New York Caribbean Institute says President Obama should implement immigration reform by executive action despite republican intransigence.

Rickford Burke

BROOKLYN: The nation’s immigration system is broken. There are over twelve million undocumented immigrants living in the US. An overwhelming majority has US born children, lead crime-free, productive lives and pay taxes. This includes millions of Caribbean and South American nationals. It is imperative that President Obama immediately implements bold, far-reaching and fair changes to the nation’s immigration policies. Under the Constitution he has extant authority, as head of the executive branch of government, to use prosecutorial  discretion to prioritize and or defer deportations, and to issue employment authorization to eligible foreign nationals. Everyday that passes, thousands of hard-working, otherwise law abiding immigrants are deported for being out of status. Consequently, thousands of minor children are tempestuously separated from their parents and thousands of families are recklessly disbanded or destroyed without justification. It appears that immigrants who have lived here for an extended period as well as those with US born children are potential categories who will receive relief under the measures being contemplated by the White House, according to sources. This would be a win, win situation for the United States. Millions of families will remain united and millions of individuals will become tax payers.  This will undoubtedly boost the US economy. A 2013 White House study showed that “Immigration Reform” would boost GDP by $1.4 trillion dollars.

Such relief will however be temporary. Ultimately, meaningful and permanent reform will have to be enacted via the legislative process. Republicans cannot hope to deport their way out of the nation’s immigration morass. Clearly extremist Republicans in Congress believe immigration reform would not be beneficial to the Republican Party. This is why they continue to refuse to put the bipartisan bill that was passed by the Senate to a simple up or down vote in the House and some Republican State and national leaders continue to make a plethora of racist comments about immigrants. There must therefore be massive, nation-wide mobilization to force Republicans in Congress to act. Republicans are protecting their political interest. President Obama must now act in the nation’s best interest.

72 responses to “Obama Should Implement Immigration Reform by Executive Action”

1. Georgie Porgie

Doesn’t GP speaks as though he is a Republican? All he needs now is to paint himself white and start referring to Black people as Niggers.lol
    Oh lordie!

2. @David November 20, 2014 at 6:46 PM “Media Advisory Congresswoman Yvette D. Clarke and Congressman Hakeem Jeffries to Hold Press Conference on President Obama’s Executive Order to Protect Five Million Americans From the Threat of Deportation”

David you know that a country CANNOT deport its own citizens right?

Even though a country can make its citizens, or a portion of them so miserable, think that portion of African American men who are incarcerated at some point of their lives,some say it is up to 40% so an African American boy has an almost 50/50 chance of being imprisoned once he becomes an adult. Scary, scary, scary. Think Ferguson right now, that some citizens up and leave and go to a place where they have another citizenship, or they up and leave and become stateless. Unfortunately these 2 options are seldom available to African American men, especially to those who have already had a criminal conviction. Neither Canada nor Mexico will take them as permanent residents if they have been convicted, and American is separated from the rest of the world by 2 massive oceans so for those who might want to leave land based migration is impossible.

Countries can and do also deport parents who are illegally present and the minor children of such parents have a Hobson’s choice. Remove themselves from their country of birth, often for a decade or more until they reach their majority, or be separated from their parents sometimes for a decade or more. And the things which can be done to a child separated from its parents are of course unspeakable.

But the long and short of it is that a country CANNOT deport its own citizens.

3. Georgie Porgie

Stupid, we’re cognizant of the fact the Mr. Obama hasn’t lived up to what he had promised. But more importantly, we’re also aware of the narrow- minded politics of the Republican Party, which is and has been designed to undermine Mr. Obama’s every move. And as a member of our race, we ought and must point out his shortcomings, but in such a way as to be mindful as his position as a man of color in a predominately white society.

4. @Domey November 20, 2014 at 8:43 PM “You just ask Simple Simon because he sees things as I do, with an international eye. It is your choice to stay enclaved in your little backwards paradise, if you so choose ignorant.

Actually Dompey, Georgie Porgie lives in the USA with you, and I am the one who lives in the “enclaved little backwards paradise”

Just sayin’

5. Simple Simon

Well, that obviously confirms my suspicion Simon. The old dog is a Republican because spews the same rhetoric on the left of evil.

6. @Georgie Porgie November 20, 2014 at 8:37 PM “donkey…what is tentes?”

Man!!! Georgie Porgie you know very well that Dompey meant tenets, which according to Wikipedia “is one of the principles on which a belief or theory is based” Thanks Wikipedia.

Why you don’t leave Dompey alone. As the late Joe Tudor used to say let the man “talk ‘e talk”

7. HOW YOU KNOW WHAT I KNOW OR MEAN
    I DONT HAVE A REAL OR PSEUDO DLITT

HE SAID TENTES AND I ASKED “donkey…what is tentes?”
    WHY DONT YOU LEAVE ME ALONE AND LET ME TALK MY TALK?

8. The Republicans rejected Hilary’s version of Health care when Bill was President, they rejected Obama’s version which was a modified version of what Romney implemented in Massachusetts. Even Romney rejected his own version when he ran against Obama and so far the Republicans haven’t been able to come up with any replacement for Obamacare. They want to repeal it but when they are asked what they will replace it with they have no answers.

I can’t understand how come a man is called an Emperor and the next day he is a wimp, a man who is a King and the next day a courtier and he is called these things by the same people. Health Care costs is responsible for 60% of personal bankruptcies in the USA, the Republicans like it so. They like to hire the illegals so that can pay less than minimum wage so they can reap excess profits, BTW they are against raising the minimum wage too. I am not sure what the Republicans are for but there are a litany of things that they are against.

They rejected GW Bush call to pass a bill with comprehensive Immigration reform, so they tried to bully the wimp by saying he would “poison the well” if he went ahead and acted on his own, never mind that they had already laced the well with strychnine, the wimp ignored them and punched them in the nose that’s how yuh deal with bullies.

The wimp tried to turn the other cheek for six years, too bad he was afraid to expose the “angry black man” side of his character.

Better late than never.

9. SARGEANT
    THE BRITISH HAVE A GOOD HEALTHCARE SYSTEM THAT WORKS
    IN BARBADOS WE HAVE A GOOD SYSTEM THAT WORKS WHICH I DESIGNED
    IN ST LUCIA THEY HAVE IMPLEMENTED MY IMPROVED VERSION OF MY 1985 MODEL- IT WORKS WELL
    THERE IS NO SERIOUS HEALTH INSURANCE IN NONE OF THEE COUNTRIES

IN THESE COUNTRIES WHEN YOU ARE ILL YOU CAN GET TREATED THE SAME DAY IF YOU GO TO THE CORRECT FACILITY

THE AMERICANS NEED TO UNDERSTAND THAT HEALTH CARE AND HEALTH INSURANCE ARE NOT THE SAME

IN THE USA YOU HAVE TO WAIT FOR EONS TO BE SEEN BY A DR EVEN THOUGH YOU HAVE THE BEST INSURANCE

WHETHER IT IS HILARY’S VERSION, ROMNEYS VERSION OR OBAMACARE—THERE ARE ALL SHIT!

FOLK WHO LIVE IN THE USA- REAL FOLK CAN SEE THAT IT IS SHIT!
    IT IS SHIT FOR THE DRS IT IS SHIT FOR THE PATIENTS.

ANY ONE WITH A BRAIN THE SIZE OF A PEA WHO UNDERSTANDS WHAT HEALTHCARE IS ABOUT CAN DESIGN A PROPER SYSTEM OF HEALTHCARE. THEY JUST NEED SENSIBLE LEADERSHIP TO GET IT IMPLEMENTED AS TROTMAN DID IN BIM IN 85

THE GREATEST COUNTRY IN THE WORLD EVER? HUH ?

10. RE Health Care costs is responsible for 60% of personal bankruptcies in the USA,

THIS IS TRUE AND IS RELATED TO INSURANCE AND GRAFT AND GREED

IT CAN NOT COST 32,000 US TO BE SEEN IN ER TO DIAGNOSE A RENAL STONE SET UP A DRIP AND THEN DO UNNECESSARY SCANS.

IT CAN NOT COST 2000 TO RUN ON A THRED MILL FOR 1 MINUTE

THIS IS NOT HEALTH CARE….THIS IS BULL SHIT

HEALTHCARE IN THE USA IS BULLSHIT STARTING FROM THE WAY DRS ARE TRAINED

HOW CAN FOLK EXPECT TO LEARN ANATOMY OR PATHOLOGY ETC IN 12 WEEK COURSES?

11. @ GP,
    Take a look at the article below. It confirms what I have known for decades and that is the USA really is the devil reincarnated. It remains the most dangerous country on mother earth.

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/jul/17/nhs-taken-over-wall-street-cameron-health-service-privatisation

12. Exclaimer | November 22, 2014 at 6:37 PM |
    THIS IS AWFUL
    As you can discern the Brits are selling out to the Insurance companies that abuse Americans with their “HEALTHCARE INSURANCE”

The first time I visited the UK, my host took me from Heathrow to the Hospital had just been admitted. I was able to talk to the doctor, and she was on the ball.
    The child developed a fever that morning, was taken to hospital ER and admitted and had the correct treatment

A few weeks later a young girl in the household had abdominal pain, and the GP made a housecal and made the correct diagnosis and write a script

I was impressed by the relative speed in which these folk were treated
    As a student I spent many hours reading about the British Health service and the services in the European countries.

THE US SYSTEM IS WAY BEHIND THE BRITISH SYSTEM

THE BRITS ARE RUNNING FROM THE COST BUT NO GOOD THING IS CHEAP

13. @GP
    Where do you start? THE British and all the so called western democracies allied with the USA have a Public Health System which is truly public. The citizens of these countries accept that they will pay higher taxes or some kind of levy to ensure that they can access the Health system when the need arises. The US in contrast has privatised Health care and it is a for profit industry, juxtapose profit and health care and you know who loses.
    Obama tried to put the brakes on but there were too many compromises, for a start there should have been a single payer system but that would have a bridge too far them.

The Gov of the State where you live made his fortune as a CEO of a Health Care Company then spent a portion of it winning elected office, how can these people have the welfare of the people at heart?

14. WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT SARGE?

RE Obama tried to put the brakes on but there were too many compromises, HUH?

PEOPLE LOST THEIR HEALTH INSURANCE=HEALTHCARE
    DRS QUITTING

HEALTH CARE=INSURANCE IS MORE COSTLY
    FOLK HAVE LOST THIER DOCTORS

IT IS A MESS SARGE
    HE COULD HAVE MODELED HEALTH CARE AFTER MY/OUR MODEL OR THE ST LUCIAN IMPROVEMENT

WHAT DO I KNOW OR CARE ABOUT THE GOVERNOR OF FL
    WHAT DOES HE HAVE TO DO WITH OBAMA CARE

15. Exclaimer | November 22, 2014 at 8:00 PM |
    ARE YOU SAYING THAT THERE ARE GOVERNMENTS ELSEWHERE WITH MORONS OF THE SAME ILK AS FUMBLE STINKLIAR ET AL
    THIS ARTICLE IS OF SERIOUS IMPORT
    IT SPEAKS OF THE MARCH TO A ONE WORLD GOVERNMENT AND THE RISE OF ANTICHRIST!

16. @ GP,
    I have been issuing health warnings on the BU forum over a long period with regard to Barbados close relationships with western countries. There is a cancer – worse than ebola- which is running rampant and if left unchecked will destroy are world: neo-liberalism.

In the case of Barbados the sole purpose of Stinkliar et al. is to oil the wheels of this fascist neo-liberal philosophy.

You suggested that we are marching to a one world government? If we continue at this pace of integration as we appear to be, then I would say yes! But please lay off the biblical symbolism!

17. RE But please lay off the biblical symbolism!

SORRY I CANT
    AS A STUDENT OF THE WORD FOR SO LONG I CANT HELP BUT BE MORE AND MORE EXCITED AS ALL THE PIECES OF THE PUZZLE COME TOGETHER

18. Oh Lord!

19. Exclaimer
    wHEN BAMA CAME TO POWER AND HE WAS ON TV ALL OVER THE WORLD I WAS VERY HAPPY
    GUESS WHY?

THOUGH I KNEW THAT HE IS NOT ANTICHRIST, IT WAS CLEAR TO ME THAT THE BIBLE IS TRUE ABOUT THE RISE OF ANTICHRIST

WHEN THIS PSEUDO MAN OF PEACE ARRIVES ON THE SCENE HE WILL BE TALKING ABOUT HOPE AND CHANGE AND THE WHOLE WORLD WILL BE EXCITED, NOT REALIZING THE HELL THAT HE WILL BRING TO THE WORLD IN THE 7 YEARS OF THE TRIBULATION PERIOD

20. ok

Darren Wilson Resigns From Ferguson Police Department

FERGUSON, Mo. (AP) — The white police officer who killed Michael Brown has resigned from the Ferguson Police Department, his attorney said Saturday, nearly four months after the fatal confrontation with the black 18-year-old that fueled protests in the St. Louis suburb and across the nation.

Darren Wilson, 28, has been on administrative leave since the shooting on Aug. 9. His resignation was announced Saturday by one of his attorneys, Neil Bruntrager. The resignation is effective immediately, Bruntrager said.

A grand jury spent more than three months reviewing evidence in the case before declining in November to issue any charges against Wilson. He told jurors that he feared for his life when Brown hit him and reached for his gun.

The U.S. Justice Department is still conducting a civil rights investigation into the shooting and a separate probe of police department practices.

The shooting struck up a national debate about race and police power.

After the shooting, Wilson spent months in hiding and made no public statements. He broke his silence after the grand jury decision, telling ABC News that he could not have done anything differently in the encounter with Brown.

Wilson said he has a clean conscience because "I know I did my job right." Brown’s shooting was the first time he fired his gun on the job, he said.

Asked whether the encounter would have unfolded the same way if Brown had been white, Wilson said yes.

Wilson began his career in nearby Jennings before moving to the Ferguson job a few years ago. He had no previous complaints against him and a good career record, according to Police Chief Thomas Jackson, who called Wilson "an excellent police officer."

A few months before the shooting, Wilson had received a commendation for detaining a suspect in a drug case.

Read the whole story