Senator Maxine McClean, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Today has been an interesting day so far. It was a day arch-enemies India and Pakistan battled in a World Cup cricket semi-final. The game from media reports was played in a cordial atmosphere which India won. There was a time in the not too distant past when the events of today would not have been thought possible. The moral of this story you ask? There is hope that a truce in the ‘war of words’ which has broken out between Jamaica and Barbados will soon come to past.

To restate BU’s position, an allegation was made by a Jamaican national which was deposited, by her, in Jamaica’s media space. The result of it is that her allegation has whipped-up a national frenzy which has seen a level of vitriol hurled at Barbados hitherto not experienced. The immigration brouhaha between Guyana does not even come close to what is currently unravelling. The response of many Barbadians, known in the region for our passive and docile manner, appears to have taken some by surprise.

Not since the era of the late Rt. Excellent Errol Walton Barrow, who was not afraid to signal to Cowboy Ronald Reagon where to get off, have we had leaders who were prepared to fearlessly defend our sovereignty. BU is supportive of Minister Maxine McClean who has been forced to fill the enormous leadership vacuum which seems to exist in this regard. Senator Maxine McClean’s record is there to be scrutinized by her critics, a respected UWI, Cave Hill lecturer for several years and a regional consultant before agreeing to enter the cabinet of the current administration. Her commitment to regional harmony cannot be credibly questioned. Unlike some in Barbados, she appears to be acutely aware of where Barbados finds itself at this period in our history.

It is ironic that Barbados not too long ago had to battle a large influx of Guyanese – especially Indo-Guyanese which scared the hell out of many Bajans โ€“ which precipitated the proposed amendment to the Immigration Act. Now we have the Jamaica Barbados conflict over the Shanique Myrie affair. Surprisingly we have two of the largest of the territories in the Caribbean battling Barbados on the larger issue of freedom of movement. Antigua of similar ‘size’ has been battling the same issues. BU is about justice for people and if our local authorities have been found to have engaged in a cover up on the Myrie Affair, let the chips fall where they may. What BU will not compromise on is the need for Bajans to feel ashame of what we have achieved. It seems bleeding hearts of our own kind are quick to join others from outside to bloody the reputation of Barbados. Many from outside envy what we have achieved and in the process are quick to label us arrogant or some similar term. When traits which recommend Barbados are discussed around the region, especially T&T and Jamaica, our orderly society is often what is highlighted at the top of the list. Barbadians themselves have taken this characteristic for granted over time.

We will not allow our tiny country – if we compare to Jamaica and Guyana – to become โ€˜the warehouse of the unskilledโ€™. The reality that we are in the midst of an economic slowdown which has added wings to the flight of those who seek fame and fortune perpetrating illegal and or undesirable activities should not be forgotten. This is the background which has informed the rigour with which guardians of our ports of entry have had to be acutely aware. For whatever reason which is the subject of another commentary everybody want to descend on Barbados like flies would honey nowadays. The position of Rickey Singh on this matter is not lost on us at all. BU believes there is a regional conspiracy to get Barbados to dumb down its protection of its borders in recent years to satisfy ideological positions. We have those who are proponents of freedom of movement at all cost.

BU has deliberately dealt with this matter from an arms distance perspective. However there are some more things we will have to say which the Myrie Affair has brought to light in the coming days and weeks.

1. @The man wiv no name!! | April 2, 2011 at 2:08 PM |
    The filth invariably originates in Jamaica, and then spreads across the region like diarrhoea.
    =========
    So if Jamaica is pioneering filth, why doesn’t Barbados pioneer positive things? If you want to keep Jamaicans out of Barbados you might as well keep out American TV as well.

2. David | April 2, 2011 at 12:51 PM |

Wah wrong with wunna … If this was Jamaica dah girl wouldn’t ah had nah panties on nider…! People get real about the human body. Physique, sexuality, these things have nothing to do with Morality; dese young people are more up front about these things than was the case in my time, but the thrust and vibe are exactly the same … Tiefin’ and lying ARE moreal issues, not showing off a panty. People out dey can potentially tief people’s right to privacy, and lie ’bout it, that is the morality that wunna should be worried about …!

3. @ Nia | April 2, 2011 at 1:25 PM |

Thank you for your intelligent and enlightening contribution. We need to stop pointing fingers and take some self inventory.

If we had good morals and have instilled them in our children we would not find ourselves in this predicament. We leave the training of our children to the teachers and the church. We first have to learn to become good parents.

We need to enforce rules at home, in the school and in the society. Just look at how we treat each other, we have become a nation of rude and unkind people. We believe that money buys respect and manners.

4. A Message by George Carlin:

The paradox of our time in history is that we have taller buildings but shorter tempers, wider Freeways ,but narrower viewpoints. We spend more, but have less, we buy more, but enjoy less. We have bigger houses and smaller families, more conveniences, but less time. We have more degrees but less sense, more knowledge, but less judgment, more experts, yet more problems, more medicine, but less wellness.

We drink too much, smoke too much, spend too recklessly, laugh too little, drive too fast, get too angry, stay up too late, get up too tired, read too little, watch TV too much, and pray too seldom.

We have multiplied our possessions, but reduced our values. We talk too much, love too seldom, and hate too often.

We’ve learned how to make a living, but not a life. We’ve added years to life not life to years. We’ve been all the way to the moon and back, but have trouble crossing the street to meet a new neighbor. We conquered outer space but not inner space. We’ve done larger things, but not better things.

We’ve cleaned up the air, but polluted the soul. We’ve conquered the atom, but not our prejudice. We write more, but learn less. We plan more, but accomplish less. We’ve learned to rush, but not to wait. We build more computers to hold more information, to produce more copies than ever, but we communicate less and less.

These are the times of fast foods and slow digestion, big men and small character, steep profits and shallow relationships. These are the days of two incomes but more divorce, fancier houses, but broken homes. These are days of quick trips, disposable diapers, throwaway morality, one night stands, overweight bodies, and pills that do everything from cheer, to quiet, to kill. It is a time when there is much in the showroom window and nothing in the stockroom. A time when technology can bring this letter to you, and a time when you can choose either to share this insight, or to just hit delete…

5. @ Zack…..

Please DNFTT!!

6. This person’s physique and sexuality, can result in her “tiefing” someone’s husband resulting in all types of lies as a result. I think it is difficult therefore to divorce factors which influence morality from morality itself.

7. He say, she say, that’s what this is. The fact is that this happened to a Guyanese woman about two years ago. When pressed by her family to report the matter she refused first from embarrassment and second because she wanted the freedom to visit her family in the future. In this situation she was asked to strip and without warning this cavity search was done. If cavity searches is part of some policy by Customs and Immigration, I believe that “victims”should be told. It is always fine to argue that we are protecting our borders when we are not the recipient, but this is a humiliation procedure. And men, do not forget that it too can happen to you.
    I believe in defending our island against undesirables and it seems that where ever Jamaicans go trouble seem to follow. US, Canada, England, Bahamas and Cayman Is. Of course this is not true of all Jamaican. I have worked in the hotel industry for many years and I believe strongly, from some of the guest I have seen, they bring their own drugs into this country. Yet they pass through customs freely for the sake of tourism. And yes we do not want to be “the warehouse of the unskilled” I things Bajans have already cornered that market already, but what about those North Americans and Europeans etc. etc., who come in, buy up the best lands, without restriction and contribute nothing to the society. For the most part they don’t even employ Barbadians in their houses.
    In sum: If we want to defend our country against undesirables defend it against all no matter the nationality, colour or class.
    If cavity searches is part of the Customs and Immigration policy when searching individuals say so. If it is not then take steps to ensure that it does not happen

8. And after de lotta long talk I bet de guvment gine do wha I say an install DVRs wid security camurahs all bout inside customs an immagrashun.

Eff dey doan do dah yuh gine hear more complaints from undesirables tryin to get tru de airport wid duh contraband, wid or widdout pantees.

9. @Hants: “And after de lotta long talk I bet de guvment gine do wha I say an install DVRs wid security camurahs all bout inside customs an immagrashun.

That would go a long way to solving many problems.

But, again, the workers (and thus the Unions) are against cameras and DVRs.

Hmmmmm….

10. Jamaica is exporting its filth to Barbados
    Reject it now !
    Nasty songs on ZR vans–Ban them
    Nasty women dancing at clubs in Barbados—swallowing bottles in their pussies
    Jamaicans with drugs
    Jamaicans breaking and entering stores.
    Jamaicans give problems all over the world
    They are the problem not BARBADOS.
    Barbados must be strong and vigilant.

11. @Christopher Halsall,

This is a matter of National security. Airports around the world use DVRs and Cameras.

The Unions should put country first.

12. @Hants: “This is a matter of National security. Airports around the world use DVRs and Cameras. The Unions should put country first.

I absolutely agree.

13. If drug traffiking through GAIA is a problem, why don’t they have sniffer dogs checking passengers and luggage like they do in Toronto.

An RCMP handler at Pearson walked his dog by my luggage 3 times until I said to him, “I have frozen fish in the bag and the ice is starting to melt.”
    His dog would not sniff the bag even though there was a wet spot on the side.
    If there was drugs in the bag the dog would have stopped next to it an get on bad.

14. @Hants: “If there was drugs in the bag the dog would have stopped next to it an get on bad.

Not quite correct.

If there were drugs in the bag a well trained “sniffer dog” would have sat down beside the bag, and refused to move.

But your question is valid — why aren’t there sniffer dogs now-a-days at GAIA? They were there ten years ago when I first came to Barbados.

15. Let us hope we have sniffer dogs next month when all and sundry floods our shores for Reggae on the Hill.

Let us hope our border officials do things by the book.

It will be used as an opportunity to pressure the system now that some are attempting to ‘soft’ it up!

16. @Technician | April 2, 2011 at 4:03 PM |
    @ Zackโ€ฆ..
    Please DNFTT!!
    ========
    You are assuming that I know what that stands for.

17. @David,
    The Barbados Government has a problem. The best they can do is install DVRs,security cameras and use sniffer dogs at GAIA as soon as possible.

This is done in the UK,USA and Canada. This is not a Hants original idea.

Advice to non drug users who going to Reggae on the Hill.
    Check which way the wind blowing and stand upwind to avoid a second hand high.

18. @Hants

Now would be the time to introduce it.

Public support would be overwhelming and to hell with those who are opposed in the union membership who have ulterior reasons anyway for keeping away from the electronic eye.

19. It seems that the unions are truly in control of Barbados’ security. No cameras at an international Airport in the customs and immigration areas. We tend to react to situations and will never be proactive. WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG HERE? The government owns the airport building right? Who the hell are the unions to tell them where to put cameras. We are waiting for another serious incident to occur in the arrival hall.

Perhaps the dogs get thief…….wunna know how people like udder peoples doggies.

20. @Islandgal246,
    Unions are considered voting blocks. Therefore Governments do everything they can to keep Union members (voters) happy.

You are absolutely right. Waiting for a major incident to happen before improving security is stupid.

Government must act now.Cameras, DVRs and Sniffer dogs.

Do any of you remember the argument of the Barbadian Lawyer who said that entertainers sometimes need drugs to enhance their performance on stage?
    If I remember it was a case involving a “celebrity” who got busted in Barbados.

Cahn rememba duh names doh. Muh memry ent suh good dese days.

21. Light Love (LiLo) Avatar
    Light Love (LiLo)

Cameras are installed at the Airport.
    Cameras or no cameras , people still going try things.Cameras are at the Aiport though. Plenty cameras too and they function too. We need to be proactive however and make sure that people who are up to no good are not allowed into Barbados no matter how they complain .Some of these people are desperate and would do anything or say anything to get into Barbados
    I support Immigration, Customs and the Police. This is Barbados and we need to rally around the Law Enforcement Officers of this beautiful country. It is so beautiful ! I love Barbados !
    The Authorities are doing a great job. We must not take them for granted. We tend not to be appreciative but please stop, pause and say to your self=”I am in Barbados , the sweetest place on Earth. ”

People really understand how sweet this country is though ?

22. @Light Love (LiLo)

BU bloggers are rallying around our country so you can cut the bs.

There is a problem at Customs and Immigration that needs to be dealt with.

23. Senator Dick | April 2, 2011 at 5:14 PM |

Please go stick your filthy DICK elsewhere you common lowlife!

24. I get really upset when I see some of the comments on this forum. It is clear that many people use these fora to air their views and never bother to read other comments. The blogs do not seem to be a medium for conducting conversations but rather for a good old fashioned busing.
    I am sure that on several occasions over the years references were made to the use of sniffer dogs at the airport in. both the print and broadcast media. I do believe that there was a photograph was even printed of one. It was probably a retired one.
    Come on people are cavity searches legal in Barbados? If there are the only questions that remain are.
    Was she subject to a cavity search?
    If the answer is yes, were the authorities acting in a reckless manner and without authorization?
    I do believe that there is enough information to confirm that cavity searches are legal in Barbados. Much of the online feuding has been the result of the use of the highly emotive term ‘finger rape’. it is also my view that the incident has been hijacked by those who wish to take some of the spotlight off the Dudus inquiry.
    People come on! Let us behave like responsible adults.

25. @ granteco ,

Bloggers have been advocating the use of DVRs, security cameras.
    This was suggested so that “the truth” would be on tape.
    At least we would have seen how many “officers” accompanied a “suspect” into a private room.

And if the intention was to take attention away from the Dudus Coke affair the damage to Barbados has been done.

Every effort must be made to correct any problems that may exist at GAIA.

26. granteco

Please say, even if you have to lie to me, please say that you are a Barbadian women

27. Jay
    One swallow doesnโ€™t make a summer
    In the forty-seven years since I travelled out of Barbados I have travelled much about the world and I have many stories I could tell about racial biasโ€ฆand in my work with the Community I have come across cases that would put a smile on Goebbels face.

Look at the world again (Knowledge is no longer remote) and see.

28. Hants | April 2, 2011 at 8:02 PM |
    The case with entertainers needing drugs iinvolved Tony Thompson he made the statement he was fined for using marijauna after that he and Carol Roberts went on to make sport at david Thompson with crime and violence.David Thompson was a forgiving man he let Tony Thompson continue working at CBC were it me he would been fired immediately.

29. @granteco

You appear not to be the one reading. Cavity searches are legal but according to department rules can only be done at the QEH. That has been established by the Minister. If a cavity search was performed by officials at the airport it would have to be considered a renegade act.

30. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting Anonymous on April 2, 2011 at 4:03 PM “This personโ€™s physique and sexuality, can result in her โ€œtiefingโ€ someoneโ€™s husband”

Actually it is NOT possible to steal someone’s man/woman/wife/husband unless that man/woman/wife/husband is WILLING to be stolen.

That’s the truth.

And I know that you like the truth

And every man/woman/husband/wife has a physique and a sexuality.

31. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Hear ye!!!, hear ye!!!.

Bajans do not dislike Jamaicans.

Bajans dislike BAD BEHAVED Jamaicans.

Bajans dislike BAD BEHAVED Bajans also.

32. @memories,

The case I am speaking of involved white foreigners who were represented by a very prominent.

I know who dem is but I en callin nuhbody name bo.Dey might like me down wid a jagged rock stone or sen de police to haul my tail befo de new CJ.

33. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Zack | April 2, 2011 at 3:25 PM |
    @The man wiv no name!! | April 2, 2011 at 2:08 PM |
    The filth invariably originates in Jamaica, and then spreads across the region like diarrhoea.
    =========
    So if Jamaica is pioneering filth, why doesnโ€™t Barbados pioneer positive things? If you want to keep Jamaicans out of Barbados you might as well keep out American TV as well.

Zack, I’d rather keep out a number of evils, but JAMAICANS are the primary one! Also, DLTAIB. Vis. above: that means, DON’T LISTEN TO AN IGNORANT B!

Senator Dick | April 2, 2011 at 5:14 PM |
    Jamaica is exporting its filth to Barbados
    Reject it now !
    Nasty songs on ZR vansโ€“Ban them
    Nasty women dancing at clubs in Barbadosโ€”swallowing bottles in their pussies
    Jamaicans with drugs
    Jamaicans breaking and entering stores.
    Jamaicans give problems all over the world
    They are the problem not BARBADOS.
    Barbados must be strong and vigilant.

Very well said, Senator Dick!

34. The man wif no Dick

You are also a common low life. You are vile and rancid. You have no respect for womenfolk, you sound like you might just be a closet queen.

35. to ac- it is good to see bajans closing ranks for once; time will tell whether this show of unity was well placed.let’s go through a synopsis of the events:
    a newspaper in jamaica publishes salacious details of an alleged humiliating search of a jamaican lady purportedly by immigration authorities at the grantley adams airport/ the minister of immigration in barbados by virtue of his response acknowledges the presence of the woman at the airport and by indicating that the barbados immigration had reason to deport her because of conflicting information supplied to the immigration authorities/ the foreign minister ill advisedly jumps into the fray and escalates the situation first by putting her foot into her mouth by denying that a body search took place and then admitting that there was one and in unprofessionally handling a diplomatic note from her counterpart succeeded in engineering a diplomatic row in the meantime/there appears to be evidence that the lady was body searched by the police as is their right within the ambit of the law if they have reason to be suspicious but IN MY VIEW WITHIN THE BOUNDARIES OF COMMON DECENCY AND FAIRPLAY. now ,the emotion and demonising apart; those familiar with immigration duties in barbados know that immigration does not body search. a fact confirmed by the minister according to the information she received; mr garth patterson’s article in the friday nation and the comments of i0111 on the blog. persons who travel to the other caribbean countries are aware that in some countries the modes of uniform vary across the disciplines and the police are still responsible for immigration duties. (so the lady could very well be genuinely mistaken in her accusation). that she was searched contrary to earlier misinformation by the minister is not in doubt but was she humiliated and degraded as the lay suggests seems from her statements to be her main bone of contention and irrespective of her highlighted supposedly shady background; this is the issue that has to be addressed and i hope that when the dust settles, the lady is not proven right for the sake of all the bajan doogoders who have suddenly found their voice in support of agencies of whom the same bajans complain day in day out of the uncouthness of the officers in these same agencies to( black barbadians not white but black) in the course of their travels to and from barbados from time to time.

36. @ Ruth

I am not going to rehash the events of the past weeks in regards to this matter However presumably The “Bone of contention seems to swirling around in the manner the lady described her searched. The more this story remains in the public domain the more it twist and turns. However the immigration laws of Barbados are not uncommon and searches are done cavity as well as strip in international countriesas well and if the alleged had a similar problem in any other international country no thought would have been given to the matter. I applaud all Barbadians for rallying to support their country and not letting outside influence step over them in an attempt to “Dumb Down Barbdos”This is a country of laws and when the laws are not upheld we have anarchy like that which we had as of recent in Tivoli Gardens. I don’t care who is offended let keep or rock free of “WEED”

37. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

islandgal246 | April 3, 2011 at 7:46 AM |
    The man wif no Dick

You are also a common low life. You are vile and rancid. You have no respect for womenfolk, you sound like you might just be a closet queen.

Islandgal, coming from somebody who hardly know me at all, I think we can consign that remark, and you, to the dustbin where you both belong!

38. @ac
    I woke up in time this morning to hear the 6.30 news on 92.9 FM.
    The first story was “Barbados Police arrested and charged 5 with having 13 million dollars worth of cocaine”. Three Guyanese and two Barbadians are the people charged. Poor people can’t buy cocaine. The rich ones who are bombarding the airwaves, writing letters to the newspapers and blogging 24/7 with their anti-immigration-laws jargon, are the people who pay for the white stuff. The plot is much bigger than “Myrie”.

39. How y’do, fellow bajans and bajettes.
    Listen, Buju banton’s real name is –Myrie just like this lady whose complaining and he just got convicted for carrying cocaine! If there is a link there – then the airport authorities were right to do a search and this might be an attempt by her to sue barbados for money. Thats food for thought.
    It might be hard for those of us who have good relations across our borders BUT this has been blown up and its a direct attack on our borders, it wasn’t too long ago that there were too many guyanese and complaints about them taking jobs away from locals. In these peak times even Britain and America are tightening their borders and chucking people out and it isn’t about nationality, its about whose legal, whose qualified, no criminal record and the list is endless. Barbados needs a data base of the same requirements including who has temporary status, whose studying, whose an artist etc.
    There must be time contraints on non-nationals so that if they come to work and contribute and not commit crime then six months in these hard times is enough until everybodies economy picks up because everybody wants to push unto barbados and it can’t work!
    Furthermore a recent murder in Barbados, a young man called Denroy Davis who just opened his door and was shot in the back of his head this week. His cousin in england was targeted by a jamaican gang who were being financed by a notorious east end gang of jews, who include Venessa feltz (of BBC london radio) Edwina Curry (MP) and Alan Sugar of Apprentice fame on the tv and Amstrad computers. all jews!
    They had Denroy’s cousin followed (by jamaicans)and spied on for 30 years, took away her education, drilled her teeth and her son’s and it all came out on Venessa feltz show in october 2008. This was a big deal, micheal caine (the actor) phoned in, Grace jones(jamaican model/actress) phoned in because they were shocked that these jews with money and influence could do such a thing but they did! there were calls from the Russian president,Gadaffi and the president of Iran thats when he gave that speech about the wrongs of slavery – everybody heard this broadcast, it stunned the whole world as to how wicked jews were.
    Now there is a connection between all these incidents and we can’t afford to break down our security, when everybodyelse is tightening theirs- not just on jamaicans but if looking at jamaica’s crime statistics it gives anyone cause to worry especially being a regional member of caricom.
    Furthermore, caricom memebers should be consulted on issues like this and what should be done about the jamaican problem, and no doubt there is a problem there!
    We know there are good people on every island, but everybody suffers because of the few. Until people learn to grass up the rotton apples and get rid, everybody will suffer.
    Look into everything, people coming into our island for any reason can’t be just sparking off international incidents and causing a furoar over something that happens in any other airport everyday!
    The jamaican media has particularly whipped this into something that it shouldn’t be, especially when all the facts weren’t available yet.
    Like i said check the two links i told you, post a thank you to bajan and i’ll be in contact.

40. @Chuckle
    REF; comment
    “Poor people can’t buy cocaine” However they are used as interceptors to deliver parcel and aswell sell the goods. This is an industry unto itself and we must not be fooled by the outcry of those who would seize the opportunity to raise the flag of “Human Rights violations ” when it comes to illegal activity. We must not drop the ball in our effort to get along. Remeber being at the top is going to attract enemies and the Myrie story is an indication of who our friends are and who are our enemies . We must not go along to get along .

41. David (BU) said:
    “Let us hope our border officials do things by the book.
    It will be used as an opportunity to pressure the system now that some are attempting to โ€˜softโ€™ it up!”

I agree. As a Barbadian I would be the first to criticize our officers, etc. for frequently being too unmannerly and uncouth when dealing with the public. However, being unpleasant is NOT the same as being a criminal – and that is what they are being accused of. If, as is being claimed, there are actually one or two Bajan rogue officers supposedly going around doing illegal cavity searches, verbally and physically abusing Black Caricom nationals (as if the entire Caribbean, not just Bajans, doesn’t discriminate against black people, especially dark-skinned black people), then it shouldn’t be too difficult to filter them out.

I agree with installing the cameras and sniffer dogs. Because a lot of what gets left out in this conversation is how many visitors and locals entering the island from overseas also do not know how to behave themselves. I have seen for myself people come off flights drunk, loud and cursing. Some who are not accustomed to travelling sometimes act very arrogant and loud-mouthed, like it is some type of security blanket for them. Many of them also act as though the officers do not have a right to carry out their jobs properly.
    Nobody bothered to mention that the three “music producers” who claimed the police beat them could not answer simple questions about their length of stay, why there were here, etc. And that one of them was behaving in a threatening manner. THAT is why the police were called in – because the immigration staff were the ones that were fearful.

I also believe that from every negative you can get a positive. It would be good if after this current incident has been settled, whatever the outcome, Barbados immigration officers and policemen instead become known as being the most professional and stringent in the world, instead of their current reputation.
    Then anyone who wants to cook up a story about abuse so that they can get into the island, know they had better come “real good” and have an airtight story, including being able to show in no uncertain times where you are staying and the purpose of your visit.

42. @ Dick and The man wiv no name: Instead of slagging off Jamaicans (and I wonder exactly how many Jamaicans do you even know personally?) what steps have YOU as Barbadian citizens taken on a personal level to improve your country, and to stem the tide of immorality that is creeping in?

– Is it not mainly BAJAN men and not Jamaican men who are paying to see these women at strip clubs?

-Is it not mainly BAJAN men and not Jamaican men who own and drive the ZR vans on our island, and allow the filthy music to be played?
    – Is it not mainly BAJAN men and women who ride the vans, live with strip clubs in their area and refuse to organize as communities and demand that the authorities do something about them?

43. @ ruth arnette

REf : comment ; ‘bajans support the same agencies that they complain about the uncouthness in said agencies.’ Maybe so with good reason. However bajans are not closed eye on this issue. For they see the detriment and pain that this issue is causing this 166sq. miles if we dont stand together eventually we would fall. In the true spirit of Being a true Bajan we can at times put our petty differences aside.

44. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Nia, I’m unable to answer your questions as I don’t live there any more and haven’t for a very long time. The only effort I can make is through the blogs which I do enthusiastically. Thank god I don’t know many Jamaicans personally or I’d probably have been in prison ages ago. I really can’t tell you why the Bajan authorities don’t ban them from Bim altogether.

45. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting ruth arnette ” the same bajans complain day in day out of the uncouthness of the officers in these same agencies to( black barbadians not white but black) in the course of their travels to and from barbados”

In 29 years of travelling I’ve visited 16 or more countries, and I’ve gone and come from and to Barbados perhaps hundreds of times. Not once has a Barbadian Immigration or Customs official been rude to me. Barbadian Customs and Immigration officers are extremely polite. As polite as Immigration/Customs officers anywhere in the world.

I am black, I have always been black, I will always been black.

I all my years of travel I’ve have been patted down once. I have been asked to go into a line for secondary screening once. Both times in majority white countries.

The female officer who patted me down in the U.K was very courteous, and so was I.

The Canadian officer who asked me to go to secondary screening, was I am sorry to say an immigrant nincompoop half my age who clearly did not understand Canadian Immigration law (but of course I did not tell him this as I am NOT his supervisor). The secondary screen was cursory and I enjoyed my holiday and will go back again some time.

TOO MANY PEOPLE WHO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE RUDENESS OF PUBLIC OFFICERS ARE THEMSELVES VERY RUDE PEOPLE and the customer’s rudeness brings out the rudeness in the public officer (although of course this should not happen)

This is how you travel hassle free.

Always have the completed correct documents, passport, visa, immigration and customs forms, invitation letter, conference program etc.

Always wait behind the waiting line and pay attention. Move forward only when the officer or the light or whatever invites you to do so, and then step briskly forward.

Always have with you the amount of money that will reasonably finance your period of stay in somebody else’s country.

Always greet the Custom’s and Immigration officers with a good morning SIR or a good afternoon MADAM.

If they do not return your greeting, do NOT correct them. YOU ARE NOT THEIR MOTHER and it is NOT your job to “teach them manners”

Answer all questions truthfully and clearly.

NEVER attempt to speak for any adult in your party, even if that adult is your son, daughter, or spouse, unless that adult has a medically documented disability which makes them incapable of speaking. The rule is that EVERY adult speaks for themselves.

Keep your minor children close to you, and if questions are asked about your children, answer them truthfully, and be prepared to show the child’s documents to the officer.

NEVER be persuaded to carry a parcel through Customs for anybody. Anybody includes your spouse, your children, your parents, your siblings, your cousins, your neighbors, your colleagues, your friends, or people you have known from childhood. If you buy a gift for any of these people that’s fine, but don’t go taking sweetbread or rum from a colleague/friend/cousin to take to a friend of a friend in Boston, or Toronto, or Kingston. Because how do you know that the rum or sweetbread does not contain cocaine or a bomb? A man tried to bomb an Al-El plane already by putting a bomb in the suitcase of his pregnant fiancee. If a fella was willing to deceive his own fiancee and kill his own child, you think that he would feel for you? There are bad people in the world, and some of those bad people fambly to me and to you.

Take your luggage off the carosel yourself, and NEVER handle anybody’s else’s luggage.

If the Customs officer asks you to open your bag, do so promptly.

It is not the officers job to repack your bag. So repack your own bag quickly, and once cleared by Customs move forward.

Do NOT hang around the Custom’s officer’s desk waiting for
    your friend. Move forward to the taxi/bus/pickup area and wait there instead.

You may be searched or patted down when leaving. Be prepared to take off your shoes, belt, keys and other metallic things. Wear shoes that are easy to take off and to put on. Wear socks. Airport floors are walked on my thousands or millions daily, so they ar dirty. Have mercy of your poor feet by giving them a pair of clean travel socks.

Do not attempt to board with more than 2 ounces of any liquid or gell.

Again answer questions truthfuly and politely.

Again do NOT correct rude officers, or attempt to “teach them manners”. YOU ARE NOT THEIR MUMMY.

If you have a complaint, take note of the officers/name/number/booth number/time of day/airline and when you get home file an official complaint in WRITING.

NEVER leave your luggage or posessions unattended. Unattended includes leaving it with strangers, acquanitances, “friends”/family who may frig you up. It has happended before and as sure as the sun rose this morning it will happen again.

Happy travelling.

Just joking.

As you can see travelling is NO FUN AT ALL.

46. @The man wiv no name!! |
    Thank god I donโ€™t know many Jamaicans personally or Iโ€™d probably have been in prison ages ago. I really canโ€™t tell you why the Bajan authorities donโ€™t ban them from Bim altogether.
    ==========
    Such ignorant and irresponsible statements.

47. Man wif no dick

Yuh answer to the name I gave you so it must make sense to you wif no dick. It takes a scumbag to agree with another scumbag like Dickhead.

48. can some one tell me where is ms pamela clarke in all this?

clearly if what the young lady was telling the immigration is true she would come to her defense that she was in fact here to visit or stay with her.

or maybe pamela doesnt want the law snooping around her operations and choose to remain quiet since an exposure would be bad for business.

i know that if my legitimate friend or family was being dogged in the media i would have done come foward to show them that they made a mistake by denying her entry.

49. @ Zack…..

DNFTT!!

DO NOT FEED THE TROLL!!

50. @Technician | April 3, 2011 at 1:00 PM | @ Zackโ€ฆ..

DNFTT!!
    DO NOT FEED THE TROLL!!
    =======
    Ok…I got yuh now.