Submitted by Rickford Burke, President, Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID)
I applaud President Obama for the bold reforms to the nation’s broken immigration system

I applaud President Obama for the bold reforms to the nation’s broken immigration system, albeit temporary. Immigration reform does not only impact our Latino brothers and sisters. Hundreds of thousands of immigrants from the Caribbean, South America and Africa now qualify for relief from the threat of deportation and will become eligible for lawful employment.

Almost all undocumented immigrants from the Caribbean and Guyana enter the United States lawfully but overstayed their visas and thus are out of status. A large percent has children and/or spouses who are either US citizens or permanent residents. Thousands more arrived before their sixteenth birthday but are ineligible for DACA because they are currently above age thirty-one. They have all lived here for a long time – decades in some cases, and are law abiding. America is their home. They deserve a shot at the American dream. Thanks to President’s initiates, they can now emerge from the shadows to pursue that dream, once they pass a criminal background check and pay any back taxes accrued.

This is a historic day for America – A nation of immigrants. Millions of families will remain united and millions of people will without fear begin to contribute to society and the US treasury. Economists forecast that this could boost GDP by over $1 trillion.

Republicans are not only opposing President Obama. They are attacking the relatives of millions of US citizens who vote, as well as millions of US permanent residents who will soon become voters.  When these millions of Americans go to the polls to exercise their franchise, they will remember who stood with them and fought to keep their families united and who fought to tear their families and the nation apart!

653 responses to “President Obama’s Immigration Reform Initiatives…”

1. The Money Man is quite right. If a PO tells u that u under arrest then any action other than submission can be seen as ‘resisting’ and that gives the PO latitude to use force to carry out his mandate under the law.

It seems the DA and his grand jury used that resisting as an ‘out’ not to indict the PO.

2. Domps
    What are you referring to? The practical elimination of what group? Natives? Japs? My aunt went to the US in the 1920s and married a half Native American so I have blood in common through my cousins, do you? I have already stated that it is wrong morally BUT that is the way humans were at that time and are to a lesser degree now. Ask Putin why he wants Ukraine? Ask the Rwandans what all the fighting was about?

3. @ David read page 8 of Barbados Today.” Our eyes are on you “

4. De Hood

Hood, Moneybrain is talking bullshite. If citizen is within his rights (that’s if he knows his rights) and cop tells him that he is under arrest, he can start walking. And if the cop put his hands on the person he can be suited. A cop can’t even question you unless he has the necessary probable cause to do so. And probable cause cannot be based on a hunch. I was standing on a sidewalk next to a major city street one day, and a cop pulled up next to me and ask me if I am about to cross the street. So I told the cop: “I do not have to answer that question because I am standing on a public sidewalk and have a right to do so”. The cop moved on quickly. Go to Utube and put in citizen school cop on the law and see the many cases.

5. Moneybrain

Your rationalization for the unspeakable cruelties the white man has inflected upon the Native American and the blacks within the Western hemisphere falls flat on its face. Brain it is funny you made mention of the genocide in Rwanda because the genocide was caused by centuries of the Belgians whites favoring the Tutsi minority over the Hutu majority.

6. @Moneybrain
    Earlier you defended the policeman who shot the 12 year old who was armed with a toy gun, well lo and behold the policeman who shot him apparently had emotional problems and resigned just before he was about to be fired from another Police dept. this is how well these people are vetted before they are put on the Street with power over citizens.

He took 2 seconds after exiting the police car before he shot the 12 year old but according to you it was a justifiable shooting.

http://www.cleveland.com/metro/index.ssf/2014/12/cleveland_police_officer_who_s.html#incart_story_package

7. Moneybrain

Who does not have some kind of Native American blood running through their veins, especially those persons who live in the Western Hemisphere? My mother’s grandmother was full Indian.

8. @Sarge
    It is easy to say that he was armed with a toy gun NOW but if you have had a bullet pass your face, hit your body etc you may be singing a different tune.
    If I was called to a scene of somebody waving a gun I would be on edge BUT would probably get behind my car and try my best to get him to put it down especially if they were young.
    So the PO had emotional problems which means his superiors should not have had him on the streets.

9. @Dompey
    When you buy your crib why you dont give it to the local tribe nuh!

10. @Domps
    Where did I say it was right? I said it is wrong BUT that is the way humans are—greedy!
    Why did the Africans invade Europe? Moors and Hannibal!
    Why did Africans take slaves from as far away as Iceland, to say nothing of the MED?
    Why did the Ottomans attack Europe?
    Why did Genghis Khan leave Mongolia and kick serious ass all over?
    Why did the Japs invade China and kill babies by tossing them in the air and bayoneting them on the way down?
    Why did Africans SELL POWs, criminals et al to European slave traders?
    Why do the rich ass Nigerians in Lagos not want to share oil wealth with their own black brothers in the oil delta in the last 5-25 years?

The commonality is they are ALL greedy, Aggressive, Animals!

Maybe Whites perfected what others could not or did not? Sooo they all had the same bad mind at some time! Whites fought amongst themselves for hundreds of years and Putin is looking for more trouble now.

Domps I never claimed to be a US legal eagle. In Bim, Canada and UK when the PO gives you a command you are supposed to obey. If the USA has all kinds of BS non compliance crap that is likely what causes misunderstanding BUT I have never disobeyed a PO’s command and when stopped for traffic violations I have NEVER been unmannerly to POs. Black PO in Bim stops me while he is walking and I am driving fast on the Harbour Road, I stopped even though he had no car.

11. @MB…

You know well enough that what the Domps man is saying is a concoction of truth and BS.

The PO had probable cause to arrest Garner and attempted to do so.

Obviously a PO just can’t come up to a person and tell him/her they under arrest w/o reason.

Life is simple. A PO tell you jump you ask why but then obey grudgingly.

Next day of course you land his ass in court for brutality/harassment or whatever is justified. But commonsense says you obey first and sue later.

That’s standard for any practical person in any democratic country with a well established legal process.

12. @Dee Word

A good argument you have presented but as you alluded the prosecutor for political reasons did not guide the grand jury. The bottomline and the Attorney General and State seem to agree this is another flaw in the justice system exposed.

@Sargeant

Didn’t the 911 call in the toy gun murder case warned it maybe a toy gun?

13. The program on CBC TV which featured Panama was very interesting. The workers had to accept extraordinary risk to earn a wage. Even in the face of a common struggle many of those interviewed mentioned the insularity at play, Jamaica against the small islands, Barbados against the islands etc. It continues today. Then there was the regard for life by the Whites (those building the canal). When the dust settled after 10 years many skedaddled to Cuba.

14. @moneybrain “My aunt went to the US in the 1920s and married a half Native American so I have blood in common”

You may be a moneybrian but your biology is all wrong. Unless you have had children with one of the descendants of your aunt’s union with her native american husband you have no “blood in common”

LOL!!!!!

15. Thanks David.

I am glad that the Minister said that “Freundel Stuart administration may not be considered to be the most intellectual to grace the halls of Parliament”

Now if I had said that I could probably to sued, but since the Minister said it whom am I to disagree?

16. BT a fish in sauce, how French of you that was haute cuisine compared to us, we were so poor the only thing we saw on the kitchen table was elbows

17. Just imagine if there was no video of this incident. All hail social media.

18. in what is hailed as the greatest democracy on earth we have a country using a grand jury system that is most secretive. No transparency.

19. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

Sunshine ☀

Should woman be blamed for Domestic Abuse from partners
    Should black people be blamed for systemic white racism
    US Issues that should have been dealt with
    Police Harassment
    Profiling
    Stop and Search
    Militarisation
    Murder by Police
    Court Corruption
    Racism
    Biased Media

Other issues
    Poverty
    Wealth inequality
    Unemployment

Blacks are on receiving end

20. Lets work backward from something holder and Obama said the other day, policeman white or black have the fundamental right to go home. So far this year over 100 have died in the line of duty, many by letting there guard down. This is not your everyday job the pressure must be enormous and unfortunately mistakes will be made,…..not willful acts of racism….. unfortunate mistakes but that doesn’t make good news ,Sonny Hostin cant make faces and talk over everyone Anderson cant well up and Don Lemon cant get to wear his gas mask so lets go crazy to keep that cnn on the air. Barbados is a black force …how is it on the island ..can good suggestions on policing come out of your experience?

21. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Supporting Police Law Enforcement is another Racist Euphemism White America runs with whenever there is dubious illegal killings. KKK raised cash to support Wilson and he thanked them in writing saying he loves them all.
    Bad Food No Good

22. Squeeze you forgot Odessa has offered to get him to south america

23. @BT
    Lawson attempts to paint a picture of how bleak his family’s life was when they immigrated to North America but he omits the part where in a generation or two they were absorbed into the mainstream of society and the story is the same whether they came from Ireland, Italy, Greece or any other European country. The opposite is true for those whose ancestors came from the “Dark continent” it has been a continuing fight to obtain basic necessities of education, equity and justice no matter how many generations they have lingered in North America .

Lawson and the others have been blessed with what a friend of mine terms “nature’s passport” and they are beneficiaries of “white privilege” on an ongoing basis.

24. if natures passport is a synonym for work ethic…thank you ….I think I have probably had the strap more from the nuns than any of you have been whipped by a plantation owner so lets move on. I don’t think all people become cops to exterminate blacks, become priests to fondle children to become politicians to feather there own nests etc sure there are a few bad apples.
    Trust me we have been lucky coming to Canada when we did, we came as immigrants didn’t jump the que as refugees because as bad economically as things were in the uk its much worse around the world. But life isn’t easy here 50 below,50ft of snow wearing parkas and balaclavas 6 months of the year how can you possibly compare us to you when you only wear balaclavas once a month.

25. @ David | December 4, 2014 at 7:08 AM; “…we have a country using a grand jury system that is most secretive. No transparency.”

Actually David the secrecy is a very good thing. It allows the authorities to develop the probable cause for an indictment without concern for witness tampering/hostile public. A free unfettered first step.

Because the grand jury process is but the first step in a possible trial the the secrecy itself will be irrelevant if the case goes to court as then all evidence will be open to the public (of course unless otherwise directed by the courts).

But that said, as a layman I find the system of a grand jury rather convoluted and the fact that many other countries no longer use it is instructive. But my knowledge is poor so maybe the reasons are stronger than I realize.

It’s essentially the preliminary hearing phase done before a jury (no judge) rather than either the prosecutor taking the evidence and in the company of his team making the decision to bring an indictment, or doing a prelim hearing before a judge.

26. @Dee Word

The grand jury system is a joke because as seen so many times it is manipulated by the Prosecutor. This becomes apparent when matters under investigation involves the police.

On Thursday, 4 December 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

27. @Easy
    Actually some women should be blamed for Domestic Abuse because they are ABUSING Psychologically and sometimes physically! It is NOT always as it seems, the detail of each situation determines the verdict.

NO black peeps should not be blamed for White Racism just like white peeps should not be blamed for blacks who think ALL whiteys are the same. NB loads of whites turned out to protest in NYC!

Supporting of POs is NOW RACIST?????????????????? Let’s shoot any PO on sight starting today they are intervening in too much criminal activity!
    F the laws, some segments of society want their own LAW! SOOO segregate and manage your own country/ county where those who want to be there live there.
    SEt aside part of NYC to be the real ZOOYORK!
    Peeps who want to live within the Legal system continue on.

YES much work is needed to solve GENUINE Policing and Justice Problems!

28. @Lawson: “Barbados is a black force …how is it on the island ..can good suggestions on policing come out of your experience?”

With respect to Commissioner and his team not sure how much our Royal B’dos PF could provide as guidance.

I believe it was Mr Dompey who mentioned here previously about their propensity to beat convictions out of perps. Unfortunately so true.

Back as a wee lad I used to be around James Street church on Saturdays for club meetings and so on. In the back of the church yard one would be adjacent to rooms in Central and boy the cries we would hear back there. Licks like peas.

Obviously things have changed much since then…just saying.

29. @ Money…

You have a seemingly indefatigable spirit. More power to you.

Do you really think you will budge Easy off his stance?

Your views, like most of us here, display a very strong bias to one side but also an ability to swerve over as the situation demands to avoid an obvious head-on collision (sometimes, LOL).

Easy drives on one side of the road – does it rather beautifully and interestingly with his rhythm poetry blog method, I would say – but he drives that side only.

Get out of his way or he will absolutely run you over. He does NOT swerve.

But maybe I am mistaken.

30. After these last barrage of highly suspicious deaths of unarmed black men at the hands of white police officers ac i more convinced that these actions are remeninscence of the days of Kkk an with a high probabilty that some of these officers fears are tied to KKK indoctrination

31. @Dee
    Just doing what i stated, trying to broaden his perspective as he imbibes not so nutritious brain ‘food” somewhat exclusively. Sometimes i have to go much further in the opposite direction to even where i want to be for impact.
    If he does not learn more latitude in his thinking WHO will it hurt MORE? It surely wont impact me negatively.

32. @ac
    YES the KKK are EVERYWHERE! So are bogeymen, ghosts, DUPPIES for sure etc!
    Where is God when we need him?
    Police are ALL KKK! POs are never stressed by criminal activity, gun totting/ shootings nothing so—-there were no bullets flying during the Ferguson protests that was KKK!
    How does BS speculation help solve the real problems that do exist????

If the KKK had infiltrated NYC and other major city PDs how come black officers are NOT screaming from the rooftops?

33. I am surprised at the lack of empathy on BU for Eric Garner a fellow asthmatic.

It is bad enough to be choked unconscious but worse is that no effort was made to perform cpr while waiting for an ambulance.

I had near death experience during an asthma attack 25 years ago. Maybe that elevated my level of empathy for Eric Garner who did not deserve to die.

34. I am here watching new video on CNN. I hope you all get to watch them.

35. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Money

Are You are Dee Doing a GP and Zoe a Double Act with two jerks agreeing being one and same

Support Law Enforcement Bumper Stickers are sold when Cops Kill Kids in USA and Racists Hold Up Signs in Background on TV News saying same

Al Sharpton has been supporting Victims Families for 30 Years

It is time for Whites to Fix their Racism and to Shut Up Lying and Making White Noise

36. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

It is time for White Scum to shut up spouting about Black Racism when White Racism and White Propaganda are being parroted 24/7/365

37. easy squeeze (make no sense) people like you are the worst of all, you want to agitate rather try and find a common ground. Somebody better get lenins embalmer’s secret recipe if you plan on dragging Sharpton out for another 30 years man he looks near death.

38. @Easy
    It is time for ALL to has this out and make improvements for sure BUT it is NOT one sided and even if it were, your methodology will NOT work.

Discussion—honest, all the facts etc the total situation, facts like 80% of interracial murders are black on white NOT vice-versa. Naturally, from your perspective that is only a good start, correct? However, it is not the basis for intelligent solutions.

If the oppression from whitey was the only problem in the black community then how come Liberia has not worked so well and why did’nt more peeps go there? NOT aware of major demand!

STOP all PO/ PD support as they are all really KKK! Anyway the Civil Racial War is about to start so who wants the Popo anyway!

There is much to be dealt with but coming to the table spoiling for a fight and being one sided WILL and cant resolve anything. The World just does NOT work so!
    When you next talk to Al, tell him to pay the IRS the $3mn he owes it could be put to good use in the community!

39. Moneybrain

The reason Liberia hasn’t workout as one would have hope, stems from the fact that the ex- American- slave took his master’s ideology of suppression and mistreated the indigenous Liberian, as the white man had done to him. Are you not aware of the fact that the late President of Liberia Samuel Doe, was the first native Liberian to governed Liberia since the American slaves founded that country in 1847? Do you not know that the Liberian of indigenous decent was historically faced with economic and political marginalization by the Americo Liberian elites, until Doe overthrow the government in 1980?

40. @domps
    My point is that the concept of a country run by blacks or Africans that is somehow perfect is a MIRAGE.( true for all races too! dont forget Humans are Animals)

Barbados is a sickening example where in the last 10-20 years corruption has become rife and black “leaders” have not been overly concerned about the black peeps of lesser power. Certainly solid black citizens in Canada are much better off. The fact that most violent crime comes from Jammies and Somalis does not add positively to some peoples concept of black peeps in TO which is a pity.

41. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

http://youtu.be/JSuUY2S5qOU

Funny how the scum who failed the psychometric testing for racism by regurgitating propaganda for discrimination are the same ones proposing that we need to listen to their solutions when they already lost credibility and have proven themselves not even worth responding to or engaging with. These People who claim to be solving issues are really stirring shit up.

42. Moneybrian, you ought to look at the historical unfolding of the conduct of the Somalian people, in order to understand in a comprehensive way, the forces which given rise to such conduct.

43. Moneybrain

You made mentioned of the Rwanda genocide last night to give force to one of your many failing arguments in support of the European many evils. And I’ve pointed out to you that the historical facts supports the findings, that the Rwanda genocide was precipitated by the Belgian favoring of the Tutsi minority because of their resemblance to the Caucasian and the marginalization of Hutu majority because of their resemblance to the Native African. Then you tried unsuccessfully to use Liberia as a staging ground to established some validity with respect to the conduct of the European, and in the process tried to demised the situation in Liberia as though it is entire the doings of the Liberians people. Brain, do you not know that Liberia was of strategic importance to the United States as Angola was to the Soviet Union during the Cold War? So quite naturally, America to a lesser or a greater extent has had some influenced in the social, political and economic affairs of Liberia.

44. @domps
    So what about the Bajan situation, formerly one of the best run black countries, highly intelligent peeps who are quite well educated and the poorer blacks getting rob blind??????????????? WHY???
    No doubt MUST BE Whitey’s evil, afterall no other group has been touched by evil?
    If you believe that, then you can NOT believe in God because how come the most evil have been given the most prosperity, most happiness, most—.

45. Barbados is a sickening example where in the last 10-20 corruption has rifle”

Moneybrain, you ought not to insult my intelligence because anyone with a minimum amount of common-sense knows that there isn’t any country on the face of the earth without some measure of Corruption. From Nigeria which by all intents and purposes is considered the most corrupted country on earth, to America with is the least corrupted. Brain, the former Governor of state of Connecticut John Rowland, is heading to federal prison to serve a lengthy sentence for corruption. The former Mayor of Hartford Connecticut Eddie Perez is in federal prison serving a lengthy sentence for corruption.

46. @Domps
    Dont forget the former Mayor of Detroit Kwame? A now BANKRUPT major US City! Nor forget Marion Barry nor???????????????????

Yes but Barbados was one of the least corrupt Nations on Earth 40 years ago! The others were always corrupt! Anyway i care more about what effects BIM! The hardworking black peeps there DONT DESERVE to be ill treated by greedy Pols! Do you think our bretheren deserve that??????????????????

I am for stamping out Evil all around, as Evil does NOT have a race, just VICTIMS of every race!

47. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

“If you believe that, then you can NOT believe in God because how come the most evil have been given the most prosperity, most happiness, most.”

Are you one of Jesus’ / Horus’ or Satan’s disciples

If God created Man in his image, what colour was the original man
    Check up Bible about money and God’s Kingdom and Jesus’ Disciples
    http://youtu.be/vBIsujRdhTs

48. Moneybrain

I might be wrong but correct me if you wish Brain, but I thought I heard you a few days ago speaking about Mayor Marion Barry crack smoking escapade? But here is a better one Moneybrain, Waterbury Connecticut Republican Mayor Philip Giordano; a white guy of course, is serving a lengthy prison sentence for sexually molested a 10 as well as an 8 old year girl brought to by a prostitute and while he was in office. I kid you not Brain.

49. @ Money Brain
    …since you brought it up, there are many who argue that the genesis of the failure of governance in Barbados has been the behind-the-scenes influence of many “white shadows”.
    The incidences of blatant political bribery, economic blackmail, and open treason (as in the case of white owners taking all possible steps to ensure that their businesses did not pass into local black hands) are well documented.
    TRUE….the low-class political dog shiite that we have elected to lead us have been ready and willing victims to be manipulated. …. and many of the influential blacks that COULD have made a difference, sold their souls for meaningless titles, postings and positions. …..but the DRIVING force for decay has principally been the hidden agenda of these white shadows…

…..and don’t play you don’t know what Bushie is talking about….. Your own father sold out to foreigners and ran off – rather than invest in the future of Barbados….

In the final analysis, Barrow may have made a fatal mistake when he failed to “encourage” all those who really did not feel “Barbadian” to head to Australia after independence. Too many stayed, succeeded financially, sabotaged the country from the fringes…. and THEN ran off to Canada, USA and Australia anyway….

What is your take on this perspective…?