Senator Maxine McClean, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Today has been an interesting day so far. It was a day arch-enemies India and Pakistan battled in a World Cup cricket semi-final. The game from media reports was played in a cordial atmosphere which India won. There was a time in the not too distant past when the events of today would not have been thought possible. The moral of this story you ask? There is hope that a truce in the ‘war of words’ which has broken out between Jamaica and Barbados will soon come to past.

To restate BU’s position, an allegation was made by a Jamaican national which was deposited, by her, in Jamaica’s media space. The result of it is that her allegation has whipped-up a national frenzy which has seen a level of vitriol hurled at Barbados hitherto not experienced. The immigration brouhaha between Guyana does not even come close to what is currently unravelling. The response of many Barbadians, known in the region for our passive and docile manner, appears to have taken some by surprise.

Not since the era of the late Rt. Excellent Errol Walton Barrow, who was not afraid to signal to Cowboy Ronald Reagon where to get off, have we had leaders who were prepared to fearlessly defend our sovereignty. BU is supportive of Minister Maxine McClean who has been forced to fill the enormous leadership vacuum which seems to exist in this regard. Senator Maxine McClean’s record is there to be scrutinized by her critics, a respected UWI, Cave Hill lecturer for several years and a regional consultant before agreeing to enter the cabinet of the current administration. Her commitment to regional harmony cannot be credibly questioned. Unlike some in Barbados, she appears to be acutely aware of where Barbados finds itself at this period in our history.

It is ironic that Barbados not too long ago had to battle a large influx of Guyanese – especially Indo-Guyanese which scared the hell out of many Bajans – which precipitated the proposed amendment to the Immigration Act. Now we have the Jamaica Barbados conflict over the Shanique Myrie affair. Surprisingly we have two of the largest of the territories in the Caribbean battling Barbados on the larger issue of freedom of movement. Antigua of similar ‘size’ has been battling the same issues. BU is about justice for people and if our local authorities have been found to have engaged in a cover up on the Myrie Affair, let the chips fall where they may. What BU will not compromise on is the need for Bajans to feel ashame of what we have achieved. It seems bleeding hearts of our own kind are quick to join others from outside to bloody the reputation of Barbados. Many from outside envy what we have achieved and in the process are quick to label us arrogant or some similar term. When traits which recommend Barbados are discussed around the region, especially T&T and Jamaica, our orderly society is often what is highlighted at the top of the list. Barbadians themselves have taken this characteristic for granted over time.

We will not allow our tiny country – if we compare to Jamaica and Guyana – to become ‘the warehouse of the unskilled’. The reality that we are in the midst of an economic slowdown which has added wings to the flight of those who seek fame and fortune perpetrating illegal and or undesirable activities should not be forgotten. This is the background which has informed the rigour with which guardians of our ports of entry have had to be acutely aware. For whatever reason which is the subject of another commentary everybody want to descend on Barbados like flies would honey nowadays. The position of Rickey Singh on this matter is not lost on us at all. BU believes there is a regional conspiracy to get Barbados to dumb down its protection of its borders in recent years to satisfy ideological positions. We have those who are proponents of freedom of movement at all cost.

BU has deliberately dealt with this matter from an arms distance perspective. However there are some more things we will have to say which the Myrie Affair has brought to light in the coming days and weeks.

1. @BAFBFP: “What scares my most is the prevalence of weapons, and fairly sophisticated ones as well.

An AK47 scares you? Good. It should scare you.

The fact that Barbados doesn’t have video monitoring and recording of the incoming traffic should scare you more.

2. I COULD NOT HAVE SAID IT BETTER SCOUT. i totally agree.

3. these jamaicans get and run their nasty drug and illegal activities from home and then come and want to dirty up our gene pool and hide behind provisions of a treaty. We have a right to protect our border and for those of you who are not aware, it is called the protective principle in public international law and it allows a state to protect its border. Like it or not when your own country men have a history of doing shit in people place, ya have ta live wid de consequences. Clean up wanna yard. First thing yall got going against yall is that dreaded jamaican passport it screams criminal ask the US or Canadian embassy if wanna doubt me.

4. Chris

Autistic people are far scarier than weapons … In fact they are a good reason to carry one …! 🙂

5. sabrina

And yet another woman siding with Scout and the hawkish conservative right. Sabrina, fran, random, ac, Jay, Pat … Scout wah brand ah cologne do you wear …? At least yah ain’ snare Tracey Cole yet …!

6. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Dear BAFBFP

Wrong about me on many counts:
    woman
    hawkish
    conservative
    right

7. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Wrong about the Mytie Affair too.

Always wrong.

Incapable of reason.

8. I would like to thank Miss Myrie for alerting women of what she has gone through. She is brave one and I wish there would be more like her to speak up. She may not win her case but she has made sure that as women we know what our rights are now if face with such. We can refuse a cavity search and demand that we go before a magistrate who will make that decision. For too long many have gone silent after being violated like this. Many of us were not aware of our rights as citizens and will easily accept invasive searches as part of the procedure.

Barbados has a right to defend its borders but we do not have the right to violate persons whom we deem unacceptable to enter our country. We need to treat everyone with greater respect . We need to raise the bar for others to follow. We must hold our authorities to the highest of standards.

I do hope that the authorities will do what is necessary like the installation of cameras to assist them whenever they are faced with incidents like this.

Instead of insulting and calling names we should learn from this experience. There are no winners in this scenario.

9. @The Scout | April 1, 2011 at 6:35 PM |
    Chuckles
    After almost fifty years of Independence, there are still too many barbadians who have not matured enough to be boldand call a spade a spade. In many cases it is because of political yardfowlism, they hibernate while their party is in opposition, then expects to get a lot of sweets when their party is returned to office. This means that everything the opposing party does is criticised and when in power everything their party does is right because it is ameans of existence for many. For me, I’m bold enough to pay kudos when I agree and criticise when needed, I AM A FREE SPIRIT, no ties to any party. I’ve been labelled a D sometimes and a B sometimes but the only label I want is that I’m honest in my comments.
    ==========
    I’ll drink to that.

10. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/How-did-Dudus-know-about-the-extradition-request-

Is Myrie lying?

Is Golding?

Are the dudas Coke dealers running tings bout dey?

Should we let them run things bout hey?

11. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Or should we sqeeze the balls of each and every one of them?

12. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

HARD.

13. @BAFBFP: “Autistic people are far scarier than weapons … In fact they are a good reason to carry one …!

Thanks for that. But…

Carry what? A weapon? Or an Autistic person?

LOL… 😎

14. Are you well, Chris?

15. @ Christopher Halsall

You scare me … !

16. @jack spratt…

Very well. Thank you for asking.

Is it a problem asking questions some don’t want to answer?

17. @BAFBFP: “You scare me … !

If you can’t laugh at yourself, you’re doomed.

IMHO, we spend too little time laughing now a days…

18. Random Thoughts

Wait you thought I was referring to you when I mentioned random? Well let it be … but I must say that judging from much of what you wrote, starting from the point where you referred to one of the male contributors as “Sweetie” and following on from there, you gave me absolutely no reason to assume otherwise …! (Unless there are two of you Randomly taking turns in contributing … Oh no, first an autistic and now the possibility of a schizophrenic)

19. Chris
    “If you can’t laugh at yourself, you’re doomed.”

Oh Dear, dear … Your laughing at yourself, is this symptomatic of the condition? Were it anyone else, I would laugh along … but with you I do not want to be considered insensitive … You know ..1

20. @BAFBFP…

Have you never laughed at or with yourself?

How insecure….

21. Islandgirl246

Now this is the kind of position that I think reasonable women should be taking … Why only you? I do not understand.

22. No no Chris I laugh all the time … I am your regular garden variety Hyena. I am just not use to communicating with members of the differently able community, that’s all. Just a little out of my comfort zone, so I do not want to come across as disrespectful ..

23. BTY Random Thoughts;

You also speak about “sqeezing balls” and HARD… Now tell me, dah ain’ girl talk ..? You go girl ..!

24. @BAFBFP: “Just a little out of my comfort zone, so I do not want to come across as disrespectful ..

LOL…

When some wake up tomorrow they will see these exchanges, and wonder WTF?

So might we get back to the topic at hand (no joke intended).

25. Jay | April 1, 2011 at 12:39 AM |
    FrankTalk said

Unfortunately whites seem to travel through the world with more immunity and impunity than black people regardless to what they are travelling with.
    A Barbadian in the UK

Many years ago I was on a train ,and as it crossed the border from Germany into Belgium, a Belgie Custom Officer came along and I was the only one in the compartment whose luggage and docs were checked.My travelling mate, an Englishman, advised me to make a formal complaint as he deemed it an act of racism. Later when we reached Dover in the UK, we were walking together when a Custom Officer pointed a finger in our direction. I made a step towards the officer, and he said to me. ” Not you, him!,” indicating the Englishman. I turned to my friend and said, “Hey, mate you want to make a complaint on racism on the part of that Custom Officer”.
    I have traveled extensively and a have dealt with many custom and immigration officers,and have learnt not to prejudge them. On two occasions I was allowed into countries, although I did not have the required Visa, the USA being one of those.

26. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

If the balls are the balls of drug dealing scum, then it is ok to squeeze them

27. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Nitey, night sweetie.

28. You see RT yah see … I know dat you did a woman .. I coulda smell you from far ..! You cannot hide. It is important that you accept who you are, because it is then and only then can others will feel comfortable accepting you. Good night to you too Sweet Chile …!

Chris

Phew, thanks for the LOL … It means that you are normal tonight … I can’ tell you how glad I am to know that your condition is not permanent, I just have to see the signs and work to suit. Good night to you too …!

29. DRUGS AS DE WEAPON OF UNDECLARED WAR (War without OBVIOUS reason)
    I recalled a Drug warning advert aired on TV, in Barbados, back in (the early 1990s or late 1980s when I returned for a visit to my Dearly beloved Earthly Paradise. The advert, using ‘bright promising looking young people’ were warning against drugs. The ads alarmed me with surprise because I did not catch a sniff of cocaine in Barbados. I saw no evidence or had any inkling that Cocaine was used by youths of Barbados and I wondered why These adverts? Why??? The ads sounded like ADVERTISING to me.
    The most alarming thing was that when I returned to London; HUGE BILLBOARD were up in Brixton where I worked carrying warnings: ‘CRACK COCAINE’ (emblazoned on top of an image of black youths smoking what looked like a ‘joint’) ‘from the streets of New York has reach London. “A warning to young people: one hit and you want more. Don’t mess with drugs” I couldn’t help but thinking that the ‘warning’ ad sounded similar to the cigarette warning ads and I remembered a tobacconist told me that “It seem these people…” (Cigarette smokers) …want to die because the more gruesome and explicit the warning become the more they are buying”
    Well to my knowledge there were no Cocaine peddled on the streets of Brixton (Plenty marijuana but no Cocaine) within three months of the billboard ads you could hear the pushers of ‘ganga’ asking passersby’s “Ya want a rock?” (Cocaine rock)

lo-an-behold- when I returned home three years later my mother was complaining that the stuff was washing-up at de bay and all over de place and to drive de message home when I was strolling along Bay Street by a famous night-spot a young man approached me and said “Open ya han” I look at him and asked ‘fuh wah?’ and he asked me “ya don’t use coke?” or something like that. I said ‘No’ and kept waking the young man cross the road between the traffic and went his way. I was shocked to think that my little paradise was visited by the ‘white-lady of death…SOUL DEATH
    Some BIG QUESTIONS have to be asked:
    (1) Why, after eighteen years of the US declaring WAR on the ‘Colombian drug Cartels – with so much money and weapons cocaine are so more prevalent and cheaper?
    (2) Are the drug pushers restricted to the minos (mules) at the bottom, to the middle man (usually suspected by the police?) or are there Untouchables” who have perceived immunity: The BOSS (Not Body Orifice Security Scanner or Bureau of State Security) – I know you smart Bajans think it mean Big Overseas Secret Services…well de only ting I can saeh to dah is: if ya wasn’t Bajan, yuh wudnt be smart an if yuh wasnt smart, yuh woulnt be Bajan.
    (3) Why, after ‘Shipriders Agreement’ and the US marines destruction of marijuana plantations in the Caribbean there appears to be an increase in the availability of cocaine in the Caribbean area replacing the marijuana? Whilst at the same time there has been a colossal increase of cultivation of the same marijuana in the US to the extent that it is on par with the monetary income of ‘grain’ yields in that country? Without fear of injecting some asinine I ask: Are there any connection with the ‘reason-able’ (liberation music) of the seventies and marijuana and the ‘slackness’ (debased) music of the present cocaine?.
    There are governments who deal with weapons of destruction…mass weapons of destruction which devastations we witness on our TV daily… are the people who sanction these destructions too moral to suppress a people who are at the bottom and whose only movement is UPWARDS UP. Are they too moral to use drugs to hold the millions of people whose only Dreams and Aspiration is Move-on up?
    A ‘mule’ comes from a union between a donkey and a horse in this case local donkey governments and big fat horses overseas. So please let us break-out of the mental shackles and solve this petty prejudice between ourselves and focus on the BIGGER picture and ask our Governments to ask the BIG QUESTIONS that will save me lil piece of Earthly paradise free from de scourge of the drug storm that is devastating de region.
    Remember: Walter Rodney shows us, in his thesis that Europe developed to the proportion of Africa’s underdevelopment. Needless to say, according to the laws of parity, that as we move up Europe comes down.
    DRUGS AS DE WEAPON OF UNDECLARED WAR (War without OBVIOUS reason)

30. The only thing that will come out of the myrie incident is fingers.

31. The Bajan men cherish their Bajan women that is why they using the Jamaican women for their humiliating adventures such as in Fontablelle. I heard the Myrie girl can make a beer bottle disappear and she is no Copperfield.

32. @islandgal

What do you know about this matter that is not in the public domain?

33. I was am Immigration Officer for over 20 years. I do not know if the incident occurred though it seems a bit shady. But what I know is that Immigration do not conduct body searches. Any matters to do with drugs is dealt with by another agency not IMM. Imm does not have to conduct a body search to refuse anybody, the Imm Act provides for refusal of entry to anyone that is not bonafide, trust me IMM can refuse virtually any body by the snap of a finger. Imm do not watse time doing body searches the other law enforcement agencies at the Airport have that responsibility.

34. @IO III

Thanks for bringing some clarity and levity into the discussion. Even though the facts are nt all out there is enough underlying suspicion showing that these allegations are untrue brought about by Myrie.
    Barbados is not the only country in the region to conduct such searches. There are those who would see this women as a hero seeking to defend her rights but i for one am not as gullible and rightfully so seeing this as an mitigated act of revenge against the Barbados government for denying her entry into the country. As
    IO IIIpointed our government those have a right to virtually deny anyone entry into the country.

35. to chuckles- irrespective of her or anyone else’s background, no one deserves to be humiliated.even the guilty has rights and that is the issue. workers have a right to do their job to the best of their ability and aggrieved people have a right to complain,

36. A reminder that cavity searches are not sanctioned outside of the hospital. If a cavity search was done it would have been done outside of procedure.

37. @ ruth arntte

What she said is an allegation. That she must prove and as now no evidence has been presented by her only her .words against those of the Barbadian government . A Government which so far has deny such allegations. because someone has brought a charge or allegation against one does not mean is truthful and that you should know . I am still waiting for Myrie to present the evidence. Words are not enough! . the government should leave no stoned unturned in uncovering fact from fiction by those who are willing fully try to soften the system. If these allegations go unchllenged those who are willfully trying to undermind the systemwould have achieved the very purpose of unleashing fear and docility in the hearts of our immigfation laws . This must be stopped……

38. Jamaicans aint easy
    In today’s crime pages one Jamaican jailed for trafficking cocaine. He said that he has a business here. JAMAICANS, how can we hate Jamaicans and this man came here and set up a business while running from the “one order gang”. Are there any Barbadian small businessmen in Jamaica?
    ANOTHER IMPORTANT POINT HE SAID HE CAME HERE BECAUSE BARBADOS IS SAFE .We are trying to keep it so.
    In another story a Jamaican woman was jailed for carrying out a million dollar fraud on a cerebral palsy patient in Canada.

39. A “cavity search” is so serious an action, that it should only be done or sanctioned by an official, if there is substantial evidence” that it is necessary. For example, the person was seen with material before the search, they have subsequently been closely guarded, and the material is not in the room, in their clothes and has not been discarded. Or if there is intelligence from a “reliable” source that such a search is necessary. In those circumstances it would be reasonable to conduct a cavity search.

This “allegation” ask many questions; which can only be “truthfullly” answered, by those directly involved, eg the young lady, the alleged perpertrator and the official or officials who sanctioned it.

When it is said by some:”We will prove it was done.” I ask how can it be proved. It will be a question of one person’s word against another’s.

It will then be the character of the individuals giving evidence for reliability, as to who is ultimately believed.

I do not know if the “allegations” are true or not but either way it will be very difficult to prove; unless there is an admission of guilt by a perpetrator or a change from the public utterances so far made.

It is most unwise in a case of this kind to be “absolutely sure” of what transpired in that room, without all the evidence. In the interim they are just “allegations”.

40. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

We need to keep Barbados safe, so that when decent, honest, Weel educated or highly skilled (and I don’t mean skillful in unlawful or immoral activities) Jamaicans need a good place to escape to, Barbados is one of those places.

I’ve heard more that one Jamaican say that even though they love Jamaica there is no way that they would raise their children there.

We have to work hard and honestly so that Barbados is a good safe place in which to raise our children (and the children of Jamaicans who value sanity, honesty and decency.)

41. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Why haven’t we heard from the Jamaican Ambassador to Trinidad who came here with other jamaican officials on Wednesday?

Did they see a filthy room with a dirty sponge,did they see the log of the whole immigration process?

Not a peep from them yet Barbados name was dragged through the mud,and still here in Barbados the jamaican criminals in our country with massive amounts of cocaine trying to kill our children.

The common skin-out jamaicans whores are still prostituting themselves across the length and breath of Barbaods,yet our name is being dragged in the mud by jamaicans.

Lord help us!

42. BU uploaded the following video from Facebook which shows the kind of culture we are encouraging on the island. We are not blaming Jamaica per se but a big part of the fight is the sub culture coming out of Jamaica which many of our young have bought into.

The video shows a girl performing the popular 6:30 dance, the DJ we understand is a popular 98.1 personality. How do we protect public morals?

43. The only way you can “protect public morals” is by having them in the first place. I definitely agree with this blog owner’s wider point that Barbados needs to protect its borders.

However, I don’t believe that Bajans should fool themselves that they are any more moral than anyone else. In my opinion, if Bajan youth are “buying into” a particular brand of sub-culture from overseas, then we as Bajan adults only have ourselves to blame. It is OUR fault for refusing to set moral boundaries at to what is and is not acceptable behaviour.

For any community to function and thrive properly, it has to set boundaries. For too long we allowed a lot of decadence and loose behaviour to creep in slowly. Not just from overseas, but homegrown too. I have been noticing it for years and in my opinion, most of it is our own doing. Look at the majority of our Bajan ZR drivers for example. These are grown men who flout the law openly and play disgusting music, and the Bajan authorities just talk and do nothing. No Jamaican or anyone else made them do that.
    I think this is a problem with Caribbean and Black people in general. I see it in the Caribbean and anywhere else you travel in the world where there are large black constructs. Bottom line is we all have to shape up if any of us is to have a future. We can’t point fingers at who is worse than the other. That is mostly what both Bajans and Jamaicans are doing from this Myrie issue and this I think is extremely unfortunate.

We can and should fight more than one battle at once. We have to start demanding accountability from our elected leaders, instill discipline in all areas of our society especially with the youth in schools, etc. We can do this while at the same time ensuring that persons from overseas who wish to live and work here can do so ONLY if they adhere to the same standards of decent behaviour and moral boundaries that we have first set for OURSELVES. Barbadians must not use the Myrie case to deflect from the other issues that we ourselves have created.

44. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Have you noticed that this jamaican dub crap is being pushed by ALL the radio station,perhaps with the exception of Larry mayers and archilus weekes of 100.7 fm?

Tell me how are these radio DJ’s helping to develop our children’s mind in a positive direction,encouraging them to be business perons,scientists,agriculturalists etc?

This is what the jamaican skin out culture looks like people,like Lady Saw,and Movado and vybz Kartel.

The next jamaican craze I expect to see coming to Barbados is the black jamaicans desire to get a lighter coplexion,so their love affair with bleaching creams.

Even Vybz Kartel used bleaching cream and tried to pass it off as the result of blue soap.
    However when the blue soap maunfacturers put out a statement that blue soap does not bleach the skin,Kartel was forced to admit he was bleaching his skin,to – according to him,look better in his videos’.

And these are the people that the DJs and radio personality pushing their thinking,their culture,and their immorality on us through their music.

WHERE ARE OUR LEADERS,CHURCH,POLITICIANS – WHOEVER?

45. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

David can you explain why a number appeared on the headline above while this comment is being printed something like #243…….

Also I got a note about ‘phishing’,isn’t that when websites seek to try to get persons identity?

What is going on?

46. @ David

We had a gospel radio station trying to correct the moral decline in the society on a daily basis, but we have decided to rid ourselves of the only gospel station in Barbados, allowing it now to only have a mouth-piece at night when our youth might not be listening.

All the other stations including those owned by the public push the kind of vibes which cause our children to behave as in the Youtube video.

Then we will be inundated by ministers of government, and the private sector, as the morals in the society fall, stating that the church should be doing more.

The bed we have prepared we will have to lie in it. We have let down our guards, and have allowed those SPIRITS from around the globe, especially Jamaica to come in freely as the morning sunshine.

Almost all of our PSV, DJ’s, and radio stations, are drowning us with the Jamaican music, and culture. It has gotten so bad that some of our people try to speak with a Jamaican accent.

I will be like one crying in the wilderness for the return of the beloved, and only gospel radio station, which has placed a dent in moral decline of the Barbadian society, and if there be any who would raise a hand to suggest that they care anything about what is happening to Barbados, that person should be counted amongst those who think it is unfair to our people, to remove the only gospel radio station, especially when all the others are preparing us for presentations as in the video above.

47. I had made my comment before reading that of – mash up & buy back | April 2, 2011 at 1:29 PM

And there is the question where is the church, “WHERE ARE OUR LEADERS,CHURCH,POLITICIANS – WHOEVER?”

@ mash up & buy back

The church is being muzzled by the removal its daily outreach into the society, by the closure of the ONLY gospel radio, which will be amalgamated into VoB at night once Best and Mason aren’t on etc.

48. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

The filth invariably originates in Jamaica, and then spreads across the region like diarrhoea.

49. @David | April 2, 2011 at 12:51 PM |
    BU uploaded the following video from Facebook which shows the kind of culture we are encouraging on the island. We are not blaming Jamaica per se but a big part of the fight is the sub culture coming out of Jamaica which many of our young have bought into.

The video shows a girl performing the popular 6:30 dance, the DJ we understand is a popular 98.1 personality. How do we protect public morals?
    =============
    Certainly not by treating people badly at the airport. Enforce the laws at the point in time when the laws are being broken. I remember sometime back in the early 90s when Chico and Mack(Chippendale dancers) came to Bim and exposed their private parts at the delight of women attending the show at the After Dark. Those men were hauled before the courts and fined (albeit only $10). Yet we have women dancing naked in clubs every weekend, male and female prostitutes (many bajans) picking fares all over the place while the police pass and make small talk with them……and you want to know how we gine protect public morals. Gimme a damn break.