Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

BU has come into possession of a list of outstanding decisions before the Barbados courts as at November 2012. It is a daunting list that in any other jurisdiction other than Barbados, would mandate that the delinquent judges be censored and their resignations demanded forthwith.

BU makes one caveat on behalf of Mr Justice Randall Worrell who is in an unenviable position not of his making. Former Chief Justice David Simmons invited Justice Worrell – a highly successful criminal counsel – on to the bench specifically to try criminal matters and therefore speed up the process of the courts, lessen remand periods etc. Once installed on the Bench, however, the Registrar persisted in scheduling civil matters, some of them extremely complex, before Justice Worrell. While at the same time, ensuring that he could not do justice to the civil matters by constantly involving him in assizes for which he had been brought on to the bench in the first place. Justice Worrell must now find the time to write his decisions in civil matters, as well as to complete part-heard matters that have commenced hearing before him, as mandated by the Administration of Justice Act Cap 109b of our laws. This is the main reason that BU has not gone after Justice Worrell for delinquency. However in the final analysis, Justice Worrell, whatever excuses can be posited on his behalfย  will ultimately find himself joined in actions under the Constitution brought by litigants against the Attorney General for breach of the constitutional rights through delay. BU is well aware that there are a number of such actions for delay…but predictably these actions for delay are themselves egregiously delayed by the incompetence and corruption of the Registrar and the Registry.

There is a good case for Marva Clarke to go the way of the Commissioner of Police. The list confirms the unacceptable scheduling methods and practices of the Registry – grounds for the dismissal of the Registrar!

What also disturbs BU is that there are decisions outstanding from Justice Lionel Greendige. Justice Greenidge RETIRED in about 2004 and has been the recipient of a judgeโ€™s pension ever since. That notwithstanding, he is required to complete and submit his judgements and he can hardly complain in retirement, of overwork โ€“ the excuse the CJ expects us to swallow for the delinquency of the rest of the judges named.

BU also fails to understand if the Court of Appeal sits for only three days a week, it cannot get its decisions out in a more timely manner. Most alarming of all, however, is that in the case of Civil Appeal No 15 and 16 of 2000 entitled Edilberto Munoz Coronel & The Superintendent of Prisons & The Attorney General and Jimmy Marques Nagles & The Superintendent of Prisons & The Attorney General, this matter still appears on the list of reserved decisions, meanwhile of the justices of appeal that heard it, Waterman AJ is retired and Williams AJ and Worrell AJ ARE DECEASED.

In addition to the list BU offers an illustrative breakdown.ย 

MADAM JUSTICE CORNELIUS

Date filed

Date last heard

Name of case

2011-01-07

Wendy Newton v The Transport Board

2011-06-02

Ibrahim Noumeh v Bhanmatie Srigobind (1st Defendant) Awad Sookram (2nd Defendant)

Pearson Leacock and the Attorney General

2011-05-05

Tyrone Bishop vs Lorna Ward

2012-11-01

Tropic Ice & Ice Holdings v MADJ & Iceberg

2010-12-16

Allan G Seale et al vs Chris McHale et al

2011-03-11

Richard Glendon Ishmael v the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Board

An alarming trend of bias in scheduling is revealed here. It has not escaped the attention of BU that money speaks loudly. We note that the least delayed of these cases are that of Allan G Seale et al vs Chris McHale et al (filed in 2010 and last heard on December 16, 2010 โ€“ how did it get heard so quickly?) AND Richard Glendon Ishmael v the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Board (filed in 2011 and almost instantly heard on March 11, 2011). This last case was highly covered by BU as it impacts on the very matter that BU family member, Old Onion Bags, is trying to use to divert attention away from Payne v Hinckson โ€“ the matter involving Dr Alfred Sparman.

We continue:

MADAM JUSTICE SONIA RICHARDS (mooned by Alair Shepherd QC)

Date filed

Date last heard

Name of case

2011-10

Ralph Smith and Marlene Smith

2010-11-26

Katrine Serieux vs Mirla Serieux

2011-09-01

Steve’s Building Works Ltd. Vs Millennium Heights Development Ltd.

2012-07-26

Woori Bank (Claimant) v New Pi (Hong Kong) Investment Co., Ltd. (First Defendant), Mountain Breeze (Barbados) SRL (Second Defendant) and Yingbo Limited (Third Defendant)

It would seem that, by the lamentable state of Barbadosโ€™ judicial standards that Madam Justice Richards is a paragon of speed and efficiency. However, in any other jurisdiction, except Barbados, this is a lamentable and unacceptable record. It also further highlights the delinquency of the Registry in setting matters down for hearing, as well as the fact that, in Barbados, access to the courts certainly appears to be the province of the wealthy. The authors of Magna Carta must be spinning in their graves.

MADAM JUSTICE CRANE SCOTT

Date filed

Date last heard

Name of case

2012-02-15

Tyrone Phillips v Barbados Port inc. Ezra Forde and Cargo Handlers

2009-11-16

Geoff Tucker vs Southwinds Hotel and Beach Club (Trading as Divi Southwinds)

2011-04-01

Keithley Boyce vs the Attorney General & Carlos Hall

ย 

Woodbank Investments Ltd First Claimant Christopher Andrew Mchale Second Claimant and Anthony Da Silva First Defendant Innotech Services Ltd Second Defendant Caribbean Lifestyles Ltd Third Defendant

2011-04-01

Host Marriott LP and SLC Recoveries Limited v John Richard Lynch

2011-04-15

Barbados National Bank Inc. and RBTT Bank Barbados Limited v Econo Shopping Inc., Pauline Anne Grant, ICE Records Limiteda and Degroot Investment Limited

Once again, the trend of prioritizing the money boys over all other litigants is very clear.

BU feels the point of has made by extracting from the list. However, BU is alarmed that, after only just taking office as CJ and having sworn to uphold the Constitution of Barbados, the CJ is listed as being one of the delinquent judges who has breached the Constitution almost as soon as he swore his oath on the Bible to uphold it. He has joined the judges in delinquent decisions running into years. He is hardly, therefore, in any position to recommend the sanction of judges for breach of the Constitution โ€“ so the buck stops at the PM. Come on, Mr. Prime Minister,ย  let us all see the size of the balls you have grown having received your own mandate from the electorate.

96 responses to “Tales From the Courts – Judges Fiddling On the Bench Assisted by Registrar Marva Clarke Part XIII”

1. Thanks for the assist Caswell.

2. old onion bags Avatar

Did you not hear ……”The judicial system is open to evabody, but justice only is for the well connected”…..(Brass Tacks commentator).

3. Cornelius has some criminal matters pending as well, such as an aggravated burglar pleading guilty early in 2012, and not yet sentenced.

4. 2002,2004?

Are we reading correctly folks?

Should this not be an alert to declare a state of emergency?

Davild Ellis, over to you!

5. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Well Well , its seems Plantation Deeds words coming to light. dont for get to add Violet Beckles in the mist of all this , I see one of the crook judges name in the paper looking to help other claim land they never bought , So much land and no owners nor family yo be found , That a fraud by it self.BU have some many crook names in this heading alone , they reach their top to cover more fraud and delay justice ..far from over,

6. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

7. @David. I am happy to say that I have just been most reliably informed that Marva Clarke has resigned as Registrar effective at either the end of this month or next month (I forget which). All I can say is “GOOD RIDDANCE!!!!!”

8. Same point we have made long ago about the decadence, incestuous nature of the society. Why are we not surprised that ‘more equal’ justice is consistently rendered to moneyed interests. Barrow was right ‘if you want justice stay out of Coleridge Street’ or a little further across.

Circa 1965, Nkrumah posited that neo-colonialism will be the final chapter in exploitative imperialism. All the signs are there for us to see. We are at the end of an age.

9. Amused, the good news is always tempered by whom she will be replaced by….

10. Now we are getting somewhere. The BU spotlight wukking…
    The commissioner was an excellent start and Marva a great number two.
    Now if we can PLEASE have the next 100 jokers (who all know who they are) do what they KNOW is right …..they will make it much easier for all of us….

BTW
    ALL WANT-TO-BE REPLACEMENTS BEWARE.
    DO NOT TAKE THESE JOBS IF YOU KNOW THAT YOU CANNOT DO JUSTICE TO THE RESPONSIBILITIES THAT COME WITH THEM.
    TO BE FOREWARNED IS TO BE FOREARMED.

Hmmmmm
    DPP rhymes with the number three….

11. Amused

We do often agree, if ever, but I join you about the news about the Registrar. When that day comes, what ever my state of health, I will sing,”O Happy Day”.

12. @Amused

Like Case we wait with baited breath. She has been a stakeholder who has failed the system and worth a separate blog when the info is confirmed.

13. @peltdownman | June 20, 2013 at 8:36 AM | A wise and prudent observation by you. I am tempted to be flip and say that almost anyone would be better, but you and I both know that with the unbelievable mess at the Registry, it is going to require a really top person who is bright, an excellent lawyer, possesses an excellent grasp of technology, has first class people skills to deal with an increasingly disgruntled public and counsel with courtesy and consideration – but most importantly is a hands-on person who will encourage the staff, but is also tough enough to fire any staff who will not do the job.

Nostalgically, I think of the days when Mr Rocheford was the Registrar. Registry staff and law firm staff and counsel had automatic right of entry to his office when the door was open โ€“ and it was mostly open. He dealt with matters with dispatch and unfailing courtesy and consideration. He would NEVER have tolerated the excuse that files had been lost, nor would he have allowed a judge to have to ask for a file so as to hear a case โ€“ it would have been there in front of the judge well in advance of the hearing of the case. And as for the scheduling of hearings, well he would not have stood for this mess for a moment. Obtaining birth, marriage and death certificates was a simple matter and probate of estates was completed within 6 weeks.

@Casewell. We do agree often. And I have never looked on disagreement as a bad thing at all โ€“ the contrary. And I must tell you that the happy day is indeed upon us. So break out the XO. I drink mine with just ice โ€“ and you might also like join me in a toke of the green green grass of home and then in an orgy of corn chips and iced cakes.

BUT, listen to the BUSHMAN, all ye who would step into these vacant shoes, like COP and Registrar and soon, with luck, DPP and 80% of the Bench. If you cannot do the job, donโ€™t take it.

14. Can anyone believe that Depeiza & McClean who never won a seat in any of Barbados Parliament having comment on DLP TV about the controversy with the firing of the Police Chief? It is a absolute disgrace!!!!!, & Bajans teking it all like good old field workers in the days of the Plantation owners, ( the PM made that remark ) don’t know if bajans remember.

15. old onion bags Avatar

Yo ma man JUST ASKING

Nice to see you back…..warning though, keep away from the Land of the Flies…..they consuming ..glottis flapping ..and muchly deliberating on SHOITE..ah notice Bushie’s distance for now, ……best part is shoite duz dry crusty hard in a matter of weeks…den flies swarm for mo…

16. Interesting to note the absence of discussion around why Gibson should have any decision which is outstanding for an unreasonably long period. This is the man we promoted to be at the vanguard of slashing the caseload. Yet he has time to thoroughly enjoy himself on the social trail.

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Am I the only one who is noticing that all these Judges are WOMEN?

What is the message here?

The registrar is/was a woman too?

18. Carson……….the females entered a corrupt system created and maintained by men, though i blame some of them for participating and enabling.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions

If that is all JUST ASKING could return and say, he should have kept off Barbados Underground.

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

That cant be true.

Amused said, “Nostalgically, I think of the days when Mr Rocheford was the Registrar”. I am assuming that “Mr. Roachford” is a man.

It would seem to me that women are able to handle theses jobs. I could be wrong? But the evidence seem to say that they are out of their depth.

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

should be “not able”.

22. Carson………….as i said, i blame some of the females for participating in and enabling the corrupt system started and well maintained by men, females have not been in that system very long and it has always been known to be corrupt.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

You have the final word.

24. Carson……………you have the final word, you can always tell me that the system only got corrupt since women entered the political arena and the judiciary.

25. Bush Tea: and fifth rhymes with Erine Griffith

26. Question time:
    To: Erine Griffith Chief Immigration Officer
    Tyrone Griffith CoP (ag)

Subject: Why
    Messers Griffith, why is your nephew still working at the Immigration department and stationed at the Grantley Adams Airport after he was found with a gun, bullets and drugs/dope.
    The same said nephew who, when slated to work overtime over and above others, turn up very late for duty because “my aunt is the chief”. Talk about nepotism

27. Tired you really want to get at Ms Griffith

28. About these cases: How cum George Edghill’s case was heard and judgement handed down so soon. The justice systems in Barbados is about who you are.

29. @ Lila Harris
    “The justice systems in Barbados is about who you are.”
    …but Lila, according to Tired, so is our immigration department. So why are you suggesting it is about ‘ getting at’ Ms. Griff?
    Can you tell us then that the accusations are false?….please…!!

30. Can anyone remember when the blogs started to bring the focus on the police and judiciary and we were pilloried by traditional players? Now we have reached the point where former Inspectors of police and lawyers/judges are coming public to speak to the many problems plaguing the two important organs of society.

31. @ David
    …so what you want? A prize?
    This is to be expected.
    Are you aware that if you had listened to that idiot Ossie Moore and used your real name – instead of being “pilloried”, they would most likely have crucified your tail by now? …..and Bushie’s too…?

…and if you are thinking that anything has changed you had better wake up fast….um may be even worser now….

…so PLEASE continue to be vigilant and careful as you execute the works of BBE in promoting TRUTH, TRANSPARENCY and INTEGRITY in our public life.

ABOVE ALL…..let us continue to abuse and ignore (and ban them nuh!!) the brass bowl idiots like Carl (Ossie the second) who otherwise would have our collective behinds in the grass……

Lol ….and you would NOT be comfortable in the bush
    – like Bushie…. ๐Ÿ™‚

32. @CCC. I dislike gender bias. The role of Registrar started to go south when Mrs David Simmons took it over and apart from the brief tenure of Michelle Weekes, it has been shite ever since – and guess who appointed all these losers? David Simmons, as AG and then as CJ. So, it seems to me that the rot was caused by a man, not a woman.

And yes, I think there is a disproportionate number of women on the Bench. Agree with you there. Would you care to tell me how many of them are former registrars, either of the land registry or the supreme court? You might quite rightly say that a disproportionate number of them are former registrars. People with no practice experience – in other words, a bunch of pen pushers who cannot even write a coherent sentence, but who have a “divine right” because they have sucked at the public tit and spread their level of un-civil service incompetence all their lives and been trained to look down on the taxpayers who pay their damned salaries and pensions, because they are entitled to expect that they should be paid for and elevated to a level of respect to which they have no right whatever.

Personally, I would be interested to know when the role of Registrar became the secretarial appointment to which it has been reduced. We have taken people who have law degrees and never actually practiced law, who would be fired from secretarial posts because of incompetence and elevated them to the role of Registrar, where, secretary-like, the chuck their weight around as a therapy for their own knowledge that they are completely incompetent, both as lawyers and as secretaries.

And they and the idiots on the Bench (most of them former registrars) have reduced the legal profession to an international joke, decimated our foreign investment and off-shore market, crucified our tourism, subjected us to the ridicule of the CCJ and courts around the world – and we pay these jokers wages and pensions for that?

So, it is not a matter of gender – it never is – it is merely a matter of the unfortunate and politically/sexually/nepotistically selected losers who have elevated way beyond their brain-grade and placed in the position to compound their incompetence.

But I stress this is not a gender issue. Stupidity knows no gender.

33. @David. Listen to Bushie. Not that you need to be told that he is right.

34. @Bush Tea

Carl Moore is from a world which makes it impossible to understand what is required to respond to the parlous times which confront us.

The fact that after decades of trying he has not been able to gain traction to is noise pollution cause is evidence that walking a trodden path will not always get you to your destination.

35. At 3:32 Tired made a comment about the nephew of both the Chief Immigration Officer and the new acting Commissioner of Police. If the allegation about the possession of a gun, ammunition and dope is true how come he was not brought before the court?

36. @Casewell. Please tell us more.

37. Immigration Officer Avatar
    Immigration Officer

Bush tea @ 4.30 pm It is not alligation but FACT

38. Immigration Officer Avatar
    Immigration Officer

Amused and Casewell, it is because of who it is in Barbados. Very very sad

39. @Casewell. I somehow do not think this “relative” is going to get away with it this time. Sounds to me like he has a date before the courts – and his uncle has some explaining to do – likely to the same courts. Quite a lot of explaining, actually. Oh, but life is getting interesting.

40. Barbados becoming more like a Dictatorship than a Democracy. Those who can get out will do so, which some have already started, but those of us who can’t, God help us!!!!, when have the likes of CCC who feel & think no one else should have an opinion contrary to His.

41. I see nothing changes….in essence the usual round of mutual wanking, mainly over Amused who runs the show, by rather tired old men…plus Well Well, the just-about newbie, who has nothing to say and says it because she has to say something.

Look fellas….who don’t you do your job properly and explore WHY at least SOME of these cases are where they are without all the cheap sensationalism and vituperative composing. You might start with the Pearson Leacock case at the top since he’s one of the fraternity. And then move on to the Coronel case, which you make much of, and ask Raul Garcia. And then you might ask Mr Nagles who I suppose, if alive, is in Colombia. You see, fellas, you continue to distort events and situations, rely on mere assertion as proof, and remain careless with the truth to further an agenda without a care about whom you defame as you go. And that’s not just shoddy. It’s downright wicked.

Amused: WHY are you so bitter? Did they pass you over?

42. @RR. Not bitter and not passed over. Just calling the shots as I and most others see them. Just one of the poor, peaceful and polite whistleblowers for the public good. Why do you ask? Since you were passed over by the electorate and may feel you are passed over when silk is being handed out, God knows why, are you looking for the company of other passed-overs? You will be pleased to hear that BFP is back up and running. The company you seek is there.

43. What is BU missing here? Are there cases outstanding for more than 10 years or not and is this acceptable?

44. Amused

As for BFP and my contribution there…..kiddo there’s only one way you’d know. For the rest – gee you’re funny.

45. David

The issue is WHY they are outstanding. In principle, of course it’s not acceptable – but that, without more, is not a reason to allege corruption and incompetence.
    The conduct of Registry staff is assuredly not acceptable.
    Nor is it acceptable, given the backlog, for the CA to sit only three days a week if that’s the state of things.
    Nor, actually, is it acceptable for this CJ to be there at all – as I suggested to you from the moment he sought to make capital over the BA’s attempts to secure reform, a moment when for you he was a saviour whom Amused, and the other one now elevated, so desperately sought to ass lick.

46. BAR FIGHT … BAR BRAWL …. HA HA HA Get yah tickets … Buy one and get one … BAR BRAWL …. HA HA HA

47. robert ross…………from your mouthings it appears that you are one of the useless lawyers residing in bim that only know how to act as a leech or tick, thankfully there is not much more left for you to feed on in Bim, sounds like you are getting desperate, hope i don’t see you in handcuffs soon. I would certainly welcome you in the part of the world that i am now doing some business, you would not last 5 hours.

48. Well Well

… Please …

49. Baf………..sorry!!

50. Of Well Well…..
    see what I mean?