Rihanna
Rihanna

Rihanna was plucked from the Combermere Secondary School in 2004 by international recording producer Evan Rogers. Her first release pon de replay was a mega-hit and since then it has been one hit after the next. The one disappointment for most Barbadians is the fact Rihanna has not been able to perform for her fans living in Barbados and in the region.

Based on our usual unimpeachable sources plans are afoot for Rihanna  to perform in Barbados at a date(s) between August and October 2011. The location of the concert is likely to be at the Kensington Oval. It is early days yet in the planning of the Rihanna Barbados Tour but indications point to the fact she plans to dazzle Barbadians by laying on a world class produced event. Our sources say the Rihanna Barbados Tour has the full backing of the Barbados government.

Last month Barbados launched the Diaspora Conference geared at enticing Barbadians living abroad to invest in Barbados. The initiative, the brainchild of Prime Minister David Thompson has come at a time when the Barbados economy is being severely affected by the current global economic conditions. To have Rihanna perform in Barbados – who can easily claim to be the most recognizable Bajan on the planet – provides a fillip to the government’s Diaspora initiative.

Rihanna the Bajan by bringing her world class act to the Rock will ensure Barbados is bathed in the glow of the global spotlight. The economic benefits of Rihanna performing in Barbados should easily surpass Tiger Woods’ wedding which was held at the Sandy Lane Hotel in 2004.

No doubt Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy is smiling at the opportunity to market a world class event like Rihanna’s Barbados Tour likely to be held over two days. Visitors from the region and beyond are sure to be lured by the occasion if the planners can satisfactorily negotiate the deal. There is the legacy benefit to be had from successfully staging a Rihanna concert. Many Barbadians even at this stage in her career have not yet fully appreciated the mega-stardom which Rihanna has already achieved in her brief career.

Rihanna has tied a record for most number one hits on the Billboard pop charts. Rihanna joins Mariah Carey, Beyonce, and Lady Gaga who have all had six number one hits since Billboard starting counting sales at retail point-of-sale using Nielsen SoundScan in 1991Popjornalism

Rhianna has always been unafraid to wave the ‘yellow blue’ on the world stage. Her decision to perform for Barbadians at a time when the country needs all the help it can get is consistent with that of a true Bajan patriot. The esprit de corps of the Combermerian clan may very well have influenced in her decision to want to perform at this time.

1. Good. I look forward to this concert. Perhaps it can be a fund raiser with some of the money going to help women who are beaten by men and some going to teach men how NOT to beat women.

2. I am so pleased at this news…and hope to be able to be there. All those who have constantly bashed this lady…might now have to bow their heads in shame.

Only today, on Facebook, David Kirton – another amazing writer/singer/producer was lamenting the fact that everywhere he goes abroad he is treated with much love, respect and of course that also means financial gains as those who book him pay and pay well…why was he lamenting this? Because he boasts about this little rock everywhere he goes but this little rock does not give him the time of day.

Now it is easy for those who are not in the creative world to say…but why must these people want love? Well, because as long as you are creative it is part of the process…in order to do this very hard work that we creative people do, a little love, respect and financial gain would be as wonderful as those who do get this by being bankers/lawyers/doctors etc. Has anyone realized that even the sign that says Bank, Law Firm, Doctor’s Office has been put together by a creative person??? Does that evah come into the heads of many?

I also heard another great actor we have here in our midst tell a group of us discussing these matters that someone at our national TV station said to him in all seriousness during a discussion about him putting on a full theatre play for the station: “the problem with you artistes is that you always expect to be paid!”. Hello? Run that one by me again Lord CBC? I bet if you did not get your pay cheque at the end of monff (as you all like to call it on air) there would be all hell let loose eh?

Perhaps Rihanna, who has not been treated well by many here, constantly titter-tattering and sniggering about her life…will finally see that she promotes Barbados non-stop – just by being good at what she does, being out there with the creme de la creme of money and by simply being Barbadian. And perhaps by loving Rihanna at last because of her professionalism that now the average Barbadian will get an opportunity to see, when they experience the love that the world has for this child, people here will also start to understand what it means to be creative in your own country and to be looked at with mostly disdain because you dare to be different, not adhering to a specific mold… If we did we would not be creative by the way!

And I can tell you that I know the feeling. I was invited to launch Nyam Jamaica at Hue-Man Bookstore in Harlem (where Clinton, Obama etc. launched) and from the time I got my first interview with the media, the phone was ringing off the hook to have me on air…whether radio or television (Caribbean of course!). There was no care as to whether I was white, black or indifferent. People were genuinely interested in my achievements as one from their land and made me feel proud to carry the Caribbean flags as I do. Jamaica…wow! what a reception…such love. Antigua, St. Vincent, even little Canouan…but come back to Barbados where I have lived for most of my life…ha! Had to beg CBC for a likkle interview and they refused until a Jamaican producer pushed them into shame and I was put on for a quick show and tell…felt as though I could not be got off the set faster…Hmmmm…. If I had been given the opportunity to meet me…I would have asked all manner of questions as I was asked in New York because those interviewers over there did their homework, as I would, and knew all about my work before I had a chance to tell them, and therefore knew what to ask to get out of me what I had to offer by way of a story of hardship to success.

May Rihanna’s visit not only bring those who will come just to see this star…those who will fill the hotels and hop around the island in between spreading their much required money…but hopefully may she also bring a sense of understanding of how a team of people can put on a perfect, flawless top of the line show for patrons (by having the finances to do it) and last but not least, and most importantly, that we should begin to understand that creative people deserve all the respect whether at home or abroad so they may continue to fulfill our lives with their joy! Bless.

3. Pon De Replay has been played just over 127 million times on Youtube.

4. I won’t be going to see her, but it’s a shame that it has taken so long for her to perform in her homeland.

5. I won’t be going to see her, and it’s a shame that it has taken so long for her to perform in her homeland.

6. Applause!Applause!
    Take a Bow!

7. Definite must see concert for a real caribbean superstar!!!

8. Did a number of her concerts get canceled recently because of low sales? right on use us we stupid make money out of us. Wonder how much a ticket going cost?

9. Did a number of her tours get canceled because of low sales or something the that effect? right on use us we got the cash over here. wonder how much a ticket going cost?

10. I am hoping that many good things unfold for Rhiana when this proposed tour comes off.To be patriotic at times can be hard but non-the-less one has to plod on. I am sure if Rhiana had to reflect on the negatives things said about her she would curl up and die!There is aso much talent in Barbados but few often get the training they need like ballet,I want her to bring it like it hot!This might be thr right time to perform in BiM again.

11. Good for Rhianna and Barbados if this comes off I guess it planners are hoping that it attracts global attendance a la Beyonce’s tour to T’N’T. One question though what were the economic benefits in numbers of Tiger Woods’ wedding pun we rock?

12. Government of Barbados involve? So while Bajans want them Income Tax, you distract them with music when a smoking ban is forgotten? An unnecessary smoking ban since Bajans do not use cigarettes indoors anyhow! Where be the Income Tax 2009 rebates nuh? I want my money! Rihanna is a slut who not even finished Cawmere and shows her pubes in public and dyes her hair like a parrot to show what a birdbrain she really is – another Sweetcakes innovation, elevate a whore as Bajans suck salt!

13. @Gigi

One question though what were the economic benefits in numbers of Tiger Woods’ wedding pun we rock?

You have to know that to measure what you are asking you needed to pose the question the other way. How much would Barbados have had to pay for the Tiger publicity if they had to run ads in the same media space which were generated for free? The answer would be mullions!

14. Nothing can happen before its time. Maybe this timing is right. I hope when it is all said, sung and done, we all can be proud.

15. hope thet some of her fans will be able to afford the event

16. they should give rupee support too he sings local music to me he promotes Barbados.Keep the good work up rupee and God bless

17. can we get more info on the vagrant association if they are genuine and realy want to help. So far the people i see realy helping is the indians and Wayne Jackman by feeding the Goverment should see if they can find a place to become for them there is alot of buildings that can be renovated i sure they can get construction companys to give back and help.

18. It was a slight error a full stop should have been place after feeding.

19. I hope those that criticized Cricket World Cup will be as critical should public funds be used to put on a Rihanna concert.

20. This is certainly good news.

21. Does Combermere stage talent shows?

22. This so-called concert is left to be seen.

PS. Imagine! What if Rhianna went to school Grantley Adams Memorial? Aaawww … Combermerians would have been so disappointed, cuddear!

23. I love my country Avatar
    I love my country

I really hope this concert takes place when I am here in Barbados, I always felt that a concert in her homeland was long overdue.

24. Gascoigne LaRue why you don’t try and behave y’self?

25. Rhianna is nice, but not the be all and end all in world music
    I like Ashanthi too

26. I am a trini and i had a bajan grand father i never new i am proud to say in trinidad we are proud of Rihana and you should be also, i wil be in barbados soon and i will not miss that concert, most people who bad talk ain’t better or can be worse, come out of the box, it’s our girl

27. new should be “knew”

28. personaly i wish her all da bes but she aint reppin her hometwn at al i fink she has 4goten wer shes cum frm coz all dis fame

29. It is official.

30. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

It is an excellent, long overdue, and well-timed in terms of when it has been communicated. Must throw a little cover for PM Stuart, Minister Sinckler, and the DEMS. I am sure that the BLP will recognise this fact; it calls for careful handling. There is absolutely no need to be bombastic but we must still ask the authorities to give us $ollar figures in terms of what the improved status for tourism this year has netted; what over the last couple of years are those figures in terms of contributions to particular sectors. We have to be serious if we are asking for greater productivity; part of that means having the right and up to date data and analysing such data.
    Above all I am happy for RiRi and for all those Barbadians who would now have an opportunity in a couple months to support her and the country. Rihanna is a gem; and she should be encouraged and adequately rewarded for all of her continuous efforts in promoting her excellence and Barbados as an excellent choice for visiting or residence.

31. To those who want to post Rihanna comments this blog has been brought forward.

32. Seems to be a certain lifestyle which goes with those occupying the tip of the pinnacle.

May she rest in peace.

33. If this concert is a net foreign exchange earner, BAFBFP will be overjoyed and this ambassador may in the process make a more meaningful contribution to Barbados than those who simply play bigwig, make no meaningful contribution and are net foreign exchange users. Are TV rights and the like being sold to foreign audiences? Does anyone know which local artiste will get the opportunity to perform at the concert?

34. @Alien

As you know and which Dale Marshall has trumpeted there is a confidentiality agreement cloaking the arrangement.

35. I can now confirm that STIFFY ( of carh my sheep to town ) fame will be the only local act on Rihanna LOUD concert.

Apparently, Rihanna want to showcase our most popular/controversial tune for Crop Over 2011.

Congrats to you STIFFY.

36. @David

Dale Marshall is just blowing smoke, I have it on good authority that the “confidentiality agreement” is a performance rider which is employed by many entertainers to ensure that they are comfortable on the day of the performance. E.g. , among the rock group Van Halen’s list of demands was bowls of M&Ms back stage but all the brown ones had to be removed. Presumably some underling had to go through all the M&M’s and remove the brown ones, I hope the rider also stipulated that these underlings wear gloves. Some rappers demand packs of extra large condoms in their dressing rooms
    ( they have an image to keep).

Some one slipped me a brown envelope with the list of demands which is too lengthy to reproduce here but as a public service I will share a few with you.

A) No one with the names Chris or Brown is to be admitted, if any one mentions the two names together on the day of the concert they are to be deported forthwith even if they are Bajan born.
    B) No female with red hair will be admitted to the concert, there is room for only one diva
    C) All sugar cakes backstage will be dyed red, no white or brown sugar cakes they cause too much trouble
    D) If any pregnant woman who attends the show has a female child, that child will be named Rihanna, if a female becomes pregnant as a result of post concert coitus any female offspring shall also be called Rihanna.
    E) Under no circumstances shall BAFBFP be allowed to attend the concert, BAFBFP cannot venture within 100 yards of Rihanna because BAFBFP has a cock eye and if he so much as looks at Rihanna she may get pregnant and Bajans gotta protect the investment.

The above is just a small sample of the “confidential agreement”, more to follow:-)

37. They tried to make me go to rehab but I said ‘no, no, no’
    Yes I’ve been black but when I come back you’ll know know know
    I ain’t got the time and if my daddy thinks I’m fine
    He’s tried to make me go to rehab but I won’t go go go