Senator Maxine McClean, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Today has been an interesting day so far. It was a day arch-enemies India and Pakistan battled in a World Cup cricket semi-final. The game from media reports was played in a cordial atmosphere which India won. There was a time in the not too distant past when the events of today would not have been thought possible. The moral of this story you ask? There is hope that a truce in the ‘war of words’ which has broken out between Jamaica and Barbados will soon come to past.

To restate BU’s position, an allegation was made by a Jamaican national which was deposited, by her, in Jamaica’s media space. The result of it is that her allegation has whipped-up a national frenzy which has seen a level of vitriol hurled at Barbados hitherto not experienced. The immigration brouhaha between Guyana does not even come close to what is currently unravelling. The response of many Barbadians, known in the region for our passive and docile manner, appears to have taken some by surprise.

Not since the era of the late Rt. Excellent Errol Walton Barrow, who was not afraid to signal to Cowboy Ronald Reagon where to get off, have we had leaders who were prepared to fearlessly defend our sovereignty. BU is supportive of Minister Maxine McClean who has been forced to fill the enormous leadership vacuum which seems to exist in this regard. Senator Maxine McClean’s record is there to be scrutinized by her critics, a respected UWI, Cave Hill lecturer for several years and a regional consultant before agreeing to enter the cabinet of the current administration. Her commitment to regional harmony cannot be credibly questioned. Unlike some in Barbados, she appears to be acutely aware of where Barbados finds itself at this period in our history.

It is ironic that Barbados not too long ago had to battle a large influx of Guyanese – especially Indo-Guyanese which scared the hell out of many Bajans โ€“ which precipitated the proposed amendment to the Immigration Act. Now we have the Jamaica Barbados conflict over the Shanique Myrie affair. Surprisingly we have two of the largest of the territories in the Caribbean battling Barbados on the larger issue of freedom of movement. Antigua of similar ‘size’ has been battling the same issues. BU is about justice for people and if our local authorities have been found to have engaged in a cover up on the Myrie Affair, let the chips fall where they may. What BU will not compromise on is the need for Bajans to feel ashame of what we have achieved. It seems bleeding hearts of our own kind are quick to join others from outside to bloody the reputation of Barbados. Many from outside envy what we have achieved and in the process are quick to label us arrogant or some similar term. When traits which recommend Barbados are discussed around the region, especially T&T and Jamaica, our orderly society is often what is highlighted at the top of the list. Barbadians themselves have taken this characteristic for granted over time.

We will not allow our tiny country – if we compare to Jamaica and Guyana – to become โ€˜the warehouse of the unskilledโ€™. The reality that we are in the midst of an economic slowdown which has added wings to the flight of those who seek fame and fortune perpetrating illegal and or undesirable activities should not be forgotten. This is the background which has informed the rigour with which guardians of our ports of entry have had to be acutely aware. For whatever reason which is the subject of another commentary everybody want to descend on Barbados like flies would honey nowadays. The position of Rickey Singh on this matter is not lost on us at all. BU believes there is a regional conspiracy to get Barbados to dumb down its protection of its borders in recent years to satisfy ideological positions. We have those who are proponents of freedom of movement at all cost.

BU has deliberately dealt with this matter from an arms distance perspective. However there are some more things we will have to say which the Myrie Affair has brought to light in the coming days and weeks.

1. @Anonlegal

The official position is what Senator McClean confirmed on Saturday, she repeated it yesterday. Based on the report provided to her by the Chief Immigration Officer the story by Myrie is being refuted by Barbados.

Unofficially the position is that the man who arrived at the airport to pick her up is known to the authorities as a pimp. In fact he is associated with a whorehouse in Baxters Road.

2. ac said:

“yesterday i listen to David Ellis on Brass and it is evident that he has a strong bias against authority and paints them all with the same brush.”

Can’t we say the same about many posters on BU. It seems to me that Guyanese and Jamaicans are painted with the same brush. The Guyanese are labelled as racists and the Jamaicans as criminals. If they make a complaint about mistreatment by Barbadian immigration/custom officials they are painted liars.

3. Fair and Balance Avatar
    Fair and Balance

Negroman
    I am in total agreement with you

4. @Pat

I wonder the same,I have also not heard of other “victims”[women] mentioning that any of their experiences were similar to hers at the time considering she certainly wasn’t the only woman being removed from Barbados that day.One thing is positively certain,any immigration bars from Barbados will affect any further travel plans she have not only into the country but also in the region as they maybe concerned of the same thing happen in their sovereign nations.The fact still remains that the danger in trafficking could be very high if complete freedom of movement is allowed and all SHOULD be checked at Barbados’ points of entry.Antigua is currently going through the same problem as they were a bit more welcoming but now require outside help from the OAS because the problem was allowed to fester internally,now it is a big issue IN the country.

It is quite clear that some territories would like Barbados authorities to be complicit,but I think the mandate from the public is too strong concerning this issue.Freedom of Movement cannot be administratively done from the top down and “the regionalists” have to accept that.The people must be included in ANY freedom of movement scheme or it will fail.I don’t see how anyone can see that the upcoming “Caripass gates” schedule for July 1st will stop either drugs or trafficking as computers aren’t really that smart yet !!!!!!!

http://vob929.ocmnet.net/vob/news/regionalnews/11-03-31/Caricom_s_free_movement_raises_concerns.aspx

http://www.caribarena.com/antigua/news/latest/ag-says-sex-workers-will-not-be-legalized-2011033197051.html

5. Is this really about nationality? Why don’t we attack the British who have just labelled us a non-coperative tax haven? I found the misuse of the flag above ignorant and in bad taste

6. So I take it that Barbados is a drug free, prostitution free Christian society? Imagine Negroman saying there is no discrimination against blacks! Now I have seen it all!

7. @ Anonlegal
    As a journalist David must maintained a role of neutrality and not be caught up in the whirlwind of hype and one-sidedness at that point his role as moderator/journalist loses all credibility as he himself inject more fuel to the fire . He must remain objective in order to keep his credibility intact.

Many of the bloggers on BU are not paid or hire to be moderators . We are just bloggers with views and opinions and comments. We do not give opinions to any single audience that lends themselves to any to any thing we say .W can be reckless . informative disgusting and at the end of th day wewillstill be anonymous . Unlike David Ellis. Whose comments yesterday were very close to being reckless. Objectivity makes a good journalist and he should know this.

8. @ Jay

Seems we think alike. Some assinine person above said Bajans are not critical thinkers. Boo to them! Thanks for those two news clips.

9. It is true that Nations have to protect their borders from the menace of drugs that can destroy their people and especially a small nation like Barbados but no one should be treated in the manner that Shanique Myrie alleged she was treated. I read her account and it struct me as credable. Hers sound like a heart that is truly filled with anguish.
    All concerned with the matter in Barbados should ask themselves how they would feel if a member of their family treated in such manner.
    The Barbados Government should earnestly investigate the matter and punish the perpetuators if there is gilt and the woman should receive an apology fron the government with compensation as well as an honorable, all paid, vocation to the island.
    I am sure no white person would be treated in such manner by any Caribbean country. Unfortunately whites seem to travel through the world with more immunity and impunity than black people regardless to what they are travelling with.
    A Barbadian in the UK

10. Cockles you killing me nearly piss my pants reading you . David Ellis talking real shite as is Mia Mottley.
    who reads BAFBFP not me I does quickly scroll past every thing the a** hole writes where Barbados find jackasses like him.

11. to ac- i know you would cleverly try to spin the issue to your advantage so i am not surprised but any perseptive person would recogiswe the inference therein as well as in your comment stating” i am no drug pusher”[. on another point, you and all those who do not believe in the innocent until proven guilty maxix ought to be reminded that whether the lady is a prostitue, a thief, an exotic dancer , a homosexual or a murderer; she is entitled to due process within the ambit of the law there are procedures in place in the prevailing circumstances according to foreign minister maclean’s understanding to deal with the searching of suspects detained at the airport. the fire seems to be burning because foreign minister maclean now admits the woman was body searched after categorically stating before that only her luggage was searched.

12. @Wayne
    but this time tomorrow BFP shall be no more.first he had the eyes juck out, Now he is comfortably floating on a bed of lava.

David call himself reading e mails says was sent to him by people of friends who were mistreated by immigration in Barbados.I don’t know how much travelling he hasdone but immigration worldwide is no friend of anyone given the hostile environment via air travel we are encountering.

13. Caribbean Cricket Tournament (Tip and Run)
    Barbados Vs The Rest of the Caribbean.
    Guyana Batted first
    Jamaica is now in.
    Trinidad should be padding up to come in next.

14. @RUTH

Until you can categorically state or find where i made such comment in refernc to Myrie. I shall be presumed innocent until a jury of my peers say otherwise!
    Btw where did you get your information in ref; to Maxine Mcclean’s respond , I have been hollowing most of her remarks and haven’t heard such a response to body search. However if in deed Mcclean did say that. I does not admit to a cavity search which is different and also legal and not to confuse the issue the soon to be plaintiffsaid was done.

15. @sprat

The posting of the video was to provoke a sense of pride in being Barbadian. Perhaps you are not Bajan.

16. Nationalist, it look like Barbados gunn get run-out on dis wun
    ot the bes…a draw

17. @David
    You remind me of the Bajan mothers of 70 years ago. They purged their children the week before the end of of the summer holiday. It was either a one dose of castor oil or the more a humane approach of a pinch of epsom salts every morning for seven days. You seem to be purging the pro-Myries with small doses of laxative rather than ‘working’ (purging) them one time. I can feel the pain they are suffering when they read that Myrie had no money on arrival to support her during her intended stay and the man who should have received her at the airport is a ‘security guard’ at a
    Lady of the Night Entertainment Center on Baxter’s Road , known to the Bajan police as a pimp at a whorehouse on Baxter’s Road. David, keep up the good work.

18. FrankTalk said

Unfortunately whites seem to travel through the world with more immunity and impunity than black people regardless to what they are travelling with.
    A Barbadian in the UK
    ————————————————-
    So says a Bajan in the UK ?……..nuff’ said !!!

I don’t see scores of Bahamians,Bermudians,Kittians,Antigua & Barbudans,Caymanians & Bajans in the UK[apparently] having that issue and they are all primarily Black countries.

Concerning Myrie,I think Government has to do what it can and that’s it…..but anything beyond I think is pure speculation barring the results regardless of how people ‘feel’.I think one should be careful of using sentiment to justify policy.I don’t think this Government would create a policy based on exclusion but on WHY someone should be allowed in,last I checked being apart of CSME AND/OR having visa free access was never a pre-requisite for guaranteed entry to ANY other CSME country.

I keep seeing this so-called BS PR message of the “Spirit of Caricom” but not many are taking the time to actually LOOK at the issues and challenges of EACH SOVEREIGN country and say what can the grouping do LOGICALLY to cover each countries shortcomings or issue and not to mention can the GOVERNANCE be trusted as an independent country within the grouping to go along with and successfully execute those suggestions.To me the answer is VERY simple

1.There is no TRUST amongst the CSME countries
    2.Barbados’ unique situation is that the public and authorities to some extent do NOT trust some of the other Caribbean countries with its security to simply open its borders.
    3.This was the very reason why the Bahamas did NOT become apart of the project because there are no sensible triggers within the Freedom of movement clause.The EU works simply because they HAVE triggers if anyone actually reads EU ascension law for new territories especially concerning SECURITY,ECONOMICS AND CORRUPTION or the country simply isn’t considered !!!!!!!!

I remember the last debate concerning Guyana’s nationals mentioning that Barbados immigration enforcement was only targetting the Indo-variant based on race…….apparently I don’t think anyone can make any claim like that considering the current debate.Imo,if you don’t have a stamp in your passport saying you have permission to stay from GAIA or that place in the Wharf you have to leave,it is just that simple.Using race I think justifies nothing concerning this issue and is always the last quiver when someone cannot explain what is happening before them,simple explanations aren’t usually accepted as answers for complex questions.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

12-y-o traumatised by airport body search

“The Airports Authority of Jamaica is investigating a mother’s claim that her 12-year-old daughter’s privacy was violated at Kingston-located Norman Manley International Airport’s security checkpoint.

The mother, who The Gleaner has chosen not to name to protect her daughter’s identity, filed a complaint with the Airports Authority, noting that a female security officer asked the child to remove her pants and underwear following an upper-body pat-down search.

In her email to Lieutenant Commander John McFarlane, director of aviation security, the mother wrote: “(The officer) then questioned her about her menses, then told her to reclothe herself.”

The mother, who expressed shock and concern, said her daughter experienced embarrassment and trauma.”

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20110217/lead/lead4.html#

I lay the blame for all of this disrespect of Bajans at the feet of the Barbados Labour Party.

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hope for our region in Ms Mottley’s voice of reason

“The fact, though, is that Ms Mottley speaks a truth in her acknowledgement that Barbados has had “challenges in the past with allegations of improper treatment” by that country’s authorities.”

I lay the blame for all of this disrespect of Bajans at the feet of the Barbados Labour Party.

I will remember all at the next upcoming general election.

THE BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY always siding with everyone else against BARBADIANS. This MUST NOT BE FORGOTTEN.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/editorial/Hope-for-our-region-in-Ms-Mottley-s-voice-of-reason_8610945

21. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

From the jamaican Observer,finally a columnist with some reason and balance:

What conversation will Minister Baugh (left) have with Minister McClean?

Barbados blue

A digital cavity search is unusual since we have Body Orifice Security Scanner (BOSS), and to probe our pretty Jamaican lady is inexcusable, disproportionate and unfair, so Minister Baugh must “raise Cain”. Incidentally, our media’s salacious, provocative reports are more pornography than journalism and treat the lady just like meat. The lady has two problems: she is pretty (lock up your husbands, Bim) so she is competition and she is Jamaican. No ugly woman is digitally probed! And no drug interdiction profile cites dishevelled or ugly people, but many cite Jamaica by name. Minister Baugh, we get abused at all ports; you don’t have diplomatic note paper to cope! Despite the positivity of Usain to our brand, our chief global publicists are pretty “mules” or entertainers in jail for drugs on three continents. We get no “bly” in any airport and a pretty lady suffers for the bad. The UK jails about 700 mules a year and our pretty girls too. The US used to harass us because of Manley’s socialism and we stood proud. There is no dignity in drugs. Barbados prizes order. I have walked its streets and would trade our vaunted druggie creativity for a fraction of its sanity. There will be no free movement or growth in CSME for us! No member will outrage its voters for us and none can afford our jobless tide. Barbados would lose its special rights in the UK – we do not have any. The UK let in poor whites from the EU for four years – not anymore – as local politics is bigger than the EU and Barbados’ is bigger than CSME.

Governments pose but only people can make free movement work and if a reputation precedes you – end of story! What conversation will Minister Baugh have with Minister McClean? Who has the moral high ground? Mistakes were made, so cool it; give the lady a good apology and reparation. We know “wat a gwaan” as every week somewhere a Jamaican is caught, tried or jailed for drugs. With another hat I see ackee tins of drugs as our people will not repent. Righteous indignation by Cabinet is a sham. We have no moral ground in the Belize meeting as we chuck out every flippin’ Haitian. We tell our close neighbour to go home, we will help you and please don’t come to ours. Cabinet must deal with our entertainer druggists so decent people can move freely. My Bajan friend, there is no more need for digital searches as I see the BOSS chair used often and it works well. Just sit in it and all is visible. Caricom can assist members by buying one for each

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/columns/Sleep–pretty-girls-and-the-Barbados-finger_8610243#ixzz1IGnlJKdM

22. Negroman
    We’re both on the same page, and I’ve been saying that for a while, the DLP/ BLP same bunch of jokers. It is because the country don’t have leaders who are confident in themselves and others are seeing it, that’s why the vultures are ready tp pounce on Barbados and eat up all the credibilities that we as a people have fought so hard to achieve. Yes, I more critical on the DLP because they are/were the party I believed in and such expected better from, they are disappointing me. I totally agree with you, both parties seem more interested in promoting themselves than country, and that is a sad state of affairs. That’s why I call for a NEW PARTY with genuine persons who have the interest of Barbados and Bajans at heart; they are many but they seem afraid to step forward.

23. Wayne

If you don’ read me how you know that I is a jackass …?

24. This Myrie affair has been a public relations windfall for the Golding government mired in ongoing drama of the Dudus inquiry. If only all governments were this lucky.
    We in Barbados must take all reasonable steps to protect our people. Those who help you into a cesspool will not dirty their hands to help you out.

25. I was talking to a friend in St. Maarten who has been following the Myrie charge and he told me that they have had similar complaints from Jamaicans over the years. However they got around the problem by keeping all planes which bring them, on the tarmac until everyone is checked by Immigration. The ones who
    don’t qaulify to enter the country are put back on the plane and
    sent back to wherever they boarded the plane. They aren’t put in any holding cells . If every time a Jamaican who is refused entry decides to cry rape/beating ,the Barbados Government might have to take similar action.

26. NEWS: BAJAN MAN DIGITALLY PROBED AT NORMAN MANLEY

27. …someone stuck a finger in his ear!

28. This fable changes
    every day. I can no longer believe anything this mentally disturbed desperate stripper say.
    Bring in a polygraph expert!
    Why did she lie to say
    immigration officers did it?
    at the airport!
    Now She accusing 2 police officers!!!!She did not mention going to court. Did sheniqua solicit sex in exchange for clemency from the officers? Then She cry rape?

If Barbados is so bad? Why are all the Jamaicans lying, conniving and still trying
    so bad to get in to live here?
    If Barbados is that bad? Jamaicans please leave it!!!Bad Mind & Say all you want about Barbados, but vote with
    your feet, all Bhuttos leave our country & stop trying to sneak in! Stay in jamaica!

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/probe-not-done-yet/

POLICE HAVE REPORTED that investigations into allegations by a Jamaican drug accused that she was sexually assaulted and raped by two police officers are at a delicate stage.

The 27-year-old Spanish Town woman said the offenses were committed while she was in the holding cells of Central Police Station between February 27 and 28, following her arrest at Grantley Adams International Airport on drug-trafficking charges.
    The Jamaican woman had appeared in a Bridgetown Magistratesโ€™ Court and was remanded to Dodds Prison, St Philip.

29. It is funny how people can’t see what the jamaican mafia is doing, first it was this girl who alleged rape by the police officers, then there is this other young lady alleging “finger rape” by first she said immigration officer, then change to police officer> Why in a recession are we wasting money in foolishness, if Jamaican administration wants to move the focus off the Dudus Coke affair and use Barbados as their whipping dog, don’t assist them by engaging they in dialouge? Next if will get worse, some homo is going to claim he was molested by bajans and the police did nothing. We (barbados) has done their investigation and the case was fabricated, end of story. Just a warning to bajans travelling to Jamaica, just cross your T’s and dot your I’s. Remember, Carifta/ Caricom Athletes Championships are slated for Jamaica later this month and they would be gearing for us.

30. @David | March 30, 2011 at 10:30 PM |
    On a side note has anybody noted Rickey Singhโ€™s position on this matter?
    Barbados has been a haven for him for years but guess who he is backing?
    =============
    You seem to be no different than the other narrow-minded people around here. Loyalty and nationalism is one thing, but strong principles and integrity are another.

31. @ SCOUT
    You make a lot of sense every time I read your articles. You said in an earlier posting that Myrie is only a small fry in the whole plot. Each day you are being proven right. God Help us if we drop our guard as a result of this scandal. Only today I heard on the VOB 12.30 news , that a Jamaican was caught with 10 pounds of cocaine in St. Lawrence Gap. Whom do you think that was intended for? For sure it wasn’t for the poor people but the rich and famous . They must have their cocaine to alter their minds. They are not interested in marijuana because it is too easily identified when it is being smoked. They sniff and sniff and sniff without anyone being aware that they are consuming drugs . They know how to use the media, including this Blog, to make Barbados Security look bad.

32. @upset student: “Bring in a polygraph expert!

Just being the Autistic Nerdy Geek I am, please do note that traditional Polygraphs tests don’t actually work. Despite the general public’s opinion that they do.

Some who are guilty will pass the test.

Some who are innocent will fail.

There has been some interesting research done using real-time MRI testing in this domain, but that is well outside the Caribbean’s technical capability.

Thus we must rely on other measurements to answer questions like this.

Like, for example, DVR records….

33. @Upset student

If you read the article that appears to be a separate incident from the Myrie issue.The latter never entered Barbados while this person appears to have been confirmed to went through the system for drugs.

@Chuckles

The friend probably didn’t realize as of late they changed the rules there.Both Jamaica’s and Guyana’s citizens require visas before entering the country their.
    ———————————–
    http://www.thedailyherald.com/islands/1-islands-news/14795-visa-requirements-soon-for-jamaicans-and-guyanese-.html

“PHILIPSBURG–Guyanese and Jamaicans will soon need visas to enter St. Maarten, Prime Minister Sarah Wescot-Williams announced Sunday on Lloyd Richardson’s radio programme on PDJ2 1300

She said Justice Minister Roland Duncan had submitted a letter to the Dutch Minister for Foreign Affairs with the names of these two countries for visa requirements.

Justice Minister Roland Duncan had told Members of Parliament (MPs) at last Wednesday’s meeting of the Central Committee of Parliament that the Council of Ministers had expanded the list of countries that would require visas. He said the decision to impose visas on some countries had been taken “weeks ago,” however, he had not provided the names of the countries as the process of updating the list was still in progress.

“There is a procedure on informing the kingdom partners on this procedure and I would prefer not to divulge the countries before, because that could mean that before the measures are in place we might have a spike in immigration,” Duncan said. “We have taken a decision on such restrictions and they will be announced as soon as the procedure allows.”

Duncan’s announcement was made after Democratic Party (DP) MP Roy Marlin had asked for the Minister’s opinion on the possibility of visa implementation for certain countries based on statistics “that people coming here and getting involved in crime” and for nationals who “cause a problem” in St. Maarten.

Marlin said: “If the people come here to destroy the little sacredness of St. Maarten, then I have a problem with it.””

34. @David | March 31, 2011 at 8:39 AM | @BAFBFP

Surely you misunderstand BUโ€™s position. Like you we agree that the investigation should proceed to root out the truth but to ridicule our officials in the process is a nonsense.
    ==========
    Aren’t they deserving of some ridicule, even if not in this particular case? Haven’t you heard of all the bad treatment dished out to Guyanese and others over the years? Or are you like most people who think that as long as it never happened to them, then it doesn’t happen?

35. Oh… Interesting…

I’m hearing that there are no cameras nor auditable DVRs in the area before and around immigration and customs here in sweet Bim.

A pity — they might have helped proved what went down….

36. It would appear that Barbadians, and by extension, Barbados are under attack beacuse people want to get their own way and have no respect for law and order. I have had many negative comments made about Barbados by other Caribbean citizens here in New York-many of whom never visited Barbados and if they visited it was only for a short time to obtain a U.S visa. I was naive until I got a rude awakening as to the jealousy and hatred towards Barbadians and many Barbadians at home are still naive. I was in the post office some time ago and overheard a Jamaican say that that she does not even know the names of the ‘small islands’ and has no interest in them. I cannot understand why Barbadian politians are running up and down the Caribbean looking gor friends. There is nothing wrong with trading and travelling but what does this have to do with persons planning to enter another country for nefarious reasons? What does having relatives and friends living in Jamaica or anywhere else in the world to do with law breaking? Barbadians lift up your pride and have some self- respect and integrity. Right is right and wrong is wrong. Even if you enter #21 Federal Plaza in New York-Immigration Dept., Courts of law (Family Court etc.) security is very tight. To all workers in Bim be professional and trust no one. God Bless.

37. Chuckles
    I try to keep it real without being partisan political, the authorities in Barbados must stop letting other countries put them on the backfoot. There was this problem with the Guyanese which the late P.M David Thompson triesd to resolve by stamping down on the influx of guyanese coming into the country and Jagdeo came down hard on him and he backed off. Thompson, then said that Barbados jobs for bajans first and St.Vincent’s P.M said he owned Caricom an apology. Barbados is the last remaining well developed country within Caricom, that is not taken over by the thugs. St lucia used to be my haven on weekends to get away from Barbados work and a little rest, that country is now a drug and criminal haven, murders are escalating. Unless the powers that be put their foot down Barbados can easily become like Jamaica, Guyana, T&T or St Lucia. I’m calling on both political parties to come together in an effort to save Barbados, theenemies are on our door steps and we are squabbling our partisan politics and power, if we’re not careful neither party will have power in this country. Check the said Jamaica, it appeared Dudus Coke has the political parties in his back pocket. Imagine their P.M Golding could be making satements about how good Jamaica are to Caricom migrants and our P.M sleeping, not a word in defence of our immigration, customs or police officers. Come on P.M Stuart wake up and defend the country you were appointed to be in charge of.

38. What is the latest on the case on Suleman Esuf. He was expected to be seen in court on March 8, 2011?

Once yuh rich yuh does get threat real good bout hay. If you poor yuh does get search.

39. IT’S A SAD DAY…. VERY SAD WHEN WE SEE A WAR STARTING IN OUR OWN NECK OF THE WOODS. SHOW ME A PERFECT MAN. IF NIGHT COULD TURN TO DAY WE WOULD SEE MANY WHO CLAIM TO BE SO PERFECT AND CLEAN, EXPOSED.

40. @The Scout…

Please correct me if I am wrong, but as I understand it there are no cameras nor Digital Video Recorders (DVRs) at the airports’ incoming port because of the Bajan Unions and the associated Bajan workers refusal for same.

Again, please correct me if I am wrong.

41. Citizen said:

” I was naive until I got a rude awakening as to the jealousy and hatred towards Barbadians and many Barbadians at home are still naive.”

I’m guilty of being naive as well. I knew we were envied, but never suspected it was to this extent. If the attacks were against the immigration I could understand to some extent, but the attacks have been focused on the entire island.

We have been called house slaves, docile and many other things because we chose to think before reacting. I have been enlightened from bloggers about our history within the last couple of days, I didn’t even know existed. I suspect the envy will escalate within a few months.:)

42. Chris said:

“Please correct me if I am wrong, but as I understand it there are no cameras nor Digital Video Recorders (DVRs) at the airportsโ€™ incoming port because of the Bajan Unions and the associated Bajan workers refusal for same.”

This is my understanding Chris. Unions have fought the instalation of cameras for years.

43. @Scout
    I, like you, try to be as non-partisan as possible although last year
    while on holiday in U.K , I asked some of my old friends to vote for the Liberal Democrats. What a let down!!
    I agree with you that both parties must work together to save our country but you are butting your head against the wall. Can you
    imagine Golding throwing his weight behind Dudus Coke and the former Deputy Prime Minister, Ms Mottley openly criticizing the
    the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade? The Jamaican media are lapping it up. We are our very worst enemies.

44. Will be interesting to see if if or when cameras will be installed. It probably would take a poor classification from the US Federal Aviation Authority due to a lack of cameras in those areas for it to happen.

45. Christopher Halsall
    As far as I know Anonlegal has answered you correctly

46. Chuckles
    After almost fifty years of Independence, there are still too many barbadians who have not matured enough to be boldand call a spade a spade. In many cases it is because of political yardfowlism, they hibernate while their party is in opposition, then expects to get a lot of sweets when their party is returned to office. This means that everything the opposing party does is criticised and when in power everything their party does is right because it is ameans of existence for many. For me, I’m bold enough to pay kudos when I agree and criticise when needed, I AM A FREE SPIRIT, no ties to any party. I’ve been labelled a D sometimes and a B sometimes but the only label I want is that I’m honest in my comments

47. @Pat | March 31, 2011 at 7:53 PM |
    Could someone, Jamaican or otherwise state what Ms. Myrieโ€™s job, profession or career is? How come her lawyer did not state that she works at this or that? In her righteous indignation why did she not say that she is an upright, gainfully employed citizen? Why did someone have to pay her ticket for her? Is this same person paying her lawyer for her too?
    ========
    What does any of this have to do with the issue at hand? I don’t think anybody is questioning why she was sent back. The issue at hand is:
    1. Finding out if any immigration or customs officer inserted fingers in her vagina or anus.
    2. Finding out if any immigration or customs officer verbally abused her as she claims.

48. @The Scout: “As far as I know Anonlegal has answered you correctly

Like few others will…

Hmmmm….

49. Barbados authorities at our ports of entry must maintain their composure and do their jobs with the Reggae Show on the horizon.

Perhaps some dots can be connected with the proliferation of the Jamaican sub-culture and the stress being placed on our ports of entry.

Sometimes we think drugs first but what about human trafficking?

50. What scares my most is the prevalence of weapons, and fairly sophisticated ones as well. Two weeks ago the son of a well known wealthy Barbadian was caught with an assault weapon in his possession. Now I am wondering, did they cavity search him to find if was carrying any more fire arms..? ๐Ÿ™