Senator Maxine McClean, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Today has been an interesting day so far. It was a day arch-enemies India and Pakistan battled in a World Cup cricket semi-final. The game from media reports was played in a cordial atmosphere which India won. There was a time in the not too distant past when the events of today would not have been thought possible. The moral of this story you ask? There is hope that a truce in the ‘war of words’ which has broken out between Jamaica and Barbados will soon come to past.

To restate BU’s position, an allegation was made by a Jamaican national which was deposited, by her, in Jamaica’s media space. The result of it is that her allegation has whipped-up a national frenzy which has seen a level of vitriol hurled at Barbados hitherto not experienced. The immigration brouhaha between Guyana does not even come close to what is currently unravelling. The response of many Barbadians, known in the region for our passive and docile manner, appears to have taken some by surprise.

Not since the era of the late Rt. Excellent Errol Walton Barrow, who was not afraid to signal to Cowboy Ronald Reagon where to get off, have we had leaders who were prepared to fearlessly defend our sovereignty. BU is supportive of Minister Maxine McClean who has been forced to fill the enormous leadership vacuum which seems to exist in this regard. Senator Maxine McClean’s record is there to be scrutinized by her critics, a respected UWI, Cave Hill lecturer for several years and a regional consultant before agreeing to enter the cabinet of the current administration. Her commitment to regional harmony cannot be credibly questioned. Unlike some in Barbados, she appears to be acutely aware of where Barbados finds itself at this period in our history.

It is ironic that Barbados not too long ago had to battle a large influx of Guyanese – especially Indo-Guyanese which scared the hell out of many Bajans โ€“ which precipitated the proposed amendment to the Immigration Act. Now we have the Jamaica Barbados conflict over the Shanique Myrie affair. Surprisingly we have two of the largest of the territories in the Caribbean battling Barbados on the larger issue of freedom of movement. Antigua of similar ‘size’ has been battling the same issues. BU is about justice for people and if our local authorities have been found to have engaged in a cover up on the Myrie Affair, let the chips fall where they may. What BU will not compromise on is the need for Bajans to feel ashame of what we have achieved. It seems bleeding hearts of our own kind are quick to join others from outside to bloody the reputation of Barbados. Many from outside envy what we have achieved and in the process are quick to label us arrogant or some similar term. When traits which recommend Barbados are discussed around the region, especially T&T and Jamaica, our orderly society is often what is highlighted at the top of the list. Barbadians themselves have taken this characteristic for granted over time.

We will not allow our tiny country – if we compare to Jamaica and Guyana – to become โ€˜the warehouse of the unskilledโ€™. The reality that we are in the midst of an economic slowdown which has added wings to the flight of those who seek fame and fortune perpetrating illegal and or undesirable activities should not be forgotten. This is the background which has informed the rigour with which guardians of our ports of entry have had to be acutely aware. For whatever reason which is the subject of another commentary everybody want to descend on Barbados like flies would honey nowadays. The position of Rickey Singh on this matter is not lost on us at all. BU believes there is a regional conspiracy to get Barbados to dumb down its protection of its borders in recent years to satisfy ideological positions. We have those who are proponents of freedom of movement at all cost.

BU has deliberately dealt with this matter from an arms distance perspective. However there are some more things we will have to say which the Myrie Affair has brought to light in the coming days and weeks.

1. @Random Thoughts,

Very good travel advice.

I also declare everything I am carrying. to Barbados food,vitamins,clothes,electronics.
    To Canada, every bajan fruit in season and 50 to 60 pounds of frozen fish.
    No problems with customs going or coming.

Travelled to the USA on business. No problem.

I follow the tenet that Customs and Immigration officers have “the power and control” in their woek environment.

2. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Home is the place where when you go there they HAVE to let you in.

If it isn’t your home (or home country) they do NOT HAVE TO LET YOU IN.

You are asking permission to visit.

If you are truthful and respectful with the Immigration and Customs staff you will very likely be treated respectfully.

3. Random Thoughts said:
    “TOO MANY PEOPLE WHO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE RUDENESS OF PUBLIC OFFICERS ARE THEMSELVES VERY RUDE PEOPLE and the customerโ€™s rudeness brings out the rudeness in the public officer (although of course this should not happen).”

Co-sign. Too many people travelling do not know how to behave, or do not understand that travelling is stressful and you have to be on your P’s & Q’s at all times . I even know people here in Bim who, when I am travelling to the UK, expect me to carry fish, roti and all kinds of things to give their friends there. I tell them upfront I am not carrying any of that stuff because it is ILLEGAL to take that stuff to the UK. They act all surprised and offended and tell me I have an attitude. But if I got held by customs in the UK and have to pay a fine or be jailed, would they be there to help me?

Some of the rudeness Caribbean people display towards immigration officers in all Caribbean territorities, they would never dare do it to white immigration officers abroad. These same people seem to think that because we share the same skin colour or culture that we have a right to act more “lax” towards each other. Nonsense.

4. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Mrs. Pamela Clarke the Hillaby shopkeeper is where she has always been, keeping shop in Hillaby.

Do we have any MP’s who keep shop/restaurant/social club/nightclub in town (Baxter’s Road specifically) and was Ms. Myrie coming to work in said MP’s establishment and if so what kind of work?

As has been said many times on this blog, for every bad behaved Jamaican, there is a bad behaved Bajan facilitator.

Sometimes a high ranking Barbadian facilitator.

5. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Island, dickhead or not, a lot of the people here agree with me – that’s good enough for me. Maybe u need to wake up!

6. @ RadomThoughts

Very go piece of advice for the travelling public .

I also questioned why Myrie didn’t go to the proper authorities with these allegations on her arrival back to Jamaica. My only conclusion is that she probably did not want to be further questioned about her travellingaffairs as if with now a thorough investigation might have brought out more details in connection to the whys! What! and where! . Fortunately or unfortunately it might just lead to more than what she bargain for. I will just stay tuned

7. @ island gal &wi v

Why don’t the both of you try practicing some diplomacy. It just might work. Love & Peace!

8. ac | April 3, 2011 at 2:56 PM |

@ island gal &wi v

Why donโ€™t the both of you try practicing some diplomacy. It just might work. Love & Peace!

All island gal needs to do is…….

DNFTT!!

9. Barbados getting more bad press. Scathing criticism in a UK newspaper of Barbados Police.

10. The war with words won’t be won, just pure facts. Just wait for the proof and evidence. We need to be ever vigilent now bajans as i said, the name myrie belongs to she and buju banton, and the murder of Denroy Davis this week needs to be looked into pronto.
    this is how it all starts, a murder here an a murder there tying up police resources until there isn’t enough man power to cover all cases – then the real crooks creep in, we need every bajan to spy on non-nationals!

11. The jews own the press in england and they’re fuelling the jamaican crime, how can a poor people like the jamaicans suddendly be everywhere attacking people they hardly even know.
    We need to nip it in the bud before it even gets started, we need to let them know they can’t open their mouths on us about anything or any issue, they have problems enough of their own they need to fix before they complain anywhere else!!!!

12. Listen to the people Ellis had on his program today and it was enough to make a Bajan puke. Will have some more to say on this matter later.

13. I went for a two week holiday a couple of years ago with a few friends. We went to an outside night out, called Oistons. As we tried to leave we were jostles and pushed and were called ‘White trash’ we are married and with our husbands. We were clearly out numbered and just had to take it. I will never go on holiday there again. Except for a few nice beaches and resorts, BARBADOS it’s a dump.

– Maggie, Cheshire, 3/4/2011 8:29

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1372881/Hilary-Heath-attacked-serial-rapist-Barbados-says-police-concerned-image.html#ixzz1IVOPeflW

14. Barbados is beautiful but the crime rate is high. Friends went there a couple of years ago and were mugged 3 times in two weeks. The authorities need to change matters there and the only way to do it is via your wallet. Boycott Barbados until matters are improved.

– susan, barcombe sussex, 3/4/2011 8:15

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1372881/Hilary-Heath-attacked-serial-rapist-Barbados-says-police-concerned-image.html#ixzz1IVOcuLjR

15. Sorry to say it but the Barbados Police are like the keystone cops. I have visited there many times, laws are not enforced, people drink and drive and there are lots of road deaths, people are cruel to animals and never prosecuted even though there are laws against it. These shambolic investigations of the rapes do not surprise me in the least. Barbados is a lovely country, but the police force need a kick up the backside.

– Sandra, United Kingdom, 3/4/2011 8:34

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1372881/Hilary-Heath-attacked-serial-rapist-Barbados-says-police-concerned-image.html#ixzz1IVOtghov

16. My sister lives in beautiful Barbados – me and other family members have visited often and have never experienced any crime. To Susan in Barcombe, I will not be boycotting Barbados.

– Carol, Milton Keynes, 3/4/2011 8:50

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1372881/Hilary-Heath-attacked-serial-rapist-Barbados-says-police-concerned-image.html#ixzz1IVPEGa7T

17. What about Jack the Ripper that terrorise England and mutilated and raped woman. no country is immune from crime . So when one is pointing a finger at another the other finger is being pointed at themselves.So what is the point!

18. The problem is that some tourists come to this country and for some reason believe that it is Utopia and that they can walk or drive around any place at any time. Show me anywhere in the world that this is possible and I would show you Heaven. Yes, there is crime in Barbados but not as much as many of our caribbean neighbours. However, if we don’t control the influx of criminals and devient persons who are trying to take over Barbados, we would have a serious crime problem. We talk about the amount of Indo-guyanese in the country and rightfully so, but there are a lot of Jamaican around here too and many of them are not here for legitimate work, therefore my government MUST stand its ground and protect this country from these types of persons.

19. Check out the court reports in the newspaper, many of those accused and convicted are NOT bajans

20. Tecchie I totally agree
    I will no longer feed the trolls! LOLLL

21. @isloandgal246

LOL ! Please, dont quote from the DM blogs. The British Police, thanks to the proliferation to CCTV have been caught in some dsastardly acts. Recently one was caught on camera pushing an innocent black youth, walking with his hands in his pocket, through a store front because two white girls told him, they did not like him walking on the street behind them.

I read the british papers every day. Crime there is 100% worse than in Bim. Their favourite weapon is the knife. I really dont know how Man Wiv No Name can take it.

22. “The British Police, thanks to the proliferation to CCTV have been caught in some dsastardly acts. ” I wonder if we had the same what will it show us.

Britain does not depend on us for Tourism WE DEPEND ON THEM FOR OUR TOURISM.

23. I guess the Barbados Border Agents will have to use two finger?

24. Who ever is at the helm of this country has got some damage repairs to attend to. We have been hit head- on by Guyana, rear -ended by Jamaica, side swiped by the St Vincent and Grenadines PM, and now the UK has dropped a wreckers ball on top of us.

25. Barbados is not the only country that depends on British Tourist so does Jamaica and if crime was the only reason no one would visit Jamaica.Most tourist usually do they homework before visiting a country and that does include knowing the high risk and crime rate of the country . Our crime rate has not reached the levels of Jamaica. That is why the immigration dept job is a very hard one and needs to continue to profile and monitor people that do not have proper documentation to entered the country.If drugs are continued to enter this country we will soon become like Jamaica.The law enforcement officers are doing the best they can hopefully the government would give more financially to combat this growing epidemic

26. Trouble in our paradise? No way at all only dem stupid tourist who feel that they can walk bout anywhere anytime and doah expect nuttin to happen to dem….Stupse Stupid Tourist. Jamaica got more crime dan we so dat aint bad at all. Stupid Tourist what dem complaining fuh? We got de best beaches, de best service, de best education, de best of every ting what else dem want? Dem only complaining bout little tings dat aint important. Dem got more crime in dem country. We doan need dem, dem need us!

27. Tecchie forgive me FDT

28. @ Island 246
    I note with interest the statement by one Susan of Barcombe
    Sussex that Barbados is a dump. Has she ever visited Brighton, Sussex? Some areas in Brighton are worse than the most run down areas of Barbados. Does she know about the inner-city crime in Brighton? I lived and worked there for 4 years. They have a higher average than the national average in drug offences, fraud and forgery, theft, robbery, sexual offences and violence against the person. Does she know about the Sussex Police coverup in the Mark Slade’s gang murder of Katrina Taylor? Barbadians, be proud of what you have. Keep it beautiful. Yes , Barbados welcomes the U.K visitors who have money to spend but not the ones who end up on the beaches waiting for the locals to provide them with food/drink/drugs/sex.
    That type of trash can remain in Brighton and Barcombe.

29. “Yes , Barbados welcomes the U.K visitors who have money to spend but not the ones who end up on the beaches waiting for the locals to provide them with food/drink/drugs/sex.
    That type of trash can remain in Brighton and Barcombe.”

Lookka doan go spoil we jobs now! We cahn afford to be unemployed now.

30. True Jamaica does have a much higher crime rate than Barbados and Tourist from all over the world continues to go there. Tourist in general would guage a country in dollar and cents . They do not depend on the daily rag to tell them where and how to spend their money .Barbados is a little country witha very low crime rate so low it pales insignificant with other tourist destinations. so for people all of a sudden to be pointing out the crime in Barbados is amusing especially in light of the recent myrie story. Why haven’t these people been so vigilant and concerned before. I wonder what is the real story!

31. As country dependant on tourism it means we have to be vigilant and continue to maintain law and order. It is why protecting our borders is critical. We will have bad situations which will remind us that crime is always present in Barbados, we are not a Utopia.

32. Speaking of David Ellis. people like the david Elli’s whom Barbados has been good to are always quick to point out what is wrong with the island. I guess if all is that bad . it begs the question why does he live here.Now his only claim to fame is bad mouthing the very country who gave him good opportunity. i bet he would say “Barbados ain’t did nothing for him” i guess he paid for all his education too! He is a tool of inflammation

33. Why would people waste their time replying to any individual comment made by the respondents in the British press Stuepse………..,They have they own problems…………………..People who live in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones! steupse……………..

34. islandgal246 | April 3, 2011 at 10:51 PM |

Tecchie forgive me FDT

It’s ok, it takes time and discipline but you will get it.

35. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

ac | April 3, 2011 at 2:56 PM |
    @ island gal &wi v

Why donโ€™t the both of you try practicing some diplomacy. It just might work. Love & Peace!

ac, talk is cheap. Look and see who started the abuse before passing judgement, if u want to say something sensible.

As for Technician, his brain’s up his backside, probably from smoking too much weed! Listen to him if u want. it’s no concern of mine! Islandgal, ur another idiot!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1372881/Hilary-Heath-attacked-serial-rapist-Barbados-says-police-concerned-image.html

What’s that link from Islandgal meant to prove? That we on a par with Jamaica and Jamaicans? – idiot!

“I really dont know how Man Wiv No Name can take it.”

Hi Pat, it isn’t easy at all, but if u keep away from the Jamaicans and the police (who’re only reacting to their experience of them) it isn’t too bad! You can see what the solution is!

ac, you say that “people from all over the world continue to go there” (to Jamaica). That’s probably true, but I suspect they stay securely within the confines of the hotel and don’t dare to venture beyond them. A situation which, I hope, doesn’t pertain in Bim! A comparison of shit with heaven is more suitable!

36. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Jes to clarify: Bim being heaven, of course!

37. @islandgal – heres something for you and the other idiots.
    ‘Cut if off’

BY PETULIA CLARKE All Woman Editor clarkep@jamaicaobserver.com

Tuesday, March 09, 2010

ATTORNEY and women’s and children’s rights advocate Margarette Macaulay is advocating harsh penalties for men who commit incest and stricter penalties for family members who hide their actions.

The lawyer, who noted that incest was still too prevalent in Jamaica, and who was peeved that in many cases the crime goes unreported because families cover up the act, believes the organs of the men involved should be cut off.

Women’s and Children’s Rights Advocate Margarette Macaulay (left) makes a point at yesterday’s Observer Monday Exchange at the newspaper’s Beechwood Avenue headquarters in Kingston. Looking on from second left are Joyce Hewett, past president of WOMAN Inc; Dorothy Whyte, executive director of the Women’s Resource and Outreach Centre and Beryl Weir, executive director of the Women’s Centre of Jamaica Foundation.(Photo: Naphtali Junior)
    Margarette Macaulay
    Women’s and Children’s Rights Advocate Margarette Macaulay (left) makes a point at yesterday’s Observer Monday Exchange at the newspaper’s Beechwood Avenue headquarters in Kingston. Looking on from second left are Joyce Hewett, past president of WOMAN Inc; Dorothy Whyte, executive director of the Women’s Resource and Outreach Centre and Beryl Weir, executive director of the Women’s Centre of Jamaica Foundation.(Photo: Naphtali Junior) 1/2

The Sexual Offences Act allows persons convicted of incest to face the same penalty as rape convicts, which is a maximum sentence of life in prison.

“But I still don’t think that is sufficient, I think they should cut off all their organs,” Macaulay said, stating that the enforcement part of incest still remains a problem, and many offenders don’t get prosecuted because families cover up their crimes.

Macaulay, who was addressing reporters and editors at the Observer’s weekly Monday Exchange meeting at the newspaper’s head office in Kingston yesterday, said that the problem of incest is generational, in some cases involving even grandfathers.

“I’m really passionate about incest. It’s happening a lot; it happens generationally, like a man has done it to his daughters and now he’s doing it to his grandchildren,” she said.

In many cases the cover-up goes so far that the pregnancies resulting from incestuous relationships are aborted, with the help of the children’s mothers.

“The families themselves and including women in the family, cover it up, and so most of the incest offences never see the light of day,” Macaulay said. “It used to be like domestic violence used to be — behind closed doors — but now it’s behind closed families, the family will cover it up.”

Police statistics show that 45 children were reported to be involved in incest cases in 2008. Statistics were not available for 2009. But Macaulay charged that many of the cases go unreported because the families don’t come forward.

“They [families] are complicit either before the fact or during the fact or after the fact,” Macaulay said. “To me it is more serious than a stranger-rape which is bad enough. These are people you trust, who are supposed to care for you. So therefore the law has to come down really, really strong on it.”

Added she: “But there is no clear provision in the Act that the family members who know can be prosecuted.”

But families who are found to be complicit can be charged under the Child Care and Protection Act, which allows that anyone who knows of a child who was abused or is being abused physically, sexually or mentally, should report it or face being charged with an offence bearing a maximum fine of $500,000 or up to six months’ imprisonment or a mixture of a fine and prison term.

Meanwhile, Joyce Hewett, WOMAN Inc past president and co-ordinator for public education and legal reform, said that while the organisation — which runs the only shelter for victims of domestic violence in Jamaica — doesn’t serve women under 18, it has dealt with women who have had problems with issues like incest in their childhood.

“Women over 18 who have been sexually molested and assaulted as children oftentimes carry the burden throughout their lives,” Hewett said.

She said WOMAN Inc includes incest counselling for those who seek it. The group has a 24-hour anonymous hotline with counsellors to help women in need.

POST A COMMENT

You must first register and then login to be able to post a comment.

HOUSE RULES

1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper โ€“ email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don’t use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: advertising@jamaicaobserver.com.

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: community@jamaicaobserver.com.

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy, and before commenting you need to register, conveniently, by clicking the link above.

(Log out)

Comment (required):

You have characters left.
    For information about privacy please read our Privacy Policy.

I have read and accepted the Terms and Conditions

COMMENTS (16)

User Login

Password

Remember login?

Create a new account

Retrieve forgotten password

A H
    3/9/2010
    I’d like to add my two cents’ worth. I’m always curious as to why the reports of women or men who are sexually attracted to children (and act on it) are not labelled as paedophiles. And why am I still hearing the word carnal abuse, call it rape! Call it rape whether it’s perpetrated by a man, woman, girl or boy.
    Although I smirked when I read the `cut it off’ part, that’s NOT the solution. These PERVERTS need to be punished legally and need psychological help. It goes beyond the sex, it’s a mental/emotional urge. For a person to look at a child or baby and be sexually aroused (and to go further and act on it) means that something is terribly screwed up with their minds. Sometimes it’s a matter of abuse begets abuse begets abuse…their is a trend. I am by no means condoning the acts of these perverts; their actions detroys lives, they must be punished (and if I went purely on emotions I would call for their painful executions). But there are laws (obviously we need to amend these), but it cannot be swept under the rug. Punish them, and try to fix them, & if that fails…well keep them away from society.

Elli Deedo
    3/9/2010
    This lady must be respected for her effort to put in place measures which will protect our Women and Children.
    However I do believe the poroblem of incest is more a mental illness. Our Psychiatrists in Jamaica might be more capable of assisting us to understand this branch of disgraceful criminal act.
    What I would love to see is the implementation of a legislation making it mandatory to punish men who are a menace to women on their Jobs.. Sexual harassment. This is another problem which have been too long ignored.
    Women are been left too vulnerable to those psychophatic
    beast mentality maniacs out there in Jamaica. I am also calling on the Women to stage a demonstration for the re- implementation of the CAT O NINE:

Ms. Lee B.
    3/9/2010
    If this is to be made a law, then I see a lot of amputations in the future.
    When I was in high school there were a lot of ‘bus man’ who impregnated young girls in my school. And the trend continues unabated. Many of these girls were my age 14-15.

T G
    3/9/2010
    //”But I still don’t think that is sufficient, I think they should cut off all their organs,” Macaulay said//
    Something in the water that turns otherwise intelligent, reasonable Jamaicans into shrieking, babbling mess!

back tobasics
    3/9/2010
    I have an even harsher suggestion, death penalty, plain and simple

mike beckles
    3/9/2010
    The shocking message in this rant personifies what is wrong with the Jamaican Culture ,mark you this woman is a lawyer , this is the kind of backwoods solutions they have to what are serious Societal problems, the question of Rape and Incest are egregious acts they scar ,but they are no more serious than the murder and terror that is unleashed on the Society daily by the beasts Women raise, cover for , lie for, Demonstrate for , and benefit from the blood money they bring in, the hand that rocks the cradle rules the World, when these Women seek to ponder the question “how did we get here”? they need look no further that in the Mirror .

Francis Blackman
    3/9/2010
    Whilst Ms. Macaulay’s comments do not make me think of the actual amputation of a man’s penis, I do see her issue. There is a tendency in the press to cover incest and pedophilia as molestation, child abuse and rape. The concept of sex with a child is far too gentle a characterization for the grossly inhumane and criminal acts of pedophiles. We need to recognize that there is no known cure for this condition. Such offenders need to be shut away for a very long time. Ms. Macaulay is correct and needs to be commended for being unequivocal about a serious crime and her idea for a solution.

mike willy
    3/9/2010
    Margarette Macaulay, what punishment do you recommend for the woman?

Care Beee
    3/9/2010
    Ms. Macaulay is, without a doubt, passionate about preventing incest and hopefully this will translate into tougher laws. For this reason i will forgive her heated, off the cuff comments about the nature of the punishment required. We must admit that it is easy for emotions to trump good sense especially in terrible circumstances. Indeed the punishment she suggests speaks to the inability of the current laws to prevent repeat offenders….we need a public registry of sex offenders (available on -line and on community notice boards) as well as monitoring of these offenders after their long (in excess of 15 years) prison sentence is served. This, although a much more ‘expensive’ and time consuming approach, would be more effective.

D Ranks
    3/9/2010
    I agree with Macaulay that the punishment is way too lienient for people who comit incest. I agree too that more stringent actions must be taken when family members cover up the act. I think that people who commit these crimes should serve at most twenty years in prison, and not be allowed to return to the home. Right now a person can be released from prison after serving time for incest and go straight back to the home to live.
    Where I have to part company with Macaulay is the removal of the genitals of men who commit incest. She ought to know better than that, she is in a position of power for crying out loud and a very high profile one at that, and in a nation beset by violence as a solution to every wrongs perputated against man and dog. She ought to say too what should be removed when women commit acts of incest, or has she forgotten that a portion of cases belong to women.
    No Ms Macauley, you look like a nice woman, but your rant has no place in a civilized society.

tina chambers
    3/9/2010
    this lady does not like men, from what she is saying there is a profound hatred for them…..but i agree wth everything she is saying…cut it off

jason m
    3/9/2010
    I agree, cut it off. And I’m a man..

real southy
    3/9/2010
    what about women who prey on young boys? i have NEVER heard of one of them being charged. should we CUT IT OUT?

Ras Benji
    3/9/2010
    This is 2010! This woman is a lawyer! Does she really believe the solution is to ‘cut it off’? Certainly our world is more ‘enlightened’.
    I’m not condoning immoral ofr illegal behavior, but our response cannot be worse than the dastardly act.
    And what will these roving eunuchs do, sit quietly in contemplation, or will they exact their vengance with other instruments?
    We have to find more enlightened solutions for this problem.
    One Love!

Brooklyn Jamaican
    3/9/2010
    I think everyone will agree that incest is despicable. I do agree the men should be punished according to law and ostracised. However even from her column this Macauley lady seems to have a profound hatred of the male species. What punishment does she advocate for women who do do the same?

Anthony II
    3/9/2010
    Let me stop reading this article for a few moments and go to check the calendar…It says March 9, 2010; we are actually in the 21st century! I just had to make sure; the suggestion by Ms. Macaulay smacks of 16th-18th century thinking. Certainly, a period of Enlightenment must (must have) come to us.
    Sexual abuse, including this matter of incest, is a serious issue in Jamaica but punishment for the crime need not reduce us to barbarians. We need to educate people, including our young girls who suffer the abuse, social workers, medical providers, teachers, and family members, to fight this scourge. In addition, we need to convict and imprison abusers. Too many times you read in the Jamaican press of men coming before the courts for these kinds of crimes and getting off with extremely light sentences or no sentence at all. And then some judge tries to convince us that a “suspended sentence” is also punishment!

Other Stories

Farm work in danger

0 comments

FIU honours Adam Stewart

0 comments

Baby mauled by pitbull recovering

0 comments

‘Dudus’ returns to court today

0 comments

Tajoery Small in Miami for eye surgery

0 comments

VIDEO: ‘All that was on my mind was murder, hate and revenge’

0 comments

Pastor on fake document rap denied bail

0 comments

All systems go for Census 2011

0 comments

Church rushes to Rickoy’s rescue

0 comments

This Day in History – April 4

0 comments

Spectator fight

0 comments

Gully landing

0 comments

Engineers pin hopes on polymer to stop nuke leak

0 comments

Spike in child suicides

10 comments

Suspected suicide rocks Gully Bank

3 comments

View more videos

Today’s Cartoon

View Previous Cartoons

Poll

Which of the following employee benefits do you wish for the most from your employer?

More vacation time
    100% health care
    Onsite child care
    Working from home
    Stock options

View Results

Results published weekly in Sunday Finance

Username:
    Password:

Home
    News
    Business
    Sports
    Lifestyle
    Teenage
    Western News
    Entertainment
    Environment
    Auto
    Editorial
    Columns
    Career
    Job Listing
    Food
    All Woman
    Letters
    E-Paper
    RSS Feeds
    Contact Us
    Feedback
    Privacy Policy
    Terms and Conditions

Copyrightยฉ 2000-2001 Jamaica Observer. All Rights Reserved. Terms under which this service is provided to you

38. @islandgal246 you got some front but i can blast as good as you and the other gang idiots, hol’ this in your skin. How many times do you want it repeated and theres more too!

‘CUT IT OFF’

Tuesday, March 09, 2010

ATTORNEY and women’s and children’s rights advocate Margarette Macaulay is advocating harsh penalties for men who commit incest and stricter penalties for family members who hide their actions.

The lawyer, who noted that incest was still too prevalent in Jamaica, and who was peeved that in many cases the crime goes unreported because families cover up the act, believes the organs of the men involved should be cut off.

Women’s and Children’s Rights Advocate Margarette Macaulay (left) makes a point at yesterday’s Observer Monday Exchange at the newspaper’s Beechwood Avenue headquarters in Kingston. Looking on from second left are Joyce Hewett, past president of WOMAN Inc; Dorothy Whyte, executive director of the Women’s Resource and Outreach Centre and Beryl Weir, executive director of the Women’s Centre of Jamaica Foundation.(Photo: Naphtali Junior)
    Margarette Macaulay
    Women’s and Children’s Rights Advocate Margarette Macaulay (left) makes a point at yesterday’s Observer Monday Exchange at the newspaper’s Beechwood Avenue headquarters in Kingston. Looking on from second left are Joyce Hewett, past president of WOMAN Inc; Dorothy Whyte, executive director of the Women’s Resource and Outreach Centre and Beryl Weir, executive director of the Women’s Centre of Jamaica Foundation.(Photo: Naphtali Junior) 1/2

The Sexual Offences Act allows persons convicted of incest to face the same penalty as rape convicts, which is a maximum sentence of life in prison.

“But I still don’t think that is sufficient, I think they should cut off all their organs,” Macaulay said, stating that the enforcement part of incest still remains a problem, and many offenders don’t get prosecuted because families cover up their crimes.

Macaulay, who was addressing reporters and editors at the Observer’s weekly Monday Exchange meeting at the newspaper’s head office in Kingston yesterday, said that the problem of incest is generational, in some cases involving even grandfathers.

“I’m really passionate about incest. It’s happening a lot; it happens generationally, like a man has done it to his daughters and now he’s doing it to his grandchildren,” she said.

In many cases the cover-up goes so far that the pregnancies resulting from incestuous relationships are aborted, with the help of the children’s mothers.

“The families themselves and including women in the family, cover it up, and so most of the incest offences never see the light of day,” Macaulay said. “It used to be like domestic violence used to be — behind closed doors — but now it’s behind closed families, the family will cover it up.”

Police statistics show that 45 children were reported to be involved in incest cases in 2008. Statistics were not available for 2009. But Macaulay charged that many of the cases go unreported because the families don’t come forward.

“They [families] are complicit either before the fact or during the fact or after the fact,” Macaulay said. “To me it is more serious than a stranger-rape which is bad enough. These are people you trust, who are supposed to care for you. So therefore the law has to come down really, really strong on it.”

Added she: “But there is no clear provision in the Act that the family members who know can be prosecuted.”

But families who are found to be complicit can be charged under the Child Care and Protection Act, which allows that anyone who knows of a child who was abused or is being abused physically, sexually or mentally, should report it or face being charged with an offence bearing a maximum fine of $500,000 or up to six months’ imprisonment or a mixture of a fine and prison term.

Meanwhile, Joyce Hewett, WOMAN Inc past president and co-ordinator for public education and legal reform, said that while the organisation — which runs the only shelter for victims of domestic violence in Jamaica — doesn’t serve women under 18, it has dealt with women who have had problems with issues like incest in their childhood.

“Women over 18 who have been sexually molested and assaulted as children oftentimes carry the burden throughout their lives,” Hewett said.

She said WOMAN Inc includes incest counselling for those who seek it. The group has a 24-hour anonymous hotline with counsellors to help women in need.

39. @islandgal246 you got some front, but i can blast as good as you and the other gang idiots, hol’ this in your skin. How many times do you want it repeated and theres more too!

‘CUT IT OFF’

Tuesday, March 09, 2010

Margarette Macaulay

40. guest | April 4, 2011 at 8:58 AM |

When we point fingers remember there is always one pointing back at us. Ours is under cover so that others will never know except the victims and the perpetrators.

41. I see the “The man wiv no brain!!” ’bout hey trying to mek even more enemies…! He even cussing the women … Now that has got be a cockup. Pat wuh you say ..?

42. Any one who is so incensed to the point where they want to have the state perform surgery or even take a life as a form of punishment should volunteer to perform the procedure themselves as opposed to some mindless troll who would do anything for a couple of extra bucks. “Cut It Off”, “Hang Them” … so easy to say!

43. Here’s our problem….

British actress attacked by serial rapist in Barbados says island’s police were ‘only concerned with tourist image’

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1372881/Hilary-Heath-attacked-serial-rapist-Barbados-says-police-concerned-image.html#ixzz1IZ5HkPTA

Instead of addressing Ms. Myrie’s charges the Government of Barbados (politicians!) has sought to spin the story and rally public support as a distraction in attempt to cover up….that strategy is doing more harm than good…the above story is just the beginning…the longer this debate continues the more stories are going to surface heaping more embarrassment on Barbados and the entire region. Don’t focus on Ms. Myrie and “wuk” around the flag – demand that your Government do a transparent investigation…n.b. Playa Del Carmen is much cheaper than the West Indies!

44. Maybe we should adopt this sign at our airport.
    http://www.panoramio.com/photo/50521343

45. RE: ilandgal 246 (Sandra)
    โ€œSorry to say it but the Barbados Police are like the keystone cops.โ€
    โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..
    Iwent for a two week holiday a couple of years ago with a few friends. We went to an outside night out, called Oistons. As we tried to leave we were jostles and pushed and were called โ€˜White trashโ€™
    โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.
    Donโ€™t stress Nationalist
    โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ
    I understand Sandraโ€™s sentiment she lives in a country where people get put in prison for (no JOKE) walking while being black and as far as animals are concernedโ€ฆthey treat their animals better than black people. In fact the animals in the UK eat better than many Africans because of the stolen wealth the Powers that Be takes that RICH continent.

Hereโ€™s an anecdotal story: When I was working in the health service here in the UK a nurse came in to work with expression of disgust on her faceโ€ฆshe explained that she had her purse snatched as she try to purchase a train ticket; she went to the police to report the theft. She said that the police asked her what colour the thief was (the usual question her with the police when crime is reported) she said she told him โ€œwhiteโ€ because the thief was white but the police turned to her and said โ€œcome on love, you know he was โ€˜blackโ€™. Hereโ€™s another 1 quickly. I was out chillin (you chill in the UK) one evening and saw two โ€˜tipsyโ€™ white people walking towards me; the woman raised her hand and THUMP her accomplice against the headโ€ฆโ€™tipsy as he was, he landed on the asphalt and blood all over the place. I ran to the hospital that was near and grab a trolley and took him to โ€˜Casualty & Emergencyโ€™ dept. (Any such Hospital case have to be reported to the police) a Police happened to be already in the hospital. The usual question was asked and the woman who is there with her victim (Partner) open her mouth and as black was about to come out she looked at me with her gaping mouth and did verbal round-hander and said Indian.

There are tens of thousands of Black youths in prison and mental institutions in the UK and not because there are criminals or insane (And I know many Bajans believe the myth even though youโ€™all have the queen speech every year โ€“ we here donโ€™t watch it even whites) A recent EU report disclose that there, yearly, more black youths going to prisons and Detention Centres than Universityโ€ฆ not isolated look at USA, rest of Europe and white rule South Africa. The policy is called BLITE THEM WHILST THEY ARE YOUNG

Most probably the person who call those European
    โ€œWhite trashโ€ experiences some of the above that African descendant people suffer in the UK and Europe as a whole. If Sandra read this she will most probable inform me that she is blackโ€ฆit is common.

46. like you, i support barbados but unlike you i do not support uncouth behaviour by overzealous officers purportedly presuming to protect our borders. after all i was born here and hopefully will be buried here and any behaviour by persons in the course of their duties which tarnishes the good name of barbados will attract my condemnation. god save the queen.

47. @Ruth

What do you mean by “overzealous” nothing wrong with being overzealous . Now being “Hostile ” would be grounds for dismissal. BTW i think you are being “hostile” in your argument by saying that the officers in doing they job is “purported presuming to protect our borders” are you or are you not aware that was the job they were hired to do just that of protecting “OUR BORDERS”or would you prefer Jamaicans to protect “OUR BORDERS” for us. Rth you have a choice “THEM or US.