Photo credit: The Telegraph

The Church of England considers a celibate person of homosexual orientation to be eligible for ordination, even if the person has entered into a civil same-sex partnership, noting “The Church should not collude with the present assumptions of society that all close relationships necessarily include sexual activity.

[Church of England News, 25 July 2005. House of Bishops issues pastoral statement on Civil Partnerships. Retrieved 18 July 2007.]

Last week those who follow matters of the ecclesiastical variety would have been stunned to learn that the House of Laity – part of the General Synod of the Church of England – killed a twelve year effort to allow women to elevate to the position of bishop. There is the ridiculous situation developing where the David Cameron government is considering repealing equalitarian legislation to force the Church of England to accept women to perform in the role of bishop.  The Church of England is answerable to the UK parliament which makes the decision to block women from attaining bishophood the more intriguing given its declared position on human rights.

Puzzling to BU is the fact that homosexual male priests who swear to celibacy are allowed to serve at all levels in the Church of England.  How is it the decision by the Church of England is liberal on the issue of homosexual male priests but diametrically different on heterosexual or homosexual female priests being given the opportunity to serve in the role of bishop? A glaring inconsistency!

The other source of puzzlement is that last year Prime Minister David Cameron threatened Barbados and other Commonwealth countries that UK will withhold aid from countries that have discriminatory homosexual legislation on the books. Cameron sees discrimination against homosexuals as a human rights issue. If he is consistent the decision by the Church of England must be embarrassing to his government. The world will be observing closely how the Cameron government reacts to the decision last week by the Church of England.

The Church of England is also under pressure that the redefinition of marriage may create another divide in the Church of England.  There is no guarantee the exemption promised will be realised. The obvious conflict which presiding over same sex marriages would cause does not make for easy decisions for the Church.

1. Excellent report, David.

The issue of women becoming bishops in the C of E should be a non-issue. The C of E became the established church of the UK and the British Empire in the time of Henry VIII, with the monarch as head of that church.

To date, the C of E has had as heads Queen Elizabeth I (who reigned 1558 to 1603), Queen Mary (part of the duo of William and Mary), immediately followed by Queen Anne, then the 60+ year reign of Queen Victoria and now the 60 year reign of Elizabeth II. So it would appear to me (but my maths are subject to correction) that fully a quarter of the time that the C of E has been in existence, its supreme governor has been……a woman.

There is something perverse and unacceptable that in 2012 (the Diamond Jubilee year of the head of the C of E, a woman) women cannot have equality with men in the C of E. The message is that the laity of the C of E has got it into its head that God views women as being less than men.

One therefore has to question whether it is the King James Bible that the C of E is using – or the Iranian version of the Koran. Next thing you know the C of E will decide to reinstate stoning for women.

I am a very religious man, but I have not seen the inside of a church, except for funerals and weddings – I don’t do christenings – for close on half a century. Because I cannot tolerate the kind of hypocritical bovine excrement to which one is subjected by those who prop up the church door.

As for the question of homosexuality in the priesthood, I personally know three C of E priests who are not only homosexual, but self-confessed practicing homosexuals – so clearly when asked by the recruiters to the priesthood if they are practicing, the Commandment, “Thou shalt not lie,” is, as Shakespeare put it, “a custom more honoured in the breach than the observance.”

On the final point of same-sex marriages, I am ambivalent (meaning I don’t give a damn what you call it) on the subject of same-sex “marriage”. But I am not ambivalent on the matter of committed same-sex couples being accorded precisely the same right under the law as married heterosexual couples – they have to be given the same right and protections. You mean to tell me it could be fair that a body spends all their lives with another body and they work together to make some money and achieve a few material comforts and then one of them dies intestate that the family, who usually the deceased had no time for anyway, got the right to move in a take everything? Nonsense! Obscene.

The objection by the C of E to it carrying out same-sex marriages seems to me to have lost all its power and credibility due to the C of E’s refusal to endorse and practice universal suffrage in respect of women. My view is that the C of E, as distinct and separate from other churches, being a state church, should be obliged by statute to accept women as bishops AND to perform same-sex marriages. And those who are members of the C of E who don’t like it, can find physical and spiritual succour and comfort in Iran.

Now we await the cut and paste that is sure to follow from the inhabitants of the Bat Cave, who have not had much opportunity lately to preach.

2. The great irony is that the Church of England is accepted as the home of the Anglican religion yet it lags behind other countries in the matter of adjusting to modern thinking. How then can the Church remain relevant?

3. @David. Maybe by following the teachings of Christ for once. Little things like love and charity etc. Maybe remembering that we all have mothers (who, believe it or not, are women) and likely remembering that one of the main figures in Christianity is the Virgin Mary, who, believe it or not, was a woman. Just follow a bunch of little teachings from the Man himself.

4. @Amused

The problem for the Church of England, the bastion of Christianity, is that to adjust means that it has to drastically amend long standing doctrines which have been established over centuries. Not an easy task.

5. What the church do England do, or do NOT do, is about as relevant as the present colour of Islandgal’s underwear.

HELL! This is an organization that was created so that a man can get a particular woman….

…personally, Bushie feels that they should get Rihanna to do some shows on Sunday mornings. This would certainly boost their attendance, relevance and likely, their finances.

…even Amused would possibly turn up….

As to having women Bishops and Homo bishops etc…. Why the hell not…!
    ….it’s not like it has anything to do with BBE intent or with anything REALLY meaningful.

6. any thing built on hatred ! bigotry ! exclusion ! Racismism ! or any ism.would find itself at the lower end of the social pole . the church as a christian organisation has been able to get away with all the above mentioned and it is being weighed in the balance and is found wanting.

7. “What the church do England do, or do NOT do, is about as relevant as the present colour of Islandgal’s underwear.”

Bushie …I doan wear none yuh dawg !

8. @ Islandgal
    Rrrrrrrrrr bow wow!

9. all the church need to do to get itself out of the uncomfortable position that it has found itself in with human rights laws vs church laws is take the advice of their leader who first told them to JUdge NOT! and LOVE THY NEIGHBOUR as thyself.

10. You right, Bushie. Even I would turn up for that.

And, Islandgal, agree with Bushie, but more so. Double Rrrrrrrrrr bow wow!

@ac. Stop it at once. You got me greeing wid yuh again.

11. What I can’t understand is WHY women have to wait for these chauvinistic men to validate them to become leaders in the church. If they were thinking like me, there would have been a similar church with only women leaders long long time ago. In fact that church would be a few hundred years old by now. Look how Henry the VIII broke away from the catholic church and formed his own religion so why couldn’t women get that same idea then. I know it would have been dangerous times for women (the inbred jealousy and hatred by domineering men) BUT if they wanted to they could have done that years later. Tell the Anglican church to go screw themselves! Looka like I was born at a wrong time in history!

12. The Church of England is not alone in this. During the long years of communist rule in the Soviet Union, the clandestine Roman Catholic church worshipers appointed a woman bishop, probably with the blessing of the Vatican, but as soon as the Soviet Union was broken up ,and the Stalinist rule on religion was relaxed, that woman Bishop was unceremoniously defrocked,allowing one of the men who previously had no balls to confront the Kremlin, to take her place.

13. islandgal246 | November 25, 2012 at 11:54 AM |
    What I can’t understand is WHY women have to wait for these chauvinistic men to validate them to become leaders in the church. If they were thinking like me, there would have been a similar church with only women leaders long long time ago.
    And given the fact that on Sunday mornings in most churches here , the women outnumber the men, 3 to 1 and higher.

14. The Great Apostasy!

The C of E, is only one of many such ‘Apostate’ churches, and this abased immoral, and other deviation FROM God’s Word, is to be expected, as we are warned that this will happen.

“Now the Spirit EXPRESSLY says that in latter times some will DEPART (Apostatize) FROM the faith ( body of doctrinal truth) giving heed to DECEIVING spirits and doctrines of demons. Speaking LIES in hypocrisy, having their own conscience seared with a hot iron.” (1 Timothy 4: 1-2)

Nothing new, true to form!

15. At the risk of incurring the verbal wrath of the elite BU experts on religion, I believe that we should treat Church leaders with the same trepidation as we should treat politicians.

If you were brought up in the Anglican or Catholic church,use the brains God give yuh and follow the bible teachings as YOU understand them if you so choose.

16. women and HOMOS are not ALLOWED to be Pastors ! KJV says a pastor A man Of One Wife

17. It would be interesting see a church founded and lead by ISG a aprofess atheist

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ islandgal246 | November 25, 2012 at 11:54 AM |
    “If they were thinking like me, there would have been a similar church with only women leaders long long time ago.”

Would you advocate such a move in today’s religious world? Would you recommend it also for the female Islamists?
    If the women were to adopt your proposal then whom would they have to vie over to sleep with? The women in churches only allow male leaders as pawns in the sexual beehive game to fight over and be the football in the warring political game among the various social fractions in the pews.
    Get rid of the few men and there will hell in the church leading to total upheaval and chaos.
    Ask Bushie and Caswell if that isn’t true.

19. Bushie would like to see a church led by Islandgal too. In fact Bushie would definitely join up….to be an alter boy 🙂 …add a little extra vodka to she vino and…

LOL… What Colonel Buggy said it is they did with that Russian woman bishop again…..DEFROCKED?!?
    LOL @ Islandgal…. Regularly! 🙂

Seriously though…
    Zoe is right about the great apostasy. The only problem is that 90% of HIS church beliefs come DIRECTLY from the great apostasy herself.
    Things like THE TRINITY……
    The whole “heaven and hell” nonsense.
    ….etc

….if he and GP ever gets past those mind trap they can become forces to be reconnect with…..

20. @ Hants
    At what risk of what verbal wrath what?!?!

Everyone already knows that you are a born again “gallows bait”
    You got cloths hang out and looking for rain….

@ Miller
    Wait skippa, you very scarce lately. Since you gone, ac ’bout here doing Dixie on every topic. Bushie was trying to keep she in check, but when she start talking ’bout how God come from the word Good because ‘yuh only have to drop an “o”‘ , Bushie put down the computer and went and clean out the swimming pool….

…see what you can do wid she bozie. Only you know to get through that head….

@ Islandgal
    “What I can’t understand is WHY women have to wait for these chauvinistic men to validate them”
    Why not ask Simple Simon? …bet SHE knows.
    It is because the system was DESIGNED that way…..as in why do you have to turn your water tap ANTI clockwise to get water?
    Why do you have to sleep?
    Why should women have to be the ones that get pregnant?

It is the way it is!! But the REAL point is that these ARE NOT the critical issues of life. When you start your woman led church Bushie the alt boy will show you what are….

21. @ BT,

“Zoe is right about the great apostasy. The only problem is that 90% of HIS church beliefs come DIRECTLY from the great apostasy herself.
    Things like THE TRINITY……
    The whole “heaven and hell” nonsense.
    ….etc”

Man, Bush Tea, I dun puts licks enough in you, a few years ago on BU, with the absurd NONSENSE you write ABOVE, I gave extensive, detailed, sound exegesis, AND exposition, refuting you properly, and you were speachless!

What I believe, and stand for Biblically, IS* founded, grounded, and rooted* IN* Historic, Apostolic, first century Christianity, whose manuscript verasity, (24,000 copies) is in a class by itself, when compared to other ancient documents, that are fully accepted by textural critics, as reliable, BUT, have bit a fraction, of the textural attestation as New Testament documents.

BT, man, get another Obeah Bush Bath, and remain in the spiritual stupor that you so much enjoy!

22. The debate about female bishops has dragged on for many months in the C of E. It seems a futile debate. Once agreed that women can be ordained to the priesthood, there is no theological or other justification for not recognising translation to the episcopate that I can accept. Once ordained to the priesthood women are primus inter pares with men..

There are those in the C of E who still do not accept women priests and so have alternative episocopal oversight. That is a rational position to take given the nature of Jesus’ ministry. It follows that they cannot accept translation to the episcopacy. But there are other ‘rational’ positions and it all depends on how the premises are framed and by whom. Many here opposed female ordination – but were neither big enough nor bold enough to treat the issue as one which strikes at the heart of the faith. In short they trimmed. It will be interesting to see what happens here in 15 years or so. Most of the Holy Cross people will be retired or dead..

But let me say…this really has nothing to do with women’s rights, or same sex marriages, or ordination of celebate homosexuals to the priesthood. Those issues are fudges. Each is separate and presents its own theological and biblical issues. It’s not a case of “Because ordination of celibate homosexuals THEREFORE translation to the episcopacy’.

I hadn’t realized we had a David/Amused axis on ‘Anglicanism’ too. That should prove interesting.

23. @Miller. “Get rid of the few men and there will hell in the church leading to total upheaval and chaos.” Not necessarily at all. You merely make sure that the membership and priesthood of the Church is made up of “celibate” w*ckers. Then you have the alternative to the C of E and its “celibate” b*l*ers.

@Bushie. You are on a roll. Don’t stop. You got me crying with laughter.

24. Or again……perhaps not.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Amused | November 25, 2012 at 2:46 PM |
    “You merely make sure that the membership and priesthood of the Church is made up of “celibate” w*ckers. Then you have the alternative to the C of E and its “celibate” b*l*ers.”

You are right! This ‘wick**g’ and ‘bull**g’ thing has been going on in the Church since the papacy of Pope Augustine. What do you think goes on behind those facades of sexual depravity called convents (nunneries) and monasteries? Only jacking off?
    These are just havens -like funny farms or alcoholics’ retreats- for the sexual deviants looking to come to grips with their guilt of “original sin”.

26. @Miller

Is it about what has been tolerated/going on in the Church for years, or more so the fact homosexuality and the role of women challenges Bible doctrines as espoused by the traditionalist Christian?

27. look the quadmire that church has found itself in is their own fault as their leader and founder had paved a way forward for the church since he had alreadyfelt the snobbery and the selfrighteousness by teachers and the law writers of his time his experience with such people caused him to compact all the laws into two significant laws making it easier for the church to be inclusive rather than exclusive. one such law was a fairminded an open minded approach to dealing with humanity and the church failed to follow.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | November 25, 2012 at 4:17 PM |

If you want to know who is the real “boss’ of the Church just take a close look at any “original” print of that famous painting the “Last Supper” by the genius Leonardo da Vinci.
    You will realize, if you are perceptive enough, that the person sitting next to your sweet Jesus is a woman playing handsie handsy and footsy footsie with your dear lord and saviour.
    Take a further look and you might see 2 other beardless feminine persons in the painting. But what is most interesting and a blinder is that the most macho stone hard man called Peter has a knife in his right hand ready to cut poor Mary’s Virgo neck the sexy and intelligent wife of the lord the sun of god so that the blood would flow like that of the Milky way.

29. Bushie I know you would like to see me “Defrocked” and would like to be my alternate boy BUT lemma tell yuh dat yuh gine havta get in line. If women were priests and Bishops many of the male priests wouldn’t be Bulling like dem does dese days. We would make sure that your/our needs are met. There wouldn’t be any argument as to who will be on top! Furthermore it will be a partnership where power will be shared.

30. But Miller

Leonardo was gay. What possible interest would he have in making ‘the disciple that Jesus loved’ a woman? You are on an old scent.

31. @ Islandgal
    Bushie I know you would like to see me “Defrocked” and would like to be my alternate boy BUT lemma tell yuh dat yuh gine havta get in line”
    …..and no doubt this will now be a very long line now that you gone and spilled the beans about the status of the subsidiary (under) garments (or lack thereof) 🙂

Any bets that BAFVOB’s friend BAFBFP at the head of that line?
    Canine! …he already got you under his influence – talking ’bout “Lemma tell yuh”

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ robert ross | November 25, 2012 at 5:56 PM |
    “Leonardo was gay. What possible interest would he have in making ‘the disciple that Jesus loved’ a woman? You are on an old scent.”

Maybe Leonardo was encoding a message that your friend Jesus was ‘one of them’ like LdV himself. What real ‘he-man’ would surround himself with men hiding in gardens and other strange sleeping places with three ‘she-she’ in the bunch to meet their nocturnal needs?
    That old trail also reeks with a strong testosterone scent full of esoterica attracting many of the ‘bent’ leaning to the faith. It is also a haven for ‘lefthanders’ and other ten percent of Nature’s deviants.

33. Note that the house of bishops is fine with having women as bishops and the house of priests is fine with having women as bishops; but the house of laity voted against.

Date I say that the lay people are less well educated and probably more stupid that the bishops and priests.

And historically men have been afraid of vaginas.

And a funny thing if the Queen stepped down tomowwow as the head of the Church of England she would be ineligible to become a bishop in the church of which she was head for more than 60 years.

That just show how stupid lay people are.

34. @Bush Tea “Why not ask Simple Simon? …bet SHE knows.”

What I do you.

I here this Sunday afternoon peaceable and polite and you looking to trouble me.

My family and I don’t get involved in theological trifles.

@islandgal246 “What I can’t understand is WHY women have to wait for these chauvinistic men to validate them to become leaders in the church”

I don’t think that women are waiting for men to lead them in the church.

But prior to the birth of the oral contraceptive pill in 1960, most women gave birth 8 or more times and many raised more than half a dozen children to adulthood. Try doing that and forming and leading churches too. Although I know a number of Bajan women who formed and led theiir own churches, significantly one of these early 20th century Bajan women had only 2 children.

I guarantee you that 100 years form now most churches will be led by women, as most university places are now held by women.

Historically men have formed churches because since the invention of agriculture (by women more that 5,000 years ago) men just do not have enough hunting to do, so they form churches and have wars over religion etc.

Men want wuk.

35. One of Nunnaki’s favorite pastimes is to throw ‘red-herring’ distractives that have no Biblical or historic credence to it, into the fray of any Biblical/theological thread, i.e., Leonardo de vinci’s utterly unbiblical scene of ‘The Last Supper’ .

I must also stress again, as I’ve done on many BU threads in the past, and it is this:

Roman Catholicism, from its very historic inception, Circa 320 A. D. was NOT at the begging a Christian church, currently IS NOT* a Christian church, and NEVER will be part of the TRUE Church of Jesus Christ, that HE* said He would build!

Catholicism, is WRONGLY perceived to be the head of historic christendom.
    A LIE from the Pit of Hell.

Secondly, Anglicanism, also does NOT represent, nor speak for the True Church of Jesus Christ

Further, there is NO such office or function, in historic, Apostolic first century Christianity, as a mediating Priesthood, as exist up until today in both Catholicism and Anglicanism, or baptizing of infants, and subsequent so-called confirmation, unbiblical, unscriptural, misleading false doctrine!

36. Miller

LOL….But that’s another old scent. As for ‘my friend Jesus’ – well, yes, someone I wouldn’t be ashamed to have beside me. Can you say the same about those beside you who call themselves ‘friend’? Or is this all about rehabilitation? Sorry, the fella is a recidivist.

37. @ Zoe

On Anglicanism and Roman Catholicism – I’m sure you’re right. But what IS the “True Church of Jesus Christ”? Your brand of biblical fundamentalism?

38. “Historically men have been afraid of vaginas” (Simple Simon)

Very quotable. Did Jesus come to rid us of the works of the female as Robert Graves suggests in ‘King Jesus’?

39. Debates on religion are like trying to give taste to water.

Every church is under pressure to change. That’s the nature of things when “church and religion” become more important than spirituality and when the nonsense that is taught for reasons other than pious education becomes rooted in people’s minds as “truth.”

@zoe
    Uh curious as to this TRUE church of Jesus Christ. Just for observing sake.

40. The Bible
    The Authenticity and Proof of Divine Revelation
    © 2002, K. Rhodes. All rights reserved

It can be demonstrated beyond reasonable doubt through empirically adequate proofs that the Bible is the inspired word of Almighty God. There are many areas of proof that verify the reliability and authenticity of the Bible. Two such areas are the manuscript evidence confirming the reliability of the biblical documents and predictive prophecy; these proofs verify that the Bible is Divinely inspired rather than a humanly crafted book. If the documents of the Bible predict and accurately record the events of Jesus Christ’s ministry on earth, including his resurrection, then it can be stated unequivocally that the Bible is the Word of God.

Manuscript Evidence
    There are three basic principles of historiography, which help in determining the reliability of ancient documents. These are the bibliographical test, the internal test, and the external test.

Bibliographical Test
    The bibliographical test is the examination of the textual transmission by which the documents reach the present. Since we do not have the original documents of the Bible, how reliable are the manuscripts we do have and what is the time interval between the original and the extant copies.1 There are more than 5,000 known Greek manuscripts of the New Testament, over 10,000 Latin Vulgate and about 9,000 other early versions. In all, there are more 25,000 manuscript copies of the New Testament extant today. No other work of antiquity comes close to the manuscript attestation of the New Testament. In comparison, Homer’s Iliad has a total of 643 manuscripts extant today. The importance of the sheer number of manuscripts extant today cannot be under estimated. The abundance of manuscript copies makes it possible to reconstruct the original documents with almost complete accuracy. The time interval between the original to the extant copies establishes the fact that “myth” or error did not have time to enter into the manuscript tradition. Sir Fredrick Kenyon writes in The Bible and Archaeology: “The interval then between the dates of the original composition and the earliest extant evidence becomes so small as to be in fact negligible, and the last foundation for any doubt that the Scriptures have come down to us substantially as they were written has now been removed. Both the authenticity and the general integrity of the books of the New Testament may be regarded as finally established.” Following is a comparison chart of the New Testament documents verses other writings of antiquity

Author – When Written- Earliest Copy – Time Span- No. of Copies
    Caesar 100-44 B.C 900 A.D. 1,000 Yrs 10
    Livy 50 B.C -A.D 17 1,200 ” 20
    Plato 427-347 B.C 900 A.D 1,200 ” 7
    Tacitas 100 A.D 1,100 A.D 1,000 ” 20
    also minor
    works 100. A.D 1,000 A.D 900 ” 1
    Pliny the
    Younger 61-113 A.D. 859 A.D 730 ” 7
    Thucydides 460-400 B.C 900. A.D 1,300 ” 8
    Suetonius 75-160 A.D. 950 A.D. 800 ” 8
    Herodotus 480-425 B.C 900. A.D. 1,300 ” 8
    Sophocles 496-400 B.C. 1,000 A.D 1,400 ” 193
    Catullus 54 B.C 1,550 A.D. 1,600 ” 2
    Euripides 480-406 B.C. 1,100 A.D 1,500 ” 9
    Demosthenes 382-322 B.C 1,100 A.D. 1,300 ” 200
    Aristotle 384-322 B.C. 1,100 A.D. 1,400 ” 49
    Aristophanes 450-385 B.C. 900 A.D 1,200 “: 10
    Homer (iliad) 900 B.C. 400 B.C. 500 ” 643
    New Testament 40-100 A.D. 125 A.D. 25 ” over 24,000

Dr. Ravi Zacharias writes concerning the manuscript evidence of the New Testament: “In real terms, the New Testament is easily the best attested ancient writing in terms of the sheer number of documents, the time span between the events and the document, and the variety of documents available to sustain or contradict it. There is nothing in ancient manuscript evidence to match such textual availability and integrity.”

The Patristic citations of the New Testament also give witness to the accuracy of the New Testament manuscripts, which are extant today. Dr. Geisler points out that, “the patristic citations of Scripture are not primary witnesses to the text of the New Testament, but they do serve two very important secondary roles. First, they give overwhelming support to the existence of the twenty-seven authoritative books of the New Testament canon. It is true that their quotations were often loose, although in the case of some Fathers they were very accurate, but they do at least reproduce the substantial content of the original text. Second, the quotations are so numerous and widespread that if no manuscripts of the New Testament were extant, the New Testament could be reproduced from the writings of the early Fathers alone.” The writings of the early Church Fathers give us overwhelming secondary evidence to the accuracy of the New Testament documents. Following is a chart, which catalogs the quotes of the Church Fathers of the New Testament:

41. Zoe

Other people’s words prove nothing even when graced with the cop-out ‘word of God’.. And that’s the problem with the Bible – a book of other people’s words which – according to those same words – Jesus rejected in material particulars. Or did God fumble and mumble or stammer when he dictated the OT?

42. Fundamentalism, Fundamentalists, the terms have been terribly misunderstood in recent times, and misrepresented by many who do not understand the simple meaning of the terms.

Fundamentalism is simply historic, orthodox Christianity. Dr. Kirsopp Lake, the noted Modernist professor of Harvard University ably pointed this out when he wrote:

It is a mistake, often made by educated persons who happen to have but little knowledge of historical theology, to suppose that Fundamentalism is a new and strange form of thought. It is nothing of the kind: it is the partial and uneducated survival of a theology which was once universally held by all Christians. How many were there, for instance, in Christian churches in the eighteenth century who doubted the infallible inspiration of all Scripture? A few, perhaps, but very few. No, the Fundamentalist may be wrong. I think that he is. But it is we who have departed from the tradition, not he, . . . The Bible and the corpus theologicum [body of theology] of the Church is on the Fundamentalist side [The Religion of Yesterday and Tomorrow, 1925, by Kirsopp Lake, pp. 61, 62].

43. Every so often, someone will ask me, “So which Church, denomination do you BELONG to.” My simple straightforward answer always makes them say, “Yes, you are right, I never thought of that before.”

My Answer: I belong to the Church, that Jesus said, “I will build My Church, and the gates of Hell, will NOT prevail over it.”

It HAS NO NAME, nowhere in the New Testament, does Jesus say, ‘I will build the Catholic, Anglican, Pentecostal, Baptist, Lutheran etc, etc., church. HE simply said, “I WILL BUILD MY* CHURCH*….”

There are many denominations, that hold to, believe, and TEACH, the Core, historic, first century Apostolic Biblical Faith, that is, the corpus of Doctrine, ‘Once for all delivered to the Saints” (Jude 1)

This is, essentially what IS* the FUNDAMENTALISTS, position, nothing more, and nothing less than what is divinely Inspired in His Word, the Bible.

Think of it, every discipline HAS its FUNDAMENTAL CORE principles, Physics, Chemistry, Engineering, Law, Medicine, etc, etc.,that form ITS foundational basis, without which it just cannot function.

44. @Zoe

The manuscripts used to authenticate the bible is the best supporting argument to establish events of the bible. You should expand this argument for the agnostics and atheists.

45. David | November 26, 2012 at 5:41 AM |
    @Zoe

“The manuscripts used to authenticate the bible is the best supporting argument to establish events of the bible. You should expand this argument for the agnostics and atheists.”

David, I have done this repeatedly over the years on BU, for the benefit and enlightenment of the Halsall’s et al skeptics, but, how many really read, understand and learn from the historic, credible, logical, warranted facts and evidence, that collectively CANNOT be refuted by any intellectually honest enquirer and seeker of TRUTH!

46. But Zoe: the argument is circular – it takes us nowhere. You are back to words and not words written contemporaneously with the words spoken either. And the premises remain constant…the Bible is “God’s Word”.

Mind – you will still have to deal with the concept of the Apostolic priesthood, what Jesus actually meant in the words you quote – ‘I will build my Church’ – which begs all the questions, and whether God did indeed fumble and mumble in the OT, a condition which a throat operation cured in the New.

47. @Zoe

Use your words, speak to how manuscripts of the time refer to ‘miracles’ etc.

48. @Zoe
    love ya passion, but ya flying over some people’s heads.

“There are many denominations, that hold to, believe, and TEACH, the Core, historic, first century Apostolic Biblical Faith, that is, the corpus of Doctrine, ‘Once for all delivered to the Saints””

Like my gym trainer says, once your core is good, you can lift any amount of weights! The explanatory challenge for the searchers among us is though……who / what dictates the “core” and which combination of religions are there that have the “TRUTH”.

@robert
    the circular argument is the difficulty many fundamentalists have with convincing others. It shouldn’t be an argument.It shouldn’t need proving. It doesn’t need validating. Honestly it doesn’t even need explaining, lol.

Everything is already there to see if we allow ourselves to.

Walk good peoples. Love this discussion.

Just Observing

49. @DAVID
    RE The manuscripts used to authenticate the bible is the best supporting argument to establish events of the bible. You should expand this argument for the agnostics and atheists.”

Zoe gives a list of books which are accepted by contemporary folk to be accurate. He points out that often after just a short period of time, very few copies of these books could be found. Whereas for the Biblical manuscripts several [hundreds] of copies have been found.

His point is if one can accept Caesar for whom only ten copies of his work has been found or Livy for whom only twenty copies of his work , we ought to be able to accept the Biblical manuscripts.

Some idiot will try to refute this arguement, but the truth is, that this is the way that books are apparently authenticated

I admire his scholarship, and perseverance in trying to educate the morons on BU. iT IS A HOPELESS AND THANKLESS TASK.
    It is easier to spout bovine excrement about things about which one knows nothing, and political hogwash and hatred.

BU folk may hate ZOE, but his Biblical scholarship is in the top drawer; and so were the contributions of Dictionary, when he posted on BU.—-ACCURATE AND SOUND! IT IS VERY CLEAR THAT HE IS WELL READ—–AS .INDICATED BY THE AUTHORS HE CITES

50. the Core, historic, first century Apostolic Biblical Faith, that is, the corpus of Doctrine, ‘Once for all delivered to the Saints”” also called the faith [pistis in the greek] is the Word of God, rightly divided. Simple!
    All denominations claim to follow the Bible. But this is clearly not the case, when one carefully examines their individual distinctives.