Submitted by Rickford Burke, President, Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID)

I applaud President Obama for the bold reforms to the nation’s broken immigration system, albeit temporary. Immigration reform does not only impact our Latino brothers and sisters. Hundreds of thousands of immigrants from the Caribbean, South America and Africa now qualify for relief from the threat of deportation and will become eligible for lawful employment.
Almost all undocumented immigrants from the Caribbean and Guyana enter the United States lawfully but overstayed their visas and thus are out of status. A large percent has children and/or spouses who are either US citizens or permanent residents. Thousands more arrived before their sixteenth birthday but are ineligible for DACA because they are currently above age thirty-one. They have all lived here for a long time – decades in some cases, and are law abiding. America is their home. They deserve a shot at the American dream. Thanks to President’s initiates, they can now emerge from the shadows to pursue that dream, once they pass a criminal background check and pay any back taxes accrued.
This is a historic day for America – A nation of immigrants. Millions of families will remain united and millions of people will without fear begin to contribute to society and the US treasury. Economists forecast that this could boost GDP by over $1 trillion.
Republicans are not only opposing President Obama. They are attacking the relatives of millions of US citizens who vote, as well as millions of US permanent residents who will soon become voters. When these millions of Americans go to the polls to exercise their franchise, they will remember who stood with them and fought to keep their families united and who fought to tear their families and the nation apart!

653 responses to “President Obama’s Immigration Reform Initiatives…”
Bim WINS bowling out GUY for 66!!!!
Both teams are JOKERS!!!!
@MB
It should be obvious the problem is underpinned by racial tension based on the manifestations. Even White Democrats and Republicans alike blame race as one of the reasons Obama has failed to garner bipartisan support. The evidence is clear, the USA has a race relations problem. Deal with it!
really?
MoneyBrain | December 1, 2014 at 11:11 AM |
@Sarge
BO should probably just contract out the Resolving to the BU Community ex the whitey and Uncle Tom’s of course!
i agree with you whole heartedly
what is funny is that the BU Community can not solve the maladies in BARBADOS, BUT THEY MEDDLING IN STUFF IN THE US THAT DONT REALLY CONCERN THEM
WHITEY STILL IN CONTROL IN BARBADOS DESPITE THE BLACK FACADE
BARE MOCK SPORT IN THE VIRTUAL RUM SHOP
NEXT THE JACKASS WILL BRAY
GOOD DAILY ENTERTAINMENT
Forget guns ,black man cant walk down street with hands in pockets…..well they must have some pretty long arms.
What about the Bosnian they just killed with a hammer don’t see anybody up in arms about those thugs.
What about the dumb ram players, if I was a cop I would not show up for crowd control for any of their games then watch them cry
A house built on a poor foundation will fail, they can put lipstick on this pig all they want but that video says it all
RE Even White Democrats and Republicans alike blame race as one of the reasons Obama has failed to garner bipartisan support.
THIS IS CONCENTRATED BULLSHIT
OBAMA COULD NOT BE PRESIDENT IF WHITE FOLK DID NOT VOTE FOR HIM EN MASSE
HOPE AND CHANGE MY REAR
@Lawson
What a silly comment.
Ignore the problem but hear this, it is real for Black peoples everywhere, not only residents, who have to visit the US for pleasure or business and the real possibility lurks that a White policeman with all his biases may misread a situation. The BU household supports all who are using their prominence to bring attention to the scourge, this includes the Ram players.
Well David to perpetuate a myth, that was proven false by forensics is bullshit, no-one said there aren’t problems but to try and make this guy out as an angel is nonsense. If a cop shot white kids before they got into a school with a gun I would be saying the same thing ….good job . Making decisions in fractions of seconds are not always going to be right. But like someone said earlier it is easy being right 100% of the time with no fear while sitting in comfort and safety of your own home The only thing the rams can do that is stupider is not to apologize or hire ray rice. Support your police it is a thankless job.
The point dear Lawson is that Fegusson was the tipping point used to give voice to the racial tension simmering in White America.
On Monday, 1 December 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:
You my friend, haven’t enough of an historical understand of race relations in America to advance an opinion based solely on the superficiality of this shooting. Your failure I believe stems from the fact that you have failed to put this incident in the wider historical context of race relations in America.
@ Money B
Boss man …. you are putting Bushie in the painful position of having to agree wholeheartedly with an NCO…. shiite man, …how can you be so unreasonable?
Can you imagine how the Sarge will parade on Bushie…?
next thing you know Colonel Buggy promoting him to Lt…
Look Money B, why don’t you just accept that you don’t get it (like everyone else) and let this drop nuh….?
There is NO WAY that you can fully grasp what it is like to be black in the USA …or in Barbados for that matter…. ESPECIALLY to be talented or bright or rich ….and be black.
wuh…even your comments here betray your subconscious fundamental ontological framework of black /white relationships……when for example you summarize the issue as ‘whites accepting blacks as their equal’ or words to that effect.
This clearly presumes a situation of de-facto white superiority with blacks now somehow being considered for equality….
THIS IS NOT THE FUNDAMENTAL PROBLEM AT ALL…..and so, any such approach is doomed to failure….(as has been the case so far)
Indeed, the problem is not even really a ‘white’ problem, and again CANNOT be solved (or even understood) by whites (you included).
Racism is really a black problem.
It is akin to what happens to brass bowls when, not appreciating their true value and worth, they allow themselves to become tarnished and dirty, and then get used for all the dirty jobs, …get pissed on, ….used as “topsies” and generally disrespected.
Who yuh going blame?…. the “pissers” and “shitters”?
How to solve the problem…..
Can you see now why Bushie is so pissed with Sir Cave Hilary?
We need to bring the brass bowls to a TRUE AND PROPER understanding of their history and VALUE…. of their potentialities….of their glorious future…..
We must NOT strive to be just like the pissers and shitters…..NOR must we sit around and wait for the pissers and shitters to have pity on us and ask us kindly to become pissers and shitters ….. On WHOM will we dump anyhow….?
The solution is a matter of TRUE education and REAL leadership….. not mendicancy and begging reparations….
LET US FIX THE PROBLEM WITH BLACKS KILLING BLACKS
IS THIS NOT IMPORTANT TOO?
MORE BLACKS KILLING BLACKS THAN POLICE KILLING BLACKS
NUFF BLACKS KILLING WHITES IN FL DAILY
David I understand it was the tipping point, all I am saying wait a week there will be a better case to hang your hat on. When you want the white on the fence populace to support your cause it has to be righteous, this is not the case that can carry the day. Just like any fruit from the forbidden tree anything that comes from this death will always be tainted.
President Obama was elected president thanks to the Hispanic electorate who traditionally votes Republican because of their Roman Catholic values, but who decided to vote democratic in great numbers because of the Republican Party position on immigration. Mr. Obama was also fortunate to capture the African American, young white vote, the female vote, and the gay and lesbian vote, but was unable to capture of vote of the middle age white American.
BLACKS KILLING BLACKS IN BARBADOS DAILY
WE CANT FIX THAT BUT WE ON BU TALKING SHITE BOUT WHITES KILLING BLACK BOYS IN THE USA WHEN IT CAN NOT BE DISPUTED THAT MORE BLACKS KILL BLACKS IN CHICAGO DAILY THAN WHITE POLICE KILL BLACK BOYS
IT IS OK FOR BLACKS TO KILL BLACKS IN BARBADOS OR CHICAGO BUT A WHITE POLICE MAN OUGHT NOT TO KILL A BLACK THUG WHO BEATS UP ON OLD FOLK INTER ALIA
What about the Hispanics in Florida who are killing whites, blacks and in between? Why haven’t you made much mention of that? I think I know why but I am going out on a limb here, is it because you’re an Uncle Tom?
@Lawson
The very definition of tipping point means just that, an action that precipitated a bigger action.In other words it was not a scenario where coldly calculating thought was exercised. Both sides are learning from the experience and this can only be a good thing.
@Bushie
Good points.
On the accepting of blacks, my point was that the white disposition on the race relations situation should be more amenable at this point in history since there are so many known and indeed beloved black peeps in the public domain. Nothing else meant or inferred. Opportunity for improvement is there, plain and simple.
The truth is that most US white people dont have to interact with blacks, so leading otherwise busy lives, dont spend too much time on the race relations subject.
One of the very critical problems is that too many black peeps actually seem to feel inferior, lack confidence that they can succeed and this stops them in their tracks. It is not just a black problem as it afflicts some in every race. It has to be hammered home that anyone in the US can do very well as has been proven by many black peeps who make a decision to pursue success relentlessly. Last night saw a black lady on 60 Mins who is in charge of the WFP (World Food Program) now focused on feeding the refugees from Syria in Jordan. This lady appeared very competent had been at VP level in a FoodCo and was very enthusiastic/ innovative/ thoughtful in solving the problems.
Oh shut up sir. Because Hispanics are caught up in the criminal justice system just as much as blacks in America, but no one seems to make mention of that fact.
Good riddance to wilson one less racist pig on the street
Moneybrain
“The true is that most U.S White people don’t have to interact with black people” and do not spent too much time on the race relation subject. SO YOU THINK!
I don’t know how to explain this to you sir, but America is a race conscious society brother. And to be quite honest with you Brian: the reason why most white Americans avoid the subject of race all together , stems from the fact that many of them feel a sense of guilt and shame for has happened to the black man in America. And as one rapper said: “You would never find justice on stolen land.”
President Obama orders review of policing to inform an executive order to tightened policing in the US. So far so good. Body worn cameras to be mandated
Moneybrain
When you get a little time on your hands read the:
1) The Native American quantum Laws
2) The Indian Removal Act
3) The Chinese exclusive Act
4) The Japanese American Internment camps
5) The One drop Law
And then tell if America has had a history of treating its minority class with any dignity and humanity?
I know American history quite well because I have spent the last twenty years studying it Brain.
+++@David: “The point dear Lawson is that Fegusson was the tipping point used to give voice to the racial tension simmering in White America. ”
Interesting observation David,but what makes Fergusson THE tipping point rather than just one more FLASH point? There have been too many similar incidents like Fergusson that supposedly tipped things. Yet here we still are.
+++You also mentioned: “The evidence is clear, the USA has a race relations problem. Deal with it!”
But of course you omitted the word ‘STILL’.
The US has ALWAYS had a race relations problem. ALWAYS David. From that first ship from England the country started on the path of improper race relations. The descendants of native inhabitants now on the reservations give voice to that, of course.
Those with more research and intellectual gravitas have tried to confirm that the ongoing and prolonged issues with blacks stems from the fact that whites can’t get over the fact that we were slaves and absolutely subservient to them and blacks can’t get over THAT WTF fact: our ancestors were slaves and were subservient here in the US.
So, here I make a Grand Canyon leap of logic and imbibe the BUSH TEA, bitter taste not withstanding: [Race relations] is really a black problem. It is akin to … not appreciating their true value and worth…”
Back to my brother Bob rant a few posts back: Emancipate Yourself from Mental Slavery!
We alone (principally, I should say) have the power to make race issues the mere obnoxious or petty. What do I mean by petty. In ANY county/city in US there will always be districts of mainly Chinese, or West Indians, Italian, Russians etc. That type of basic thing.
That does not absolve whites of being a part of the solution of course but like a bad tax, the incidence hits our youth harder and we need to address fixing the problem to save ourselves.
I jokingly asked my wife this morn: “are you ready for the race riots”. She didn’t see the humor. Yeah, I realized how right she was. Not a joking matter.
Barbados – 25 homicides in 2013,
Terrible stat since TO with more than 10 X the population had 50-60.!
Ib Barbados, Six murders involving the use of firearms this year
how many whites kill blacks in Barbados this year?
were not the blacks in Bim slaves too?
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/60126/shooting-bay-street
Yea whites constitute 1% of the population of Barbados. Whereas whites in America constitutes 74% of the population here fool. What the big deal? Some fifty years ago in America white guys used to use black guys for target practiced, and around the same time white Barbadian used to shoot down black Barbadians claiming them to be monkeys.
@Dee Word
Tipping point because of the nationwide reaction and the executive reaction.
David but because of this learning curve 60 businesses are gone God knows how many people out of work the town never to be the same. Driven by outsiders who maybe more interested in a chance to draw attention to the bigger picture even if they have to promote a myth.
Drive by shooting at black rock ….police are looking for a suspect who doesn’t own a cell phone.
@lawson
Yes and your point? Criminality in Barbados does not change the fact there is a race relations issue the US has to deal.
++@Lawson: “What about the dumb ram players, …A house built on a poor foundation will fail, they can put lipstick on this pig all they want …”
The players were bringing further awareness to a major issue and giving clear notice that they are willing to use their elevated public pedestal to continue the discourse on this matter.
Yes their action was provocative, but a man is dead so we are a bit past an issue of provocation.
As strident as you are re the need to follow authority – about which I completely agree with you, as anarchy does not appeal to me – there are issues on the other side. Too many cops have shown a clear propensity to be as violent and criminally minded as their perps. And as racists as their perps, too.
+Too many cops have been caught lying to defend their fellow cops’ criminality ( as above, how can a colleague maintain a blue line of silence on something like that)
One columnist speaking back in 2007 about NY and that incident said it thus: “This city has two police forces:one small and horrible, and one great and noble. People see the uniform and figure all cops are part of the horror. That’s not true.”
Same for the USA generally, as there are a lot of really great police officers who give their best everyday. And there are also many more of those sociopaths and badly hinged folk (black and white) wearing uniforms, too.
If I may paraphrase your remarks: you can put a lotta lipstick on a pig but often you can’t change that smell.
It’s that smell that black folks get a whiff of!
(No disrespect generally to you police officers out there, Cheers to the many formidable men and women who serve with valor daily.)
Go and read the Rosewood Massacre GP. And you will ascertain a better understanding of black rage in America. Because not too far from where you now reside there in Florida, the racist’s whites many moons ago burned the black community of Rosewood to the ground killing men, women and children. So I am sorry to say, but the white man in America is reaping what he has sowed in the past. HE YET TO PAY FOR WHAT HE HAS DONE TO THE NATIVE AMERICAN.
My point goes back to what I said earlier, I can see a race problem, whether it is white or black ,indian, or Asian but one thing I don’t like is to have it shoved down my throat using an iffy case at best to promote the cause. Like most educated people with no dog in the fight I blindly wont rally to your cause whether you see this as a tipping point or not… if what is being promoted is based on a lie..From day one the battle cry has been arms in the air don’t shoot, which has been proven to be not true but I haven’t once heard any black person say that because it suits their agenda ..shame
@lawson
Does it matter what is the flash / tipping point if you admit there is a race problem?
Georgie Porgie/ Moneybrain
THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS JUSTICE ON STOLEN LAND.
President Andrew Jackson signed the Indian Removal Act into law; forceful removing the Native Americans from the fertile lands of Georgia, North and South Carolina and pushed them into the cold Midwest to make way for the white man.
Yes…is this the hill you want to die on? Like the boy that cried wolf at every shooting after a while this just becomes white noise. David you are now the third most populace race in the US it wont belong before you are fourth the whites know they just have to wait you out till you become a fringe voice Pick and choose tipping points wisely
http://radio.foxnews.com/2014/11/27/black-ferguson-residents-protecting-white-owned-business/
But, one must question why ”Reuters reports they also had a run-in with the Missouri National Guard, who mistook took them for looters.”
On what basis did the NG form the opinion initially???
Ahem….
It is the smaller stories like these that really show the truth.
Blacks and Native Americans know their history, so their rage in my estimation is justified, irrespective of your poor grasp of African American history.
@Dompey
Humans been fighting each other within their own races, classes, borders etc. throughout history. Humans are ANIMALS! It is not good but it is true. Obviously it was not right for Whites to beat up on Native Americans and take their lands. Now that I own a home in TO I am sure not going to hand it back to natives because it was their land! (with regrets and sympathy of course)
Right now there are black Pols and their friends that are STEALING Land in Bim from less powerful blacks. Also WRONG! It is not a black thing, it is a human GREED fact.
People think that Europeans should NOT have ever beat up on the mainly Muslim Mid East. What would have happened if the Ottoman Muslims had NOT been beaten at the gates of Vienna , Austria in 1862! They were the aggressors.
Ignormus trying to educate black people about racism..fuh us if it walks like a duck , quack like a duck, it is a duck and wilson and his cohorts fits the criteria.
there is more racism in Barbados than there is in the USA or there was in South Africa under apartheid
we forget belleville strathclyde spartan cricket club(black vs black racism) etc
Gergie Porgie ( lil girlie ) no body fuhget nuttin.. but its people like u who say that wunna black always trying to throw all kind of sh,te in the mix to support wunna elongated make belief concocted theories implicating blacks as provocateurs of their own undoing, when most of the facts for black on black crime clearly indicates that an equality was the trigger that led to a downward spiral forcing blacks to live in deplorable conditions and as result have some advocating anti establishment even at their own peril.
There is more racism in Barbados than there is in the U.S or there was in South Africa under apartheid. You need to stick to your medical terminologies because you’re drifting towards the shoreless seas of space brother. And I am confident that the Barbadian people are sensible enough not to entertain your bullshite for information.
who killed the blacks in bim this weekend ? whites?
there is more racism in Barbados than there is in the USA or there was in South Africa under apartheid
we forget belleville strathclyde spartan cricket club(black vs black racism) etc
NOW THE DLP IS LEADING THE RACISM AGAINST BLACK PEOPLE IN BARBADOS
THE DLP APARTHEID WORSE THAN THE RACISM IN DE OLD TIME DAYS
little girl georgia porgie, yuh need to understand what are the causes and driving factors compounding black on black crime,, ,not the same as white cops with an institutionalized “fear” instilled and rooted out of years of bigotry and racist attitudes which now is manifesting( itself) with the most horrific criminal activity supported by racist laws built into the USA judicial system with enough political power and protectionism sufficiently (so) allowing police officers in the line of duty to actively unload their fire arms from a fleeing unarmed mostly blacks suspect .
I DONT HAVE TO UNDERSTAND A THING
I HAVE UNDERSTOOD ALL THAT I HAD TO UNDERSTAND ALREADY
I REALLY DONT GIVE TO HOOTS IF THEY KILL ALL DE NIGGAS IN THE USA OR VICE VERSA
MOST US NIGGAS ARE STUPID AND THEY DONT HAVE ANYONE LIKE MANDELA TO HELP THEM
YOU CAN CONTINUE TO RANT AND RAVE WHILE I MOCK YOU
WILSON WILL GET HIS PENSION OF SOME SORT
THE NIGGA THUG IS IN DE GROUND ah lie?