Chief Justice Designate Marston Gibson

Today’s Nation newspaper headline cries, CJ Hitch!

It was back in August BU broke the story – Barbados Government Selects Next Chief Justice From Outside The Inner Ring – of Marston Gibson’s selection as Chief Justice (CJ) Designate. His appointment was heralded then by Barbados Underground (BU) and we continue to support Gibson’s selection moreso in light of today’s Nation report. It is an open secret, endorsed by many who practice law and interact closely with the Judiciary, it is in urgent need of leadership from the top. A hindrance to accomplishing much needed efficiency within the bowels of our judicature has been the inability of recent CJs to make waste of the boys club of lawyers which has throttled the efficiency and effectiveness of Barbados’ Court System.

The Nation article exposes the move by ‘some’ who have hijacked our Judiciary and now feel threatened by the coming of the 13th Chief Justice from outside the inner ring. We ask Barbadians to support Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart who is unfamiliar in the role of kicking butt, one which the late Prime Minister David Thompson performed with some competency as evidenced by his selection of CJ Designate Gibson. It is instructive when former President of the Barbados Bar Association (BBA) Wilfred Abrahams was asked by the local media to comment on Gibson’s selection he was conditional in his congratulations. He took the opportunity to inform the public that in his opinion suitable home grown candidates were available. On another occasion while on a radio talk show he was heard questioning the non extension of David Simmons’ term. Perhaps all has been explained with the selection of Wilfred Abrahams to represent the Barbados Labour Party in Christ Church East in the coming general election.

In any event, if there is a ‘snagg’ as the Nation report suggests, an amendment of the Act requiring a simple majority can be passed on an urgent basis by the Lower House. BU’s best research confirms such an amendment does not* require a change in the constitution which would necessitate a two thirds majority count. Given the intent by late Prime Minister David Thompson by selecting Gibson’s from outside the boys club, no doubt Prime Minister Stuart in his former role as AG would have been consulted, Barbadians would not question any precedent set if there is a need to go to parliament to remove any ‘snagg’ if there is one.

Here is an opportunity for Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart to demonstrate he will unburden himself from the past and walk a new path regarding how we want our Judiciary to function. The legacy of  former Prime Minister Owen Arthur will continue to be troubled by the appointment of former CJ David Simmons. Note that BU is not questioning the reputation of David Simmons. The point has been made that the Judiciary in our system of governance requires it to operate under a separation of powers doctrine. The insensitive and ugly appointment of David Simmons to CJ having not served a ‘rest’ period after vacating the role of Attorney General has set a dangerous precedent which Barbadians must respond to with a collective shout of ‘never again’ in this country. Given Arthur’s recent return as Leader of the Opposition he should be made to promise Barbadians that he will not inject the spectre of politics in future appointments to the bench should he regain the office of Prime Minister.

The importance which the Judiciary has played in Barbados earning the good reputation as a stable jurisdiction cannot be underscored enough but recognizing that we have been struggling to meet the standard of previous years. The need to erase the suggestion of  political encroachment by the executive arm behoves Prime Minister Stuart to act hastily to pre-empt possible public uncertainty which may brew as a result of confusion surrounding Marston Gibson’s appointment.

Against the foregoing BU has it on good authority that the Prime Minister has done his round robin of the senior legal beavers, as his studied approach compels him to do, and he will be making an announcement on the matter shortly.  In fact the announcement may come as early as tomorrow. In the announcement he is expected to confirm the appointment of CJ Designate Marston Gibson.

1. Page 6 of todays Advocate convinces me that something is seriously wrong with some aspects of the Barbados justice system.

IMHO. Adult man plus 13 year old girl equal paedophile = jail plus de cat.

2. @Dr.GP after reading this I wonder if you should consider gine back or stay wey you is.
    Did somebody sen home de onliest Heart Doc widdout a backup?

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/heart-care-risk/

3. Hants
    Is Ishmael the onliest Heart Doc in Barbados? What about Moe, Massey or even Sparman?

4. Barbados Uh Come From! Avatar
    Barbados Uh Come From!

@The Scout | December 15, 2010 at 2:19 AM |
    “Hants , Is Ishmael the onliest Heart Doc in Barbados? What about Moe, Massey or even Sparman?”

How you mean “even sparman”? That sounds disparaging. Sparman is one of the best, you hear?

And , what about Hassell, and the most competent Harris?

5. Barbados Uh Come From! Avatar
    Barbados Uh Come From!

@Hants | December 15, 2010 at 12:45 AM |
    “@Dr.GP after reading this I wonder if you should consider gine back or stay wey you is.
    Did somebody sen home de onliest Heart Doc widdout a backup?”

As usual HANTS, you all up in Canada, misleading people right down here in Barbados, where the actual action is!

I just only read the Nation article, and Dr.Cave’s statement warns about the suspension of lone “PAEDIATRIC” cardiologist Dr Richard Ishmael, NOT just cardiologist.

6. @Barbados Uh Come From “Hants misleading people”.

OK “lone “PAEDIATRIC” cardiologist Dr Richard Ishmael,”.

My mistake. I apologise to the BU family but the point is made.

7. @ HANTS
    Am I reading correctly?

Ishmael was suspended by the QEH last Wednesday, December 10, essentially for using a hospital letterhead to address a concern involving Dr Alfred Sparman and Minister of Health Donville Inniss. The content of that November 17, 2010 letter is now a matter of litigation between the three.
    The letter of suspension said that because Ishmael used a QEH letterhead, which is “an offence as set out at 5.2.1 and 5.2.5 of the Terms of Conditions of Service for the Employees of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital”, he would be “suspended on full pay with immediate effect, pending the outcomeof an internal investigation”.
    That enquiry will be conducted on or before January 14, 2011.
    The move against Ishmael was made public in yesterday’s DAILY NATION. QEH chairman Reverend Guy Hewitt was quoted then as saying that “the board offers its assurance that every effort has been taken by the QEH to ensure that patient care is not compromised during this period”.

Does the Reverend with balls [and Dexter] know the extent and import of the function of Ishmael at the QEH as outlined by Dr Cave? Does he care?

I see that we are still treating medical personnel in the MOH as though they are children or chattel.

8. HANTS
    I get the distinct understanding that this priest with balls actually thinks not with his brains- but with his balls!

9. @GP,
    You have to be truly patriotic to be a Specialist and work at the QEH in Barbados.

Perhaps the Priest will take care of the patients through prayer.

10. Hants
    You have to be more than patriotic to stay in Barbados

I am one that believes in prayer…..but guess what? God uses doctors too so its stupid to fire them for frivolous reasons. I hope that this stupid decision costs the hospital dearly

11. The priest who is the QEH Charirman is one pompous arrogant man, I should know, I have to endure his pomposity on Sundays.

I think he is doing the Minister’s bidding.

But wait, how could they treat the late PM’s personal physician so, especially so soon after the PM’s death? What does Mara have to say, have they forgotten the late PM so soon?

But just remember these cardiologists here have been very jealous of Dr Sparman and have been trying every since he came on the scene to get rid of him but the man just keeps getting better and pulling ahead of the jealous ones!

12. de hood
    I bizzy anuff fa de Yuletide. My fav’rit time a de year. But I jus peepin in evry now n den at BU ta see wah gine on.
    I like de fella Gibson doe. My type. De age n evryting includin de ‘gap’ between he teets.

Special One
    so wait, becausen he was de late PM docta, he shud get way wid murda? wah who he is? i doan kno wah he really do but ef he did rong he would gotta face up, supposen he did save my mudda.
    By de way, I does specialize in hearts too. I like ta brek dem. LOLL

But wait, on a point a order. I hare dat Gippy Doyle gettin out Jan. nex yare. I doannnnnnnnnnn believe um. anybody cud tell me why?
    I frighten anuff fa dese church peeple bosey.

13. GP said, “I hope that this stupid decision costs the hospital dearly’
    I would totally agree, Doc. The sad part though, is that whatever it is going to cost (and it will cost), we the taxpayers are going to be stuck with the bill. AS USUAL! We have to pay for all the blundering that is taking place in this country now.

14. Special One

I dont know what Sparman do these boys.
    re The priest who is the QEH Charirman is one pompous arrogant man, I should know, I have to endure his pomposity on Sundays. I think he is doing the Minister’s bidding

Man dat is evident even from this distance. I sorry for his church members. If he is doing the minster’s bidding I betta stay where I am. I have been sweet talking JC too long pun BU, so was planning to apply for a job in the Ministry of Health and come home and face de music but……… I can deal wid dese chaps bosey.
    Hants
    Seems I have to stay put man.

15. @ The Scout | December 14, 2010 at 4:23 PM | Mr Gibson trained as a lawyer in the Caribbean and UWI. He then went on to teach law at UWI. I think you can safely assume that he is fully conversant with Caribbean and Barbados law and well able to make the distinction between it and US law. For a lawyer of his calibre and training, it really is not a stretch at all.

@ Special One | December 14, 2010 at 10:36 PM | “If David Thompson was the first class lawyer as claimed on this blog, how come he did not first check the law governing the appointment of a CJ bearing in mind the man has never practiced law here? Wouldn’t it be common sense to check first?” I think you will find that David Thompson and Prime Minister Stuart and the now AG all checked the law and satisfied themselves that there was no impediment to the selection of Marston Gibson as CJ. And, in the fullness of time when the PM is good and ready, he will make his announcement and have the appointment gazetted. So you carry on as you like, but I strongly suspect it will do you no good.

@GP. The election of a CJ is not a term contract, but until age 70 with the possibility to extend to 72. The option to extend is usually exercised, with the sole exception being in the case of one D. Simmons. And it was the PM who decided not to extend the tenure of D. Simmons.

I for one would not blame Marston Gibson for opting out. The task he confronts is a monumental one. However, he is exactly the right man for the job. It is easy to find a good jurist, but that does not mean that he will be a good administrator. To find one who is both is very difficult. And almost impossible is to find one who is also a top scholar of the calibre capable to writing new law through his judgements. The Government has managed, in Marston Gibson, to do the almost impossible. Time for all to stop carping and looking for nonexistent loopholes and welcome Mr Gibson back home.

16. @ Amused
    Thanks for your enlightenment,Sir.
    If as you say the CJ would not be on contract, and therefore could not be dismissed in a slap dash, willy nilly, hodge podege way, then he should have no fear of coming since he would have the freedom of time to develop his program for improvement, and thereby make his mark.

I agree with you when you say “I for one would not blame Marston Gibson for opting out” but not because the task he confronts is a monumental one; but rather because of the plurality of morons whom he is destined to confront. It is not easy! I personally would not want to be somewhere that I am not wanted or appreciated; and its not as though he is begging “fuh wuk!”

I agree with you that it is not easy to find a man who is suitably excellent as a jurist, as an administrator and as a top scholar of the calibre capable to writing new law through his judgements. I don’t know you or him; but you seem to know about what you speak, and I am willing to trust your judgement on this matter. I do know that we don’t like our own, and that we do not like folk whom we cannot control. We also seem not to like those whom we cannot truly deride because they are not immoral or have obvious flaws.

I can not think of any one who was offered to the people as a top public servant in my time for whom there has been this hue and cry.

17. Barbados Ah Come From
    I know Mr Harris personally, he is one of the best cardiac surgeons in business today. There is also a young man who is understudying him, his name is Doc. Allan Smith, his father is also a doctor.

18. @GP. I woul ask you to confirm that I have this right. The “plurality of morons” (I like that phrase and will borrow it if I may) is, in fact, a small minority of the population of the country as a whole. I believe you are referring to a plurality of morons that man the public offices, the Bar Association and the Judiciary and support organisations like the Registry (Court of Appeal Registry excepted).

19. Barbados Uh Come From! Avatar
    Barbados Uh Come From!

@The Scout | December 16, 2010 at 12:09 AM | Barbados Ah Come From
    “I know Mr Harris personally, he is one of the best cardiac surgeons in business today. There is also a young man who is understudying him, his name is Doc. Allan Smith, his father is also a doctor.”

Scout my friend, I don’t want to split hairs over this, but don’t just throw your alleged intimate knowledge of Mr.Haris in my face. You did NOT mention him when you listed the emminent Cardiac Specialists in Barbados …. I merely drew him to your attention in my previous post. And I did not like your disparaging comment about Dr.Sparman. You don’t need to respond .. let it rest.

20. @Amused
    You have indeed interpreted me correctly, Sir.
    You can use my phrase ad infinitum ad nauseamque.

21. Barbados Uh Come From! Avatar
    Barbados Uh Come From!

@Hants | December 15, 2010 at 12:05 PM |

@GP,
    “You have to be truly patriotic to be a Specialist and work at the QEH in Barbados. Perhaps the Priest will take care of the patients through prayer.”

Hants, to quote Georgie P:

“HANTS I get the distinct understanding that this priest with balls actually thinks not with his brains- but with his balls!”

I therefore think it utterly impossible for a Priest, or anybody for that matter, to prayer genuinely, legitimately, when the the only way he can think is with his balls! The result can only be carnal prayers! Besides, my view is that the reward appointment of this particular priest is not good for the QEH.

22. Barbados Ah Come From
    O.K, I didn’t mention Mr Harris but I am saying to you that Mr Harris is not only my friend but my cardical surgeon, he and his team are the ones who operated on me quite recently and I have NOTHING but respect for, as I call him, THE GENTLE GIANT. So don’t tell me let it rest. I know nothing about Dr Sparman and I have no problem with Dr Sparman either but I far as I understand, he is NOT in the same class as Mr Harris.

23. @The Scout,

I have no doubt that you are sincere in your opinion of Mr.Harris. From what I have been told he is one of the best in Barbados.

It is good to hear you have had a positive outcome and I wish you many more years especially as a contributor to BU.

24. Barbados Uh Come From! Avatar
    Barbados Uh Come From!

Bro. Scout, I am happy also that all went well with your heart surgery. No need to carry on , possibly putting that vital organ at risk. Continue to take care of yourself. I wish you and your family a wonderful and happy Christmas.