Senator Maxine McClean, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Today has been an interesting day so far. It was a day arch-enemies India and Pakistan battled in a World Cup cricket semi-final. The game from media reports was played in a cordial atmosphere which India won. There was a time in the not too distant past when the events of today would not have been thought possible. The moral of this story you ask? There is hope that a truce in the ‘war of words’ which has broken out between Jamaica and Barbados will soon come to past.

To restate BU’s position, an allegation was made by a Jamaican national which was deposited, by her, in Jamaica’s media space. The result of it is that her allegation has whipped-up a national frenzy which has seen a level of vitriol hurled at Barbados hitherto not experienced. The immigration brouhaha between Guyana does not even come close to what is currently unravelling. The response of many Barbadians, known in the region for our passive and docile manner, appears to have taken some by surprise.

Not since the era of the late Rt. Excellent Errol Walton Barrow, who was not afraid to signal to Cowboy Ronald Reagon where to get off, have we had leaders who were prepared to fearlessly defend our sovereignty. BU is supportive of Minister Maxine McClean who has been forced to fill the enormous leadership vacuum which seems to exist in this regard. Senator Maxine McClean’s record is there to be scrutinized by her critics, a respected UWI, Cave Hill lecturer for several years and a regional consultant before agreeing to enter the cabinet of the current administration. Her commitment to regional harmony cannot be credibly questioned. Unlike some in Barbados, she appears to be acutely aware of where Barbados finds itself at this period in our history.

It is ironic that Barbados not too long ago had to battle a large influx of Guyanese – especially Indo-Guyanese which scared the hell out of many Bajans – which precipitated the proposed amendment to the Immigration Act. Now we have the Jamaica Barbados conflict over the Shanique Myrie affair. Surprisingly we have two of the largest of the territories in the Caribbean battling Barbados on the larger issue of freedom of movement. Antigua of similar ‘size’ has been battling the same issues. BU is about justice for people and if our local authorities have been found to have engaged in a cover up on the Myrie Affair, let the chips fall where they may. What BU will not compromise on is the need for Bajans to feel ashame of what we have achieved. It seems bleeding hearts of our own kind are quick to join others from outside to bloody the reputation of Barbados. Many from outside envy what we have achieved and in the process are quick to label us arrogant or some similar term. When traits which recommend Barbados are discussed around the region, especially T&T and Jamaica, our orderly society is often what is highlighted at the top of the list. Barbadians themselves have taken this characteristic for granted over time.

We will not allow our tiny country – if we compare to Jamaica and Guyana – to become ‘the warehouse of the unskilled’. The reality that we are in the midst of an economic slowdown which has added wings to the flight of those who seek fame and fortune perpetrating illegal and or undesirable activities should not be forgotten. This is the background which has informed the rigour with which guardians of our ports of entry have had to be acutely aware. For whatever reason which is the subject of another commentary everybody want to descend on Barbados like flies would honey nowadays. The position of Rickey Singh on this matter is not lost on us at all. BU believes there is a regional conspiracy to get Barbados to dumb down its protection of its borders in recent years to satisfy ideological positions. We have those who are proponents of freedom of movement at all cost.

BU has deliberately dealt with this matter from an arms distance perspective. However there are some more things we will have to say which the Myrie Affair has brought to light in the coming days and weeks.

1. I have made about 30 trips to Barbados in the last 10 years and I have never encountered or observed a single incident of uncouth behaviour by customs or immigration officers at GAIA.

Some smiled,some didn’t smile,some said “enjoy your stay” and some didn’t.

Is it that I have been just lucky?

2. $322 Million sent back from Bajans in de Diaspora.

We love de rock real bad doh yuh.

3. Maybe hants. I myself never had any problem but of course you do hear the problems of other people

4. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

No Hants. You are not just lucky. Your treatment is the norm

I’ve travelled in and out of Barbados just about as often as you have and I’ve never once been treated rudely, nor have I ever seen anybody else being trated rudely at Barbados’ airport

5. You (we) smart Bajans should dish-up ya good culture in an artistic bowl, flavour it with you decency and take it down to the theatre-halls and dance-halls of jamaica and geh dem a few years to digest it and later when Jamaicans visit Barbados there wount be much problems because wuna wud hav somerhin in common. Dah is the best thing to do cau it seem a lota wuna ain digesting the Jamaican Cultural dish-up.

an rember people alwaze produce to demand…if there ain no demand for JA ‘Whateveritis’ they shouldnt be any problen. cau as soon as famine catch them they will jump on de next plane or store-away on a scooner.

6. We bajans should become CREATIVE and produce an export.
    Meandering about with a good education and a torist $ in de pocket, absolving whatever crap everybody bring to our shores and airwaves is folly. Remember the tsunami is making people aquaphobic so wha de royal-hole we gon do wen de torist trade dry-up?

7. to hants- it is no secret that our airport personel even the red caps treat white folk local and international better than the black folk local, regional or international. we all know that but prefer to bur our heads in the sand.

8. to ac- who is them? you mean our caribbean brothers and sisters or the cinees now flooding our borders with impunity.i hope i do not ear the shedding of tears when england, canad and the usa adopt this them and us attitude and close their borders to all except kith and kin.

9. @Ruth the “them” I am referring to isJamaicans managing our borders . My question to you is would you peferthe Jamaicans rather than barbadians to manage our borders since you seem to be displeased with the way bajans do things in immigration..

10. toac- i am not labelling all those charged with the responsibility of checking visitors to barbados as uncouth and overzealous but it is a fact that some are in need of training with how to deal with people. they seem to think that their uniforms are mean to intimidate and frustrae rather than to be courteus and hepful. it is unfortunate that one bad apple does spoil a whole bunch so these people on the frontline need to be firm but careful and frienly in the execution of their duties.

11. BORDERS -WE MUST PROTECT AGAINST ALL ILLS.

12. “BORDERS -WE MUST PROTECT AGAINST ALL ILLS.”

Yes we must protect the ills that are within and have no accountability or responsibility for our actions. This incident has shown up who we really are and it speaks volumes.

13. It is time we put this matter to rest, how long will it take my government to conclude this matter? I hope they don’t think that not talking about it anymore will cause iit to go away.
    I too am/was a frequent traveller and except for the fact that I’ve never been allowed to use the green line at the airport, when travelling through the caribbean, the treatment given at the GAIA is superior to many airports I’ve been to whether in the region or outside the region. I can understand the problem with inter-regional travel. Once coming out of Guyana, a young woman asked me if she could be my travel partner ( never met her before), I explain to her that the seats were far apart plus i didn’t know her. However, I enquired from her , if this was her first time travelling or going to Barbados, her response was in the affirmative. I explain to her what she needed to do at the immigration counter, she needed to know where she was staying and with whom. All she knew is the woman’s first name and she lived in Hastings. needless to say while I was leaving the customs area, she was being escorted by an officer to another section of the airport, what happened to her I don’t know. If she was deported she too could have gone back home and spread humors about the Immigration Dept in Barbados.

14. @islandgal246
    You are the ills within sitting on the internet as a SPY, eastend and ajamaican garbage trying to start trouble in barbados and your going to pay for the daeth of Denroy davis. I hope justice touches you and your people soon!
    Jamaicans with all their crimes, want people to trust them, ha ha good luck, after all your stupid talk on the web its going to get rough for your people everywhere. People can tell who is fuelling this thing out of proportion. JAMAICAN GANGS and others.
    People can talk from all around the world on the web without knowing where your coming from but i can tell them your all in England – trying to incite jamaicans abroad on this stupid and futile issue.
    WHEN JEWS, IRISH, AND JAMAICANS TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THEIR ACTIONS THEN THEY CAN TALK UNTIL THEN SHUT UP.
    Did you hear the lastest news in england, they have found two peodophiles working for the NEWS OF THE WORLD tapping peoples phones which will open up the flood gates to enquiries into suspiciuos deaths, robberies, scams, and all other crime that has left the economy of britain broke.
    SCUMBAGS and dem COUSIN

15. @ruth arnetta,
    wuh colour you tink I is?

16. Perhaps we should look at the history of Barbados and the evolution of Bajans to solve this problem that has conflagrated the whole Caribbean and is now burning in Europe and North America. I am surprise it hasn’t spread across the ocean to Africa.
    Bt-the-way did you know that the distance from Barbados to the coast of West Africa `is closer than from NY to California? Strange we have a closer relationship with those other places than we have with West Africa.

17. to ac- two police officers charged before the court and now on bail charged with rape while protecting our borders from a female jamaican drug pusher who tell lies on them because she was caught with drugs. ac, i hope you do not have to eat your words.

18. well well

19. another Jamaican is in da house…

20. I think the issue of Border management is a tricky one,especially when it will have to be shared amongst other nations within CSME in the future.However, a country without a border cannot be called a nation.Is Barbados & Jamaica simply a “parish” of Caricom and the bigger fish[T&T,Jamaica] dictate what goes within the community ? The issue concerning Free-movement within the Single space and what it entails is not currently clearly defined thus it cannot be enforced,at least in Barbados.When someone says my “rights” have been violated one should be asking themselves simple questions.

1.What is the interpretation of Caricom law within the territory in question as it pertains to “rights” if they are “Caricom Nationals”?

2.Have all countries within the CSME region passed ALL laws with regards to implementation or is there only a selection within a specific territory ?

3.How does the local population feel about said laws being passed ?

4.How much does it cost to implement and the feasibility on an on-going basis and whom pays for it the state in question or the CDF[Caricom Development fund] ?

As mentioned,I think it all comes down to what is needed at an absolute basis.One cannot build a house without a foundation,a country without principles and a single market without purpose and/or trust.

Having said that,Barbados does not trust others with its borders considering when you hear stories like these coming from our neighbours.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20110601/lead/lead3.html

“The Contraband Enforcement Team (CET) reportedly struggled to find persons to staff a planned Airport Interdiction Task Force in September 2006 as many failed lie detector tests.

“(Embassy official) explained to the commissioner (of customs) that of seven CET people who were polygraphed last September (2006) only two were deemed to have passed,” the United States Embassy in Kingston reported in a diplomatic cable dated March 2007 and acquired by The Gleaner through whistle-blowing organisation WikiLeaks.

Most troubling for the US officials was the fact that a CET member acting in a relatively senior position also failed the lie-detector test, even though the director of the task force had passed a test he faced. “While (the Embassy official) said he realised that failing a polygraph did not constitute grounds for firing personnel, the commissioner should give some thought to what to do with the polygraph results,” the cable stated.

The Americans also told the commissioner that they would find it difficult to work with the person acting in the senior role if he was to remain in that position.

The cable said the commissioner asked to get a copy of the polygraph results and this was promised to him with a notation beside each name as to whether they passed or failed.”

21. Exactly that of a good blog you have below. You should up-date this more frequently.

This particular subject areas is actually my own
    interest. Thank you.

22. Regardless of whether the bearing is clear or not can have great influence on its
    noise and its service existence. When you lubricate Timken
    bearings, do not lubricate them with excessive grease.
    In San Diego’s sunny, downtown Balboa Park, there exists among other fine institutions, a small jewel of an art museum.