong then whites will support, not so much when hoods/ wannabe gangstas in the frame.

I likes to fatigue Dompy and Easy!

31. David | December 4, 2014 at 9:05 PM |
    One thing to be admired is the media both traditional and social integral in promoting this issue

It is called de-sensitization, in preparation for what is to come to:
    – reduce world population
    – gain full control of the oil supply in the Middle East,
    – rebalance funds due to recession and reassign resources that are short, stock market cannot be sustained.
    – export ‘masses’ for conflicts, most of whom will not return.

The answer?

A man tell you pick up a gun and shoot someone, do like Ali and tell him go to hell.

Whatever nation, ethnicity, religion, whatever, you belong to. Peace is the answer.

32. @ Crusoe,
    We live in a scary world. Big news coming out from Kenya. Barbados beware!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-30327412

33. @ David | December 4, 2014 at 7:29 PM.” This man was killed for what? Because of biases of White policemen.”

Yes Dave, that had a part to play but principally of course it was because of overly aggressive police reaction.

In simple and practical terms Dave, he died on that day because he was fed up with being hauled into jail again and decided he was not going to give-in quietly.

That decision led to an over zealous take-down by a cop with a strangle-hold, and if you got asthma, a bad-heart and a slew of other ailments a hand around your neck is a possible hand of death..

Too often the combination of : Black + Frustration + Over Zealous Police = Death

My point is that I tell my kids try not to be DEAD right. Do the sensible thing and live to fight another day.

As NY Mayor De Blasio said about his mixed race, afro wearing son; as a parent he had had to guide him on how to interact with police officers for his own safety and benefit. A comment that did not make him very popular with the NY Pos.

Eric Garner did not have to die that day.

34. Just love dem cell phones.

35. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

We’re not anti-police… we’re anti-police brutality.

“If I use the media, even with tricks, to publicize a black youth being shot in the back in Teaneck, New Jersey… then I should be praised for it, and it’s more of a comment on them than me that it would take tricks to make them cover the loss of life.”

―Al Sharpton

Ally al is sharpton dan a tack
    I’ma be like ally al and fight ya back
    What, do you want to go to war, you want war?
    Do you want to go to war, you want war?
    I’ll bury all you cocka la roaches for breakfast
    Shit you out and throw you in the water for the next fish
    ’cause I can do that shit G

http://youtu.be/Il0aRkzWxjY

36. Possibly the last minutes of Eric Garner’s life.

37. Boy Blue

I do not see how my presence here in America, is in any meaningful way detrimental to the Native American cause for justice. Waa looka here Blue: in my own small minded way of think, I am of that believe that the sweat, blood and tears of my people helped built America. So I therefore, have a legitimate cause to be here because if one look at it fundamentally, the Native American as well s African American, cause are much that same. Let’s call it a case of stolen virginity.

38. Not sure if you guys caught this one: :

“Ohio cops suspended for years of racist texts leaked…

“The messages allegedly shared between 19-year Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office veteran, Capt. Thomas Flanders, and Internal Affairs’ Detective Michael Sollenberger, range from jokes and threats to kill black people.”

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/crime/ohio-cops-suspended-racist-texts-leaked-nonprofit-article-1.2033713

Based on the simple mathematics of probability it’s fair to extrapolate that EVERY PO Dept in US has it’s Capt. Flanders and Detective Sollenberger.

And we thought that the racist police regime was long dead and buried with FBI Director, J. Edgar Hoover

Sworn to Protect and to Serve…Just not Blacks.

Sorry MB, you can’t win this one.

39. Moneybrain

It looks like the race war has already begun?
    I heard on CNN this morning that the FBI arrested two members of the New Black Panther Movement for purchasing explosives read.

The straw gun purchases and attempt to buy pipe bombs were in preparations to destroy The Arch by blowing it up as a sign of white racial oppression as well as killing as many cops as they could during the impending unrest in Ferguson after the grand jury decision is announced. They were arrested this Friday morning.
    The suspects are being held on Attempt to Make Weapons Straw Purchase and Aiding and Abetting a Straw Purchase. Davis and Baldwin wanted to purchase up to ten pipe bombs, but could only afford three. Both have confessed to wanting to kill Prosecutor Bob McCulloch, and as many policemen as possible. Their detention hearing is set for next week to consider elevating the charges from Attempt to Possess an Explosive Device to Attempt to Possess a Weapon of Mass Destruction. I earlier reported that this was the charge, but have had an update.
    There is concern over charging the men with Attempting to Possess a Weapon of Mass Destruction, as it would automatically place the case in Federal court and would then be handled by the Department of Justice. Not exactly an agency known for dealing strongly with the New Black Panthers.
    Police officers with the St. Louis City Police Department were instructed by the White House and Attorney General Holder’s DOJ not to speak with reporters and media, to “Keep a lid on it”. What an irresponsible thing to order in light of the dangerous nature of the plot the FBI just foiled! My police source provided this information on the condition of anonymity.

40. LOOK AT THE CRIMINAL JUSTICE SYSTEM HERE IN AMERICA, THERE ARE CONTEMPLATING WHETHER OR NOT TO CHARGE THESE TWO BLACK GUYS WITH POSSESSING WEAPONS OF MASS DESTRUCTION.WHAT A BITCH !

41. @ Dompey | December 4, 2014 at 10:42 PM |…. My police source provided this information on the condition of anonymity.

You were called out on this type of bogus tomfoolery already. And u back again.

Why would a source share a confidence with YOU for it to end up here?

When you write the rest of your excellent fiction spy thriller please remember to include the BU family who have treated you so well and helped you hone your literary skills.

I am partial to ‘The Assassin: 166 Ways to Thrill ‘ for your title but we can work on that!

42. I am not glorifying what Larry Davis has done. But this black brother shot six white police officers, who tried to kill him in New York City back in 1989 and got off. Remember the name Larry Davis. You can also view his story on Utube.

43. De hood, the story is true, just google it on utube brother.

44. De Hood, I am going to tell you straight up as a man: why don’t you develop the necessary balls and challenge a lot of the distasteful things Georgie Porgie and Moneybrain have been saying about our race? You sit patiently by with your balls neatly packed between your legs, as though it will change their ill-conceived view of black folks.

45. De Hood,

After reading what have been said about our race by these two men; you have the audacity to be critical of Dompey? Man going a hid yourself someway where you’re not seen because you’re disgrace to the black race in my opinion. Brother man, defend the integrity of one’s race is liken to defend the honor of one’s family sir.

46. @ Crusoe
    Best thing we can do on this little rock, is become as self sufficient as possible , especially food and fuel, and secure our borders..
    ………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Perhaps we have started to work on our food security. In a few days time, we will be setting the clock back, with the launch of the new schooner MV Ruth at Brownes Beach,which will ply the Caribbean waters , like in old times ,and bring produce to the desert lands of Barbados.

47. De Hood,

You ought to defend the integrity of your race with much the same passion and zeal as Lawson and Moneybrain defends their white race, irrespective of its many injustices committed against the minority people of the world. Good Night.

48. Dompey : I will assume you are talking to me re story being true!

I didn’t question the story sir. I questioned u and your fiction about info from a source.

I was aware of that news item. A few days old now.

Not only do you display an excellent grasp of the written word but you also have this uncanny ability to see unwritten words.

So much so that I feel unworthy of matching you when I slip into these engagements with you. So let me slip away.

Anyhow, have a good night; no need to respond.

49. cornell West has made no bones about what he thinks about Obama ,his rhetoric is inflammatory one which depicts the president in the most outlandish and outrageous ways to the point of calling the president a pimp. and using racist overtones to describe the president.

50. Good Night De hood.