Senator Maxine McClean, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Today has been an interesting day so far. It was a day arch-enemies India and Pakistan battled in a World Cup cricket semi-final. The game from media reports was played in a cordial atmosphere which India won. There was a time in the not too distant past when the events of today would not have been thought possible. The moral of this story you ask? There is hope that a truce in the ‘war of words’ which has broken out between Jamaica and Barbados will soon come to past.

To restate BU’s position, an allegation was made by a Jamaican national which was deposited, by her, in Jamaica’s media space. The result of it is that her allegation has whipped-up a national frenzy which has seen a level of vitriol hurled at Barbados hitherto not experienced. The immigration brouhaha between Guyana does not even come close to what is currently unravelling. The response of many Barbadians, known in the region for our passive and docile manner, appears to have taken some by surprise.

Not since the era of the late Rt. Excellent Errol Walton Barrow, who was not afraid to signal to Cowboy Ronald Reagon where to get off, have we had leaders who were prepared to fearlessly defend our sovereignty. BU is supportive of Minister Maxine McClean who has been forced to fill the enormous leadership vacuum which seems to exist in this regard. Senator Maxine McClean’s record is there to be scrutinized by her critics, a respected UWI, Cave Hill lecturer for several years and a regional consultant before agreeing to enter the cabinet of the current administration. Her commitment to regional harmony cannot be credibly questioned. Unlike some in Barbados, she appears to be acutely aware of where Barbados finds itself at this period in our history.

It is ironic that Barbados not too long ago had to battle a large influx of Guyanese – especially Indo-Guyanese which scared the hell out of many Bajans โ€“ which precipitated the proposed amendment to the Immigration Act. Now we have the Jamaica Barbados conflict over the Shanique Myrie affair. Surprisingly we have two of the largest of the territories in the Caribbean battling Barbados on the larger issue of freedom of movement. Antigua of similar ‘size’ has been battling the same issues. BU is about justice for people and if our local authorities have been found to have engaged in a cover up on the Myrie Affair, let the chips fall where they may. What BU will not compromise on is the need for Bajans to feel ashame of what we have achieved. It seems bleeding hearts of our own kind are quick to join others from outside to bloody the reputation of Barbados. Many from outside envy what we have achieved and in the process are quick to label us arrogant or some similar term. When traits which recommend Barbados are discussed around the region, especially T&T and Jamaica, our orderly society is often what is highlighted at the top of the list. Barbadians themselves have taken this characteristic for granted over time.

We will not allow our tiny country – if we compare to Jamaica and Guyana – to become โ€˜the warehouse of the unskilledโ€™. The reality that we are in the midst of an economic slowdown which has added wings to the flight of those who seek fame and fortune perpetrating illegal and or undesirable activities should not be forgotten. This is the background which has informed the rigour with which guardians of our ports of entry have had to be acutely aware. For whatever reason which is the subject of another commentary everybody want to descend on Barbados like flies would honey nowadays. The position of Rickey Singh on this matter is not lost on us at all. BU believes there is a regional conspiracy to get Barbados to dumb down its protection of its borders in recent years to satisfy ideological positions. We have those who are proponents of freedom of movement at all cost.

BU has deliberately dealt with this matter from an arms distance perspective. However there are some more things we will have to say which the Myrie Affair has brought to light in the coming days and weeks.

1. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

it’s sad because some of the most wonderful ladies I’ve ever known, both in physical beauty and personality, have been Jamaican. sadly, their great impression is spoilt by the remaining 90% of dross!

2. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Wasn’t Arthur married to a Jamaican? So, what do u think his position on this would be? In my view, either silence or pro-JA! Tell me if i wrong!

3. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

For the most part, the JA ladies in too bad. It’s their MEN who drag their country down in the gutter with their criminality and wuflessness! All the black criminals n beggars around here are Jamaican MEN!

4. @ccc,
    YA JACKASS, this is a serious matter we dealing with, na body en studying politics now.

5. @ccc,
    YA JACKASS, this is a national matter we dealing with, na body en studying partisan politics now.

6. @ The Scout |

Please forgive me for responding you this way… yah creative Jackass

@ Fran

What the f#ck is wrong wid wunna women ..? I hope Hopi keep she mout’ shut before she disappoint too ..!

(a) Maxene McLean is leaving the country because we got bare foreign exchange to spend. Seriously … Like Sen Frances Chandler says, I would really like to get a peek on what all this travelling is costing our reserves (tax payers do not pay for the travel and overseas spending, foreign reserves takes care of that. Tax payers par for the salary that does not have to be spent and is placed straight into a bank).

(b) Maxine McLean is leaving the country because she seeks to embarrass the Jamaicans even further..

(c) Both of the above

(d) All of the above

7. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Pica? Well, she looks good on it!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/3502269/Mums-suite-tooth-is-killing-her.html

I’m not sure if she’s a JA! ๐Ÿ™‚

8. Well wunnah doan know dat massa day NOT dead in Buhbados! Wunna need to realise dat we Bajans does brek-up lick down anyting dat black. If um white oh gawd uh down pun muh knees, uh even kissing e a**.
    Uh cyan hear a peep bout de white man who allegedly shoot e son last year. Uh wonda if e gine eveh face de court! Uh mus’ also remind wunna, lest wunna fuhget, bout dah white woman dat had a lil aggro at Grantley Adams Airport. Well she husband know people in high places and bram just so he phone de Attorney General an de immigration offica had to dress back an leh de woman guh long. Of course ef she did black duh wunt be no call to de AG and she may even get incarcerated at Dodds.
    Any how I is a born optimist an uh waitin’ to read bout any white woman or man dat fet finger f**p. Even if duh like um dah en gine happen in Bim. Uh guess uh might have to wait till uh reach Methuselah age?

9. It was in the public domain for some time that Senator McClean was committed to attending a Cariforum conference in Belize and would continue discussions whilst there with her counterpart.

10. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

You might also wonder why they hold just about every sporting and athletics record going! Or, if you’re docile, mightn’t see anything strange about it at all! ๐Ÿ™‚

11. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Probably more than GB and America combined!

12. Another way of dealing with this is to immediately repatriate any suspicious visitor without searching them.
    Search their luggage in plain view and if customs officer is suspicious of the persons intentions deport them.

Now Golding jumping on the band wagon.

Satis est.

13. Peter Simmons
    Why donโ€™t you recognise that you cannot speak for the average Barbadian? They had a little clip on the radio with the man on the street and both were supportive of the security services actions.
    You made bold to say that Senator Husbands was not at the press conference. He said he was there.
    In your opinion Barbados government did everything bad. Why donโ€™t you beg to be a consultant to foreign affairs? You like yah miss the limelight of the high diplomatic post.
    That new moderator handles you the way that you deserve to be handled. Mr. Marshall would have allowed you to get away with that foolishness because of the old boy network.
    The PM of Jamaica was caught lying about Dudus Coke why canโ€™t Myrie be a liar too.

14. Miss McLean as is/was the case with so many present/past Ministers is a person that I can call up on the phone. They are my friends before and after they serve, but while they are supposedly serving I give them hell when ever possible, because I know that they will do nothing or at the very most, do very little to change things. Is this personal between the Sen and me …. why not ..!?

15. Cariforum can be engaged by teleconferencing

16. Hants what ever you and others are accusing the Mins in JA of doing, is just the same as with the Mins in BIM

17. Perhaps we should consider staying away from Reggae on the Hill.

18. @BAFBFP

It would be the convenor/host of the conference to make video conferencing available. You maybe aware that some meetings have concurrent meetings and the opportunity for country delegation to split up to achieve certain objectives.

Let your criticism be relevant.

19. What if…?

What then?

20. @BU.David: “It would be the convenor/host of the conference to make video conferencing available.

Yeah. And?

Please do note that “video conferencing” includes one to many. AKA broadcasting the meetings being paid for by the taxpayers to anyone interested.

21. This issue has highlighted a weakness in this administration ability to deal with crisis situations.This issue also highlighted the depths, the opposition in Barbados will go to gather cheap political points.
    Maxine McClean my favourite government minister has not handle this issue well at all.She has allowed the authorities in Jamaica to force her on the defensive.
    Maxine McClean and this government should have brought a closure to this issue at the press conference that was held last weekend.After the announcement that a thorough investigation had been undertaken and no evidence was found of the alleged allegation,the government should have stated that is its position on the matter and from they end,the matter is now closed.There was no need for Maxine McClean or any representative from the government to respond to any further utterances coming from Jamaica.
    I am at this point embarrass by the fools we have elected to be our leaders.Barbados supposedly an independent & sovereign state has allowed Jamaica to send a delegation to examine our airport and the holding cells at that facility just to pacify Jamaica.It is an insult to Barbados that this weak kneed,confuse bunch of political misfits have allowed Jamaica to dictate to us how we must run our affairs.This is a very sad time for Barbados indeed.
    I do not believe that this beloved country has come to this sorry state.This is country is really missing leader of the calibre of a Errol Barrow or even a Tom Adams.I am sure Jamaica will never even think of behaving in the manner they are currently exhibiting if we had a Errol Barrow or Tom Adams around.Two strong and patriotic Barbadians.
    Mia Mottley comments are the some of the most offensive comments I have ever heard coming from an elected parliamentarian in Barbados.She has done Barbados a great disservice by uttering that stupid statement that indicating Barbados discriminate against people of African ancestry.A whole set of hog-wash.That is the person some of the bloggers on this forum has suggested has reached the level of a statesman. The statement from Mia Mottley is a serious indictment on Barbados and every Barbadian who has pride in their country must denounce Mia Mottley for that stupid,nonsensical statement.That statement has no merit or foundation to stand on.Mia Mottley should be be banished from the political scene in Barbados.
    This country is at the crossroad because of the political leaders we have at this moment in all the political parties in Barbados.At this moment we have a vision-less government with no apparent philosophy

22. I’m lost in this whole thing. It was the immigration officer, and then customer officers, and now then police. i can’t trust the Observer because them looking to sell newspapers.

The customs officers, and the immigration officers were cleared, according to reports.

Were the police also cleared so we can all move on? Were any women police officers on duty that night so we can squash this thing?

23. Stick with the story
    Her words against yours
    Dont admit to nothing
    IT IS A TOTAL FABRICATION is the Official position
    Barbados continue to do the job you are doing dont give into no shit from the criminal element
    Barbados First
    Barbados for Bajans

24. @What if…?: “Iโ€™m lost in this whole thing.

Calm yourself young son; young Grasshopper.

Many will try to lie to you often.

They will laugh while you consternate.

25. Seriously Chris

Autism is manageable … You just have to seek help

26. Negro

Now your comments have become mundane … Continue in that vein and you will lose me …

27. @ BAF
    “Ref comment”What de fuck is wrong with wuuna women’
    Wasn’t it Eve who tricked she man into eating de apple. We women know when a woman is trying to hoodwink people. Only we should know! Like i said a person nwith good intentions even if the allegations are true would have use other venues to resolve this voilatile issue. Iain’t no way i am going to side with her. For one she has destroy her credibilty and in the process has desyroy the what was left of the two counties relation. She is a viper.!

ILove you Barbados and i gonna criticise when necessary and I will be patriotic when necessary too. It is time like these when I am proud to stand up for my country . this has nothing to do with color or gender. Barbados Didn’t go to Jamaica . Jamaica came to Barbados and i Will de Dam if I sit idly by and let outside influence destroy our laws.

28. What if said:

“Were the police also cleared so we can all move on? Were any women police officers on duty that night so we can squash this thing?”

From what I understand, Minister McClean has stated that a body search was performed (but not a cavity search). If this is so, it should have been performed by a female police officer. So I do not think that it is a fact in issue that a female officer was on duty (if someone knows otherwise feel free to correct me).

The way I see it, the Barbadian Governmentโ€™s story and Ms Myrieโ€™s story are similar. The only significant point of departure is the extent of the body search.

29. Thing is that the RBPF uniform is similar to the Jamaica Constabulary so they can be no mistake whether they were police on her part.

Drug Squad and task force wear blue uniform with word police emblazoned on the uniform.

We need to examine every point of this story and ascertain the truth.

One Jamaican has said that we Bajans are not critical thinkers.

So i have taken a critical eye to every aspect of her statement.

30. iffin de minster said dat a body search was perfhorned, i wud get worry, because de jamaikans may have tought it was botty search and we know dem doan like bullers.

mr.halshall above said that people will laugh while you constrenate, but if yuh need, yuh cud nuse buck-lax.

then wunna talk bout videa confrencing, techolgy is amazhing, i didnt know i cud nuse my video tuh see talk tuh nuff udder people with udder videas.

wunna really cussin de immagratshun, but dem only doing dem job…i does doan travel, i iz too poor fuh dat high faluting ting, but if dem axe me a quesshun, i would answer..

i remember one paper dat them gih me tuh fill out, it did axe some quesshuns, like ‘sex’ i said twice , up by pie corner, ‘anything tuh declare’…i said dat i did like ms.mavis down de road, but she din like muh, so i did us-ed tuh watch she pass an go home an have fun..’resident’ ..i did write dat i aint got nuh dents,,,but cyan be sure….’point of embarkation’ ..i din know whuh dem meant , but mebbe dem meant where i did relieve myself.so i put ‘at hom’..and ‘sign’ …my mudda tell me dat i did taurus.

31. ac

if I say to you that I forgive you for your mindset you should take it as condisending and be insulted. I like you but sometimes it is necessary to bite on something if not just a bullet (wait da is me saying dese t’ings ?)

32. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Anonlegal

Ms Mcclean DID NOT say a body search was done.She said only the woman’s luggage was searched.

You and the rest like you are really stretching to give ms myrie a pass.

33. @Thank you!

Police officers from the fraud squad or those likely to be doing searches would likely be out of uniform.

34. Mash up and By Back

If I am wrong thanks for correcting me. I thought I heard her say so on the radio. If she didn’t say that I apologise on behalf of myself and “the rest like me”.

35. @BAF

Ikow you like nuff women, but dat women reallk juk you in both eyes. woman can’t even get she facts straight or should In say she f..kstraight, But dat one I know u can figure out.

36. Could someone, Jamaican or otherwise state what Ms. Myrie’s job, profession or career is? How come her lawyer did not state that she works at this or that? In her righteous indignation why did she not say that she is an upright, gainfully employed citizen? Why did someone have to pay her ticket for her? Is this same person paying her lawyer for her too?

37. @pat

Our sources confirmed that she did not have money to support her stay in Barbados, it is why she was asked to leave.

38. Ms. Myrie is most likely an exotic dancer

Fraud Squad searching people at the airport ?
    I dont think so

39. Pat | March 31, 2011 at 7:53 PM |

and of course David

The woman was here to conduct business as a tourist, an accountant, an anonlegal, a paralegal, a pharmacist, a dentist, a pro dancer, a macro economist most of whom will deal with either bodily fluids or numbers all of whom rip us off (sorry, the more polite term is exploit us) and non of whom are frowned by authorities. What the f#ck is your point?

40. ac

I like women yes, and any man that truly likes women will forgive them their numerous short comings. Make no mistake, men are equally challenged but the unfortunate thing is that they are not so easily forgiven (by either side).. (I floating tonight …)

41. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting someone or the other “Conversely, of the 12,071 attempted entries of Barbadians into Jamaica since 2008, five have been denied entry.โ€

And you know what, those 5 Bajans denied entry to Jamaica were very likely drug traffickers or whores and were rightfully refused entry to Jamaica and the Jamaicans should have searched their cavities (front and back) before packing them back to Barbados.

That’s the way all countries should deal with drug traffickers and whores, Jamaican, Bajan or whatever.

42. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

There are some bajan men who are really making me feel shame.

They are really letting down the side.

Imagine trying to defend a woman who can’t even stick to her original story about who ‘finger-raped her’.She has never been to this country before,lied about who she is going to,has no money to support herself, and now that she is sent back,seems to want some money from this.While her lawyer might get some fame from the case she I am sure, will receive not one cent from the barbadian government.

Now some other jokers come up with some more lies.Read tonight’s edition of Barbados Today and how that story about the 3 jamaican men has been debunked.

I agree with Pat,we should be looking into this woman’s background to see how it can help us figure this one out.

Is she another ‘nail technician’?

Bajan men are facilitating this and I want some of these backwater whorehouses raided and these jamaican whores deported forthwith and their bajan pimps exposed and locked up.

43. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

And take note that the 5 came back to Barbados and keet quiet, quiet. Because they know that they wrong. In Barbados even the drug traffickers and whores know when to be ashamed and therefore silent.

44. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Dear mash up & buy back.

Backwater indeed. She was supposed to be staying in Hillaby. Who would think that a nice quiet Christian rural Bajan village would become Whore City Central?

45. @ Baf
    Dat is the truth . You fuh sure is floating .Floating on a bed of hot lava and fuh sure yu guuna melt down.

46. Sorry ac

Works for me

47. Don’t feel bad Barbados . All dem Jamaicans with an axe to grind gonna come of de wood work. and they gonna have a lot of foolbert bajans especially de men believing them . With every contradiction utter from de mouth of these people makes the story more suspect. yesterday i listen to David Ellis on Brass and it is evident that he has a strong bias against authority and paints them all with the same brush. Somebody needs to tell him that in some of his responses to caller-ins he can be very authoritative. the same thing he is so critical of he also portrays in his responds to his listeners. he should take the same advice he so easily metes out to people in authority

48. @Mash Up
    Bajan men are facilitating this and I want some of these backwater whorehouses raided and these jamaican whores deported forthwith and their bajan pimps exposed and locked up.

You want to put our policemen in trouble now? A raid may net in some big fish.

49. David, has it been established that she is an exotic dancer? There are many posters repeating this narrative. Also, I haven’t seen any direct quotes which indicate that her story has changed (as has been suggested by Mash Up). If they are any such quotes, please direct me to them.

I think that this incident is a prime example of why there needs to be cameras at ports of entry in Barbados. I am not sure why unions object to them.

50. Fair and Balance Avatar
    Fair and Balance

David wrote “It seems we are not unable to avoid injecting politics in everything we do and say in Barbados. Here it is the whole of Jamaica is rallying around the Jamaican flag and supporting a position the government has taken but we have prominent politicians and citizens like Mottley and others criticising McClean”

I totally support your statement above. This is an issue that goes beyond any political divide. I view this Jamaican woman statements as an attack on Barbados designed to damage Barbados credibility which can have a far reaching effect on this country. When situations like this occur we all have to rally behind our government and I find Mia Mottley statements to be out of place. There is a time and place for everything but this is not a time to be attacking our government on this matter.